Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.668 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 253 reviews
5 Stars
191
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
245 out of 252(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very informative

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Guest avatar
Marie2x2
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was our first Mayan Ruins tour and we would do it again. A long day but was very informative. Karla, Maude and George were the best hosts and very knowledgeable. A long bus ride but was air conditioned. Very humid at the Ruins, take water. UnBelizeable!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome experience!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Guest avatar
3xcruiser
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my favorite excursion. My husband and I took our two oldest grandchildren (ages 8 and 11), and we all loved it! We all made it to the top and the views were spectacular! It was a well organized trip and the bus was comfortable. Our guides were knowledgeable and lots of fun. The lunch was good and we had a few minutes to shop from the locals. We made it back in time to board the ship, but not a lot of time to shop near the port. I highly recommend this excursion. The kids loved to too. It was very educational!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tour!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Guest avatar
2014
from Fort Worth, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This tour was an all day event, so be prepared for a long day.
The bus ride to the ruin site is two hours each way. But our tour guides Denise and Ken were awesome and educated us all on Belize history and current life in the country, so the drive to the ruins went by very fast.Once we arrived at the ruins the guide Omar (who is a Mayan) was very informative about the ruin site and the Mayan people. Your tour group stays together exploring each ruin together so that the ruins aren't over run with other tourists which is a good thing! The only thing my husband was disappointed in was before you walk up to the ruin site you go through the information center and he didn't feel like he had enough time to go through everything in there. The lunch was really good and very efficient it is served already plated and served quickly. Then it is back on the bus for the two hour bus ride (which is a really nice bus with ac!) back to the pier to catch a tender back to the ship. The excursion is so long that we had to speed walk off the bus to the line for the tender. I would definitely recommend this excursion to anyone that is interested in ruins. Climbing the ruins is not for the faint at heart. The steps are very steep!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mayan Splendor

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Judykins
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The shining glory of the Mayan Empire is here. BUT, for those who cannot climb - you see only from ground level. The climbing is for the young and those in good physical condition (very steep steps with NO railings). Excellent guides both on the bus and at the site. Well maintained site with clean restrooms and lovely small museum. Absolutely THE BEST.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a fun tour

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Guest avatar
InzaneTattoo
from psl fl.
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great tour very insightful and there was a lot to look at and the best part is you get to climb the ruins. I highly recommended it and its also a fun adventure for children we took both our 4 and 9 year old and they loved it
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Informative and Memorable

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Guest avatar
TxBJ
from TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Although I would consider the activity level a bit higher than moderate, IF you want to climb the ruins. We had planned to climb but changed our minds once we saw it. Very informative - very interesting. Would have enjoyed it even more if I had felt I could do the climb.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Adventure

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
JimmyB
from Orange Park, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was one of the best tours that we took during our cruise. It was a rainy when we left the ship but cleared on the way to the tour. The bus ride was nice and informative. The ruins were awesome to see and climb. It was a bit muggy from the humidity but that was expected. Lunch was served at a little cantina along the way back it consisted of beans and rice, bbq chicken, potato salad and fried plantains. This excursion was a great value for me and my family (I had my mother-in-law (65), wife (44), daughter (11), son (7). They all thoroughly enjoyed the trip)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not what we wanted

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
bspj18
from alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We went on Sept 17 2014 was really looking forward ro it but after hour and 45 mins was told we were going to different site it was no where as good as what we booked no neat carvings just a few rock rooms very unhappy lunch was ok shopping was good got some neat items bus ride was long but not bad
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Guest avatar
BigAl68
from UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great tour. Tour guides were great and informative, be ready to be bombarded with getting on for 2 hours of information on the way to the ruins. I did suggest in my review to the tour operator that they should split this info giving, and save some for the return journey.
It is a long transfer (2 hours), but the great thing is you get to see real Belize, not just the port, so I didn't mind the transfer at all.
If you want to work up onto the ruins you need to be fit and mobile, otherwise you just walk around looking at them.
The whole thing was very informative. The lunch was good. Can't fault it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Guest avatar
sfore
from NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The day trip was a highlight of our cruise. The tour guide was very informative. The 2 hour bus ride took you through the country, which was eye opening to how the belizieans live. The ruins Were spectacular. On the way back you stop and have lunch,it was good. Take cash so you can buy some Souvenirs.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The highlight? Climbing to the top of El Castillo!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
gssmith
from Farmington, Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The Xunantunich Mayan Ruins was a fun and interesting excursion. Our guide provided an informative running commentary on Belize facts during the 2 hour drive from Belize City to the ruins. We've been to the Chichen Itza archaeological site and one of the differences between the two is that there are less excavated ruins in the area we visited at Xunantunich but the highlight at Xunantunich is that we were allowed to climb the 130 foot ruin, El Castillo...and I LOVED it. The view from the top was amazing and I fought my fear of heights (this time). One of the negatives is the humidity. I would advise taking along a hand towel and a shirt change. On the walk back to our bus, we were excited to see monkeys playing in the trees. Lunch is included with this excursion and we stopped at a restaurant on the drive back. The lunch was good but our bus driver happened to mention that he loved the nachos, so we bought some and he was correct! They were delicious! We also loaded up on locally made hot sauces. :-) The bus ride is really long and we made it back to port in time for the last shuttle back to the ship, but we had a great day and would recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very informative!

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Guest avatar
2dreamers
from Astoria, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My 15 year old son and I went on this excursion. Although I would say my activity level is "easy", this excursion looked very interesting, so I took a chance and I'm glad I did! The 2 hour bus ride (in a very comfortable, air conditioned bus) went by very fast due to the fact that our guide was sharing all of her knowledge about the city, the villages, the landscape and her country! The ruins were amazing...no pictures do them justice! My son climbed to the top, I decided not to, but chose to rest in a covered area w/seating in the shade. Lunch was fantastic! Bring extra $ along if you want a soda, beer or ice cream. Also, there are a couple of opportunities to purchase handmade goods from the locals. I would recommend bringing snacks for the ride and plenty of water! My son and I were very happy we made the decision to go on this excursion...it allowed us to do something different as the other 2 port days were spent at the beach!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Experience

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
KellyH07
from Atlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a once in a lifetime experience! Belize is the heart of the Mayan Culture and what better way to experience that than by climbing to the top of a Mayan temple. Yes, it is a long bus ride, but the guides were extremely informative and you really got a sense of the passion that they have not only for their country but for the Mayan culture as well. I highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too long of a bus ride

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
HueBaby
from North Platte, Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The excursion was very informative and the ruins were really great to see and hike up to. The bus ride was the worst.- 2 hours up and 2 hours back. The bus ride up was not too bad and was narrated but the bus ride back was long and very exhausting. The bus was air conditions but still uncomfortable.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was the highlight of our cruise !!

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Guest avatar
Murph55
from Bonne Terre, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We enjoyed our excursion very much, our guides were amazing and very knowledgable, we enjoyed our lunch, the food was delicious!! I would very much recommend this tour!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Josep
from Barcelona
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Me and my mom were in Belize in August 2013 and we chose this excursion because of the reviews that we had read. We didn't fail choosing this excursion, it is amazing and so beautiful if you love visiting ruins and amazing buildings built by people We are Spanish, and our main language is Spanish, when we arrived there we thought we were gonna have to listen to the explanation in English, but there was a Belizian guide who spoke Spanish for a group of people who don't English, for us that was so comfortable. Although you take about 2 hours to arrive to the place, it worth, you also enjoy watching how people live when you are in bus, and it's something very interesting because you are able to discover how people live. We totally recommend this excusion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Amazing!

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Guest avatar
ohill
from Sault Ste Marie, Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an amazing adventure! My husband and I decided to take part in this excursion because we love to study history and are fascinated with these amazing ruins.The climb to the very top of this incredible structure was breath taking! When you realize how high you are when you get to the top, you can't help but stand in awe. Our tour guides were wonderful and we learned so much from them. Lunch was very organized and delicious. I highly recommend it
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Interesting Ruins

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
pappa2
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The ruins were worth seeing. Beautiful views surround the area. Interesting commentary on the history of Belize and the Mayans.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing excursion but caution about steps to climb

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
nursej5
from Jackson, Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are both 75 and totally loved this excursion. We had two of the best guides possible, Carla and Melissa. They were both totally amazing.
May I also say the passengers on this excursion were the best. It is a two hour ride each way to the ruins which goes by so fast, our guides shared the time explaining Belize and all about the people and how the country works. They explained to us there is no free education, families must pay for kids to go to school. They were so informative and obviously love their country. They kept saying bring your RV through Mexico and come on down.. We had a nice ride through towns on the way down, which look very poor. Makes you appreciate home. It is a nice bus, very comfortable with a bathroom at the rear. When we arrived at the ruins there is a bathroom break and are offered a shuttle ride to the top or you can walk. We chose to walk, at the top, we met a local quide who gave us information about the ruins which was difficult to hear but informative. Let me say I loved this excursion but we are both 75 yrs old and I might not have tried this climb these stairs if I had known how tall the steps are and no hand rails. Husband went up the first steps and the guide showed me a set of stairs which were normal and had a handrail. Great I thought now I am all set. Wrong! After a short walk on grass, there were MORE steps. I thought I can't do those but I also couldn't climb back down. We had an "older" lady and she was going up so we decided if she could do it, so could I. So I did, with much help, a hand-up here and there and going up on hands and knees. It is VERY high when you reach the top. If you have a fear of heights, this isn't the excursion for you. I made it and so did the other lady. I then had to go back down which was another challenge. Our guide Melissa was super she helped me to go back down which I did partly on my backside. It was beautiful up there We could see Guatemala. After we reached the bottom, I could have kissed the ground. There was another small ruin to climb, which we did not do but our other lady did, she had a daughter with her who was amazing. she helped her all the way. We took the shuttle back down and were on our way. We stopped at a town for a great Belizean lunch of chicken, rice and beans and a fried plantain. This was an excellent lunch. You could also do some shopping there. They had some nice things but very expensive. Then a nice relaxing ride back. I loved this excursion but I am not sure I would have picked this one if I had known how tall and narrow the steps were but again I am glad I did it.. it is a great excursion with suburb guides. The people on our excursion were all so very nice, they were so concerned and helpful to those of us who struggled. There was on man at the top who had a problem with fear of heights and they helped him down. and were worried about us and the other lady. All in all I recommend this excursion and especially these two guides.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A definite bucket list destination

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
heyjude59
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes, it was a long bus ride...almost 2 hours, but the bus was air conditioned and the tour guides on the bus were humorous and provided
us with lots of information on the area and Belizean culture, making for
what seemed like a much shorter trip. Once on site, we had another
friendly and knowledgeable tour guide that took us through the ruins.
I was fascinated with the layout and architecture of the ruins and as a
piece de resistance, we climbed to the top of the largest pyramid/temple and experienced the commanding views of the site and
the countryside. The bus ride back to port stopped at a small town so that we could experience a traditional Belizean meal at a local restaurant. We were seated and served quickly with a tasty meal
of spiced rubbed chicken, beans and rice, and fried plantain. I chose
to compliment my delicious meal with a Belkin, a Belizean brewed beer.
Our bus arrived back to port very close to our scheduled departure time, but not to worry. Since this was a Carnival sponsored excursion,
they won't leave without you! Don't miss this one.... I would do it again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>