Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure

Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure

This is a rare chance to visit a remote manatee research station and snorkel over Belize's world famous barrier reef.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
9
1 Star
1
51 out of 66(77%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Review 21 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Experience!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Guest avatar
Larson05
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We booked this excursions for two kids (ages 6 & 8) and three adults. The guides were fantastic: patient, knowledgeable, and safety conscience. The seas were a bit rough, and they moved until a place with improved visibility was found. The reef, fish, and sea-life we saw was remarkable. The three adults had done the scuba diving in Hondouras the day before (also an amazing experience), and this rivaled that dive. The kids had only practiced snorkeling, and a guide looked after them and showed them around. A++ excursion - Thanks!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Waste of time

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Guest avatar
prettyboy
from Galveston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The tour people were super nice but the snorkeling was nothing like what I was hoping for. They had me scheduled for the 12:00 tour which was perfect for me to take the wife shopping and still do the tour. At the last minute they changed the plans and put me on the 8:30 tour.
They did a good job of instructing the beginners on the proper use of snorkeling gear. As a certified diver, I was getting excited when they starting talking about where they were taking us. They said we were going to snorkel the barrier reef and should see all kinds of fish including stingrays and barracuda. What we did see was coral and a few small fish. Nothing larger than 6 inches. The water was not that clear or we might have seen more.
I will stick with Cozumel and Grand Cayman from now on
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Strong current, reef was average at best

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Guest avatar
2Okies
from Duncan, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Since I could not find any good recent information about this excursion we booked through Carnival, I wanted share our excursion experience.
The excursion ferry picked us up right at the ship (Magic) so we didn't have to tender ashore & then catch another ferry. This was very convenient. The ferry was a double decker type ferry w/an open top on the top deck. It was probably a 20-25 minute easy ride to the reef which is out in the middle of the ocean, and probably 15-20' deep in most places. They insisted we wear the snorkel vests, which I was personally kind of glad for because the current was pretty strong and I'm not a very strong swimmer. They had 2 guides in a kayak, and 1 with a life preserver out in the water who were watching out for everyone. They do try to keep you all together, and there might have been around 40-50 on our excursion. So, sometimes, you were getting kicked in the face or brushing up against someone else. More crowded than I would like. The reef formations out to the breaks were hit & miss, and I saw few fish. We had snorkeled the day before in Roatan at Maya Key - and this Belize snorkeling was no where close to as beautiful. My husband did snorkel out closer to the breaks and he said it was starting to get more pretty, and there were more fish. However, the current was so strong that I didn't even attempt to go out that far. After about 45 minutes, I came back to the ferry boat. My husband stayed out until it was almost time to head back - about an hour of snorkel time.
We thought we had read that this excursion went to an actual island, but we never docked on land. We did pass a a very small island that looked like it had a beach, some chairs, maybe a restaurant or bathroom facilities. We asked one of the guides about it, and he said that on some excursions they do take guests to that island. I guess ours wasn't one of those excursions. ??
We rode on the top deck on the way back, because we finally did have sunshine in Belize, and the warmth felt good. They served rum punch on the way back to the ship (18 yrs & above only). The entire excursion took about 3 hrs. We were back about 11:30am.
After the excursion we went to our room, cleaned up, and took the ship ferry to the mainland to shop at the few shops at the port. We picked up a few Belize souvenirs and we were back aboard ship by around 3. The last tender was 4:15.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disapointing

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Guest avatar
amymann07
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In Belize you do not dock, you have to take a boat to the different places you want to go.. Kind of a pain. We got straight onto the snorkeling boat, it took us to get our gear. Then be went out to wear an island "kinda" is. It was destroyed by a hurricane. But you don't go near the island. We were so excited to snorkel here. The waters were a bit rough, they wanted to keep groups so close, you kept getting kicked in the face. But what was worse was the lack of color and sea life. Maybe if you have never done great snorkeling you would think this is good. But coral was grayish, brownish, not colorful in the least. And fish were few and far between. Ive snorkeled when coral was colorful and fish were plentiful. This was neither. It was our biggest let down. Tour guides were fine, a bit pushy to keep us so close together. Then we get back to the boat by 1130am.. Then the only place to go is into Belize city. No good beach to go to, only shopping. Many people got off in the city and came right back due to pushy selling. So we spent the rest of the time on the boat. Choose wisely at this port. January 2014.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disorganized

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Kkck
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The snorkeling itself was great. So much to see and take in. There was just poor communication from the crew and too much time wasted signing waivers and picking out flippers. Plus the boat ride out was super slow but on the way back to the ship we were flying...time to pick up next group I guess . I would love to snorkel there again someday with more time and a different crew.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seargent Cay Snorkeling

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Guest avatar
MrB10
from Gulfport, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best snorkeling excursion we've done on a cruise! Why? Simply because the tour operators didn't drop us in the water...they divided us into groups and came in the water WITH us! Our guide spotted an eagle ray (majestic!) and quickly pointed it out to us. She found a sea urchin and pointed it out to us! This happened over and over again. True, we did stop at their island w/ gift shop going and coming but it also had bathroom which was welcome! True, you can tell reef is not the healthiest it has ever been, but the fish, the eagle ray, and moray eel in the reef were AMAZING to see! I wouldn't miss this one!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Excursion

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Guest avatar
pennyante05
from N. Jackson, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
There is no pier in Belize so you have to tender to the shore. A great advantage of this excursion is the boat picked us up and dropped us off at the ship. We didn't have to contend with long lines trying to get off of the ship.
The crew was extremely friendly, helpful and safety conscious. Long boat ride to where we snorkeled but was a very enjoyable ride. The crew members took time during the ride to walk around and talk with individuals and answer questions about the different islands we passed and the country of Belize. We were broken into groups each with our own guide who pointed out different marine life. Our guide offered to take my camera down to get a picture of a lobster and also brought up a sea urchin for us to hold. Although there weren't tons of sea life to see, we spent quite a bit of time in the water and was very relaxing. Afterward we stopped at the dive shop to drop off our gear where there is a small restaurant with cold beer and delicious conch fritters. I highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This might have been fun if the weather was nice

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Guest avatar
kacchilcote
from California
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Raining chopping very little to see
We did this excursion because our oringal one was canceled due to the wether
It was a very long ride for a poor snorkel ling experience
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful if the sun was out

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Guest avatar
GG369
from Merritt, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, yes I do recommend this excursion. The staff were super nice and did a great job explaining the different sea life and allowing you to handle it. Our guide even took some pictures up close for me!! The only down fall was the weather. Of coarse the weather is out of their control it did put a DAMPER on trip. Because it was raining, the water was a little ruff and the water was not clear. Just as we were leaving the sun decided to come out and the water calmed down. The only time offered was 8:00 am. If you can get a later time I suggest doing so, it just may give the sun time to burn off some clouds.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The snorkeling was great!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Guest avatar
Bubbles50
from St. Petersburg, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The snorkeling was great. Water was a bit choppy until you were closer to the reef. Saw lots of fish and staff was friendly. They put you in groups to go out. They grouped everyone randomly, would have suggested to group by experience, all "newbies" together , etc. Beautiful view and experience,
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made best of unfavorable conditions

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Guest avatar
lnjwag1
from North Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These guys wen't out of their way to make sure we were taken care of at every turn. A front had just blown through the day before so it was a bit cold and rough. The water was not as clear as usual from the previous days rain. We couldn't go to the normal location because of previously stated conditions but we did get to see a lot of reef and wildlife at the location we did visit. The captain did a great job steering in rough seas to make it smooth. I did not feel restricted by lifevest we could dive down without it you just need to ask guide and they will hold vest while you dive. My youngest son got too cold after about 45 mins and i took him back to boat then swam back to my group. My wife oldest son and I did not get too cold or tired. Everybody involved in this company wen't out of their way to accomodate us all day. Fried shrimp/food and cold beer at beach stop was great! Can't wait to go back and enjoy in favorable conditons!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice trip

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Guest avatar
Chief11
from NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Staff is great & helpful. Boat is good with ladders. Guide for our group pointed out fish & coral along the way however there were few to see. The risk you take! Staff followed good safety procedures.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Accurate Descrption

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Guest avatar
Peter
from Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Previous snorkel experience: Hawaii, Costa Rica, Mexico, Cayman Islands
Past Cruise Experience: Yes
Previous Excursions: 12+
Age: 30 years
I read other reviews before booking excursions. My wife and I decided on this one for the price/time, and based on the bad reviews. Yes, the bad. You frequently get euphoric first-timers rave about a trip of lesser quality because they haven't been on other trips or experienced other options. Belize, having the 2nd largest barrier reef in the world, is worth seeing if you are stopping there on your cruise. They cannot dock because of the reef, so you will take tender boats for transport from the cruise ship, FYI.
This tour had knowledgeable guides that explained how to use the gear, supplied a chart of the wildlife that we might encounter, and a good attitude. They even supplied soap to disallow fogging on your goggles (I always spit in mine-a common practice, so don't be grossed out), but they took the time to even supply that small item. They cared enough to announce that sunscreen will disallow a watertight seal on your goggles, another trick that not many tours will tell you either. (And really, you're facing down so do you really need sunscreen there anyways?)
The water was good, and things like lionfish, starfish, sea cucumbers, angelfish, coral, and other vegetation was clear. Watermelon and tasty rum punch was supplied as well. I wish I had brought cash to tip them afterwards. They didn't ask, but they deserved it. They weren't one of those guys that shoved a tip jar and a guilt trip in your face as you got off the boat.
I will return to Cay's with my diving license.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
CCRider
Alabama
 
Please wait while more information about CCRider is loaded.
Additional information about CCRider could not be loaded.
Thanks, just the kind of info I was looking for...
Posted December 6, 2013
I was wondering if they have a ride along rate though? My wife would like to come along but she is not a snorkeler so, paying full price wouldn't make sense. We will be heading down that way in about a week and I usually just snorkel from shore but it sounds like there isn't any shore snorkeling to be had there. Thanks again for the info!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 34 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great excursion - well worth the money

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Guest avatar
prranch8250
from Arlington TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We booked this last minute because we heard that there was not much to do in Belize.. so my expectations were not very high..
I was so pleasantly surprised by how much fun it was.
I have never snorkeled before and was pretty hesitant but once I got the hang of breathing thru the snorkel, the sights were fabulous..
Our guide picked up some conch shells and a sea cucumber for us to hold and look at..
We saw a huge stingray swimming right below us and we passed thru a large school of blue fish..
This excursion is well-worth the money... the guides are excellent and make it all fun !
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loved it!!!

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Guest avatar
beachsnorkeldolphins
from Fort Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were picked up from the Carnival Magic and loved this excursion. This was at one time the home of Queen Elizabeth and Princess Margaret's vacation mansion. The crew and workers were educated about Belize and the area complete with maps, fish photo charts, and the dive master brought up a sea urchin and rough starfish that we got to hold. There was a first time snorkeler (10 year old) with me and they made sure she caught on and was doing fine during the excursion. Even with a rain shower while snorkeling this was fun and worth the money. FYI: drank their water and ate watermelon; very good and caused no sickness.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't miss this one!!!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Guest avatar
Robin2013
from Bryan, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I love to snorkel and do so every chance we get! It was our first time in Belize and we are so happy that we chose this excursion! We were divided into teams of 6 with one guide. Our guide was incredible!!! She kept our team together so we felt very safe. She pointed out things that we would not even have known to look for left on our own. Because of her, we saw 2 (huge) lobsters, 2 yellow sting rays, a school of blue tang, sergeant major, porkfish, yellow tail snapper, queen conch, rock beauty, spadefish, angel fish, hogfish parrot fish, squirrelfish, redband parrot fish, needle fish, sea cucumber, sea urchin....too much to mention!!!
The entire crew was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
We highly recommend!!! Don't miss out on this one!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful & informative

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Guest avatar
Clyde68
from Branson Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had high waves and was hard to snorkel but the head of our group stayed right with my husband as he had trouble with his mask and then gave him his own mask. Can't remember his name. He had a pony tail & looked like might have been a Mayan decent. Wonderful man.
Beautiful coral. Not best weather to snorkel. Very informative.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Had a great time!

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Guest avatar
jpworley
from Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I really enjoyed this experience. Dorian and Allison were great. We got to see lots of Coral and if you are a great swimmer, they let you swim around on your own. The island left a little to be desired, but the service of the crew was great. Would definitely do this again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Time!

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Guest avatar
Snorky
from Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
The snorkeling was great and we got extra time in the water! The coral reef was beautiful and we saw tons of fish. The guide pointed out a Lion Fish, sea urchins, and other wonders that tend to hide in the coral and otherwise hard to see. The life-vest wasn't bad; I tied the strap around my wrist so it was available if I needed it; which I never did.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sergeant's Cay Snorkel Adventure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tour

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Guest avatar
tedtammy4
from Greenwood, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall this was a very good snorkel experience. We've snorkeled on several cruises and this was a good one. Saw an amazing amount of coral, clear water all around to see it all. Guides were friendly and helpful. I see where some complain about using life jackets. Yes you use them around your waist, but we were out so long it kept us from getting exhausted! Plus you shouldn't be diving down to touch the coral it's delicate. Our pics were up close and great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>