Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day

Private Island Beach Day

Take in the aqua-blue waters of the Bahamas at Balmoral Island Beach. The luxurious beach day experience includes transportation and a beach chair.
Overall rating:
3.651 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(186 reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 186 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
21
1 Star
21
132 out of 182(73%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day
Review 1 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

private location

PostedMarch 27, 2016
from fayetteville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It took us over an hour to get to the beach from the time we waited on the ship till we arrived, seemed very disorganized, had to line up and wait the whole time. The boat ride over to the island was much longer than the ride back. The islander was great. It was too cold for us to swim but we still enjoyed the time. Food and drinks were really high. Shopping on the island was too high, wait till you go back to the ship and walk around the town to shop.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxation is Just What You Need

PostedMarch 18, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My sister and I booked this excursion for our birthday cruise! We had to travel by boat to get to the island getaway, which was cool because we were able to see Eddie Murphy's private island (couldn't go within so many yards of it though). We were provided a free meal and non-alcoholic beverage. There is a bar on the island to purchase alcohol, food and a Starbucks. (Food options include: burgers, bbq, fries, etc.), We ordered a burger which was delicious it came with fries and a soda. We sat out on the beach, soaked up some sun and watched people swim. There is an area to swim with the stingrays and dolphins, which was cool. There is plenty of shade and seating. Didn't get the opportunity to swim with either one, but will definitely have to next time. Awesome experience! Would book this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could be better options

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
from Longview Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Recently took this excursion from carnival magic. We were fortunate to catch the first boat to the beach . Others had to wait for returning boat. Island was very attractive but you are limited to about 100 yards of beach. Nice beach chairs and umbrellas provided. No waiters ever came to beach area. We had a fair meal at the restaurant. Wife had a burger and I had ribs. Girl at counter was curt, borderline rude. They have a Starbucks there but you are more likely to be struck buy lightning than getting served. On the boat ride back the skipper pointed out a free beach very close to the cruise ship. O-well. Maybe next time
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
erdmando1
FL
 
Please wait while more information about erdmando1 is loaded.
Additional information about erdmando1 could not be loaded.
Thank you!
Posted February 22, 2016
Thank you for writing an honest review. It seems a bit pricey to me for what you described and being thisclose to the stranger(s) next to me isn't my cup of tea. Any chance you remember the name of the public beach??
Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend this excursion

PostedJanuary 2, 2016
from Westchester County, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun ride on motor launch to the island. Pretty beach with clear water and comfortable chairs to relax in. Not at all crowded. Having researched previously, we ate a good breakfast before leaving and brought a light snack, so didn't need to purchase food on the island. We swam for a couple of hours and then moved to the shade while our young adult kids played volleyball. Restrooms were clean and an outdoor shower took care of the sand. PA system helped us know when to return to the boat. On the departure jetty, the dolphins from the dolphin encounter swam up to say goodbye. Fun day for the whole family - would do it again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice relaxing time

PostedDecember 29, 2015
from North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were at this beach earlier in the year for the dolphin encounter and enjoyed it very much. This time our friends did the dolphin encounter and we just relaxed on the beach. We spent some time in the salt water pool and had lunch on the beach. The staff was very friendly. The prices for food and drinks were a little high and they no longer accept the sail and sign card so the little bit of money I brought with me didn't last long. The shuttle boat ride there and back was nice even though it was a little choppy. The crew on the boat were very friendly and helpful. All in all it was a nice day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Value for the Price

PostedDecember 22, 2015
from Charleston, SC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We really enjoyed this excursion, especially for the price. The boat ride over to the island was fun and our boat crew were clearly experienced as the wind and waves were high that day but they maneuvered to ensure a smooth ride. The island beach was not huge but relaxing and fun. There were plenty of chairs. Everyone was ready to leave by the time the excursion was over. It was just long enough.
Recommend bringing your own mask and snorkel if you have it. We did and it was worth it. Theirs are cheap enough but basic and fit was tough for our friends. There is no separate snorkelling area so nothing really to see. There were no Paddle Boards available as the excursion mentioned (which is what we wanted to do). They seemed to be surprised when i asked. But we still enjoyed it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasted Cash

PostedDecember 12, 2015
from Kansas
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
While the island was beautiful I feel the transportation planning would've been better handled by children. We got 40 minutes on a beach that cost us a significant amount of money and hated every minute of it due to the extreme stress caused by the transportation. Trust me and save your family the emotional scars.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of time and money

PostedDecember 9, 2015
from pa
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Had to walk a mile to get boat then 25 min ride to island got about 2 hours there and had to leave , bathrooms were not working
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our Layout Day

PostedDecember 7, 2015
from Cocoa, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had a good time on our excursion. It was a long walk to transport, but worth it. We arrived to a visually pleasing beach complete with chairs, a couple pools and cover. It was worth the money. Eating was expensive, but overall we had a much better than expected time. I would certainly recommend this to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relaxing Excursion

PostedNovember 29, 2015
from Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
With cooperating weather this was an excellent beach day. Unheated plunge pools and great beach were perfect. No charge umbrellas, first come first served. Food was not good value and drinks were far too expensive.
If weather was poor, trip would have been a waste.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beach

PostedNovember 23, 2015
from Tampa, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the perfect excursion for my husband and me because we were looking for time to just relax and have some quiet time. The beach was beautiful. There were plenty of chairs for relaxing in the sun our out of the sun. The water was clear and cool. Would go back again if visiting Nassau.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it all! Great place to snorkel!

PostedNovember 16, 2015
from Eutawville, South Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion is worth the price and the adventure! We walked from the Carnival Fantasy to a glass-bottom boat called the "Lil Nassau" waiting for us to take us to Balmoral Island. It took about 30 minutes to arrive there, but the lively and informative boat captain, Otis, was hospitable and entertaining which seemed to make the 30 minute transport not seem that long.
Once we arrived at Balmoral Island, the resort crew members were helpful, friendly and encouraging all of us to enjoy our stay.
Equipment is there to rent for additional fees, but I purchased a snorkeling mask and snorkel prior to cruising so I just put it on and walked into the crystal clear/blue waters and snorkeled around the rocks where I saw beautiful tropical fish!
The beach was not crowded and there were ample beach chairs and umbrellas for everyone.
In addition, there are swimming pools that are there for all to use. Cushioned seats, palm trees and umbrellas are at the pools and it is very relaxing.
I'd definitely do this excursion again. I just wish it'd lasted a little longer :-)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Definitely worth it!

PostedNovember 8, 2015
from Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bring snorkel and mask, explore the rocks, stay and play in the water. Definitely worth the money. You are taken to Sandals island and its very clean and water is clear. No need to get food or drink just eat prior and after on cruise. I'd recommend this excursion to anyone just wanting to explore on their own and have a relaxing day on a beach.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun but Eat before you go!

PostedOctober 27, 2015
from Little Rock, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a great excursion. You take a boat ride to the island and get a little history of the surroundings. The resort is nice. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas. A couple of pools, volleyball court. They'll rent out snorkel and kayaks. They do the dolphin interaction and stingray excursions at this resort on the other side of the dock. Although we did not do that excursion, we were able to sit up on the beach and watch them. Eat before you go because the food is pricey! Fun time though!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing Day

PostedOctober 23, 2015
from Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Driver was Friendly, and beach was clean. Nice relaxing day . Food and Starbucks was available for purchase.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was great

PostedOctober 12, 2015
from Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We really enjoyed our excursion and had a very nice day on the beach. The beach was awesome and the water was crystal clear. We liked that they had snorkeling equipment that you could rent as well as the gift shop. I only wish that the excursion had been a little bit longer. The only thing that we wish they had done differently was have a tour guide help escort us back to the ship after the excursion like they did whenever we went on the excursion. The boat ride to and from the island was fantastic and very informational. Otis made the trip enjoyable and fun.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this was a wonderful excursion for a fun day at the beach/

PostedOctober 10, 2015
from Spotsylvania, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a a great excursion, as it was our second, to enjoy the wonderful beach with a large pavilion so you don't lay in direct sun light and wonder beach chairs to lay on.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great beach getaway for the money

PostedSeptember 28, 2015
from Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great beach day for the money . No food or drinks included , but they are available for sale on island .
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST TIME EVER!

PostedSeptember 25, 2015
from Jackson, Ms
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to find the boat that takes you to the island, you get to ride by Nicholas Cage and Eddie Murphys' private islands. Beautiful ride to and from. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Drinks were amazingly good. The water was the best part. Nice firm sand all the way out, which I loved. We rented snorkeling gear and floats for 30 for 2 people, not bad. Beautiful all around. Even had time to do a little shopping when we got back. MY FAVORITE. Will do again. Felt sorry for the dolphins and sting rays they were in a very small environment.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Re-peat cruiser

PostedSeptember 23, 2015
from Charleston, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We would recommend this excursion, it is a beautiful beach. We wanted something relaxing and not crowded. It was nice to have plenty of beach chairs for everyone. However we were very disappointed with the cost of the food on the private island it was extremely too costly. No hamburger is worth that amount $$.$$. If anyone has diabetes you had better bring your own sandwich and snacks.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>