Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day

Private Island Beach Day

Take in the aqua-blue waters of the Bahamas at Balmoral Island Beach. The luxurious beach day experience includes transportation and a beach chair.
Overall rating:
3.538 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
13
1 Star
11
71 out of 105(68%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day
Review 1 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We loved it!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Guest avatar
Momof2boys1018
from Catawba North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We came to this island 2 years in a row. We absolutely loved it. The food is over priced but that is to be expected. The beautiful beach and lounge chairs and umbrellas are fabulous!! Our 3 year old and 11 year old had a blast! Would definitely go again!! If you have kids take sand toys. Or if you snorkel take your own mask! Its expensive to rent on the island!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT WORTH IT

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Guest avatar
GKT25years
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Booked this excursions for a relaxing day at the beach for our 25th wedding anniversary. Very unorganized getting on boat. Entertainment on boat was fun. When you reach island no one around to guide you to the fun. Starbucks is just a hut, selling cold coffee. The beach was relaxing and water is beautiful. The price of the excursion wasn't bad, until you reach the island and want an adult drink. Way overpriced!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Food was OK. Very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

would go again

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Moses43
from Trinity, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this was a first for us; never visited an island off shore; would go again; the food was pretty good and the staff was delightful to work with (although I had little reason to deal with them); the boat ride over was really nice and so was the young fellow who made this trip fun with his clever and funny announcements; I was disappointed in one thing: the snorkeling was pretty lame; we were confined to a beach area that had a roped off area in which to swim and snorkel; we did see a sting ray; but not much else to see while you snorkel; I would not rent any equipment either; there is nothing to see (i.e. rocks, reefs, cool looking fish, etc)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very relaxing

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Guest avatar
Traci43
from NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you are looking for an excursion where you just sit on the beach and relax, this is the one for you. There isn't anything else to do on the island but the beach but it's very beautiful. The only complaint is that the boat ride to the island is a long one... at least 30-45 mins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BOOK IT!!!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Guest avatar
cra1g
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great excursion! Beach awesome. Water awesome. Staff awesome. Boat ride is hot, but it's the Bahamas what do you expect.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun time

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Guest avatar
jsclaf
from Bronx, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was overall a fun excursion. My only complaint is the wait to get onto the boat that transported us to the beach, and the amount of time we spent actually on the beach. If I remember correctly, we had about 2.5 hours on the beach before having to return to the ship. I didn't mind that so much since we've already been out in the sun for quite some time through transportation, and from the port stop the day before. I didn't have any problems with beach chairs, and was able to find a couple underneath the umbrellas that were already laid out. I also don't think that the ocean was too rocky, as some others have commented. I brought water shoes just in case, but I didn't feel that I needed them and took them off. The lunch portions were huge, so that was satisfying as well. The boat ride to the beach and back was also entertaining.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relaxing

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Julie303
from Columbia, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We did this excursion Aug 6, 2014. It is expensive to purchase on the island. We made sure our teens ate a very very large breakfast and brought snacks in our pool bag. We also brought water. This was fine and we didn't have to purchase anything but a few bar drinks. They tried to charge us for the use of chairs but we told them the cruise said they were included and they accepted that. They did not search our pool bags. They do charge for floats or snorkel gear. The trip back to shore was very entertaining. I would def do this one again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

RockyRoad

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Guest avatar
PooBear
from Philadelphia, Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
It is situated in a great location and the ride there via a boat provided for a nice view of the general area. The first mate or whatever you call him got everyone involved into a festive mood with Caribbean music and dance. It was very delightful entertainment and l even had to commend him as we left the boat. As far as the beach itself it was very well kept. The drinks and food where very good. Had a very big burger myself. The swimming part provided a challenge because there too many rocks in the the water. I did not want to swim for fear of stubbing my toes or feet when attempting to rise. They had a swim pool nearby but who swims in a pool when you have a beach. Surely not I, so my best bet was to just wade. Just too many rocks to contend with. Other then that l had a nice time. They need to dredge that location to make it more user friendly
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Guest avatar
tracey35
from Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This beach was beautiful! The water was gorgeous! We didn't eat there so not sure about that but the water was beautiful.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Horrible organisation, rude staff

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Michele176
from Montreal, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We were totally disappointed with this excursion which is a shame because the potential for this excursion is huge.
To start off, we are all waiting in Taj Mahal for over an hour... seems the organizers had underestimated the number of people we would be (seems to me a simple check of how many tickets sold would be a good clue as to how many people would show up). Then we were shephereded out of the ship and into 2 lines along ship... bad luck had it that, even though we were first in line, when they separated line into 2, we became first in the line that had to wait till first line boarded. Meaning, even though we were among first to meeting place, we were last to get there. Also, since they finally realized we wouldn't all fit into 1 boat, we were herded like cattle following a guide with a sign (who didn't even bother saying a word to us) on the street around other side of marina to another boat. To embark on that boat, we had to walk along a narrow concrete ledge. By the time we reached island, we only had 3 hours left for beach... so we decided to profit till end... but, even though chalk board said last pickup was at 4:15, at 4:00, we were ordered to vacate our chairs and wait in line (even though the first boat hadn't even boarded yet). So another 30 minute wait in line. On top of that, while we were waiting, (in Bahama extreme hot weather!!!) we wanted to shell out 5 bucks to buy a bottle of water. Even though the fridge was right there, the employee standing right there told us she was closed and wouldn't sell it to us. I couldn't believe it! Such a shame because the site is beautiful, water beautiful, but it is clear that the staff there just want maximum of our money for minimum of effort. While we were waiting to board ship, they even turned off the music... it was so clear that they were done for the day and couldn't wait for us to leave.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No encounter!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Guest avatar
Cookie
from Miami, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
After being in the water for about 30 minutes, the excursion was cancelled by the trainers because the whales (8 of them) refused to interact.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great beach and salt water pool.

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Guest avatar
Bioteacher56
from Whitestone, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a beautiful beach area! The beach is graduated so you can walk poo it without fear of the water becoming too deep too quickly. The salt water pool is fantastic!
However, this was our second time at this spot and knew NOT to buy the lunch package. The food is dreadful!! We threw out our lunch the first time there last year. This year we waited to get back on the ship for lunch.
The excursion was hampered by a fierce rain storm.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very relaxing

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Machopr79
from Tampa, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was very relaxing and great for a family. The only thing I didn't like is that the food and drinks that were offered were very expensive, drinks cost more than at the ship itself. When I went no one was even working at the Starbucks. The only one on the island and no one was working it. How wonderful was that. I suggest eating right before getting off the ship because everything to eat is well overpriced.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty, but disorganized!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Guest avatar
Jenlynins
from Montgomery, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This island is very pretty. Facilties were nice. Chairs were comfortable and there's even a pool area we could use. HOWEVER, the "Meeting at the end of the pier" at the beginning of the tour was disorganized. Need more communication between the crowd of followers and the "man with the sign." We were excited to know we could use our sign and sail card while on the island and not worry about carrying cash, but the prices were very inflated! Even more so than on the ship! Crazy! We were told that we would leave at a certain time, only to find out "from a chalkboard" that we would be leaving 30 mins later. We had already packed up our belongings!! All in all, it was a good excursion, but they need to work on the communication and also the prices of drinks and food on the island.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relaxing Excursion-No ROCKS!!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Guest avatar
AliceR
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was a very relaxing excursion. I don't know why some reviewers stated that this was a rocky beach! The only 'rocks' we found were small pieces of coral. The water was cool and refreshing. It was so clear that we could see our feet even in the deep part. Beach chairs were comfortable, umbrellas did help. Starbucks was a joy, but only a few beverages were available. Lunch was expensive, so we opted to wait until we got back on the ship. Bring a book and chill out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unorganized and Pricey

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Guest avatar
Kim2
from Inman, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We spent most of our morning, standing on the side of the street in Nassau, in the blazing hot sun, buying water from the locals waiting on our boat to take us to the island. We were told that the boat that was supposed tonpick us up had taken a detour and we had to wait on another to cone get us. Detour...really??? This was planned for how long? Anyway, when we finally got there, it was beautiful. Very nice island with gorgeous amenities but we were barely there long enough to really enjoy it. In addition, the drinks on the island are as expensive (if not more) than on the ship. We did not get our moneys worth on this one. Arrived and left disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This tour was okay but somewhat overpriced.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Trey77
from Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The drinks and food were overpriced. The day was okay; we knew it was a beach day so we were not expecting 'fireworks' or jaw dropping activities. There were ample beach chairs and clean facilities.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relaxing!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Guest avatar
bng03
from SAN ANTONIO, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This excursion was relaxing. The beach and accomodations were nice, but getting there is a bit confusing. There are several options to this excursion offered, but we found that the ship does not handle all of them. We looked into renting a cabana, but once we got there, found that it was totally not necessary, as covered seating is available for free, and closer to the bar and the beach!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Do not waste time and money

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Relaxininthesun
from SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was definitely a tourist trap. Very unorganized excursion.. 100+ people gather to meet early morning. One worker to hand out and put wristbands on people on ship, walk down flights of stairs as mob to dock, have to wait on second catamaran to pick us up, too many people. We get to island and you pay for everything. Chairs are practically on top of each other. We go to get in water and not a few, but hundreds of baby jellyfish, a heads up would have been nice. Not Carnival's private island, but shared with Sandals Resort. The beach is all sloped downhill. Actual time on island was 2 hours. The other time was taken up traveling, meeting, and waiting. Definitely would not recommend this excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth the money or time

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Guest avatar
cruiserofmany
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband and I love to visit different beaches. This one was dirty, and everything was over priced. The staff was rude and obviously unhappy with tourists. There were several of us who waited by the pier to leave early. Thank God they let us. Unfortunatly, we could not get our money back.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>