Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive

Rainforest Drive

Don’t miss this great opportunity to visit El Yunque National Rainforest, the only tropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest System.
Overall rating:
3.517 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(116 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 116 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
24
1 Star
7
77 out of 113(68%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive
Review 1 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

mediocre....

PostedJune 28, 2015
success
from Central, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This excursion was a disappointment. The forest is about 45 minutes from the port with little or any interesting information provided by the guide during the ride. The entrance is through an ugly neighborhood. This turned out to be what amounted to a 4.5 hour bus ride with little time OFF of the bus. 15 minutes at the waterfall, 15 at the river which was like any other, and 15-ish at the information center (for which more time would have been nice). NO time to actually walk in the rain forest trails. An observation tower was closed for repairs. And the info center was NOT open when we arrived and was visited last. FURTHER, the unnecessarily stop on the way home at the 'souvenir' shop was not needed. The 'restroom', was a toilet behind a curtain off the store sales floor. Without a chance to explore the nature or the displays, this was just a loooong ride through redundant foilage and ferns like those seen many other places. save you money, and TIME!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointing!

PostedJune 21, 2015
aher65
from Safety Harbor, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This excursion was a waste of 4 1/2 hours in Puerto Rico which would have been much better spent in Old San Juan. The tour takes you to La Coca Falls, not the main large waterfall in El Yunque National Forest. 2 of the 4 stops were gift shops, the last of which was a total waste of time, the shop owners were unfriendly the bathrooms left a lot to be desired. I would not recommend this excursion to anyone!!!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very informative

PostedJune 13, 2015
Marianne955
from New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had a late flight back, so we booked this to kill some time before, plus I wanted to see the rainforest. They are very organized getting your luggage on one bus, and the tourists on another. It's quite a long drive but our guide, Hector was excellent and we were all thoroughly educated on all things Puerto Rican by the time we got to our destination. There were 3 stops in the rainforest itself, by a river, the visitor center and the waterfall. We had time to hike a short trail at the visitor center. On the drive back we stopped at a souvenier store where I was able to purchase a bottle of the local coconut moonshine that I don't think I could find anywhere stateside. They drop you at the airport, where you are reunited with your luggage. We still had more time, and so took Hectors advise, and after checking our luggage, took a taxi 5 min to the Il Verde section where there is a nice beach, and we had lunch and drinks at a restaurant overlooking the water.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long ride there but worth it.

PostedJune 1, 2015
jtm3004
from Clearwater Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having been to San Juan before I elected to do something different this time. I do enjoy waterfalls so the rainforest tour sounded like a nice fit. The ride there was a bit long in the bus that looked like an airport shuttle van. The seats were tight for me being 6'5" and I had to sit sideways in the seat with my legs in the aisle as I could not fit otherwise. Very uncomfortable for the long ride there and back. The rainforest itself was amazing in spite of the light sprinkle of rain. My suggestion to improve the tour is to get a better mode of transportation with leg room for taller people (taller than elementary kids) so the ride there and back is more comfortable.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedMay 31, 2015
Disappointed31
from Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Long drive to a not so Rainforest.... Trickling waterfall and a creek I could see at home. Not worth the money I spent for 3 people to do this excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Informative Experience

PostedMay 20, 2015
Bilbo65
from Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The tour was very informative and the whole family had fun. The tour itself was quite lengthy and one thing we would've liked is to do a little more walking through parts of the rainforest rather than driving through them. Keep in mind, a great deal of time was naturally devoted to driving us to and from the boat. Nonetheless the views were still beautiful and we all enjoyed our time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just a drive

PostedMay 4, 2015
mommy110502
from Forestdale, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just a drive to the rain forest information center with two stops for photo ops, then a stop at a tourist store. No guided tour through rain forest like expected. The only positives were our awesome tour guide filling us in on the areas historic and government buildings etc.. and the organization of finding our tour before we disembarked.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

El Yunque, Puerto Rico April 12-19 Splendor

PostedApril 27, 2015
Christyv
from Miami, florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This tour was very informative and interesting! We were 4 adults ages from 33-66! The waterfall is amazing! You can climb down to the waters, take the 2nd route it's easier! Make sure to bring OFF and suntan lotion! If you get the early excursion you have over 3 hours to walk n see Puerto Rico! We had a great lunch and did some shopping!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Educational and Fun

PostedApril 24, 2015
Simonson1
from Eel River Bar, New Brunswick, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We really enjoyed our tour of the rain forest. Tour bus was very comfortable and our tour guide was an excellent source of information. We learned a lot about the island as well as the rain forest. The kids loved their time on the walking trail and seeing the waterfall. Amazing photograph opportunities. Bring sneakers and snacks.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

tour a little long

PostedApril 18, 2015
wic49
from Statesboro ga
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Nice drive from ship to park
Pretty waterfall and bridge over creek
Tour guide knowledgeable but to opinionated about local politics
Decent price for what it was
Not really a rainforrest
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

There version of a rainforest is not mine

PostedApril 13, 2015
Janine21
from Midland, mi
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I expected more of a jungle experience possible some wild life. It was pretty views but I grew up in Ne England we have a lot of similar sights in the United states there was nothing special about this I would say take another tour save your money
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Long bus ride, not much to see

PostedApril 13, 2015
whatwaterfall
from Charlotte, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did I expect too much? Three stops, not much to see at the stops or in between. Have seen many, many forest settings that were far more picturesque than this. The waterfall was a miserable little trickle. Tour guide spent more time talking about taxes and how poorly Puerto Rico is treated by the U.S. government than he spent talking about the park and its flora. Fauna? There was none to see except for a few small lizards.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what we expected

PostedApril 13, 2015
turtlegirl1229
from Philadelphia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tour guide was great, but the tour itself was lacking. Get in a bus, drive to visitor center where NOTHING worked, all the interactive educational displays were broken! Not much to see. Get back in bus, drive to "waterfall" along with hundreds of other tourists. Get back on bus, drive to bridge. Back on bus, stop at knick knack shop. Not the rainforest excursion I thought we were getting. not worth the time or $$. Disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

guides attitude

PostedApril 7, 2015
vacationer2015
from Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
During our recent excursion, our tour guide spent the 45 minute to and from the Rainforest to discuss the negative taxation, governance, poverty, and population issues which Puerto Rico is facing. He spent very little time discussing anything positive about Puerto Rico. Very disappointed. Actual rainforest was amazing. One bad tour guide should not influence your decision to take part in this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great overall tour experience!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Lourdes5811
from West Palm Beach, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable ride, the driver was very knowledgeable and provided many facts. The waterfall was beautiful! It's great for tour of the area. Reasonably priced too. Very well organized.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tour

PostedApril 6, 2015
Prescott
from Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our guide was very knowledgeable. He continued to engage his passengers throughout the journey. I learned a lot about Puerto Rico as a whole because of this tour. The bus was air conditioned and very comfortable. We made multiple stops which broke up the journey. I was traveling with 2 children Ages 9 & 6, although they did not classify it as fun, it was a great experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A bit disappointing

PostedApril 2, 2015
Thor
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bus ride was okay. Drove through the project to get to the rainforest. Tour guide informational and funny. Actual rainforest time was disappointing. Get on bus, go to visitor center, get on bus go to waterfall, get on bus see bridge. I thought there would be more rainforest and less road/bus time.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looking forward to it..but...

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Mbudbud
from Mesa, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I didn't really like this tour. Big drive, then drops us off for a hiking area without really any waterfalls. We finally made a huge climb without AC in a hot van...to see a trickling waterfall!!! Not worth the money..sorry.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Momma7
from Draper, utah
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Our guide was very informative. The rain forest was beautiful. We had a short time to see the visitors center and go on a short hike. We had a couple of other stops that we could just enjoy. It was beautiful.
We were hoping to do more hiking and see wildlife.
If you want to go for a scenic drive then you will enjoy it.
We were hoping for more activity.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice cool excursion

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Pamawi
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I enjoyed this tour. It was lush and tropical. The trail was short and easy enough for older and out of shape people. I do wish we had more time so we could have sent more time at the visitor center and watched the movie. I also wished our driver walked th path with us an pointed out what e we're seeing. There were a few signs to explain some things. I did beach excursions at every other port so this was a nice change an gave u time to walk around old San Juan afterwards. We enjoyed our driver, but it appeared he drove 35-40 mph on the highway there and everyone was passing us. If he had driven faster we could have had more time to explore.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>