Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day

Private Island Beach Day

Take in the aqua-blue waters of the Bahamas at Balmoral Island Beach. The luxurious beach day experience includes transportation and a beach chair.
Overall rating:
3.527 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
9
1 Star
11
62 out of 92(67%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day
Review 1 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty, but disorganized!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Guest avatar
Jenlynins
from Montgomery, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This island is very pretty. Facilties were nice. Chairs were comfortable and there's even a pool area we could use. HOWEVER, the "Meeting at the end of the pier" at the beginning of the tour was disorganized. Need more communication between the crowd of followers and the "man with the sign." We were excited to know we could use our sign and sail card while on the island and not worry about carrying cash, but the prices were very inflated! Even more so than on the ship! Crazy! We were told that we would leave at a certain time, only to find out "from a chalkboard" that we would be leaving 30 mins later. We had already packed up our belongings!! All in all, it was a good excursion, but they need to work on the communication and also the prices of drinks and food on the island.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relaxing Excursion-No ROCKS!!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Guest avatar
AliceR
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was a very relaxing excursion. I don't know why some reviewers stated that this was a rocky beach! The only 'rocks' we found were small pieces of coral. The water was cool and refreshing. It was so clear that we could see our feet even in the deep part. Beach chairs were comfortable, umbrellas did help. Starbucks was a joy, but only a few beverages were available. Lunch was expensive, so we opted to wait until we got back on the ship. Bring a book and chill out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unorganized and Pricey

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Guest avatar
Kim2
from Inman, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We spent most of our morning, standing on the side of the street in Nassau, in the blazing hot sun, buying water from the locals waiting on our boat to take us to the island. We were told that the boat that was supposed tonpick us up had taken a detour and we had to wait on another to cone get us. Detour...really??? This was planned for how long? Anyway, when we finally got there, it was beautiful. Very nice island with gorgeous amenities but we were barely there long enough to really enjoy it. In addition, the drinks on the island are as expensive (if not more) than on the ship. We did not get our moneys worth on this one. Arrived and left disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This tour was okay but somewhat overpriced.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Trey77
from Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The drinks and food were overpriced. The day was okay; we knew it was a beach day so we were not expecting 'fireworks' or jaw dropping activities. There were ample beach chairs and clean facilities.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relaxing!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Guest avatar
bng03
from SAN ANTONIO, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This excursion was relaxing. The beach and accomodations were nice, but getting there is a bit confusing. There are several options to this excursion offered, but we found that the ship does not handle all of them. We looked into renting a cabana, but once we got there, found that it was totally not necessary, as covered seating is available for free, and closer to the bar and the beach!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Do not waste time and money

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Relaxininthesun
from SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This was definitely a tourist trap. Very unorganized excursion.. 100+ people gather to meet early morning. One worker to hand out and put wristbands on people on ship, walk down flights of stairs as mob to dock, have to wait on second catamaran to pick us up, too many people. We get to island and you pay for everything. Chairs are practically on top of each other. We go to get in water and not a few, but hundreds of baby jellyfish, a heads up would have been nice. Not Carnival's private island, but shared with Sandals Resort. The beach is all sloped downhill. Actual time on island was 2 hours. The other time was taken up traveling, meeting, and waiting. Definitely would not recommend this excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth the money or time

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Guest avatar
cruiserofmany
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband and I love to visit different beaches. This one was dirty, and everything was over priced. The staff was rude and obviously unhappy with tourists. There were several of us who waited by the pier to leave early. Thank God they let us. Unfortunatly, we could not get our money back.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun Family Day!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Katarina21
from Cape Canaveral, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The whole family enjoyed this excursion. My 12 year old niece had fun snorkeling off the beautiful beach. She saw dolphins, rays and tropical fish. There is a large pool on the island if you do not want to swim in the ocean. There were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas for everyone. The boat ride to and from the island was great. The crew pointed out various points of interest and played good music. My only complaints are that the drinks were very expensive and that there was not even a minute to do any shopping once the tour boat docked at the port.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great water...sardine can on land

PostedJune 24, 2014
Guest avatar
lwl65
from north carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The water is terrific...the beach is the problem. All of the beach chairs are jammed together in a small area. Literally, the armrests are shoved together as tightly as possible.
I had a chair in the front row and had to climb onto the foot end and crawl onto the chair. There is no room to lay anything..such as a beach bag...not even enough room on the side to sit your drink when they bring lunch. Its a balancing act to eat.
If you have ever played musical chairs you know what its like to get a chair once you debark. As soon as you get off the boat that brings you over everyone heads out down the pier at a dead run for the beach. Its a real marathon to find a spot as quickly as possible.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great private beach

PostedJune 18, 2014
Guest avatar
arcummings1
from Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only drawback to this shore excursion was that there were no beach activities to take part in such as jet skiing, parasailing, etc. It was just a private beach with a bar and food options.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Save your money

PostedJune 13, 2014
Guest avatar
cposten
from Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Expensive food, average beach, LONG walk then ride to and from which takes up much of your 4.5 hours. We were rained on heavily with no way to return to the city or boat till time was up.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

boring

PostedJune 10, 2014
Guest avatar
Smiths
from Atlanta, Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The beach was boring. Nothing to do. The water had lots of rocks and the food was very expensive. I was ready to leave but I couldn't leave until the excursion was over. Big waste of time and money. We will never do it again.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excurison was great.

PostedJune 8, 2014
Guest avatar
dl1971
from Newport News, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a wonderful excursion. The boat ride over and back was enjoyable. The beach was great and food was good. I would recommend this too anyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just a simple beach day..no 3.5 hours....

PostedJune 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Joannk
from Brunswick, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We thought we'd try this since it was new...we won't be doing it again. You can have just as relaxing time at Junkanoo beach or the Sheraton for free or for a lot less. There was nothing special about this beach or the set-up. There were rocks in the water and the current was quite swift. Not worth the $$.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Save Your Money and Go to another beach!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Skeet60vacation
from North Augusta, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
This excursion required a lot of climbing and walking. The boat parked in the last slip and it took almost one hour to get the large crowd on the boat and to move the boat out. I think this should have been split up in smaller groups. The beach is not that great and the time there is not worth the price paid. We paid for the lunch and it was good but way overpriced. When they announced a departure call there was less than three minutes between the first call and the last call. One young couple was taking their children to the bathroom and had to run to get on the boat. Not what I imagined a relaxing beach day would be! Very disappointed!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A little piece of heaven.

PostedJune 4, 2014
Guest avatar
Annemarie53
from Sun Valley, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
If you would love a day with white sand, and clear turquoise water, this is the excursion for you! You take a walk from the ship to another boat, which takes you to Balmoral Island. The boat ride over is a pretty ride. I can't get enough of the beautiful color of the water there. It would have been nice if someone told us about the sights we were passing, but they don't. It is okay though...Just taking it all in quietly, is nice too. Upon arrival, you can choose your beach chairs, which also have umbrellas. There are plenty for everyone. There is a nice pool too, but who needs that, when you have that gorgeous ocean!!! I know there was a place where you could purchase food and drinks, but my son and I were drawn like a magnet, to the ocean. We spent the entire time there snorkeling in the water!! (We brought our own mask, snorkel and fins, but I am pretty sure you could rent them if you don't have your own) We didn't get out of the water at all, until it was time to leave. We were wrinkled like prunes, but very happy!!! Sorry, I couldn't tell you what the food and drinks were like. We didn't have any. (Our choice) We didn't care because, there's plenty of good food on the ship to have later. Who knows when we will ever get to spend time in warm clear water like that again, so we just stayed in it, as long as we could!! I think this is good for all ages. I am 53, almost 54....my son is 23, my brother is 64 and my sister is 67. We all enjoyed this day very much! I really feel like they could have made it a bit longer. I feel like we got back to the ship earlier than we really needed to, but maybe they do this, so folks who want to still shop in Nassau, have a little bit of time there too........For me, the beach is priority. :-D
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun Times!

PostedMay 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Honeymooner2014
from Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This excursion was a nice addition to the cruise. Getting to ride on a second boat to a private island (and it was a Sandals beach) was nice even though I'm a bit scared of open boats like the one we had to travel on. It might be because we sat on top deck and ride was a little bumpy but I managed through it. Then it took a few extra minutes because there was some type of under water construction taking place that we had to wait to pass on the way there and back. There were enough umbrellas and chairs for everyone on the beach. The water was cold but you get used to that as well. I'm not a swimmer but my husband took me in for a little bit and that was all I needed. It's seems priced just right....not overly expensive. And they gave us a decent amount of time on the beach...can't remember exactly but it was around 3 hours on the beach.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice for Elderly

PostedMay 28, 2014
Guest avatar
CruiserAndrew
from Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
We were traveling with my 79 year old mom who had recently had a knee replacement, she can walk ok but very slow, I was told this beach was totally accessible by her scooter and it was! The staff did a great job of helping her on the boat and assisting with the scooter. Once we arrived on the dock of the Island there was a concrete path that went up to the restaurant, pool, and the covered area. The chairs in the bar/covered porch area were comfortable and well shaded from the sun. It was great that we could enjoy the beach just a few feet away and she could see us and the water in a comfortable setting. Well planned. On the way back the boat broke down and we had over an hour wait on the water to be towed in, that could have been handled much quicker as they had no plan for recovery and all our time was lost that we had planned to spend shopping on Nassau on our return.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing!

PostedMay 26, 2014
Guest avatar
LeslieM83
from Tulsa, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My husband and I did this excursion. We were surprised that the ferry dropped us off at a beautiful Sandals beach resort for this excursion. I highly recommend getting the piña coladas at this beach. Be sure they put both a sinker shot and a floater shot of black deal rum in it. OMG the bartender did this for my first one. Pricey but well with it. I will never have a piña colada the same way again!! The beach was beautiful and relaxing. We met a very nice gentleman named Joseph from Haiti whom was employed to pick up trash on the beach and restrooms. He was extremely friendly and pleasant, despite how rudely a tourist treated him. I couldn't believe how someone could speak to this man so cruelly. We spoke with Joseph briefly and left feeling very happy we had the opportunity to meet such a kind person. I hope that this man is blessed with a raise or promotion because he seems to be a hard worker. This excursion was relaxing and beautiful and we want to go back!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good day

PostedMay 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Flacruiser
from Orlando, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We decided to try this excursion because the blue lagoon excursion was not available. It didn't start off well. We were told to arrive at a specified location on the boat. We arrived on time but were not led off the boat for the excursion for an hour after our scheduled time. The boat was old and rather slow and takes you on the other side of Nassau. The captain offers no commentary while your traveling. Once we arrived it was very beautiful. White sandy beach and clear blue water. It was convenient to use your sign and sail card. For those of you looking for a mellow beach day this is for you. The island is still under going renovations so it should only get better.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>