Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.672 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(259 reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 259 reviews
5 Stars
196
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
251 out of 258(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mayan Ruins With LUNCH

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Guest avatar
woodinfamily
from San Antonio, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great excursion! We loved it. The tour guides were very friendly, helpful, and informative. Even funny. The food for lunch was Great! Climbing the Mayan ruins is pretty strenuous, but you have the option to sit out and wait. 2 hour ride by bus and 2 hour ride back. I recommend this tour. Belize is beautiful!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

INFORMATIVE

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Guest avatar
DEB1984
from MONTANA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
WAS VERY EXCITING TO BE ABLE TO CLIMB TO THE TOP OF THE TEMPLE. TOUR GUIDES VERY KNOWLEDGABLE AND FUN TO LISTEN TO. ALSO VERY BEAUTIFUL VIEWS ALL AROUND.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion of the cruise

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Guest avatar
GSas
from Delta, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very informative. As stated in other reviews, its a 2 hour bus ride to the site and 2 hours back so it made for a long day but a memorable one. Guides were very informative both on the bus and at the site. The ruins were simply amazing. Climbing the ruins is not for the faint of heart but made the tour - steep steps and no handrails along any of the edges. Even heard the growl from a howler monkey - alarming, if not down right frightening if you haven't heard it before. Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome ruins

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Guest avatar
Becky99
from Boise, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We've been to ruins before but never had the opportunity to go up on them. Great views! Beautiful area. It was a really cool place to go see. If you have problems walking, this isn't for you. At the end, there was a little area they took us to that had a great lunch. There was even a little time for shopping at some little shops.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour was fun and a great value

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Guest avatar
cyclelady
from Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Although I would consider the activity level a bit higher than moderate, IF you want to climb the ruins. We climbed while two others that had came with us could not climb the ruins. The views from the top of the ruin were spectacular! The guides that we had on the bus ride were super friendly and very informative. You ride for approx 2 hours and it felt like 30 minutes because of them. A shout out to those 2 (Carla and Maude). The guide at the site was informative and patient as we made our way around. I would recommend this tour especially to anyone that can physically climb without problem. Food at Hodes was delicious! My only complaint there was one of my fellow excursionists was served her plate and it had 1 tiny chicken leg on it and after a day of climbing in the heat she definitely needed more than she got. Mine was a decent size portion of a chicken thigh so I was good to go!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely AWESOME, a once in a lifetime experience!!!!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Guest avatar
CyndeE
from Roanoke, VA.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Let me first state, the travel to get to the ruins does take quite a trip through Belize. We had an awesome tour guide named Ann with an assistant name Jose and the bus driver Jason. They were great. Ann told us all about Belize as we drove almost 2 hours to the ruins. Ann and Jose were wonderful. It did not feel that long because we were learning so much as we went. We were taken across the river by a small manual crank ferry. Belize is truly very underdeveloped and it was wonderful learning about the country and life style. They do not think of themselves as underdeveloped, they feel very developed and fortunate to have what they do and that they raise their children well and focus on the land and taking care of living off the land and providing well for the children.This is why my husband and I took the cruise and wanted to go to other countries...to see the countries and how they lived. Learning about the country and its history was wonderful. So it was not just going to the ruins, it was also a tour of part of Belize. Words just can not explain how breath taking the sight is when you first walk up on the initial hill top and looked over and saw the massive structures in front of us. The ruins are comprised of many structures. Luckily we went into the museum first and it gave a view of all the structures. That helped when we were actually at the ruins trying to determine what was what. Even with our guides explaining, there is so much to take in, it is almost overwhelming. Ann let us loose, so we could climb the largest structure, but only 2/3 of the way up, due to recent rains (and actually raining at the time, it was considered to dangerous when wet to climb to the very top. But 2/3 up was extremely high. It was amazing. The history within the structure and the work that had gone into building it...just thinking of what it had taken to build it manually....and the view...you could see all the structures. It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL...all the structures and the mountains and surrounding lands. I felt as if I was in the heavens. It was worth the walking and being in the rain just to go up there an feel like I was a part of the history and see all of it. It was one of the adventures I was looking the most forward to and I was not disappointed at all. My husband and I both went. Unfortunately, due to it being slippery because of the rain, and not the easiest of climbs he elected not to chance the climb due to some back/leg problems and instead walked around the lower structures while I made the climb. He viewed the ball field and took pictures from below. Whether you opt to climb, whether it is raining or sunny, it is worth the journey that provides information about Belize to travel back in time to see the Ruins. They are massive and beautiful. Lunch was a nice treat, that you are much ready for by the time you eat. If you like history and going back in time, this is the true way to experience Belize.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very informative

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Guest avatar
Marie2x2
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was our first Mayan Ruins tour and we would do it again. A long day but was very informative. Karla, Maude and George were the best hosts and very knowledgeable. A long bus ride but was air conditioned. Very humid at the Ruins, take water. UnBelizeable!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome experience!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Guest avatar
3xcruiser
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my favorite excursion. My husband and I took our two oldest grandchildren (ages 8 and 11), and we all loved it! We all made it to the top and the views were spectacular! It was a well organized trip and the bus was comfortable. Our guides were knowledgeable and lots of fun. The lunch was good and we had a few minutes to shop from the locals. We made it back in time to board the ship, but not a lot of time to shop near the port. I highly recommend this excursion. The kids loved to too. It was very educational!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tour!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Guest avatar
2014
from Fort Worth, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This tour was an all day event, so be prepared for a long day.
The bus ride to the ruin site is two hours each way. But our tour guides Denise and Ken were awesome and educated us all on Belize history and current life in the country, so the drive to the ruins went by very fast.Once we arrived at the ruins the guide Omar (who is a Mayan) was very informative about the ruin site and the Mayan people. Your tour group stays together exploring each ruin together so that the ruins aren't over run with other tourists which is a good thing! The only thing my husband was disappointed in was before you walk up to the ruin site you go through the information center and he didn't feel like he had enough time to go through everything in there. The lunch was really good and very efficient it is served already plated and served quickly. Then it is back on the bus for the two hour bus ride (which is a really nice bus with ac!) back to the pier to catch a tender back to the ship. The excursion is so long that we had to speed walk off the bus to the line for the tender. I would definitely recommend this excursion to anyone that is interested in ruins. Climbing the ruins is not for the faint at heart. The steps are very steep!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mayan Splendor

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Judykins
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The shining glory of the Mayan Empire is here. BUT, for those who cannot climb - you see only from ground level. The climbing is for the young and those in good physical condition (very steep steps with NO railings). Excellent guides both on the bus and at the site. Well maintained site with clean restrooms and lovely small museum. Absolutely THE BEST.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a fun tour

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Guest avatar
InzaneTattoo
from psl fl.
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great tour very insightful and there was a lot to look at and the best part is you get to climb the ruins. I highly recommended it and its also a fun adventure for children we took both our 4 and 9 year old and they loved it
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Informative and Memorable

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Guest avatar
TxBJ
from TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Although I would consider the activity level a bit higher than moderate, IF you want to climb the ruins. We had planned to climb but changed our minds once we saw it. Very informative - very interesting. Would have enjoyed it even more if I had felt I could do the climb.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Adventure

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
JimmyB
from Orange Park, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was one of the best tours that we took during our cruise. It was a rainy when we left the ship but cleared on the way to the tour. The bus ride was nice and informative. The ruins were awesome to see and climb. It was a bit muggy from the humidity but that was expected. Lunch was served at a little cantina along the way back it consisted of beans and rice, bbq chicken, potato salad and fried plantains. This excursion was a great value for me and my family (I had my mother-in-law (65), wife (44), daughter (11), son (7). They all thoroughly enjoyed the trip)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not what we wanted

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
bspj18
from alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We went on Sept 17 2014 was really looking forward ro it but after hour and 45 mins was told we were going to different site it was no where as good as what we booked no neat carvings just a few rock rooms very unhappy lunch was ok shopping was good got some neat items bus ride was long but not bad
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Guest avatar
BigAl68
from UK
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great tour. Tour guides were great and informative, be ready to be bombarded with getting on for 2 hours of information on the way to the ruins. I did suggest in my review to the tour operator that they should split this info giving, and save some for the return journey.
It is a long transfer (2 hours), but the great thing is you get to see real Belize, not just the port, so I didn't mind the transfer at all.
If you want to work up onto the ruins you need to be fit and mobile, otherwise you just walk around looking at them.
The whole thing was very informative. The lunch was good. Can't fault it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Guest avatar
sfore
from NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The day trip was a highlight of our cruise. The tour guide was very informative. The 2 hour bus ride took you through the country, which was eye opening to how the belizieans live. The ruins Were spectacular. On the way back you stop and have lunch,it was good. Take cash so you can buy some Souvenirs.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The highlight? Climbing to the top of El Castillo!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
gssmith
from Farmington, Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The Xunantunich Mayan Ruins was a fun and interesting excursion. Our guide provided an informative running commentary on Belize facts during the 2 hour drive from Belize City to the ruins. We've been to the Chichen Itza archaeological site and one of the differences between the two is that there are less excavated ruins in the area we visited at Xunantunich but the highlight at Xunantunich is that we were allowed to climb the 130 foot ruin, El Castillo...and I LOVED it. The view from the top was amazing and I fought my fear of heights (this time). One of the negatives is the humidity. I would advise taking along a hand towel and a shirt change. On the walk back to our bus, we were excited to see monkeys playing in the trees. Lunch is included with this excursion and we stopped at a restaurant on the drive back. The lunch was good but our bus driver happened to mention that he loved the nachos, so we bought some and he was correct! They were delicious! We also loaded up on locally made hot sauces. :-) The bus ride is really long and we made it back to port in time for the last shuttle back to the ship, but we had a great day and would recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very informative!

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Guest avatar
2dreamers
from Astoria, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My 15 year old son and I went on this excursion. Although I would say my activity level is "easy", this excursion looked very interesting, so I took a chance and I'm glad I did! The 2 hour bus ride (in a very comfortable, air conditioned bus) went by very fast due to the fact that our guide was sharing all of her knowledge about the city, the villages, the landscape and her country! The ruins were amazing...no pictures do them justice! My son climbed to the top, I decided not to, but chose to rest in a covered area w/seating in the shade. Lunch was fantastic! Bring extra $ along if you want a soda, beer or ice cream. Also, there are a couple of opportunities to purchase handmade goods from the locals. I would recommend bringing snacks for the ride and plenty of water! My son and I were very happy we made the decision to go on this excursion...it allowed us to do something different as the other 2 port days were spent at the beach!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Experience

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
KellyH07
from Atlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a once in a lifetime experience! Belize is the heart of the Mayan Culture and what better way to experience that than by climbing to the top of a Mayan temple. Yes, it is a long bus ride, but the guides were extremely informative and you really got a sense of the passion that they have not only for their country but for the Mayan culture as well. I highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Too long of a bus ride

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
HueBaby
from North Platte, Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The excursion was very informative and the ruins were really great to see and hike up to. The bus ride was the worst.- 2 hours up and 2 hours back. The bus ride up was not too bad and was narrated but the bus ride back was long and very exhausting. The bus was air conditions but still uncomfortable.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>