Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins

Swim with the Dolphins

See how remarkably intelligent and friendly dolphins can be when you take a swim with them!
Overall rating:
4.823 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
75 out of 79(95%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins
Review 1 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent adventure to remember!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Guest avatar
JJUD
from Kansas City, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the first time for both my Daughter and I to swim with the Dolphins. It was a rather cold February day but we had already booked and figured this was a once in a lifetime experience. The trainers Melissa and Patrick were excellent and very knowledgeable. They introduced us to Cucoon and Coral. We each had about 15-20 mins with the dolphins swimming side by side. There were great opportunities for pics too!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Dolphin Swim

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Guest avatar
TX2AK2TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have done dolphin swim and dolphin encounters three times. This dolphin swim was the best of the the three. Lots of time was spent in the water with the dolphins and with previous dolphin swims we all lined up to pet and kiss the dolphins and then went one at a time out to the center of the pool and grabbed the dolphins fins as they pulled us to the side of the pool. This dolphin swim people went out two at a time and had lots of time to play and actually swim with the dolphins. The more you move around, the more the dolphins swim and dive around with you. Dive underwater and the dolphin will too. Wonderful pictures taken of hugging the dolphin. The best shore excursion we've ever been on.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not what I was expecting but pleasantly surprised

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Guest avatar
jdsmotherof5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did this excursion with my 5 kids ages 12-17 and we all had an experience of a lifetime. Four of us did a dolphin swim before in Cozumel which at the time we though was awesome until we truly did a dolphin swim. On this excursion it is not the dolphin doing what the trainer wanted it to do, it swims freely with you. It reacts to you if you swim out to the left so do they if you dive down under the water they will dive with you. You are allowed to pet them and love on them. We all fell in love; they where beautiful, playful, intelligent, and stole out hearts. The trainers and staff where wonderful as well.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Guest avatar
rtrot
from Franklin, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was part of a family vacation with my wife and 2 teenage daughters. The dolphin swim excursion was the high point of our cruise experience. The cruise overall was great, but this excursion was everyone's favorite single event. We all had so much fun! The trainers were friendly and knowledgeable. We debated whether to do the dolphin swim or the encounter, and were so happy we spent a bit more to do the swim. We felt like we got so much more out of it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Swim part was great - down time very bad

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Guest avatar
ivmost
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The swimming with the dolphins was great! The dolphins trainers were also very entertaining. The only reason I do not recommend this is that there is too much wasted time. If you are okay with riding in a van, waiting for the boat ferry , riding the ferry, waiting for ferry pickup, riding ferry, waiting (almost an hour) for van ride back to ship, then go ahead. All the waiting was VERY annoying, but the swim itself was really cool. They let other guests take pics of you swimming (and visa versa). They also took some nice professional shots. Even though the time in the water with dolphins was short (5 -10 minutes), it seemed enough to me.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best part of our cruise

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Guest avatar
VacsMedic
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the best part of our cruise. The group that lead the excursion were polite, caring, and all had a great sense of humor. It was an amazing experience to free swim with the Dolphins. I highly recommend it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion!

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Graciebella
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was our favorite. The staff was awesome and the dolphins were amazing. I would recommend this excursion to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience! Glad we did this!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
DizzyD
from Wetumpka, Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I found this last minute and so glad I canceled my other excursion for this one! This one you actually swim with the dolphins one-on-one side-by-side and get to do tricks with them. Our trek getting there was organized and easy; about a 20 min taxi ride that is provided for you. Then about a 20 min boat ride to the dolphin exhibit. Captain Buddy was awesome, fun and laid back free spirit. Our dolphin trainer Lamond was just as awesome as well. We were in a group of 12 split into two groups of 6. The first 6 got their 1-on-1 time with their dolphin for about 15-20 mins; then got to do tricks with them including a kiss and a hug. While this happens the other 6 are allowed to use your cameras and take your pictures for you. Then the two groups swap and then you use their cameras to take their pictures. Professional pictures are also available to buy at a cheap price. This was well worth the price to me and we would do it again in a heart beat!!!! Next time I want to do the Open Water Dolphin Swim they offer only available at 9:00am. We did this swim on Nov 7, 2014 and the water felt chilly to your feet but I promise you I got used to the water temperature full body really quickly and for me I don't usually swim in Alabama until July!!!! So don't be afraid of the water temperature in November. And don't hesitate to do this excursion, I promise you the price and experience is well worth it!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Guest avatar
AprilRuth
from Gaffney, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Everyone involved, from 'Captain Buddy', who took us to the swim site, to the trainers who were so enthusiastic and willing to share their knowledge, were AMAZING! Thrill of a life time!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much fun!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Guest avatar
Ashley1014
from Utah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had so much fun in this excursion. We were on our honeymoon and decided to splurge and pay the extra money to do something we have always wanted to do. We weren't disappointed at all. The trainers were so nice and added to the experience. We got to swim with the dolphins, then do tricks with them, get our photos taken with them, then at the end they had them do several flips. It was such an amazing unforgettable experience. One other plus is they allowed us to use our own cameras :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Experience

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Miceli21
from Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My husband and I did this excursion and we're really glad we did. Initially we booked the Dolphin Encounter but so glad we upgraded to the Swim for a little extra money. Definitely worth it. Patrick was our trainer and Indy was the dolphin, they were both amazing. We were in a group of 6 so my husband was the first to kiss and hug Indy and then it was my turn. After we each did that my husband got his time swimming with Indy. He enjoyed swimming underwater with him because he said he could hear him communicating under there. My swim was good as well but all Indy wanted me to do is rub his belly, he was upside down almost our entire swim. Then 2 other people got in the water and we did tricks with them by doing hand signals. Then my husband and I got out and it was 2 other couples turn. After everyone got their turn and everyone was out of the water Patrick had Indy do several other tricks and flips. Very neat experience! Even though the excursion is rather pricey already, I recommend taking a little extra cash to tip the trainer.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome experience!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Guest avatar
VivMcIntire
from Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I went on this excursion early September of 2014 and it was such a wonderful experience. We swam with 3 different dolphins. We had a grandmother, mom, and son. The son, Cocoa was only 10 months old! He was full of life and very playful. We were told important information about the dolphins which was very interesting. We each individually swam with the dolphins for 20 mins I would say then did group tricks and photos. They did allow you to take photos of your own and they took professional ones as well that you could purchase. Once you were done they did have some birds that you could touch as well as turtles. This is a must! The only thing about it was the price is a little high but when you look at the same excursion elsewhere you could pay more so it wasn't too bad.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most memorable

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Pegtay2002
from Ashland, Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was such a great experience. We started on a bus ride to the dock. From there we had two boats take us up a canal (nice scenic view) to the lagoon. From there we split into swimmers and dolphin experience ( which was a large crowd) it was one of the memorable day of life!! Groups were spilt 5 and 4. While one group is in, the other takes pictures for you! The trainers were great and the dolphins were the best:).
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pricey but fun

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Guest avatar
SMT40
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was smooth and seamless. People were very friendly. We had a great time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We had such a good time.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Yankeesgville
from Gilbertsville, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
the trainers were excellent and made this a memorable adventure. Just don't tell the dolphins they smell like fish, lol. They will splash you. Worth the money!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend!!!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Warlick07
from North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I went on the dolphin swim excursion this past weekend. I would highly recommend this to anyone! Even though our ship was delayed arriving to Freeport because of strong currents, they still allowed everyone to get plenty of time in the water with the dolphins. The trainers were very fun and helped make the experience just that much better! Even the bus ride to Unexso was worth-while, as the driver provided a great deal of interesting information about the islands!
Don't hesitate to do this one!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome excursion, highly recommend!!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Guest avatar
TexFan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I highly recommend this excursion. Lots of fun. Everyone got to swim with a dolphin individually and then perform some behaviors as a group. Excellent trainers that were funny and well informed. They really made it a great experience. Underwater cameras were not allowed, but the group was divided in two so while one group was swimming, the other was taking pictures. Would definitely do again!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Guest avatar
Peggyj
from Elkton, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Swimming with the dolphins is an awesome experience. The staff are exceptional and the experience is something you will never forget. We took our grandchildren (ages 14 & 17). They were not sure they wanted to do this excursion, but had a blast. The cost is a little high, but so worth the money. I would definitely do this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Missy24
from North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I did this excursion, and it was amazing!! The trainers were a lot of fun and we had lots of time with the dolphins..there was only 6 of us in the group which made it nice.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic fun!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Sherri44
from Charlottesville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The dolphins are SO sweet! The trainers are awesome! It was the best experience of my life! Would totally recommend this for great family fun!
We actually connected with the Dolphins. They have there own individual personalities and are so loving. I didn't want to leave. The staff is great! All very helpful and sweet! I will definitely go back to see them.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>