Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day

Private Island Beach Day

Take in the aqua-blue waters of the Bahamas at Balmoral Island Beach. The luxurious beach day experience includes transportation and a beach chair.
Overall rating:
3.605 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(162 reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 162 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
19
1 Star
18
113 out of 158(72%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Private Island Beach Day
Review 1 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Island and Beach were awesome!

PostedAugust 29, 2015
from Washington DC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The island was awesome and the beach was gorgeous. The water was so clean and clear. The beach was so clean. The food was a very expensive, I was glad we had ate on the ship before we left. The MC and captain on the boat ride to the beach were very entertaining. I really enjoyed the tour to the beach we had seen Eddie Murphy's Island and we also seen the Hotel that Michael Jackson stayed. I believe He was the first celebrity to stay there. This was the best excursion. This was the most beautiful water I had ever seen. I will be back again next time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gorgeous beach

PostedAugust 28, 2015
from Harpers Ferry, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Wonderful, gorgeous beach! Next to dolphin area which was a bonus to see those beautiful, graceful creatures. Of course, the food and drinks(there's a Starbucks on the island) are overpriced but that's typical. Portions are pretty large and drinks are rather strong so guess it works out. Highly recommend this beautiful little private island. Not overly crowded either.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The excursion is a nice family excursion, however it is overpriced! Should add additional activities for the price. Mavailable .

PostedAugust 24, 2015
from Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The boat ride was a little long, overcrowded, and hot. The beach was beautiful and clean. There were enough chairs and space for everyone! The workers need to be more visible. The food was high and you had to purchase a whole meal. Carnival ,can make this an competitive excursion . They should add entertainment and a small water park
( lazy river etc).
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great day at beach

PostedAugust 24, 2015
from pearland texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this was a nice excursion. The beach was nice the water was real nice but the food was a little pricey so I wish i had eaten a little more on board the boat. But other then that it was a nice day at the beach.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gorgeous beach..just a little late to the fun

PostedAugust 18, 2015
from Orlando, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My family visited the private island and we're in love with the beach. Our only complaint was the amount of time it took to get to the island. We were supposed to leave by 130 pm and didn't get to the boat until 230 and then to the island at 315. We had to be back on the boat by 515 so we had limited time to enjoy the island. Carnival did acknowledge the delay and gave us a portion back for our delay. Otherwise, the island was gorgeous and the people were very friendly. Pretty pricey for drinks and food so be prepared. We ate before disembarking and spent the few hours enjoying the ocean and the music.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice beach day but pricey

PostedAugust 17, 2015
from Edwardsville, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Visited this beach on an excursion from the Carnival Valor cruise ship. The trip to the private island seemed to go very slow. When we arrived there was an abundance of chairs with umbrellas for use right at the beach. Food and drink were pricey on the island, as you are a captive audience. We waited for the return to the ship and did not purchase any food or drink items on the beach. There is a nice saltwater pool also and fresh water showers. The boat trip back to the ship seemed to go faster but was much more fun with a host/guide acknowledging birthdays and anniversaries. You do get to see a great view of the ship when you depart and return from the island.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
patitay2k
Austin
 
Please wait while more information about patitay2k is loaded.
Additional information about patitay2k could not be loaded.
Food & drinks
Posted August 18, 2015
Thanks! that's what I want to know we pay good dlls for the cruise, so more for liquor/alcohol and then take a tour where you have to pay for both? Often, it is not posted that you have to pay for that, the description just says 'it is available'
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING beach!

PostedAugust 16, 2015
from Norman, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't know why anyone rated this any less than excellent. We did the not all-inclusive option, and had a WONDERFUL day at this beach! I was a little worried when we were being herded to the boat to head to the island, but once we got on the boat the staff were lovely! The MC was precious, and the captain let all of the little kids have a turn to "steer the boat" on the way back to the ship. The food was crazy expensive, ($17.50 for a chicken tender combo), but we since my husband and I just split the food and ate once we got back on the boat we still saved money over the all inclusive option. If you do want your own meal though, the all inclusive option would be a great value. This was without a doubt the most beautiful water I had ever seen, and we would definitely go again next time we cruise.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Island was awesome

PostedAugust 15, 2015
from Gatesville, Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and 2 kids one 6 and one 10 really enjoyed the dolphin encounter which was purchased when we got to the island. The island had beautiful water and beaches with lounge chairs and umbrellas. We went snorkeling and saw an abundance of fish and lobster's along the rock breaks.
I would recommend this to anyone wanting some piece and quiet after being on the boat. Luckily for us we did this instead of shopping all day, half moon cay was canceled due to weather concerns.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Keyy
Atlanta
 
Please wait while more information about Keyy is loaded.
Additional information about Keyy could not be loaded.
Posted August 21, 2015
What was the price of the dolphin encounter and snorkeling at the private beach?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the trip if you have kids!

PostedAugust 11, 2015
from Commerce, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was hesitant to book this trip due to review, but I am glad I did. I took 6 teenagers on this excursion. I liked that the island was secure and I did not have to worry about them.
Boat ride to and from the island was around 1/2 hour. It was a big boat, very open, and no sea sickness.
Beach and water is clean. The sand is a little rocky--not the sugar sands of the Southern Carribean islands. The swimming area is rope off and only is as deep as about 4-4-1/2 feet. Be aware of that. Kayaking is available on the beach for a fee. Snorkeling is useless as there really is nothing to see in the water.
The beach was not busy in July when I went. There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Yes, the drinks are expensive. Also, they do not take American Express. Take cash!! They also do not break $100 bills. There is no shopping on this island. Only one little store that sells mostly stuffed animals.
This is a great excursion for the beach only. There is no shopping or locals selling their goods.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The boat ride was great

PostedAugust 3, 2015
from Vivian, la.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It's like I told the excursion salesperson after returning to the ship. We like to eat and drink on the beach. Mostly drink.
The drink prices were excessive. I understand everything is imported. But still I think this should be mentioned before u commit to this excursion. Once u are dropped off on this beach, u have no way off until the boat comes to pick u up.
It's like ur trapped. I understand that carnival doesn't set the food and drink prices. I just think they should take better care of there passengers.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Choice I made

PostedAugust 3, 2015
from Springfield, Ma
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We read the reviews before purchasing this exclusion and we weren't going to do it. But I'm glad we did the beach is beautiful well organized, clean and not crowded like other beaches. The time spent felt really short. It didn't feel like 4 hours. I recommend getting this exclusion. The next time we go we will.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peaceful

PostedAugust 3, 2015
from Dallas, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We chose this excursion because we wanted a peaceful day at the beach without being bothered. We got exactly what we were after. It was a beautiful beach. Not crowded when we were there. The boat ride to and from was pleasant (dare I say, fun).
My only complain was that we bought water in the place where they sold food. However, we discovered that two shops down it was $2 cheaper for a bottle of water. It would be nice if they could all have the same prices considering there are only 3 places to buy water - who knew we needed to 'shop around' for the best price on water.
Overrall this was a great relaxing day!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beach was a blast!

PostedAugust 3, 2015
from Baytown, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the price it was very good. The boat ride over to the beach was very educational and opened a lot of peoples eyes to why it's expensive in the Bahamas. The beach itself was beautiful and clean. The people was helpful and nice. Enjoyed the snorkeling and was able to see many different fish to include nice size lobsters (which you can actually catch) and crabs on the man made reef. Overall the family enjoyed it so much we didn't even get a chance to order any food so I couldn't tell you about the prices.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful the water was pristine. .the pool was great..great time

PostedJuly 26, 2015
from ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boat ride over. The beach, water and pool was excellent I will do this excursion again. Highly recommended if you want to relax.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great beach day !!

PostedJuly 22, 2015
from Edgewater, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had the best beach day. The water was so clear. A stingray passed between me and my family within 1 foot of us. They take you from the ship on a small open air boat to the island about a 25 minute ride, then they come back to get you. PLENTY of umbrellas and chairs to sit. At no extra cost. The bathrooms are right there and there is a place to eat if you want.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Peaceful yet boring

PostedJuly 15, 2015
from Charleston, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This wasn't like I how I imagined it would be. Thought we could explore the island some more but they share this island with Sandals Resort so you could only stay on one side of the island! Just wish there was more to do.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Real nice and peaceful

PostedJuly 14, 2015
from Fayetteville, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a blast. Not to pricey for the excursion but could be cheaper given the fact its a beach. You're basically paying for the boat ride there. The boat ride was nice, the drivers were very entertaining, played music and games. it was pretty hot and crowded though. The beach was nice and private. Very calm. Family environment, the water was nice, more than enough chairs and umbrellas. The food was very expensive but that was expected. Overall we didn't participate in any snorkel or any of those other activities. Just relaxed on the beach and played in the water.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

New excursion

PostedJuly 8, 2015
from Rockwell NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We booked this based on reviews. The beach was clean, the food and drink cost was ridiculous. Some of the staff were rude. The boat ride out was boring non informative. The boat ride back was more fun. No cameras allowed on the dolphin,stingray side. The only real good thing about the trip was the water and the chairs on the beach. Will not try this one again.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Day

PostedJuly 7, 2015
from Taylor, Mi
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I took this excursion in July and it was well worth the money. The island was beautiful and the water was crystal clear. There were plenty of chairs available and many with umbrellas to offer shade. The boat ride over was uneventful. Our drivers barely spoke to us but the boat ride itself was nice. On the return trip, we were entertained by the bait staff ( different drivers). The only negative to the trip was the price of food and drink on the island. It was $5 for a bottle of water. We spent $52 on two hamburgers with fries and two waters. The pice was $15.95 each plus tax and gratuity. I was surprised to have to pay gratuity to a fast food type service and the food was not very good. Eat before you go but the island is well worth it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Private Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

heavenly!

PostedMay 28, 2015
from north carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Awesome! And I'm a tough judge! BELIEVE me. Will come back if given the chance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>