Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo

Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo

Experience an unforgettable 2-in-1 adventure with this award-winning Canopy Tour and River Tubing Safari.
Overall rating:
4.238 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 21(90%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Review 1 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great excursion

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Yiggy68
from Sanford Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was great. Very family friendly and safe. I have never been zip lining before and I I am so glad I gave it a try. It is definitely something I would do again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best time in Jamaica

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Guest avatar
IrishRose2213
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been to Jamaica before and was not very excited about this particular port. This excursion completely changed my mind. The staff was professional, funny, and we had a great time! I look forward to taking this excursion again the next time I'm there!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ZIPPITY DO DA MON!

PostedJune 13, 2014
Guest avatar
OUhadfun2
from Tucson,AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shawn and the team made the zipline experience one we will not
soon forget. We saw fish, turtles, lizards, and snails en route to the
ziplines. They made sure everyone was safe and having fun.
Marcus and his team ensured that we tubed down the White River
in safety and comfort. The team had fun surprises for us around every
bend. They allowed time for swimming, splashing, and frolicking in the
crystal clear waters. They even caught a shrimp for us and we saw fish too! The water was very refreshing.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was fun.

PostedJune 2, 2014
Guest avatar
garyandcandy
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was a fun tour, perfect for beginners. The zip line was really short, only one leg of the trip was actually through the trees the last two were over a lawn. The river scenery was nice, the river ride was long with a few small rapids sections. Overall it was fun and but not very adventurous. The facilities were good, you were able to stop and use the bathroom and change in between the zip line and the river tubing and afterward the Jamaican Jerk chicken they sell in the bar was delicious!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Fun!!

PostedMay 26, 2014
Guest avatar
wm33030
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First time Zip lining & River Tubing, Didn't really know what to expect. There was a little communication error with the staff and their transportation to the river tubing site, a little delay but no biggie. The staff was very courteous and professional, they were very knowledgeable of the surrounding area and its culture. Reliable transportation to and from the site.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good excursion - great for young children

PostedApril 27, 2014
Guest avatar
Sandy55
from Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
We took this excursion in April, 2014. The zipline was fun, but would have preferred more landings - there were only 3. They were safe, but should have had less guests to work with at one time. The groups were just too large. Would have preferred more groups with smaller numbers together. The tube rafting was quite fun. The guides were with us the entire route and very entertaining. The water was just right for temperature and the difficulty was minimal. This would be great for children older than about 8. The guide on the bus was very informative and personable.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was absolutely fabulous!

PostedApril 18, 2014
Guest avatar
Jamaica1
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I had such a great time. The guides were excellent and the experience is one we would do again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Refreshing

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Guest avatar
Crawled
from Ft Lauderdale, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great tour! Dunn's River Falls is excellent but a lot of people go there from the ships. My husband and I wanted to do something not quite so hectic so we tried the zip line and tubing. A fabulous choice! The guides were wonderful, helpful, and really good humored. The zip line was fun and safe. Really the BEST part of the trip is the river rafting. The water was spectacular, absolutely pristine, cool and easy to enjoy. The van ride into the mountains was a lot of fun and really spectacular as well. Lots of lush green landscapes and farm animals. We enjoyed so much!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

we had a great time.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Guest avatar
cardor2
from malabar,fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
the river was the best part, lots of faster areas mixed with some lazy river and a few rapids. The bus trip there was a little treacherous with 2 of the fellow travelers getting car sick. a good view of the natural part of jamaica, though. the zipline was ok with just 3 stops and not very high. not across the jungle at all mostly over the compound near where you eat. All of the staff were very good, entertaining us the entire time. they were very informative about the area and made us feel very safe at all times.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was an amazing excursion.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Guest avatar
cruisefan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just got back from our cruise and would highly recommend this excursion combo. It was great being able to experience 2 different adventures and a great price. We have 2 boys ages 12 and 10 and they loved it as well. The guides were very informative and incredibly nice...and funny too. They were patient with our children as well, Omar...was fantastic. The ride to the location is so majestic and beautiful, very green and scenic. After arriving at the location it was equally as gorgeous. Very green and lush. We were given instructions on how to ride the zip line and safety precautions. We took a small walk up to the zip line sight, The 3 zip lines were very fun. I was nervous but the instructor/guide was very patient and understanding. After the zip line is finished you are given time to change into your bathing suits and take a short 5 min bus ride to the tube location. IT IS SIMPLY GORGEOUS THERE. THE SCENERY IS BREATH TAKING. The guides assist you down the 3 mile adventure. Along the way they were singing with us and assisting us if needed. My son is only 10 and they were incredible with him and ensuring he was safe. There aren't any huge rapids but a few small rapids along they way and we did all get wet. We cannot thank the instructors enough for making our vacation so memorable. We loved this excursion and hope you do too. After the tubing adventure you are given time to change. They also do take photos along the way for you to purchase which was a nice idea. You can also order Jerk Chicken lunch as well to enjoy when both excursions are completed. We had a blast !!! Hope to do this again in the future.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really fun and great staff!!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Guest avatar
Jen3755
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The company who runs this excursion does very well. Transportation on the way there was very interesting and informative. Was a little disappointed with the zip line portion. There are only 3 and they aren't very high or long. It was a very beginner. I was hoping to see more scenery during the zip line portion like any other zip line. However the tubing portion made up for everything. Our guides were very fun and helpful. The water was clear as day and the scenery was so beautiful it almost looked fake. A very fun excursion and worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Only 3 ziplines!

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Guest avatar
YoungCouple101
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My husband and I signed up for this excursion while on the ship so we weren't able to do any research or read any reviews about it. We were super excited to do the zipline but we were quickly disappointed once we started. We definitely expected there to be more than 3 ziplines! And to add to our disappointment they weren't very high up either. We were finished with the zipline portion within about ten minutes, which was not what we were expecting at all!
On the other hand we really enjoyed the tubing on the river which made up for the lacking zipline a little bit. I felt we paid way way too much money for this excursion and would probably not recommend it to anyone just because of the zipline.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
YeahKris
Montego Bay , Jamaica
 
Please wait while more information about YeahKris is loaded.
Additional information about YeahKris could not be loaded.
Will look to improve the tour...
Posted September 24, 2013
Dear guys, this tour experience is generally all about the tubing on the most beautiful river in Ocho Rios, Jamaica. We did however add a few zip line elements to the tour to make the overall experience a bit more appealing for cruise visitors to the island. However we do take your point that they are short and we will definitely have the R&D team look at how to improve this aspect of the tour excursion for the future. Again thank you so much for visiting and playing at CHUKKA.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great way to experience the beauty that is Jamaica!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Guest avatar
Nami
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The trip started with a 45 min drive through the Jamaican jungle to the Chukka base of operations, which was a tropical paradise! The locals were very friendly, laid back, and gave the atmosphere a "relaxed vacation" feel instead of a "were on a schedule" feel. Everything there was "Irie" -a Jamaican word that basically means hakuna-matata. The zip-lining was cool, but over very fast, and didn't really last long enough to form a memory of it. Mostly I remember the exhilaration and adrenaline. The best part of the zip-lining was just being in Jamaica, and taking in the surroundings and people. The river tubing was awesome though! We tubed down the river for well over an hour! Not much in the way of "rapids", it was mostly a calm, serene, float down the river. There were a few places that they called "rapids", and it really livened up the ride. I thought it was a wonderful experience, laying back, enjoying the view of the Jamaican forest canopy above with sunlight trickling through the trees and lighting the clear turquoise water of the river. I would definitely recommend this excursion, and based on our experience with them , I would recommend any Chukka excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lots of fun

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Guest avatar
MDMom
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After the ride up the mountain (don't sit up front!# our adventure began with the zip lines. The group was large so did a fair amout of waiting. The instructions #while important# go right over your head. Thank goodness for great leaders. Loved the ziplining - just wish there was more to it. Climb up, zip 3 times and your done.
The tubing required a drive to the top of the river. Again, we had a large group #too big in my opinion) as you have to wait for everyone to get in the water to start. The river was pretty calm. There were 3-4 'rapid' sections that were fun. The leaders were awesome.
Great fun for kids. Don't recommend if you are looking for a high thrill excursion - this is more calm.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lots of fun

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Guest avatar
Annie55
from Cedar Rapids,IA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tour! Lots of fun. good combo of things. It would be good for first time Zip liners. Though I think they should have a short zip to learn how to handle yourself first. The guides were great. They went though safety, made sure harness fit right. told us about the flora & fona in the area. (there grounds were very good looking, well kept) lockers are available for a price. Their is a gift shop & place to get lunch or snacks. Tubbing was a blast. Those guides are very good, funny & helpful. Fairly easy river few spots with a little bit a rapids. Not big ones, but fun. Water was absouletly beatiful, clear & cool. If leaving port early need to do early tour, barely time to look at the market set up by the dock. Great time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loads of FUN!!!

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Guest avatar
Marq417
from Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've ALWAYS wanted to go ziplining and when I saw that this was one of the excursions, I was so excited! The guides made sure everyone had a complete understanding of the safety guidelines before beginning the trek up to the ziplines. Once we reached the ziplines (that "hill" was no joke!) the guide made sure we were ready to go down and reviewed the braking procedure. The first step is a doosy! There were three lines. The first one is the longest. It was very exhilarating!
The second part of the excursion was the river tubing. Two thumbs up! There were moments of relaxing and floating on a lazy river and then there were times when you knew that you either had to hold on or fall into the water. There were two down sides for me but not that serious. One, I really wished the life jackets were better cared for because the mold was visible and I didn't like the guides asking for a tip afterwards. Other than that, I would sooo do it again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Do the River Tubing, Skip the Zipline!

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Guest avatar
WorkToCruise
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I gave this excursion 4 stars because of the river tubing, I highly recommend this! The water was beautiful, the scenery was beautiful, the guides were firendly and we had a blast with this excursion! We felt like the amount of time spent in the water was great also. There is one rapid that is intense, just to let you know everyone falls out of their tube and gets wet, but it was really fun!
I would not recommend the zipline, it is not like it is in the pictures they show on here!! On here they show people holding onto the rope in front of them and smiling, but we had to put our hand around the rope above us and guide ourselves straight so we wouldn't be spinning in circles. You also have to slow yourself down when coming to the platforms, which feels like it's jerking your arm off.We were sore for 3-4 days afterward! Definitely not as fun as we thought it would be!!
The driver that took us from the port to the White River Valley property where we did the zipline/tubing was very friendly and outgoing. He was telling us about all the sites we were passing, he even stopped a few times for us to take pictures.
Overall, do the River tubing, it was so fun! Skip the Zipline! Maybe visit the Dunn's River Falls? Everyone on the ship was talking about how awesome that excursion was and we wished we would've done that one!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Intro Zipline, but River Tubing was Fun

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Guest avatar
Trimix
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
Don't rely just on the # of stars. This tour was great for people who have never been ziplining. However, the zipline part was very short and not really worth the time it takes to gear up if you have been before. The tubing was fantastic - especially for families! Time on the river was perfect, small 'rapids' made the trip even better. I recommend for families and those who have never ziplined.
We heard from a number of passengers that the Tranopy excursion was much better and well worth the money.
Con: While I realize Jamaica is not a wealthy nation, given the cost of these excursions, I was very disappointed by the aggressive tipping pressure the locals inflict in the passengers. After both activities on this tour we were hounded for tips and one tour guide even followed us to the bus and tried to influence the amount by making sure w knew how many people were guiding the ziplining. After ziplining, they crowd you into a small area with one exit and then parade you through a single file opening asking for tips. After tubing, guides were standing at each bus door. Takes away from the experience and one leaves Jamaica with a lesser impression of the country and its people.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
WorkToCruise
 
Please wait while more information about WorkToCruise is loaded.
Additional information about WorkToCruise could not be loaded.
Posted July 29, 2012
I agree with you about the tipping, they were ALL begging! Even if you gave a tip to the guide that actually helped you, then the other ones would still follow you around begging. I started to feel uncomfortable and just wanted to get out of there!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Guest avatar
cruisedb4
from North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was fantasric. You take about a 45 minute ride through the country. Getting to see more than just the coast. The ziplines are short but still fun..
The tubing was super fun there were a few rapids but not too bad. We had a seven year old in our group and he loved it. (both things)
I do recommend that you wear water shoes and to have a water camera. They do take photos but there a little expensive. Plus our group didn't have much time to go throught the photos because we had to get back to the ship.
The guides were friendly and funny. This had to be one of the best parts of our trip. i would LOVE to do it again. Well worth thr money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Chukka Zipline and River Tubing Combo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Zipline - Skip, Tubing - Fantastic!

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Guest avatar
Tarzan
from Castle Rock, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I booked this excursion because I've done the zipline tour in the past and wanted to try the tubing experience. So, I figured I'd try the best of both worlds. Unfortunately, the zipline was somewhat boring with only three drops. It actually takes longer to harness up that it is to zipline down. The tubing was fun though!
My opinion...
If you want to do the zipline tour, go with the Canopy Tour. This was a blast when I did it last time. Well worth the money.
If you want to do the tubing, go with River Tubing Safari and save yourself some cash.
If you've never ziplined, and not an extreme adventurist, then this a great way to get your feet wet. The ziplines are way EASY.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>