Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis

Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis

Relax and soak up the warm Caribbean sun at the world famous Atlantis Resort.
Overall rating:
2.912 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
13
1 Star
18
32 out of 66(48%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Review 1 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really fun

PostedApril 14, 2014
Guest avatar
JustCruising83
from Tallahassee, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I enjoyed this. I'm unsure of the other negative reviews. Getting to the bus can be a little confusing because there are a lot of lines but the guides are very vocal on which bus to get on for which excursion.
Once at the beach, it was so relaxing. There are a lot of sellers on the beach but after a while they kinda chill out. The lunch that was included gave options for a few different spots and the one I chose was actually pretty good. I was happy they had a vegetarian option. Overall, I really enjoyed it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldnt do again

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Guest avatar
Tiffany37
from Danville In
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tour is more like 3 hours by time you get there, said it was moderate level and really it was difficult just keeping up with group to get to bus, from there it was easy as group leader at Atlantis went slow and gave a good tour! The facility is beautiful! No way to do it all and spend time at beach!
Lunch was horrible and would rather had a peanut butter sandwich! Really disappointed
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had a great time.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Guest avatar
Miss35
from Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I enjoyed visiting Atlantis. Had a great time with my husband and great friends. This excursion was one that we did at our leisure. For the ones that want a guided tour, this one is not for you. I didn't mind not having a guide though. I think Atlantis is beautiful. The beaches and water are beautiful. Keep in mind the people visiting from the cruise ships are on a different beach from the guests. So there will be people walking around trying to sell you things. I would suggest buying a Pina Colada though. They are very good and served in a coconut. Lunch was good with like 5 different places to choose from. I think the process of getting off the ship was very organized. We met in Puttin on The Ritz. There were people from Atlantis there to tell us what we needed to do and expect. When we got finished there we left the ship and caught the buses. It was a short ride to Atlantis. A guide walked us through part of Atlantis and explained things to us and let us go. Had a great time and the weather was great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Day at the Beach

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Guest avatar
Seeker
from Fort Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a good tour. However, you need to decide if you want to spend the time wandering around Atlantis (which is pretty cool) or spend the time enjoying the incredible beach. It is hard to find the right balance and you will find that you simply run out of time. A word of caution; the people hawking goods and services on the beach are extremely persistent. This is especially true if you decide to purchase something. You are instantly marked as a "buyer" and the sales pitches get really annoying. Just go get in the ocean. You can be up to your neck in the water and still see your feet. Truly a beautiful beach.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Beach!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Guest avatar
TMKing1
from Detroit, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was very fun. I will admit it seems to be a little pricey for just being a beach day and lunch, but Atlantis is an awesome resort that you can explore. The Dig was awesome I took tons of photos and it helped it was a beautiful day. Next time I plan to buy full access to the park to enjoy the rides, but on a limited budget this tour was perfect. The people are on the beach trying to sell you things but a simple no and they go on to the next person. I did purchase a couple drinks from the guys selling them in coconuts just to say I drank out of a coconut on the beach in The Bahamas. Overall, good excursion, I'd recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasn't that impressed

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Clanier3
from Easley, South Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not private, constant people selling. Food was so so. Wouldn't do again. Was informed there is a free beach at Atlantis that's just as nice.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Homeytc
Virginia
 
Please wait while more information about Homeytc is loaded.
Additional information about Homeytc could not be loaded.
Free beach at Atlantis
Posted March 31, 2014
Please provide more info about the free beach at Atlantis..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fantastic day

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Guest avatar
DCresident
from Washington, DC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was just what I wanted- a quick ride to the resort and plenty of time to roam around. We got there, our guide indicated the main areas, took us to the beach and then we were on our own. We took time to explore the grounds, see the various beach areas and then go to the Dig. It was very relaxing and a good way to avoid the high sun in the middle of the day. After a quick lunch we went to the beach. Yes, there are people selling things and services, but a simple "no" is enough. We had plenty of time to enjoy the resort and get back to the ship at a reasonable hour to get ready for the evening. If you need "hand-holding" don't do this. If you like to set your own course and have fun, then this is a good option.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had an amazing day at Atlantis

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Catgirl5
from Little Elm, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had an AMAZING day at Atlantis on this excursion! Once we gathered on the ship to get off and go on this excursion we felt everything ran smoothly. We got on the bus and got to Atlantis quickly. We were walked through the entrance, the casino, and out to the beach area passing a few exhibits along the way. We were issued beach towels and a reusable beach bag on our way to the beach. From there we were free to enjoy the beach, have lunch, and explore the resort on our own. The beach was beautiful and clean! There were people selling items, but they kept moving if you said no and they were very polite and respectful. We didn't feel uncomfortable at all. The ocean felt so nice so we stayed in the water for a couple of hours! We enjoyed a fish and chips lunch that was great and a nice walk through The Dig aquarium! The ability to explore the resort on our own was great! We wish we had more time there, but felt the day was worth the money. We would definitely recommend this excursion and will definitely do it again! Can't wait to go back!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Find another excursion

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Guest avatar
kdiva
from NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was extremely disappointed with this one!!! I couldn't wait to see the ATLANTIS!!! Its the ONLY excursion I wanted to do when we went to Nassau!!! The resort is massive & beautiful but most of the complex is cut off to us because we are only there for a couple of hours. Its a quick ride to the place. The beach was beautiful BUT you are haggled from the minute to step onto the beach. To buy jewelry( which I did# they are unique & beautiful & to buy drinks. It wasn't relaxing knowing someone was bothering you every few minutes. The beach is not private. Only the people staying there I believe have a private beach. The lunch was ok... hamburgers/fries. To see the aquarium is nice but nothing you cant see at your own local aquarium. My advice go somewhere else!! We heard the Balmoral beach is private & beautiful # I believe its part of the sandals complex or area). Its not as expensive as this! My recommendation is to do something else!!! Not worth the $$$!!!!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the money,

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Guest avatar
snowbird15
from Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I can't say this was worth the money spent for the day there. There wasn't any tour guide. There was a young worker who met us, he was very quiet, the group didn't know if we were to follow him or what to do, once we got off the bus at Atlantis. Atlantis is beautiful but we felt as though we were on our own. He basically walked the group from one side of the Island to the other and said here's the beach. We went to the inland beach, found ourselves a map of Atlantis and went from there. We weren't shown where things were or even maps. We weren't sure if we could go into the casino or not, so we didn't. Didn't see a lot of shopping places except in Atlantis and they were way over priced!! We did like "the dig" which we just kept asking staff where to go and they directed us. We actually left the Island early and went back to Nassau. I actually wished we would of had an informative tour. I was by another group of tourists and learned more in 3 minutes than we did on our entire time there. Really disappointed in this excursion, not the place itself but not worth the high price!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

you will walk, but it is worth it!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Guest avatar
ralph66
from Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I are in our 60's. This excursion requires walking simply because the property is so expansive! We took a tour of the grounds, including casino and beautiful beneath ground aquariums. This tour is a must in order to fully enjoy the experience. Our guide was intelligent and friendly. the tour takes about an hour and you are free to leave at any time should you desire. Following the tour, you are left to your own devices. We did not sign o up for the water park but for the lunch and beach and pool experience. The food court we ate at was very crowded and the food was typical mall food court variety. The beach and pool were great. A towel is provided and you can get a beach chair easily. the day ended too soon.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LET DOWN

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Guest avatar
LeslieJ
from San Diego CA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
First off the Ship moved our day and time we would be on this island. We were so excited to visit this so called AMAZING resort but were very disappointed.
Since this was our first island on the cruise and we had heard so much about this resort we knew we HAD to do something at the Atlantis resort. We opted for one that included a "get to know" the resort and some beach time. Thank GOD we had the beach time because the tour was a joke. The bus driver was more informative than our tour guide. If you were not one of the first 3 people in line you would not know anything. We were about 5 people back and didn't hear a word he said and kept asking him to repeat what was said... we gave up and just went for the walk and looked at the beauty around us. It is a beautiful resort... We were led to the beach area and found someone to bring us the chairs (came with a little cover for shade real nice) the towels were a little walk away but not bad. the resort is very clean and the people were very nice. We had a blast (thanks to the young local guy that sold us some rum punches served in a coconut with a free refill...WE thought about it later and were very lucky that our cruise angles were watching over us because these drinks were NOT from the resort... but a local guy... who knows what they had in them... I know they had a LOT of rum in them and we were having a real good time. The water was amazing. The locals walked around selling us souvenirs... we had fun fun fun (but didn't need to be on this OVERPRICED excursion to do this) Our time was cut short due to the captain... not the resorts fault...
DON'T BOTHER TO DO THIS EXCURSION... but if you can find something that will get you on the premises I would recommend seeing it at least once. This was VERY VERY OVERPRICED for what you got.
Lunch was ok... nothing special. would have rather eaten in town or back on the ship.. .
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good beach

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Bambi4
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was a beautiful beach but the tour was just a guy walking us to the beach. He was talking on the way to the beach but no one could hear him. Not really a tour, just a guy walking us down to the beach. We had fun on the beach, guys came buy and brought drinks and we made the best of the beautiful beach.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Expensive and confusing

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Guest avatar
bxky
from Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Was a very cold and dreary day. Good excursion if you don't mind beat up lounge chairs, being accosted by every local wanting to sell you coconut drinks and trinkets. It was VERY confusing to navigate the grounds, and staff seemed inconvenienced to give directions. We received a bag & towel and were let loose on the grounds. Had to find our way to the aquarium ourselves. Lunch was only offered at certain restaurants. It's a very expensive resort! Transportation was a nightmare. There weren't enough busses and we ended up being shoved into a 30 year old limo to get back to the ship.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not recommended.

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Guest avatar
primo2blake
from Rochester, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
For anyone who has difficulty walking long distances, I do not recommend this. Approximately 10 min walk from ship to bus. We were not dropped off at the door so a short walk to the entrance and then through the casino. Next a long walk to our assigned area of the beach.
Had to find a vacant beach chair and then another walk to find the beach towels that were included in the price. We expected a nice flat beach. Instead we had to navigate a dune (man made?) in and out of the water.
Don't forget, you have to walk back. For us, it was
a waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dreadful

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Guest avatar
brooklynthree
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We were herded through the resort with minimal explanation, several pathways were blocked due to us not having the correct ticket only to find out later the restaurants our coupons worked at were beyond these barricades. Herds of screaming kids, a very congested, loud venue. Not a place to go and relax. The lunch that was available with our coupon was less than adequate.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must see resort.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Donnie7
from Beacon, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
What a beautiul resort and casino. So much to do. Great for adults and children. Very clean and a very friendly staff with a relaxed atmosphere.
Many choices of food to enjoy. Again, the only thing is that this excursion needs to be longer. I enjoyed this excursion very much.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Over priced! - Don't buy the pina colado in the coconut

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Guest avatar
mwgainesjr
from Darlington, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We bought this excursion and quickly found our selves very bored. When we got there we saw a sign that advertised our very excursion through Atlantis at half the price. All we would have had to do is take a taxi and pay Atlantis directly to save half the money. If you choose to do this excursion, do that instead.
Atlantis is very beautiful but if you don't do the water park or gamble there isn't a whole lot to do. The aquarium was nice and interesting. We did enjoy that. We sat on the beach for a while and that was relaxing. However, we were approached by a gentleman serving pina colada's for $10 with one free refill. They were served in coconuts. We thought he was from the tiki bar and figured it was a good deal. He told us to find him under the umbrella for our refill. When we got up to leave, we went to the tiki bar and they pointed over to the gentle sitting under a cooler with an umbrella. He refilled our coconut's with rum from an old water bottle and pina colada mix from a dingy looking old thermos. He had ice in his cooler.DON'T BUY THE COCONUT PINA COLADA FROM BEACH WALKING GUY!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not much for the money

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Annie54
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This tour wasn't worth the money. It was a very expensive hot dog for lunch...I wouldn't recommend.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fun but unorganized

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Guest avatar
Grainnie56
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We had a good time once we got there. The pick up on the dock seemed very unorganized. We did a lot of waiting. The tour was to be 5 hours long, but with having to wait for everyone to get off the ship and the guide to reorganize us, then the walk off the dock to the busses on the road. Once at the road another wait for the bus, by now we our about an hour late the last bus to return was only 3 hours later, so much for a 5 hour excursion. Luckily the weather was not very warm so to miss the beach was not to bad.
We had no guide we were just told to go and enjoy ourselves.
We complained about the time frame and Carnival returned some of our money.
Do not recommend this excursion take the Discover Atlantis without the beach day included..not enough time otherwise.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>