Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day

Private Island Beach Day

Take in the aqua-blue waters of the Bahamas at Balmoral Island Beach. The luxurious beach day experience includes transportation and a beach chair.
Overall rating:
3.609 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(128 reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 128 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
16
1 Star
12
88 out of 126(70%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day
Review 1 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't spend the money

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Scags
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
This excursion was a waste of time and money. Go to Señor Frogs.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was very enjoyable

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Guest avatar
Baza
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great 5 hour tour to a lovely island.
It was that good I wish it had been longer.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice beach

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Guest avatar
marinedad2112
from Cincinnati
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took this tour with my handicapped wife, she had no trouble getting on & off the boat even though this tour is rated moderate activity. We changed this tour from the Ardastra Zoo tour because even though it is rated "easy" we found out the zoo is NOT wheelchair accessible. We had a pleasant boat ride to the island where there is an abandoned Sandals resort and spent a pleasant 2 hours on the beach, which wasn't crowded at all. My wife was able to sit in a chair at the waters edge which she greatly enjoyed!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fun

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Guest avatar
Nikki1
from North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The boat ride to the private island was fun. The private island itself was absolutely gorgeous. This is one of the best excursions that I've been on mainly because I got to spend so much time on the beach. There was also food available, drinks, a private pool overlooking the ocean, and private little cabanas for your personal belongings. Would do this one again, however, if the cruise included Freeport, I wouldn't take the cruise at all.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Won't do this again

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Sue57
from Baltimore, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We thought we'd try this since it was new...we won't be doing it again. There was nothing special about this beach or the set-up. Not worth the $$. plenty of beach chairs some umbrellas, beach was nice water was good food and drinks were way overpriced. anything you wanted to use snorkels, noodles were so pricey that is was not worth it.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fun but VERY unorganized!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
ChrisV
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We recently did the private beach shore excursion with lunch. When we got off the ship there were no signs for the excursions just the info on the ticket-"meet at the end of the pier". We did not meet at the end of the pier but more at the end of the gangway! People had no idea where they were supposed to be lining up for this trip. After we finally figured it out and got our wristbands, we stood around a waited for a bit. The excursion was supposed to begin at 12:45 but we did not start walking to the transportation boat until around 1. And BOY did we walk...Around the market, down streets, and all the way around to where the ferry boats were leaving...NO one told us what we were doing or where we headed to so we just walked and walked...FINALLY we reached the boat around 1:30. It was about a 25 min boat ride to the island and the island was very nice. Kids had a good time! Don't forget your towels like we did! Music was LOUD and awful at the bar...that was a little annoying!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Private Island

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
SuperHooper
from ATL, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Took this excursion with family (4 kids), we did not have a large group so we had plenty of room/chairs/umbrellas so that was great. Other than getting in water at the beach or pool there is not much for kids to do. There is no boat going back and forth so be prepared to stay the full 4.5 hours. I think this is more ideal for adults.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for "kids" of all ages!

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Guest avatar
Lilly10151
from Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this once before with my husband and thoroughly enjoyed it. Next cruise we took the grand kids, ages 5 and 7. Sooo much fun! Calmer and more room then swimming on the ship. Definitely you should rent a raft to float around on. Food was expensive but the wait staff coming around to your beach chair to take orders. Even the boat ride to the island was fun. ENJOY!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Guest avatar
sheena8903
from mooresville, nc
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would definitely recommend this excursion. I am so thankful that we decided to do an excursion because once we got to the city, it was disgusting and I would not have wanted to get in a cab or on a bus with any of the locals. There's not really much to do with kids, unless you do the dolphin or stingray excursion, those are also on this island. Once they take you back to the city, you still have about 4-5 hrs before you have to get back on the ship. It was very peaceful and clean. They also have nets in the water so nothing big can get through, so you can swim peacefully.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The beach was beautiful.

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Pookie27041
from Charleston, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The beach was beautiful. The staff who came on the ship to gather us up was very rude. The staff at the beach were unfriendly and uncaring. I was very disappointed with this as all of Carnival's excursions are usually awesome. I will not purchase this excursion again.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The location was beautiful!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Paul2007
from Florence, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usually when we port in Nassau we do a little shopping because we have seen most of the sites but on this trip we noticed this new excursion and gave it a try. We wish that our stay on the beach could have been longer and the weather more cooperative but outside of that it was beautiful. It was not crowded and for the money, we would certainly recommend the excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was fun

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
MsSpecial41
from Richmond Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being that it was my first time cruising this excursion was all that I had expected it was fun to experience the private beach it was fun and entertaining riding over in the boat the waters crystal clear I would recommend the excursion it was nice relaxing and fun
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and Relaxing!

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Guest avatar
Joe1212
from Orlando,Fl
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had a perfect day at the beach. We had no more then 50 people for this excursion so the beach was empty and quiet. With such a small group were able to relax! Drinks were pricey but remember you're on vacation people. The water was crystal clear and warn. A Great day overall and can't wait to go back. The staff really made us feel like we were in paradise.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Please adjust this excursion, so it is more enjoyable.

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Guest avatar
122694
from MA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taj Mahal is where you meet ( needs to be bit smoother ) Then you wait in the blazing sun in two lines, and are made to walk through a puddle of dirty water ( not appealing ) If your lucky you get on one of the fast boats, if not you end up on the double decker ( we had to stand, again ) Water was great, slightly rocky bottom, and some sea weed, but someone had mentioned the sea weed was a result of a storm. Food was ok, we had all inclusive, which I do recommend, so you don't have to worry about it. 1 lunch, 1 drink on bracelet. At the end of time you have to stand in line again, to wait for boats to pick you up. Boat ride back they give a tour, actually got a seat this time. The one thing that I disliked the most was they dropped you off, not where they picked you up. The walk back was far too long and the walk was not in a desirable location, at all! That totally ruined it. Highly suggest making some changes to that part of it first.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Time to Relax

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Kobee57
from Greenville, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my first cruise ever, and my wife and I's first real vacation, so we wanted to sit in the sand and clear blue waters. This will definitely fill that goal if you are looking for the same. To me it was a touch over priced, for the right to sit on the beach. My wife really enjoyed it and I liked it as well, but it is nothing highly entertaining. We didn't get and food or drinks and just sat on the chairs and sunbathed. It was nice, because it wasn't very busy, so you didn't feel crammed. The water was a great temperature and was the biggest highlight!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Excursion

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
eagle51
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The private island beach day was awesome. So wish it was longer.
Relaxing,enjoyable,clean,friendly atmosphere,convenient to all venues available. Enjoyed the boat ride to island. Sure wish beverages were sold on top deck. The beach was so clean with plenty of chairs and umbrellas.
Ocean water fantastic. Atomosphere was relaxing and fun with the DJ playing music so we could dance in the water. Easy access to restrooms which were very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. So wish that this excursion was a few hours longer. Can't wait to go back in the future.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Entire family had a great time on Balmoral Island

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Guest avatar
RodyK
from Wood-Ridge, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was our best one of the cruise. My entire family of 5 had a great time. The only downside was how long it takes Carnival to organize everyone and walk them over to the boat that takes you there. The 30 minutes boat ride was great and scenic. The guy on the boat's mic was energetic and got everyone in a party spirit. He also was very informative and repeated everything twice so that he could be understood perfectly. Then he played Caribbean music to set the right atmosphere. Once you arrive, there is a sign telling you what time your return boat will be departing. There are plenty of beach chairs, a gorgeous clean beach, with calm waters. The whole place is beautiful. The food is very good, although terribly overpriced. It's nice that you can charge everything to your sign & sail card.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

relaxing

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Guest avatar
sweetmilkr6
from macon. ga
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chairs were abundant and comfortable. Price was about 10 to much. Clean beach. Alcohol prices were about the same as cruise ship. Not much to see if snorkeling.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very laid back and relaxing

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Shannon2014
from Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
My family and I have been to Nassau several times and wanted to do something other than shopping and the public beach. We have a 6yr old daughter and 17 yr old daughter. All of us enjoyed the island. It was nice to snorkel (saw several fish and a stingray), swim in the ocean and lay back and relax while our 6yr old enjoyed the pool. A plus was Starbucks :) and the prices were pretty close to pricing in the states. While snorkeling, I found a piece of jewelry. If you lost something here and can identify it, I will be more than glad to send it to you!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great beach

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Guest avatar
Reda
from Louisville, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
If you are just looking for a relaxing day on the beach, this is just the one. Beautiful clean beach, crystal clear water, umbrellas and chairs. We enjoyed this excursion a lot. I recommend you buy the lunch when you book your excursion. It was a lot cheaper than buying the lunch on the beach. Same menu. Will save you about 10 - 15 dollars. Simple but good.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>