Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.68 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(316 reviews) 316
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 316 reviews
5 Stars
241
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
307 out of 315(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded my expectations

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Guest avatar
retiredbill
from Atlanta
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The drive from port to mountains was long, but kept interesting by the guide. The ruins were spectacular and not crowded. Climbing to the top of the temple was strenuous and well worth the view but not for anyone afraid of heights. Climbing is not necessary to enjoy the site. The local lunch was good.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long but extremely cool day!

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Guest avatar
Viscus
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although it is kind of a cattle call and a long bus ride, the guides are entertaining enough on the way there, and the site itself is spectacular. Probably (in my opinion) the best thing to do in Belize unless you just absolutely require a sandy beach at every port.
The lunch is simple but me and my wife thought it was delicious, especially considering it was included and they could've been super cheap about it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's worth SIX Stars or more

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Guest avatar
billnsam
from Nashville
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The highpoint of my cruise!
It was a two-hour trip each way; the bus was modern and comfortable; the tour guides gave us lots of informative and fascinating details about this wonderful country; the highlands were lush and beaufiful.
The short ferry across the Mopan River was fun. The tour guide (Eder) for the ruins was knowledgeable and very personable.
For me the high point was climbing the tall pyramid. Yes, coming back down was scary but doable even for people only in fair condition.
The meal was nice, they provided a vegetarian option for me. I bought a bottle of Cashew wine(not tried yet).
Do eat a hearty meal on the ship prior and bring a snack or two.
We arrived at the ship a half-hour late--only do this excursion with Carnival; they will wait for you.
I'd return to Belize and do this again in a New York Minute!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Once-in-a-Lifetime Experience!!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Guest avatar
Jazzy5
from Pinckney, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second time I've done this excursion and can honestly say that it was just as AWESOME the second time around! The first time was with my parents a few years ago.....since it was so good, I wanted my husband and daughters (ages 15, 17, 20) to experience it too. My oldest daughter is afraid of heights, and was a little worried about the climb.....but she overcame her fear and is so HAPPY that she completed the climb to the top! AMAZING VIEWS!!!! Be sure to BRING YOUR CAMERA (I kept mine in a lightweight drawstring-type backpack for the climb down so I could use both hands). Some of the terrain is uneven and a little treacherous if you're not steady on your feet. Be sure to wear good walking shoes!!! If you feel that you can't do the climb to the very top, you can just go up half way to still get some of the experience. And, even if you don't make the climb at all, it is still an enjoyable experience to get the true feel of Belize, it's people, and to see these amazing ruins....It is still well worth the price of the excursion. Yes, the bus ride is a little long to get to the Ruins (about 1 1/2 hours), but the guides talk to you during the whole ride there, explaining all about the Belizian cultures while you are able to look out the windows at the houses, scenery, etc. The guides make it so interesting that you really don't realize how long you've been traveling. Both of our tour guides were GREAT and explained the Mayan traditions while touring and climbing the ruins. They give you a short time to shop afterwards at some small local gift stands, and there is also time to shop where you go to eat lunch. The lunch is good (chicken, rice and beans). Drinks are not included in lunch, but they sell water or Belizian Belkin beer for a reasonable charge. It's a long day, but WELL WORTH THE TIME & MONEY! After we got back from the excursion, we still had about an hour to shop at the Port before taking the last tender back to the ship. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this ONCE-IN-A-LIFETIME EXCURSION!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very interesting on the way to the ruins, and when you got to the site "WOW" factor kicks in, to see how the Mayan built this

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Guest avatar
Francy12
from Essexville Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Please go and enjoy the knowledge your guide gives you and use your thoughts on how this whole site was created and how Mayan culture was so long ago and how they created this site
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall a great tour !!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Guest avatar
rrich8
from TN
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
To start off this was a great tour but the ride is literally two hours there and two hours back so expect this. Our tour guides were great to be around all day and they were very informative on everything including the ride to the ruins. A heads up this is not a flip flop friendly tour unless you just have to wear them, there is a lot of walking and climbing if you choose to and you do have that option. When the option is given at the bottom of the ruins its highly recommended to make a choice there. There is a reason and I can honestly say if you don't like heights climbing may not be a option, to add to this you can try it and about half way up there is a point you can decide to continue up or go down. A few people chose this but going down was the hardest part for most. Now after the climbing is done things tend to get rushed because you can pick to climb another ruin or head back, if you decide to climb you will NOT have time in their shop. Once back on the bus they will take to a nice place for lunch there they will give you a plate of food which was amazing !!! The plate wasn't a lot of food so it would be advised to eat on the ship prior to this excursion. I have tons of pictures showing the difficulties but I am only allowed to post two pictures!! I would highly recommend this for a great experience and the views were amazing, defiantly can check this off on a bucket list !!! if you have any question please feel free to ask !!! I really hoped this helped !!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tirp

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Guest avatar
maggie1320
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must once trip. Trip crew and guide passed along many interesting facts about Belize.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was amazing

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Guest avatar
Funkymike
from Cumming, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You'll learn a lot about this country on your ride to the ruins. The ruins are an amazing site to see. Also, the lunch was fabulous! This tour is well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing visit

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Guest avatar
London16
from LONDON UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tour started well and got better. Our guides where lovely and informative about the history and culture of Belize. The temple and the associated guide was really interesting and amazing to get so close.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great trip, fun and informative.

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Guest avatar
loriken
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Enjoyed the ruins. It was awesome to see. Amazing how they were built. Lunch was very good!! Even the bus ride was fine. Tour guide gave history of area and scenery was lovely.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Ruins!!!

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Guest avatar
RoyalRatz0271
from Buffalo, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Mayan Ruins were so amazing. Being able to walk all the way to the top was great. You could see you far.
On the way our tour guides Gilbert and Melissa told us a lot of information about the country of Belize. The tour of the park was great. Our guides stopped along the way to give explanations. The lunch was good too. We were able to buy Belize Beer, it was very good. On the way back our guides gave us a chance to ask them questions.
Overall the day was awesome. We impressive to see and climb on the Ruins from so long ago.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Guest avatar
rona
from Garretson SD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I liked the tour but felt rushed and there were alot of people. Would have liked more information about the people and the site. The tour was nice basic information about Mayan people. I liked that you could walk up to the top of the structures.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Guest avatar
LisaK
from Cincinnati
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a great time. The guides and driver were great. The site was beautiful and the view from the top of the ruin was amazing. We enjoyed the history, the surroundings and the company. Lunch was a little rushed, but only because we took so much time soaking in the site that we ran a little behind schedule. It was yummy though. All in all it was a beautiful and memorable day and we are glad we took this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great guides and amazing tour!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Guest avatar
rlparini
from Syracuse, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The tour guides were very knowledgeable and humorous. On our way to the ruins, our guide gave us historical information about Belize and the Maya people. Once at the ruins, another guide gave us the history of the area and the ruins. We had plenty of time to take photos and climb the ruins. On our way back to port we stopped for a delicious lunch and were able to try the local beer. Overall this was a great excursion and well worth the time and money!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great excursion

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Guest avatar
DandKGobes
from Decatur, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
User submitted photo
The bus ride was very comfortable. The scenery was spectacular. The ruins were breathtaking. Very steep climb to the top but well worth it. The lunch that was included was wonder. We were served chicken, beans with rice and fried plantain, it so good. I would do this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was awesome!

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Guest avatar
Crazicooter
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tour guides were amazing, made the two hour ride go by quick. They were very knowledgeable and funny too. The ruins were spectacular, well worth the time and money spent.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome! If afraid of heights, pick another tour.

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Guest avatar
Jeep5367
from Kokomo, in
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful ruins. The hight alone is breathtaking. The view from the top is so cool. But, I'd you are afraid of heights or have a balance issue like I do - pick another tour. The best part is the climb to the top and if you can't do that, head somewhere else. They did not cover the whole grounds, as one part of the group climbed the ruin with our guide, and the 2nd group just sat around and waited for climbing group (with another guide who meets there). Was still fun, but wished second group would have went around and covered the other structures.
Bus ride comfortable (bathroom and air conditiones) and guide has 2 hours to fill you in in the wonders and local life of Belize. So cool. Learned about economy, schools, food, cost of living, tons of stuff. Ask questions and most of all, interact! Ride back, can sleep!
Food was great - some vendors at restaurant to buy souvenirs. Otherwise, we were first tender off and last tender on. No extra time to do anything.....
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable, safe, humorous and knowledgeable.

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Guest avatar
dingbat
from Victoria, B.C. Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this tour to everyone, young and old. They all did such a great job. From the time we left, for the entire day and right to the cruise port. Lunch was fun, not a 5 star gourmet restaurant, but we were not expecting that, it was tasty and there were some great hot sauces that I wanted to buy all of. Beer was so cheap! Ruins were lovely and there were bathrooms when we needed them!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

breathtaking

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Guest avatar
sunset83
from maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
First, yes this tour is long, almost 2 hours each way. I enjoyed the ride and the information provided by the guides, others thought it was too long. Second I was surprised by the state of this country considering how much tourism is there. It looked like a lot of poverty, but very proud residents. Now for the ruins, it was a small hike up a hill, there as you come around the corner the ruins become visible. Breathtaking! I love history and this is one of the things I have looked forward to. I unfortunately could not make the climb to the top of the tallest ruins, I would say approximately a third of our group didn't make the climb. I was fortunate enough that my girlfriend climbed to the top and took amazing pictures. After the ruins we stopped for lunch, which I thought was good, beans and rice , chicken thigh, coleslaw and fried plantain. There were people there selling small items. I would say even if you can't climb to the top the rest of this excursion is worth it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

excusion activety level way off

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Guest avatar
Judyoct52014
from Houston TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bus ride was ok, but long, lunch was very good but rushed due to the excursion leaving the ship late. I my opinion the walk up to the ruins was very difficult and this should not be considered moderate activity.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>