Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive

Rainforest Drive

Don’t miss this great opportunity to visit El Yunque National Rainforest, the only tropical rainforest in the U.S. National Forest System.
Overall rating:
3.478 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
14
1 Star
5
44 out of 64(69%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Rainforest Drive
Review 1 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I wish I selected something else...

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Schrels49
from Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A bus ride on the highway. A stop at a souvenir stand. Another ride on the bus up into the rain forest with a few stops along the way at water falls and streams. Dropped off at the rain forest Visitor Center (limited food available). Bus ride down the mountain and back to the ship.
I am not sure what we were expecting, but this was pretty dull.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This tour was so so

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Guest avatar
mike10989
from Miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Our tour guide Hector was phenomenal! He was incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about Puerto Rico. Hector knew all about the history, culture, politics and everything in between. I love history so he was great to listen to. On the other hand the stops were lame. We took a long drive, stopped for the restrooms at a little shop. Made our way to the rain forest and stopped at a little stream where we got more of a history lesson.. Stopped again at the entrance to the rain forest. Got out walked a tiny trail that was nothing special. Drove up some more and got out near a waterfall. The waterfall was nothing great in my opinion. We drove passed plenty of fantastic views that I wished we stopped at for photos. After the waterfall we came back. I would not recommend it.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Vane22
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We read all the reviews and weren't too convinced on this excursion, but we're so glad we did it. Our tour guide was awesome! He talked the entire way to the rainforest and explained everything. He never turned off the A/C in the bus while the passengers were on board. It was a great experience and highly recommend it. There's not much walking involved unless you do the small trail in the first stop or climb the rocks at the big waterfall.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Memorable education

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Guest avatar
GoYo
from Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We learned so much about both Puerto Rico and the rainforest from our guide Hector. He was AMAZING!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was ok.

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Guest avatar
Ciscoanniversarycouple
from Cisco, Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It took a little while to get to the forest. Our driver was very knowledgable about Puerto Rico. The waterfall was not spectacular but it was nice.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Foliage is beautiful.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Guest avatar
Kids23
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
We took are grand kids and they ended the forest as much as we did. Our driver was very informative and very friendly.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I'd hoped for

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Wendy30533
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I would not recommend this excursion if you are looking to see the rainforest. I would describe it as a look at the fringes of the rainforest, at best. The ride was long, though logistics really can't be helped. The driver did have to turn off the A/C on the way up due to all the weight in the bus, but that wasn't so unpleasant and was a short time. The driver had to stop and get gas before our trip began. I felt that wasn't appropriate, the bus should have had gas before we boarded. Further, the description stated that visitors would have a chance to wander on a mostly paved path into the rainforest for a short time. That did not happen. We stopped at the visitor's center, where we did enjoy looking at some beautiful plants and flowers. We visited a waterfall and we visited a spot where some of the locals swam. A creek basically. That's it. Lastly, we stopped on the way back to the ship at a little shop for guests to use the restroom and shop. We had had that opportunity at the visitor's center and that stop made us get back to the ship after we were supposed to be back on. Since we booked through Carnival, of course they waited for us, BUT it still was not a good feeling to be looking at our watches and hoping and praying that the ship would not leave. I don't like to be late. The price for this excursion perhaps should have told me that it would not be a true rainforest experience. Lesson learned.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Purchase It

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Samson
from Palm Harbor, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The drive to and from, 45 minutes each way, was extremely uncomfortable. The roads were poorly paved and the bus had poor shock absorbers (if any). When traveling up into the rain forest the driver had to turn off the air conditioning because the bus didn't have enough power for traversing the incline and the A/C. The drive was more exciting than a roller coaster. The guide seemed bored. The scenery was pathetic. No animals, not even birds. The highlight that the guide pointed out was a large elephant leaf (wow!).
Save your money and time: have some coffee and a slice of pizza on the Lido instead.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mixed Thoughts

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Guest avatar
kmstillo
from Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We chose this excursion because our flight didn't leave until 4:50 the day we got back to port. It was nice that our bags were held and delivered to the airport, which took care of a major hassle for us. We were glad we got to see the rain forest, but overall, this excursion was below average. We did get to see the waterfall, which was neat. Most of the time is spent on the bus and our guide talked almost the entire time, which got really annoying actually. I understand that he wanted to share information, but there needs to be a balance between quiet time and talking into the microphone. Overall, we accomplished our goal of at least seeing the rain forest but I can't really recommend this excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was a good ride

PostedJune 28, 2014
Guest avatar
lynnden
from Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The drive to the Rain Forest was interesting because you were able to see a lot of Puerto Rico. The Rain Forest was beautiful as far as foliage, but it was lacking rain, or any moisture for that matter. The stops were rushed. The waterfall was beautiful, but I was expecting more of a rain forest feel. Our driver was good and informative for the first part of the trip, but after the rest stop, she didn't say much. I saw other drivers guiding their people around the visitor center and explaining the various plants. We were back in plenty of time to visit Old Town and do some shopping.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the Rainforest I expected

PostedJune 26, 2014
Guest avatar
Susan10
from Middleburg, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Its not what I expected. Our tour guide was very nice and informative. But when I think rainforest, I do not think mountain roads and all plants. We did get to see a waterfall, but be advised, on the tour they tell you their may not be water flowing. Boring for kids.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty but seems too short

PostedJune 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Elara
from Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I loved being able to walk around in the rainforest, but it really seemed like the majority of the excursion is spent driving there and back. The longest stopping point is only 45 minutes while at the visitor's center. Best advice I can give is bring some snacks so you don't have to buy food at the cafe.
I will add though, that the waterfall is absolutely beautiful. I wish we could have spent more time exploring it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disillusioned

PostedJune 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Makwa
from Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was under the impression that this was going to be a u-drive tour, but it was a tour bus tour. The word drive in the Excursion title threw me off, I suffered throught the tour and didn't complain because it was my fault for not investigating further. I would recommend this excursion for someone that wants to see the rainforest.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Agree with others on not enough time.

PostedJune 14, 2014
Guest avatar
DivePirate
from Crystal River, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
User submitted photo
The scenery was amazing, but we were very hurried at the three stops. One of the stops involved a trail walk which was a bit demanding on some of the participants due to the pace of the walk. We drove past a couple of beautiful scenes that would have been great photo ops. The driver was kind enough to point the scenes out as we sped by. We arrived back at the port with enough time to walk into Old San Juan and sit down at a restaurant. In other words I would have liked additional time in the forest. Always good to bring hand sanitizer. It was imperative on the bathroom stop as there was no running water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice excursion, but not enough time to explore

PostedJune 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Vicky804
from Knoxville,TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very beautiful, but we did not have enough time to explore.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The fun bus!!!

PostedMay 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Magnus
from Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a wonderful excursion in which the tour guide, Sosa, did a great job of telling us the history of Puerto Rico.
Sosa was very informative and made the lengthy ride to the Rain Forest very fun and exciting.
I would definitely do this excursion again, if I ever go back to San Juan!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally enjoyed the tour.

PostedMay 17, 2014
Guest avatar
JandA
from Sidney, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We enjoyed our rainforest tour and would like to return to Puerto Rico some day and take the tour again. Our guide, Monica was very knowledgeable and friendly. The tour bus was clean and the driver was very professional. We took so many pictures while on the walking tour.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Mjvpool
from Monroe, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Didn't have the rainforest mist feeling and never saw a bird or anything for that matter that lives in rainforest.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Scenic

PostedMay 4, 2014
Guest avatar
mjh81
from Tennessee
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
If you are just looking to see the beautiful lush tropical foliage, this is for you. However, be warned, that is all you are getting. This rainforest contains no animals! The closest things I found were a very large snail, a common brown lizard, and a few ordinary tree frogs. It does have a panoramic view from atop the tower that is breathtaking, but is not what I expected.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tour

PostedMay 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Barefootin64
from Charleston, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our family had a great time on this excursion. Our tour guide, Angel, was very knowledgeable, great personality, and really showed us a great time on our tour. We squeezed a lot into the time we had, but never felt rushed and felt like we saw a lot of interesting areas of San Juan. Would do this again and recommend it highly.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>