Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.694 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(500 reviews) 500
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 500 reviews
5 Stars
385
4 Stars
92
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
7
1 Star
4
483 out of 496(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Once in a lifetime experiance

PostedJune 24, 2016
from Crossville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was the reason that we booked on this cruise. I have traveled all over the world but my family has not got to see the things I have and I thought this would be a good chance for them to experience some history. The guides we had on the bus and at the site were top notch. They gave a lot of information about local history and the areas we were traveling through to get to the ruins. The bus ride to the ruins is two hours but goes by quick because the guides give you so much information. Once at the ruins my wife got a ride in one of the vans to the top of the hill. My daughter and son and I walked up. When we got to the top we toured the ruins and got to climb to the top of the big pyramid. My wife and daughter chose not to go all the way to the top but my son and I did. What a view. Going to the top of that pyramid was a once in a lifetime opportunity that I could not pass up on and having my son with me just made it that much more special. After the tour we had lunch at a restaurant called Hode's Place. The food was local fare of chicken and rice with fried plantains. Overall the excursion was worth the time and money. If you do go be sure to bring plenty of water as it is hot and humid and the climb can be quite strenuous.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grate Experience

PostedJune 22, 2016
from FL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grate experience to get to know a different culture that we don't hear as much , the ride to the Mayan ruin is a little long but it's worth the time. Grate food and the tour guides are very nice and will give u a brief history of the country on your way to the ruins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The tour was very informative and fun.

PostedJune 17, 2016
from Belleville, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tour guides gave a lot of information about the history and culture of the Mayans who lived in the area. The guides also told us about the ruins in general and the excavations that are happening there. When climbing the ruins, they stopped us at interesting parts to tell us about the designs on the sides of the ruins. After we were done looking at the ruins, the tour guides let us look in the museum for about five minutes. When the tour was complete and we were headed back to the ship, we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant. It was amazing food and the tour guide answered a lot of questions about the food. Overall, the tour was great as well as the tour guides.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The tour guide was great

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Tyler Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tour was great my 14 year old made it to the top,but the best part of our tour was our guide LYNETTE she was the best tour guide there was and has been on every tour I have been on. Thanks a lot, THE BLOWOUTS
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

be sure you take lots of water

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
The tour guides were fun and informative. The hike up was a bit difficult but only because of the heat. It's a long way up the ruin and if you're scared of heights it may not be for you but if you can make it to the top, there's an awesome view!! We had a great lunch afterwards. I wished there was more time to shop but we didn't get to do much of that. Between the bus ride there and back and the time it took to take the tour we were pressed for time getting back to the ship. All in all it was a fun day with amazing sights.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This tour needs to change

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
For starters, it is indeed a long bus ride to the excursion but the bus was comfortable. The tour guide did a fairly decent job of sharing some rather interesting facts about Belize. The Mayan Ruins were interesting, with a very knowledgeable guide there as well. But considering how tourism is one of the largest generators of revenue for this island, I was beyond disappointed at the fact that we did not get to experience the local culture, we had all of about 20 minutes to shop at 4 stands where we stopped for lunch, and I had to cut lunch short in order to get those 20 minutes. Since it takes so long to get to the destination, the time at port should be extended so as to not create such a rushed excursion. This was not worth the money but had some great history to the destination.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The tour was Very interesting

PostedJune 15, 2016
from Tulia Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
We had a great and knowledgeable guide, she made the two hour bus drive go by fast. It was super hot and I thought very dry, and she said it was there dry season, but the ruins were beautiful. My husband claimed to the top I sat in the shade, don't like heat. The food was good, but the two hour bus drive back was long.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun and Interesting

PostedJune 15, 2016
from Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My family and I wen on this excursion during our May 2016 cruise. The bus ride to the ruins was comfortable and filled with interesting facts and Belize. Our guide was knowledgable and entertaining. Once at the ruins, we met up with two more guides who, between the three of them, knew many details and stories about the ruins. My sister and father were able to climb one of the ruins and were incredibly impressed by the view and the ruins themselves. They were well preserved. After the tour, we were able to try some typical Belizian food, which was absolutely delicious.
The excursion was wonderful and my entire family was happy we went on it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tour!

PostedJune 13, 2016
from Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tour guide was very informed about the towns we were passing on the long drive there. It made the time go faster. The ruins were well maintained and getting to climb the tallest ruin made all the difference. You could choose to climb the ruin or wait under a covered pavilion. The lunch was amazing; the chicken and rice were delicious. My picky child ate the entire plate served and then took off of my plate. The ride back was more subdued and even that was welcome after all of the information we had just absorbed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great educational experience

PostedJune 12, 2016
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our tour guide Maude was very friendly, knowledgeable, and according to my wife, very concerned until all the members of her tour were safely back on the ground. Yes, It is a climb to the top but well worth it! The two hour bus ride through the interior of the country to the site was comfortable and very interesting. On the return trip we stopped at a very nice roadside establishment and had a wonderful local lunch. A very nice day! Thanks Maude and the rest of the gang.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJune 6, 2016
from Davie, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My boyfriend, my 6 year old daughter and I went on this on this tour on May 26th, 2016. Our tour guide Maud was very friendly, funny and knowledgeable about Belize. The trip to Xunantunich is almost 2 hours by air conditioned bus. Then you take a ferry across a narrow river and a van to the ruins. They are spectacular.
Climbing (or crawling on all fours like I did) to the top is quite the workout but the view is spectacular. You can see Guatemala from the top. The Mayans did not believe in handrails or wide ledges but if you take it one step at a time you will be ok.
It was the most humid heat I've ever experienced and that's saying quite a bit from someone born and raised in Miami. This might be an excursion best left for cooler months.
Our guides at the ruins were also very knowledgeable and lovely people. We got to see monkeys while we were there which was a treat,
On the way back, we stopped at a restaurant called Hode's or Hove's with delicious food. I appreciated that they offered food for people who don't eat meat. And it was very yummy. My daughter, who is a picky meat-eater devoured her chicken and rice and beans. She said it tasted like grandma's, so you know it was good food.
I loved that Maud and the tour guides were sensitive to people who were overheated, tired or hurt. They sent vans to drop people off (as high as the vans can go) and then to pick them up afterwards. I think we were well taken care of and they took special interest in my daughter and the other 3 kids that were on our bus showing them things that they might be more interested in.
Take water! You can buy some here or there, but you will go through it. We took a 1-liter bottle for each of us and it still wasn't enough!
Enjoy :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

UNBELIZABLE!!!!

PostedMay 31, 2016
from Lafayette, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First thing you need to know, this is a long excursion. You will be exhausted by the end of the day. Second thing you need to know, this is a fun excursion. Our guide, Marisol, was top notch. Very funny and informative and you can tell that she enjoys what she does ( I would hope so, she's been doing it for 17years!!!!) Be prepared for a fun ride there but know this, when you get there, this is not for those not used to walking and climbing. I am a large man (nice way of saying I'm a fat guy), but I knew what I was getting into and it still kicked my butt. Thanks to some good old joking by my three boys, I was determined to make it to the top to prove them wrong. Folks, I am a 44year old 300# man. - this was not easy but I can proudly say I made it to the top and can cross that off the bucket list. The point is, know what you are getting into with this tour, but know it is one of the most fulfilling things you can do. I would recommend this tour to anyone that wants to have fun and accomplish goals.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great historical excursion

PostedMay 26, 2016
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've wanted to visit Mayan ruins for many years, so this excursion was perfect. The bus ride is a little long, but there is air conditioning and the seats were fairly comfortable. There was one guide that was with is from start to finish, Carolyn(not sure how to spell), and we met two local guides once we were at the site. Touring the ruins did not feel rushed at all. We were able to climb El Castillo and get some amazing views of the surrounding area. Lunch was at a local restaurant and consisted of local fare including chicken, rice and beans, and fried plantain. I really enjoyed the food, as did the people I was sitting around. The weather was hot and very humid, so make sure to bring lots of water with you. There is plenty of shade, and the guides encourage you to seek it out while they talk.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mayan ruins were astounding, guides knowledgeable and genuinely friendly!

PostedMay 22, 2016
from Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was probably the highlight of the cruise for my wife and me. The tour started with a 2 hour bus ride with our guide Caroline who was knowledgeable, funny and entertaining. You get a pretty good idea of the country of Belize as you drive through many different towns and districts. All the locals are extremely friendly waving at the tour buses as they go by. The onsite tour guide Edgar (Jian) was very knowledgeable and passionate about the ruins and had an answer to every question that was asked. Both Caroline and Jian made this excursion unforgettable. The ruins themselves are massive and awe inspiring. We got to climb several of the ruins, including the largest onsite at a daunting 130 ft. high. If you aren't up for the climb there are areas you can sit out, while the others climb.
The only downside would be we didn't get to climb ALL the ruins, because of time constraints but don't let that dissuade you from booking this excursion! It was amazing!
The lunch (following the tour) of rice and beans prepared in coconut milk and chicken with Belizean beer and real cane sugar coca cola was delicious! Restaurant had free wifi as well.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was my first Mayan excursion.

PostedMay 21, 2016
from Summerville, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first Mayan excursion which I thoroughly enjoyed. The tour guide spoke almost the entire way to the ruins. Yvette, our tour guide gave a history of Belize, the people and the Mayans. If you choose not scale El Castillo, the pyramid, it is not too strenuous. If scaling the pyramid it is extremely strenuous. For me it was a dream come true.
The view from the top is very panaramic. If like Mayan history this excursion is a must.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

If you are into archeology and like to climb or walk this is for you

PostedMay 19, 2016
from Dallas, Texss
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have no particular interest in archeology or climbing, walking, it was boring for me. 4 hrs on a warm bus ( 2hrs there and back) climbing, walking, hot. Lunch was good! The tour guides were very nice and had information to share. It was organized. Just not my idea of a good time. Driving through the city did not see the appeal "beauty" of Belize that everyone speaks of. That was disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific

PostedMay 15, 2016
from Boston, MA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Enjoyed this excursion very much. Our guides Marisal and Yevette were excellent. They keep us entertain for the entire 2 hours on the way to the ruins. I learned so very much about Belize along with the ruins. Lunch was very good. The rice and beans were the best I have had ever. Do be prepared for the heat and humidity when not on the bus. Also do wear comfortable shoes good for walking and climbing. Saw one person climbing the ruins in flip flops. Can't imagine how she didn't break her neck. She wasn't with our tour. Climbing the ruins to top would be difficult but it isn't necessary to do so to enjoy the excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Long day

PostedMay 12, 2016
from New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The Xunantunich temples are impressive and the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. BUT you spend about 4 hours driving back and fourth and maybe only 90 minutes at the ruins. Cruise lines should avoid Belize as almost all tours are too far from Belize City.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The tour was great, the bus ride was not.

PostedMay 12, 2016
from Pittsburgh
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Other then the bus ride to and from the tour was very informative. The guide were very knowledgeable about the Mayan culture.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tour!

PostedMarch 14, 2016
from Long Island NY
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Merleen was our guide and was wonderful! She was very knowledgable and kept us informed during the 2 hour bus ride to the ruins. We were expecting issues with bugs but didn't have a problem. The bus was well air conditioned which was a blessing since it was very hot and humid the day we were there. To get to the ruins you have to cross a river on a hand cranked ferry. Then a van picks you up and takes you to the tour starting point,. There are bathrooms there and a place to buy snacks and drinks. Lunch is like 130pm-2pm so you should bring snacks along and plenty of water. There is a 200 yard up hill hike to get to the ruins but if you can't make that a van will drive you up and bring you back down, just ask your guide. Edgar the ruins guide will tell you about Mayan history then climb the tallest ruin with you. If you can't climb it there's a place to sit and wait for the people to climb up and come down. Lunch was very good and there's free wifi at the restaurant. We were supposed to sample cashew wine but didn't. My friends bought 2 bottles and tried it at home today and said it was delicious. On the way back to the Dock most of us napped. We caught the 415pm tender back to the ship which was the last one! This tour was great!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>