Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Puerto Rico's Favorites

Puerto Rico's Favorites

Explore two of the most popular places on this island including Old San Juan and the spectacular El Yunque Rainforest.
Overall rating:
3.536 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(112 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 112 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
11
1 Star
14
73 out of 111(66%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Review 1 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Long bus ride

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
from SF, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The guide was the best part. She was quite knowledgable and helpful. The drive to the rain forest took nearly 2hours one way. The film in the theater was only in Spanish and the exhibits were so-so. I wish there was more time to walk or hike. The fort was impressive with great views of old San Juan. I highly recommend taking the 30 minute walk along the well-paved walkway to the other fort, which is not included.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as good as we expected.

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
from Holiday, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The tour guide was excellent and provided us with a lot of very interesting information. We were disappointed in the rainforest. Didn't get to see much other than the visitor center. In order to really get a good look at the fortress, there was a fair amount of walking.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best way to combine the rainforest and history of San Juan

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
from Weeki Wachee, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was my second time in PR and my husband's first time. I wanted to see history and he wanted to see the rainforest. This was the best tour that combines them both. The rainforest was spectacular and the castile was mesmerizing. Most of the tour is spent getting to and from the rainforest.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tour is good for people who are physically limited

PostedJanuary 10, 2016
from Philadelphia, Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Our tour guide was great. The tour was a lot of sitting on the bus. We were abled to see a very small portion of the rainforest. We did not get more then 30 minutes to walk around near the store in the rainforest. I did find it interesting, but think about if you want busy activity or
slow paced day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great way to see Puerto Rico

PostedDecember 27, 2015
from Sumter, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a wonderful way to spend time in Puerto Rico. You visit a wonderful part of the rainforest as well as get to see old Puerto Rico and of of the many forts found there. The bus was very comfortable and the driver was very friendly and knowledgeable and could answer any question about the area. Well worth it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not at all what I expected from the rainforest.

PostedDecember 9, 2015
from El Paso, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really expected to see the rainforest on this excursion. We drove for 1 1/2 hours to and from the rainforest only to make 2 short stops there. We really didn't see much. I guess I expected a more indepth tour of El Yunque. Then we stopped at a really small store for 15 minutes to shop. I would have preferred to have visited downtown shops. The second part of the tour to the fort was interesting. However, if you want to see El Yunque, I would advise you to do that excursion only and not try to do both places.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must see....

PostedDecember 7, 2015
from Centerville, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Early morning start. Our bus driver was a walking encyclopedia of everything, Puerto Rico. He gave us a history lesson, pointed out interesting sights. He even went on the tours with us, narrating it as we went.
Great sights and sounds
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour guide was awesome!!!

PostedNovember 22, 2015
from NY, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. She was giving us history & facts about PR the second we boarded the bus. We loved going to the rain forest, waterfalls and old military base. When the tour was finishing, we asked her where we could do a little shopping and she was nice enough to drop us off in a shopping district close to the boat. Would definitely recommend this one!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tour was a lot of fun.

PostedNovember 16, 2015
from greenwood, sc
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Tour left on time. Our tour guide Sal was wonderful. Did had plenty of room on our bus. We did have some bus trouble going up into the rain forest that made us have to back part way down the curvy road. Sal was excellent. We had one lady who became upset and was almost to the point of a panick attack and became demanding to get off the bus. Sal remained calm and patient with her and ensure all of our safety. He had called back to his headquarters and had them send another bus to get us. The second bus arrived within 3-10 minutes and we continued on our way. Never at anytime during the excursion did I feel unsafe. Sal was very thoughtful and attentive to everyone on the tour. San Cristobal Fort is absolutely wonderful. Beautiful ocean views.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A little pricey, but fun

PostedNovember 15, 2015
from Tampa, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall good excursion.
Loading up was quick and easy. We got started quickly, which I appreciate. The drive out to the rain forest was long, but made enjoyable by the scenery and guided tour by the driver.
The rain forest was fun, but we only had 45 minutes at the visitor center, which wasn't much time to do anything other than look around for a minute and watch a video.
Then we loaded up and drove to a waterfall and had 15 minutes there. Again, not much time to do anything other than take a picture and move on.
Then we drove back into town and stopped at an over-priced gift shop. Avoid shopping there. You can get better/cheaper stuff in Old San Juan.
We drove back to the fort in Old San Juan. The fort was incredible, but once again, we only had 45 minutes to walk around.
I asked the driver where we could get some mofongo and he dropped us off in the shopping area with tons of cool shops, places to eat, and cool streets. We walked around and shopped for a while and found some great mofongo.
My regret was not checking out the other fort right next to the one we visited.
Pros: the fort was incredible and the mofongo was delicious, the guide was friendly and knowledgeable
Cons: too rushed, a little pricey for what you got
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We realley enjoyed the excursion.

PostedNovember 8, 2015
from Roanoke Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We really enjoyed the rain forest and the old fort. we even enjoyed the ride to and from the rain forest, the driver was funny and really informed on the history of Pureto Rico.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ONE OF THE BEST TOURS I'VE TAKEN

PostedNovember 8, 2015
from TENNESSEE
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By far one of the best tours ive taken, guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, rain forest was beautiful, enjoyed getting to see the country side to get there, enjoyed the fort also so much that i toured the two others also and still had time to get back to the dumpy ship!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Take the good with the bad

PostedNovember 2, 2015
from Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were packed into a van/bus and drove for an hour through old/new San Juan. The city was really littered with graffiti and dirty. The rain forest was okay, not really much to see. The waterfall was beautiful but not much to it. Five minutes and you were done. Now for the great part, the fort, I could have stayed there all day. We went all the way to the top and got some of the most spectacular pictures I've ever taken. On this excursion you only have 45 minutes to spend here. If i come back i will get off the boat and walk the ten minutes it would take to get to the fort and explore it on my own. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. If you want to see the rain forest, water fall and the fort this excursion is for you.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

StephanieM

PostedNovember 1, 2015
from Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loved this tour, our guide was knowledgeable, he was attentive, and very helpful. Our guide talked about the country, where we were visiting almost the whole ride. I felt I got my money's worth.
I didn't care too much for the souvenir shop we stopped at. The gift store at the park was better, and a little cheaper.
I highly recommend this tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tour Guide and Buses

PostedOctober 30, 2015
from Orlando Fl.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Angel,our tour guide,was friendly,knowledgeable and passionate about his country and Job.San Juan was Beautiful,bus AC was cold.We Enjoyed it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent tour guide

PostedOctober 25, 2015
from Pleasant View, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The best tour guide that we have ever had (Hector). Didn't like the stop at the souvenir place, they opened the doors as we were pulling in, very hot inside. The information Hector presented was awesome, the walk through the rain forest was fairly short and had a few steep hills that some of the older or more out of shape people may have a little difficulty with. Overall a good tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This tour was a lot of riding. A bit longer than was needed.

PostedOctober 20, 2015
from Petal, Ms
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The tour was strictly sightseeing. So be prepared to RIDE. UP HILL. The buses need air conditioner attention. It was hot on the bus. Overall you could not ride in a taxi for one person for the rate of this excursion. I would nt do it again.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Educational guide

PostedOctober 20, 2015
from Sebring, Fl.
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I expected the tour to be what it was due to the time allowed. I had lived in PR many years ago and was curious about the development of Condado and other areas. It served me well for that. My true interest was "El Yunque". I wished they would have offered a pure Rainforest trip, but they didn't so I had to accept the wasted time at the gift shop, which left very little time at the rainforest. The guide was very educational on just about every topic. He had no sense of humor and was a bit defensive with certain comments. I felt I got value for my money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not enough time

PostedOctober 19, 2015
from GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Only went to rain forest and fort. After seeing the smokie Mtns. the rain forest didn't compare. Great views from the fort but only had 30 min to check it out, could have just walked there and spent the day.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The tour was a waste of time and money

PostedOctober 18, 2015
from Orlando, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This tour was a disappoitment. I wanted to see the rainforest. We were forced to stop at a "rest stop" to use the facilities and buy water, etc. -- never telling us that all of this was available at our ultimate destination to be reached in a short while. I would much rather have spent my money supporting the rainforest than a tourist trap store. We did not see the rainforest. The walk would take 20 minutes they said, but that did not allow any time to see the museum then. I remember going to the rainforest in Pureto Rico the last time I was there and we went high up in the mountains and we actually looking down on clouds. We were no where. Why would Carnival take our $ for a trip like this. It was combined supposedly with other things, which were nothing. A full rainforest trip should be offered that really gives one the opportunity to see the rainforest.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>