Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Puerto Rico's Favorites

Puerto Rico's Favorites

Explore two of the most popular places on this island including Old San Juan and the spectacular El Yunque Rainforest.
Overall rating:
3.361 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
11
39 out of 60(65%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Review 1 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rainforest is a must see!!!

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Guest avatar
gloverlktb
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The rainforest was a beautiful sight to see, especially the waterfall. I would have enjoyed seeing more than trees and plants. Visiting the old fort was no so exciting. Old San Juan, downtown, had beautiful structured buildings of different colors. We had ordered rice and beans, but I think the rice and beans we order in the states was better.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good quick tour

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
Hoss27
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good quick tour , gives a good glance of San Juan .
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great trip

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
Dpal2208
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Driver was a great tour guide. Shared his wealth of knowledge and spoke clearly.
Very interesting trip to the rain Forrest and Forts.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Rainforest was beautiful!

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
jvieck10
from New Bern, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This would have been a better tour without so much driving. We were in the bus more than we saw the sights. Rainforest was beautiful and the fortress fabulous. Not enough time to see it all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointing

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Shrekwife
from Woodstock, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This review description is somewhat misleading. You really only drive by a few buildings on the way out to the rainforest and being dropped off at terminal. Your time is limited at the rainforest and at the fort...... The rainforest was boring, you see very little, they stopped at one waterfall for 15 minutes but you certainly don't get close enough to need a towel. You DEFINTELY need tennis shoes as the fort requires quite a bit of walking to see the view. Not enough time there really. The best part of the tour was the cafe at the natl parks building...try the food! The driver also spoke with a heavy accent and we understood very little of what he was saying. Not worth the money. They also don't cut off the number of people for this tour and just keep adding buses meaning there are tons of people everywhere you stop and it's very slow going. Waste of time and money!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoyable Excursion to the Rain Forest

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
SoonerMaker
from Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had a very informative driver.tour guide. The drive time is a little long but gives a good look at the country side and smaller communities of the Island.
The Rain Forest is beautiful and driver was very knowledge about the local fauna.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overview

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Guest avatar
Tljaxx
from Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Our tour was lead by Miguel. He did an awesome job! He kept up a running dialogue with us, pointing out the differences between life in the US and life in Puerto Rico. He was extremely knowledgable about the plants and conditions in the rain forest. And it was very apparent that he loves his native Puerto Rico. He even threw in a drive by tour of some impressive monuments to Puerto Rican educators, soldiers and statesmen. A very friendly and outgoing gentleman. If he didn't tell you you'd never guess he was 70 years old. The tour showed us the things we wanted to see, but Miguel told us the things we wanted to know.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tour

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
w2sc
from SC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The trip to the rain forest was very interesting, It was an overcast rainy day which made the waterfall flow more freely. Fort Cristobal was quite fascinating,
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
McCurdy20
from NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour provided a nice overview of the island on a day when there were very heavy rains. The rainforest was beautiful. While a lot of riding, the bus trip actually gave you a glimpse of many communities. The Fort is really cool. Plenty of time to walk around, shop, etc. when done.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent guide; good tour

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
samster
from California
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were picked up directly from the ship lounge and taken on an air conditioned bus tour of the El Yunque rain forest and San Cristobal Fort in Old San Juan. In El Yunque, we stopped at an 85-foot waterfall, spent almost an hour at the national forest visitor center and adjacent trails, and stopped at a gift shop.The tour was interesting primarily because of the excellent guide, Sal, who entertained us with stories, jokes, and even a salsa dancing lesson. During the bus ride between San Juan and the rainforest, he discussed many aspects of Puerto Rico's economy, political system, history, and daily life. It gave us a lot of insight into life in Puerto Rico that went beyond the basic tourist attractions. A Carnival photographer greeted us at the rainforest visitor center and took a free photo (provided us with a free print).
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour was fun and interesting.

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Granny65
from Livingston, MT
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Our tour guide was very informative. The rain forest is simply beautiful. Very lush. Had plenty of time and stopped at a couple of locations. The tour guide was accommodating to the people that needed assistance at the Fort. The fort was fun with all the tunnels and the all around views. Had plenty of time to spend at Old San Juan. Ate at the Parrot Café which was very good. Browsed around the square and other shops back to the ship. I highly recommend this.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Huge Waste of Time and Money

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Guest avatar
AlOui
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Boring tour and much, much too long on a bus in lots of traffic. The best part of the tour was the fort in Old San Juan but only got 30 minutes there due to the excess time spent on the bus. The rain forest was a total waste. of time. Next time we will skip the tour and walk to Old San Juan from the ship. DO NOT take this tour unless you just want to take a very expensive bus ride to nowhere on a crowded bus with overworked air conditioning.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was worth it.

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Merme
from MIA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were able to get a feel for Puerto Rico in a very short period of time. The ride to El Yunque was interesting as we passed many Cities that we normally hear about but never visited. The tour driver pointed out the point of interest areas and historical backgrounds giving us a quick education of the Island. El Yunque is an interesting place with plenty of history. We made a couple of stops along the way where locals hang around to mingle for a few minutes. There was plenty of time to roam in Old San Juan and the Fort. It was better than hanging around the boat or near by walking areas. Bring a poncho in your bag with a bottle of water and sit back and relax in a nice air conditioned bus that never turned the a/c off.
When you get off the bus drink a nice cold "Medalla...Bendito?
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice ride though the Island

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Christine47
from Salem, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a great guide! He was very full of information and was full of jokes.
The rain forest was really awesome. The fort was really good. The only thing I would change is less time at the rain forest and more time at the fort. But really no complaints at all.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tour was fun except a little misleading

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Kat64
from Al
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The rain forest was great! Nice comfortable buses for a lot of riding to get there. I was however disappointed that they don't take you to the market square, you can stay but must walk back to your ship.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Activity is not easy.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
Harvey
from Huntsville AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Enjoyed everything but hike at rainforest was exhausting for many.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than other reviews led me to believe

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Guest avatar
LeighAnn
from Fort Campbell, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Even on the cruise ship we were told by other passengers that the jungle excursions in San Juan weren't worth seeing. But I think the jungle must have recovered from whatever the past excursions had seen because it was beautiful!
The drive there was a little long, but get a seat by the window and just enjoy the scenery. :) We were lucky and it didn't rain once we in the jungle and we were able to take a short hike. The waterfall was a little crowded, but still worth seeing.
After we arrived back in San Juan we visited one of the old forts. Amazing!! We really enjoyed this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not worth the money!

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Becky34
from Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The long trip on the bus to the rainforest was boring. Only saw one waterfall and not much to see along the way. Long trip back to the fort but it was somewhat interesting. A lot of walking. Not worth the time for what you saw and way too long of a trip to get there. Would not recommend.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not enough time

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Guest avatar
Quela21
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not enough time, this stop in Puerto Rico should be at least an over night stay everything was rush, rush after the tour we wanted to stay and have lunch and taste their food we had to stop in a not so nice place because we were starving and in a rush to get back. The cruise line should considered to be there longer so people can really enjoy and get to see Puerto Rico a little longer.
.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not waste your money

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Ggva
from Richmond, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This tour lends you to believe that you will be able to explore the rainforest and the Old Fort of San Juan. Although we had a very pleasant guide, we spent most of our time on a bus, or unfortunately at gift shops...not in the rainforest. When we were at the Rainforest we were pushed into seeing a short documentary about the Rain Forest, which left us NO TIME TO ACTUALLY EXPLORE THE RAIN FOREST. As for the Old Fort, it is only a five minute walk to the cruise ship and can be explored with out a guide.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>