Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Break

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Carnival Cruise Lines.

Private Island Beach Break

Departing directly from the ship, a 25 minute boat transfer will bring you to beautiful Bannister Island, your own private retreat for the day.
Overall rating:
1.4 / 5
1.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
8
1 out of 10(10%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Break
Review 1 for Private Island Beach Break
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Don't understand all the bad comments

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Guest avatar
gopreds1626
from Nashville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were here in April 2013 and this beach was a lot of fun. I don't understand the negative comments. Yes, they don't have a lot of beach chairs but I don't go to the beach to sit I go for the water. My husband and I loved this place and even booked another cruise for next year to go back there. Everything is what you make of it and if you go to have fun you will!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Private Island Beach Break
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST BEACH EVER!!!!!!!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Guest avatar
wallen
from Palmerton PA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The island mainly made of hard rock. The beach was the worst part as you start to go in the water you trip over chicken wire embedded in the sand a couple feet of the shore then as you go further out you sink in about 6 inches of silt and mud. The cook area reminds of a hotdog cart with grill not be the cleanest. I refuse to spend any money at this place luckily; we bought some water with us. Carnival should definitely pull this off there list but was my mistake for not reading the reviews you figure carnival would on use only good excursion that were checked out!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Private Island Beach Break
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Guest avatar
HoneymoonersCBJL
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
So, we purchased this excursion because we wanted a beach to relax on while in Belize. The ship director had advised everyone that if you wanted to do an excursion while on the cruise, this would be the stop do it at because the shops in Belize City were limited. So, we thought we'd just relax. Not so much. First, there was a miscommunication on the cruiseship and they took us all to the wrong tender. We had to quickly unload and jump onto another tender which was to take us to Bannister Island. Once there, we walked onto the beach and grabbed a couple of lounge chairs and a hut. We actually didn't sit in the lounge chairs at all because they were peeling paint and made of wood. I was worried about splinters. We swam most of the time because we didn't want to sit on the chairs, despite the beach being very hard on the feet -- it had some really sharp shells. Once you walked out into the water about 10 feet, it became thick with silt and mushy. So, we just snorkeled (we brought our own) -- we did see some really amazing starfish and a couple of manta rays, but other than that, we were disappointed with the excursion. When they were serving the food, there were ants all over their cooktop and counter. It really grossed me out. We would not recommend this excursion to anyone with tender feet or who wants a clean beach and food service area. Hopefully, Carnival will come up with another beach excursion in the near future.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Private Island Beach Break
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save Your Money

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Guest avatar
Kim1990
from Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Our group read the reviews and tried to have an open mind. We are beach people, so give us a beach, chairs and beers, we're happy. It is a very simple island. Very laid back. There are no activities, so this is not a place to take children. There is a swimming area, but there is only about 15 feet of sandy ocean and then it becomes MUSH. The sandy ocean is covered with sharp shells and adult sized crabs. There are plenty of chairs for all. The local Belliken beer is tasty and relatively inexpensive. It was an overcast day, so the change of pace was nice after all the partying on the boat. I will tell you that the stench on the island is unforgettable. It is very concentrated near the restroom area. The food is also served in the same area which is not very pleasant. Overall, we managed to have a decent time, but in the future will save the money.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Private Island Beach Break
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedMay 14, 2013
Guest avatar
tpop51
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was a waste of money. We did the excursion in December 2011. It was advertised that we would go directly from the ship to the island. But apparently something didn't work out there. We ended up loading onto a boat that took us to the port. At the port, we got onto another boat that took us to the island (and as we were heading to the island we passed our ship docked at sea). It was a joke. Most of the chairs were broken on the so-called beach. There was very little shore line, most of it was blocked off. Everyone was bored. Because of the delay in actually getting to the island, we were not going to have time to shop at the little shops at the port. Many people were upset about this. We ended up getting one of the boats sitting at the dock to take us back early. Once people started to see us leaving, there was a mad dash to the dock. EVERYONE WANTED TO LEAVE. This was a horrible experience and totally not worth the money.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Private Island Beach Break
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't do it!

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Guest avatar
PearlG
from Carnival Legend
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We were in Belize on Wednesday, February 13 with the Legend. We arrived on the island there were NO lounge chairs available. They were all taken by those from the other four ships in Belize that day. We didn't care about kayaking but some we talked to said they saw a stingray & some fish - maybe we should have as that would have been the best part of the excursion. After about 1 1/2 hours some of the people left so we were able to find a couple of loungers that weren't broken. The beach is not in great shape & at the end of the island away from the beach has trash everywhere. There are two docks but you can't go out on either one because they are falling apart. There are 12 shower heads but only 1 gives enough of a trickle to rinse off. We spoke to the shore excursions desk and they are aware of the problem & have given them until next week to get it cleaned up. They were also kind enough to refund part of the cost of our excursion. They did say if it doesn't change they will remove this from the excursion options!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Private Island Beach Break
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Where's Gilligan??

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Guest avatar
Katt
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was such a joke! As our smoking little tug boat arrived at island..we were sure we was just stopping for gas. Sadly..we had arrived. Deserted little sand bar where we were stuck all day getting eat up by sand fleas. Went in2 the "gift shop" for bug spray and I'm pretty sure all the items for sale was just items ppl had left on the island. Being the 1st to arrive. We did get alot of laughs by simply laying there watching the look on other peoples face as they arrived. Priceless!! One man even tried to get back on the boat. This was our only experience with Belize...so we decided to have some shirts made that read.."You got to see's it..to Belize it!" haha SAVE YOUR MONEY FOLKS...need a real sense of humor to survive this one!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Private Island Beach Break
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible,Terrible,Terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Guest avatar
pooby
from tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Once you go you are stuck for the day. We had people trying to sneak back on a different boat just so they could get off the Island. Watered down drinks that you may or may not get. Rude management!! 2Hour long line for food. Fighting over broken lounge chairs. The swimming area was AWFUL!!!!!! Rocky, slimey, bottom. So glad I had my swimmer shoes but I had to lend them to my grandkids so I ended up in the sludge.Nothing to do but sit in broken chairs on the hot nasty beach , thats if you were lucky enough to find a chair and dont get up or it WILL come up missing.This was a day staight from you know where.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Private Island Beach Break
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fake beach

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Guest avatar
Milw27
from Milwaukee, WI
Age:35-44
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This excursion was nothing like the description. It's a man-made beach only a 1/4 mile around. And one side of the island is closed off. So you can't walk the beach. There is a small roped off area of swimming--swimming in any other area is discouraged. It rained the day of our excursion, so we were stuck inside the small thatch roof bar area. Save the money and lounge on the ship's pool deck!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Private Island Beach Break
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beach was rocky and overcrowded

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Guest avatar
DallasFamilyof5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It was our first and last time to visit Belize. First of all, the tendering process was chaotic and then the beach experience started out okay, until the boats kept coming. Luckily we were there early, but as more people came, this small island became very crowded and the lines for the one bar and food cart became very long. Kids enjoyed the water but we had a few jellyfish that deterred us from doing too much swimming. If you want to just layout or go kayaking, then it's probably okay. Otherwise, don't waste your time.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
pookie
Houston, Tx
 
Please wait while more information about pookie is loaded.
Additional information about pookie could not be loaded.
WIll never recommend this excursion.
Posted July 1, 2012
This excursion is not worth a penny. Upon arriving at the island there was a strong smell of sewage. We proceeded to a papala, looked around for a float. There were maybe a total of 20 on this tiny island and there had to have been over 100 passengers already on the beach with more paasengers on the way. No floats, one small bathroom, a tiny bar that ran out of some beverages. There was 1 table to purchase food at if you wanted to wait 20 to 30 minutes for burgers and fries. There was no option to leave early so you were stuck on this horrible little "island" with a couple hundred other cruise passengers that also wanted to leave.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)