Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive

Rainforest Drive

Don’t miss this great opportunity to visit El Yunque National Rainforest, the only tropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest System.
Overall rating:
3.513 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 78 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
16
1 Star
5
52 out of 75(69%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive
Review 1 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Rain Forest and Island Tour

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
ECJB
from Manasota Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour provides visitors with an opportunity to explore the El Yunque National Forest, located about an hour's drive from San Juan, near Rio Grande, Puerto Rico.
Soon after entering El Yunque, you arrive at the El Portal Visitors Center, a sprawling, modern complex which is in the shape of a cross. The complex has two levels - Ground Level has an information desk, restrooms, theatre, and gift shop; while the Second Level has most of the exhibits - which are accessible via stairs or a ramp. Just outside the visitors center is an approximately 1/2 mile trail which should take about 20 minutes to complete. This primarily dirt trail includes a moderate grade which is initially all downhill.
Your decision willl be how to maximize the 45 minutes you are provided at El Portal Visitors Center for an "on-your-own" tour. The hiking trail takes about 20 minutes, the movie takes about 15 minutes #mine was in English language#, and viewing the exhibits , even quickly, will take at least 15 minutes. I opted for five minutes on the trail #there really is not that much to see#, the 15 minute movie, exhibits, and a quick stop at the gift shop.
After returning to the tour bus, your next stop in El Yunque is "La Coca Falls". This beautiful waterfall is located deep in the forest, but close to the side of the highway, where the temperature is quite comfortable - at least 10 degrees cooler than San Juan. Our group was really excited and pleased to see the waterfall...and it was a great photo op. This was a 15 minute stop.
The third stop was on a bridge near the edge of El Yunque. Some of our group opted to scale a small hill to the river below. This was another 15 minute stop, but certainly not on the enjoyment scale as the first two stops.
On the return to San Juan there was one final stop at a typical gift shop located about 40 minutes from San Juan. You will find barely passable restrooms at this location.
El Yunque is a "rain forest" where average annual rainfall exceeds 200 inches per year. The day of my visit was sunny and very pleasant. Even if the day had been rainy, there are still a significant number of activities (theatre and visitor center exhibits) that will keep you busy. However, rain or shine, don't miss the waterfall!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kind of disappointed

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
jeffrow
from Georgia
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
San Juan was hot and humid. We boarded a full capacity bus of 24 cruisers and started our 45 minute drive to the rainforest. Before long could tell the air conditioning was not the best. When got to the start of the rainforest, the driver told us since we were driving up in elevation he would have to turn the air conditioning off due the strain on the air conditioner compressor. Our first stop was at a visitor center. The center was in the middle of the forest surrounded by vegetation but besides a small gift shop and some presentation and displays did not get a whole lot. Maybe I'm being to picky or my expectations were set to high. Next stop was a waterfall on the side of the road. Waterfall was nice but with all the other visitors in the forest there to view the waterfall, was a good crowd. Our last stop was near a bridge over a creek where we were allowed to walk down the bank to the creek. Just not a whole lot to see to me. Whole time in rain forest only saw one bird and that's it. Very hot and humid with no rain in the rain forest. On the way back we stopped at a mom and pop store for bathroom break and purchase souvenirs, drinks etc. I purchased a drink for $1.50 give the clerk $5.00 and got back $1.50. After I pointed out to the clerk I had given them $5.00 for a $1.50 drink I did get the rest of my money. Maybe a honest mistake but made me feel uncomfortable with the service.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

enjoyable

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
KTcruiser
from ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was our 2nd choice excursion as our 1st choice was cancelled. The rain forest was beautiful! We made a few different stops on our way up the mountain so we could see different spots & things. I have never been through the rain forest before & enjoyed this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Your was good

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
Abs14223
from Unadilla, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tour was good because Margarita (our driver) made it fun. It is a drive to get to the rain forest and you get three to four stops. Rain forest and waterfalls are beautiful. It is a good value and fun if that's all you want to do while you are in port at San juan.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tour felt rushed. Saw more of the bus than the rain forest.

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Guest avatar
DonnaNC
from NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Our bus driver was very polite and knowledgable. However we did not get to see any of the rain forest up close. We drove to the center, walked around the sections there, visited the falls on the side of the road for a photo op, had vegetation pointed out from the bus windows, stopped at a souvenir store and headed back to the ship. Our group of 6 was rather disappointed and would not take this tour again.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Enjoyed this trip

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
CanadianGirlz
from Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Our guide was very knowledgeable and professional. He shared so much information about San Juan and Puerto Rico, in addition to the rainforest. We got to see a lot of the island on the trip up to the rainforest. The rainforest was so many incredible shades of green and the rain for the first part of the trip added to the experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour was informative and fun

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
ajrm1
from LBI, New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
I'm a frequent cruiser, traveling with my 14 yr old daughter and my mother. The tour was informative and fun. Our tour guide was Alicia, she was amazing. Told us all kinds of interesting facts while making 4 stops along the tour for shoppping, bathroom breaks and of course pictures in the rainforest. There is a stop at the welcome center, waterfall, river edge and a short stop at a strip mall type, cantina with shopping and restrooms.
There is no walking through the rainforest, just those few stops. Waterfall is majestic. Alicia helped taking photos and gave us ample time at all the stops. Overall the three of us enjoyed this excursion as a break from going to the beaches at the other 3 ports. A poncho or towel really is not needed unless it is raining.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

El Yunque Rainforest

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
thunder
from Wichita Falls, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The day that we went to the rainforest it was raining and cold. After a long drive we were let out in the pouring rain at the Visitors Center for 45 minutes. Not much to do in all that rain. I think it would've been a beautiful and enjoyable excursion if it hadn't been raining. After being soaked we went back to the bus the next stops were for only 15 minutes and the rain had stopped. The Falls were flowing but we were so rushed we didn't get to enjoy it in such a short time period. Then a 15 minute stop at the Gift Shop, barely enough time to go to the restroom much less shop. The driver was friendly and informative. The day did not turn out as we had expected. When we got back to San Juan the rain had cleared up and we were able to enjoy a bit of the town. Hope to go back to San Juan. This was our 1st time there.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not fun

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
joe52
from Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Really not much to see at all rainforest wise...Lots of trees from the inside the beatup van lots of old housing more informational then sight seeing...
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Day

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
CarolandLonny2
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
We had Angel for our guide and he was an absolutely amazing guide. He not only gave us information on the rain forest, but on the entire history and development of San Juan. He was so informative and knowledgeable about the area and the history of San Juan. The tour of the rain forest was wonderful. We saw many sights and highlights of the area, but Angel's knowledge of the area really enhanced out trip. He was very dedicated to giving us an amazing adventure for the day along with information of the area. He spoke to us the entire trip and even gave us a tour of the original area of San Juan on our return trip, which was not part of the trip. The day was amazing and we would most definitely go on this excursion again. Great sights and an excellent day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoy the beauty

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Guest avatar
2cruisers
from Bradenton,Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour takes you on a long drive up into the rain forest. It seems just like you could touch the clouds. Our tour guide made the trip so enjoyable
The waterfall was gorgeous. There were several stops along the way to take pictures.There is a shopping stop along the way. The guide also asks who wants to go back to the ship or stay in town to shop.\
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I wish I selected something else...

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Schrels49
from Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A bus ride on the highway. A stop at a souvenir stand. Another ride on the bus up into the rain forest with a few stops along the way at water falls and streams. Dropped off at the rain forest Visitor Center (limited food available). Bus ride down the mountain and back to the ship.
I am not sure what we were expecting, but this was pretty dull.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This tour was so so

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Guest avatar
mike10989
from Miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Our tour guide Hector was phenomenal! He was incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about Puerto Rico. Hector knew all about the history, culture, politics and everything in between. I love history so he was great to listen to. On the other hand the stops were lame. We took a long drive, stopped for the restrooms at a little shop. Made our way to the rain forest and stopped at a little stream where we got more of a history lesson.. Stopped again at the entrance to the rain forest. Got out walked a tiny trail that was nothing special. Drove up some more and got out near a waterfall. The waterfall was nothing great in my opinion. We drove passed plenty of fantastic views that I wished we stopped at for photos. After the waterfall we came back. I would not recommend it.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Vane22
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We read all the reviews and weren't too convinced on this excursion, but we're so glad we did it. Our tour guide was awesome! He talked the entire way to the rainforest and explained everything. He never turned off the A/C in the bus while the passengers were on board. It was a great experience and highly recommend it. There's not much walking involved unless you do the small trail in the first stop or climb the rocks at the big waterfall.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Memorable education

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Guest avatar
GoYo
from Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We learned so much about both Puerto Rico and the rainforest from our guide Hector. He was AMAZING!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was ok.

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Guest avatar
Ciscoanniversarycouple
from Cisco, Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It took a little while to get to the forest. Our driver was very knowledgable about Puerto Rico. The waterfall was not spectacular but it was nice.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Foliage is beautiful.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Guest avatar
Kids23
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
We took are grand kids and they ended the forest as much as we did. Our driver was very informative and very friendly.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I'd hoped for

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Wendy30533
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I would not recommend this excursion if you are looking to see the rainforest. I would describe it as a look at the fringes of the rainforest, at best. The ride was long, though logistics really can't be helped. The driver did have to turn off the A/C on the way up due to all the weight in the bus, but that wasn't so unpleasant and was a short time. The driver had to stop and get gas before our trip began. I felt that wasn't appropriate, the bus should have had gas before we boarded. Further, the description stated that visitors would have a chance to wander on a mostly paved path into the rainforest for a short time. That did not happen. We stopped at the visitor's center, where we did enjoy looking at some beautiful plants and flowers. We visited a waterfall and we visited a spot where some of the locals swam. A creek basically. That's it. Lastly, we stopped on the way back to the ship at a little shop for guests to use the restroom and shop. We had had that opportunity at the visitor's center and that stop made us get back to the ship after we were supposed to be back on. Since we booked through Carnival, of course they waited for us, BUT it still was not a good feeling to be looking at our watches and hoping and praying that the ship would not leave. I don't like to be late. The price for this excursion perhaps should have told me that it would not be a true rainforest experience. Lesson learned.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Purchase It

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Samson
from Palm Harbor, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The drive to and from, 45 minutes each way, was extremely uncomfortable. The roads were poorly paved and the bus had poor shock absorbers (if any). When traveling up into the rain forest the driver had to turn off the air conditioning because the bus didn't have enough power for traversing the incline and the A/C. The drive was more exciting than a roller coaster. The guide seemed bored. The scenery was pathetic. No animals, not even birds. The highlight that the guide pointed out was a large elephant leaf (wow!).
Save your money and time: have some coffee and a slice of pizza on the Lido instead.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mixed Thoughts

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Guest avatar
kmstillo
from Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We chose this excursion because our flight didn't leave until 4:50 the day we got back to port. It was nice that our bags were held and delivered to the airport, which took care of a major hassle for us. We were glad we got to see the rain forest, but overall, this excursion was below average. We did get to see the waterfall, which was neat. Most of the time is spent on the bus and our guide talked almost the entire time, which got really annoying actually. I understand that he wanted to share information, but there needs to be a balance between quiet time and talking into the microphone. Overall, we accomplished our goal of at least seeing the rain forest but I can't really recommend this excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>