Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure

Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure

Visit a private island equipped with modern facilities and snorkel over Belize’s world famous barrier reef.
Overall rating:
3.963 / 5
4
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
10
1 Star
2
61 out of 81(75%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Review 21 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We loved this excursion and plan to take it again

PostedJune 10, 2014
drysuit
from Louisiana
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our second time on this excursion and had some of the same guides as last time. Snorkeling the reef was like swimming in an aquarium !!! Beautiful to say the least! The crew was wonderful! The beach stop was unexpected and fun too! We will definitely go on this excursion again
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great experience

PostedJune 9, 2014
Momx2
from Wilmington, delaware
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a unique experience taking a boat to reef with sandbar. Guides were kind and helpful. They pointed out a lot and brought some things to the surface for us to touch and hold. As an experienced snorkler, guide recognized and was not on top of me throughout trip. Guides answered questions about country and area when asked. Great rum punch at beach. Try the local beer. It's delicious.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sargeant's Cay snorkeling in Belize

PostedJune 2, 2014
worktovacation
from California
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were picked up from the ship and the staff an board our Boat, Taken to the Manatee research center and Dive Shop to sign waivers and pick up equipment. There was also a restaurant and gift shop.
Staff was slow getting us outfitted with our gear and going over safety issues.Don't know why we couldn't have signed waivers and had the equipment on the boat so we could go right to snorkeling. Waste of time!!!!! Snorkeling was okay but not great.
We were then taken back to Dive Shop to return our equipment and then taken to a little beach were you could buy refreshments, lounge on chairs or kayak. Then taken back to the ship.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedApril 22, 2014
Addictedtocruising
from Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was awesome as they pick you up at the ship and bring you back. Snorkeling was a bit rough and all the people that were in our group were supposed to be experienced. Ha! Most were vertical in the water kicking the reef and gasping for air! I hung out on the fringe to stay out of the gaggle of flounders.
Only bad part was one of the female crew members was oogling my girlfriend which made her very uncomfortable. Very un professional.
After snorkeling they take you to a private beach where we had the best fries and tried the local beer which was very good and reasonably priced.
All in all good excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedApril 16, 2014
DBK65
from Tampa, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We were picked up from the ship and the staff an board our Boat, Not a modern state of the art Pro 51’ Island Hopper snorkeling boat. No sodas or water was available. Taken to the Manatee research center but no research or Manatees.. Stop at restaurant and gift shop were the staff were slow getting us outfitted with our gear and going over safety issues. The water was rough and the snorkeling was okay but not great.
We were taken to the research center and then taken a little beach were you could buy refreshments. The beach was full of rocks and shale so if was difficult to get into the water. Then taken back to the ship in our so called state of the art boat. It was so bad we got a partial refund.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional Staff, GREAT VALUE

PostedApril 15, 2014
D30E29
from Va
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would like to first thank staff of Belize Dive Connection for a well planned and executed excursion.. Now, to the review! As a guy who has been open water snorkeling before, I want to say how amazed I was by the water life at the dive location. I saw no less than fifty different classes of fish, and an abundance of coral, life, and vivid colors. I think I would have been even more impressed if it hadn't been for the brackish water. This left the water hazed, and seabed slightly mucked and unsettled. This was due to a storm the day before, and is NOT NORMAL under fair weather.. A special thanks to Dorian, the seasoned groups leader...
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could have been better

PostedApril 15, 2014
MelMax
from Mesquite, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had done this excursion before, several years ago. ON the day we went this time, April 3, the water was very choppy. I did not have much fun. this was my husband's first time to do this excursion..he agreed the waters were too choppy and rough. not as enjoyable as it could have been, The tour guides were excellent though!! Kept it safe for everyone...bought anyone back to the boat who wanted to come in early. The time at the beach (after snorkeling) was too short. With the waters being so rough, they should have cut the snorkling short and allowed more time at the little beach. you could kayak and swim and lay out/relax. but i would do this one again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a great experience

PostedApril 15, 2014
themule56
from Toronto, Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We were picked up from the ship and the staff on board our tender were great. We did not go to a Manatee research centre nor was it ever mentioned. We were told about the restaurant and gift shop.
The staff were great getting us outfitted with our gear and going over safety issues. The water was so rough and the current so strong it was extremely difficult to get to see the reefs or coral, let alone any fish.
This trip was marked as moderate exertion but it was far more difficult. They should have had another man to indicate the difficulty. Had we known we were going into the middle of the ocean we would have most likely not gone.
My husband has snorkeled before but still found it difficult due to the current and exposed area.
We were taken to a little beach and the rum punch was mentioned but we were not told where to get it. The beach was full of rocks and shale so if was difficult to get into the water.
It was fun snorkeling, but difficult, not only for myself but for many of the other people on the trip. The information in the excursion booklet was incorrect and did not provide accurate information.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The snorkel area is broken up and not much to look at......

PostedApril 14, 2014
jhutch
from Belize
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The tides and currents were extremely strong on the day that we participated in the tour and it was very difficult to swim let alone enjoy. I got motion sickness from what must have been the currents. But did not feel the snorkel area was worth the trip. On the other hand, the guides tried hard and were happy to be doing their jobs.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This surpassed all of our snorkeling adventures.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
JAW49
from Westlake, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tour guide shared his knowledge and showed us what we were looking at in the water. He even brought up a sea cucumber, upside down jellyfish and pencil sea urchin for his group of 8 to touch and hold if we wanted. We saw spotted eagle rays, parrot fish, barracudas, lion fish, star fish, rock beauty, blue tag to name a few. Usually when on a snorkeling adventure you get fitted with your gear and you are told not to go too far from the boat and it is up to you to figure out what you are seeing. The waters were calm which made it very easy to snorkel and keep track where our guide was. The guides were very friendly and easy to understand. I would book this tour again if I returned to Belize.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This excursion could be much more fun if the snorkel tour was a drift snorkel.

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Annie661
from Vancouver, BC
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The tides and currents were extremely strong on the day that we participated in the tour, and I was not the only one that had difficulty in swimming out to the reef. Had we been able to drift snorkel, all of us would have been able to enjoy the sea life of the reef.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Beginners or advanced

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Jason0303
from Brookings, SD
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a certified scuba diver, but my wife is not. So a lot of times we snorkel rather than dive. I have been on a lot of snorkel tours that are a big let down, but this was not one of them! They split you into groups and a guide takes you out to show you the coral and the marine life! We saw a giant Eagle Ray and our guide brought up various sea life for us to look at. After we were done snorkeling we were taken to a beach a very brief time but their is food options and kayaks to use. on the way to the beach we even saw a dolphin family complete with Mama, Daddy, and Baby! The staff was friendly and helpful!!! A+
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Snorkeling but glad I was experienced

PostedMarch 3, 2014
JB912
from Tampa, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was my 3rd snorkeling trip. If it had been my 1st I may not have done it again. The boat was rough and not for beginners. My husband did the snorkeling and he said it was good but not great. They gave you your money's worth as far as time but the location was only so so. I satayed on the beach which was not well done. Also the boat ride was very rough. If you take this, stay toward the back of the boat, the hard bounces clobbered my back as well as others. I would look to other snorkel excursions rather than this one.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just ok

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Mackelley
from South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Not a bad snorkel trip, just not a great one for me. The beach break was more of an extended bathroom break of 25 minutes, then it was back to the ship. I think I will always look for the words barrier reef in my next snorkel excurisons as those seem to have the most fish to view. Someone in our group did catch a glimce do a sand shark.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Snorkeling just OK

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
sunseeker72
from Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After being herded off the ship with the rest of the snorkelers, we headed out to the Cay for our snorkel adventure. We were not separated into groups by experience as others had reported. Ther was no visit a remote manatee research station. When we got to our destination, we all jumped in and snorkeled on our own. I did see a few fish I had never seen before, so that would be the highlight of the excursion. After about 60 minutes of snorkeling, we hopped back on the boat for the return trip to the ship. They did have rum punch- you could probably drink a gallon of it and not feel any effects of the rum- and water and lemonade to drink for the ride back. Our excursion was done before the listed time and they offered to bring us into the port instead of the ship. Many of us were not prepared for heading to the port so we opted to go the ship instead. For a first time snorkeler, I would recommend this excursion, but if you've done it before I would opt for something else.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Experience!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Larson05
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We booked this excursions for two kids (ages 6 & 8) and three adults. The guides were fantastic: patient, knowledgeable, and safety conscience. The seas were a bit rough, and they moved until a place with improved visibility was found. The reef, fish, and sea-life we saw was remarkable. The three adults had done the scuba diving in Hondouras the day before (also an amazing experience), and this rivaled that dive. The kids had only practiced snorkeling, and a guide looked after them and showed them around. A++ excursion - Thanks!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Waste of time

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
prettyboy
from Galveston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The tour people were super nice but the snorkeling was nothing like what I was hoping for. They had me scheduled for the 12:00 tour which was perfect for me to take the wife shopping and still do the tour. At the last minute they changed the plans and put me on the 8:30 tour.
They did a good job of instructing the beginners on the proper use of snorkeling gear. As a certified diver, I was getting excited when they starting talking about where they were taking us. They said we were going to snorkel the barrier reef and should see all kinds of fish including stingrays and barracuda. What we did see was coral and a few small fish. Nothing larger than 6 inches. The water was not that clear or we might have seen more.
I will stick with Cozumel and Grand Cayman from now on
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Strong current, reef was average at best

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
2Okies
from Duncan, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Since I could not find any good recent information about this excursion we booked through Carnival, I wanted share our excursion experience.
The excursion ferry picked us up right at the ship (Magic) so we didn't have to tender ashore & then catch another ferry. This was very convenient. The ferry was a double decker type ferry w/an open top on the top deck. It was probably a 20-25 minute easy ride to the reef which is out in the middle of the ocean, and probably 15-20' deep in most places. They insisted we wear the snorkel vests, which I was personally kind of glad for because the current was pretty strong and I'm not a very strong swimmer. They had 2 guides in a kayak, and 1 with a life preserver out in the water who were watching out for everyone. They do try to keep you all together, and there might have been around 40-50 on our excursion. So, sometimes, you were getting kicked in the face or brushing up against someone else. More crowded than I would like. The reef formations out to the breaks were hit & miss, and I saw few fish. We had snorkeled the day before in Roatan at Maya Key - and this Belize snorkeling was no where close to as beautiful. My husband did snorkel out closer to the breaks and he said it was starting to get more pretty, and there were more fish. However, the current was so strong that I didn't even attempt to go out that far. After about 45 minutes, I came back to the ferry boat. My husband stayed out until it was almost time to head back - about an hour of snorkel time.
We thought we had read that this excursion went to an actual island, but we never docked on land. We did pass a a very small island that looked like it had a beach, some chairs, maybe a restaurant or bathroom facilities. We asked one of the guides about it, and he said that on some excursions they do take guests to that island. I guess ours wasn't one of those excursions. ??
We rode on the top deck on the way back, because we finally did have sunshine in Belize, and the warmth felt good. They served rum punch on the way back to the ship (18 yrs & above only). The entire excursion took about 3 hrs. We were back about 11:30am.
After the excursion we went to our room, cleaned up, and took the ship ferry to the mainland to shop at the few shops at the port. We picked up a few Belize souvenirs and we were back aboard ship by around 3. The last tender was 4:15.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disapointing

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
amymann07
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In Belize you do not dock, you have to take a boat to the different places you want to go.. Kind of a pain. We got straight onto the snorkeling boat, it took us to get our gear. Then be went out to wear an island "kinda" is. It was destroyed by a hurricane. But you don't go near the island. We were so excited to snorkel here. The waters were a bit rough, they wanted to keep groups so close, you kept getting kicked in the face. But what was worse was the lack of color and sea life. Maybe if you have never done great snorkeling you would think this is good. But coral was grayish, brownish, not colorful in the least. And fish were few and far between. Ive snorkeled when coral was colorful and fish were plentiful. This was neither. It was our biggest let down. Tour guides were fine, a bit pushy to keep us so close together. Then we get back to the boat by 1130am.. Then the only place to go is into Belize city. No good beach to go to, only shopping. Many people got off in the city and came right back due to pushy selling. So we spent the rest of the time on the boat. Choose wisely at this port. January 2014.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disorganized

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Kkck
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The snorkeling itself was great. So much to see and take in. There was just poor communication from the crew and too much time wasted signing waivers and picking out flippers. Plus the boat ride out was super slow but on the way back to the ship we were flying...time to pick up next group I guess . I would love to snorkel there again someday with more time and a different crew.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>