Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive

Rainforest Drive

Don’t miss this great opportunity to visit El Yunque National Rainforest, the only tropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest System.
Overall rating:
3.636 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
9
1 Star
3
30 out of 42(71%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive
Review 1 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great excursion

PostedApril 15, 2014
Guest avatar
AB1234
from Atlanta, Ga
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was fun and interesting. The guide was very knowledgable and shared stories and facts on the way to the rainforest. It's about an 45 minutes ride there, but well with it. The views from the forest are beautiful and it was neat to be in a rainforest and see all the plants and hear the animals. We got back to town around 12 and still had time to walk to old San Juan to the fort and have lunch in town.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tour, very enjoyable

PostedApril 15, 2014
Guest avatar
Bill475
from Farmington, CT.
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We really enjoyed this excursion. The bus ride to the rain forest
was about 45 minutes and during that time our knowledgeable tour
guide gave us a lesson on the history of the island and its people.
Once we arrived at El Yunque National rainforest, we stopped at the
Visitor center, the Yokahu Tower observation point, and then were allowed to take one of the hiking trails through the forest. Loved the sounds of the forest and the different plants and flowers that grow there.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really enjoyable day

PostedApril 14, 2014
Guest avatar
AngelaLB
from England
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The guide was really friendly and informative. The time in the actual rainforest is limited but you get a really good idea of what it's like, you also get a good overview of the islands history and some excellent photo opportunities. You are then dropped off after the excursion with ample time to shop and explore yourself . A really good day out.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Something different

PostedApril 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Meli
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were always in the beach or water so it was nice to break it up with something different. It was beautiful. We could have skipped the first stop with the information and stayed at a couple other spots longer. Great way to see Puerto Rico a little as well while driving. We still had enough time to explore old St. Juan as well.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good transportation and excellent guide

PostedApril 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Happy66
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Well worth the ticket to see all we saw.The driver was very easy to understand as he told of the history of the places and was verk courteous to all of us.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We enjoyed very much visiting El Yunque National Rainforest

PostedApril 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Sue71
from Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were excited to be able to tour El Yunque National rainforest, the only tropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest System. The drive to the rainforest gave us a feel for the Island and the infrastructure. We were given several opportunities to get off the vehicle and take photos. We loved the walk through the forest with beautiful bird sounds. Our humorous and knowledgeable guide, Sal, fed us a heaping amount of history and facts. We were able to travel through the old section of town on the return back to the port. A very worthwhile excursion for us.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Enjoyable!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Guest avatar
AlexY
from Ypsilanti, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our driver/tour guide was fantastic, the rainforest itself is spectacular, and the points of interest stopped at gave participants a great taste of a park that would take days or weeks to explore properly. My only complaint is that, in trying to give people as much of an experience as they could, there's a stop to let you take a short waking path. It is not marked well, and despite the verbal directions of the guide ("ALWAYS go right!"), we had a couple of stray guests, and we even had a moment of doubt as to the correct path (and given the short time frame of the stop, there's a bit of paranoia involved as well). Better signage on the path would help (a park issue, but the tour should be hyper-sensitive to it). Still, well worth the cost and a very good excursion! Recommended!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Informative

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Guest avatar
AmynChris
from Seymour, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a good tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rain forest is worth the visit.

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Guest avatar
willhavefun
from Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having an opportunity to spend some time in the rain forest was made this excursion worth it. Much of the trip was spent on the bus; however, this was something we expected as part of the excursion. The guide was great a sharing interesting facts and stories. We were give opportunities to go on short hikes, which I enjoyed. I would recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was very beautiful and most informative.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Guest avatar
tfix
from Omaha, NE
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was quite a drive to the rain forest, but our tour guide, Luis Sosa, was quite wonderful at imparting information about the various locales we were passing through, history of Puerto Rico and the rain forest itself. My husband and I have been to Puerto RIco 12 times and I learned more about the country from this excursion than all my previous trips. Again, I cannot say enough good things about Luis Sosa - he was great!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great trip, enjoyed it very much!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Guest avatar
squinn62
from North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
The rain forest was beautiful! The trip was an easy trip, and no walking unless you wanted to do so. You could see the rain forest beauty from the tour bus. The driver was friendly and knowledgable, and the trip began on time in a comfortable bus. We will do this tour again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was very enjoyable, informative and interesting

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Guest avatar
GBR14
from Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had a WONDERFUL tour guide on this tour! She was very informative, personable and eager to ensure that everyone had a good experience. The bus was very clean and comfortable and it was easy to hear what the tour guide was saying at all times. It was a very pleasant, enjoyable experience and we were glad that we took the time to explore Puerto Rico a bit father inland rather than just staying near the cruise port. Of course, we would've liked to have had a bit more time exploring the rain forest and the "visitor's center"; but we did take the rest of our time in the port to go to the fort, and see more sites, so it was sort of a "bonus" excursion. All in all, we REALLY enjoyed our visit to San Juan.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Sites! Don't Miss This Opportunity

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Guest avatar
dtc52
from California
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best excursion of the cruise. Great tour guide. Sufficient stops for picture-taking. Be sure to take your long, short, and wide lenses.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Rain Forrest - lots of green

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Guest avatar
NETraveler
from Fremont, NE
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was happy with our tour guide, very informative,, the ride to the park is about 45 minutes,, each way,, time in park is enough time. I was wanting to see more FLOWERs,, but really what you see mostly is lots of GREEN not so much color. The water fall area was pretty.. the tower was interesting- ,, the 20 minute walk on path in rainforest was hard as blacktop paths are in very bad eroded condition. Would be hard for most elderly people or those with walking problems. Tour bus had AC, but did not offer any water or refreshments over the tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Enjoyable

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Cruiser1952
from Cartersville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We enjoyed this excursion. The bus was comfortable and the driver was very knowledgeable about the city as we drove through to the rain forest and back as well as the vegetation and few animals that live in the forest. The one plant we asked about that he was not familiar with, he looked up in his book and gave us the answer. There were three stops and we were given plenty of time to look around, take a short hike, take pictures, use facilities, etc. We would recommend this excursion to any interested in the rain forest.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Rxmom98
Punta Gorda, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Rxmom98 is loaded.
Additional information about Rxmom98 could not be loaded.
Question regarding time left after tour
Posted March 6, 2014
I was just wondering if you had time after the tour to do a self-guided tour through San Cristobal Fort if you wanted to. We'd like to be able to do both if possible.
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice drive through rainforest

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Guest avatar
gardeness1
from Barrie, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The trees and plants are amazing and lush. We stopped to take photos of a waterfall and went on to the Visitor Centre. Being a birder, I did not go inside the visitor centre but rather stayed outside looking for birds to photograph. I found a few though I expected more - some bird feeders would help attract more birds. We drove to the Yokahu (Observation) Tower which had an easy climb to the top for some really great views across the rainforest canopy to the ocean. We also stopped at the Grand Bano and had a short hike (on a 'paved' path) through the rainforest. It was a easy way to spend a few nice hours.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice tour

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Guest avatar
hillarie36
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was a nice tour! The waterfall was great and the view from the tower was awesome! The lady pretty much talked the whole way there and on the way back and was telling us about san juan and different things which were neat! I was a little disappointed though, I guess I expected something more exotic and to see some animals and we didn't. We did see some different things such as trees and flowers but we also have seen some of the things elsewhere as well. Overall it was nice and I would recommend it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It was all I expected it to be!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Carol57
from Clearwater, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This excursion was awesome. This was my first experience in a rain forest and it rained! But definitely expected that. The views were breathtaking and the walk trail was easy. You can always see beaches but only have one opportunity in the US to see a rainforest.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

overall good tour

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Jill65
from tampa, fl
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The driver was very informative enjoyed the tour very much. Recommend this tour to all in the future.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a must see special Rainforest

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Guest avatar
Brew664
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been to San Juan PR many times and this was a place I had to see. The ride was not terrible about 45 minutes but the Rain Forest was fully a place to see. The visitor center was well done and very well maintained with water falls, souvenirs and even a 15 minute movie. After the visitor center our tour took us to rain forest sites, massive waterfalls, a tower lookout and some easy 1/2 hour easy walk hiking trails. This is a must see rain forest.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>