Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day

Private Island Beach Day

Take in the aqua-blue waters of the Bahamas at Balmoral Island Beach. The luxurious beach day experience includes transportation and a beach chair.
Overall rating:
3.611 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 113 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
13
1 Star
11
77 out of 111(69%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day
Review 1 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Excursion

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
eagle51
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The private island beach day was awesome. So wish it was longer.
Relaxing,enjoyable,clean,friendly atmosphere,convenient to all venues available. Enjoyed the boat ride to island. Sure wish beverages were sold on top deck. The beach was so clean with plenty of chairs and umbrellas.
Ocean water fantastic. Atomosphere was relaxing and fun with the DJ playing music so we could dance in the water. Easy access to restrooms which were very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. So wish that this excursion was a few hours longer. Can't wait to go back in the future.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Entire family had a great time on Balmoral Island

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Guest avatar
RodyK
from Wood-Ridge, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was our best one of the cruise. My entire family of 5 had a great time. The only downside was how long it takes Carnival to organize everyone and walk them over to the boat that takes you there. The 30 minutes boat ride was great and scenic. The guy on the boat's mic was energetic and got everyone in a party spirit. He also was very informative and repeated everything twice so that he could be understood perfectly. Then he played Caribbean music to set the right atmosphere. Once you arrive, there is a sign telling you what time your return boat will be departing. There are plenty of beach chairs, a gorgeous clean beach, with calm waters. The whole place is beautiful. The food is very good, although terribly overpriced. It's nice that you can charge everything to your sign & sail card.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

relaxing

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Guest avatar
sweetmilkr6
from macon. ga
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chairs were abundant and comfortable. Price was about 10 to much. Clean beach. Alcohol prices were about the same as cruise ship. Not much to see if snorkeling.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very laid back and relaxing

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Shannon2014
from Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
My family and I have been to Nassau several times and wanted to do something other than shopping and the public beach. We have a 6yr old daughter and 17 yr old daughter. All of us enjoyed the island. It was nice to snorkel (saw several fish and a stingray), swim in the ocean and lay back and relax while our 6yr old enjoyed the pool. A plus was Starbucks :) and the prices were pretty close to pricing in the states. While snorkeling, I found a piece of jewelry. If you lost something here and can identify it, I will be more than glad to send it to you!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great beach

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Guest avatar
Reda
from Louisville, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
If you are just looking for a relaxing day on the beach, this is just the one. Beautiful clean beach, crystal clear water, umbrellas and chairs. We enjoyed this excursion a lot. I recommend you buy the lunch when you book your excursion. It was a lot cheaper than buying the lunch on the beach. Same menu. Will save you about 10 - 15 dollars. Simple but good.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

had me alot of fun

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Guest avatar
homestead
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was surprised when I went into the pool (salt water)......beach water was great ....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I would recommend

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Guest avatar
PAPTheBurg
from Wheelersburg, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The biggest negative was the chaos on the ship and especially in the port as we preparing to leave. The shore guides were very unprepared and it seemed to take a lot longer than it should have. There were three other ships at port at the same time and there were hundreds of people in line for dozens of shore excursions.If you're not happy about waiting in line- don't take this excursion!
That said, once we got on the boat to take us to the Island it was a pleasant boat ride that took about 30 minutes. Once we got to the island it was really more than I expected. There were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas provided. It was a quiet part of the island only people from the "Fascination" were there. The place was really clean and had a lot of amenities. The drinks and food prices were outrageous. I had done my homework and ate a big breakfast so I didn't spend any money once I was there. The beach and pool area was really nice and I spend most of the time just relaxing in the water. I guess we spent about 3 hours total on the island. The rest of the time was travel and waiting in line. It was very pretty and I would probably go again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We loved it!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Guest avatar
Momof2boys1018
from Catawba North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We came to this island 2 years in a row. We absolutely loved it. The food is over priced but that is to be expected. The beautiful beach and lounge chairs and umbrellas are fabulous!! Our 3 year old and 11 year old had a blast! Would definitely go again!! If you have kids take sand toys. Or if you snorkel take your own mask! Its expensive to rent on the island!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT WORTH IT

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Guest avatar
GKT25years
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Booked this excursions for a relaxing day at the beach for our 25th wedding anniversary. Very unorganized getting on boat. Entertainment on boat was fun. When you reach island no one around to guide you to the fun. Starbucks is just a hut, selling cold coffee. The beach was relaxing and water is beautiful. The price of the excursion wasn't bad, until you reach the island and want an adult drink. Way overpriced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Food was OK. Very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

would go again

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Moses43
from Trinity, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this was a first for us; never visited an island off shore; would go again; the food was pretty good and the staff was delightful to work with (although I had little reason to deal with them); the boat ride over was really nice and so was the young fellow who made this trip fun with his clever and funny announcements; I was disappointed in one thing: the snorkeling was pretty lame; we were confined to a beach area that had a roped off area in which to swim and snorkel; we did see a sting ray; but not much else to see while you snorkel; I would not rent any equipment either; there is nothing to see (i.e. rocks, reefs, cool looking fish, etc)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very relaxing

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Guest avatar
Traci43
from NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you are looking for an excursion where you just sit on the beach and relax, this is the one for you. There isn't anything else to do on the island but the beach but it's very beautiful. The only complaint is that the boat ride to the island is a long one... at least 30-45 mins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BOOK IT!!!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Guest avatar
cra1g
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great excursion! Beach awesome. Water awesome. Staff awesome. Boat ride is hot, but it's the Bahamas what do you expect.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun time

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Guest avatar
jsclaf
from Bronx, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was overall a fun excursion. My only complaint is the wait to get onto the boat that transported us to the beach, and the amount of time we spent actually on the beach. If I remember correctly, we had about 2.5 hours on the beach before having to return to the ship. I didn't mind that so much since we've already been out in the sun for quite some time through transportation, and from the port stop the day before. I didn't have any problems with beach chairs, and was able to find a couple underneath the umbrellas that were already laid out. I also don't think that the ocean was too rocky, as some others have commented. I brought water shoes just in case, but I didn't feel that I needed them and took them off. The lunch portions were huge, so that was satisfying as well. The boat ride to the beach and back was also entertaining.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relaxing

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Julie303
from Columbia, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We did this excursion Aug 6, 2014. It is expensive to purchase on the island. We made sure our teens ate a very very large breakfast and brought snacks in our pool bag. We also brought water. This was fine and we didn't have to purchase anything but a few bar drinks. They tried to charge us for the use of chairs but we told them the cruise said they were included and they accepted that. They did not search our pool bags. They do charge for floats or snorkel gear. The trip back to shore was very entertaining. I would def do this one again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

RockyRoad

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Guest avatar
PooBear
from Philadelphia, Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
It is situated in a great location and the ride there via a boat provided for a nice view of the general area. The first mate or whatever you call him got everyone involved into a festive mood with Caribbean music and dance. It was very delightful entertainment and l even had to commend him as we left the boat. As far as the beach itself it was very well kept. The drinks and food where very good. Had a very big burger myself. The swimming part provided a challenge because there too many rocks in the the water. I did not want to swim for fear of stubbing my toes or feet when attempting to rise. They had a swim pool nearby but who swims in a pool when you have a beach. Surely not I, so my best bet was to just wade. Just too many rocks to contend with. Other then that l had a nice time. They need to dredge that location to make it more user friendly
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Guest avatar
tracey35
from Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This beach was beautiful! The water was gorgeous! We didn't eat there so not sure about that but the water was beautiful.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Horrible organisation, rude staff

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Michele176
from Montreal, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were totally disappointed with this excursion which is a shame because the potential for this excursion is huge.
To start off, we are all waiting in Taj Mahal for over an hour... seems the organizers had underestimated the number of people we would be (seems to me a simple check of how many tickets sold would be a good clue as to how many people would show up). Then we were shephereded out of the ship and into 2 lines along ship... bad luck had it that, even though we were first in line, when they separated line into 2, we became first in the line that had to wait till first line boarded. Meaning, even though we were among first to meeting place, we were last to get there. Also, since they finally realized we wouldn't all fit into 1 boat, we were herded like cattle following a guide with a sign (who didn't even bother saying a word to us) on the street around other side of marina to another boat. To embark on that boat, we had to walk along a narrow concrete ledge. By the time we reached island, we only had 3 hours left for beach... so we decided to profit till end... but, even though chalk board said last pickup was at 4:15, at 4:00, we were ordered to vacate our chairs and wait in line (even though the first boat hadn't even boarded yet). So another 30 minute wait in line. On top of that, while we were waiting, (in Bahama extreme hot weather!!!) we wanted to shell out 5 bucks to buy a bottle of water. Even though the fridge was right there, the employee standing right there told us she was closed and wouldn't sell it to us. I couldn't believe it! Such a shame because the site is beautiful, water beautiful, but it is clear that the staff there just want maximum of our money for minimum of effort. While we were waiting to board ship, they even turned off the music... it was so clear that they were done for the day and couldn't wait for us to leave.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No encounter!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Guest avatar
Cookie
from Miami, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After being in the water for about 30 minutes, the excursion was cancelled by the trainers because the whales (8 of them) refused to interact.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great beach and salt water pool.

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Guest avatar
Bioteacher56
from Whitestone, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a beautiful beach area! The beach is graduated so you can walk poo it without fear of the water becoming too deep too quickly. The salt water pool is fantastic!
However, this was our second time at this spot and knew NOT to buy the lunch package. The food is dreadful!! We threw out our lunch the first time there last year. This year we waited to get back on the ship for lunch.
The excursion was hampered by a fierce rain storm.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very relaxing

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Machopr79
from Tampa, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was very relaxing and great for a family. The only thing I didn't like is that the food and drinks that were offered were very expensive, drinks cost more than at the ship itself. When I went no one was even working at the Starbucks. The only one on the island and no one was working it. How wonderful was that. I suggest eating right before getting off the ship because everything to eat is well overpriced.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>