Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.69 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(393 reviews) 393
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 393 reviews
5 Stars
304
4 Stars
70
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
380 out of 391(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelizeable

PostedJune 29, 2015
teacherandmedic
from Fort Wayne, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the excursion I couldn't wait to take! With all the great past reviews, I knew I wouldn't be let down. It was the most beautiful thing I have seen and the pictures don't do it justice. One note: I feel the ruins were more of a difficult level than moderate. The steps are very narrow.
Yes, the the bus ride was long, but it was a great time of learning about the country. The stop for lunch was even very good.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedJune 29, 2015
Nanarchy
from Edmonton, AB
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was really scared of the long ride to get there and back but they made it great. On the way out our guide spent the full 2 hour bus ride talking about the local sites and history of Belize. The trip flew by because of this. The ruins are at the top of a hill and it was very hot (I suggest a sweat towel and a spare shirt). The ruins were amazing and as long as it's dry you can climb right to the top. We had a different guide from the bus and he again had all kinds of stories to tell about the different ruins and he was awesome at answering questions. The guides take everyone to different spots and as a result it didn't feel crowded or rushed at all. The biggest pyramid has a pretty thin path with no handrail near the top but the views are worth it and you can skip around the highest part if you get scared. BRING WATER!!! On the return trip you stop for lunch, the food was great and they had about 20 kinds of hot sauce that you can also buy and bring home. Belizian beer (Belikin) is awesome and they had plenty of cold drinks on hand for a reasonable price. I would definitely do this tour again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour through country was great. Kids got to see how different Belize was from the United States during bus ride.

PostedJune 28, 2015
Khal
from Elgin, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tour of seeing the inside of Belize and not just the beachfronts. Ruins were great since they let you climb it. You get high up there but the view was beautiful. Wish there was time to shop. Had to rush and pick up things at vendors where bus picks you up at river.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We loved this tour.

PostedJune 23, 2015
Lynn30
from Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Denise and Carla were unbelizable!! They were full of knowledge and very friendly. My family and I love the ruins. The lunch was very good. The bus and restaurant were clean.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was an awesome excursion

PostedJune 23, 2015
HappyCruiser1
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was the one I was looking forward to from the start of the cruise. It was everything I expected and more. The ride is across the entire country but it allows you to see how life truly is in Belize. The guides were extremely informative and made the trip enjoyable. Ann was the name of one but can't remember the other, sorry. Upon arrive to the ruins, we had Edgar and his dad as guides. They were great and gave lots of information. I HIGHLY recommend this excursion. The food was good and tasty. There are some local merchants there you can buy from but they aren't pushy at all. Bartering is great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was very fun and educational.

PostedJune 22, 2015
Doodiebug32
from Dayton, Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was the greatest. The hill that leads up the the ruins is steep about a 5 minute walk. But once you get the the ruins it is absolutely worth the hike up the hill. Due to my physical disability I was not able to make it to the top of the ruins, but I did make it to the 5th step. The ride to the site was about 2 hours there and 2 hours back. The tour guides were excellent providing information about Belize, it did not feel like a 2 hour ride. On the way back we stopped for lunch that was included.
Bring a good pair of walking shoes, water and camera.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You should see it once in your life

PostedJune 21, 2015
ranw0477
from Daly City, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
True the ride to the site is pretty long, more than 2 hours bus ride. But the view is amazing and you can learn a lot from the guide if you are interested in history. On the other side, you need to prepare to hike and climb a bit if you want to get to the top of the ruin.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Glad we did once

PostedJune 18, 2015
Buckeyemom43210
from Columbus, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a long bus ride, with very little sightseeing. I, as well as others, took a nap on the ride. We had great guides, Laverne and Seely, and they made it fun, but we had to be rushed the entire day, due to the time to the ruins and back. The meal was ok, but again, very rushed. I did like seeing the ruins, so am glad we went, but I would not go again. It took all day, for a short bit worth seeing. The hand cranked ferry was different.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd best excursion ever!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Ktsgirl
from Fayetteville, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful bus ride with guides that brought the country of Belize alive!!! The ruins were a sight to behold. Lunch was delicous!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Xunantunich was the best!

PostedJune 8, 2015
jmramos
from McAllen, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The 2 hour bus ride to the ruins was very good. The tour guides Nuri and Denise were very informative and told us about the history of Belize as well as sights we were passing on the road. Once we got the site we rode a ferry over the Mopan River and climbed a hill to the actual site. I recommend buying a water before climbing the hill and the pyramid. Our tour guide was Edgar. Edgar was the best. He was extremely smart and told us a lot about his Mayan heritage. The climb to the top of El Castillo was a little exhausting but the good thing is that there are platforms where you can rest and regain some energy. The views on the top was AMAZING! Afterwards, you are taken to eat lunch which is delicious. Bring money to buy drinks, water and cokes are 1 dollar each and beer is 2 dollars. Very cheap and good!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Excursion

PostedJune 7, 2015
LunaFamily
from Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We did this excursion with some friends that we were traveling with. The bus ride did seem a bit long (2+ hours) but our guides were well informed of the area and gave us a lot of info that seemed to pass the time. It was also neat to see some of the areas and habitat of the country. We arrived at the ruins and were guided through the plazas. Edgar lead us through the ruins and up to the top of El Castillo. He was of Mayan decent and gave us a lot of history or the ruins and of his people. We hopped back in the bus to go to a local place for lunch. The food was amazing and was authentic local food. We had chicken, rice, beans and plantains. Everything was wonderful. We were so happy that they served something authentic instead of trying to make an "American" dish. After a big lunch we headed back to the port. Many of the people napped through the ride back. We got back just in time to grab the last boat back to the ship. We were the first off and the last back on. There is no shopping in the port for this trip so if you want to buy a souvenir be sure to bring some cash for the local market or the souvenir shop at the ruins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long bus ride to ruins

PostedJune 5, 2015
WandaK
from Greensboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our guide name was Lavern. She was very knowledgeable about Belize, her home town. The bus ride from the pier is about 1 hr 45 mins. You will come to a small hand cranked bridge that will move you from one side of a river, to the other. There is a person that works that bridge. Cars also park on the bridge to cross. Once you're at the ruins, you will have to hike up a hill and once it levels, you are there. The ruins open at the plaza. It has lovely views and you are able to climb in certain places. This excursion is very physical, but worth it. At the end of the excursion, you are able to buy items on the grounds there. You'll get back in the bus and it will stop at a restaurant where they feed you rice and beans, chicken leg, cole slaw, and a small fried plantain. The food was very good. Then you will go back to the ship with no additional time to shop.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a ruin you can climb!

PostedJune 4, 2015
tr55
from San Antonio, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this tour was great. my hubby never been seen a ruin of any kind. The bus ride was comfortable and informative.. we saw lots of the countryside and towns. The ruin is an awesome sight. There is a steep hill to walk up, if you can't they will drive you up. You can actually go up the stairs to the top, But only for those who are able bodied. I watch from below in a picnic area. We got awesome pics! Look out for the monkeys behind the Restrooms in the trees! Food was good.. or we were hungry..soda was ice cold!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome site and awesome guides. Great excursion.

PostedJune 1, 2015
Princess101
from Eureka, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The biggest thing about this excursion is knowing what to expect. If you know what to expect before you book you won't be disappointed and can just enjoy the ruins.
Quick summary of pros and cons for those who don't want the long and drawn out description.
Pros:
-Amazingly beautiful mayan ruin site.
-You can climb the ruins unlike other sites. I did it and I'm overweight and had a rolled ankle. Spectacular views.
-Tour guides tell you all about the culture, the sites you pass by and the history of the country both on the bus and at the ruins site.
-Lunch is included, coconut rice, beans, chicken and cole slaw. You can purchase locally made wines like cashew wine etc or local beers, soda etc.
-Shopping opportunities are available in three spots for those that want souvenirs and the shopping near the lunch place takes credit cards if you wish.
-The Mayan site is awesome and breathtaking and you
learn about the culture and purpose of the sites.
-There is a museum at the Mayan site that you can explore and some souvenir shopping and drinks as well.
-Could be limited mobility friendly if you use the shuttle up the hill and don't climb the ruins.
Cons:
-Transportation time includes a 20 minute tender ride to shore and a 2 hour bus ride each way. (They narrate the tour and our tour guides were amazingly knowledgeable and helpful which made the ride fly by). I needed the long ride back to cool off.
-Your lunch is a set menu so you can't choose. You have to purchase a drink or bring one.
-You don't have a lot of time due to the transport time and everything they fit in. You get a general tour but don't have time to explore on your own due to safety and time constraints.
-It will likely be very hot and humid...bring lots of water.
All in all I would recommend this tour if you enjoy history and culture. I absolutely loved it despite the time constraints. Eat breakfast before you go since lunch is later in the day after you climb the ruins. Our tour guides were Simone and Lynette and they were awesome. I learned so much about the country and got to see schools, fruit stands, countryside, rivers, etc. I truly enjoyed seeing the authentic parts of the country rather than being in the tourist areas. I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this tour and I would absolutely go back to Belize and do it again.
There are narrow steps and it will be difficult to climb to the top but there is a picnic area you can sit in the shade if you don't climb to the top. You may see armed soldiers since it's very close to the border with Guatemala but they are there for your protection which is good.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
RobertaS
 
Please wait while more information about RobertaS is loaded.
Additional information about RobertaS could not be loaded.
The bus
Posted June 26, 2015
Are there restrooms on the bus?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good trip

PostedJune 1, 2015
Kpburt
from MS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
It's a long drive there and back on rough roads. The ruins are amazing and worth the trip but do be aware that you won't have any time to shop when you get back. Lunch was traditional belize cuisine and was great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJune 1, 2015
maemane
from Dyersburg, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to anyone interested in history. This was a great trip and well worth the money. The stairs going to the top of the cliff was in poor condition and there was a walkup to get to that point so if you have any issues with leg cramps or hurting feet, this might not be your choice. You get to see lots of the country as well as stand on an old style ferry to get cranked across. No motors on this baby. The buses were pretty nice and the meal was nice. The drinks are made with real sugar. If you want to see real sites of this country take this tour. I took the River Wallace ride a few years ago but I enjoyed this one way better.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

you will learn alot

PostedJune 1, 2015
Gunter1309
from Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a long day, but you learn a lot. the people on the bus were very very nice and knowledgeable about Belize ( Carla, Samantha and Francis ). The ruins were incredible and being able to climb them was quite the experience - Edgar was really smart and enjoyable. Loved the pictures we took ! The stop for lunch was nice, but you are rushed because of the 2 hour return. But all in all, it was well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice view

PostedMay 31, 2015
Jb3809
from McAllen, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The ride is long but entertaining. Food portion needs to be larger. Ruins are amazing. Take water, good walking shoes and towel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

History lesson in Belize

PostedMay 30, 2015
JoeyandKatrina
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tour begins with about a 2hr bus ride through the country side of Belize. But honestly it doesn't feel that long, the tour guides keep your attention by sharing tons of history and facts about Belize. Once you get to the Ruins, they are spec tactical! Not only do you learn about the site's rich history, but you also get to climb all the way to the top of the tallest ruin. After that, it's a short bus ride to a small restaurant that serves up traditional Belize cuisine (it was delicious). You then have a small time window to do a little shopping. Overall, it was amazing!! take plenty of pictures!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easier than Expected

PostedMay 26, 2015
DyWen
from Reno, NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had heard that Tulum ruins in Cozumel were just beautiful since they overlook the ocean. However, I read that you are no longer able to climb up Tulum so I decided to go to Xunantunich in Belize and also get to view Guatemala. Reading reviews before taking excursions is helpful. The bus ride to and from, though long, went quickly. I sat next to interesting people who I hadn't met before. I found the climb up the ruins and down much easier than I expected. Our guide stopped and narrated at good stopping points so you got to rest some before climbing more. The view was amazing and people on the grass below look very small. Our buses were spread apart enough so I felt like we had plenty of time on the ruin to look and take pictures - actually longer than I expected. There are 3 different places to shop. The gift shop at the parking area before the short climb to the ruins, vendors by the ferry where you cross the river, and outside at lunch. I wish I had brought more cash, though they did take credit cards which I did not wish to use. I found the best items were probably at the lunch stop but I'd spent my cash by then. Get postcards and T-shirts at the gift shop as I didn't see them anywhere else that I remember. Try not to use the toilet on the bus but they are OK in an emergency. There are facilities at the parking lot at the ruin and at the lunch area. Lunch was good but be prepared to buy water or beer. I had brought my own water from the ship. I was disappointed in the countryside that we saw in Belize on the bus ride. I was expecting it to be different but the landscape is flat and you see how poor a country it is. If you have never seen a Mayan ruin, I'd definitely do this trip. However, it does take up your whole time in Belize. I did hear from someone that it is not a good idea to go into Belize City. The couple I spoke with felt coerced into a $20 tour by a local and just didn't feel comfortable.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>