Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.698 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(487 reviews) 487
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 487 reviews
5 Stars
376
4 Stars
89
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
470 out of 483(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mayan ruins were astounding, guides knowledgeable and genuinely friendly!

PostedMay 22, 2016
from Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was probably the highlight of the cruise for my wife and me. The tour started with a 2 hour bus ride with our guide Caroline who was knowledgeable, funny and entertaining. You get a pretty good idea of the country of Belize as you drive through many different towns and districts. All the locals are extremely friendly waving at the tour buses as they go by. The onsite tour guide Edgar (Jian) was very knowledgeable and passionate about the ruins and had an answer to every question that was asked. Both Caroline and Jian made this excursion unforgettable. The ruins themselves are massive and awe inspiring. We got to climb several of the ruins, including the largest onsite at a daunting 130 ft. high. If you aren't up for the climb there are areas you can sit out, while the others climb.
The only downside would be we didn't get to climb ALL the ruins, because of time constraints but don't let that dissuade you from booking this excursion! It was amazing!
The lunch (following the tour) of rice and beans prepared in coconut milk and chicken with Belizean beer and real cane sugar coca cola was delicious! Restaurant had free wifi as well.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was my first Mayan excursion.

PostedMay 21, 2016
from Summerville, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first Mayan excursion which I thoroughly enjoyed. The tour guide spoke almost the entire way to the ruins. Yvette, our tour guide gave a history of Belize, the people and the Mayans. If you choose not scale El Castillo, the pyramid, it is not too strenuous. If scaling the pyramid it is extremely strenuous. For me it was a dream come true.
The view from the top is very panaramic. If like Mayan history this excursion is a must.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

If you are into archeology and like to climb or walk this is for you

PostedMay 19, 2016
from Dallas, Texss
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have no particular interest in archeology or climbing, walking, it was boring for me. 4 hrs on a warm bus ( 2hrs there and back) climbing, walking, hot. Lunch was good! The tour guides were very nice and had information to share. It was organized. Just not my idea of a good time. Driving through the city did not see the appeal "beauty" of Belize that everyone speaks of. That was disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific

PostedMay 15, 2016
from Boston, MA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Enjoyed this excursion very much. Our guides Marisal and Yevette were excellent. They keep us entertain for the entire 2 hours on the way to the ruins. I learned so very much about Belize along with the ruins. Lunch was very good. The rice and beans were the best I have had ever. Do be prepared for the heat and humidity when not on the bus. Also do wear comfortable shoes good for walking and climbing. Saw one person climbing the ruins in flip flops. Can't imagine how she didn't break her neck. She wasn't with our tour. Climbing the ruins to top would be difficult but it isn't necessary to do so to enjoy the excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Long day

PostedMay 12, 2016
from New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The Xunantunich temples are impressive and the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. BUT you spend about 4 hours driving back and fourth and maybe only 90 minutes at the ruins. Cruise lines should avoid Belize as almost all tours are too far from Belize City.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The tour was great, the bus ride was not.

PostedMay 12, 2016
from Pittsburgh
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Other then the bus ride to and from the tour was very informative. The guide were very knowledgeable about the Mayan culture.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tour!

PostedMarch 14, 2016
from Long Island NY
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Merleen was our guide and was wonderful! She was very knowledgable and kept us informed during the 2 hour bus ride to the ruins. We were expecting issues with bugs but didn't have a problem. The bus was well air conditioned which was a blessing since it was very hot and humid the day we were there. To get to the ruins you have to cross a river on a hand cranked ferry. Then a van picks you up and takes you to the tour starting point,. There are bathrooms there and a place to buy snacks and drinks. Lunch is like 130pm-2pm so you should bring snacks along and plenty of water. There is a 200 yard up hill hike to get to the ruins but if you can't make that a van will drive you up and bring you back down, just ask your guide. Edgar the ruins guide will tell you about Mayan history then climb the tallest ruin with you. If you can't climb it there's a place to sit and wait for the people to climb up and come down. Lunch was very good and there's free wifi at the restaurant. We were supposed to sample cashew wine but didn't. My friends bought 2 bottles and tried it at home today and said it was delicious. On the way back to the Dock most of us napped. We caught the 415pm tender back to the ship which was the last one! This tour was great!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Inconsistent climbing rules due to weather

PostedFebruary 29, 2016
from Mendon, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My son was especially excited to go on this excursion as is fascinated about ruins and really was excited to be able to climb to the top and see the view. The bus ride is a solid two hours, but Melissa kept our attention with facts and stories of Belize and really helped us appreciate the country and the beauty around us on the way. Unfortunately it drizzled the final hour of the trip which left my son concerned as they said they couldn't climb with rain. Once at the ruins the rain had stopped - we learned so much from our guide (forgot his name, sorry) we also heard howler monkeys in the distance which was cool and saw a large iguana roaming around. My son was crushed though when our lead guide decided too wet to climb to top for safety reasons. Especially when fellow cruisers in the other bus were waving from the top! I got him a shirt and tried to be positive, but was a rough disappointment. Only wish had been a consistent across the board decision, not just our guides call. We stopped for lunch and brief shopping on way back, rice and beans was excellent! Back in time for last tender.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful experience

PostedFebruary 20, 2016
from Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's long ride from the shore, the guide talked through the demographics/culture of Belize and made sure we are not bored through the ride. Awesome location, went up to the third level of the pyramid, overall it was a great experience. Lunch was fine.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun Excursion in Belize

PostedFebruary 15, 2016
from Anaheim California
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maude & Ken were amazing tour guides that made the 2 hour bus ride fun, I know people strayed because of the travel time but honestly you get to see all of BEAUTIFUL BELIZE., the scenery was gorgeous. The ruins are breath taking & the guide there was very knowledgable Adolfo was his name. I loved this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful way to spend the day

PostedFebruary 13, 2016
from Kingsland, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The area is beautiful and ruins are inspiring. There is lush vegetation, local wildlife, and majestic views. We had a knowledgeable guide named Alison. The climb was tiring but worthwhile and the climb down was a little scary. We had lunch at Hobe's and it was delicious. Our guides Yvette and Maude were full of information and local anecdotes. I highly recommend this trip.
Be advised: (1) Wear comfortable hiking shoes as it is steep terrain; (2) There was bottled water, sodas, and souvenirs at both the site and Hobe's; and (3) Take small bills for tipping, purchases, etc.... Everyone accepted USD
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Once in a life time experience

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
from Circleville, Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am glad I did it. It was an once in a life time experience. Visited January 2016. Picked up in a large air conditioned travel coach (bus) with a bathroom. Long drive, 2 hours, to location. Nothing really interesting to see but guide talked about educational and interesting material the entire time. Very different living than we are use to seeing but a thriving population. Wished that the tour provided water on the bus. When we got to where we got off the bus there were some vendors that were selling large bottles of water for cheap. From there we took a moving bridge over a river to some air conditioned conversion vans for a short ride up to the tour location. Dropped off where there was a shop and some public bathrooms. These were nice. Walk up hill to ruins was steep. It was at least 80 degrees and 90% humidity. It was a difficult climb. Our tour guide stopped half way up and stopped for us to catch breath. Next half was more up hill walking and some steep stairs. Top was flat. Lots of shade area. Multiple ruins to see. Camera a must. We took a selfie stick to use with phone and got some awesome pictures without bothering people to take our pictures. We were very hot and sweaty. Guide reviewed history and education material in the shade. Was slightly breezy. We had the opportunity to climb the big ruin to the top. This can only be done when it is not raining or wet. This was awesome, challenging, and scary. Wear tennis shoes or shoes with good grip. Stairs are uneven and slick with moss in places. We did this climb in 3 sections with breaks. First section was bigger stairs. If this was all the farther you want to go there is a grassy shaded area you can walk around the outside of the ruins. Second set is narrow but tall stairs. Third set is more narrow stairs that curve around. No railings or maybe one. Top is absolutely breathtaking. Stunning views. Again not barrier from you and the edge of the top. Middle of top has large stones to hold on to and feel safe. Trip down with stairs is scary. Recommend going down on your butt. Everyone was very helpful. There was no rush to do anything. Small amount of time to go into ruin shop or the local shops where the bus stops. From here we went to a restaurant for lunch. We were served one piece of chicken, a scoop of rice and beans, a plantain and something else. Not a filling meal at all but it was OK. Would recommend you bring snacks as it is a long total trip. There are vendors with tables set up outside restaurant with stuff to buy. They will barter with you too. Back on to the bus for a 2 hr trip back to dock. Most of us slept. No time for shopping in port as we had to go back on tender boat to take us to the cruise ship. Kind of expensive but something we will never see again. It was worth it. I pushed myself to climb the ruin. It was not easy.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great history lesson

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
from Niles, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aside from the 2 hour bus ride, this excursion was very interesting. It definitely showed the differences in the Mayan cultures as this place was not known for human sacrifices. At least on the way to the site, the tour guide provided us with Belize history. The lunch was a good example of Belizen food although we were dumped in the middle of a market place. The kids enjoyed the site and the climb up the 130 ft pyramid.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not to be missed

PostedFebruary 7, 2016
from Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
This was an early start and a long drive to Xunantunich. We had two great guides Maude and Yvette, as the drive is two hours Maude spoke for the first hour and Yvette the second, they told us about the history of Belize up to the present day. They are to be commended as it is not easy to talk for an hour straight and keep someone's attention. We had a short river crossing and a bus ride to the ruins which were amazing. Lunch was very nice and well organised. We returned to Belize in time for the last tender to the ship. The trip was well worth the long bus ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

UnBelizeable experience - once in a lifetime!

PostedFebruary 3, 2016
from Dutchess County, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was absolutely amazing! After taking the first tender out to Belize, we were ushered onto a bus where our guides, Maud and Lucia, began to tell us all about the history and present life of Belize for the 2 hour drive to Xunantunich. They were informative and fun and kept us entertained, while the driver, Mr. Dominguez, kept us safe on the drive.
At the ruins, Dino was great at finding shaded areas to teach us about the ruins and show us what different groups are working on unearthing. He made sure that we walked/climbed a little, and then he spoke again so we could catch or breaths before walking/climbing again. The view was amazing from the top of the pyramid!
Lunch at Hodie's was good. Drinks were not provided but were a good price. There were a few small shopping areas on the tour with about 5 minutes to shop at each. The drive back to port was treated as naptime for the most part.
Note - this tour does not leave any time to shop at port, so if there's anything you want, buy in the small shopping areas or see if a friend can get it while you're on the tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very educational!

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
The tour is conducted by Chukka Tours booked through Carnival. Our tour guides were Merlene and Samantha and the bus driver was Dudley.
Merlene is an absolute wealth of information regarding everything you ever wanted to know about Belize to everything you want to know about Xunatunich Mayan ruins. And all delivered with a great sense of humor. This made the 2 hour drive each direction pass quickly.
If you want to climb the ruin I would rate the tour as difficult. If you want to watch everyone else climb the ruin, it's not difficult at all. They even provide transportation up the slope with just a short staircase to the ruin level.
There were howler monkeys making quite a bit of noise and everyone seemed to see them but me. I'm taking their word for the monkeys.
All in all it was a great excursion at a reasonable price with lunch included.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mayan Ruins

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
from Palestine, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tour. It is a little above moderate in intensity though. I have always wanted to visit ruins and these were good to see. I would highly recommend a visit.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a must do excursion.

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
from Lumberton, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the members of our cruise party has tried to do this excursion several times only to be rained out. Not this time, the guides both on the bus and at the site were very informative and enthusiastic about their jobs. I'm terrible with names otherwise I'd list them as they really deserve some recognition.This is a trip you have to make at least once in your lifetime.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Educational & fun tours

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
from Alaska
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Mayan people and their disappearance always fascinated me so I wanted to see the ruins. The whole experience was educational since we saw so much of the country. I climbed to the top of the ruins but it was difficult for some. Mayans made big steps. So glad I did this tour even though it took all day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spectacular

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
from Lakemore,Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great excursion. The history,scenery,and information about the site and Belize was awesome. I would highly recommend this excursion. One more check off the bucket list.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>