Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch

Discover the magic of this famous Mayan archeological site followed by a Belizean lunch in San Ignacio Town.
Overall rating:
4.642 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(162 reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 162 reviews
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
158 out of 161(98%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Review 1 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful!!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Guest avatar
LeeS
from Louisville, Ky
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read all the reviews on this excursion before my daughter and I decided we wanted to this. We had no problem with the 2 hour ride to the ruins because we were expecting it and Melissa was so informative and we learned all about Belize. The ruins were beautiful and the guides were very helpful. Be prepared for it to be hot and the lunch was very good. If your a beer drinker, try their beer (Belkin). My daughter (24yrs) and I had a wonderful day enjoyed this excursion very much!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedApril 9, 2014
Guest avatar
JojonJenn
from Magnolia, Arkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When we first picked this cruise, this was the excursion I wanted to do. I was really excited about the opportunity to explore more Mayan ruins. This excursion did not disappoint. Our tour guides met us as we arrived from the tender and ushered us to an air-conditioned bus. The drive to the ruins was about two hours, but it seemed to go by quickly as our tour guide had a lot of information about the country to share. You could tell she really loved her country and wanted to pass on this love to all of us on the tour. When we arrived at the ruins, we had to cross a river on a hand-crank ferry, then we boarded vans to take us to the base of the ruins. We then hiked up a hill where we were finally able to see the ruins. Our tour guide at the ruins happened to be Mayan and he was able to give us a lot of detail about the history of his people. The best part of the tour was when we were able to climb the temple. It is a steep climb of about 130 feet. The views at the top were absolutely amazing. These ruins are very close to Guatemala (2 miles by road and about 1 mile through the jungle) so we were able to see the countryside of Belize and the countryside of Guatemala. Not only were the views amazing, but I was able to say I conquered the climb. When we climbed down from the temple, we were able to see some howler monkeys in the jungle behind the temple. After exploring the rest of the ruins, we headed to lunch at an open-air restaurant. The food was great and we were able to shop at some of the local peoples stands. We then boarded the bus for our ride back to catch the tender and return to the ship. This tour did take all day, but it was worth it. I can't wait to go back and explore Belize again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was our second time to this ruins and we really enjoyed the sights and scenery on the way back from ruins.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Guest avatar
shelbyman
from North Canton, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my husband and my second trip on this excursion.. we enjoyed walking to and around the ruins. Our guide, Caroline was very informative. After seeing the ruins they have a little spot where you go for lunch and enjoy some Belize cuisine; chicken, beans and rice, potato salad and a fried plantain.. I would recommend this excursion to anyone who likes to see any kind of historic, cultural sites.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome time

PostedApril 7, 2014
Guest avatar
chris38
from Palm Bay, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful excursion. The tour guides and bus driver were informative and fun. We learned much, climbed the highest point and ate a good lunch. I have to say this was the best part of our cruise.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great views of the various parts of the country and good temple views.

PostedApril 7, 2014
Guest avatar
CSMRUSS
from Ft. Myers, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the short time one has in a country this tour gives one a chance to view the various regions of the country from shore to the interior. The temples are small in area but impressive. Tour guides were great. The two chances to obtain crafts were good and the lunch that was part of the excursion was very good with music provided too, very nice. Also an opportunity to get to try some of Marie Sharpe's hot sauce and try some local cashew wine.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth every dollar

PostedApril 6, 2014
Guest avatar
cheuk
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
staff are frienly and very helpful. very detail informatiin about city and tour. onr of the most go. lunch wss very good.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tuna Sandwich

PostedApril 2, 2014
Guest avatar
daniellepcb
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was wonderful! Our tour guide GUS really made the trip even more fun. Highly recommend this excursion, only wish we had more time there.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST EXCURSION EVER

PostedApril 2, 2014
Guest avatar
bassnjohn
from NORMAN, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Extreme
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THIS WAS THE BEST EXCURSION I HAVE EVER BEEN ON. THE BUS RIDE WAS LONG BUT WE LEARNED EVERYTHING THERE IS TO KNOW ABOUT BELIZE. OUR BUS GUIDE KARLA WAS GREAT AND OUR MAYAN GUIDE WAS GREAT. WELL WORTH THE TIME AND MONEY. I WILL DO IT AGAIN.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This tour was not worth time or money

PostedApril 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Debmay
from Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Myan Ruins was quite under developed, there wasn;t a lot to see. the Ruins in Progresso or Cozamel were more elaborate and the guide there was very friendly and informative. The guide in Belize was not knowledgable and very rude. Made us feel like we were a bother to him. Strongly discourage this excusion!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Guest avatar
KAC22
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my friends and my favorite excursion. We liked it a lot because we were able to get away from the ports and the tourists and we were able to experience the beautiful country of Belize. We learned a plethora of interesting facts and information about the ruins and the country. In my opinion, if you struggle with heat or humidity, you may have a hard time with hiking to the ruins. Have a lot of water and sunscreen and take your time while getting to the ruins. The lunch was delicious and a very good experience. If you like history and cultural experiences, you will LOVE this excursion so much you won't be able to BELIZE it! =)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The ruins are AMAZING!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Guest avatar
forthefamilyof4
from Lake Mary, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bus ride is long but you get to see a lot of the countryside. Guide was very informative. Ruins were amazing piece of history. Make sure to wear clothing and shoes you are comfortable walking in. I personally am afraid of heights so I couldn't look down but I did look out and the views were stunning! It is just amazing how the Mayans built these huge stone temples! Would recommend to anyone who wants to see some awesome ruins. Tip - do NOT buy the knives from the shops - we bought one with an awesome leather case for a gift and were told if we declared it that they would allow it...not the case...they confiscate it and you never get it back. We were not the only ones that this happened to either.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lots of fun and informative

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Guest avatar
Arnie281
from long island, new york
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the tour was very interesting and very informative. I would highly recommend this tour
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My FAVORITE Excursion

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Guest avatar
Beluki1974
from Kaukauna, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW. I loved it. The tendering to Belize, our tour guide Lynnette (she really made the trip to be honest), the park guide was terrific, and the RUINS were magnificant. I loved the ride in and explaination of Belize and its history. The park guide knew a lot about the ruins because he grew up in the area and had actually played on them as a child! My only "complaint" was that children 3 and up were allowed in the excursion. No way should a 3 year old be there #there was a toddler on our excursion and well...it didn't go well and that is all I will say#. I think children that young should be restricted. I have read a few reviews with 7 year olds and they went fine. Just use caution if you are a parent. Otherwise, a fabulous excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super time!!!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Guest avatar
Kelley4
from Hot Springs, Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a super tour guide (Gilbert). He was very knowledgeable of the ruins as well as Belize. I would do it again in a heart beat. We loved the whole day. However, I believe the tour should be ranked a little harder than moderate (physically). Some of our "group" had problems with the walking. (Walking required up a hill, through the ruins). Gilbert can and will get you a van ride as close to the ruins as possible. The group has to stay together so the guide can keep up with everyone. (the ones that did not want to go all the way to top of Castillo can stay on the ground). Very good learning experience. The hand cranked ferry was a plus as well. Thanks Gilbert!!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Stent
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two hour bus ride to the ruins is well worth your time and money. Have the opportunity to learn of the history and culture of Belize. Great historical site. Wonderful lunch. Wish I had more time to have spent here.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion of the trip

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Cruiser34
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tour guides are very friendly and knowledgable. The car ride is long but you are on a charter bus so it's pretty comfortable and you learn a lot and get to see a lot of the country. Ruins were beautiful and climbing them is amazing. Lunch was also delicious!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very informative excursion

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Guest avatar
Chelsea23
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I enjoyed this one a lot. The tour guides on the bus were super friendly and knowledgable, and were able to answer any questions we had about Belize. It IS a very long journey to the ruins. It took about two hours on the bus, then we took a hand cranked ferry across a small river, then we took a van up the side of a mountain (about a 15 min van ride). Worth it in my opinion. The ruins were incredible!! You get to climb all the way to the very top. It's definitely a hike, but so worth it!!! We had about an hour to climb and explore the ruins. On the way back to port we stopped at a local restaurant where we were served lunch. It was very yummy!! We had the opportunity to sample locally made cashew wine. I definitely recommend this excursion!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was fabulous.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Guest avatar
CruiserSandy2014
from The Villages, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was fabulous. The travel time from the ship via bus was 2 hours, and we had two wonderful guides who explained so much about Belize, the people and their culture that I never expected to learn. Once at the archeological pyramid site, I was able to climb to the top of the pyramid and view Belize on one side and Guatamala on the other. These pyramids are worth seeing. It was the highlight of my trip. On the way back from the pyramids, we stopped for an authentic Belize meal, which was delicious. It made me feel like I got closer with their culture to taste one of their typical meals. I recommend this shore excursion to anyone looking for a historical/cuttural experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice way to see the countryside and history at the same time.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Snowbunny73
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We enjoyed this tour a lot. The bus guides shared so many interesting aspects of Belize that the 2 hour trip seemed brief both ways! Very well done tour. The ruins were amazing, the park beautiful and the people pleasant and helpful. The "lunch" was a unique experience that was a bit of cultural adventure. You ate what you were served (no choices) but we found it tasty and satisfying if a bit on the light side. We couldn't have arranged travel plans on our own for the price of this wonderful experience. If interested in a culturally enriching outing where you experience the real country of Belize with a well informed staff of guides to the ruins this is a great trip. Wear good walking/climbing shoes, a hat and sunscreen.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Xunantunich Mayan Ruins with Lunch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

informative,fun

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Guest avatar
joad
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it was a 2h bus ride in an air conditioned bus, it was great ! got to see how people live and such.... tour was great, guides were awesome, they new all about the ruins and told us a lot about their country on the bus ride, so really it went quick. Lunch was so good, too bad it was so little.but better than nothing. it was great great great!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>