Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm

Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm

Experience the best of both worlds! Swim with a dolphin and hold a Green Sea Turtle.
Overall rating:
4.51 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
46 out of 48(96%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Review 1 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice but NO DOLPHIN "SWIM"

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
Jabba
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking to do an excursion with dolphins at one of the ports I'd be visiting. Many say "Dolphin Push Pull & Swim", and the other one I read specifically said that after the push and pull, "then the best part - swim with the dolphins." This one also says "and swim" and then talks about the turtle farm, so I figured it was the same. It's not. There is no free swim with the dolphins, only the kiss and push and pull behaviors.
The turtle farm was interesting but it was self-guided and nobody there to describe why the turtles were there.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing! Totally worth it!

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Guest avatar
LunaRocks2014
from Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My best friend and I had a blast on this excursion! We got to spend at least an hour in the water with an awesome dolphin, Luna. There was a group of 10 of us, and we each got to have a boggy board ride with Luna pushing our foot to bring us back in, and also a belly ride where we held onto her flippers and she swam us back in. They are rescued dolphins, so this is in a facility and not open ocean. We also got to pet her, do hand signals to her, and take different pictures with her. The turtle farm is really cool too. You can pick up the younger turtles for pictures, and see these majestic creatures in action! Definitely recommend this excursion when visiting Grand Cayman!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Memories for a lifetime

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Guest avatar
Sharon54
from Carthage, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The turtle farm was not that interesting to us and would not have taken that particular tour had it not been a part of the dolphin adventure. Loved the dolphin adventure. Time spent with the dolphins was truly an amazing experience. The pictures, although a bit pricey, were very good - the photographer did a great job capturing our memories for us and we were glad to have them to share with friends and family when we returned home. The trainer did a great job remembering our names and making this a very enjoyable excursion. We did not feel rushed in any way and felt like she took the time to make sure we enjoyed our time in the water with the dolphins. Would absolutely recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay, but.....

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
dtcruiser
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My wife, my 2 children & I took this excursion. At the port, there was confusion as to who had the "encounter" & who had the "swim" version of this excursion. You have to stay sharp & make sure you stay with your "group". They just start heading off to the buses. I had to check with others since no one announced clearly that we were departing.
The bus driver was okay, but not overly friendly or informative. He gave a quick, seemingly obligatory, island statistics talk at the beginning of the ride & that was it. The actual tour guide was downright unfriendly. I thought it was my 1st day of kindergarten again. We were instructed as to what was expected of us & we had to repeat back the instructions & meeting times that were "ordered". We were allowed about 20 minutes in the Turtle Farm. I had read the reviews, so I knew we had to keep moving to see it all. We did okay though. We enjoyed it.
Walking back across the street, several of us paused to get a picture in front of the sign near the road - a deviation off the path of about 10 ft. The guide ran over to us & urged us to get back with the group saying she was "watching us".
The actual dolphin encounter was a confusing with the chaos of getting life jackets, etc. Then we are lined up & taken to the pool. The actual dolphin trainer was nice, but "processed" us through it. We each were able to do the list of things advertised.... kiss, pet, hold, boogie board, push, etc. Each was just to pose for the picture & then on to the next person. It was like they were in a huge rush to get us "on our way". Then you are escorted back up to the main platform where you can buy gifts or pictures of your encounter. Yes, as all the other reviews mentioned, they are expensive. The price varies by the number in your group. The gift shop itself is very pricey, but we found that to be true at all of the Cayman Island gift shops.
Finally, on the way back, you are packed in to the bus, with no offer of the "Tiki Beach" option - maybe there was a way to arrange that though - It was just never mentioned at all during the tour. Again, our "guide" was quite condescending, muttering under her breath as we boarded (she didn't know or maybe didn't care that I heard her).
I gave it 2 stars since we liked the actual interaction with the dolphins & turtles. It did however, leave us with the Cayman Island day being (by far) the lease favorite day of our cruise.
So, in my opinion, this is my recommendation. If you have another choice you are pondering, then go elsewhere. If you MUST see the Turtles and there is absolutely no other way, then this is okay. Just be prepared for the rush, cost, and indifference. It was fun, but there may be better choices offering similar activities. For example, you can get to the Turtle farm by taxi from the port on your own. Also, there are other excursions that offer similar activities. Remember, the "Dolphin ENCOUNTER & Turtle" excursion is also run by the same company that runs this "Dolphin SWIM & Turtle" excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Guest avatar
trenise123
from Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the best. Our whole group was split into smaller groups of about 8-10 people, and each group entered the pool and had our own "private" dolphin. Our dolphin was a "she' and she was amazing..very sweet, and eager to please. She pulled us, and pushed us, and let us "kiss" her, and she "kissed' us. My daugher and her boyfriend, both 20 years of age, thought it was absolutely the best tour also. We also loved the turtle farm..so many, and got to hold the little ones. Not as much time there tho. On the way back to the boat our driver dropped us off at 7-mile beach for about an hour of swimming...well worth the price!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun in Grand Caymans

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
FamilyCruise
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took my two 13 year old boys to the turtles and dolphin swim. This was a short bus ride to the area, with lots of time in the turtle area (including holding turtles) as well as with the dolphins. Would have liked someone around to talk about the turtles as we went there to find out more about them as well as see them. The dolphins were fun - boys loved swimming with them. Good pictures were taken. My only beef was the cost of the pictures, and the fact that I was told 3 different prices (then told by another family they were able to get a lower price). I didn't realize I could barter on the price of pictures and feel there should be decent standard pricing.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

From my 10 year old to my 21 year old, they loved it!

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Guest avatar
Amosria
from White Lake, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I totally recommend this adventure for any age! It was emotional for me to watch my 21 year old have so much fun on our first real family vacation. The dolphins were amazing! Tho it was a little pricy. ... it was so worth it! !!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Ballerina42061
from Kingsport, Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was awesome, I loved swimming with the dolphins, really enjoyed the boogie board push. It was absolutely amazing. The Turtle farm was great too, these are some huge turtles, this part is great for the kids. All in all it's a great excursion the dolphins is something everyone must do. I do think it's way overpriced.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This tour was well organized and fun

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Jessmay
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tour was well organized, which was good considering the amount of people going at once. The turtle farm was fun to see, although the amount of time provided for the farm was little, it was enough time.
Swimming with the dolphins was also very organized. They broke up the huge crowd of people into more manageable groups after giving everyone the necessary information for being in the water with the dolphins.
The actual activities with the dolphins were great. Being pushed on a boogie board by a dolphin is thrilling.
The only thing that wasn't that great was the high volume of people. It took away from the personal experience and really created a "theme park" experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

swimming with dolphins, for real

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Guest avatar
nstallent
from dalton ga
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We enjoyed this, my husband has problems but he was able to swim out and dolphin brought him back. Next time someone assisted him and me one time but the dolphin brought us back by pushing on our feet. Got to kiss dolphin, rub on them .....just a lot of fun.
Also got to see turtles and hold smaller ones. Fun
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Part of our Cruise!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Guest avatar
dfarley
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swimming with the dolphins was the highlight of our cruise! My wife and I both are in our 50's and loved it. Our 17 year old daughter said it was Awesome! We got to spend time with the dolphin and got 2 rides each. I highly recommend this one!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW! A life time dream come to life.

PostedJune 16, 2014
Guest avatar
deweys1427
from Ottawa, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife has always been fascinated with Dolphins, so when we decided to take the cruise I knew this may be a once in a life time opportunity for a midwest, country girl. Worth the hassle of the crowds getting of the boat for this one. About a 15-20 minute ride from the port to the Dolphin Cove and the Turtle farm across the street. We did the turtle farm first which only takes about 30 to 45 minutes and while I didn't personally get to excited over it, there were many kids there who loved it and got to get into a tank and hold the younger turtles. One short trip back across the street and we were getting briefed and ready for our "Dolphin Swim", Split into groups of 8 or 10 everyone has a chance for two rides with the dolphin. Ours was named Elma and she was so smart and friendly. You get two rides with the dolphin. One a belly to belly ride where you hold on and the other you lay on a boogie board and straighten you legs and she pushes you across the pool. You won't believe the power in their tale as they push. My wife loved this and her reaction tears of joy were more than worth the price to me. Everyone says pictures can be expensive, but if you talk to them and have them explain all the options to you they really aren't so bad. The best deal I found was to buy the CD in which yuo choose as many pictures from your group as you want to put on it and just in case the CD breaks you get a plastic card with the address to where the pics are stored online and you can get them from there also. ALL IN ALL, A GREAT TIME.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money and more !

PostedApril 19, 2014
Guest avatar
Anette
from Canton , ms
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our family enjoyed this so much. They are amazing animals and to get to learn , touch , swim and interact with the dolphins was priceless. Your going to want all the pictures so I suggest buying the cd. They are a little pricey so set money aside for it. My kids enjoyed the turtle farm and we took some amazing pictures of them holding the baby turtles. We would do this exertion again and promise you won't be disappointed if you go.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bucket list Bonanza!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Guest avatar
CrystalBluePersuaded
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket list: touch a dolphin, photo of me with a dolphin, swim with a dolphin....touch, touch, feel their wonderful skin.
I squealed with delight, like a 5 year old, when Cappy propelled me across the water on a belly board. Jose' was a wonderful trainer and host. I am a wheelchair using, overweight, limited mobility retired woman. There was a wheelchair ramp where needed. The stairs had a rail to help me maneuver the steps down into the water. The staff were all wonderfully helpful. I got to touch the dolphin's back and the belly repeatedly. I got to be kissed, kiss, hold his flippers, ride on my belly on his back holding his dorsal fins, feel his power as he thrust me up and across the water on a belly board by pushing me with his snout on my good foot. I splashed him and he squirted water at me....what fun! I bought the video and have no regrets. I have it on my smart TV and enjoy it daily...and may bore my friends with repeated offers of viewing it. It is obvious I was one more than satisfied and happy person. Truth be told, I was so touched and grateful I was getting to experience this that I had tears several times during the wonderful contact with two of these precious creatures. My 38 year old son said, "Mom, you enjoyed this so much and wanted to do it for so long, you should plan to do this twice a year. Be happy, have fun, seize the moments." I believe I am going to make that a new goal...twice a year!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bucket List Worthy

PostedApril 8, 2014
Guest avatar
RTR2014
from Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
User submitted photo
This excursion helped our family check off a bucket list item. Probably the best time I have had in my entire 45 years. Nicest people, great pictures where given to us at the end, worth every dime for all of it. Thank you!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well organized

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Guest avatar
Stacey73
from Carterville, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
This was a well organized tour, and you get the full dolphin experience. There is very little time at the end of the excursion to get pictures, so if you want to order some, I would recommend that you move quickly after the dolphin swim is done.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Guest avatar
nanno
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was worth every penny and the long wait to get there. I had looked forward to this for months and was not disappointed in the least with the dolphin swim and encounter. They are beautiful creators and it was obvious they had amazing trainers with compassion for them and for the guests. It was important to the trainers that were with us that each and every one of us was able to not only touch the dolphins but to be able to experience the push with the boogie board as well as the grab them by the fins and let them pull you across the water to the other side. Would highly recommend this to anyone as it was something that was truly enjoyed by the adults as well as the kids.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fun but took too much time

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Guest avatar
Tmonday
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had a lot of fun on the excursion, but price is kinda high and took up the whole day. Dolphin swim was worth it. Turtle farm was neat but not much to do but look at the turtles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun but not organized

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Guest avatar
jenigario
from St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This trip was still fun even though it was cold and rainy, and the group was not well organized at all. It took us forever to get lined up, they were trying to make the groups not so big, and that took at least 20-30 minutes. There were three groups of 12 each. Once we got in the water, it did take longer than expected. The turtle farm was great (even in a down pour), and you could explore on your own. Would have liked to go back to the turtle farm but ran out of time because of the lack or organization on the dolphin side. I would still recommend this excursion, in spite of everything!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dolphin Push, Pull & Swim & Turtle Farm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

we all loved it

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Guest avatar
DebbieDee
from Detroit Mi
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Extreme
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved this excursion, it was not what I expected at all! It was so much more than I had expected or hoped for. I had read all the reviews and none did this experience justice! I could have skipped the turtle part but my boys enjoyed it. I did buy all the pictures, and I feel they were a fair value. If you are considering this excursion I suggest taking the plunge and doing it you will not be disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>