Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive

Rainforest Drive

Don’t miss this great opportunity to visit El Yunque National Rainforest, the only tropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest System.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
11
1 Star
5
40 out of 57(70%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive
Review 1 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Purchase It

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Samson
from Palm Harbor, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The drive to and from, 45 minutes each way, was extremely uncomfortable. The roads were poorly paved and the bus had poor shock absorbers (if any). When traveling up into the rain forest the driver had to turn off the air conditioning because the bus didn't have enough power for traversing the incline and the A/C. The drive was more exciting than a roller coaster. The guide seemed bored. The scenery was pathetic. No animals, not even birds. The highlight that the guide pointed out was a large elephant leaf (wow!).
Save your money and time: have some coffee and a slice of pizza on the Lido instead.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mixed Thoughts

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Guest avatar
kmstillo
from Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We chose this excursion because our flight didn't leave until 4:50 the day we got back to port. It was nice that our bags were held and delivered to the airport, which took care of a major hassle for us. We were glad we got to see the rain forest, but overall, this excursion was below average. We did get to see the waterfall, which was neat. Most of the time is spent on the bus and our guide talked almost the entire time, which got really annoying actually. I understand that he wanted to share information, but there needs to be a balance between quiet time and talking into the microphone. Overall, we accomplished our goal of at least seeing the rain forest but I can't really recommend this excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was a good ride

PostedJune 28, 2014
Guest avatar
lynnden
from Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The drive to the Rain Forest was interesting because you were able to see a lot of Puerto Rico. The Rain Forest was beautiful as far as foliage, but it was lacking rain, or any moisture for that matter. The stops were rushed. The waterfall was beautiful, but I was expecting more of a rain forest feel. Our driver was good and informative for the first part of the trip, but after the rest stop, she didn't say much. I saw other drivers guiding their people around the visitor center and explaining the various plants. We were back in plenty of time to visit Old Town and do some shopping.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the Rainforest I expected

PostedJune 26, 2014
Guest avatar
Susan10
from Middleburg, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Its not what I expected. Our tour guide was very nice and informative. But when I think rainforest, I do not think mountain roads and all plants. We did get to see a waterfall, but be advised, on the tour they tell you their may not be water flowing. Boring for kids.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty but seems too short

PostedJune 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Elara
from Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I loved being able to walk around in the rainforest, but it really seemed like the majority of the excursion is spent driving there and back. The longest stopping point is only 45 minutes while at the visitor's center. Best advice I can give is bring some snacks so you don't have to buy food at the cafe.
I will add though, that the waterfall is absolutely beautiful. I wish we could have spent more time exploring it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disillusioned

PostedJune 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Makwa
from Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was under the impression that this was going to be a u-drive tour, but it was a tour bus tour. The word drive in the Excursion title threw me off, I suffered throught the tour and didn't complain because it was my fault for not investigating further. I would recommend this excursion for someone that wants to see the rainforest.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Agree with others on not enough time.

PostedJune 14, 2014
Guest avatar
DivePirate
from Crystal River, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
User submitted photo
The scenery was amazing, but we were very hurried at the three stops. One of the stops involved a trail walk which was a bit demanding on some of the participants due to the pace of the walk. We drove past a couple of beautiful scenes that would have been great photo ops. The driver was kind enough to point the scenes out as we sped by. We arrived back at the port with enough time to walk into Old San Juan and sit down at a restaurant. In other words I would have liked additional time in the forest. Always good to bring hand sanitizer. It was imperative on the bathroom stop as there was no running water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice excursion, but not enough time to explore

PostedJune 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Vicky804
from Knoxville,TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very beautiful, but we did not have enough time to explore.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The fun bus!!!

PostedMay 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Magnus
from Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a wonderful excursion in which the tour guide, Sosa, did a great job of telling us the history of Puerto Rico.
Sosa was very informative and made the lengthy ride to the Rain Forest very fun and exciting.
I would definitely do this excursion again, if I ever go back to San Juan!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally enjoyed the tour.

PostedMay 17, 2014
Guest avatar
JandA
from Sidney, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We enjoyed our rainforest tour and would like to return to Puerto Rico some day and take the tour again. Our guide, Monica was very knowledgeable and friendly. The tour bus was clean and the driver was very professional. We took so many pictures while on the walking tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Mjvpool
from Monroe, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Didn't have the rainforest mist feeling and never saw a bird or anything for that matter that lives in rainforest.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Scenic

PostedMay 4, 2014
Guest avatar
mjh81
from Tennessee
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
If you are just looking to see the beautiful lush tropical foliage, this is for you. However, be warned, that is all you are getting. This rainforest contains no animals! The closest things I found were a very large snail, a common brown lizard, and a few ordinary tree frogs. It does have a panoramic view from atop the tower that is breathtaking, but is not what I expected.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tour

PostedMay 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Barefootin64
from Charleston, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our family had a great time on this excursion. Our tour guide, Angel, was very knowledgeable, great personality, and really showed us a great time on our tour. We squeezed a lot into the time we had, but never felt rushed and felt like we saw a lot of interesting areas of San Juan. Would do this again and recommend it highly.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very enjoyable trip

PostedApril 22, 2014
Guest avatar
Noleinbay
from Panama City, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our group of seniors thoroughly enjoyed the rainforest excursion. The lady driving the bus spoke very good English and was very informative. She was very up-beat and continuously telling us about thing that we were seeing. The road up the mountain is narrow and winding but she was always very careful and safe in her driving. The only thing I would have liked to have seen differently was to spend just a little more time at the stops. I would recommend this trip to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Boring ride.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Guest avatar
FishingG
from Michigan and Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The ride to the Rain Forest ate up most of the time.The forest was nice,but so many noisy people scared away any wild life .Not even a bird could be seen or heard .There just was no way to enjoy this in 2o minutes.
This was a waste of time and money.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The guide could have been better and they could of have done more for the time

PostedApril 21, 2014
Guest avatar
Speedy35
from Miami, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The tour is a great tour due to the location of the tour. The guide provided incorrect information and was rude.
On the tour he did say derogatory remarks regarding the political situation that island has with the main land. Which I found inappropriate.
He stated that all of the plants in the rain forest were brought from other places.
He also stated due to liability issues could not offer us anything to drink or eat on a 4.5 hour tour. He state that he was not going to get fired for our group.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great excursion

PostedApril 15, 2014
Guest avatar
AB1234
from Atlanta, Ga
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was fun and interesting. The guide was very knowledgable and shared stories and facts on the way to the rainforest. It's about an 45 minutes ride there, but well with it. The views from the forest are beautiful and it was neat to be in a rainforest and see all the plants and hear the animals. We got back to town around 12 and still had time to walk to old San Juan to the fort and have lunch in town.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tour, very enjoyable

PostedApril 15, 2014
Guest avatar
Bill475
from Farmington, CT.
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We really enjoyed this excursion. The bus ride to the rain forest
was about 45 minutes and during that time our knowledgeable tour
guide gave us a lesson on the history of the island and its people.
Once we arrived at El Yunque National rainforest, we stopped at the
Visitor center, the Yokahu Tower observation point, and then were allowed to take one of the hiking trails through the forest. Loved the sounds of the forest and the different plants and flowers that grow there.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really enjoyable day

PostedApril 14, 2014
Guest avatar
AngelaLB
from England
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The guide was really friendly and informative. The time in the actual rainforest is limited but you get a really good idea of what it's like, you also get a good overview of the islands history and some excellent photo opportunities. You are then dropped off after the excursion with ample time to shop and explore yourself . A really good day out.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Something different

PostedApril 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Meli
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were always in the beach or water so it was nice to break it up with something different. It was beautiful. We could have skipped the first stop with the information and stayed at a couple other spots longer. Great way to see Puerto Rico a little as well while driving. We still had enough time to explore old St. Juan as well.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
tricialynn
 
Please wait while more information about tricialynn is loaded.
Additional information about tricialynn could not be loaded.
Posted June 12, 2014
any time to play in the waterfalls???
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>