Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure

Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure

This is a rare chance to visit a remote manatee research station and snorkel over Belize's world famous barrier reef.
Overall rating:
3.914 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
9
1 Star
1
44 out of 58(76%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Review 21 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful if the sun was out

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Guest avatar
GG369
from Merritt, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, yes I do recommend this excursion. The staff were super nice and did a great job explaining the different sea life and allowing you to handle it. Our guide even took some pictures up close for me!! The only down fall was the weather. Of coarse the weather is out of their control it did put a DAMPER on trip. Because it was raining, the water was a little ruff and the water was not clear. Just as we were leaving the sun decided to come out and the water calmed down. The only time offered was 8:00 am. If you can get a later time I suggest doing so, it just may give the sun time to burn off some clouds.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The snorkeling was great!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Guest avatar
Bubbles50
from St. Petersburg, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The snorkeling was great. Water was a bit choppy until you were closer to the reef. Saw lots of fish and staff was friendly. They put you in groups to go out. They grouped everyone randomly, would have suggested to group by experience, all "newbies" together , etc. Beautiful view and experience,
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made best of unfavorable conditions

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Guest avatar
lnjwag1
from North Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These guys wen't out of their way to make sure we were taken care of at every turn. A front had just blown through the day before so it was a bit cold and rough. The water was not as clear as usual from the previous days rain. We couldn't go to the normal location because of previously stated conditions but we did get to see a lot of reef and wildlife at the location we did visit. The captain did a great job steering in rough seas to make it smooth. I did not feel restricted by lifevest we could dive down without it you just need to ask guide and they will hold vest while you dive. My youngest son got too cold after about 45 mins and i took him back to boat then swam back to my group. My wife oldest son and I did not get too cold or tired. Everybody involved in this company wen't out of their way to accomodate us all day. Fried shrimp/food and cold beer at beach stop was great! Can't wait to go back and enjoy in favorable conditons!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice trip

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Guest avatar
Chief11
from NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Staff is great & helpful. Boat is good with ladders. Guide for our group pointed out fish & coral along the way however there were few to see. The risk you take! Staff followed good safety procedures.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Accurate Descrption

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Guest avatar
Peter
from Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Previous snorkel experience: Hawaii, Costa Rica, Mexico, Cayman Islands
Past Cruise Experience: Yes
Previous Excursions: 12+
Age: 30 years
I read other reviews before booking excursions. My wife and I decided on this one for the price/time, and based on the bad reviews. Yes, the bad. You frequently get euphoric first-timers rave about a trip of lesser quality because they haven't been on other trips or experienced other options. Belize, having the 2nd largest barrier reef in the world, is worth seeing if you are stopping there on your cruise. They cannot dock because of the reef, so you will take tender boats for transport from the cruise ship, FYI.
This tour had knowledgeable guides that explained how to use the gear, supplied a chart of the wildlife that we might encounter, and a good attitude. They even supplied soap to disallow fogging on your goggles (I always spit in mine-a common practice, so don't be grossed out), but they took the time to even supply that small item. They cared enough to announce that sunscreen will disallow a watertight seal on your goggles, another trick that not many tours will tell you either. (And really, you're facing down so do you really need sunscreen there anyways?)
The water was good, and things like lionfish, starfish, sea cucumbers, angelfish, coral, and other vegetation was clear. Watermelon and tasty rum punch was supplied as well. I wish I had brought cash to tip them afterwards. They didn't ask, but they deserved it. They weren't one of those guys that shoved a tip jar and a guilt trip in your face as you got off the boat.
I will return to Cay's with my diving license.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
CCRider
Alabama
 
Please wait while more information about CCRider is loaded.
Additional information about CCRider could not be loaded.
Thanks, just the kind of info I was looking for...
Posted December 6, 2013
I was wondering if they have a ride along rate though? My wife would like to come along but she is not a snorkeler so, paying full price wouldn't make sense. We will be heading down that way in about a week and I usually just snorkel from shore but it sounds like there isn't any shore snorkeling to be had there. Thanks again for the info!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 26 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great excursion - well worth the money

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Guest avatar
prranch8250
from Arlington TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We booked this last minute because we heard that there was not much to do in Belize.. so my expectations were not very high..
I was so pleasantly surprised by how much fun it was.
I have never snorkeled before and was pretty hesitant but once I got the hang of breathing thru the snorkel, the sights were fabulous..
Our guide picked up some conch shells and a sea cucumber for us to hold and look at..
We saw a huge stingray swimming right below us and we passed thru a large school of blue fish..
This excursion is well-worth the money... the guides are excellent and make it all fun !
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loved it!!!

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Guest avatar
beachsnorkeldolphins
from Fort Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were picked up from the Carnival Magic and loved this excursion. This was at one time the home of Queen Elizabeth and Princess Margaret's vacation mansion. The crew and workers were educated about Belize and the area complete with maps, fish photo charts, and the dive master brought up a sea urchin and rough starfish that we got to hold. There was a first time snorkeler (10 year old) with me and they made sure she caught on and was doing fine during the excursion. Even with a rain shower while snorkeling this was fun and worth the money. FYI: drank their water and ate watermelon; very good and caused no sickness.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't miss this one!!!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Guest avatar
Robin2013
from Bryan, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I love to snorkel and do so every chance we get! It was our first time in Belize and we are so happy that we chose this excursion! We were divided into teams of 6 with one guide. Our guide was incredible!!! She kept our team together so we felt very safe. She pointed out things that we would not even have known to look for left on our own. Because of her, we saw 2 (huge) lobsters, 2 yellow sting rays, a school of blue tang, sergeant major, porkfish, yellow tail snapper, queen conch, rock beauty, spadefish, angel fish, hogfish parrot fish, squirrelfish, redband parrot fish, needle fish, sea cucumber, sea urchin....too much to mention!!!
The entire crew was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
We highly recommend!!! Don't miss out on this one!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful & informative

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Guest avatar
Clyde68
from Branson Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had high waves and was hard to snorkel but the head of our group stayed right with my husband as he had trouble with his mask and then gave him his own mask. Can't remember his name. He had a pony tail & looked like might have been a Mayan decent. Wonderful man.
Beautiful coral. Not best weather to snorkel. Very informative.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Had a great time!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Guest avatar
jpworley
from Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I really enjoyed this experience. Dorian and Allison were great. We got to see lots of Coral and if you are a great swimmer, they let you swim around on your own. The island left a little to be desired, but the service of the crew was great. Would definitely do this again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Time!

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Guest avatar
Snorky
from Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
The snorkeling was great and we got extra time in the water! The coral reef was beautiful and we saw tons of fish. The guide pointed out a Lion Fish, sea urchins, and other wonders that tend to hide in the coral and otherwise hard to see. The life-vest wasn't bad; I tied the strap around my wrist so it was available if I needed it; which I never did.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tour

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Guest avatar
tedtammy4
from Greenwood, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall this was a very good snorkel experience. We've snorkeled on several cruises and this was a good one. Saw an amazing amount of coral, clear water all around to see it all. Guides were friendly and helpful. I see where some complain about using life jackets. Yes you use them around your waist, but we were out so long it kept us from getting exhausted! Plus you shouldn't be diving down to touch the coral it's delicate. Our pics were up close and great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best snorkeling ever

PostedJune 23, 2013
Guest avatar
cmom
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Execellent! A boat picks you up from the Dream. The boat makes a stop for the bathroom and to get gear. At this spot my girls saw fiddler crabs and shells. We took a few pics and got our gear. Then, we headed to our snorkel spot. We told them we had snorkeled before. So, we were quickly taken to the water. We saw lots of animals, plants, and coral. You are given a guide. So, the guide points out animals. He brought up animals for my 13 and 15 year old daughters to hold. There were only 7 people with him. So, we had lots of time with him. My husband was able to dive down. The water was choppy but well worth the effort!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We had a GREAT time! Highly recommend this one!

PostedMay 27, 2013
Guest avatar
anniversarycruisers
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our guides made this excursion worth going on, and the beautiful reef of course as well! This was both of our 1st times seeing this reef, and it was WORTH it! The water was choppy (which our guides couldn't control due to weather), but the life vest we were each provided allowed you to take breaks when needed. Our smaller group guide dove down multiple times to bring up sea treasures for us to see up close and hold when possible. The views through our snorkel masks were AMAZING as well. We ended this excursion delighted that we opted for it and already planning another trip back!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beautiful water, lots to see underwater

PostedApril 12, 2013
Guest avatar
Hondamama
from Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
There were lots of fish, coral formations, shells etc to see. The guide let us all hold a sea cucumber and conch and showed us a lionfish, ray and eel that we would not have noticed on our own. The groups are small enough to not get kicked by others fins. The snorkel time was short, less than an hour. I would have liked better to have all the paperwork and fitting of equipment done on the hopper instead of wasting so much time on their island. The guides were great, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the cay and belize itself. Out of the 4 snorkel excursions i took on this cruise, this one had the most to see.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing snorkel experience

PostedApril 1, 2013
Guest avatar
Snorkeler
from Oregon
Age:55-65
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
What's good: the guides are very friendly and helpful. They point out the fish and coral formations below. Did a good job of keeping our group in sight.
What I didn't like: the life preservers they make you wear. These are not the inflatable type, instead they make you wear the ones with foam padding like in your cabin. Don't be fooled by the pictures that advertise this activity. To swim down to take a picture or get closer to the fish you had to remove it, hold one end of the strap and kick like heck to descend. It was a horrible, frustrating experience for me. If, however, you just want to float on the surface this shouldn't bother you. Be aware that you'll be about 10-15 feet over most of the sea life and will miss the real beauty of the reef if you never descend.
Second part I did not appreciate was the stop at their island after the swim. An unabashed attempt to get you to buy food, drink and souvenirs. I would have preferred to return to the ship rather than wait 45 minutes on the island until they felt the group had spent enough. I would not recommend this excursion if you want a good snorkel experience.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Snorkeling I've been on

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Guest avatar
dwils123
from Maumelle, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read the reviews before we left and was concerned bc of bad reviews, however this was THE BEST snorkeling I've been on (6th cruise#. You get picked up #Belize is a tender port) by the tour guide boat and go to their resort to get fitted for snorkel equipment. Someone else complained about this process, but how else do you expect to get your gear?? Then they took us out to the reef to snorkel. We were only boat, and the guides divided us into groups. We had a group of about 10 and it wasn't crowded at all. IT was absolutely beautiful. Saw every kind of fish you can imagine, even a Lion Fish! and a Barracuda. The kids found a white sea urchin and our guide Dorian picked it up and let everyone hold it. He also passed around a starfish. They were awesome and it was a great experience. We did go in March so the time of year might have something to do with everything we saw. We snorkeled for at least an hour, I actually got tired and went back to boat after an hour. It was plenty of time!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was a very beautiful and exciting tour. The Manatee research station was very interesting--just wish we would have had more time to spend there.

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Guest avatar
ShipFaced2013
from Liberty Lake, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were picked up for this excursion right from the ship and taken to the Manatee research center. The ride to the center was beautiful and very informative. When we arrived at the research center we were given our snorkeling gear and given time to use the restrooms. Because of the boats going in and out of the cove area all the manatees were nowhere to be seen. Would have enjoyed spending a little more time watching for them. We then boarded our boat and were taken to the reef area and were given life jackets and instructions. Our guide was very helpful and took plenty of time with the beginning snorkelers. When I saw some fish that were more to the bottom I asked our guide (since I don’t free dive) if he would take my camera down and take a few pictures—I can’t tell you how pleased I am with all of the wonderful pictures and videos he took while he had my camera. It was a sunny day and the reef was clear and there were plenty of sea life to be seen. Very good snorkeling adventure.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok but but didnt see much

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Guest avatar
lulu25
from Omaha, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall the tour was ok, staff was friendly, however the snorkeling supplies were not on the boat and went to their "mini resort" to get everyone's gear and it seemed like a waste of time to go there because their wasn't anything to see! When we got to the "place" to snorkel, there wasn't a whole lot to things to see underwater. I guess I was expecting to see fish, bigger coral or anything. The water wasn't blue it looked more like green! It was disappointing when we this was our first snorkeling trip. After our time was up which was about 45min in the water, out of a 3 hr tour, our refreshments they offered was fresh watermelon(baby triangles) that were gone by the time got on the boat no biggie, but really? We then had to go back to their "mini resort" and hang out and then to the ship. Probably overall I wouldn't recommend.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This is NOT what it is advertised!

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Guest avatar
Okie2
from Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
I chose this excursion for the "manatee research station". There was none! Just a sales pitch on coming back for all inclusive and wasting all our time running us around, in and out of the boat. Very disappointing!!
However, the crew was awesome!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>