Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.681 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(335 reviews) 335
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 335 reviews
5 Stars
257
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
325 out of 334(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Experience

PostedApril 1, 2015
wbaldwin67
from Andover, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
While I understand that this excursion will take your whole time on Belize its worth it. It does indeed take 2 hours drive to the location and same back. The site is gorgeous and you are allowed to look around and climb in specific areas on the main temple all the way up to the top. The steps are steep and the ones down are a little narrow so if heights bother you then take that into consideration. But the view is worth it. They present the information very well. You dont get a opportunity to see the ball court but you can spend a brief few minutes in the museum to get the information. The lunch was good (try the habanero sauces they are great). Its a little small but the climate is warm so your not going to be wanting a big meal anyway. As for the shops by the ferry thats your best bet to buy something so look and buy quickly. When you get back to the shore you will only have about 5 - 10 minutes (depending on your time back) but there will be a boarding line so one or two in your party and sneak in a store while the other holds your spot in line (you will have to hurry). You will be getting the last ferries to ship. The people on belize are very very respectful and thankful for you being there (other islands not so much / Roatan).
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not enough time at the ruins

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Straysmom
from Alaska
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Once you finally get there, it is amazing. Wish we'd had more time to explore before having to head back to the ship
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The picture of the ruins do not do it justice.

PostedMarch 30, 2015
argster
from Cape Girardeau, mo
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The bus trip is two hours the guides are nice. Once you get to the ruins and see them it is amazing how large they are and it is a wonder how they were built. Guide was very knowledgeable and brought fun and interesting facts. The meal was nothing fancy but was outstanding!!!! For the record the first open heart surgery was done in 2012, very behind technology.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

we enjoyed it

PostedMarch 29, 2015
marymikecarley
from eureka ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
met on boat like ticket says tendered out first .2hr bus ride with restroom on board. great views of ruins lots of info.even got to see howler monkeys.you really get to climb ruins!lunch inc.take money for drink and brief shopping.pack water and camera.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You must go

PostedMarch 29, 2015
IkeDeb
from Martinsville, In 46151
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
This by far was the best excursion that my husband and I went on in the entire cruise! No words to explain how awesome and beautiful and mind boggling it was. The bus trip was fun. The guide was so interesting that the length of the trip went so fast. I an going back. I am 64 and my husband is 65 and we climbed to the top. The scenery. It is breathtaking.
I did not want to leave!
Next a small amount of shopping with local crafters.
Forgot the ferry to the ruins, it was so much a trip to the past! So fun!
If that was not enough, after we left the bus took us to an outdoor open bar for lunch. Small amount of vendors there.
Food was authentic and good. Not enough good things to say. Best money I ever spent! Please go.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We both are very glad we picked this educational shore excursion. It was amazing!

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Daisy62
from Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An amazing excursion and wonderful experience. Guides were very knowledgeable about the pyramids and surrounding area. The view from the top was breath taking. Loved the fact that we were able to climb to the top along with the guides. We would loved to have had more time to explore. The lunch was very good. We would recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My ABSOLUTE FAVORITE!!!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
PaolaMaria
from New York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was my absolute favorite. Yes, the 2 hour bus ride from Belize City to the Mayan Ruins is long, but you get to see so much of Belize and the tour guide talks to you the entire time about Belizian culture and its history. After the two hour bus, you arrive to Xunantunich and its absolutely amazing!! The guides teach you so much about the mayans and history, I learned so much on this excursion.
Make sure to dress comfortably since there is a lot of climbing (optional) When you climb all the way to the top, you see Belize and Guatemala (the ruins are on the Guatemalan border) After about an hour you go to lunch which is about 20 minutes away (on the way back to the port). For lunch: Rice, Beans, Sweet Plaintains, and Delicious Stewed Chicken. They have beer that you can purchase and other souvenirs.
I had such a great time here, everyone is so friendly, the food is delicious, the ruins were amazing. I wish I can go back!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion ever

PostedMarch 23, 2015
BasicB59
from Corning, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The excursion is 7 hours but the tour guides were top notch, Ken and Wilma taught us so much about the country of Belize the time went by quickly. This was a once in a lifetime experience and Xavier took over at the site and took us on a journey through the Mayan culture. I am not a fan of heights but going up the pyramid was a must. You could see Guatalmala from the top and the entire site. I learned so much! I would do this again in a heart beat. Even the meal at a Belize café was wonderful. Do not hesitate to book the tour. I am glad I did!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mayan Ruins

PostedMarch 23, 2015
KungfuBob
from Slidell, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was the highlite of of our cruise. About a 2 hour bus ride to the ruins. Our guide Carla was very informative and friendly. The ruins were great to see and also climb to the top. The view from the top was spectacular. Also had lunch and time for a little shopping. I would recommend this tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great experience

PostedMarch 16, 2015
CoachTodd
from Elk River, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a great time seeing the ruins, it is a long ride through the country side to get there (about 2 hours) however that was a nice opportunity to see more of the country. We stopped for lunch on the way back and I really enjoyed to food though the wife and kids gave me their rice and beans. Our tour guide was Melissa, she had a wealth of knowledge to share.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highlight of our trip

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Letha62
from Fredericton NB Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our family spent the day with Simone and Laverne on this amazing trip. At first I thought the 2 hr trip to and from the boat would be boring, but they made the trip interesting with providing the history of Belize and going to the small communities were very interesting.
We then arrived at a River, where we got on a ferry that was propelled by hand by one man. The ferry carried horsing, cars and pedestrians. We waited a little while then got in a cargo van to be delivered to the Mayan Ruin site. We saw monkeys in the trees and an Iguana. Clean bathrooms and a place to by snacks and water.
The site was amazing. We climbed up to the top 150ft high and it was truly breath taking. The pictures don't due it justice. Once you come down and then look up to where you were, it's just the best feeling. Spiritual! There were two armed military there which was a little unsettling for a second, but then I saw them smiling. I felt safe the whole trip. I am glad I went.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highlight of the cruise!

PostedMarch 11, 2015
lynnden
from Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was the highlight of the cruise, and can honestly say the highlight of any Carnival cruise we have taken! The ride from Belize City to the ruins takes about 2 hours. The guide, Carla, gave a wonderful overview of Belize during the trip to the ruins, and we were able to relax and ask her any questions on the return ride. The ride allowed the opportunity to see the country, their culture, and their way of life. The ruins themselves were an amazing site to behold! The history behind the ruins is phenomenal. To be able to climb to the top of the pyramid is exciting, and a bit scary! The thought of climbing to the top is overwhelming, but there are places to take breaks and turn around if you have had enough. The view from the top is quite a spectacle! There are no hand rails to the very top, so it is somewhat scary, but the guides were than willing to lend a hand. The lunch was good, and there was plenty of time to eat and shop a bit. There is the opportunity to shop at the ruins, but don't dally! Like Carla said, "You see it, you buy it!" We got back to port just in time to catch the last tender back to the ship. No shopping time in port.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful experience

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Chris12345
from Battle Creek, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a beautiful experience pretty much from beginning to end. I have nothing negative to say. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I would do it again in a heartbeat.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Food issue

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Cruisemaster69
from Charlotte, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Mayan Ruins were fabulous. Definitely worth the price and time away from the ship. However the food during the excursion was not the best. I had a hair in my food and couldn't finish the meal. Wasn't the cleanest place by far. I recommend taking your own food or a different excursion with a better and safer meal choice. Maybe the cruise line will see this review and handle the problem. Enjoy the ruins.. It's a must see for everyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing site, wonderful guides, great food

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Cary74
from Niagara ND
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This your was absolutely worth every penny! The absolute majesty of the site will never be forgotten. To see, touch, and experience a place that has existed for centuries brought a sense of wonder that cannot be replicated. Our tour guides Gilbert and Ramos were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. They answered every question skillfully and thoroughly. They kept us entertained , and Ramos even offered to be a"rooster" for this big chicken while descending the steep steps of the large temple. The lunch was traditional belizian food of spiced chicken, rice and beans, and fried plantains and was delicious. My only complaint is that there wasn't time to sit and enjoy the food as we were on a time crunch. Would go back in a heartbeat!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it!

PostedMarch 9, 2015
albeew3
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's so worth the 2 hr bus ride ( the bus had AC & bathroom ) , the guide , Miss Carla , was very nice and shared lots of info about Belize, saw lots of the country side and a little of the area's way of life. This was on my husbands Bucket List, I will never forget the look of wonder on his face and the joy of the day we spent in Belize. YES, would do it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful experience!

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Patja1213
from Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was the best I ever did. Our guide Gilbert was really knowledgeable and fun. On the 2 hour bus ride to the ruins he told us everything about the country, people, culture, etc. At the ruins he knew every detail. The ruins were amazing. It is definitely worth it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Informative, fun.

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Bowtie
from Tampa, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a tour we have looked forward to for quite a while. Missed it before due to weather problems. Long ride but well worth the trip. Interesting as you go into more of the mountains of Belize. The first sight of the monuments were amazing. Climbing it was the highlight of the trip for me. Our tour guides were great and right there with us the entire way up and down during the climb. It's not easy but very doable. Stopped on the way back for lunch and it was great. Enjoyed every minuted.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience

PostedMarch 4, 2015
AmandaATL
from Atlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
We went on this excursion in June 2014. The bus ride is long (about 2 hours each way I think) but the time is easily passed with an excellent tour guide providing the history of the country. The Mayan tour guides at the site were excellent as well. And climbing to the top of the pyramid - awesome! Be advised there are no guard rails - your safety is completely up to you. Lunch afterwards was nothing extravagant, but satisfying all the same after spending your energy hiking. If you are going when it's hot, be sure to bring water and something to shade your face and shoulders. I recommend light workout/athletic wear.
Overall I thought this excursion was amazing. Lunch was a little rushed but I was happy with the amount of time at the site.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded my expectations

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
retiredbill
from Atlanta
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The drive from port to mountains was long, but kept interesting by the guide. The ruins were spectacular and not crowded. Climbing to the top of the temple was strenuous and well worth the view but not for anyone afraid of heights. Climbing is not necessary to enjoy the site. The local lunch was good.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>