Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Puerto Rico's Favorites

Puerto Rico's Favorites

Explore two of the most popular places on this island including Old San Juan and the spectacular El Yunque Rainforest.
Overall rating:
3.512 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
8
1 Star
11
54 out of 81(67%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Review 1 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tour

PostedMay 18, 2015
lizabeth102353
from Lady Lake, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a great San Juan experience-our tour guide was wonderful and gave us lots of info.....the only downside for me was that it was very touristy once you got up in the rainforest-which-would be expected but picture taking was not great for that reason-otherwise-we loved it and PR!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Excursion!

PostedMay 17, 2015
DK315
from Fort Myers Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not one to go thru Carnival normally for an excursion but the group i was with wanted to and it was awesome!! Well worth the money! Our guide was great an very informative.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissappointed

PostedMay 15, 2015
Michgal
from Roseville, Mi.
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
You take a bus ride 45 minutes to get there. 1st stop you have 40 minutes, all that is there is a bathroom, gift shop and an walking trail that suppose to take 10 minutes there and 10 minutes back. Well the walking trail was so steep that most of the people young and old did not even try it. Back on the bus we stopped at a waterfall on got 20 minutes there. The waterfall was nothing great. Back on the bus. Stopped at a gift shop again. Then back to town, that was it spent all that time on a bus. The tour guide was nice and did point out some things. But this was not worth it. Would of liked to spend more time in the rain forest.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The guide makes all the difference on this excursion!

PostedMay 4, 2015
Suncatcher
from Raleigh nc
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
This excursion enabled us to visit amazing sights. Our guide was not one I'd recommend but the sights were worth the excursion. The speaker was busted, I believe. We told the guide we were having difficulty understanding him. He turned up volume,just louder noise! It was apparent other guides were staying with their groups at various stops, walking with them and continuing to point out various points of interest, our guide did not. We were on our own... This excursion is well worth taking..I would hope your bus has good speakers and you have good guide!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great experience

PostedMay 3, 2015
Kmckiss
from Port st lucie, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When we booked our cruise i asked one of my good friends who is from puerto rico what was a must and she said the fort and rainforest so we knew this excursion was a must. Lisa was our driver and she was great - very knowledgeable about her island and culture. Lots and lots of walking so wear comfy shoes. The waterfall was pretty but the fort was amazing !!! The views are simply breathtaking. If you can climb the ramp to the tower do it you wont be disappointed - i promise ! We then got dropped off for shopping we ate lunch at the center at the Cafe puerto rico - hubby got ribs that were amazing i got chicken and rice - whatever you do you must try the mofongo !
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Last Minute Excursion...Glad We Did It!

PostedApril 30, 2015
wendy1
from Brookfield, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This excursion came recommended by our Shore Excursion representative after we mentioned what we had originally booked. We were glad we switched. Instead of going to one location to sightsee we went to three. It took us to the rainforest, the fort, and dropped us in Old San Juan to do as we pleased at the end. Our driver, Lionel, was awesome. His knowledge of the island was extensive.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not exactly what we expected, it should be better explained

PostedApril 9, 2015
enrico128
from Italy
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the bus driver was just great, real funny and very informative on a lot of issues around Puerto Rico. the organisation of the excursion, however, starting from the morning when people are lined for the buses, is not great.
There is a lot of confusion and it is really not clear what difference there is between this tour and the one to the rain forest as you will basically visit the rain forest and the fort in San Juan on both excursion, with same stops and everything. What is really missing is a properly guided tour of San Juan, which you would expect among the Puerto Rico's favorites. Instead you will spend most of the excursion time on the lengthy highway trip to get to the rain forest and back.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fair

PostedApril 6, 2015
Queen
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The tour was ok but it was rushed. We travled on the bus the view from highway was not that nice . the bus driver was great but the tour was clearly rushed I didnot enjoy the tour.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

There are only two points of interest on this tour...not quite what was advertised.

PostedMarch 30, 2015
cruisegold
from Port Saint Lucie, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Our tour started off on a sour note. The leader from ship to coach did not wait for all members to go with her. Then it was very disorganized getting families into coaches. They did not care if you were able to sit with your family or not. The drive to the rainforest and back was almost 1/2 the tour time. It would have been nice to have more time at the 2 locations since that is all there were! Also, the "bathroom break" was at a small tourist shop that was not equipped to handle dozens of people using their restrooms...poor water supply, no toilet paper flushing, shower curtains for privacy. The tour guide on our coach was friendly and knowledgeable.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of SanJuan

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Nokomis
from New Hampshire
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a good Tour to get a taste of San Juan. It was alot of walking, but easy walking. The rainforest is breath taking and there are trails that can be explored. The fort was very large and impressive..scenery from the fort is also exquisite. Shopping in Old San Juan is also fun. This tour gives one a taste of each of these places. I would have liked more time to explore trails in the rainforest. I would recommend this tour especially for the scenery and the ease of getting around.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Most of the time spent on main roads travelling

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Anne55
from Devon, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The journey to the rainforest was long (over an hour)
The driver was very nice and talked non stop but most of it wasn't relevant
We had 45 minutes at the rainforest
We were advised to follow a path. There was no guide and no direction
Just boards to read
There was no time to do any of the routes within the rain forest.
Then on to a waterfall to take pictures.
Then travelled back and were again left at the fort to find our own way. No guide, no history
5 hours for 2 x 45 mins of unguided visits
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our tour guide was awesome. This tour was all I expected and more.

PostedMarch 8, 2015
KenF
from Mabelvale, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very pleased with our tour guide. She was informative and friendly. My only complaint was that she was sick and I caught her cold. The tour was fun and was all I expected and more. The view from both locations was excellent.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

See the best highlights of San Juan

PostedMarch 8, 2015
BA57
from Peoria,IL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A nice bus ride to the El Yunque Rain Forest including a stop at Coca Falls then on to the rest of the island with a stop at the fort. The fort is spectacular with breathtaking views at the top. The place is massive and I'm not sure I could have tolerated the heat exploring for any longer than we did. You easily could spend a whole day just going to everything at the fort. We had a tour of downtown old San Juan on the way back to the ship and was shown where it was safe for us to walk if we wanted. The only thing I would have liked added to this trip was a short stop at a beach just to walk for a bit. This was an excellent tour for just about anyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely day

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Helentoo
from Scotland
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We really enjoyed the day, it gave us a taste of the rainforest without being too overwhelming (both of us are not keen on creepy crawlies). The driver gave excellent information and commentary too. The time in the hills was followed by a fort visit that was a little rushed, it was worth climbing to the top however for the view.
We got off afterwards and walked the old town which was wonderful. The day gave us a good oversight of the port.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Excursion

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Gram214
from Cincinnati, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
San Juan is very beautiful. The El Yunque Rain Forest was so interesting - I wish we could have stayed longer. Our guide, Angel, was very knowledgeable about the history, the plants, and animals in the rain forest. He was very patient with us and answered our many questions. The visit to the fort was also very interesting. We were given ample time to explore this treasure on our own. It is definitely worth the visit.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Excursion

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
jangeo
from Axton, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The three adults in this group really enjoyed this excursion very much. It does say 5 hours, but we were gone 6 hours, but it was worth it. Traffic was bad so it took longer. The rainforest was beautiful. The waterfall was breath taking. We also enjoyed the fort, but wish we had a longer time there. Lionel, our bus driver and guide was very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. We highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Highlights Tour

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
UKRoosters
from England
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We really enjoyed this tour although we felt that it probably could have been two separate tours. The visit to El Yunque was the highlight and this could have been expanded further, especially considering the time involved in getting there. The Forts were also very interesting but did require quite a bit of mobility to enjoy and we know some of our party could not manage it. Maria, our Driver / Guide was excellent, and gave us a lot of knowledge throughout the tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Over all fun

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
branden
from Denver, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a good experience. The only problem we had was our tour bus driver separated the two of us while giving an entire row of seats to a stroller that would have fit under the back row of seats. So it caused some tension among us and other tour goers when we sat together which separated other couples. But over all it was fun visit to the rainforest and then back to the Fort of Old San Juan. Make sure you are early back to the bus at Fort or they will leave you and you have to walk back to the boat. Don't worry its only a couple blocks.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kids even enjoyed it

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Cboyd
from Cleveland Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My 12 and 7-year old children actually liked this and I wasn't sure they would. Our driver was wonderful and told us so much that we wanted to know about the area. We didn't get to see too much of the rainforest - so if you want to see a lot of rainforest, pick another trip. The fortress was very cool. The kids really loved it. The driver will drop you off downtown to do shopping if you prefer.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sailorbob

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
sailorbob
from The Villages Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The tour had great possibility but fell far short, El Yankee was a waste of almost three hours, the visit to the fort was cut to 30 minutes, older people could hardly get to see any of the fort. Stops were at small convience stores rather than shopping areas. Driver was entertaining with history but stops did not add to the trip. Driving time to El Yankee consumed far too much of tour.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>