Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure

Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure

Visit a private island equipped with modern facilities and snorkel over Belize’s world famous barrier reef.
Overall rating:
3.977 / 5
4
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 89 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
12
1 Star
2
67 out of 89(75%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Review 21 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

We hade a great time!!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Harry575
from London Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great staff
Great snorkelling
Great day
In short it was great great great
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Guide

PostedOctober 13, 2014
koin12000
from Atlanta, Ga
Age:45-54
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great snorkeling adventure and the price was good as well. The guides knew the area and pointed out anything of interest. They took their time. They made you feel like they didn't want you to miss anything the reef offered.
There was a bonus stop that the cruise line info didn't describe. They took us to a small private beach and gave us rum drinks and allowed us time to lay out, snorkel in a private lagoon area, use their kayaks or just relax. There was affordable food and snacks as well as beverages.
I recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Interesting Snorkeling and great crew

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Dede43
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
It sometimes seemed the crew was overboard on instructions, etc., however when you stop and think about it they are at a huge risk with a group out in the ocean. We never heard anything about manatees so don't know what that's about. We were split into groups and our leader was really good in pointing out different coral, fish, etc. I believe the minimum age stated was 8 but I wouldn't recommend for a child. I felt the price was reasonable and I recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Snorkeling Excursion Available!

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
chellebelle127
from Miami, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We reviewed ALL of the snorkeling excursions and this was the only one with a FULL 60 minutes in the water. That is what sold us. When we got aboard the tour's tender, we were immediately greeted warmly by the staff. They remained helpful and kind throughout the day. The boat was full, but we never felt like 'one of a crowd'. We were taken to the company's little island resort where we filled out paperwork and got our gear together. Back on the boat, and to the reef! Amazing waters, we were broken up into groups, each with a guide to lead us and show us the fish/wildlife. Afterwards, we were taken to their little beach area with a volleyball net, free rum punch and snorkel equipment and kayaks. An amazing day, do not miss this one!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great snorkel trip

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Mac007
from Panama City Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a great trip. Started with a thuderstorm, crew took us back to their little island shop and kept us safe. Once storm cleared, 15 minutes, we headed back out. Water was perfect, calm and sunny. Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Beautiful reef pics and lots of fish. We didnt see any manatees but one of the other groups did. All in all a great trip, well worth the money. We have been on about 5 different snorkle excursions so we kinda have seen both good and bad. This was great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great experience

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Jerrick
from Nashville,TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first snorkeling adventure and it was awesome. I loved our tour guide Palo. I went with a friend and he made sure we kept up with each other. The only complaint I have is the water was really rough and I got sea sick but that is nature's fault! Would do it again in a heart beat. The company was also very professional!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice snorkeling over the reef

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Sgonvacation
from Cadott, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Nice adventure to the reef. After being picked up at the ship, we had a lovely boat ride to the check in station, where we signed our waivers, received our gear, and used the restroom. We continued our journey to the reef, enjoying the beautiful weather and sights. Water was calm on this sunny day.
At the reef, we were divided into 6 groups and assigned to a guide, who led us through the reef areas. There were guides on kayaks monitoring all swimmers, making "rest stops" available for those snorkelers in need. Our guide pointed out many sights we would have missed. The guide did a terrific job monitoring all snorkelers in her group.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I definitely recommend this tour.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
siblingfun
from arkansas
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this tour for my 22 year old and my 16 year old who really wanted to snorkel the barrier reef. Both of them loved it and came back with great stories and pictures. They said that the staff was knowledgeable, friendly and fun. While snorkeling, the staff pointed out various things to the group, and my children were able to get pictures holding starfish and sea cucumbers. My 16 year old said that even the boat ride to the island was relaxing. Both children said that they would recommend this tour and it was definitely worth the price.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We loved this excursion and plan to take it again

PostedJune 10, 2014
drysuit
from Louisiana
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our second time on this excursion and had some of the same guides as last time. Snorkeling the reef was like swimming in an aquarium !!! Beautiful to say the least! The crew was wonderful! The beach stop was unexpected and fun too! We will definitely go on this excursion again
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great experience

PostedJune 9, 2014
Momx2
from Wilmington, delaware
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a unique experience taking a boat to reef with sandbar. Guides were kind and helpful. They pointed out a lot and brought some things to the surface for us to touch and hold. As an experienced snorkler, guide recognized and was not on top of me throughout trip. Guides answered questions about country and area when asked. Great rum punch at beach. Try the local beer. It's delicious.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sargeant's Cay snorkeling in Belize

PostedJune 2, 2014
worktovacation
from California
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were picked up from the ship and the staff an board our Boat, Taken to the Manatee research center and Dive Shop to sign waivers and pick up equipment. There was also a restaurant and gift shop.
Staff was slow getting us outfitted with our gear and going over safety issues.Don't know why we couldn't have signed waivers and had the equipment on the boat so we could go right to snorkeling. Waste of time!!!!! Snorkeling was okay but not great.
We were then taken back to Dive Shop to return our equipment and then taken to a little beach were you could buy refreshments, lounge on chairs or kayak. Then taken back to the ship.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedApril 22, 2014
Addictedtocruising
from Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was awesome as they pick you up at the ship and bring you back. Snorkeling was a bit rough and all the people that were in our group were supposed to be experienced. Ha! Most were vertical in the water kicking the reef and gasping for air! I hung out on the fringe to stay out of the gaggle of flounders.
Only bad part was one of the female crew members was oogling my girlfriend which made her very uncomfortable. Very un professional.
After snorkeling they take you to a private beach where we had the best fries and tried the local beer which was very good and reasonably priced.
All in all good excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedApril 16, 2014
DBK65
from Tampa, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We were picked up from the ship and the staff an board our Boat, Not a modern state of the art Pro 51’ Island Hopper snorkeling boat. No sodas or water was available. Taken to the Manatee research center but no research or Manatees.. Stop at restaurant and gift shop were the staff were slow getting us outfitted with our gear and going over safety issues. The water was rough and the snorkeling was okay but not great.
We were taken to the research center and then taken a little beach were you could buy refreshments. The beach was full of rocks and shale so if was difficult to get into the water. Then taken back to the ship in our so called state of the art boat. It was so bad we got a partial refund.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional Staff, GREAT VALUE

PostedApril 15, 2014
D30E29
from Va
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would like to first thank staff of Belize Dive Connection for a well planned and executed excursion.. Now, to the review! As a guy who has been open water snorkeling before, I want to say how amazed I was by the water life at the dive location. I saw no less than fifty different classes of fish, and an abundance of coral, life, and vivid colors. I think I would have been even more impressed if it hadn't been for the brackish water. This left the water hazed, and seabed slightly mucked and unsettled. This was due to a storm the day before, and is NOT NORMAL under fair weather.. A special thanks to Dorian, the seasoned groups leader...
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could have been better

PostedApril 15, 2014
MelMax
from Mesquite, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had done this excursion before, several years ago. ON the day we went this time, April 3, the water was very choppy. I did not have much fun. this was my husband's first time to do this excursion..he agreed the waters were too choppy and rough. not as enjoyable as it could have been, The tour guides were excellent though!! Kept it safe for everyone...bought anyone back to the boat who wanted to come in early. The time at the beach (after snorkeling) was too short. With the waters being so rough, they should have cut the snorkling short and allowed more time at the little beach. you could kayak and swim and lay out/relax. but i would do this one again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a great experience

PostedApril 15, 2014
themule56
from Toronto, Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We were picked up from the ship and the staff on board our tender were great. We did not go to a Manatee research centre nor was it ever mentioned. We were told about the restaurant and gift shop.
The staff were great getting us outfitted with our gear and going over safety issues. The water was so rough and the current so strong it was extremely difficult to get to see the reefs or coral, let alone any fish.
This trip was marked as moderate exertion but it was far more difficult. They should have had another man to indicate the difficulty. Had we known we were going into the middle of the ocean we would have most likely not gone.
My husband has snorkeled before but still found it difficult due to the current and exposed area.
We were taken to a little beach and the rum punch was mentioned but we were not told where to get it. The beach was full of rocks and shale so if was difficult to get into the water.
It was fun snorkeling, but difficult, not only for myself but for many of the other people on the trip. The information in the excursion booklet was incorrect and did not provide accurate information.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The snorkel area is broken up and not much to look at......

PostedApril 14, 2014
jhutch
from Belize
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The tides and currents were extremely strong on the day that we participated in the tour and it was very difficult to swim let alone enjoy. I got motion sickness from what must have been the currents. But did not feel the snorkel area was worth the trip. On the other hand, the guides tried hard and were happy to be doing their jobs.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This surpassed all of our snorkeling adventures.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
JAW49
from Westlake, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tour guide shared his knowledge and showed us what we were looking at in the water. He even brought up a sea cucumber, upside down jellyfish and pencil sea urchin for his group of 8 to touch and hold if we wanted. We saw spotted eagle rays, parrot fish, barracudas, lion fish, star fish, rock beauty, blue tag to name a few. Usually when on a snorkeling adventure you get fitted with your gear and you are told not to go too far from the boat and it is up to you to figure out what you are seeing. The waters were calm which made it very easy to snorkel and keep track where our guide was. The guides were very friendly and easy to understand. I would book this tour again if I returned to Belize.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This excursion could be much more fun if the snorkel tour was a drift snorkel.

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Annie661
from Vancouver, BC
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The tides and currents were extremely strong on the day that we participated in the tour, and I was not the only one that had difficulty in swimming out to the reef. Had we been able to drift snorkel, all of us would have been able to enjoy the sea life of the reef.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Beginners or advanced

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Jason0303
from Brookings, SD
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a certified scuba diver, but my wife is not. So a lot of times we snorkel rather than dive. I have been on a lot of snorkel tours that are a big let down, but this was not one of them! They split you into groups and a guide takes you out to show you the coral and the marine life! We saw a giant Eagle Ray and our guide brought up various sea life for us to look at. After we were done snorkeling we were taken to a beach a very brief time but their is food options and kayaks to use. on the way to the beach we even saw a dolphin family complete with Mama, Daddy, and Baby! The staff was friendly and helpful!!! A+
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>