Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.673 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(229 reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 229 reviews
5 Stars
173
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
223 out of 228(98%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the trip

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Guest avatar
AMZSJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an amazing site to behold. If you can only do one Mayan ruins, do this one rather than Tulum. I could have done without the lunch on the way back and spent more time at the ruins. An our guide Edgar was amazing!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but long

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Firefliesandbees
from Tampa, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ok.. I went on this with my 12 year old. It is long long drive! If you like to see the area. You will see it. The ruins were neat, but the staircase up it were scary. The staff was great and the lunch was great. I would not take children under the age of 10 personally. To long of a drive and not really the thing to do with them. My son however did enjoy it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great day!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Guest avatar
MicheleMack
from Oregon, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got on the first tender boat due to the length of the excursion. The air-conditioned bus ride was nice, except we broke down twice and were detoured down a dirt road due to an accident. But, Pancho our bus driver got the bus fixed and we made it to the ruins. Our guides, Simone and Laverne were fantastic. So smart, funny and informative. The best! The ruins were magnificent. We learned so much about the Mayan culture. Husband climbed to the top of one palace and said the view was fantastic. Steps were a little dicey, so I am glad I didn't go. Lunch on the way back was at Hoda's, and it was chicken, rice and beans, potato salad and fried plantains. Delicious! All in all, the excursion was quite long and it was a hot day, but well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Experience of a Lifetime

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Guest avatar
Carson
from Marysville, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was one of our favorite shore excursions out of several cruises. We were put on the first tinder ride to the dock due to the excursion length. Once at the dock, we were on the air conditioned bus and on our way in just a few minutes. It is a long bus ride across Belize, but the guides kept it informative and fun and seemed like we were there in no time. The ruins were most impressive and there was so much to see and experience. The grounds are very well preserved and kept up. I was amazed at the lack of insects. The top the tallest structure gives you a view deep into Guatemala that is breathtaking. Most of the grounds are flat, and climbing the structure was optional. However, climbers should be prepared to make a 130 foot ascent and a descent over uneven steps. As promised, we did stop for lunch on the way back. Most everyone seemed to like the food quite well. There was an opportunity after eating to make some local purchases. Such a beautiful place. We recommend taking a couple of waters each.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Educational, fun and good lunch

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Tygirl74
from Louisville, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an excellent excursion to see the country of Belize as you have a long 2 hour drive to get to the area of the ruins and to return to port. Our guides, Melissa and Leah, we're very knowledgable and informative. Our ruins guide, Kevin, was friendly and also very informative. Wear comfy shoes and bring a good zoom camera. From the top, it is beautiful and you can see for miles!
Time constraints did not allow but about 10 mins. to shop at the one place where the bus dropped us off for the ferry and then not much more time after lunch. The lunch was delicious, and I am really happy my husband couldn't finish his so I could have it. Rice, beans, plantains and chicken. I'm gluten free and pretty sure the meal was also. No breading on the chicken, just spice. Cash bar for sodas, water and alcohol.
Not many bugs, but we did bring and use bug spray.
By the time we got back to port, the line to get back on the ship was loong and my husband held a spot so I could shop. Once again, the bus returned to port and didn't leave us much time to shop.
The ruins are incredible. The food was great. The guides were very accommodating. I'm good with having done the excursion once and recommend it, but I wouldn't do it a second time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good educational day out

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Guest avatar
Bushbaby
from Wimborne, England
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I did this excursion reluctantly under pressure from my family. Having said that it was a good day out.
We all learned a great deal about Belize as well as The Mayan ruins.
The tour guides were great and very entertaining which is just as well as the bus journey was over two hours each way.
The food was excellent so no real complaints.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Excursion

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Guest avatar
JMS16
from Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an excellent excursion. It was a full day. The bus ride is 2 hours both ways but we got to see these awesome Mayan ruins!!! We were AWED!! We got to see a lot at the ruin site and also climb the ruin. I would highly recommend this tour. On the trip there we got to see a lot of Belize and our tour guide provided us with a lot of information ranging from history to comedy.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very intersesting!!!

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Guest avatar
gwen123
from Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a great excursion. This is also one of those times you are really glad you book with Carnival as the bus was late getting back but the ship was waiting for us. :)
It was a very informative ride out to the site which is about two hours away. The guide shares lots of interesting information about Belize and the Mayans. The ruins are incredible. You can't grasp the size and magnitude via pictures. I choose not to hike to the top due to a foot injury, but there was a nice picnic table in the shade to sit at and enjoy the sites. My 9 year old was not as impressed as I was but she still enjoyed the day.
Lunch was delicious as well. If you don't like what they are serving, you are welcome to order from the menu (which my daughter did)
Lots of changes to buy water and sodas.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

learned a lot

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Guest avatar
JandK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There was a 15 minute tender ride from the cruise ship to the port so we had to get off the ship first. Carnival ran like a well oiled machine organizing debarkation.
From previous reviews we knew that this was going to be a long day. It was worth every second. Our tour guide Mellissa was amazing. For 2 solid hours she told us about her country of birth including but not limited to the school system, price of gas and cable tv. We feel that we got to understand a little of the country we were visiting.
The ruins were astonishing. The guide who gave us the ruins tour answered all of our questions. It was VERY hot and humid (July) and some of our group stayed in the shade. Most of us scrambled up to the top of El Castillo. It was a hard climb and scary to come down and SOOO worth it.
Lunch was local- the only not cruise ship food we ate- yummy.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Guest avatar
rudeblue
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun experience. Tour guides are informative and fun, they have a lot of knowledge about the area and make the ride to the ruins interesting. Lunch was good. I'd recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Guest avatar
ladieswhotravel
from Cincinnati, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a highlight of our cruise. My daughter and I loved seeing the country with a tour guide - Ann - who was a wealth of information. After this excursion we felt we had actually visited Belize, and didn't just jump off the ship for a port of call. The stop for lunch allowed us to buy local hot sauce and cashew wine, and Belizean beer. Yes, time at the ruins was limited; however, the bus tour was outstanding.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Historical Tour and Lunch

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Guest avatar
skiracer0112
from Vail, Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved this excursion! The bus ride was fairly long but well worth it. The bus was comfortable and well air conditioned with a bathroom on board. The guides were great and gave all kinds of information about Belize through out the ride to the ruins. Once at the ruins we had a great tour and lots of information about the site. The best part was the view from the top of El Castillo, the largest pyramid at the site. The lunch that followed was very good traditional Belizian fare and was delicious especially when washed down with a Belikin beer. I would highly recommend this excursion for anyone wanting to learn about the Mayan culture and history. I have previously visited Tulum and Chitcen Itza and enjoyed this site much more.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the time, learned a lot about the Mayans

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Guest avatar
dleig
from Dayton, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Getting there was half the fun, bus ride with lots of information about Belize, then a platform ride across the river, then vans up hill for a mile or so. At the ruins the guide gave plenty of information about the Mayans, their culture, habits, etc. Climb to the top of the ruins and you can see the neighboring country. The lunch stop was good. Both guides were full of information and entertaining. I highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour was fun

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Guest avatar
FirstTImeCruiserRisha
from Houston, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It took us a little over 2 hours to reach the site and once we got there we had to take a ferry across a river then a van up to the museum where we had to hike five minutes up a hill to get to the ruins. Once at the ruins it was breathtaking. They were so tall and we got to climb the ruins. Afterwards we were fed a lunch of the traditional belize meal. However if you have a hard time walking or get tired easily I would not recommend this. But if you are capable this trip was worth it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic adventure! Highly recommend anyone to go!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Guest avatar
YellowMustang05
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I *loved* this excursion. I fully prepared myself for what to expect by reading almost all of the existing reviews prior to my trip. I was not disappointed with one second of this trip since I knew what to expect.
Tour guides were awesome: Simone told us about the history of Belize and Gilbert told us about the history of the ruins. For anyone that goes on this excursion in the future, I really hope you get one if not both of these great guides.
* Yes, it is 2 hours from port to the ruins site. It is made so fun and interesting by the tour guides.
* Yes, you make a few stops for a ferry and the climb up to the ruins.
* Yes, the Xunantunich ruins are SPECTACULAR!!!! The history was fascinating as well as told by Gilbert the tour guide.
* Yes, it was hot on 7/8/14 when we went but we were told to prepare and we went with water, sunscreen, tennis shoes, etc.
* Yes, you get a delicious typical Belize meal on the way home. Super tasty!
* Yes, it takes the same 2 hours to get back to port that it did arriving. I think everyone napped on our ride back. All of that walking, touring, and eating along with the heat can really make a bus full of people very sleepy!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always a treat

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Guest avatar
Popeye78
from Florida's West Coast
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This was our second time to Xunantunich. Yes, It is a two hour bus ride to the site (too bad the Mayans did not put it closer to the coast). The tour guides are full of information about the history of the region and keep you interest during the ride to the site. The site itself has a new visitor center, but being able to climb the ruins is exhilarating. The climb on the main structure is steep, but you can see for miles. On an earlier trip, a troop of Howler monkeys were moving about through the trees. I would like to have spent more time there, but that is not possible on one trip. At the restaurant on the return trip, you eat outside on a clean patio. The restaurant itself is clean, with restrooms, and good food (you pay for your drinks though). This is one excursion that we will return to on later trips.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Guest avatar
Ash527
from Topeka, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I loved this. He is a history buff so he was extremely interested in this. I will say this is not for kids though because it is VERY high and there is not anything to hold you in once you get to the top! We had 3 kids that went in our group and they were running to the edge. Their mom was freaking out the whole time! Otherwise our guide Javier was nice and I would recommend this tour. :-)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and educational

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Guest avatar
rmack65
from Northwest Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
While this excursion was very long and the bus ride was most of the trip, the opportunity to see the country of Belize versus just the tourist areas was wonderful. Our tour guide was very informative and entertaining. The ruins were amazing. If you are going to climb up them, be prepared for some scary moments! But well worth it. We even saw and heard some howler monkeys! Our guides at the ruins site were very well spoken and had great information. They did have a van to transport those who could not make it up a steep hill to the ruins site. Our party of 10 ( 4 teenage boys and 4 adults ranging in ages from mid-40's to mid-60's) all enjoyed this excursion very much.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fun

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Guest avatar
JustbeSunny
from Houston, Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant tour. The bus ride is a bit far, but it is definitely worth it. Afterwards you have lunch at an outdoor bar and pavilion with some Amish people who make epic ice cream. The food was good as well. Great drinks--try the pina colada--best I ever had.
About the ruins:
I have visited a couple of Mayan ruin sites, and this one is my favorite. The guides keep you entertained on your ride, and are very informative whilst walking among, AND ON the ruins! Best part there. There is a lot to see among the ruins, and at the top is some brilliant scenery. You will have fun, exercise and learn, even if you have been to ruins before.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Guest avatar
BradSharon
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pros: Very interesting, beautiful scenery, lots of history, great guides.
Cons: Very, very long bus ride (2hrs), very rushed tour in order to get back to the boat on time, no time for shopping at the port, lunch is provided but very late in the afternoon.
Tips: Bring sunscreen and water. Very hot. Eat a big breakfast and take a snack since lunch is very late. There is some limited shopping opportunities, but you have to look and buy fast.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>