Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive

Rainforest Drive

Don’t miss this great opportunity to visit El Yunque National Rainforest, the only tropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest System.
Overall rating:
3.418 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(146 reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 146 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
27
1 Star
14
93 out of 143(65%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive
Review 1 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much More Than I Expected

PostedMarch 29, 2016
from Dallas, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We did not have anything booked for this port until the night before. After looking at our options, we decided wanted something low key that dealt with the rainforest. It was a long drive to get there, but our tour guide (Sosa) was entertaining the entire way there. We learned alot about SJ and its customs. When we got to the rainforest, our first stop was at the Vistor Center. It was nothing special. I highly recommend going onto the trails beneath the Vistor Center instead of actually going to the Vistor Center. Then we headed up to the Observation Tower. The view were breath taking. You could see the coast on one side and the never ending rainforest on the other. Being up in the clouds was something I'll never forget. Our last stop was at La Cocoa Falls. This waterfall was beautiful. We were able to climb up (at our own risk) on the rocks and get close to the water. Definitely gave you some picture perfect moments. On the way back stopped at a small convenient store where you could pick up hand crafted souvenirs as well as authentic Puerto Rican sweet treats and beer (that you could take on the shuttle!). The ride back was long and gave me a good nap (even with Sosa still talking). There as plenty of time left to explore SJ and eat an authentic meal in downtown before heading to the ship. DON'T MISS THIS EXCURSION! It was fantastic and I'd do it over and over again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Well Spent

PostedMarch 3, 2016
from South Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I really enjoyed this excursion! I know some people will not like the time it takes to drive to the rainforest but we really enjoyed it. Our guide was amazing and the whole way he gave us interesting facts about Puerto Rico and answered everyone's questions. The rainforest was BEAUTIFUL!! I really wish we would have had more time to walk the trails and explore but we just weren't in the port long enough. You do get to get off the bus and take some pictures with some really nice waterfalls though. The bus wasn't too hot either when we had to turn off the ac so I wouldn't worry about that. Our guide dropped us off not far from the ship so we could do some shopping after the excursion also but we only had about 30-45 minutes before we had to get back on the ship. Overall I feel like it was worth every penny and I would recommend it to anyone!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed in this excursion

PostedFebruary 7, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We were on a 21 day back to back cruise. The turn around point was San Juan and we wanted to do something while we were there. We found out at the excursion desk this was the only tour available (not even advertised in the excursion brochure) because we were there during a festival. It was a long drive but gave you the opportunity to look at the island. Our tour consisted of a self guided tour of the visitor center, a self guided 15-20 minute trail walk near the visitor center, and a stop to a waterfall (La Coca Falls). We had plenty of time for additional stops as our ship wasn't departing until 10:00 p.m. Our tour began at 1:30 p.m. I would have liked to have made a stop at Yokahu Tower. It was nice to visit the only rainforest in the US National Park system but our limited views and stops made it feel we didn't get our moneys worth.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Excuraion ever if under 80 years old

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
from Buford Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The 4.5 hour tour!!!!! The worst 4.5hours of my life. I would rather hold my breath under water for 4 hours than sit on that bore fest. If you need more nap time take this tour. The worst!!!!! You don't actually get in the rain Forrest. Garbage retreat!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than what i had expected

PostedJanuary 21, 2016
from Denver, Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I read the reviews on this excursion and wasn't sure if we wanted to go. We found this to be a very informative tour. We learned about many different areas in Puerto Rico from our tour guide. Also we were able to take a walking tour in the rainforest and that was informative and fun. This is worth a try if you're interested in visiting a rainforest.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Boring to say the least

PostedJanuary 19, 2016
from Traverse City, Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
You are on a bus on the highway much longer than the tour in the rain forest. I would recommend for an elderly person who can't do much walking...there are 3 stops a welcome center, a waterfall, and a river stop...thought being a rain forest we would experience birds, frogs, monkey pretty much everything you would see in the rain forest. However our tour guide was awesome and was very knowledgeable of the surrounding area,
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I would spend more time in the old San Juan area, which would be more fun.

PostedDecember 27, 2015
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It took over an hour to get to the rain forest. There was only three stops where we just got off the bus for a little while. I hope we could have more time and go further into the wild. The tour guide is very nice and knowledgeable, and told us a lot of fun facts about Porto Rico. But the excursion is not so fun...
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This tour was very average

PostedDecember 7, 2015
from Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The best part of the tour was getting out and seeing some of the island. There were some extraordinary views of some beaches at one of the stops at a high elevation in the rainforest. Otherwise the tour was quite pedestrian. I noted at the end of the tour that all the tour buses stopped at one particular shop. There was nothing special about this shop. Probably a little payola involved for the bus drivers.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Was totally disappointed

PostedDecember 6, 2015
from Buena park, CA and Lake Ariel, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I chose this excursion because we thought we would be seeing a beautiful Rainforest (as I have seen in the past). The trip to the rainforest seemed to be nothing but total forestry that can be seen almost anywhere it rains. there were very little (3 or 4) different exciting flowers surrounded by a lot of shrubbery . Born and raised in Pennsylvania I can see all of that everyday on the farm in the back woods. The only waterfall seen was a little exciting and then back down the through the wooded area to get back in time to board the ship. Shopping was even disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beautiful area

PostedNovember 30, 2015
from Oklahoma
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
We were limited on time in this port. The 45 minute drive listed in the excursion magazine was actually about 75 minutes which limited our time at our stops. If you have all day this would be a great excursion
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Waterfalls were dry and it took up the whole day

PostedNovember 3, 2015
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good tour guide, but was hard to understand. It took up our whole day at port and all the waterfalls were dried up...our only disappointing excursion of our whole trip.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disapointed

PostedNovember 3, 2015
from St. Charles, Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This tour was over booked.
I had to sit on about 3" of a seat in the back for about 3 hours.
When I complained to the guide, he said they don't usually sell that seat but they had too many people. They should have added another bus.
I complained to Carnival when we got back to the ship. They took 20% off the tour. Very disappointed with Carnival. They should have refunded the tour price.
Had another very bad experience with a beach tour.
I don't think Carnival does anything to correct the problems, they just keep booking these bad tours. Ship experience was excellent, too bad these bad tours do not reflect very good management. Think we will try different cruise line next time.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This tour required minimal walking.

PostedOctober 28, 2015
from Fayetteville, Ga.
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This tour was not very exciting. Many of the sights I saw were sights that I already saw on previous vacations. The bus ride was fun though and enjoyable. The bus driver spoke about the history of the rain forest and pointed out many plants on the drive. He made the trip worthwhile. The shopping experience was fun and the prices were reasonable.
We chose this trip because it required minimal walking. The trip lived up to this promise.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so Cool Rain Forest

PostedOctober 26, 2015
from Tallahassee, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was not really impressed with the rain forest. I was hoping to see more than just trees and we seemed to fly through it. Spent most of our time getting there. Too much for just traveling.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

enjoyed this tour

PostedOctober 25, 2015
from florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
luis was our guide he was really great this excursion was very enjoyable ....
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

wonderful guide

PostedOctober 18, 2015
from St. Louis, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
his was made by the fact that our tour guide was wonderful and had lots of knowledge of San Juan and the rain forest. Wish we could have spent more time at the trails.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedSeptember 10, 2015
from Long beach ny
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth the time or the money. Very disappointed
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is a huge waste of money

PostedAugust 26, 2015
from Kingsland, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I planned this excursion to surprise my husband. I thought we would actually be out and about in the rain forest, instead we were packed into a bus with very poor air-conditioning, a tour bus driver who was more interested in telling us about his wife than Puerto Rico, and 3 pit stops at a welcome center, a beer can filled creek and small over priced souvenir shop. I was incredibly disappointed and encourage you to pick a different excursion!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Long and disappointing

PostedAugust 17, 2015
from Kansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We needed a tour that required limited walking because of my husband's bad knees. This tour provided that, but it turned out to just a long bus ride through a not-so-much rainforest. We had higher expectations of what we would see. The waterfall was almost non-existent, and the beer fest in the river was probably not on the tour brochure. There were some stops, but not much involvement with a real rain forest like tours we have taken in other ports. Our guide/driver, Margarita, was delightful and informative, but lots of people on the bus were talking rather than listening, so it was sometimes difficult to hear what she was saying. She was obviously proud of her country and answered questions as we traveled. I liked her a lot, but the tour was an overall disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and easy and educational for all!

PostedAugust 2, 2015
from Cali
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
What a relaxing day. They take you in a small van with air conditioning and as you are driven you are edcuted about San Juan. You go to four stops and get 15-25 minutes to explore the stops. If your into nature and a relaxing easy tour and lower temperatures this is for you!!!! We are a family with a 10 year old and 17 year old, which also enjoyed this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>