Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Puerto Rico's Favorites

Puerto Rico's Favorites

Explore two of the most popular places on this island including Old San Juan and the spectacular El Yunque Rainforest.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 90 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
9
1 Star
12
57 out of 89(64%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Review 1 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was excellent!

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Kjknotts
from Pineville, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved this excursion. We had ages ranging from 2 - 61. The tour guide was a wealth of knowledge and answered all questions with enthusiasm. I wish we would have had more time at the fort!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This tour was a waste of time and money

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Disappointed007593
from Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I recently went on this excursion in July of 2015. The excursion is a waste of time and money. Most of the excursion is spent in travel. There is not sufficient time to explore the Rain Forest. The Rain Forest is the first stop and you are allowed 30 minutes to explore. . You will definitely not see the huge waterfall. The second stop we were allowed 15 min. to climb some rocks and take pictures. You are also taken to a run down store to buy souvenirs and snacks. The souvenirs are actually cheaper downtown. By the time we reached the Fort I was frustrated. At the Fort we were given the choice to stay downtown, which is in walking distance of the ship or return to the ship.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great stops but too rushed

PostedJuly 21, 2015
LollyGal
from Lake Lanier, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Both the rain forest and the fort were great stops but the tour was just too rushed at each place to fully see both. I would suggest choosing one or the other and spending a few hours for a full experience. I barely made it around the short trail at the rain forest and really didn't have time to see much wildlife. I saw a few lizards and heard birds & frogs. You do not have time to walk the trail AND visit the center or gift shop...just too rushed. For the fort, it was a great stop, but, again, you don't have time to read all about the history and really see everything. The guide was great...very friendly and knowledgeable. If you are looking for a quick overview of both places, this is for you, but I would recommend that you choose one or the other.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too long

PostedJune 26, 2015
Picklefoot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I felt that this tour was a whole lot of driving for the minimal amount of sites to be seen. The guide was very informative, but the tour took up all the time spent in Puerto Rico.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good and bad

PostedJune 21, 2015
Auddity
from Ormond beach, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The fort was really neat to see... the rainforest was disappointing. It did not look like a rain forest at all.. only a couple flowers, just woods and trees, no animals and they are in a drought right now, so the waterfall was not a waterfall just a single line of water, my son enjoyed climbing the rocks there.. our tour guide was great
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great tour- just needs more time

PostedJune 11, 2015
kadebrenner
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We had a great tour guide and I loved everything we did, however, it all was very rushed. I wish we could have had a lot more time to explore the rainforest. Personally, I would recommend you pick either the rainforest or the fortress and explore it completely rather than try and do both.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rain Forest and Fort

PostedJune 4, 2015
Sherri7575
from Frostproof, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Our tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable of all aspects of the island. I really enjoyed the Fort and the tour guide let us out I town so we could shop the island stores. We really enjoyed her wit and sense of humor.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could have been better

PostedMay 26, 2015
GrantandPeg
from Aiken , SC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am not complaining but this tour would have been better had the driver or guide not been lazy..The other guides got out and showed their customers around and explained things our sat on the bus and slept.The best part of the tour was when we saw a man running from the cops on the interstate.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tour

PostedMay 18, 2015
lizabeth102353
from Lady Lake, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a great San Juan experience-our tour guide was wonderful and gave us lots of info.....the only downside for me was that it was very touristy once you got up in the rainforest-which-would be expected but picture taking was not great for that reason-otherwise-we loved it and PR!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Excursion!

PostedMay 17, 2015
DK315
from Fort Myers Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not one to go thru Carnival normally for an excursion but the group i was with wanted to and it was awesome!! Well worth the money! Our guide was great an very informative.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissappointed

PostedMay 15, 2015
Michgal
from Roseville, Mi.
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
You take a bus ride 45 minutes to get there. 1st stop you have 40 minutes, all that is there is a bathroom, gift shop and an walking trail that suppose to take 10 minutes there and 10 minutes back. Well the walking trail was so steep that most of the people young and old did not even try it. Back on the bus we stopped at a waterfall on got 20 minutes there. The waterfall was nothing great. Back on the bus. Stopped at a gift shop again. Then back to town, that was it spent all that time on a bus. The tour guide was nice and did point out some things. But this was not worth it. Would of liked to spend more time in the rain forest.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The guide makes all the difference on this excursion!

PostedMay 4, 2015
Suncatcher
from Raleigh nc
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
This excursion enabled us to visit amazing sights. Our guide was not one I'd recommend but the sights were worth the excursion. The speaker was busted, I believe. We told the guide we were having difficulty understanding him. He turned up volume,just louder noise! It was apparent other guides were staying with their groups at various stops, walking with them and continuing to point out various points of interest, our guide did not. We were on our own... This excursion is well worth taking..I would hope your bus has good speakers and you have good guide!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great experience

PostedMay 3, 2015
Kmckiss
from Port st lucie, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When we booked our cruise i asked one of my good friends who is from puerto rico what was a must and she said the fort and rainforest so we knew this excursion was a must. Lisa was our driver and she was great - very knowledgeable about her island and culture. Lots and lots of walking so wear comfy shoes. The waterfall was pretty but the fort was amazing !!! The views are simply breathtaking. If you can climb the ramp to the tower do it you wont be disappointed - i promise ! We then got dropped off for shopping we ate lunch at the center at the Cafe puerto rico - hubby got ribs that were amazing i got chicken and rice - whatever you do you must try the mofongo !
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Last Minute Excursion...Glad We Did It!

PostedApril 30, 2015
wendy1
from Brookfield, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This excursion came recommended by our Shore Excursion representative after we mentioned what we had originally booked. We were glad we switched. Instead of going to one location to sightsee we went to three. It took us to the rainforest, the fort, and dropped us in Old San Juan to do as we pleased at the end. Our driver, Lionel, was awesome. His knowledge of the island was extensive.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not exactly what we expected, it should be better explained

PostedApril 9, 2015
enrico128
from Italy
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the bus driver was just great, real funny and very informative on a lot of issues around Puerto Rico. the organisation of the excursion, however, starting from the morning when people are lined for the buses, is not great.
There is a lot of confusion and it is really not clear what difference there is between this tour and the one to the rain forest as you will basically visit the rain forest and the fort in San Juan on both excursion, with same stops and everything. What is really missing is a properly guided tour of San Juan, which you would expect among the Puerto Rico's favorites. Instead you will spend most of the excursion time on the lengthy highway trip to get to the rain forest and back.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fair

PostedApril 6, 2015
Queen
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The tour was ok but it was rushed. We travled on the bus the view from highway was not that nice . the bus driver was great but the tour was clearly rushed I didnot enjoy the tour.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

There are only two points of interest on this tour...not quite what was advertised.

PostedMarch 30, 2015
cruisegold
from Port Saint Lucie, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Our tour started off on a sour note. The leader from ship to coach did not wait for all members to go with her. Then it was very disorganized getting families into coaches. They did not care if you were able to sit with your family or not. The drive to the rainforest and back was almost 1/2 the tour time. It would have been nice to have more time at the 2 locations since that is all there were! Also, the "bathroom break" was at a small tourist shop that was not equipped to handle dozens of people using their restrooms...poor water supply, no toilet paper flushing, shower curtains for privacy. The tour guide on our coach was friendly and knowledgeable.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of SanJuan

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Nokomis
from New Hampshire
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a good Tour to get a taste of San Juan. It was alot of walking, but easy walking. The rainforest is breath taking and there are trails that can be explored. The fort was very large and impressive..scenery from the fort is also exquisite. Shopping in Old San Juan is also fun. This tour gives one a taste of each of these places. I would have liked more time to explore trails in the rainforest. I would recommend this tour especially for the scenery and the ease of getting around.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Most of the time spent on main roads travelling

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Anne55
from Devon, UK
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The journey to the rainforest was long (over an hour)
The driver was very nice and talked non stop but most of it wasn't relevant
We had 45 minutes at the rainforest
We were advised to follow a path. There was no guide and no direction
Just boards to read
There was no time to do any of the routes within the rain forest.
Then on to a waterfall to take pictures.
Then travelled back and were again left at the fort to find our own way. No guide, no history
5 hours for 2 x 45 mins of unguided visits
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our tour guide was awesome. This tour was all I expected and more.

PostedMarch 8, 2015
KenF
from Mabelvale, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very pleased with our tour guide. She was informative and friendly. My only complaint was that she was sick and I caught her cold. The tour was fun and was all I expected and more. The view from both locations was excellent.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>