Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive

Rainforest Drive

Don’t miss this great opportunity to visit El Yunque National Rainforest, the only tropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest System.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
25
1 Star
9
84 out of 123(68%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive
Review 1 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

boring

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Spunky5697
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This excursion was extremely boring. Couldn't see anything that was listed on the posters during the rain forest walk, The waterfall barely had any water coming from it. Would rather have stayed on the boat and then in the pool or just about any other excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good if you're pressed for time and don't know much about rainforests

PostedJuly 20, 2015
JSully
from Brooklyn, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very informative tour, with 4 quick stops in El Yunque. Convenient in that they drop you at the airport with your luggage waiting. If you have a full day and can rent a car, you can skip this tour. The visitor center has plenty of information and the roads are well paved and marked.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Tour Guide

PostedJuly 19, 2015
MyMysticWolf
from Largo, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have done this tour twice now out of 14 cruises and I enjoyed it both times. This is not a wow me try of tour, it is more of a laid back tour. I do have to say you do not want to visit during dry season because the water fall will also be dry. Our tour guide was funny, friendly and very knowledgeable. I would recommend this to those that want to see San Juan.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long drive...

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Kim211
from Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Got on bus quickly. Sal was our driver - he was friendly and informative. Even gave a salsa lesson! Drive was rather long getting to the rain forest. First stop was at the rain forest information center - we had time to explore, shop and walk a path through the forest. Second stop was at the water fall - there was very little water but is was nice. Third stop was at a small creek where some of the locals were swimming. Last stop was at a gift shop for a bathroom break. You could be let off at the mission near the port and walk back to the ship or go directly back to the ship. Make sure to have a picture ID when returning to the ship!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I can say I've been to the rain forest.

PostedJuly 14, 2015
sbair
from Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I can say I've been to the rain forest, but I most definitely wouldn't repeat this excursion. This was a good choice for a rainy overcast day. But I was disappointed that I didn't get to see more flowers or colors. It was an easy excursion for kids and older people. The waterfall was neat but wasn't spectacular. The overall excursion was just average, but I can't say enough good about the tour guide. She was probably the best tour guide I've ever had out of all the excursions I've been on! Talk about enthusiastic, informative, and seemed to genuinely love people and her job! Her name was Merrari (sp?). She said it rhymed with Ferrari. :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The enjoyment of the tour depends on your guide

PostedJuly 12, 2015
liveforthebeach
from Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Our guides knowledge was limited. Others took the time to explain facts about the area they stopped at.
The forest is about 45 minutes from the port with very little information provided by the guide during the ride. This turned out to be what amounted to a long bus ride with little time OFF of the bus. Ten minutes at the waterfall, 25 minutes at the information center (for which more time would have been nice). Ten minutes at the river. The final stop on the way home at a run down 'souvenir' shop was not needed. The 'restroom', was a toilet behind a curtain off the store sales floor. Other guides provided detail about each of the locations and made the stops more interesting. I actually listened to them to learn something.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Learned a great deal of history from the tour guide.

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Elizabell
from Vancouver, BC
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was unfortunate that they were in a very dry period which of course effected the vegetation but the female tour guide was amazing and shared a wealth of history throughout the excursion. It was great to see a little of San Juan.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WASTE OF TIME

PostedJuly 6, 2015
CruiserCrystal
from Brooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't bother!
The rainforest was just blah...the waterfall disappointing. The tour guide was really sweet but overcompensating for the corny tour.
Do something else...not this tour.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fun

PostedJuly 5, 2015
sissy065
from Naperville, Il
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Our guide was amazing. She did a wonderful job and made the ride up to the mountain enjoyable...
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tour guide set the bar high

PostedJuly 5, 2015
butchd62
from Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our tour guide was exceptional! She was informative, enthusiastic and entertaining throughout the entire tour from the time we left the port on the bus until we returned. We had adequate time to explore all the sites at each stop. This is a well thought out tour and exceeded our expectations.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

mediocre....

PostedJune 28, 2015
success
from Central, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This excursion was a disappointment. The forest is about 45 minutes from the port with little or any interesting information provided by the guide during the ride. The entrance is through an ugly neighborhood. This turned out to be what amounted to a 4.5 hour bus ride with little time OFF of the bus. 15 minutes at the waterfall, 15 at the river which was like any other, and 15-ish at the information center (for which more time would have been nice). NO time to actually walk in the rain forest trails. An observation tower was closed for repairs. And the info center was NOT open when we arrived and was visited last. FURTHER, the unnecessarily stop on the way home at the 'souvenir' shop was not needed. The 'restroom', was a toilet behind a curtain off the store sales floor. Without a chance to explore the nature or the displays, this was just a loooong ride through redundant foilage and ferns like those seen many other places. save you money, and TIME!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointing!

PostedJune 21, 2015
aher65
from Safety Harbor, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This excursion was a waste of 4 1/2 hours in Puerto Rico which would have been much better spent in Old San Juan. The tour takes you to La Coca Falls, not the main large waterfall in El Yunque National Forest. 2 of the 4 stops were gift shops, the last of which was a total waste of time, the shop owners were unfriendly the bathrooms left a lot to be desired. I would not recommend this excursion to anyone!!!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very informative

PostedJune 13, 2015
Marianne955
from New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had a late flight back, so we booked this to kill some time before, plus I wanted to see the rainforest. They are very organized getting your luggage on one bus, and the tourists on another. It's quite a long drive but our guide, Hector was excellent and we were all thoroughly educated on all things Puerto Rican by the time we got to our destination. There were 3 stops in the rainforest itself, by a river, the visitor center and the waterfall. We had time to hike a short trail at the visitor center. On the drive back we stopped at a souvenier store where I was able to purchase a bottle of the local coconut moonshine that I don't think I could find anywhere stateside. They drop you at the airport, where you are reunited with your luggage. We still had more time, and so took Hectors advise, and after checking our luggage, took a taxi 5 min to the Il Verde section where there is a nice beach, and we had lunch and drinks at a restaurant overlooking the water.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long ride there but worth it.

PostedJune 1, 2015
jtm3004
from Clearwater Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Having been to San Juan before I elected to do something different this time. I do enjoy waterfalls so the rainforest tour sounded like a nice fit. The ride there was a bit long in the bus that looked like an airport shuttle van. The seats were tight for me being 6'5" and I had to sit sideways in the seat with my legs in the aisle as I could not fit otherwise. Very uncomfortable for the long ride there and back. The rainforest itself was amazing in spite of the light sprinkle of rain. My suggestion to improve the tour is to get a better mode of transportation with leg room for taller people (taller than elementary kids) so the ride there and back is more comfortable.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedMay 31, 2015
Disappointed31
from Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Long drive to a not so Rainforest.... Trickling waterfall and a creek I could see at home. Not worth the money I spent for 3 people to do this excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Informative Experience

PostedMay 20, 2015
Bilbo65
from Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The tour was very informative and the whole family had fun. The tour itself was quite lengthy and one thing we would've liked is to do a little more walking through parts of the rainforest rather than driving through them. Keep in mind, a great deal of time was naturally devoted to driving us to and from the boat. Nonetheless the views were still beautiful and we all enjoyed our time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just a drive

PostedMay 4, 2015
mommy110502
from Forestdale, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just a drive to the rain forest information center with two stops for photo ops, then a stop at a tourist store. No guided tour through rain forest like expected. The only positives were our awesome tour guide filling us in on the areas historic and government buildings etc.. and the organization of finding our tour before we disembarked.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

El Yunque, Puerto Rico April 12-19 Splendor

PostedApril 27, 2015
Christyv
from Miami, florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This tour was very informative and interesting! We were 4 adults ages from 33-66! The waterfall is amazing! You can climb down to the waters, take the 2nd route it's easier! Make sure to bring OFF and suntan lotion! If you get the early excursion you have over 3 hours to walk n see Puerto Rico! We had a great lunch and did some shopping!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Educational and Fun

PostedApril 24, 2015
Simonson1
from Eel River Bar, New Brunswick, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We really enjoyed our tour of the rain forest. Tour bus was very comfortable and our tour guide was an excellent source of information. We learned a lot about the island as well as the rain forest. The kids loved their time on the walking trail and seeing the waterfall. Amazing photograph opportunities. Bring sneakers and snacks.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

tour a little long

PostedApril 18, 2015
wic49
from Statesboro ga
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Nice drive from ship to park
Pretty waterfall and bridge over creek
Tour guide knowledgeable but to opinionated about local politics
Decent price for what it was
Not really a rainforrest
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>