Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(373 reviews) 373
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 373 reviews
5 Stars
288
4 Stars
66
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
360 out of 371(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the trip !

PostedMay 26, 2015
Jeri1
from Houston Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
I am a senior citizen with two "new"knees . Have wanted to see this site for a long time and it is worth the wait. I have seen other Myan ruins ,being able to combine the cruise with a chance to spend day at the ruins ,was really special. We were treated to a traditional lunch,of rice,beans,and baked chicken. I recommend this trip to anyone who is interested in history .
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Once in a lifetime experience

PostedMay 26, 2015
longst
from Erie, Pa.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is something most people will never get to see in their lifetime. You not only get to see the ruins, you'll get a first hand view of how the local's live. The only negative is the 2 hour (each way# rough bus ride, and the relatively short #1-1/2 hrs.) spent at the site. Still, well worth the money spent. As an added bonus, I proposed to my girl at the very top. She said yes.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This Tour was not worth it

PostedMay 25, 2015
Dezitrish
from Killeen, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I know that it tells you its a two hour ride and its long but that just didn't click for me and my husband guess. In Belize you have to take a tender boat from the ship to land so your day starts really early. That boat ride takes about 20 min. Once On shore they heard you to a bus on our trip it was 169 people that was too many for me. They put you on a bus about 44 people per bus and you take off. These 44 people will be your group for the day so good luck with that our group complained and took for ever to get anywhere the whole day and yes you are stuck with them. During the bus ride your so called tour guides talk the entire two hours, sounds great right I though so. Until you realize that they are talking about things that don't really matter to you like here is our cable and electric company and over here they are fixing the roads. Two hours of meaningless talk almost drove me crazy. Once you arrive you stand in a long line to get on a hand crank boat that takes you maybe 10 feet lol. Cram in a van next and head about a mile up a hill with a driver that will make you pray for your life even if your not religious. Once at the top of the hill you meet your additional tour guide this one is actually knowledgeable ours was Elwin he saved the day. You start up another small hill to your first stop it was nice, then on to the big ruins. It was very beautiful and I loved that we got to climb up the ruins unless you physically can't do it you should. It is humid you need water and great walking shoes or sandals. Great photo opportunities at the top of the big ruins but the steps are steep and some are a little narrow. After you are done you head off to your lunch, its a rush not much enjoyment. You sit down you get the same food as everyone else no ordering they just serve you. The local beer is nice. Then you are off again back to the boat. Make it just in time to get the last tender to the ship. If i had to do it again I would do another tour.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breathtaking

PostedMay 25, 2015
avab50
from Chattanooga, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
The guides are very knowledgeable and entertaining. The site is breathtaking! It is very hot, but worth it. Bring lots of water.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Such a Fun Day in Belize!

PostedMay 24, 2015
AlyKJax
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the most well-run excursions I've ever been on. The bus ride was long, but we were in a large Greyhound-style tour bus with air conditioning so we didn't mind. Our tour guide spoke on the bus about Belize local customs, history, etc for at least 1.5 hours on the way to the ruins - very informative and interesting. Once we arrived at the ruins, we had an uphill hike (just make sure you are in moderate good health) and then climbed to the top of the 130 foot ruins. I was scared to death during the climb, but the view was totally worth it. Just a gorgeous piece of history to explore. Lunch at a local Belizean restaurant was yummy and had jerk chicken, rice, and plantains. One of our favorite days during the cruise and I'd highly recommend this adventure to others!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

By Far The Best

PostedMay 24, 2015
Tpr219
from Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By far the best I been on since cruising. Well worth the value.
The trip from the pier to the site was a 2 hour bus ride.
You get to see the local scene at work, kids walking to school, people on the way to work, yoou see the conditions the live in. It was awsome. Surely nothing what we re use to in the states.
The site itself was amazing. only something you seen in magazines. You realy are blessed to see it in person.
On the way back we stopped at a local resteraunt for a meal that was included in the trip. rice,beans and chicken belize style.
I say this is better than any other trip. why go to the beach or snorkiling. you can do that anytime. Take this trip and you will always remember what you done.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was so worth the long bus ride!

PostedMay 24, 2015
bffs25
from Myakka City, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our excursion to the ruins was the highlight of our Caribbean Cruise. Frank was our safe and courteous bus driver and Laverne, our guide, gave us a wealth of information about Belize and answered our questions. At the ruins, we were introduced to Alberto Panti who is of Mayan descent and gave us a great history lesson and explained what we were viewing. The climb to the top (about 300 feet) was a bit daunting but the view was spectacular. We had a chance to buy from locals near the ruins but no time to shop in port because of the long bus ride. The lunch provided was ample and gave us a taste of local cuisine. I highly recommend this trip!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was the fulfillment of a childhood wish

PostedMay 20, 2015
MBS55
from Huntsville, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ever since I was a child and studied about the Mayan dynasty, I have wanted to see the Mayan ruins. But the two hour trip to the ruins was worth the entire excursion. Our tour guide, Melissa, told us about Belizian life, government, monetary system, school system, culture, and pointed out venues of interest on the route to the ruins. We came away not only appreciating the ruins but respecting a country/culture that resides in a small bit of paradise.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't Miss This Trip!!

PostedMay 17, 2015
Chris86
from Alamogordo, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You will NOT be disappointed with this excursion. The four hour roundtrip bus trip sounds long, but the guides make every minute fun and interesting. They obviously love their country and its heritage and they help you to understand Belize as well....and you do see a LOT of Belize. The hand-cranked ferry across the river is even interesting and pleasant. The guides at Xunantunich are incredibly knowledgeable and give you a good overview of overall Mayan culture and history, as well as the history of the Xunantunich site. The ruins are very well kept and easy to navigate. The BEST part of this excursion, though, is the chance to actually climb all the way to the top of the main temple. The view from the top is magnificent and gives you a better understanding of the Xunantunich site and other Mayan ruins in the vicinity. You can easily see into Guatemala as well. The lunch afterward is tasty and they offer you a taste of the local cashew wine if you so choose. The trip back is relaxing you can sleep if you like. The Chukka company guides are attentive, funny, and knowledgeable. There is no way I would try to get to Xunantunich or anywhere this far afoot from the cruise ship without going through a Carnival-booked excursion. You are on the first launch off the ship and the last launch back on because of the distance, but it's worth every penny....and minute.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing to see this through another's eyes...

PostedMay 17, 2015
Aaron43
from Spring Hill, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was the first time my daughter has been able to explore and do anything like this. Even though the bus ride is close to two hours the guides were very informative and humorous. The lunch didn't include drinks but was excellent. If you have any mobility issues you can still walk around the different ruins but it would be impossible to reach the top. Even the most in shape individual took a few to climb all the way up. Amazing experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value for everything that was included

PostedMay 17, 2015
constance
from Carlisle,Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
two hour drive thru Belize went by quickly with our tour guide telling about the customs, living and history of the country. lunch was different but good, even the taste of the cashew wine! the drive back also went by quickly.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice but.....

PostedMay 17, 2015
Mo1987
from Houston, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Traveling with elderly family members we looked for excursions suitable for all ages. This was not it! Carnival sales staff assured us this would be a fun, easy day for all. Feel we were misinformed! Beautiful countryside, entertaining tour guides, competent bus driver. Mayan site was well worth seeing. Will probably do this again but not with older people. Too rushed, too strenuous for anyone not in good health or physically restricted.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Challenging and Educational

PostedMay 12, 2015
Lav6019
from New Orleans, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Though the trip to the ruins was two hours, our tour guide helped it go by quickly. She kept the ride interesting but quite informative. I learned more about Belize than I thought possible in two hours. Once on site, the sheer enormity of the ruins was breathtaking. Of course the highlight of the tour is climbing the structure. I must say, I am deathly afraid of heights and required a bit of coaxing from my 21 year old son and 68 year old father. Between the two of them, I couldn't back out. And I'm glad I accepted the challenge. Aside from the height, it also required some physical exertion. The view from the top was more impressive than I imagined. Lunch was just ok, but I wasn't expecting much in the first place. The ride home was better than I thought. Most of us slept.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't miss this excursion!!!

PostedMay 11, 2015
Tomcruise
from Mississippi
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read the great reviews and booked this tour in spite of the fact that I didn't want to spend 4 hours round trip riding on a bus. I am so glad I listened to the positive reviews from cruisers who took this excursion and loved it. The trip to the ruins was easy and went quickly thanks to the tour guide. We got to see the country of Belize from the coast to within sight of the Guatemalan border. Our guide explained things about the country and pointed out landmarks, schools, etc. When we arrived we crossed a beautiful river on a ferry. Up the hill in the vans and then not too long of a walk up hill to the ruins. We saw spider monkeys in the tress and numerous iguanas. Once we arrived it was impressive. Unlike other ruins at Tulum etc you are actually allowed to climb to the top of the largest ruin. After our guide explained the history of the area we began our ascent. The first steps are very tall followed by shorter and narrower stairs. It is a steep, tall climb with NO handrails. When you reach the top the views are amazing. You can see for miles in every direction. You look down upon the entire Mayan site. You can even see Guatemala. It is slightly strenuous, and very scaty for those afraid of heights, but I would not miss it. My wife is terrified of heights but she made it to the top and was glad she did once we got down lol. After you leave the ruins you get back on the bus and get a great lunch and then straight back to the ship. DO NOT book this excursion with anyone other than Carnival. We were the first tender off and the last tender to get back on Carnival. Any problem and you would be left if you went on a non Carnival version of this tour. I have always wanted to be allowed to climb to the top of a large Mayan ruin rather than just look at them from the roped off area at the base. Thanks to this excursion I got to climb to the top of the tallest ruin I have seen. This was my favorite excursion of the cruise. Don't miss this one!!! PS Carry water. it can be very hot at the Xunantunich ruins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome excursion

PostedMay 11, 2015
mgvisek
from NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
While it takes about 2 hours via bus to get to the sight, our guide Marabel talked about the history and facts of Belize and the time went past quickly. The site is awesome and it's very interesting to learn about the Mayan culture. The ride back to the ship was broken up by a really good lunch stop, this was definitely worth the time and money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedMay 10, 2015
Amber2721
from Owensboro, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I had a wonderful time on this excursion. The bus ride was kind of rough so if you get car sick take something with you! There isn't much time for shopping which was fine with us so beware if you are looking to shop you won't get much opportunity. Our guide (Ann or "Pebbles") on the way to the ruins was very informative and made us feel very welcome. It is about a 2 hour ride to the ruins and the ride is worth it. You cross a beautiful river before taking a van ride up the mountain to the visitor center for the ruins. The visitor center has nice restroom facilities. Then there is a climb up to the plaza floor. The ruins took my breath away. The guide for the ruins was VERY informative and VERY kind. He was quick to give us history and answer any questions we had. I wish the time at the ruins would last longer. We were able to climb the main structure in our time there. There are many words to explain the beautiful scenery and landscape from the top! I would do this excursion again in a heart beat!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedMay 10, 2015
Ozzie
from Winter park fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fun, and very interesting. Great guide! Thanks
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME TOUR.

PostedMay 5, 2015
Blondie1421
from Lexington, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The bus ride is two hours long so be prepared! Unfortunately our tour bus decided to break down on the way there (we were only 30 mintues in to the trip). When this happened, many of people on the bus got upset (as did I) but our tour guide (who was wonderful -Carolyn) assured us that she called and they were sending a back up bus. They were able to get us on another bus in a matter of 20 minutes. I was very impressed by how quickly they took action, it could have been a lot worse. I just had to keep the mindset that things like that can happen at anytime and they handled it very well. We made it the site and it was so beautiful. If you aren't in the best of shape, climbing the hills to get to the ruins will have you out of breathe very quickly. It was HOT so bring or purchase PLENTY of water. The two tour guides are the sites were very informative and open to questions. The ruins are beautiful and breathtaking. Seeing them makes the long bus ride, hot weather, and climbing all worth it. If you are physically able to climbe castillo I highly suggest it. The views up there are wonderful! You can even see the Guatamala border. The tour lasted two hours. After that we hopped back on the bus and stopped at a place to eat. The food was amazing. Chicken, rice, beans, and cloe slaw, and what looked like a fried banana. You have to purchase your drinks but they are cheap! The "pepper sauce" is delicious. I had to buy to take home.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mayan Ruins

PostedMay 5, 2015
Marie6
from Stuart, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great trip back into history of the Mayan Indians of two thousand years ago. The guides were extremely well informed and gave us a great sense of this ancient culture.
Its level of difficulty is moderate to difficult--if you choose to climb to the dramatic top of the monolithic architecture. Take the sunscreen and good walking shoes. There is nothing quite like first-hand, total immersion to taste history. Great excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the effort

PostedMay 4, 2015
John05
from Jensen Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Extreme
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is worth seeing. If one is able to climb to the top of the ruins, it is a must. But it is a very long bus ride to get there and back.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>