Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis

Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis

Relax and soak up the warm Caribbean sun at the world famous Atlantis Resort.
Overall rating:
3.123 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(171 reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 171 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
36
1 Star
29
87 out of 165(53%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Review 1 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Had to do it once

PostedMay 13, 2016
from Syracuse, N Y
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We very much enjoyed the aquarium and the grounds. Enjoyed the beach and simple lunch. We wanted to do it once to check Atlantis out. Too expensive for what you get though. Will not be back. Would have loved to do the water slides but too steep of a price for me. Sad that the pools are not included. We swam in one anyway.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lots of fun

PostedMarch 14, 2016
from Washington, DC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My sister and I went on this excursion and we had a great time. We arrived to the island early and got to do most of the slides before the lines got long. After 1030 or 11 it was very very crowded. All of the lines got pretty long which gave us a chance to explore the island and it was beautiful. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The food was extremely overpriced and not really worth the money so if you can just wait to eat on the cruise. The lines for the rides moved pretty quickly so don't let the length deceive you but don't hold your breath if you want an inner tube.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a great excursion

PostedFebruary 13, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just returned from this cruise with another couple. One of my co-workers had just taken this cruise before us and paid more to do this excursion, so she recommended we take it. I read the reviews prior to going and found them to be all over the place. We were able to get off the ship and onto buses with very little waiting. We entered through the casino and out onto the first of many aquariums, which are spread about the property. The first being a pool of cow nose rays that are viewed from above and then underground to large tanks containing sharks and all manner of sea life. We walked through the hotel, viewed more aquariums and then went into The Dig, which held more aquatic life and other exhibits. During this trip, we used the lazy river, used one of the beaches, had lunch (no waiting, but don't leave your food unattended as there are many birds waiting for it) and finished up in the snorkeling pool. The resort charges for the rental of gear, but I brought my own and you can even get by with a pair of goggles if you want. My wife doesn't snorkel, but stood in the shallow end of the pool and fish swarmed around her. This pool is great for kids and I had an underwater camera, which captured great video and stills. Be forewarned, there is a charge for lockers for valuables, so if you don't need to bring too much, don't. Overall, this was a great excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
berry
tennessee
 
Please wait while more information about berry is loaded.
Additional information about berry could not be loaded.
water park rides
Posted February 22, 2016
Can you do all the water park rides on this excursion
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful resort!

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
from New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The guides from the resort were very friendly and the short bus ride was uneventful. I really enjoyed exploring on my own but unfortunately, the weather was neither warm or dry! We didn't eat the lunch (which was included) because we weren't informed that the allowed venues closed early! We didn't feel like rushing to where they were so we decided to eat when we returned to the ship.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not recommend.

PostedJanuary 19, 2016
from Kingsport, Tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
My family booked this excursion for Christmas Day. We have a 5 year old daughter who has had a very traumatic experience this past year and was extremely.excitied. when we got to Atlantis there were so many people that you couldn't move. No chairs available. No tunes to ride the raging Rapids or lazy river and unable to get a locker. Terrible experience. And never even seen the water slides and didn't have lunch because we went back to the ship. A true disappointment for our daughter.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the price

PostedJanuary 17, 2016
from West Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We booked this excursion last minute on the ship. My husband and I had been to the Atlantis before, but only to tour the Dig. This time, our daughter and my father accompanied us. We started out taking a fairly long walk to the buses. once we arrived at the buses, it wasn't a long wait to head out. Our ride was enjoyable and he driver was entertaining.
We were given a towel and a recycled plastic Atlantis bag to keep when we arrived. Our wrist bands only included the beaches and The Dig. The pools were off limits, which we were aware of when we booked. The Atlantis grounds are huge, so be prepared to walk! One of their employees showed us one beach, which was closed, so we headed to the open beach. We realized once we got there that no one was slowed in the water because the waves were too large. We were pretty bummed, but understood. We made our way over to the Lagoon so we could swim. It's a decent sized beach with ocean water right in front of the Royal Towers. Lagoon is an appropriate name. It was almost like we were in a lake. There was a lot of debris and the water wasn't even close to being as beautiful as the surround ocean. It was like swimming in a lake. We didn't stay long.
Lunch was expected. You could only pick from basic foods like cheeseburger, hot dog, chicken nuggets, salad. It wasn't anything to rave about, but the portions were good.
We enjoyed touring The Dig again. It was probably my 5 year olds favorite part, which is surprised since she loves the sun, sand, and water. It just goes to show that the beaches left a lot to be desired. The free beach in Grand Turk was so much better!
I wouldn't recommend this excursion to anyone. It's not worth the price. You'd be better off paying a taxi to take you to a private beach or paying the extra to do the water park (something I've never experienced).
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedJanuary 13, 2016
from Frederick, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun is what you make of your time doing any activity and yes, it was fun to be in a beautiful place. However, the exorbitant fee is not worth what you get in return. No guided tour - if you want the better excursion do the Discover Atlantis and they will tell you the beach access is free and you can swim in the pools too. We never got a guided tour and were lead to believe the pools were off limits. The beach they lead us to was PUBLIC. Food was ok.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Christmas at the Beach

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
from Greenville, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife, daughter, and I had a great time. Yes, the excursion was not cheap but the day was the best day of our short cruise experience. The resort was crowded because of all those lucky people who fled cold weather for the holidays. We toured the aquariums and then hit the beach. The weather was beautiful and the beach was not as crowded as we had anticipated. This was the most relaxing Christmas I think I’ve ever had. I read most of the reviews before booking and was concerned about meal availability and choices. Shark Bite’s is next to one of the main pools and was crowded. We walked another 100 yards and found another food place which had no line at all. The meal was filling and came with free drink refills.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It was OK

PostedDecember 25, 2015
from New Brunswick
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Before leaving the ship we got our bracelets and food vouchers. When we arrived a tour guide took us around and showed us where to go. There were two adults and three kids. We did the aquariums first which were really cool. We then decided after looking at our 5-6 choices for lunch to go to one, which was closed, next one we picked was closed, third one we picked was closed. The last one which didn't have the options the kids would really like was mediocre at that. We didn't want to attempt walking to the other two as we had already wasted enough time walking to the others that were already closed. The one we ended up at had the choices the other restaurants had but they were not th options we could pick from. The beach was beautiful, bathrooms were way too far away from the main part of the beach though. We enjoyed ourselves for the most part but definitely overpriced for what we got to do. Glad we didn't pay to do the water park as we never would have had enough time.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relaxing and Beautiful!

PostedDecember 22, 2015
from Washington D.C.
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tour was wonderfully organized and gave me all the time I could want to explore on my own and do what I wanted. Small buses picked us up a short distance from the dock and took us through the city while the driver gave us a little backgrounds out the area and the resort. At Atlantis, there's tons to see and do. Personally, I just enjoyed relaxing on the gorgeous beach and lagoon. No entry to the waterpark and the lunch ticket can only be used at the little eatery stands, not the bigger restaurants. I didn't even use mine. Going to the resort made all the difference at this port. Normally I wouldn't even get off the ship at Nassau.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

An Amazing Resort

PostedDecember 15, 2015
from Midlothian, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We went on this excursion in the hopes of spending time on the beach. Of course, Mother nature had different plans and it poured. We toured the Aquarium, the Dig and Casino and browsed the shops. I wouldn't let the rain stop us from sitting on the beach though. I can only imagine how beautiful it would be in the sunshine. We used our lunch voucher at Shark Bites, which was really good. We were glad to see Atlantis up close.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun Combo!

PostedNovember 30, 2015
from Dallas, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We decided not to do a dedicated beach day in favor of touring through the Atlantis aquarium and Dig with lunch at the beach and a relaxing afternoon of fun and sun and sand and surf! The fried fish lunch was so fresh and yummy. We did the Dig and Aquarium at a leisurely pace as our first half of the day then had lunch out near the beach and relaxed the rest of the afternoon with a coconut drink and relaxed on the lounger. No one was pushy or invasive and we loved being right on that sugar white sand and cerulean blue water! Loved it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedNovember 24, 2015
from London
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
While it does take you to a nice part of Nassau, in the resort. It's really not worth the money you pay for it, you can get a water Taxi over to Atlantis for a lot less money from what others have told me, so paying that was actually quite wrong.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Experience

PostedNovember 9, 2015
from Atlanta,Ga
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were given wristbands and food vouchers before we left the ship, then driven over to Atlantis and guided through the hotel and casino to the grounds. The guide was fast and she was hard to hear, so stay close to them if you want to hear what they say. Don't worry about missing any photo ops cause you can wander the grounds at your leisure later on. We opted to leave the group that was going to the beach and we started our trip at the "Dig", which was self-guided but the map we were given made it navigable and we could enjoy at our own pace. The aquarium was amazing and the fish were plentiful. After the "Dig" we had lunch at Sharkbitz which included a hamburger, fries and fountain drink, which you could refill as often as you liked, the food was plentiful and above average. We then walked the grounds and saw many lagoons filled with rays, turtles, and sharks. We then made our way over to the Predator tunnel, which was the highlight for me seeing sharks swimming above you and all around you. I would definitely do this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Way overpriced

PostedNovember 1, 2015
from Smithville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This excursion was way over priced for what it was. And the water was dirty at the lagoon. It comes with lunch but only one of the six places that we could eat lunch at were open. So we ended up having to have a hot dog which wasn't that great. The beach was closed due to it being windy, so after taking a tour of the aquarium there was nothing do to. Save your money and do something else more fun!!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedOctober 28, 2015
from Land O Lakes, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
There was no direction at all. They dropped us off and we were on our own. The grounds of Atlantis, although very pretty, was confusing to get through. Signs would tell you where to go and you'd end up at a dead end. Free lunch was only at the walk up fried food places and half of them were closed. Better off to take a taxi and do your own tour instead of wasting your money.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This was very disappointing....

PostedOctober 26, 2015
from Mansfield, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Please do not waste your time or your money. This was the worst tour I have ever been on. Atlantis is a joke. It is dirty the aquarium is a joke. The food courts were closed. No chance of getting lunch....but we had four tickets for a free lunch included with our excursion, that we didn't use. (Carnival did give us back $20. each for the lunch tickets.) The beach was horrible. Someone constantly trying to sell you something. The Hotel is prestiguous and nice. The rest is not worth paying for. Take a taxi or tour bus to the Island instead.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was very relaxing but...

PostedOctober 25, 2015
from Council Bluffs Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The overall shore excursion was amazing! We had a great lunch at Shark Bites. The time on the beach was enjoyable. The ONLY downside to this excursion was the peddlers on the beach. There was so many of them. Even when we were "acting" like we were asleep, they still bothered us. But I'd go on this excursion again. It was highly worth the price and so much fun! Great Value!
Carnival Triumph 2009
Carnival Freedom 2015
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good time

PostedOctober 17, 2015
from Dallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
This is a good one day excursion because you get to spend the whole day at the Atlantis. You do get a voucher for lunch, the only downside is you can only use it at certain places at the resort. Overall a good relaxing day in Nassau. I would suggest going to the private beach near the resident tower.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just OK - we would have chosen a different excursion had we known

PostedOctober 6, 2015
from Louisville, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bottom line - beautiful resort with lots of photo opps but the beach was inaccessible due to high tide.
My husband and I purchased this excursion expecting to spend a day at the beach, but we were not able to access the beach due to high tide/unsafe conditions. We do not blame the resort for that, as it's Mother Nature's fault, but that did impact our fun factor. We were instead given access to the lagoon (which my understanding, is not normally offered in this excursion). It was just OK. There was a safety course of some type taking place in the lagoon at the same time. The lagoon was split up in sections/roped off and we were unable to cross the boundary which left us with not much space to swim and play.
The lunch ticket allowed for only specific items from the menus. The food was OK.
The resort is beautiful with many backdrops for pics. And, the facility itself is amazing, and the aquarium is lovely. Tour guide was friendly and informative.
We would have appreciated knowing in advance that the beach was closed, as we would have opted for a different excursion. Considering the beach was the highlight of the excursion for us, we were left disappointed but understood weather is out of the facility's control.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>