Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.704 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(473 reviews) 473
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 473 reviews
5 Stars
367
4 Stars
86
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
459 out of 470(98%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

UnBelizeable experience - once in a lifetime!

PostedFebruary 3, 2016
from Dutchess County, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was absolutely amazing! After taking the first tender out to Belize, we were ushered onto a bus where our guides, Maud and Lucia, began to tell us all about the history and present life of Belize for the 2 hour drive to Xunantunich. They were informative and fun and kept us entertained, while the driver, Mr. Dominguez, kept us safe on the drive.
At the ruins, Dino was great at finding shaded areas to teach us about the ruins and show us what different groups are working on unearthing. He made sure that we walked/climbed a little, and then he spoke again so we could catch or breaths before walking/climbing again. The view was amazing from the top of the pyramid!
Lunch at Hodie's was good. Drinks were not provided but were a good price. There were a few small shopping areas on the tour with about 5 minutes to shop at each. The drive back to port was treated as naptime for the most part.
Note - this tour does not leave any time to shop at port, so if there's anything you want, buy in the small shopping areas or see if a friend can get it while you're on the tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very educational!

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
The tour is conducted by Chukka Tours booked through Carnival. Our tour guides were Merlene and Samantha and the bus driver was Dudley.
Merlene is an absolute wealth of information regarding everything you ever wanted to know about Belize to everything you want to know about Xunatunich Mayan ruins. And all delivered with a great sense of humor. This made the 2 hour drive each direction pass quickly.
If you want to climb the ruin I would rate the tour as difficult. If you want to watch everyone else climb the ruin, it's not difficult at all. They even provide transportation up the slope with just a short staircase to the ruin level.
There were howler monkeys making quite a bit of noise and everyone seemed to see them but me. I'm taking their word for the monkeys.
All in all it was a great excursion at a reasonable price with lunch included.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mayan Ruins

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
from Palestine, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tour. It is a little above moderate in intensity though. I have always wanted to visit ruins and these were good to see. I would highly recommend a visit.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a must do excursion.

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
from Lumberton, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the members of our cruise party has tried to do this excursion several times only to be rained out. Not this time, the guides both on the bus and at the site were very informative and enthusiastic about their jobs. I'm terrible with names otherwise I'd list them as they really deserve some recognition.This is a trip you have to make at least once in your lifetime.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Educational & fun tours

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
from Alaska
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Mayan people and their disappearance always fascinated me so I wanted to see the ruins. The whole experience was educational since we saw so much of the country. I climbed to the top of the ruins but it was difficult for some. Mayans made big steps. So glad I did this tour even though it took all day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spectacular

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
from Lakemore,Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great excursion. The history,scenery,and information about the site and Belize was awesome. I would highly recommend this excursion. One more check off the bucket list.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Views and Information

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
from Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an absolute great excursion. Our guides, Salvador and El were very knowledgeable and happy and eager to answer all questions during the bus ride to and from the ruins.
Our guides at the ruins site were very knowledgeable and passionate about the site. It was quite the change and a breath of fresh air from U.S. tours.
Lunch is spectacular and special diets are accommodated as much as possible.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tour!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2016
from East Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Caroline & Marisol were our guides to the ruins! These ladies were very knowledgeable and shared so much information. It was very interesting learning about the cultures of the Mayan people. The only negative side was the long bus ride but it was worth going. We heard howler monkeys...they sound vicious. Don't believe I would want to encounter one!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great History Tour

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
from Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall this was a fun excursion! It did take up our full time at the port, but was well worth it.
The over two hour bus ride out went by quickly with the tour guides providing all kinds of information and jokes. It was interesting seeing life for others outside of the port of Belize.
There were a few shops we stopped at close to the ruins before we crossed through water on an old hand crank ferry.
The ruins themselves were amazing. They have uncovered quite a bit and there is still more to find!
Being able to climb up and through the large ruin was something I have not seen another tour offer and really sets this one apart.
The lunch served after the historic stop was nice and prepared us all for a nap on the drive back to port.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lasting memory!

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
from Albuquerque, NM
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Our tour guides were informative and answered any questions. The site was well cared for. The lunch following was fine. I was worried because I have bad knees. I thought I would have to sit in the van while everyone walked....the van took me to the Ruins so I didn't have to walk much. I became brave though, there was a side area with steps and a rail and I couldn't pass it up....I went up far enough to say I had walked up the ruins!! Great time and well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Educational.

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
The 2 hr. ride there went fast by the hosts telling us about Belize; I learned a lot! On the way there, we were encouraged to use the bathroom on the bus. Big mistake! It was way too bumpy and I didn't feel comfortable or safe!
The ruins were fantastic! Wow!
The lunch was good. On the way back, most guests just took a nap.
If you haven't seen the ruins, I encourage you to go. Once was enough for me.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Do you like to climb?

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
from Metairie, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If so, this excursion is for you. Although there is a two hour bus ride to the site, it is very much worth it. Climbing to the top may be challenging for some. It is worth going to the top. The view is spectacular.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite excursion

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
from Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an amazing day. The bus trip was long, but informative. The ruins were just awesome and climbing up gave you such an amazing view. Lunch was pretty good, but a little rushed.
The bus broke down on the way back, but they had a backup bus there, even if it wasn't as nice. We got back to the ship late but because it was a sponsored tour they waited for us.
All in all it was a great day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long Ride but Worth the Trip

PostedJanuary 19, 2016
from West Point, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The guides on the bus and at the site were quite knowledgable and entertaining. The ride to and from take you through interersting, yet poverish areas that make you appreciate what you have. The ruins were interesting to say the least.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So glad we chose this excursion!

PostedJanuary 19, 2016
from Coralville, Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My girlfriend and I changed our minds at the last minute when space opened for this excursion, and we couldn't be happier that we did. Our tour guide Denise was absolutely the best. She met us right at the pier and brought us to our air conditioned bus for an experience we'll always remember fondly. It's about a 2 hour ride to Xunantunich and she kept us entertained and informed the entire way; we were definitely not bored. Denise has such a wealth of information. She's proud of her country and it shows. She taught us so much about Belize, its culture, and the wonderful people who call it home. When we arrived at the ruins Denise explained the significance of the buildings and architecture, led us to amazing views and took great photos for us. Throughout the bus ride and tour she was very interactive with the group and happy to answer any questions we had. She truly made us feel like family.
Lunch at Hode's Place was out of this world. Delicious food, free wi-fi, and a nice place to relax, plus there are local vendors outside who are not pushy but do have nice souvenirs that are worth a look. Lunch consisted of stewed chicken, fried plantains, and Belizean red beans and rice with coconut milk. My girlfriend hates coconut in general and even she couldn't stop raving about how good it was! When we arrived at the port after a relaxing ride back, Denise led us right to our waiting tender. All-in-all this was an excursion I'd go on again in a heartbeat!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the time and money!

PostedJanuary 17, 2016
from Illinois
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shore excursion is well worth the two hour bus ride. The guides that we had, Lynn and Jose, were very knowledgeable about Belize and the ruins. They were able to tell us amazing facts about the country during the bus ride on the way to the ruins. Once there, we had two more guides join us. They were able to give a brief history of the ruins and answer any questions you have for them. Climbing the ruins was amazing and the guides are willing to help you climb and take pictures of your family for you. There are a few brief moments to look at the shops that were there. The lunch was traditional Belizean, which I enjoyed. I would suggest comfortable shoes and clothes for there is a walk up hill to get to the site. I would go on this excursion again if given the opportunity. My parents and my brother really enjoyed this excursion as well.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great experience!

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
from Richmond, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ken and Shirley did an awesome job and made this a lot of fun. Life changing experience!!! Definitely bring a GoPro and closed toe shoes.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent excursion

PostedJanuary 10, 2016
from Las Vegas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was skeptical of spending not only the money but the entire day on this excursion, but it does not disappoint. The guides are entertaining and a wealth of information. The 2 hour ride is packed with history and great views of the country. The location is simply beautiful. If you're on the fence, just do it. You won't regret it. You're free to climb the ruins which is not for the faint of heart. The lunch was decent and we had a few moments to shop before we started back to the ship. Best advice I can give.....Wear good, comfortable shoes! You'll have a great day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tour! Great day!

PostedJanuary 9, 2016
from San Antonio, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our guide entertained us through Belize and gave us an educational experience to remember. We heard about the culture, languages, history, & country all the way to the ruins which were beautiful. The Mayan guide was equally fascinating & the day passed quickly. Lunch was fabulous & I have a new recipe for home to remember the day. The only thing that would have made it better would to have had more time to shop. We barely made it back on the ship before it sailed. It was a great trip!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

PostedJanuary 4, 2016
from Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very informed guide led us through the streets of Belize and gave us an educational experience to remember. We learned about the culture, the history and the country on the way to the ruins and once there, the ruins were spectacular. The day passed by quickly. The only thing that would have made it better would to have had more time. We were the first off the ship and the last back on at the end of the day and we could have used another hour so as to not be rushed at lunch or when visiting the shops near the ruins. But don't hesitate. It was a great trip! Even my 3 kids enjoyed the day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>