Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive

Rainforest Drive

Don’t miss this great opportunity to visit El Yunque National Rainforest, the only tropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest System.
Overall rating:
3.573 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
19
1 Star
6
66 out of 93(71%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive
Review 1 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I ( WE) enjoyed this ride.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Guest avatar
Gromeo
from Palmura NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Our driver (his name was Angel) was very nice and informative. He explained all along the ride. The trees, flowers, the different animals that inhabit the island and how they got there, all along the trip. The walking was limited and that was good do to some medical problems. The water fall was a refreshing sight. All in all I would recommend this Ride. Thanks,
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had time to enjoy! Great tour!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Guest avatar
Denise1948
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved seeing all the wild flowers and vegetation--especially coffee trees. Allowed for free exploration. Beautiful waterfall.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Guest avatar
Didntlikeit
It was a little long. We only saw one waterfall. We did stop at a nice river where our driver showed us unique stones. St the visitor center we missed the hike altogether because the signage was poor and the driver did not point it out.
The best part was the information the driver shared with us about Puertp Rico.
This did not leave enough time to explore old town.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best tour we've ever taken!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Guest avatar
Jimmy43
from Grass Lake, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our tour guide, Angel, was very knowledgeable about not only the rainforest but Puerto Rico also. He explained every area we visited. He had a great sense of humor. He physically found examples around where we were and explained them to us (leaves, flowers etc) we learned so much about the rainforest and Puerto Rico. We highly recommend this tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Excursion

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Guest avatar
Nicolsy
from Ottawa, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The tour guide was very informative. Drive was approx. 45 minutes. Rainforest was nice, didn't see any wildlife (parrots, monkeys. Waterfall was beautiful.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a very good tour

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Guest avatar
vavery
from Wells, ME
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our tour guide was very friendly and informative. He was very willing to answer questions. We were not going to do any excursions in San Juan, but my sister in law recommended seeing the water fall and I'm glad we did.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A lot of Fun, Beautiful, Educational

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Guest avatar
SueB
from Cleveland, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very low key tour, not a lot of walking required.
Waterfall was beautiful.
The river was beautiful and we were able to put our feet in it.
Only drawback, not enough time at the Visitor Center to
watch the movie and take the walking trail.
We would definitely do this again!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

El yunque

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Guest avatar
Bgarcia7171
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
I do not recommend this tour with Carnival its better to do it by it self. the tour guy did not want to answer anything in spanish, he did not take us to the top of the moutain only to the first water fall, I have been in el yunque before and this is a beutifull place, what a waste of money, time I was really angry and disappointed by the tour. the name of the tour guy was Juliano.
I recommend to do this tour by your self you will enjot the most beautifull Ruain forest.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No energy needed for this tour

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Guest avatar
ScottW
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Guide injected politics during tour, went on vacation to get away from that stuff. Guide was from PR but tried to act like it to the point of comedy. Very obvious from the states. Rain Forest was beautiful though. If you're nursing a hangover and have to get off the ship, this tour's for you.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Excursion

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Guest avatar
Tricia1118
from Rusk, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was another great excursion. Our guide was very friendly and informative. Also she was so helpful with directions when we wanted to go back to the beach after our tour before going back to the ship.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

You can find something better

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
Pink
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Unfortunately, our guide didnt like to talk, so the bus was rather quiet. It was a nice ride thru the rain forest , but as far as highlights, I saw 2 waterfalls, and a lizard. After leaving the rainforest, we took a 45 minute ride down a highway, that was not very scenic, and thru areas you would not want to have to walk in. Your money can be spent better elsewere.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must See

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
kimmie36695
from Mobile, Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
How fun was the rain forest! The ride there, our tour guide, all wonderful. Lot's of things to see, even for those who have been there before. I have a bad back, so, for those looking for something to do with limited mobility, this is a MUST SEE !
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice tour, wonderful tour guide

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Guest avatar
sbishop
from NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The tour was nice just to say "we've been to a rainforest" The tour guide was a blast, very knowledgeable and you could tell she loved her job. The Rainforest itself is nice to see, I recommend to go see it once, but I wouldn't do it again. Next time we will go on the old city tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DISAPPOINTED ~!!

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
LBJBNY
from New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Our driver Sosa was very knowledgeable as we drove thru the city and rainforest, and had a great sense of humor. Other than that, my husband and I were very disappointed in this excursion. We drove about 1 hour to El Yunque, then stopped for 35 min for bathroom, gift shop, and trail where there wasnt much to see. Then we drove to a waterfall alongside the highway--- took pictures and stayed there 20 min. Then another drive to bridge, and walked down to a creek which wasnt anything different than we've seen elsewhere, and again stayed 20 min. Then left El Yunque and made stop at gift shop (and bathroom). Entire excursion was about 4 hours, and definitely not worthwhile. Saw lots of trees, but nothing spectacular. We thought we'd be walking thru trails, much more tropical, and seeing some evidence of rain. Sosa's personality was the highlight of the tour. VERY DISAPPOINTING ~!!!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

DISAPPOINTING

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Bigdjr
from Fort Walton Beach Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Driver was friendly and knowledgeable but the bus broke down 3 times and had to be finally replaced.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got to see a lot of Peurto Rica

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
irishdubbah
from Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We drove through P.Rico and that was very fun. We learned a lot of interesting facts about the towns, etc. We had a 45 minute stop which was more than enough time for me to enjoy the trails. The views were super fantastic. At the end we got a sneak peak of the Old San Juan, which was really cool. The lady did a super fantastic job.
Yes the air conditioner goes off up the hill but it says that RIGHT on the tour guide when you are looking at the excursions but that was totally expected and we were able to open the windows. Once we got into the rain-forest it was cooler.
If you feel you will be too hot, dress in a more cool fashion and you will appreciate this.
I had a lot of fun on the several stops.
I would do this again just to take the time to see it all!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Rainforest experience....

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Caroline99
from Fleming Island, Florda
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have been on several rainforest tours in various locations and this one was very nice. The guide was excellent and seemed to really enjoy teaching us about the forest. The drive there was great and we saw a lot of Old San Juan and the countryside. The forest is actually a US National Park administered by the Park Service. The visitors center is really nice and the trails are great; I would recommend this tour to any one and would take it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tour and very informative

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
peace35
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was a great tour and very informative. Very educational
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Rain Forest and Island Tour

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
ECJB
from Manasota Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour provides visitors with an opportunity to explore the El Yunque National Forest, located about an hour's drive from San Juan, near Rio Grande, Puerto Rico.
Soon after entering El Yunque, you arrive at the El Portal Visitors Center, a sprawling, modern complex which is in the shape of a cross. The complex has two levels - Ground Level has an information desk, restrooms, theatre, and gift shop; while the Second Level has most of the exhibits - which are accessible via stairs or a ramp. Just outside the visitors center is an approximately 1/2 mile trail which should take about 20 minutes to complete. This primarily dirt trail includes a moderate grade which is initially all downhill.
Your decision willl be how to maximize the 45 minutes you are provided at El Portal Visitors Center for an "on-your-own" tour. The hiking trail takes about 20 minutes, the movie takes about 15 minutes #mine was in English language#, and viewing the exhibits , even quickly, will take at least 15 minutes. I opted for five minutes on the trail #there really is not that much to see#, the 15 minute movie, exhibits, and a quick stop at the gift shop.
After returning to the tour bus, your next stop in El Yunque is "La Coca Falls". This beautiful waterfall is located deep in the forest, but close to the side of the highway, where the temperature is quite comfortable - at least 10 degrees cooler than San Juan. Our group was really excited and pleased to see the waterfall...and it was a great photo op. This was a 15 minute stop.
The third stop was on a bridge near the edge of El Yunque. Some of our group opted to scale a small hill to the river below. This was another 15 minute stop, but certainly not on the enjoyment scale as the first two stops.
On the return to San Juan there was one final stop at a typical gift shop located about 40 minutes from San Juan. You will find barely passable restrooms at this location.
El Yunque is a "rain forest" where average annual rainfall exceeds 200 inches per year. The day of my visit was sunny and very pleasant. Even if the day had been rainy, there are still a significant number of activities (theatre and visitor center exhibits) that will keep you busy. However, rain or shine, don't miss the waterfall!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kind of disappointed

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
jeffrow
from Georgia
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
San Juan was hot and humid. We boarded a full capacity bus of 24 cruisers and started our 45 minute drive to the rainforest. Before long could tell the air conditioning was not the best. When got to the start of the rainforest, the driver told us since we were driving up in elevation he would have to turn the air conditioning off due the strain on the air conditioner compressor. Our first stop was at a visitor center. The center was in the middle of the forest surrounded by vegetation but besides a small gift shop and some presentation and displays did not get a whole lot. Maybe I'm being to picky or my expectations were set to high. Next stop was a waterfall on the side of the road. Waterfall was nice but with all the other visitors in the forest there to view the waterfall, was a good crowd. Our last stop was near a bridge over a creek where we were allowed to walk down the bank to the creek. Just not a whole lot to see to me. Whole time in rain forest only saw one bird and that's it. Very hot and humid with no rain in the rain forest. On the way back we stopped at a mom and pop store for bathroom break and purchase souvenirs, drinks etc. I purchased a drink for $1.50 give the clerk $5.00 and got back $1.50. After I pointed out to the clerk I had given them $5.00 for a $1.50 drink I did get the rest of my money. Maybe a honest mistake but made me feel uncomfortable with the service.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>