Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.691 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(408 reviews) 408
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 408 reviews
5 Stars
315
4 Stars
74
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
395 out of 406(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great History

PostedAugust 24, 2015
from Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great excursion for history buffs not afraid of a little hike! Kenny and Marisol were great tour guides and kept up entertained and educated during the 2 hour bus ride to the ruins. You will ride all the way across Belize!! Once there we had a hike up to the ruins. Was not difficult for us, but might be a struggle for some. I believe there are transports for those unable to walk. We were able to climb to the top of El Castillo. Incredible to experience so much history. If going with kids ( or even for kids AT HEART), I would highly suggest reading up on the Mayans before going. I think it would make it that much more interesting!! Lunch was at a restaurant on the way back. It was delicious and nice portions, didn't get too full. Good nap on the ride back!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great excursion!

PostedAugust 23, 2015
from Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lots of walking amazing ruins! Highly recommend but warning to those who have trouble with weak knees or hips. This would not be for you. The guides Mel were wonderful and highly informative. Bring extra water and an umbrella for shade!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Full Description Here

PostedAugust 17, 2015
from Hamilton, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pronounced: ‘’Shoe-nan-too-nitch”. Seven hours total: two driving there, three spent at the ruins and lunch, two driving back to the port. Everyone must use a tender boat to reach Belize City, but because this is booked through Carnival, the ship will not forget you. Must bring water, preferably in a backpack because of some intense walking periods. Any fitness level can handle this. Ruins have a very humid jungle environment. Always felt safe (from people and from nature). Bug spray, suntan lotion, water and camera; you want to stay light on your feet.
Two hour coach bus ride is very comfortable. No stops. Onboard bathroom is for #1 only. Guides work very hard and are very informative, they speak the entire way there; very customer service trained and friendly. Bus ride takes you through city, hills and countryside. Ruins are nice and you actually get to walk on these and climb to the top! However, in my opinion, if you’ve seen one Mayan ruin you’ve seen them all. Bathrooms and purchasable refreshments located at ruins. All money at ruins is in USD. Included lunch is a minor portion of rice & beans with chicken or vegetables at a food court down the street from the ruins. Drinks must be purchased separately.
If on Carnival Glory, there is no time to spend at port. Therefore, souvenirs must be bought outside ruins, at ruins, or at lunch.
If you intend on tipping: there are two Belize tour guides that stay with you the entire day, the bus driver that stays with the bus the entire day, and a Mayan ruins tour guide that meets you and leaves you at the ruins.
Only Need to Do This Once
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Interesting tour

PostedAugust 10, 2015
from Saint Louis, mo
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
We had two othe beach days on our cruise and wanted to "see" something so we dedicated to book the ruins tour.We booked this with our 9 and 5 year olds our biggest concern was the 2 hour bus ride. They brought electronics to play with and made it fine. The guides we had we very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to share their country and culture with the tour. The ruins were the highlight and were amazing to see. It is pretty cool to climb the main temple (thought you don't have to if you can't or don't want to). I also enjoyed the ride to the ruins seeing the country (all be it from the road) as well as the lunch stop, I thought was one of the best meals we had on the trip.
It was a good day for us And I would recommend it, but if you want to shop on do other activities this is not for you since it does take all day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A long, hot, beautiful day

PostedAugust 10, 2015
from Orlando, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The bus ride is indeed long. The guides do make it go more quickly by talking about every aspect of Belize. I think the reviews underestimate a bit the difficulty of this excursion. The heat was significant in July and you do have a serious climb. Mountain goats will love this, but it is no US attraction with guard rails and elevators. The pyramid is steep, the steps often broken, and the ascent and descent sometimes feel precarious. You get yourself up there and there's no way down but on your own two feet. (Or your rear end) That being said, the views are spectacular from the top and there is a real feeling of satisfaction when you get up there and back down again. Of course there not enough time given the bus ride, but it is an incredible opportunity. The food was fine, there's very little shopping, but you do get a real view of Belize and its people.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tour

PostedAugust 9, 2015
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tour was great. It was quite far to get to the ruins, about 2 hours long. However our tour guide, Anne was very informative the whole way. It was so nice to see all parts of Belize. Make sure to wear tennis shoes because you will be walking and climbing. Wear a hat and bring sun screen, bug spray and bottle water. Don't forget to bring your camera for the beautiful views. This is a tour for all ages. You will be able to climb the ruins. I went all the way to the top. Some people went half way, but that was ok. There were guides there to assist anyone needing help. After the ruins, we went to a restaurant for lunch. The food was quite delicious. We had rice and bean, chicken and cole slaw and drinks. You'll be able to do a little shopping after you finish eating, about 10-15 minutes, so bring some cash. Time was very tight because we had to get back to the ship and it took about 2 hours. It was a great trip. Even though it's not required, try to tip your tour guide and the bus driver separately if you enjoyed yourself.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

About what I expected

PostedAugust 9, 2015
from Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The tour was OK. Very long ride to get to the ruins (hour and a Half) which I did not expect. Once there you take a small ferry to cross the river, then get in a bus for a short drive, then a small up hill (steep) walk to the actual ruins. Which they do have a bus you can ride for the up hill walk if you have trouble walking. The largest of the ruins you can climb all the way to the top, but has no railings and is not for the faint of heart. On the way back they take you to lunch which is rice and beans, chicken and cole slaw no drink. The guides were amazing, at the ruins she made sure all the kids saw the live monkeys that were there. If your into ruins this is a good excursion to go for.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJuly 27, 2015
from Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was one of the best excursions we went on. Yes it was a long ride to the ruins, then a hand cranked ferry, than a van. Finally you were in the parking lot. climbing this ruin was optional but I went half way (Husband went all the way up). The guide did a wonderful job making sure that those of us with difficulty walking made it to the top of the hill by suggesting the van. We have now done all the ruins excursions Carnival offers in this port. Hoping they get the others as other lines have so we don't have to switch lines.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion of the trip!

PostedJuly 27, 2015
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was outstanding. We plan to visit just Belize on a future vacation because this trip was so enjoyable. There were two wonderful, friendly, and informative guides on the bus. The two hour bus ride passed quickly. It was obviously hot in July, and there is quite a bit of walking and standing at the ruins. We climbed up and the view from the top was a thrill. Several people chose to skip the climb or only climb half way. We saw iguana and howler monkeys. The guide at the ruins was a local farmer and he was excellent. Lunch was delicious, and Maude taught us how to make their style of beans and rice. I've made it twice since returning home. There were a few places to shop along the way if you're interested. No one was pushy at all. If you worry about tipping, know that the bus driver, bus guides, and the guide at the ruin site should all be tipped separately.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tour for anyone!

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was wonderful for our group, including people ranging in age from 7-62. There is a significant bus tour of Belize, with lots of info about the country's history, politics, economics, and culture, followed by the tour of the Xunantunich ruins. This allows even even less-adventurous travelers to see a good sample of the country and get a real feel for Belize. Guides were knowledgeable of both their subject and their audience, including plenty of info about the subject tailored to fit the audience. The tour of the ruins does include significant climbing, BUT there are many opportunities along the way for group members to stop and wait for the group to meet back up with them on the way down, thereby making the tour of various levels of difficulty. However, the trek up the tallest pyramid is done in stages; all the members of our party made it all the way up to the top! The food at the restaurant was wonderful local flavors that many typical American palates will find new and delicious. You do buy your own drinks at lunch, and definitely bring a water bottle. This tour will take your whole port stop in Belize, but there will be very brief opportunities for shopping as you cross the river on the hand-crank ferry to re-board the bus and as you leave the restaurant after lunch.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesomeness!

PostedJuly 19, 2015
from Dallas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was so beautiful. The tour guides were friendly and the Ruin was a must see. Sweeping views of Belize and the Guatamalen border made the 2hr drive well worth it. Lunch was also very yummy, I looked around the Resturant and almost everyone had finished all of their food. You won't regret this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amazing Ruins

PostedJuly 15, 2015
from Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The bus ride to and from, long, but the guides made it enjoyable with the commentary to the ruins, and quiet on the way home to rest. The bus ride shows the country, as it is, the good and bad. Getting off the bus and having a chance to shop at local vendors was nice. The ride after the bus to the ruins was short and OK. The was to the ruins isn't much, but obviously hot and expected. The ruins were amazing. The guides at the ruins were very enjoyable and informative. They took enjoyment in what they did and took time for you. Lunch was good, nice as we all just sat and were served a local chicken dish. There was more local vendors when you ate lunch. The guides held the boat back to the ship as we were running late, but being a carnival excursion, they were able to wait for us to get back to the ship. The boat ride back to the ship, not part of the excursion, they overloaded to save using another boat and it's gas, not smart, the grounded us a couple of times and ruined his prop, but we returned safe but a slow return. Overall, worth the experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous!

PostedJuly 6, 2015
from Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the excursion that I was most looking forward to and it did not disappoint. You get to tender to the mainland, ride a bus across country with pretty good narration and history from the guides, ferry across a river, ride a van to the park entrance, and climb the pyramid El Castillo! Shopping opportunities were at Xunantunich, coming back across the river by ferry, and at lunch. I only saw t-shirts at Xunantunich after the van ride up. Lunch was good. My wife wanted to see monkeys, so I let our guide at Xunantunich know, he called the monkeys, and they showed up in the trees for us! We also saw a fox and several iguanas. With lunch included, this was an excellent value.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our Favorite Tour

PostedJuly 6, 2015
from Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
We loved our tour to the Xunantunich Mayan ruins. The 2hr bus drive was comfortable and our tour guides kept us entertained the whole way to the ruins. They were very knowledgable about their country and had pride in what they do! After the bus ride you take a handcranked ferry across a small waterway (just a couple minutes) then back into vans and up to the ruins (another 5 min). The ruins were amazing--the park guide at the site was knowledgable as well and made us feel safe as we climbed all way to the top. There was ongoing excavation at the site which was interesting and we also got to see four black howler monkeys in the trees and some iguanas lounging on the rocks. There was about 5 minutes for roadside shopping after the ruin tour (several trinket booths set up) and then on to a outdoor, but covered restaurant for a traditional a Belizean lunch of seasoned chicken, rice and red beans cooked in coconut cream, fried plantain, and slaw (I think they have potato salad at times which is the tradition)--the food was pretty good. Bring cash for drinks--1$ soda, 3$ beer--I think).
The 2 hr drive back was restful and we were back on the ship in plenty of time. At Belize you do tender back and forth which takes about 20 minutes one way. We have a family of four that includes two teens 15 and 17 (boy and girl) --this was our favorite tour--even over the dolphin tour in Roatan (though that was excellent, too)!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible ruins!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This trip was amazing. Be aware that much of your day is traveling but it is worth it. You get a chance to learn all about Belize from the fun tour guides on the trip. The bus was comfortable and the trip was great. While it was a tour hour ride, it went quick with all of the interesting facts that the tour guides share. When you get to the ruins, be prepared to climb!! There are no handrails and the steps are steep, so if you struggle to get around you may miss out on the spectacular views from atop the ruins. Even so, you will still have some incredible ruins to discover, so don't hold back because you can't handle the climbing. On the trip back, you get a delicious lunch and I mean delicious. Everything was incredible and we ate every bite. Plus, the restaurant had free wifi so I got to communicate with my family at home for a few minutes which was a plus.
Note: if it is raining, you will not be allowed to climb the ruins. If you are looking forward to the views (which you should) be prepared if the weather isn't cooperating. While you might be thinking this is just a deterrent for climbing, it isn't. The ruins would be very dangerous if they were wet and climbing them absolutely is not allowed in the rain.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelizeable

PostedJune 29, 2015
from Fort Wayne, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the excursion I couldn't wait to take! With all the great past reviews, I knew I wouldn't be let down. It was the most beautiful thing I have seen and the pictures don't do it justice. One note: I feel the ruins were more of a difficult level than moderate. The steps are very narrow.
Yes, the the bus ride was long, but it was a great time of learning about the country. The stop for lunch was even very good.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedJune 29, 2015
from Edmonton, AB
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was really scared of the long ride to get there and back but they made it great. On the way out our guide spent the full 2 hour bus ride talking about the local sites and history of Belize. The trip flew by because of this. The ruins are at the top of a hill and it was very hot (I suggest a sweat towel and a spare shirt). The ruins were amazing and as long as it's dry you can climb right to the top. We had a different guide from the bus and he again had all kinds of stories to tell about the different ruins and he was awesome at answering questions. The guides take everyone to different spots and as a result it didn't feel crowded or rushed at all. The biggest pyramid has a pretty thin path with no handrail near the top but the views are worth it and you can skip around the highest part if you get scared. BRING WATER!!! On the return trip you stop for lunch, the food was great and they had about 20 kinds of hot sauce that you can also buy and bring home. Belizian beer (Belikin) is awesome and they had plenty of cold drinks on hand for a reasonable price. I would definitely do this tour again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour through country was great. Kids got to see how different Belize was from the United States during bus ride.

PostedJune 28, 2015
from Elgin, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tour of seeing the inside of Belize and not just the beachfronts. Ruins were great since they let you climb it. You get high up there but the view was beautiful. Wish there was time to shop. Had to rush and pick up things at vendors where bus picks you up at river.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We loved this tour.

PostedJune 23, 2015
from Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denise and Carla were unbelizable!! They were full of knowledge and very friendly. My family and I love the ruins. The lunch was very good. The bus and restaurant were clean.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was an awesome excursion

PostedJune 23, 2015
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was the one I was looking forward to from the start of the cruise. It was everything I expected and more. The ride is across the entire country but it allows you to see how life truly is in Belize. The guides were extremely informative and made the trip enjoyable. Ann was the name of one but can't remember the other, sorry. Upon arrive to the ruins, we had Edgar and his dad as guides. They were great and gave lots of information. I HIGHLY recommend this excursion. The food was good and tasty. There are some local merchants there you can buy from but they aren't pushy at all. Bartering is great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>