Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.696 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(507 reviews) 507
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 507 reviews
5 Stars
391
4 Stars
93
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
7
1 Star
4
490 out of 503(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!

PostedJuly 21, 2016
from Fort Myers, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This trip was amazing!! Even the crazy bus ride was fun.
Our tour guide Carla was the best. Full of information and very entertaining. Wear your tennis shoes, flip flops were not the best choice, but still worth the climb.
Lunch was quickly served and delicious, be sure to try the hot sauces and of course the Belkin Beer, ice cold and priced right.
This excursion was "UNBELIZEABLE" !!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It was a very interesting trip

PostedJuly 14, 2016
from Austin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved the fact that we got to see quite a bit of Belize. Our guide Mr. Ken was excellent, telling us about Belizian culture and pointing things out on the bus ride. He was also very encouraging once we got to the site to do as much of the climb as we could.
The local site guides were also very informative. And the lunch was absolutely delicious.
The only drawback is that it does take the whole day. We arrived back in time to get in line for the boat back to the ship. We were given a little time for souvenirs at the at the site and lunch place.
We did come back feeling we had a definate taste of Belize!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So fun!

PostedJuly 13, 2016
from San Jose, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The excursion was basically the whole day, so we didn't have time to explore in port. I was still glad I took the excursion. We first got on the bus with 1 guide who gave some details about Belize and what we were seeing out the side of the bus. After about a 2 hour bus ride we were met by some additional guides at the site who gave an exceptional tour. They really know their stuff and were entertaining. The bus ride back the guide had used all his info on the way there so it was pretty quiet, but we did have time to ask some questions about the local customs and things. If I come back to Belize, I would do this tour again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedJuly 8, 2016
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age:25-34
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was definitely a cultural experience. You get a piece of history all while getting to see all of Belize in its splendor. This excursion is for people that want to wander outside of the tourist areas and see the real country. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and highly entertaining staff. The lunch was great, and the tour was great.
Please take note that this excursion will take your entire time in Belize. It's 2 hours to get there and 2 hours to get back. You'll be able to shop a little bit, but you won't have much time. I also want to note to please bring an umbrella, or rain poncho if you're traveling during rainy season. We were rained on when we were there; which is fine until the cold 2 hour bus ride back! There were supposedly ponchos available, but it was only mentioned once on the bus. I'd still recommend bringing your own supplies.
Overall: great experience! One of the best excursions.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow Very interesting .

PostedJune 30, 2016
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was a long day but well worth it . I enjoy any information we receive about what we are seeing . The history on the bus was great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great excursion!

PostedJune 27, 2016
from Fort Worth, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great excursion! We were on the first tender boat to shore and one of the last tenders back to the boat. This excursion lasts the entire time you are in port. It is about a two hour bus ride to the ruins. The guides are great and share a lot of interesting facts about Belize. The two hours went by surprisingly fast. My only complaint is that the bus was very hot, very little AC. Definitely bring water and snacks. Once we got to the ruins we were there for two hours probably. There are restrooms and a gift shop and you are able to climb to the top of El Castillo if you are up for it. It's a great view from the top! After we left the ruins we stopped for lunch. It was chicken, beans and rice, and plaintains. Very tasty! The bus ride back to port was another two hours, but it was very quiet. Most of us slept. Overall, I highly recommend this excursion! Once in a lifetime!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful, personal triumph!

PostedJune 26, 2016
from Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the first ruins I've ever visited, and I can't imagine any being more beautiful. I am terrified of heights, and made this a personal challenge for myself. I made it to the top (ok so I clung to the wall at the top) and it was breathtaking. Coming back down wasn't as hard as I thought it would be. The tour guides were amazing and stayed with us from the time we left the ship until we got back. Our guide Carolyn was amazing and talked about the history, people and landscape of Belize during the bus ride so it went by quickly. the lunch in San Ignacio was fabulous and some local crafters were at the restaurant so we were able to get some local craft shopping done.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Once in a lifetime experiance

PostedJune 24, 2016
from Crossville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was the reason that we booked on this cruise. I have traveled all over the world but my family has not got to see the things I have and I thought this would be a good chance for them to experience some history. The guides we had on the bus and at the site were top notch. They gave a lot of information about local history and the areas we were traveling through to get to the ruins. The bus ride to the ruins is two hours but goes by quick because the guides give you so much information. Once at the ruins my wife got a ride in one of the vans to the top of the hill. My daughter and son and I walked up. When we got to the top we toured the ruins and got to climb to the top of the big pyramid. My wife and daughter chose not to go all the way to the top but my son and I did. What a view. Going to the top of that pyramid was a once in a lifetime opportunity that I could not pass up on and having my son with me just made it that much more special. After the tour we had lunch at a restaurant called Hode's Place. The food was local fare of chicken and rice with fried plantains. Overall the excursion was worth the time and money. If you do go be sure to bring plenty of water as it is hot and humid and the climb can be quite strenuous.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grate Experience

PostedJune 22, 2016
from FL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grate experience to get to know a different culture that we don't hear as much , the ride to the Mayan ruin is a little long but it's worth the time. Grate food and the tour guides are very nice and will give u a brief history of the country on your way to the ruins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The tour was very informative and fun.

PostedJune 17, 2016
from Belleville, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tour guides gave a lot of information about the history and culture of the Mayans who lived in the area. The guides also told us about the ruins in general and the excavations that are happening there. When climbing the ruins, they stopped us at interesting parts to tell us about the designs on the sides of the ruins. After we were done looking at the ruins, the tour guides let us look in the museum for about five minutes. When the tour was complete and we were headed back to the ship, we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant. It was amazing food and the tour guide answered a lot of questions about the food. Overall, the tour was great as well as the tour guides.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The tour guide was great

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Tyler Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tour was great my 14 year old made it to the top,but the best part of our tour was our guide LYNETTE she was the best tour guide there was and has been on every tour I have been on. Thanks a lot, THE BLOWOUTS
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

be sure you take lots of water

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
The tour guides were fun and informative. The hike up was a bit difficult but only because of the heat. It's a long way up the ruin and if you're scared of heights it may not be for you but if you can make it to the top, there's an awesome view!! We had a great lunch afterwards. I wished there was more time to shop but we didn't get to do much of that. Between the bus ride there and back and the time it took to take the tour we were pressed for time getting back to the ship. All in all it was a fun day with amazing sights.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This tour needs to change

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
For starters, it is indeed a long bus ride to the excursion but the bus was comfortable. The tour guide did a fairly decent job of sharing some rather interesting facts about Belize. The Mayan Ruins were interesting, with a very knowledgeable guide there as well. But considering how tourism is one of the largest generators of revenue for this island, I was beyond disappointed at the fact that we did not get to experience the local culture, we had all of about 20 minutes to shop at 4 stands where we stopped for lunch, and I had to cut lunch short in order to get those 20 minutes. Since it takes so long to get to the destination, the time at port should be extended so as to not create such a rushed excursion. This was not worth the money but had some great history to the destination.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The tour was Very interesting

PostedJune 15, 2016
from Tulia Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
We had a great and knowledgeable guide, she made the two hour bus drive go by fast. It was super hot and I thought very dry, and she said it was there dry season, but the ruins were beautiful. My husband claimed to the top I sat in the shade, don't like heat. The food was good, but the two hour bus drive back was long.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun and Interesting

PostedJune 15, 2016
from Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My family and I wen on this excursion during our May 2016 cruise. The bus ride to the ruins was comfortable and filled with interesting facts and Belize. Our guide was knowledgable and entertaining. Once at the ruins, we met up with two more guides who, between the three of them, knew many details and stories about the ruins. My sister and father were able to climb one of the ruins and were incredibly impressed by the view and the ruins themselves. They were well preserved. After the tour, we were able to try some typical Belizian food, which was absolutely delicious.
The excursion was wonderful and my entire family was happy we went on it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tour!

PostedJune 13, 2016
from Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tour guide was very informed about the towns we were passing on the long drive there. It made the time go faster. The ruins were well maintained and getting to climb the tallest ruin made all the difference. You could choose to climb the ruin or wait under a covered pavilion. The lunch was amazing; the chicken and rice were delicious. My picky child ate the entire plate served and then took off of my plate. The ride back was more subdued and even that was welcome after all of the information we had just absorbed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great educational experience

PostedJune 12, 2016
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our tour guide Maude was very friendly, knowledgeable, and according to my wife, very concerned until all the members of her tour were safely back on the ground. Yes, It is a climb to the top but well worth it! The two hour bus ride through the interior of the country to the site was comfortable and very interesting. On the return trip we stopped at a very nice roadside establishment and had a wonderful local lunch. A very nice day! Thanks Maude and the rest of the gang.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJune 6, 2016
from Davie, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My boyfriend, my 6 year old daughter and I went on this on this tour on May 26th, 2016. Our tour guide Maud was very friendly, funny and knowledgeable about Belize. The trip to Xunantunich is almost 2 hours by air conditioned bus. Then you take a ferry across a narrow river and a van to the ruins. They are spectacular.
Climbing (or crawling on all fours like I did) to the top is quite the workout but the view is spectacular. You can see Guatemala from the top. The Mayans did not believe in handrails or wide ledges but if you take it one step at a time you will be ok.
It was the most humid heat I've ever experienced and that's saying quite a bit from someone born and raised in Miami. This might be an excursion best left for cooler months.
Our guides at the ruins were also very knowledgeable and lovely people. We got to see monkeys while we were there which was a treat,
On the way back, we stopped at a restaurant called Hode's or Hove's with delicious food. I appreciated that they offered food for people who don't eat meat. And it was very yummy. My daughter, who is a picky meat-eater devoured her chicken and rice and beans. She said it tasted like grandma's, so you know it was good food.
I loved that Maud and the tour guides were sensitive to people who were overheated, tired or hurt. They sent vans to drop people off (as high as the vans can go) and then to pick them up afterwards. I think we were well taken care of and they took special interest in my daughter and the other 3 kids that were on our bus showing them things that they might be more interested in.
Take water! You can buy some here or there, but you will go through it. We took a 1-liter bottle for each of us and it still wasn't enough!
Enjoy :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

UNBELIZABLE!!!!

PostedMay 31, 2016
from Lafayette, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First thing you need to know, this is a long excursion. You will be exhausted by the end of the day. Second thing you need to know, this is a fun excursion. Our guide, Marisol, was top notch. Very funny and informative and you can tell that she enjoys what she does ( I would hope so, she's been doing it for 17years!!!!) Be prepared for a fun ride there but know this, when you get there, this is not for those not used to walking and climbing. I am a large man (nice way of saying I'm a fat guy), but I knew what I was getting into and it still kicked my butt. Thanks to some good old joking by my three boys, I was determined to make it to the top to prove them wrong. Folks, I am a 44year old 300# man. - this was not easy but I can proudly say I made it to the top and can cross that off the bucket list. The point is, know what you are getting into with this tour, but know it is one of the most fulfilling things you can do. I would recommend this tour to anyone that wants to have fun and accomplish goals.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great historical excursion

PostedMay 26, 2016
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've wanted to visit Mayan ruins for many years, so this excursion was perfect. The bus ride is a little long, but there is air conditioning and the seats were fairly comfortable. There was one guide that was with is from start to finish, Carolyn(not sure how to spell), and we met two local guides once we were at the site. Touring the ruins did not feel rushed at all. We were able to climb El Castillo and get some amazing views of the surrounding area. Lunch was at a local restaurant and consisted of local fare including chicken, rice and beans, and fried plantain. I really enjoyed the food, as did the people I was sitting around. The weather was hot and very humid, so make sure to bring lots of water with you. There is plenty of shade, and the guides encourage you to seek it out while they talk.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>