Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day

Private Island Beach Day

Take in the aqua-blue waters of the Bahamas at Balmoral Island Beach. The luxurious beach day experience includes transportation and a beach chair.
Overall rating:
3.672 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(198 reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 198 reviews
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
23
1 Star
21
142 out of 194(73%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day
Review 1 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this island resort

PostedJuly 22, 2016
from mindenmines, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very relaxing, beautiful, and worth the price, food was expensive there but good.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Relaxing

PostedJuly 18, 2016
from Hampton, Georgia
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The kids loved the beach and the 2 pools. No water sports or snorkel gear rentals only floatation loungers for rent. The dolphins encounter was ok, but trying to purchase pictures and a video of the encounter was awful. I stood in the middle of the room for 30 mins trying to find someone to asst. me. Plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas available. The best part about this excursion was the boat ride to and from the beach. I do not recommend this excursion for kids looks for a variety of things to do.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and Relaxing

PostedJuly 15, 2016
from Tomball, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved our day on the beach. We are a family of 5, and I know how much the kids love the beach. To start the excursion you do have to walk approx. 1 mile to the boat that takes you to the island. The boat ride was fun, the boat driver and hostess were festive and taught us things about Nassau along the ride. The island was beautiful and clean. Plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas. They had a DJ playing music, the kids snorkeled, we brought our own but you can rent them on the island. The kids saw little fishies swimming in the water and just had a blast. They did have a pool but we did not swim in it. It was not at all over crowded. The water is breathtaking and I am so glad I got to spend the day there. The do have food and drinks for sale. They are expensive, but I knew that going in and came prepared.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not that beautiful...

PostedJuly 9, 2016
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
The boat will take you on a 30-45 minute ride to this island.
We did not include the foodpackage, wasnt worth it because the food on the island was at a fair price but not recommended.
There were very few beach umbrellas and there were already people on the island that were using them. You're overlooking the main island so the view isnt that spectaculair.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

FUN BUT PRICEY

PostedJuly 1, 2016
from Nakina, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The beach was absolutely beautiful, but the food and beverages were way over priced and you weren't allowed to bring anything on the island with you. Enjoyed the boat ride over and back from the island but the walk to the dock was a lil far and we were not informed of this prior. I'm glad I chose this prior to my next cruise in December with my mother who would not be able to keep up with this walk. There was snorkel equipment for rent but ran out very fast, bring your own!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice relaxing beach but bring your own food/water

PostedJune 21, 2016
from Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The private beach is actually part of a Sandals Beach resort on Balmoral Island. The beach is pristine white sands and with all the amenities of a typical resort with your own umbrella and lawn chair. There is a pool at the resort if you prefer that over the ocean, but it is nothing special. The ocean was a pale blue and was teaming with fish, so definitely buy a snorkel before coming on the excursion, or you can rent one on the island. The water was not deep even past the roped area, barely reaching 5 feet until the tide rolled in several hours later. The excursion was perfect except for a few problems. You have to walk what seems like half a mile in a group from your ship to get on a small ferry that takes you to the island. The ferry is nothing special and for a 3 mile or so trip to island takes about 45 minutes so figure about 1.5 hours out of your day is just transportation. The ferry captain and his partner were very accommodating and friendly, as well as knowledgeable about the area. They did make the long trip enjoyable with several stories of the islands.
Once on the island, you are essentially a castaway. The ferry does not return until about an hour before your ship disembarks from Nassau, so don't expect much time in the market, if at all. This is where the excursion goes downhill. If you want to get something to eat/drink, expect to spend some cash. As this is a Sandals beach resort, they are not known for economical, and the food is expensive for what it is. I split three chicken tenders and fries with my girlfriend and that cost 23.00. They were not even that good. Water is 5.00+ a bottle, so bring your own from the ship. We saw several folks with tervis cups they filled with lemonade before disembarking. Adult beverages are also considerably more at 14.00 for a small pina colada or daquiri which is definitely not made with top shelf liquors.
The beach may, or may not, be crowded depending on how many other cruise ships have arrived. We were there on Valor and Conquest had already been in port for more than 2 hours when we arrived. Since multiple ships can have the same excursion, we discovered the island was a little busy when we arrived. As some of the other comments indicated, it could be possible to leave the island early on the ferry back for another ship, but that may not be allowed.
Overall, not a bad experience. The beach is gorgeous, and the water was very relaxing, but our later port to Grand Turk offered the same for free and we could get on and off the ship to dine, so I am not certain this is the best value, but I was pleased for the price.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful for a family.

PostedJune 15, 2016
from Chilhowie, Va
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After having a rather disappointing day the day before due to bad weather this excursion is exactly what we needed. We had our 1 year old with us and she loved every minute from the boat ride to the wonderful beach. This is the second time we have done this excursion and we plan on doing it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and Worth the money

PostedJune 14, 2016
from Nashville
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the same beach as is included in the Stingrays and Dolphin excursions. It's a breathtakingly beautiful beach. It's clean, includes a pool, and has a place to eat.
My wife wasn't interested in the Dolphins or Stingrays. If I would have known it was the same beach, I would have done the dolphin excursion.
Some friends of ours did the package that included BBQ. BBQ ended up being grilled hot dogs and chips. The menu at the market has good selections, but isn't cheap. It was good food, and good company.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Day!

PostedJune 13, 2016
from Hamilton, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My daughter and I took this excursion and we were NOT disappointed. The 30 minute boat ride to the beach was enjoyable and Dave, our boat guide, was informative and humorous. He even gave the younger children a "turn at the wheel" of the boat which they loved! The beach is absolutely beautiful, plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas for everyone. However, my daughter and I spent most of our time in the water snorkeling and were thrilled to see many varieties of fish. Many have mentioned the high prices of food and while that may be true, we expected that. We did share a sandwich wrap and fries which was plenty enough for two people. However, we were there for the snorkeling and weren't disappointed. Would do again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great day on the beach

PostedMay 20, 2016
from Hartselle, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The weather was perfect for our private beach day. The island is relaxing and not crowded. My wife purchased one drink but we didn't purchase any food while there. We got about 4 hours on the beach. About one hour is spent in back and forth transportation by boat depending on how many go on the excursion. We ended about one hour early due to the Journey concert that night but the concert was worth it. Had a blast overall.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fun

PostedMay 16, 2016
from egg harbor township, nj
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
my boyfriend and I just watched our daughter have fun in the water (beach and pool) while we relaxed. I enjoyed the boat ride there and back which took about 30 mins. the food on the island was way too expensive. overall it was nice.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This tour was enjoyable.

PostedMay 15, 2016
from Bahamas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Went on this tour 4/30/16. Not too many in our group. Ride over on the boat was okay. Beautiful blue water. Because it was only April, beach was not crowded. Had our pick of chairs/umbrellas. Water was chilly but still was able to get in. Food prices a little high. Overall, a nice getaway.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

private location

PostedMarch 27, 2016
from fayetteville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It took us over an hour to get to the beach from the time we waited on the ship till we arrived, seemed very disorganized, had to line up and wait the whole time. The boat ride over to the island was much longer than the ride back. The islander was great. It was too cold for us to swim but we still enjoyed the time. Food and drinks were really high. Shopping on the island was too high, wait till you go back to the ship and walk around the town to shop.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxation is Just What You Need

PostedMarch 18, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My sister and I booked this excursion for our birthday cruise! We had to travel by boat to get to the island getaway, which was cool because we were able to see Eddie Murphy's private island (couldn't go within so many yards of it though). We were provided a free meal and non-alcoholic beverage. There is a bar on the island to purchase alcohol, food and a Starbucks. (Food options include: burgers, bbq, fries, etc.), We ordered a burger which was delicious it came with fries and a soda. We sat out on the beach, soaked up some sun and watched people swim. There is an area to swim with the stingrays and dolphins, which was cool. There is plenty of shade and seating. Didn't get the opportunity to swim with either one, but will definitely have to next time. Awesome experience! Would book this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could be better options

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
from Longview Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Recently took this excursion from carnival magic. We were fortunate to catch the first boat to the beach . Others had to wait for returning boat. Island was very attractive but you are limited to about 100 yards of beach. Nice beach chairs and umbrellas provided. No waiters ever came to beach area. We had a fair meal at the restaurant. Wife had a burger and I had ribs. Girl at counter was curt, borderline rude. They have a Starbucks there but you are more likely to be struck buy lightning than getting served. On the boat ride back the skipper pointed out a free beach very close to the cruise ship. O-well. Maybe next time
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
erdmando1
FL
 
Please wait while more information about erdmando1 is loaded.
Additional information about erdmando1 could not be loaded.
Thank you!
Posted February 22, 2016
Thank you for writing an honest review. It seems a bit pricey to me for what you described and being thisclose to the stranger(s) next to me isn't my cup of tea. Any chance you remember the name of the public beach??
Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend this excursion

PostedJanuary 2, 2016
from Westchester County, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun ride on motor launch to the island. Pretty beach with clear water and comfortable chairs to relax in. Not at all crowded. Having researched previously, we ate a good breakfast before leaving and brought a light snack, so didn't need to purchase food on the island. We swam for a couple of hours and then moved to the shade while our young adult kids played volleyball. Restrooms were clean and an outdoor shower took care of the sand. PA system helped us know when to return to the boat. On the departure jetty, the dolphins from the dolphin encounter swam up to say goodbye. Fun day for the whole family - would do it again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice relaxing time

PostedDecember 29, 2015
from North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were at this beach earlier in the year for the dolphin encounter and enjoyed it very much. This time our friends did the dolphin encounter and we just relaxed on the beach. We spent some time in the salt water pool and had lunch on the beach. The staff was very friendly. The prices for food and drinks were a little high and they no longer accept the sail and sign card so the little bit of money I brought with me didn't last long. The shuttle boat ride there and back was nice even though it was a little choppy. The crew on the boat were very friendly and helpful. All in all it was a nice day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Value for the Price

PostedDecember 22, 2015
from Charleston, SC
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We really enjoyed this excursion, especially for the price. The boat ride over to the island was fun and our boat crew were clearly experienced as the wind and waves were high that day but they maneuvered to ensure a smooth ride. The island beach was not huge but relaxing and fun. There were plenty of chairs. Everyone was ready to leave by the time the excursion was over. It was just long enough.
Recommend bringing your own mask and snorkel if you have it. We did and it was worth it. Theirs are cheap enough but basic and fit was tough for our friends. There is no separate snorkelling area so nothing really to see. There were no Paddle Boards available as the excursion mentioned (which is what we wanted to do). They seemed to be surprised when i asked. But we still enjoyed it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasted Cash

PostedDecember 12, 2015
from Kansas
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
While the island was beautiful I feel the transportation planning would've been better handled by children. We got 40 minutes on a beach that cost us a significant amount of money and hated every minute of it due to the extreme stress caused by the transportation. Trust me and save your family the emotional scars.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of time and money

PostedDecember 9, 2015
from pa
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Had to walk a mile to get boat then 25 min ride to island got about 2 hours there and had to leave , bathrooms were not working
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>