Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure

Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure

Visit a private island equipped with modern facilities and snorkel over Belize’s world famous barrier reef.
Overall rating:
4.017 / 5
4
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 117 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
15
1 Star
3
91 out of 117(78%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Review 21 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tour, and the lobster lunch was a mmm so good

PostedSeptember 29, 2015
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
we rode on a small boat from the ship to a island pick up our equipment then road to reef. I have been snorkeling for years and this reef had so much life on it . It was just wonderful! then they took us back to the island where they gave us rum drinks. we bought lunch there ,which was great. I would highly recommend this excursion
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best trip to the sand bar

PostedSeptember 28, 2015
from Boca Raton Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our best trip to the sandbar to see and interact with the stingrays. We had a small group compared to the other boats out there. We had about 15 compared to other boats with 30 to 50 people but the best thing was the crew. They took the time to educate us on the trip out about what we were about to do. They don't take pictures of you with the stingrays and then try to sell them to you like other tours so take a water camera for some great shots. They have a fresh water wash down and water to drink. No booze so great for the family.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome tour!

PostedSeptember 20, 2015
from St.louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
literally the most beautiful water I have ever seen! Staff was super nice!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

30 minutes in the water

PostedSeptember 14, 2015
from North Carolina
Age:45-54
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I really liked being picked up at the ship and the crew. However, I was disappointed with what I saw underwater (Roatan snorkeling was WAY better), and how much time we had in the water. We spent more time on the island with the kayaks/beach than snorkeling. No body stayed on the kayaks too long - probably due to the wind. After getting back to the ship, we did take a tender to land.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience

PostedAugust 21, 2015
from Pharr, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so much fun and very convenient! tender will pick you up from the boat and take you to small island, very cute. from there thy go out to snorkel they are very informative! beautiful sites calm waters and beautiful barrier reef! after an hour of snorkeling they gave out watermelon and take you to a small peaceful private island and you enjoy complimentary and yummy rum punch and enjoy lunch and appetizers and alcoholic beverages at a great price! recommended this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Belize is beautiful

PostedAugust 18, 2015
from Austin, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We love the water. We snorkel every chance we get. Once you finally get out to the snorkeling site, it is amazing. Way too much time is wasted on signing paperwork. All paperwork could be done prior to the excursion. I'm all for supporting the local shop, however we could have stopped there & bought snacks/drinks/souvenirs without the lengthy time spent there.
The guide was really good once we were in the water. He pointed out various marine life. We even saw a nurse shark sleeping - very cool. The beach stop was nice. You could take out kayaks surrounded by mangroves. Very pretty
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would Recommend This Excursion

PostedAugust 13, 2015
from New Orleans, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experienced diver/snorkeler having had ACL knee surgery so was concerned about ease of getting on/off snorkel boat but no problem. In the past we have taken catamaran snorkeling excursions, like on the Fury where on/off was by way of stairs. This was a ladder but very easy and actually easier than the stairs, go figure. Excellent boat and quality sanitary gear. Crew very experienced, friendly, fun and safety conscious. First stop = @ 10 min at a little restaurant/bar to sign waivers and filled out medical/emergency info forms, use restrooms. 2nd stop = snorkeling @ 30 minutes water time. Broke up into groups by experience. Our group was able to venture off a bit or hang out with the guide who showed us things we would not have noticed on our own. They had one of their crew in the water in a kayak which was nice as it is in an open water area and you can easily get disoriented. Lots of fish and coral to see. 3rd stop = back to bar area for @ 10 min for restroom and freshwater showers 4th stop = nearby beach/cove for 45 min. where there was a concessions hut, chairs, umbrellas, floats, kayaks, food/drink (for purchase which looked fresh and good but did not try. Servers were not pushy and were very friendly. Spoke to a waitress and when we mentioned how we were looking forward to having fresh lobster, she mentioned that they have local fresh lobster sandwich there which we wish we had tried but it was too late to order.) Belize is a tender port so it was great to have the snorkel boat pick up/leave off at the ship. Otherwise, we would not have had time to regroup and tender back to shore for a bit of shopping before leaving. My complaint is that Carnival did not have enough tenders to handle the number of people on the ship. It took forever to re-board the ship. We were the 4th boat in line when we returned which took at least 30 minutes of floating around before re-boarding. Waiting was a common theme throughout this cruise. Carnival has cut back on staff, on board activities, amenities. Examples: 1/1/2 hour wait for my time dining; the few on-board activities they do offer are mostly infomercials; for those who bring the allowed beverages onboard....no more ice bucket in cabins or even brought when requested; on the morning you disembark you have to now go pick up any alcohol you purchased. It is no longer delivered to your cabin. I could go on and on. Carnival of today is not the Carnival of five years ago. This was a very frustrating cruise experience. We were not the only cruisers who noticed. Back to port excursions offered by Carnival. Our opinion is that the prices have gone up but the quality of the excursions have improved. We took an excursion at each port and all were excellent. I will end with the comment that this excursion is a quality one and I would recommend it. There were three snorkeling excursions to choose from and even though this one was our second choice, as our first choice was full, we were not disappointed. Enjoy!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was a fun excursion.

PostedAugust 12, 2015
from Shelbyville,IN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The staff was very knowledgable and concerned for the patrons well being. The guide did a great job pointing things out under the water. For an inexperienced snorkeler it seemed to be a little long and I got tired. Had a great time for the allotted 45 minutes on the beach after snorkeling.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Was Ok?

PostedJuly 27, 2015
from Galveston, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It was an ok experience, the snorkeling was ok, the water was rough and the reef was ok, did not see a lot of marine life. The beach was pretty and the water was beautiful. Would not do it again if we went back.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!!!

PostedJuly 23, 2015
from New Orleans
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour is well worth the money! My husband and I had the best time. The guides were so friendly and helpful. I was surprised at how much time we were able to spend in the water. This is an excellent choice in excursions!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

For Beginers Only

PostedJuly 14, 2015
from Montgomery, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My wife and I booked this on our last cruise. This was only her second time to snorkle ( the first was the day before ) This "Adventure" was anything but that. For an experienced Snorkler, this was lousy as they make you wear a life jacket and swim with a group. The problem with group swimming is that you are at the mercy of the slowest swimmer. As mentioned, my wife is a true beginer, she was very unsatisfied that we could only swim short distances. It should also be noted that we spent very little time in the water. Most of the time was spent on the boat or in their store. If you have kids or truly haven't done this before, it would be a good trip. If you have swam in anything more than a bathtub, this isn't for you. The water was clear and the surf was calm.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time

PostedJuly 13, 2015
from Orange County, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They had their own boat meet our ship and take us to their island where we got our gear. Off we went to the reef in the boat and you have many guides helping you and keeping track of you. They really help in pointing out key features. We didn't see thousands of fish, but enough. We did see just a beautiful reef with all sorts of colors and marine life of all types.
We went back to island and hung out at their beach and lagoon area. Very nice and relaxing. It was thoroughly enjoyable.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great snorkeling

PostedJuly 7, 2015
from spring Hill, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The guides were very friendly and helpful on the boat and getting ready to snorkel. the snorkeling was open ocean so the water was a little rough but the fish and coral were amazing. Our guide, Big Mike, even took my daughters underwater camera down for some closer pictures. You are expected to stay with your group so if you want to snorkel on your own, this is not for you. After snorkeling, we went back to the island. We were there during the rainy season so of course it started to rain. Kids kept swimming though. Adults sat around under shelter and talked. The guides were also there and continues to be really nice. People said the food was great although I did not order anything. The ride back to the ship was cold due to the rain but was not horrible. The captain was so nice, he gave a women his own raincoat. My daughter loved this!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

There needs to be more time in water and not on the water

PostedJuly 6, 2015
from Texas,Amarillo
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Everyone was friendly the ride to get to the he first dock was ok we u boarded then re larded and a second boat ride to snorkel site where more orentations were given and teams assigned. I swapped teams several times and swam out of the group once. I have always snorkled by myself and not used to group snorkeling. All else was great with this excursion
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedJuly 4, 2015
from Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was rough on the water! They did an outstanding job of showing fish, and other items. Picked up a couple conch to show us and then snorkeled some more!!
The other side of the island was incredible. I recommend eating there!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic coral!

PostedJune 22, 2015
from Westminster, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have snorkeled many times before but we had never seen coral like this. It was amazing. We went out on a boat to a key that had been washed away in a hurricane and snorkeled off of the boat. We had a great time and our guides were fun and knowledgeable. There were tons of fish to see and we enjoyed it. We also enjoyed the short beach break at the end. We had people in our group from ages 12 to 70 and everyone had a great time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect:)

PostedMay 25, 2015
from Lewisville, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was great! We saw lots of cool things and the reef was great!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just okay

PostedApril 28, 2015
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Snorkeling area was just okay. Water was pretty choppy and it wasn't a very big reef. Guides were good at pointing out cool things. Beach afterwards was gorgeous!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The snorkeling was good for beginners

PostedApril 26, 2015
from Durand, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a overall fun snorkeling excursion to go on especially for beginners. The crew divides the boat into beginner groups and advanced groups before getting in the water. We thought this would give more freedom to the advanced group, but this wasn't really the case. They are very informative on what you are seeing in the water and tell you what to steer clear of so no one gets hurt. If you're more of an avid snorkeler you may find this excursion somewhat geared towards the beginners more than people who have snorkeling experience. They keep you grouped together a little to closely for my liking (bumping into other people and getting kicked) and don't really let you explore much on your own. They instead insisted that you stuck with the group and listened to what the guide had to say about the sea life. Overall it was a good trip and for people who don't have much snorkeling experience it will be a great start and you will see many types of beautiful corals and fish here. It's also fairly shallow so you can see everything very clearly without having to dive down at all. The crew was very friendly and gave lots of history about Belize on the boat ride to/from the reef.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This company wasted our time; constantly returning their home base to attend to things they should do on their own time.

PostedApril 26, 2015
from California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
5 completely separate boat rides; should have been 3. First, we stopped at this company's home island to be marched into their office to fill out ridiculously invasive consent forms and for them to load snorkel gear. After snorkeling, we all returned to the same place so that they could off-load the used snorkeling gear. Then they loaded us up again and took us on another boat ride to the other side of this same island - where they offered us our pitiful complementary 1/2 cup of rum punch (kool-aid) and we could have a beach break. The snorkeling was OK, lots of nice coral, not so many fish. The crew was very attentive during snorkeling; just not terribly interested in us any other time. Very annoyed with us when we looked for more complementary rum punch. No music on the boat; really loud music on a basically deserted 'beach.'
We tried to bring this inefficient use of our excursion time to the excursion staff on the Glory, but they were simply not interested.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>