Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Balmoral Island Beach Day

Balmoral Island Beach Day

Take in the aqua-blue waters of the Bahamas at Balmoral Island Beach. The luxurious beach day experience includes transportation and a beach chair.
Overall rating:
3.54 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
6
1 Star
8
42 out of 63(67%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Review 1 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Day

PostedApril 15, 2014
Guest avatar
GrandmaJo68
from Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just came off the Carnival Splendor on April 10, 2014. Spent the time in Nassau at Balmoral Beach. The day was awesome. A short walk from the ship to the boats that ferried us to Balmoral and a short ride of about 20 minutes put you on a beautiful beach. There was plenty of room for everyone. We had chairs close to the ocean with our own umbrella. The food was excellent and the water was warm. Would definitely recommend this shore excursion. Great value also.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible excursion

PostedApril 9, 2014
Guest avatar
Cruiser9999
from Brockport, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The beach was horrible, there was nothing to do but sit in lawn chairs at the beach, .Almost all of the people who went on this left as soon as there was a boat available to take us back.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not that great

PostedApril 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Decina
from Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Best part of this excursion is that you get away from the rough areas of the Bahamas. After that not great..
Word or warning, be careful of which boat you get on when you leave. We rode back on a dumpy boat that was in poor condition. On top of that the captain had kids with him screaming and causing a fuss and taking his attention away from his duties. Ropes were used to hold the throttle together and kids messing with the controls. The worst part was that the captain set up a bucket so his kids could use the bathroom in front of everyone on the ship including our kids.
If you decide to ignore my warning, make sure you bring a snorkel and mask. It is very expensive to rent on the island and there isn't a lot to do.
I would not recommend this excursion and would not pay to do this again.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The beach is beautiful!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Guest avatar
TennesseeGirl14
from Kodak, Tennessee
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The beach is beautiful! You do not have to walk far to get to a chair and to the to the beach. The water is gorgeous and the beach was clean. There were a couple of staff members who were not friendly and very disrespectful. When going to eat lunch, the staff seemed unorganized. I enjoyed the beautiful beach, however I felt rushed. I would not book this excursion again.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a beautiful excursion! It was so secluded and a true find!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Adamwils13
from Davenport, IA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Absolutely gorgeous beach, great service, and fun activities while we were there. Loved this experience and would definitely do it all over again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This tour was relaxing. Overall, I enjoyed my time on the beach, but would not take this tour again if returning.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Guest avatar
suzysunshine
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We had been to Nassau before and wanted something where we could just relax. This tour was relaxing in the fact that they had beach chairs, umbrellas and white sandy beach. They were playing music that was quite loud, and at times I had wished that they had just played it part of the time. We did not get the lunch that was included with the package and were very glad, as it didn't appear that they had much to offer. We had been on other cruises where the beach included a lunch that was cooked for the guests using the beach and it was very good. It seemed a bit unorganized when it came time to board the boat back to our ship, and we had to wait for someone that was late getting on, which appeared to be a Carnival staff person.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Based on our experience... Not ready for Prime Time

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Guest avatar
ChuckR56
from Connecticut
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We found out that this is a new excursion being offered by a new vendor. The stingrays were great but the parts of the property were still "under construction". They take your picture with the stingrays but be aware that you have to purchase the photos back on the ship. We went in early March 2014. I would recommend this excursion but give it some time before going again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It was OK for just a day on the beach.

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Seadog01
from North Augusta, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was our third trip to Nassau, so we were looking for something different. There is still a lot of construction to finish; maybe then it will be worth the price. The food is average and expensive. The staff, however, were great. I think the best part of the excursion was the narrative on the boat ride over and back. Very entertaining. Many people took the dolphin experience there and that looked pretty good. But I wouldn't do it again for just the beach.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great day at the beach!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Guest avatar
MDcruisers
from Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My wife & I enjoyed the beach day very much. The ferry ride offered a great guide...and taking in the scenery along the way was very relaxing.
While there was an area under construction on the outskirts of the main beach area, it wasn't a distraction. There were numerous well-appointed places both in the sun & in the shade to enjoy. And the beach had plenty of lounge chairs & umbrellas.
Please note that there are NOT "4 bars" as described. There's one. BUT, the service & drinks were excellent!
The only suggestion we'd offer is change the food available. Everywhere else we've cruised, they've had native fare. Fresh seafood, etc. The best offering on this excursion was a mediocre chicken Caesar wrap. There were chips & fries, and snack foods, but it would have been nice to have had more choices. Perhaps local fare...Carib jerk chicken comes to mind, and maybe some shrimp selections.
All in all, it was quite enjoyable, and we had fun!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relaxing!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Guest avatar
JAH412
from Harrisburg, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My family had a great time during this excursion! My only complaint is the amount of large rocks in the water. It seemed as though every step I took, I was stepping on a different rock. Regardless, we had a great beach day!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Beautiful and Relaxing!

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Guest avatar
jpk1
from Mantua, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Nice boat ride to the private island - and the island is amazing! Just as beautiful as the photos - beautiful beach, many nice lounge chairs and umbrellas, wonderful salt-water pool with gorgeous shade cabanas! Very nice bar with great drinks, nice market to buy food and a great DJ playing some music too! Very reasonable price for the relaxing, un-crowded private island visit!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great beach! But...

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Guest avatar
Nadine200
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
We were at the Balmoral Beach on February 25.
The beach is really nice. I was with my husband and my 7 year old son.
We had a great day. Balmoral has a nice white sand beach and crystal clear water. Everything was clean (including the toilet). The service was good.
The problem is that it is very expensive for what it is + plus the food is very expensive and there is not much choice. The Market they advertize to sell you the food for the excursion is very deceiving, there is ot much choice there!
Other cruise company lets you go on their private beach for free!
If we had to do it again, I would probably go anyway because we had been to Naussau many times before and we only wanted a relaxed day at the beach.
If you do not want to ear the music too much. I suggested you go to one of the extremity of the beach.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Daisy
Arizona
 
Please wait while more information about Daisy is loaded.
Additional information about Daisy could not be loaded.
This isn't Carnival's Private Island
Posted March 11, 2014
Carnival has to charge for this excursion because someone else owns it.
We were on this island when it was owned by the resort across the bay, and it was called Blackbeard's Island. There wasn't much there besides the stingrays and small shop and lunch area...but it was peaceful and better than anything else available in Nassau. Blue Lagoon is too crowded.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money paid

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Guest avatar
unixdood
from Salem, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My family of 4 took this excursion. Although the boat captain and crew were very nice, the island was all coral, couldn't even walk into the water. The lunch was like eating at a local fast food joint. The cooks were actually hitting on all the women who came in to order lunch. We were almost late getting back to the ship for whatever reason. I would not recommend this excursion. The cost is not worth it.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Day at the Beach!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Guest avatar
mrsgrable
from Carlstadt, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We were so glad to have tried Balmoral Island, since we already visited Atlantis. The ferry ride was nice and fun, with a funny host. Plenty of chairs were available and the water was great. There were no problems getting lunch or a beverage, and the food was hot. Well worth it to include the lunch, or you'd pay more if you didn't include it. The only problem I had was that our cruise ship was late in getting us off the ship to meet our excursion, and I felt our time was limited instead of being extended. I could have used a lot more beach time! Factor in a 40 minute ferry ride to and from this island. It's very well worth it, and I would go again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time or money

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Torr2389
from New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It was a long wait outdoors and a long walk before we boarded the boat that took us to the island. There should have been a shuttle to get us there. It took too long to get to the island, but that I suspect is to give the guide enough time to spin his tales and pass the hat for yet more tips.
Once on the island, some of the bathrooms were out of order, no rooms to change clothes in, very expensive and poor selection of food in "the market", and tremendously overpriced bar drinks. There are evidently plenty of other nice beaches to go to for just the fare of a very short cab ride. A frequent cruiser we met after the fact told us there is a nice free beach within walking distance as well.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Day

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Guest avatar
Finster69
from Buffalo, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First of all expect a 20+ minute boat ride to the beach. Beach was nice and chairs/umbrellas were plentiful and in good condition. From pier you can see the stingrays and dolphins but they will not let you get close or take pictures. Water was $3 a bottle so bring your own. Bathrooms were close to the beach site but were rank near the end of the day. Sail and Sign card works for drinks on beach. There is a DJ playing music and trying to get people involved with games/contests. There is also a pool that you can use. Overall a nice day at the beach. No vendors or anyone trying to sell you stuff. Eat a big breakfast and skip the "deluxe" lunch. You can have lunch when you get back on the ship.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a perfect day

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Guest avatar
cpaulits
from Boca Raton, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't beleive people complained about this in other reviews. We had the PERFECT day. The island was a short boatride away. The sand was clean, the water beautiful, the furniture new and clean. We had ample bathrooms, a good bar, decent food, and even a Starbucks, people! We opted to just chill and read but you could upgrade to the dolphin or sting ray experience as well. The service was great from the captain of the boat to the MC/DJ, to the wait staff. Fun and friendly!
My only suggestion would be to have a shuttle to drive people from the cruise ship to the island boat. It was a long walk and if you are elderly, injured, or in any way activity intolerant, it could be a problem. Would do it again in a heartbeat!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice beach

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Guest avatar
amy2121
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balmoral Island is a nice private beach a short boat ride away from the port. My only complaint is the boat ride from the port. Our boat lost power and almost crashed into another boat. I would STRONGLY suggest Carnival pay more attention to the ships used.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time had by all

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Pamela56
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful beach. I just returned from my 8 day cruise and have to say my family had a great time at this beach. If you are looking for a relaxing day in sun or shade this is the place to come.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Balmoral Island Beach Day
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great way to spend the day in Nassau

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Guest avatar
SouthernMom
from Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I were not sure what we wanted to do in Nassau other than go to the beach. We decided at 10 pm the night before and are we so glad we chose this. From the boat ride (and "tour" guide/captain) we learned about the islands we passed, to the absolutely gorgeous beach we loved every minute. Well worth the small price.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>