Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Puerto Rico's Favorites

Puerto Rico's Favorites

Explore two of the most popular places on this island including Old San Juan and the spectacular El Yunque Rainforest.
Overall rating:
3.2 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Star
9
26 out of 45(58%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Review 1 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than other reviews led me to believe

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Guest avatar
LeighAnn
from Fort Campbell, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Even on the cruise ship we were told by other passengers that the jungle excursions in San Juan weren't worth seeing. But I think the jungle must have recovered from whatever the past excursions had seen because it was beautiful!
The drive there was a little long, but get a seat by the window and just enjoy the scenery. :) We were lucky and it didn't rain once we in the jungle and we were able to take a short hike. The waterfall was a little crowded, but still worth seeing.
After we arrived back in San Juan we visited one of the old forts. Amazing!! We really enjoyed this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not worth the money!

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Becky34
from Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The long trip on the bus to the rainforest was boring. Only saw one waterfall and not much to see along the way. Long trip back to the fort but it was somewhat interesting. A lot of walking. Not worth the time for what you saw and way too long of a trip to get there. Would not recommend.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not enough time

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Guest avatar
Quela21
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not enough time, this stop in Puerto Rico should be at least an over night stay everything was rush, rush after the tour we wanted to stay and have lunch and taste their food we had to stop in a not so nice place because we were starving and in a rush to get back. The cruise line should considered to be there longer so people can really enjoy and get to see Puerto Rico a little longer.
.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not waste your money

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Ggva
from Richmond, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This tour lends you to believe that you will be able to explore the rainforest and the Old Fort of San Juan. Although we had a very pleasant guide, we spent most of our time on a bus, or unfortunately at gift shops...not in the rainforest. When we were at the Rainforest we were pushed into seeing a short documentary about the Rain Forest, which left us NO TIME TO ACTUALLY EXPLORE THE RAIN FOREST. As for the Old Fort, it is only a five minute walk to the cruise ship and can be explored with out a guide.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth time or money.

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Guest avatar
becky1
from N.C.
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We were very disappointed in this excursion. We drove in a bus for a hour to get to the rainforest, stopping once at a store to use restrooms. We arrived at the rainforest and stayed 30 mins, was not impressed at looking at trees. No birds or animals at all! Oh yeah we also stopped at the broken bridge with a creek and rocks same as I have seen at home, the most exciting thing that happened was one of the guides showed us how to pick rocks that color on other rocks. Then we headed to the fort which is only 10 mins from the ship, within walking distance. It did not impress me either! I would not recommend this to anyone!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

"Nice" Tour

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Guest avatar
Tracy1111
from Mims, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We had a great driver. She was very informative and professional throughout the long scenic drive. I enjoyed seeing the island and the visit to the rainforest, but if you've seen something like it before then it's not worth the cost. We were dropped at the fort for 45 min after returning from the rainforest. This was unguided. The fort is within walking distance from the ship so you could just tell the guide you are going to stay and walk back through the downtown shopping area on your own. We walked a little and visited some unique shops and stopped at a restaurant. It is a very nice area.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much to see not enough time to see it in.

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Guest avatar
BullCouple
from AR
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We wanted to see both the rain forest and the fort. We did not know they were on opposite sides of the island and spent most of the time driving. We were only able to walk in 15 minutes before we had to turn around. We only ended up with an hour at the fort. Even with us running around we only saw a portion. The guide was very knowledgeable and courteous. We always felt safe but would have chose to do one or the other not both.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too much driving on interstate type roads!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Betsy107
from Kathleen, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This tour was a disappointment. Out of the 5 hour tour, we had 30 minutes at the rain forest & 45 minutes at the fort! There was just too much driving in a bus with no shocks! If the distances were so great between the two places, surely they could have picked a scenic route! Tour would have been much better with more time to explore!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too long of a bus ride.

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Donna63
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
This trip was two long. We rode on a bus for a good distance to see a rainforest. We had to turn the air off going up the hill and it was very uncomfortable. Once we got to the rainforest we did not have much time to see anything then it was back on the bus. We toured an old fort in San Juan. It was interesting but again, not enough time. We got off the bus in old town and walked up the streets on our own. We then walked back to the ship. We enjoyed old town San Juan more than anything.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoyable!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Guest avatar
travlngrl1996
from Tallahassee, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I enjoyed the ride to the rainforest and absolutely loved the rainforest. Some regrets were that there was not enough time to really explore the entire rainforest. It was very beautiful there. Another regret was that our driver shared beautiful things but barely slowed down for us to take pictures. The city tour was interesting but we've seen it all before.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedJune 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Sharon40
from Amarillo, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This excursion tries to be too much in the time allowed. The first 3.5 hours of the tour was a 3 hr round trip bus ride to El Yunque Rainforest with barely 30 minutes to look around, then a self tour of San Cristobal Fortress. That was all of San Juan we got to see. Very disappointing! They should keep the Rainforest separate from anything else. It takes too much time to get there to have it linked with any other activity.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Just a multi-hour bus ride

PostedJune 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Fred45
from Mesa, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was very disappointed in this tour. It is basically a bus ride to the rain forest followed by a very short stay and a long ride back. The tour of the fort is done yourself, You could walk from the ship and do it yourself. Driver did not inform us about dropping off and walking back to the ship option. Tour was supposed to be about 5 hours, turned out to be 3.5 hours, most of the time on the bus. There are better value available.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful - Do not waste your time

PostedJune 9, 2014
Guest avatar
Mstir001
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Where to start. It was a 5 hour tour. Spent only 1 hour and 30 minutes off the bus. Stopped at some tourist gift shop (was awful). Then stopped at a river in the rainforest. Only there for 10 minutes then got back on the bus and went to a welcome center inside the rainforest. Don't bother going inside, there is a hiking trail on the side. Then got stuck behind a downed power line for 30 minutes. The fort was the only cool part, however you can walk there for free. The tour bus driver was very unfriendly, half the time he was speaking spanish to the first 2 rows of seats. Other than that he told the same facts 5 times. Save your money and save your time.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

We really enjoyed the tour.

PostedJune 8, 2014
Guest avatar
BACLCC
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided a wealth of information along the route we took. We learned a lot about San Juan.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible - Boring - Save Your Money - Not Worth It

PostedJune 2, 2014
Guest avatar
RAB125
from Allen Park, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unless you live in a desert, nothing special about the rain forest - it's green and has some water. Gift shop stop, one picture stop and then welcome center / 2nd gift shop stop. Driver was terrible, hardly talked, went to deadend road 3 times, had to ask locals for directions twice, almost went over cliff making sharp turn. Passenger screaming to open door so she can get off bus. Not a good experience. Don't waste limited port time on this stop. Driver aside - there is nothing special about it. Saw one tiny waterfall.
Fort was better, but in walking distance from ship.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Little bit of everything

PostedJune 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Kristyn10
from Massachusetts
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a nice excursion, it shows a little bit of everything that Puerto Rico has to offer. Our tour guide was very informative all the way to the rainforest which is about an hours drive. Although it is a long drive, it is so worth it. The rainforest is beautiful with lots of areas to explore including trails and waterfalls. After the rainforest we went to the fort. The fort is massive, and takes a lot longer than 45 minutes to explore, but it was a good amount of time to get an overview and a lot of good pictures! the shopping in Puerto Rico was amazing! My favorite place to shop out of all the ports we visited
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a breath of fresh air

PostedMay 12, 2014
Guest avatar
rainforest
from St Louis, Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was an interesting tour. Our guide, Sosa, was fantastic. Quick stroll to the tour bus, then off to the rainforest. Stepping off the bus on our first stop in the rainforest---magnificent fresh air with a hint of floral tones! Awesome, tranquil, peaceful, interesting, refreshing on a hot day.....kind of cool to know I was in the only rainforest on US land. Climbed to the top of the lookout--what a spectacular view.
Then it was off to tour the old and new San Juan.
This is a tour suitable for anyone, you can stay on the bus or get off and explore. Just the right amount of time to do it all, and we saw a lot in that time, but never felt rushed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour Covered Most Land Marks

PostedApril 22, 2014
Guest avatar
MichiganCruiser
from Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Tour was fun and just about the right amount of time spent. Visiting New and Old San Juan. Short stay at the falls but views were great. Fort was very cool to walk though. We had a very good guide for our bus ride.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not what I was expecting

PostedApril 11, 2014
Guest avatar
Karen81
from Atlanta, Ga
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We boarded a bus straight from the boat and headed for the rain forest. While I enjoyed the rain forest, I was not expecting that to be the bulk of the tour. We stopped at 3 rain forest location and then a fort, then it was back to the boat. Overall I did enjoy myself, but it was far from what I was expecting.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Puerto Rico's Favorites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Diverse Tour

PostedApril 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Cliff8
from Hopatcong, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a fun tour. It fulfilled all of the items contained in the description. Our driver Sal was funny and informative. He demonstrated how to dance the Salsa. The ride to the rainforest was short and interesting. The visitors center at El Yunque was educational. Sal helped to identify the plants and animals we saw. We were not rushed at any stop. The visit to the fortress was also great. The tour could have been better had they dropped us (or at least ridden past) El Morro. We could then have shopped on the way back to the ship. As it was, we enjoyed being dropped off in the center of town. The brief stroll back to the ship was safe and enjoyable. Overall;, it was a good tour and allowed us to see multiple facets of Puerto Rico
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>