Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis

Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis

Relax and soak up the warm Caribbean sun at the world famous Atlantis Resort.
Overall rating:
3.14 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(186 reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 186 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
38
1 Star
32
97 out of 180(54%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Review 1 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome and Easy

PostedJuly 20, 2016
from Florida
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
we really liked this excursion because it was not too long or too short; first of all we got off of our ship around noon and it took the guide to walk through the property around two hours! we loved our free beach time and our own Atlantis property explorations after the guided tour!!!
we went back to the ship easily as the buses pick up at Atlantis every half an hour, when we were ready to go back!
there are a lot more to do however we did not feel like it, you can rent anything and spend an entire day there easily if you feel like it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amazing place, wish I had more time there.

PostedJuly 14, 2016
from Cumberland, Md.
Age:45-54
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Atlantis was an amazing place to tour and the beaches were beautiful. It was so big, a person would never get to see everything in the hours of the excursion, which I know is part of cruising. We got to spend a couple hours (2 or 3) on the beach, crystal clear blue water and beaches were very clean. Lunch meal was decent, no complaints. Got to walk through the resort, including the underground archaeological ruins and“The Dig", which was amazing. Gambled a little bit in the casino. Overall I would recommend this excursion, a little pricey but that is part of going to a vacation resort.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

yes and no recommend this

PostedJuly 12, 2016
from San Antonio, TX.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was ok, once we found our way. Lost for awhile. Staff were not very friendly. Looked like everyone looked the other way when you looked at them and they just knew you were going to ask for direction. Bus trip was fun, however they just drop you off and off you go to a HUGH place you don't know where to go. A lot of time was trying to find our way around. Beaches were clean, but LOTS of locals trying to sell stuff to you, such a fancy place they should keep them off the beaches so you can relax and just have fun. Free towels and chairs (but you do pay for it in the excursion). If a guide person would had stayed with us, I think we would have been able to view and enjoy much more in the resort. Missed out on the dig and the maze. Very clean and food was not bad (included in the excursion). Bathrooms are not close to the beach. Sand is very hard to walk in - take walking shoes. no where to keep your bags - stuff can easily walk off. Water was very clear and beautiful.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall, a very enjoybale excursion

PostedJuly 5, 2016
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tour started off with a short bus ride to Atlantis. The tour guide took us on a long walk to where the beach was located. We were given a towel and a reusable bag for our belongings. Once we reached the beach location, we set off to explore Atlantis' aquariums and The Dig. My kids ages 8 and 11 thoroughly enjoyed the aquariums. There is a lot of walking involved. We really like the baby sea turtles that we found in a small pool and it was cool walking over the rope bridge and a hammerhead shark swimming underneath. Afterwards, we had lunch at the Cave Diner which was burgers and fries, but they were good (actually better than the ships) and refillable soda. Next we changed into our swim clothes and headed back to the beach where we swam, snorkeled, and collected shells. It was a fun filled day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wasn't quite what we expected

PostedJune 17, 2016
from Oxford, Ms.
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Only 5 stars so people can see. The travel to the resort was fun, but once we got there, the person on our bus told us to go ahead and walk inside. Even though we had a map, it took us a total of 40 minutes to even find the beach, and it was over crowded. Once we were there, I was asked several times if I wanted to buy the same things over and over again. There really wasn't any where to put our beach bags so I had to keep an eye on our stuff just in case. The food was great though. By the time we ate, we had to head back to the beach. We maybe got to spend an hour on the beach at most and had to head back to the boat. We would have appreciated a guide through the resort. We didn't get to experience the dig or the aquarium or anything else.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was okay

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Bethlehem, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Atlantis is a beautiful resort. We had a nice time walking around and spending time on the beaches. However, this excursion doesn't include any of the water park activities (lazy river, pools, slides) so all you can do is walk around the resort, shop, or hang out on the beach. The included lunch is also sub-par, with limited options including hot dog, wrap, and hamburger. The only native food on the list is conch fritters, a delicious Caribbean food - so I recommend getting them if you like fish and go on this excursion, as it's the only native choice. The pricing is what's off on this one. For a lower price, it would have been more worth it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome day at a beautiful resort!

PostedJune 16, 2016
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My girlfriend and I changed our excursion to this at the last minute and very glad we did. The place is absolutely gorgeous (took lots of great pictures), the aquarium was nice, and the water park was fun! Oh, and the beach there was great as well!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Atlantis beach & aquarium

PostedJune 16, 2016
from North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Was disappointed. Walked us to the beach and dropped us off. Gave no directions as to where or what anything was. It was OK but definitely not worth the cost.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJune 15, 2016
from Oklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The lunch was like a cheap lunch at a fast food restaurant. The workers at the lunch place were rude also. Save your money and take a cab to Atlantis if you want to explore. I have been on many cruise sponsored excursions and this was terrible for the price. The beach was fun.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had a blast!!

PostedJune 12, 2016
from Dallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful resort, plenty of food to choose from. Many activisuto choose from as well. Beautiful beach and excursions!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very enjoyable day.

PostedJune 12, 2016
from Lebanon Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time in Atlantis. So much to see. It's bigger then you think. Grounds are just beautiful and clean. So many places to swim, not just Oceanside. My husband and I enjoyed exploring the Digs on our own then going to Pices for fish & chips. Food was very good. Inside Atlantis is just as beautiful as the outside. Enjoyed the casino too but didn't hit it big. Lots of photogenic places if you like to take pictures. Very enjoyable day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasted our money

PostedJune 8, 2016
from Rocky Mount, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We went on this excursion last week and I am still trying to wrap my head around what we paid for. We took a bus to Atlantis but once we were there, we just walked around the shops, went through their aquarium and ate lunch. That was pretty much it. Very overpriced for what you (don't) get.
Coming back to port, make sure you take a free shuttle. Make sure it's free. Otherwise you will end up in a taxi.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The excursion was a lot of fun

PostedMay 29, 2016
from Kincardine, Ont
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After the bus dropped us off at the hotel, the tour lady took us to the beach which took about 15min, we got our free lunch voucher and the food was really good. We got chairs with umbrellas at the beach and stayed a long time.Then we explored the ruins , hotel and grounds at our leisure. Went to the casino, didnt spend anything. We had to go this time , just to say we were there and take pics. We always wanted to go there.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

We had fun.

PostedMay 26, 2016
from Crosby, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We loved the aquariums, Atlantis and the beach. The scenery, landscape and many different species of animals were amazing. We ate at The Cave on the beach and it was good as well. The only down side were the locals that continued to harass you to buy something while we were on the beach. We wanted to just relax and it was kind of hard to do. Overall it was nice and we enjoyed it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT RECOMMEND

PostedMay 25, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We wanted to have a fun time at the beach, and wanted to explore Atlantis at the same time, we had heard so much about it and thought it would be fun.
First of all, there is ALOT of walking, so if you can't walk, don't take this excursion. The tour guide was very fast and I got separated from her, along with some others who couldn't keep up with her - she never came back to check on us either!! The walk from the front of the hotel to the beach is a good 45 minute walk, and I was separated from my daughter (we had no wi-fi password, so we couldn't communicate). I had to keep walking down the path until I found my daughter.
Once at the beach, the "sand" was so loose, you would sink down when you walked. The waterline was at an incline, so once you were in the water, you had to "climb" back to the beach and fight your way through the loose "sand" to get back to the sidewalk. There is no sand at the beach, just crushed up seashells, which was "carried" back to the ship in our swimsuits (even though we took a shower at the facility).
Lunch was included in our excursion - after we passed a few lunch stands that were closed, we found one that was open - after we waited in line for a bit to order our lunch, we were told that we had to have lunch vouchers (which were not given to us). We had to go to the front of the hotel, to guest services, who had to make several phone calls in order for us to have lunch. When we finally got our lunch, a cheeseburger, the meat was RAW!!! I ate some of the fries to fill up before retrning to the ship.
This excursion had so much walking, I was not able to enjoy myself, I would not do it again!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Had to do it once

PostedMay 13, 2016
from Syracuse, N Y
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We very much enjoyed the aquarium and the grounds. Enjoyed the beach and simple lunch. We wanted to do it once to check Atlantis out. Too expensive for what you get though. Will not be back. Would have loved to do the water slides but too steep of a price for me. Sad that the pools are not included. We swam in one anyway.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lots of fun

PostedMarch 14, 2016
from Washington, DC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My sister and I went on this excursion and we had a great time. We arrived to the island early and got to do most of the slides before the lines got long. After 1030 or 11 it was very very crowded. All of the lines got pretty long which gave us a chance to explore the island and it was beautiful. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The food was extremely overpriced and not really worth the money so if you can just wait to eat on the cruise. The lines for the rides moved pretty quickly so don't let the length deceive you but don't hold your breath if you want an inner tube.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a great excursion

PostedFebruary 13, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just returned from this cruise with another couple. One of my co-workers had just taken this cruise before us and paid more to do this excursion, so she recommended we take it. I read the reviews prior to going and found them to be all over the place. We were able to get off the ship and onto buses with very little waiting. We entered through the casino and out onto the first of many aquariums, which are spread about the property. The first being a pool of cow nose rays that are viewed from above and then underground to large tanks containing sharks and all manner of sea life. We walked through the hotel, viewed more aquariums and then went into The Dig, which held more aquatic life and other exhibits. During this trip, we used the lazy river, used one of the beaches, had lunch (no waiting, but don't leave your food unattended as there are many birds waiting for it) and finished up in the snorkeling pool. The resort charges for the rental of gear, but I brought my own and you can even get by with a pair of goggles if you want. My wife doesn't snorkel, but stood in the shallow end of the pool and fish swarmed around her. This pool is great for kids and I had an underwater camera, which captured great video and stills. Be forewarned, there is a charge for lockers for valuables, so if you don't need to bring too much, don't. Overall, this was a great excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
berry
tennessee
 
Please wait while more information about berry is loaded.
Additional information about berry could not be loaded.
water park rides
Posted February 22, 2016
Can you do all the water park rides on this excursion
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful resort!

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
from New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The guides from the resort were very friendly and the short bus ride was uneventful. I really enjoyed exploring on my own but unfortunately, the weather was neither warm or dry! We didn't eat the lunch (which was included) because we weren't informed that the allowed venues closed early! We didn't feel like rushing to where they were so we decided to eat when we returned to the ship.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not recommend.

PostedJanuary 19, 2016
from Kingsport, Tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
My family booked this excursion for Christmas Day. We have a 5 year old daughter who has had a very traumatic experience this past year and was extremely.excitied. when we got to Atlantis there were so many people that you couldn't move. No chairs available. No tunes to ride the raging Rapids or lazy river and unable to get a locker. Terrible experience. And never even seen the water slides and didn't have lunch because we went back to the ship. A true disappointment for our daughter.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>