Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis

Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis

Relax and soak up the warm Caribbean sun at the world famous Atlantis Resort.
Overall rating:
3.009 / 5
3
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
22
1 Star
23
50 out of 103(49%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Review 1 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Atlantis - beach closed

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
mooneyes
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't think I would get this excursion again. Atlantis is large, interesting, but full of stairs. It has poor signage. It would not work for someone in a wheelchair or with a stroller. I think I could get this onsite for cheaper. We paid for a tour of Atlantis/ aquariums and access to the beach. The beach was closed. We were told before we left the ship this information and that either we could downgrade or they would give access to a different beach. I did not understand that the other beach was a little pond/lake in the island and not an ocean beach. this pond/lake would be fine for people wanting to swim with children, but I really wanted to spend time listening to and watching waves. I was disappointed in this but as I said we were informed before leaving the ship. Beach was closed due to high winds and it was a safety issue.
It seems most people go the same wrist bands regardless of what they purchased.
Transportation: We rode buses to the Island. The bus driver was informative. Return trip was convenient. There was a bus every 30 min for return.
Tour: We got walked from the entrance, past the alternative beach to the other end of island to the closed beach. It is possible we were in the wrong line, but it was difficult to know. There was no aquarium tour.
Lunch: We only found one place where lunch tickets could be used. It was swarmed by sea gulls. We ended up not eating. There were several other restaurants that had seating and restaurants.
Aquarium: Lots of uneven ground to go over. The dig was impressive and interesting. I would not have wanted to miss this. It wasn't as large as I expected. It was creative and I enjoyed going through it. I would have liked to have seen a map.
Beach- Didn't get to go, looked beautiful from a distance but dangerous which is why it was closed.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not enough time and pricy for what we got

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Notme
from Nashville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We could not go to the beach because of windy conditions. The excursion was suppose to start at 8:30-9:00 we did not get on the bus till 11am. We were immediately surrounded by the locals as we approached the bus stop, asking us for everything and what we were doing for the day! If you want a 90 minute tour of an aquarium and a fancy hotel with expensive shops this would be for you not me! You got a headset with a guided tour that was hard to hear. Then we had to hurry because the stop was too short. Make sure you really want to do this. We did get a partial refund for not being able to go to the Beach.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Was fun, would do it again. Very short amount of time.

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Jenn9027
from San Antonio, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You are rushed from the ship to the beach, just go with it. Once you’re left at the beach you’re free to do as you wish. Make sure to bring small cash for tips, unless you like giving $20. The chairs are free, the gentlemen who controls them works strictly off tips. I was surprised a resort like Atlantis would allow the vendors complete access to the guests on the beach. You will be asked repeatedly if you want a drink, bracelet, shirt, Jet Ski, etc. Watching your time puts you on edge. I recommend spending 2 or so hours at the beach first so you have your pick of a chair and area. Then eat lunch and explore the resort on your way out for the last hour or so. I might have been expecting more to see at the resort. They are waiting for you to leave your beach chair so they can re-sell it. Once you leave the beach, going back, getting a chair again, rising off with your limited time isn't easy. We would do this again if the water park is sold out. We would like to try the water park now that we have seen the resort.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoyed everything about this excursion!!!

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Guest avatar
tacorunner
from Monticello, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carnival went above and beyond to accommodate all the families that went on this excursion. Started we meet in the Blue Sapphire Lounge, than our tour guide took us to a bus that took us to Atlantis. Our guide walked us around and explained everything about our excursion. Gave us a recycled bag with a towel so we can lounge on the beach. Enjoyed our lunch at the Dive and sat by the water around the resort after that we enjoyed our walk through the resort and under the water to see all the different fish. Time to leave our bus was waiting at the same location they left off us at.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Vulture attack!!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Guest avatar
AnnieMay
from Vermont
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I felt like we were dead meat and the vultures were attacking. The whole time we were there we were being asked constantly if we wanted to buy jewelry, rent a jet ski or buy a coconut drink. The beach was okay but they should have raked up the seaweed. The food was good at the restaurant but the trip wasn't worth the money. in addition, the closest bathrooms to the beach were closed and we had to walk quite a ways to use the bathrooms in the aquapark.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hard to find anything you needed 3 out 5 restaurants were closed

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
babs57
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We had to walk through a maze of sidewalks to find towels,the ocean,restaurants We had to walk even further to get a locker. The beach was dirty. Three out of five restaurants we had coupons for lunch were closed. We also had a thirty minute wait for our lunch, and the selection was extremely limited. This excursion is definitly not worth the money or the time, It made our cruise less of the relaxing experience we needed.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A little disappointing

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Guest avatar
thejs
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was disappointed the way the excursion started because we got dropped off at the far end of the beach and had to walk a long ways into the resort and get our complimentary towels. We were immediately hit up by all these people selling everything from braids to personal attention. We couldn't even rest without them stalking us. Then when you wanted to explore the resort you had to return the towels, find a place to change and find your way around. There's no place to shower so I had to walk around with sand on me all day. Wasn't worth the money for sure.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing, failed to live up to expectations

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Guest avatar
yankeeintexas
from Houston, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Unfortunately, this was not a good value. You should view this excursion as nothing more than a shuttle ride to the resort, where you will be dropped off "in front of a building with a Bahamanian flag" (important because you want to come back here to get your ride back to the ship) at which point you are left on your own to find your way to the beach...and towels...and a chair. No directions are provided, no staff to point the way (though if asked the Atlantis folks are helpful). Get ready to find your way through the shopping arcade, through the casino, down the stairs, over the river and through the woods (ok, there were no woods). As far as lunch...eat on the ship. The lunch voucher is good for a hot dog/hamburger/chicken sandwich. Bottom line, over priced and under delivered.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUCH A FUN DAY IT WAS

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Guest avatar
Peejaytx
from Denham Springs, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the ship's dock, we took a short bus ride to Paradise Island where we met our guide who led us to our beach area. Chairs and umbrellas were waiting for us. The water was crystal clear and a beautiful shade of blue-green. The beach was so clean and the sand was pure white. Weather was perfect. What an incredible day to be on the beach. Afterwards, we had conch fritters at a local restaurant, then on to tour the casino and the aquarium. The Atlantis Resort is an architectural feat to behold. It was an AWESOME DAY. You will not be disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excursion was real plus!

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Guest avatar
DaMows55
from Charlotte, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This excursion was very well organized and the min/max time structure offered full freedom in doing what YOU want to do most, when, and for how long. They had onsite available for fee water activities, drinks, massages, trinkets, etc. Beach was clean and well-kept. Well done!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Aquarium is nice. beach not so much...

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
whatsup99
from Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Atlantis and the aquarium is awesome. But the beach is full of locals that bug the bejesus out of you every five minutes trying to get you to buy something. Don't go there to relax...they won't let you!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the beach - beautiful water

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Family2014
from Temple, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As everything excursion wise is expensive in Naussa. We originally booked the sealion & beach and it was cancelled due to something not known. So we all booked this one and we love the beach at Atlantis - the water is so beautiful. It included a meal and we had the Fish and Fry at one of the Cafe's and it was great, deepfried but great. We were just glancing at the casino area and the people in front of us lost the group taking us to the beach thru the hotel casino, luckily we had been there before and knew which way to go. But all you had to do is ask someone. Grab a towel from the pool area you walk by otherwise you will have to walk back to get it. We just skipped using a towel. We had a great time - lost some and gained some money in casino before we left to go back to boat. I think Atlantis is overpriced but that is my opinion. My husband ordered a beer in casino area before we decided to stay and gamble some and it was $9 for a 8oz but I think you could get free drinks if you were gambling, not sure.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It is ok

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Guest avatar
rcanas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
This tour is ok but be aware. Don't rent any jet ski at the beach, those guys are a scam, I paid for half hour and they were asking for the jet ski after 15 minutes!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome time at the resort and beach

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
jds1957
from Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't really understand the negative reviews of this excursion, as we had an outstanding good time. The resort is beautiful, the staff friendly and an extremely large casino. THe lunch was great and we did not feel rushed at all. Actually, we left before our time was up. The beach on the Atlantic side is beautiful and staff there helpful as well. Will definitely go back and highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not enough to time to enjoy

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Tamb6873
from Chesapeake, Va
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We were so rushed in Nassau after being told the shops close at 530 pm with our tour not even getting to Atlantis until 1pm that there wasn't any time to relax. The whole thing was rushed and the aquarium was far poorer than most we have visited in the states. Really just a big disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the $$$

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Rob23
from North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This excursion took quite some time to get to. The walk to the beach itself was long after you get there. The lunch that is included is fair at best. I just don't feel it is worth the money.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Day to Explore Atlantis and another Beach

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Guest avatar
MRQ72
from New York
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Nice Day to Explore Atlantis and another Beach. If you never have been to Atlantis this excursion is the way to see it at your own pace and interests. Lots of walking, so be prepared.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This excursion was ok for grown ups. Not much to do for kids.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Guest avatar
Cruiser21
from Centreville,Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been on fifteen cruises with Carnival. This was the first cruise for my six year old granddaughter. I had a small group of 12. Only 2 of us have been to the Bahamas. Everyone enjoyed there self. I would recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what we expected.

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Guest avatar
picnic
from North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice beach, to many people hitting you up for money. Lunch was good. I would recommend trying something different.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Atlantis Beach Day & Discover Atlantis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beach day

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Guest avatar
BOAT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this tour was a blast. we went to the beach it was warm and sunny .
and the beach it was greenish and the sand it was soft .
and we went to the atlantis hotel it was nice and big and beautiful
we enjoy the water it was very nice
plenty and restaurants and shops and allot of walking
they gave us a towels and a beach bags it was vey nice of them.
it was our first expenses to Bahamas and Atlantis .....
thanks for our parents to gets us the cruise to the beautiful island !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>