Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(216 reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 216 reviews
5 Stars
163
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
210 out of 215(98%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour was fun

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Guest avatar
FirstTImeCruiserRisha
from Houston, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It took us a little over 2 hours to reach the site and once we got there we had to take a ferry across a river then a van up to the museum where we had to hike five minutes up a hill to get to the ruins. Once at the ruins it was breathtaking. They were so tall and we got to climb the ruins. Afterwards we were fed a lunch of the traditional belize meal. However if you have a hard time walking or get tired easily I would not recommend this. But if you are capable this trip was worth it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic adventure! Highly recommend anyone to go!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Guest avatar
YellowMustang05
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I *loved* this excursion. I fully prepared myself for what to expect by reading almost all of the existing reviews prior to my trip. I was not disappointed with one second of this trip since I knew what to expect.
Tour guides were awesome: Simone told us about the history of Belize and Gilbert told us about the history of the ruins. For anyone that goes on this excursion in the future, I really hope you get one if not both of these great guides.
* Yes, it is 2 hours from port to the ruins site. It is made so fun and interesting by the tour guides.
* Yes, you make a few stops for a ferry and the climb up to the ruins.
* Yes, the Xunantunich ruins are SPECTACULAR!!!! The history was fascinating as well as told by Gilbert the tour guide.
* Yes, it was hot on 7/8/14 when we went but we were told to prepare and we went with water, sunscreen, tennis shoes, etc.
* Yes, you get a delicious typical Belize meal on the way home. Super tasty!
* Yes, it takes the same 2 hours to get back to port that it did arriving. I think everyone napped on our ride back. All of that walking, touring, and eating along with the heat can really make a bus full of people very sleepy!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always a treat

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Guest avatar
Popeye78
from Florida's West Coast
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This was our second time to Xunantunich. Yes, It is a two hour bus ride to the site (too bad the Mayans did not put it closer to the coast). The tour guides are full of information about the history of the region and keep you interest during the ride to the site. The site itself has a new visitor center, but being able to climb the ruins is exhilarating. The climb on the main structure is steep, but you can see for miles. On an earlier trip, a troop of Howler monkeys were moving about through the trees. I would like to have spent more time there, but that is not possible on one trip. At the restaurant on the return trip, you eat outside on a clean patio. The restaurant itself is clean, with restrooms, and good food (you pay for your drinks though). This is one excursion that we will return to on later trips.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Guest avatar
Ash527
from Topeka, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I loved this. He is a history buff so he was extremely interested in this. I will say this is not for kids though because it is VERY high and there is not anything to hold you in once you get to the top! We had 3 kids that went in our group and they were running to the edge. Their mom was freaking out the whole time! Otherwise our guide Javier was nice and I would recommend this tour. :-)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and educational

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Guest avatar
rmack65
from Northwest Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
While this excursion was very long and the bus ride was most of the trip, the opportunity to see the country of Belize versus just the tourist areas was wonderful. Our tour guide was very informative and entertaining. The ruins were amazing. If you are going to climb up them, be prepared for some scary moments! But well worth it. We even saw and heard some howler monkeys! Our guides at the ruins site were very well spoken and had great information. They did have a van to transport those who could not make it up a steep hill to the ruins site. Our party of 10 ( 4 teenage boys and 4 adults ranging in ages from mid-40's to mid-60's) all enjoyed this excursion very much.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fun

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Guest avatar
JustbeSunny
from Houston, Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant tour. The bus ride is a bit far, but it is definitely worth it. Afterwards you have lunch at an outdoor bar and pavilion with some Amish people who make epic ice cream. The food was good as well. Great drinks--try the pina colada--best I ever had.
About the ruins:
I have visited a couple of Mayan ruin sites, and this one is my favorite. The guides keep you entertained on your ride, and are very informative whilst walking among, AND ON the ruins! Best part there. There is a lot to see among the ruins, and at the top is some brilliant scenery. You will have fun, exercise and learn, even if you have been to ruins before.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Guest avatar
BradSharon
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: Very interesting, beautiful scenery, lots of history, great guides.
Cons: Very, very long bus ride (2hrs), very rushed tour in order to get back to the boat on time, no time for shopping at the port, lunch is provided but very late in the afternoon.
Tips: Bring sunscreen and water. Very hot. Eat a big breakfast and take a snack since lunch is very late. There is some limited shopping opportunities, but you have to look and buy fast.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great excursion

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Guest avatar
BillH
from Austin TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had a great time, but extremely HOT in June. Very long bus ride to and from, but guide was very informative during the trip. Ride was longer than expected possibly due to road construction sites. Did not allow enough time upon return to shop at the port.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great choice.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Kat13
from Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Belize is a beautiful country once you get out of the city. We boarded the buses right at the port after the tender. Ours had really good air conditioning, but I heard one bus didn't later on the ship. The 2 hour bus ride went fast. The roads can be scary at times, being so narrow and the traffic is definitely different than what we are used to. Just don't look out the front window. Our tour guide was great. She had a very dry sense of humor. You will learn so much and the time will fly by. There is no other word to describe the ruins than awesome. Climb the tallest building and enjoy the view. Its not easy. I am not even 5 feet tall so if I can do it you can. Again the guides at the site are very informative and helpful. You will have time to express shop at the site. Then lunch which was good but better with the sauces. The rice and beans were great and so was the fried plantain. The chicken was good with the sweet pepper sauce. I bought some and am already half way through the bottle. I didn't care for the potato salad. Not enough mustard. There was traffic on the way back so we were late getting back on the boat by 30 mins. but another group from a different excursion was late as well so no biggie. All in all , a great time and an experience I will always treasure.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very educational and enlightening

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Guest avatar
djw1998v
from Hiawatha, Iowa
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Our family of 5 all enjoyed the day long activity. After the 30 minute tender from the cruise ship to the port, we quickly boarded a very nice coach bus (A/C & comfortable seats) and traveled about 2 hours to our destination. We unloaded and crossed a stream using a ferry that was hand-cranked to get to the other side. We then split into 15 passenger vans to drive the remaining 1 mile. We got a chance to use the restrooms and walk the remaining 200 yards to the Xunantunich site. Very good tour guides. Very educational. The ruins were great to see and take lots of pictures. You could climb on all of the ruins. The main pyramid ruin is 130 feet tall and was awesome. Highly recommended that you climb to the top and look at the awesome view! We were able to spend quite a bit of time visiting the ruins (not too short and not too long). After leaving the site, we drove about 15 minutes and had a surprisingly nice lunch (rice, beans, potato salad, chicken and plantains). Drinks were available and very reasonable ($1 for a Coke). There was also crafts for sale in this area. By the time we got back to port, we were the last tender to the ship.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

History Adventure!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Guest avatar
THouston94
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You are taken by bus to the ruins and it does take about an hour and a half. The roads are good except for in towns or villages where there are mandated speed bumps. We got about two hours at the ruins and climbed to the top of the tall pyramid. It was a history teacher's dream. Lunch was good and tasty as well as quick. It was a great excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So informational and fun

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Guest avatar
tesie39
from Georgia
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
While the trip to the site is somewhat long, the tour guide provided a wealth of information about the history of the country, current economic challenges, and what to expect at the ruins while we traveled. The time passed quickly.
Lunch was local fare, and very good.
Be sure to take bug spray since this IS the jungle.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really enjoyed this excursion

PostedJune 25, 2014
Guest avatar
JohnnyO
from Biloxi, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I feel this was the right excursion for this port in Belize. Belize City is not very nice and I wouldn't recommend winging it on your own. If you only go on one excursion on your cruise, Belize is the one you want to do it on, and I recommend Xunantunich. The bus was very comfortable and the ride was a good way to see the country. The tour guides were very informative and we learned about Belize and its people. The bus ride was every bit of 2-1/2 hours leaving only about 1 hour at the site. As hot at it was, that was just fine. The views were amazing. Lunch was good with a traditional Belizian, grilled chicken with rice and beans. A Belikin beer was a dollar or two extra. My whole family (me, wife, and 3 kids) really enjoyed it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Adventure

PostedJune 24, 2014
Guest avatar
Eugene
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was fantastic!
- The tour guides are extremely friendly and knowledgeable.
- The bus ride to the site was fun and educational. The Belize countryside was amazing to see.
- The Xunantunich site was amazing. The guides were very knowledgeable on the site and were able to answer all questions.
- The lunch was a delicious traditional Belize meal.
Everything about this excursion was fun, interesting and a once in a lifetime adventure.
I highly recommend this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply UnBelizable!!!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Guest avatar
cruisin4
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an awesome adventure. The bus ride is approx. 2 hours, however the tour guides are very informative and the time flies by. Before you know it you've traveled through Belize City and across the country of Belize. You then arrive to a hand cranked ferry to cross the Mopan River. You then transfer to minivans for a short ride to the site of the ruins. The ruins are awesome. The view is again simply unBelizable. It would be nice if there was more time to spend at the ruins, however the time there was managed perfectly. The guides lead you to the individual ruins and even allow you to climb to the top if you wish. (Weather Permitting) At the completion of the ruin tour, you are taken to lunch. Chicken, rice, and beans. Lunch was delicious. When lunch was over we enjoyed a nice quiet ride back to the port. It was a full 7 hour tour, however I am very glad that we chose this tour.
Make sure to take plenty of sunscreen and water as it is very hot and humid. I was a little concerned that the kids would be bored on this tour, however even a 14yr old and 17yr old enjoyed the sites. It was awesome to see such a historic site.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was awesome!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Guest avatar
Gilbear
from Miami, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At first, I was a little disappointed because you get on a bus that rides through town and there seems to be a lot of poverty every where. After about an hour ride, you arrive at the site and after a short hike you see the ruins and the majestic "Castle" at the far end of site- It is beautiful!!!! We climbed all the way to the top and you get amazing views/pics. The tour guides were extremely friendly. They made the long ride fun. The lunch provided was really good and they had locals selling nice souvenirs right by the buses. I promise you will have a wonderful experience!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME EXPERIENCE

PostedJune 20, 2014
Guest avatar
TRAVELER55
from Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never seen anything like this in my life. It was such a blast. From the bus ride to the actual ruins. The weather was good so we were able to climb to the top and it was breathtaking. I would do this again in a heartbeat. The lunch was delicious and everyone at the lunch area went out of their way to take care of us. Highly recommend!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Soak up the history!

PostedJune 18, 2014
Guest avatar
LillianMomo
from Mesquite, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Although, the bus ride is long, it is an air-conditioned motorcoach with a restroom, and the guides were very knowledgeable and kept us entertained on the way there. Crossing the one lane bridge and watching people trying to remove a car from the river added extra value, as did the unexpected ride across the hand cranked ferry. The museum at the bottom is well done, and the ruins themselves were very interesting. The lunch was average, but I don't like rice and beans. The chicken was excellent. I'd do it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a fantastic adventure!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Joey2
from Costa Mesa, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great excursion! Picture this: start out from the ship, board a tender that carries about 250, then get on a comfortable bus that winds you among the city streets past a graveyard where some of the graves are actually in the median, through the countryside where you see (believe it or not) Mennonite and Amish farmers and farm houses, then to board a hand powered ferry across a mountain stream,onto mini-buses that take you up a steep hill, and then walk to the Mayan ruins Xunantunich (the guides teach you to remember "tuna sandwich" in case you can't get the exact pronunciation). Then a guide leads you around the ruins with the highlight being climbing to the top of the temple where if you look to the west, you see Guatemala. In retracing your drive, you stop off at the Hodes restaurant which serves a delicious lunch and Belikin beer made in Belize for 2 bucks. The meal was chicken, a rice and bean dish, potato salad, and plantain. We really enjoyed this day adventure and I think you will too.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the time and ride

PostedJune 17, 2014
Guest avatar
kbkline
from Durham, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a 2 hour bus ride one way so know that up front. It's a good way to see a lot of Belize (without stopping) as you ride threw the middle of the city and out to the ruins. We had 3 guides and they were great. The bus was very well cooled (which you will like as it's very humid) It was easy for us to see what the shops were as we drove by because their official language is English. Everyone is nice and people wave at you as you drive by. The ruins are very nice as well. There is a walk to get to the ruins (not to bad) but little kids would be a small challenge. Over all this is a great tour. I would like to take a taxi into the city for some fresh fruit next time but if that's not your thing I highly recommend this tour. Oh the bus does have a bathroom. Let's just say it's an adventure using it while it's moving ;)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>