Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis

Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis

Relax and soak up the warm Caribbean sun at the world famous Atlantis Resort.
Overall rating:
3.027 / 5
3
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 111 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
23
1 Star
23
52 out of 108(48%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Review 1 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Misleading description

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Guest avatar
Beachbums19
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Don't get me wrong, I love Atlantis and I think everyone should go there. I think the bus ride is fine and I think the time allotted is plenty. However, I felt that the description of this particular excursion was misleading, it mentions the 141 acre waterscape and "water activity" is a billeted item at the top of the page, so I assumed we still had access to all the amenities Atlantis offers. To me, it read that the only difference between the beach and "discover" day and the aqua venture tour was the tour that was provided in the aqua venture tour. Since we had been there before, we didn't feel we needed a tour. Maybe I am the only one who interpreted the description that way, and they were clearer on the boat in the excursion booklet there, but we had booked early, based only on what we had read here online. So please know that if you purchase the beach and discover day, that is all you are getting--access to the beach and the grounds at Atlantis--no pools or water slides. If you only want to go to a beach, I would suggest a cheaper beach. If you want the water slides, pay more for the aqua venture option. I do recommend going to Atlantis though--it is definitely something to see!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Guest avatar
anintz
Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about anintz is loaded.
Additional information about anintz could not be loaded.
Atlantis
Posted March 2, 2015
We were there last year and did the whole Atlantis experience.. How do they know whether you you pay for just the beach or everything? It sounds like you have access to the beach, casino, outdoor cafes??
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Guest avatar
zildjiankyc
 
Please wait while more information about zildjiankyc is loaded.
Additional information about zildjiankyc could not be loaded.
Posted March 1, 2015
Thank you so much for your comment. I was trying to interpret the excursion description and was having trouble. You told me exactly what I needed to know.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 2 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gotta see Atlantis!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Guest avatar
grandygray
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was just beautiful there! We didn't get to snorkle because it rained really hard so that was disapointing. Casino was fun and underground aquarium nice.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Have your walking shoes

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Guest avatar
FFUltra
from Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First, lets start with the time you're given for your excursion. 5 hours total. 20 minute bus ride to Atlantis drop off point. 10 minute walk to the Atlantis hotel. Plus the same on your return equals 1 hour. Now you have 4 hours left. Walk through the hotel and shops then through the casino to reach the aquarium 15 mins. Walk through the aquarium and view the fish (really beautiful) and make a quick stop by their gift shop 45 mins. You now have 3 hours left. Walk through the preditor exhibit and view the sharks and baracuda swimming over your head as you walk through the tunnel. View the hammerhead 'grazing' the shallow area by the swinging bridge and watch the kids (not yours) play and swim with the sting rays. Make your way to SharkBites to wait in line and get a burger that's included in your excursion fee. 1.5 hrs. You now have 1.5 hours left. Leave SharkBites and grab a towel so you can head to the beach...finally, the beach! Rent your beach chairs and lay back and relax for a moment...until the local selling bracelets stands between you and that awesome sunshine trying to convince you that her children needed to eat. You buy a bracelet so you can get back to your sunshine. But the guy selling turtles saw you buy the bracelets. Now you own a bracelet wearing turtle that has a designated spot on your dresser at home. Well, your time is up for your relaxing excursion. Hope you didn't want to go to the waterslide! Make your way back to the ship so you can disembark by 5pm so the ship can ride the current to Freeport ( I think I could have skipped a rock from Atlantis to Freeport ). Why must you leave Nassau to cruise to Freeport at 5pm. Makes no sense to me. Personally, I believe the excursion wasn't worth the money. Go to Atlantis and spend a week so you can enjoy everything.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beach was closed

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Guest avatar
SwimCoach
from Little Rock, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
When we arrived to the lounge to depart for this excursion we were informed that the beach was closed due to high winds but there was another beach that we could go to. We had to wait over an hour to get on the bus to go to Atlantis and when we arrived our tour guide walked us all the way across Atlantis to the "closed" beach and said here is the beach but it is closed. He then pointed in multiple directions and stated the dig is over "there" and the predator tunnel is "that way." I thought that this was supposed to be a guided tour, but I guess I was misinformed. By the end of the day we had gotten lost and turned around so many times that my pedometer app on my phone showed that we had walked 10 miles. All we ended up doing was walking. We never got to enjoy the beach since we were never told where the other beach was that we could use. The vouchers for the meal can only be used at a few places. We only found one of them and the sea gulls and wind were so bad there that we decided to not eat. Seeing Atlantis was a really neat experience, however I feel that if I were to go back I would prefer to stay there and tour it over multiple days. It was just way too big for one day. I can say that it would have gotten a much better rating from me if the map of Atlantis that you get was more accurate.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Atlantis is a must see.

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Mimiunder40
from Tulsa, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Atlantis is a must if you've never been. The place is awesome. The snorkeling was great and the beach is breathtaking. The price is high but a wonderful experience for anyone that hasn't ever been.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Atlantis - beach closed

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
mooneyes
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't think I would get this excursion again. Atlantis is large, interesting, but full of stairs. It has poor signage. It would not work for someone in a wheelchair or with a stroller. I think I could get this onsite for cheaper. We paid for a tour of Atlantis/ aquariums and access to the beach. The beach was closed. We were told before we left the ship this information and that either we could downgrade or they would give access to a different beach. I did not understand that the other beach was a little pond/lake in the island and not an ocean beach. this pond/lake would be fine for people wanting to swim with children, but I really wanted to spend time listening to and watching waves. I was disappointed in this but as I said we were informed before leaving the ship. Beach was closed due to high winds and it was a safety issue.
It seems most people go the same wrist bands regardless of what they purchased.
Transportation: We rode buses to the Island. The bus driver was informative. Return trip was convenient. There was a bus every 30 min for return.
Tour: We got walked from the entrance, past the alternative beach to the other end of island to the closed beach. It is possible we were in the wrong line, but it was difficult to know. There was no aquarium tour.
Lunch: We only found one place where lunch tickets could be used. It was swarmed by sea gulls. We ended up not eating. There were several other restaurants that had seating and restaurants.
Aquarium: Lots of uneven ground to go over. The dig was impressive and interesting. I would not have wanted to miss this. It wasn't as large as I expected. It was creative and I enjoyed going through it. I would have liked to have seen a map.
Beach- Didn't get to go, looked beautiful from a distance but dangerous which is why it was closed.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not enough time and pricy for what we got

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Notme
from Nashville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We could not go to the beach because of windy conditions. The excursion was suppose to start at 8:30-9:00 we did not get on the bus till 11am. We were immediately surrounded by the locals as we approached the bus stop, asking us for everything and what we were doing for the day! If you want a 90 minute tour of an aquarium and a fancy hotel with expensive shops this would be for you not me! You got a headset with a guided tour that was hard to hear. Then we had to hurry because the stop was too short. Make sure you really want to do this. We did get a partial refund for not being able to go to the Beach.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Was fun, would do it again. Very short amount of time.

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Jenn9027
from San Antonio, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You are rushed from the ship to the beach, just go with it. Once you’re left at the beach you’re free to do as you wish. Make sure to bring small cash for tips, unless you like giving $20. The chairs are free, the gentlemen who controls them works strictly off tips. I was surprised a resort like Atlantis would allow the vendors complete access to the guests on the beach. You will be asked repeatedly if you want a drink, bracelet, shirt, Jet Ski, etc. Watching your time puts you on edge. I recommend spending 2 or so hours at the beach first so you have your pick of a chair and area. Then eat lunch and explore the resort on your way out for the last hour or so. I might have been expecting more to see at the resort. They are waiting for you to leave your beach chair so they can re-sell it. Once you leave the beach, going back, getting a chair again, rising off with your limited time isn't easy. We would do this again if the water park is sold out. We would like to try the water park now that we have seen the resort.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoyed everything about this excursion!!!

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Guest avatar
tacorunner
from Monticello, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carnival went above and beyond to accommodate all the families that went on this excursion. Started we meet in the Blue Sapphire Lounge, than our tour guide took us to a bus that took us to Atlantis. Our guide walked us around and explained everything about our excursion. Gave us a recycled bag with a towel so we can lounge on the beach. Enjoyed our lunch at the Dive and sat by the water around the resort after that we enjoyed our walk through the resort and under the water to see all the different fish. Time to leave our bus was waiting at the same location they left off us at.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Vulture attack!!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Guest avatar
AnnieMay
from Vermont
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I felt like we were dead meat and the vultures were attacking. The whole time we were there we were being asked constantly if we wanted to buy jewelry, rent a jet ski or buy a coconut drink. The beach was okay but they should have raked up the seaweed. The food was good at the restaurant but the trip wasn't worth the money. in addition, the closest bathrooms to the beach were closed and we had to walk quite a ways to use the bathrooms in the aquapark.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hard to find anything you needed 3 out 5 restaurants were closed

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
babs57
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We had to walk through a maze of sidewalks to find towels,the ocean,restaurants We had to walk even further to get a locker. The beach was dirty. Three out of five restaurants we had coupons for lunch were closed. We also had a thirty minute wait for our lunch, and the selection was extremely limited. This excursion is definitly not worth the money or the time, It made our cruise less of the relaxing experience we needed.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A little disappointing

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Guest avatar
thejs
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was disappointed the way the excursion started because we got dropped off at the far end of the beach and had to walk a long ways into the resort and get our complimentary towels. We were immediately hit up by all these people selling everything from braids to personal attention. We couldn't even rest without them stalking us. Then when you wanted to explore the resort you had to return the towels, find a place to change and find your way around. There's no place to shower so I had to walk around with sand on me all day. Wasn't worth the money for sure.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing, failed to live up to expectations

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Guest avatar
yankeeintexas
from Houston, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Unfortunately, this was not a good value. You should view this excursion as nothing more than a shuttle ride to the resort, where you will be dropped off "in front of a building with a Bahamanian flag" (important because you want to come back here to get your ride back to the ship) at which point you are left on your own to find your way to the beach...and towels...and a chair. No directions are provided, no staff to point the way (though if asked the Atlantis folks are helpful). Get ready to find your way through the shopping arcade, through the casino, down the stairs, over the river and through the woods (ok, there were no woods). As far as lunch...eat on the ship. The lunch voucher is good for a hot dog/hamburger/chicken sandwich. Bottom line, over priced and under delivered.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUCH A FUN DAY IT WAS

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Guest avatar
Peejaytx
from Denham Springs, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the ship's dock, we took a short bus ride to Paradise Island where we met our guide who led us to our beach area. Chairs and umbrellas were waiting for us. The water was crystal clear and a beautiful shade of blue-green. The beach was so clean and the sand was pure white. Weather was perfect. What an incredible day to be on the beach. Afterwards, we had conch fritters at a local restaurant, then on to tour the casino and the aquarium. The Atlantis Resort is an architectural feat to behold. It was an AWESOME DAY. You will not be disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excursion was real plus!

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Guest avatar
DaMows55
from Charlotte, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This excursion was very well organized and the min/max time structure offered full freedom in doing what YOU want to do most, when, and for how long. They had onsite available for fee water activities, drinks, massages, trinkets, etc. Beach was clean and well-kept. Well done!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Aquarium is nice. beach not so much...

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
whatsup99
from Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Atlantis and the aquarium is awesome. But the beach is full of locals that bug the bejesus out of you every five minutes trying to get you to buy something. Don't go there to relax...they won't let you!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the beach - beautiful water

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Family2014
from Temple, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As everything excursion wise is expensive in Naussa. We originally booked the sealion & beach and it was cancelled due to something not known. So we all booked this one and we love the beach at Atlantis - the water is so beautiful. It included a meal and we had the Fish and Fry at one of the Cafe's and it was great, deepfried but great. We were just glancing at the casino area and the people in front of us lost the group taking us to the beach thru the hotel casino, luckily we had been there before and knew which way to go. But all you had to do is ask someone. Grab a towel from the pool area you walk by otherwise you will have to walk back to get it. We just skipped using a towel. We had a great time - lost some and gained some money in casino before we left to go back to boat. I think Atlantis is overpriced but that is my opinion. My husband ordered a beer in casino area before we decided to stay and gamble some and it was $9 for a 8oz but I think you could get free drinks if you were gambling, not sure.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It is ok

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Guest avatar
rcanas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
This tour is ok but be aware. Don't rent any jet ski at the beach, those guys are a scam, I paid for half hour and they were asking for the jet ski after 15 minutes!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome time at the resort and beach

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
jds1957
from Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't really understand the negative reviews of this excursion, as we had an outstanding good time. The resort is beautiful, the staff friendly and an extremely large casino. THe lunch was great and we did not feel rushed at all. Actually, we left before our time was up. The beach on the Atlantic side is beautiful and staff there helpful as well. Will definitely go back and highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not enough to time to enjoy

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Tamb6873
from Chesapeake, Va
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We were so rushed in Nassau after being told the shops close at 530 pm with our tour not even getting to Atlantis until 1pm that there wasn't any time to relax. The whole thing was rushed and the aquarium was far poorer than most we have visited in the states. Really just a big disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>