Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive

Rainforest Drive

Don’t miss this great opportunity to visit El Yunque National Rainforest, the only tropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest System.
Overall rating:
3.546 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
18
1 Star
5
58 out of 83(70%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive
Review 1 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

You can find something better

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
Pink
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Unfortunately, our guide didnt like to talk, so the bus was rather quiet. It was a nice ride thru the rain forest , but as far as highlights, I saw 2 waterfalls, and a lizard. After leaving the rainforest, we took a 45 minute ride down a highway, that was not very scenic, and thru areas you would not want to have to walk in. Your money can be spent better elsewere.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Must See

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
kimmie36695
from Mobile, Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
How fun was the rain forest! The ride there, our tour guide, all wonderful. Lot's of things to see, even for those who have been there before. I have a bad back, so, for those looking for something to do with limited mobility, this is a MUST SEE !
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice tour, wonderful tour guide

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Guest avatar
sbishop
from NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The tour was nice just to say "we've been to a rainforest" The tour guide was a blast, very knowledgeable and you could tell she loved her job. The Rainforest itself is nice to see, I recommend to go see it once, but I wouldn't do it again. Next time we will go on the old city tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DISAPPOINTED ~!!

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
LBJBNY
from New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Our driver Sosa was very knowledgeable as we drove thru the city and rainforest, and had a great sense of humor. Other than that, my husband and I were very disappointed in this excursion. We drove about 1 hour to El Yunque, then stopped for 35 min for bathroom, gift shop, and trail where there wasnt much to see. Then we drove to a waterfall alongside the highway--- took pictures and stayed there 20 min. Then another drive to bridge, and walked down to a creek which wasnt anything different than we've seen elsewhere, and again stayed 20 min. Then left El Yunque and made stop at gift shop (and bathroom). Entire excursion was about 4 hours, and definitely not worthwhile. Saw lots of trees, but nothing spectacular. We thought we'd be walking thru trails, much more tropical, and seeing some evidence of rain. Sosa's personality was the highlight of the tour. VERY DISAPPOINTING ~!!!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

DISAPPOINTING

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Bigdjr
from Fort Walton Beach Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Driver was friendly and knowledgeable but the bus broke down 3 times and had to be finally replaced.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got to see a lot of Peurto Rica

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
irishdubbah
from Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We drove through P.Rico and that was very fun. We learned a lot of interesting facts about the towns, etc. We had a 45 minute stop which was more than enough time for me to enjoy the trails. The views were super fantastic. At the end we got a sneak peak of the Old San Juan, which was really cool. The lady did a super fantastic job.
Yes the air conditioner goes off up the hill but it says that RIGHT on the tour guide when you are looking at the excursions but that was totally expected and we were able to open the windows. Once we got into the rain-forest it was cooler.
If you feel you will be too hot, dress in a more cool fashion and you will appreciate this.
I had a lot of fun on the several stops.
I would do this again just to take the time to see it all!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Rainforest experience....

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Caroline99
from Fleming Island, Florda
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have been on several rainforest tours in various locations and this one was very nice. The guide was excellent and seemed to really enjoy teaching us about the forest. The drive there was great and we saw a lot of Old San Juan and the countryside. The forest is actually a US National Park administered by the Park Service. The visitors center is really nice and the trails are great; I would recommend this tour to any one and would take it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tour and very informative

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
peace35
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was a great tour and very informative. Very educational
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Rain Forest and Island Tour

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
ECJB
from Manasota Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour provides visitors with an opportunity to explore the El Yunque National Forest, located about an hour's drive from San Juan, near Rio Grande, Puerto Rico.
Soon after entering El Yunque, you arrive at the El Portal Visitors Center, a sprawling, modern complex which is in the shape of a cross. The complex has two levels - Ground Level has an information desk, restrooms, theatre, and gift shop; while the Second Level has most of the exhibits - which are accessible via stairs or a ramp. Just outside the visitors center is an approximately 1/2 mile trail which should take about 20 minutes to complete. This primarily dirt trail includes a moderate grade which is initially all downhill.
Your decision willl be how to maximize the 45 minutes you are provided at El Portal Visitors Center for an "on-your-own" tour. The hiking trail takes about 20 minutes, the movie takes about 15 minutes #mine was in English language#, and viewing the exhibits , even quickly, will take at least 15 minutes. I opted for five minutes on the trail #there really is not that much to see#, the 15 minute movie, exhibits, and a quick stop at the gift shop.
After returning to the tour bus, your next stop in El Yunque is "La Coca Falls". This beautiful waterfall is located deep in the forest, but close to the side of the highway, where the temperature is quite comfortable - at least 10 degrees cooler than San Juan. Our group was really excited and pleased to see the waterfall...and it was a great photo op. This was a 15 minute stop.
The third stop was on a bridge near the edge of El Yunque. Some of our group opted to scale a small hill to the river below. This was another 15 minute stop, but certainly not on the enjoyment scale as the first two stops.
On the return to San Juan there was one final stop at a typical gift shop located about 40 minutes from San Juan. You will find barely passable restrooms at this location.
El Yunque is a "rain forest" where average annual rainfall exceeds 200 inches per year. The day of my visit was sunny and very pleasant. Even if the day had been rainy, there are still a significant number of activities (theatre and visitor center exhibits) that will keep you busy. However, rain or shine, don't miss the waterfall!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kind of disappointed

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
jeffrow
from Georgia
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
San Juan was hot and humid. We boarded a full capacity bus of 24 cruisers and started our 45 minute drive to the rainforest. Before long could tell the air conditioning was not the best. When got to the start of the rainforest, the driver told us since we were driving up in elevation he would have to turn the air conditioning off due the strain on the air conditioner compressor. Our first stop was at a visitor center. The center was in the middle of the forest surrounded by vegetation but besides a small gift shop and some presentation and displays did not get a whole lot. Maybe I'm being to picky or my expectations were set to high. Next stop was a waterfall on the side of the road. Waterfall was nice but with all the other visitors in the forest there to view the waterfall, was a good crowd. Our last stop was near a bridge over a creek where we were allowed to walk down the bank to the creek. Just not a whole lot to see to me. Whole time in rain forest only saw one bird and that's it. Very hot and humid with no rain in the rain forest. On the way back we stopped at a mom and pop store for bathroom break and purchase souvenirs, drinks etc. I purchased a drink for $1.50 give the clerk $5.00 and got back $1.50. After I pointed out to the clerk I had given them $5.00 for a $1.50 drink I did get the rest of my money. Maybe a honest mistake but made me feel uncomfortable with the service.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

enjoyable

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
KTcruiser
from ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was our 2nd choice excursion as our 1st choice was cancelled. The rain forest was beautiful! We made a few different stops on our way up the mountain so we could see different spots & things. I have never been through the rain forest before & enjoyed this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Your was good

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
Abs14223
from Unadilla, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tour was good because Margarita (our driver) made it fun. It is a drive to get to the rain forest and you get three to four stops. Rain forest and waterfalls are beautiful. It is a good value and fun if that's all you want to do while you are in port at San juan.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tour felt rushed. Saw more of the bus than the rain forest.

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Guest avatar
DonnaNC
from NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Our bus driver was very polite and knowledgable. However we did not get to see any of the rain forest up close. We drove to the center, walked around the sections there, visited the falls on the side of the road for a photo op, had vegetation pointed out from the bus windows, stopped at a souvenir store and headed back to the ship. Our group of 6 was rather disappointed and would not take this tour again.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Enjoyed this trip

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
CanadianGirlz
from Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Our guide was very knowledgeable and professional. He shared so much information about San Juan and Puerto Rico, in addition to the rainforest. We got to see a lot of the island on the trip up to the rainforest. The rainforest was so many incredible shades of green and the rain for the first part of the trip added to the experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour was informative and fun

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
ajrm1
from LBI, New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
I'm a frequent cruiser, traveling with my 14 yr old daughter and my mother. The tour was informative and fun. Our tour guide was Alicia, she was amazing. Told us all kinds of interesting facts while making 4 stops along the tour for shoppping, bathroom breaks and of course pictures in the rainforest. There is a stop at the welcome center, waterfall, river edge and a short stop at a strip mall type, cantina with shopping and restrooms.
There is no walking through the rainforest, just those few stops. Waterfall is majestic. Alicia helped taking photos and gave us ample time at all the stops. Overall the three of us enjoyed this excursion as a break from going to the beaches at the other 3 ports. A poncho or towel really is not needed unless it is raining.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

El Yunque Rainforest

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
thunder
from Wichita Falls, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The day that we went to the rainforest it was raining and cold. After a long drive we were let out in the pouring rain at the Visitors Center for 45 minutes. Not much to do in all that rain. I think it would've been a beautiful and enjoyable excursion if it hadn't been raining. After being soaked we went back to the bus the next stops were for only 15 minutes and the rain had stopped. The Falls were flowing but we were so rushed we didn't get to enjoy it in such a short time period. Then a 15 minute stop at the Gift Shop, barely enough time to go to the restroom much less shop. The driver was friendly and informative. The day did not turn out as we had expected. When we got back to San Juan the rain had cleared up and we were able to enjoy a bit of the town. Hope to go back to San Juan. This was our 1st time there.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not fun

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
joe52
from Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Really not much to see at all rainforest wise...Lots of trees from the inside the beatup van lots of old housing more informational then sight seeing...
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Day

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
CarolandLonny2
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
We had Angel for our guide and he was an absolutely amazing guide. He not only gave us information on the rain forest, but on the entire history and development of San Juan. He was so informative and knowledgeable about the area and the history of San Juan. The tour of the rain forest was wonderful. We saw many sights and highlights of the area, but Angel's knowledge of the area really enhanced out trip. He was very dedicated to giving us an amazing adventure for the day along with information of the area. He spoke to us the entire trip and even gave us a tour of the original area of San Juan on our return trip, which was not part of the trip. The day was amazing and we would most definitely go on this excursion again. Great sights and an excellent day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoy the beauty

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Guest avatar
2cruisers
from Bradenton,Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour takes you on a long drive up into the rain forest. It seems just like you could touch the clouds. Our tour guide made the trip so enjoyable
The waterfall was gorgeous. There were several stops along the way to take pictures.There is a shopping stop along the way. The guide also asks who wants to go back to the ship or stay in town to shop.\
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I wish I selected something else...

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Schrels49
from Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A bus ride on the highway. A stop at a souvenir stand. Another ride on the bus up into the rain forest with a few stops along the way at water falls and streams. Dropped off at the rain forest Visitor Center (limited food available). Bus ride down the mountain and back to the ship.
I am not sure what we were expecting, but this was pretty dull.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>