Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins

Swim with the Dolphins

See how remarkably intelligent and friendly dolphins can be when you take a swim with them!
Overall rating:
4.861 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 101 reviews
5 Stars
93
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
96 out of 100(96%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins
Review 1 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beat our expectations!!!!

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Jules5858
from SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
The staff was super friendly and only took a short scenic boat ride to get to the location.The Dolphins were incredible. We spent a great amount of time in the water with the Dolphins.It was worth every penny spent and the highlight of our trip!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion ever!

PostedJuly 22, 2015
WolffFam
from Crestwood, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an awesome shore excursion. We got off the ship and met our group. The shuttle bus driver was very nice and informative. They took us to the UNEXSO facility. Everyone there was so nice. We waited just a bit for our boat to take us to the actual swim. The boat ride was amazing and the captain's were funny and talked to us the whole way. It was beautiful!! The actual swim with the dolphins was amazing. My 16 and 14 yr old had a blast. My hubby and I loved it as well. Once in a lifetime experience. The trainers were very knowledagable and gave us plenty of time to swim with the dolphins. They let us take our own pics and they also took pics. There were 12 people total in our group. WE each had plenty of time to swim and meet the dolphins. I highly recommend this excursion
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was a lot of fun!

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Kassey15
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always wanted to swim with dolphins ever since my parents took me to see a dolphin show when I was little. This was my first cruise and all of the excursions seemed pricey. At first I wasn't going to do this excursion because of the price but my aunt talked me into it. I am so glad I did it! Both instructors were amazing! They were funny and we all had a great time with the Dolphins. The group before us was small and so were we. There were nine people in our group, two wonderful instructors, and two very well trained Dolphins. We went two at a time so we would have about 15 minutes to free swim with a dolphin by ourself. After everyone took a turn the group was split in half so some could take pics while the Dolphins did tricks with the rest of us. The Dolphins kissed us and hugged us. They also did a number of other tricks for us. The pictures were ready for us when we arrived back at the gift shop. They do allow you to take your own pics but you will have to ask another person in your group to take pics while he or she is not in the water. I would do this excursion again in a heart beat! We didn't have to worry about being late to the ship since we booked through the ship; therefore, they couldn't leave without us. Don't let the price scare you away. It was an amazing experience!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun time

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Brudy
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excursion for all to enjoy wether your a swimmer or not, life jackets are available if you need. The entire staff from the boat captain to the dolphin trainers interacted with everyone making you feel like friends. The time with the dolphins was great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUCKER UP AND FEEL THE LOVE

PostedJuly 11, 2015
rebelmax
from Valrico, Florida. USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
O.M.G. what fun !!! If you have never received a kiss or hug from a dolphin you will never experience an encounter like this. Our family was overwhelmed by the unforgettable memory of this excursion. Our 12 year old daughter had the unforgettable time of her life. This excursion is well worth the time and money. We not only spent time one on one with he amazingly well trained dolphins but the trainers were very knowledgeable and gave us so much information on the mammal's. We got to dance, swim, spit fight and so much more with our new found friends. Truly amazing and memorable experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fun

PostedJuly 11, 2015
RickyJ
from Clemmons, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time cruising. Well organized. Picked up at ship and taken to boat. Very scenic boat ride to dolphin sanctuary. Met by trainers as soon as we got off the boat to start our swim. Small group of twelve allowed each person to have individual time with the dolphins. The trainers were excellent and gave commands to the dolphins to interact with us. It was a fabulous experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely worth it

PostedJuly 11, 2015
ADove42
from Anderson, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Swim is worth the money. Everyone was fantastic from the bus ride, to the boat ride, to the trainers and of course the dolphins. This Swim exceeded all expectations. We got to spend a lot of one on one time with the dolphins.
This was a dream come true. Next time I go back to Freeport, I'm doing this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TOO MUCH FUN!

PostedJune 29, 2015
Tracey15
from Dove Creek, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the Boat ride and staff to the location of swim and staff, EVERYONE was GREAT! I would recommend this shore excursion to anyone who wants to actually swim with the dolphins and have a great time with the hilarious staff.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth EVERY SINGLE penny!!

PostedJune 28, 2015
JustJenn
from Houston, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing I've done throughout the last 43 years of my life compares in any way to the experience my family and I had on this excursion.
First and foremost, every single staff member we encountered was extremely friendly. (Quite a few were beyond fantastic... Conrad "the birdman" taking the cake on this he was so awesome to visit with!)
The boat ride (to and fro the dolphins) was beautiful and very relaxing. Our boat captain was funny & friendly, as we're the dolphin trainers. It's the dolphins themselves though that truly makes the experience shine the brightest... let me just say WOW! Swimming with such beautiful creatures so freely... it kind of puts one at a loss for words it's just so spectacular!
As for me and my family, we can't wait to do it again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An unforgettable excursion!

PostedJune 22, 2015
Mel98
from Altoona, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Something that took me out of my comfort zone, but worth it! The staff was fun, knowledgeable, and made it that much better
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJune 8, 2015
mrsbudz
from Baltimore, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved this excursion! Can't wait to do it again
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looooove this

PostedJune 5, 2015
Helton15
from Kenosha, wi
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the third dolphin swim I've done and this place is by far the best!!!! This exceeded my expectations everyone was so nice n so amazing! The dolphin time was longer than I thought! DEFF doing this again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highlight of our cruise!!!

PostedJune 1, 2015
davenlynne25
from chambersburg pa.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
swimming with the dolphins exceeded our expectations by far!! This was the grand finally of our cruise.The trainer we had was very knowledgeable,friendly and funny!! would definatley do this again!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was the best excursion I have been on.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Tootnme
from Plano, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have cruised 6 times. This is by far the best excursion I have been on. We actually got to swim by ourselves with the Dolphins. Our trainers were in the side of the lagoon and we got to swim with the Dolphins by ourselves. If we would dive underwater the dolphin would dive with us. Well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedMay 11, 2015
traceyandmiranda
from Hamburg, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best money I spent. This exceeded all expectations. Groups are small, only 2 people at a time in the water, with 2 dolphins, we each had our own! Then your group of about 6, get in the water and you each are able to give the dolphins signals to have them do tricks. Then you get photographs taken with a hug, kiss, and swim with a dolphin. The cost was surprisingly affordable. And, You ARE ALLOWED TO HAVE CAMERAS OR PHONES, and others in the group can take pictures while you are in the water, and you do the same for them. This was absolutely amazing and the dolphins are remarkable. If you ever wanted to do a dolphin swim, this is definitely worth the money, the highlight of our vacation!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedApril 29, 2015
StCroixTim
from Tampa, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a once in a lifetime event. We had time to free swim with our own dolphin one on one. We learned how to ask them to do tricks with us and had ample opportunity to take our own photos. The trainers were delightful and personable. I highly recommend this to anyone who ever wanted to interact with amazing dolphins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it, recomended

PostedApril 26, 2015
tangal
from USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We took this excursion because we wanted to swim up close and next to the dolphins. This tour delivered! Dolphins are trained to swim right next to you within touching distance the entire swim time (about 20 min a person) . You are encouraged to pet and stroke them.
Then you swim out and signal dolphins to do tricks in front of you, then do the swim back for a Dolpin hug, kiss and photo shot.
Trainers allow you to also use your camera and take photos as well. Trainers are very nice, knowledgeable and provide good info, and encourage questions.
The best part of our cruise by far!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent excursion!

PostedApril 26, 2015
sammrobb
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We originally signed up for the dolphin encounter, but upgraded to the dolphin swim instead. We sure are glad we did!!
First you take a 20 minute bus ride to the Unexso facility, which was uncomfortable and we were crammed in the bus like sardines, but that was the only downside to the whole excursion. The ride back was better, however, since we hopped in the front of the bus and talked to the bus driver the whole time. He was very knowledgeable, answering questions about Freeport and dolphins and whatever else.
Once at the Unexso facility, you take a 15-20 minute boat ride to the dolphin area. The ride was beautiful and Captain Ross was also great. We asked a ton of questions and he was super about answering them, and was funny and entertaining.
Once at the dolphin area, the trainers give you an overview of what is going to happen before the fun begins. Again, the trainers were awesome!! Very fun, very knowledgeable. We (again!! lol) asked a lot of questions and they were great about explaining all about the dolphins and how they work with them. They take the dolphins out for "walks" and allow them to hunt, trying to keep their instincts intact. You can tell that they really care about these beautiful creatures.
For the actual dolphin swim, you get in the water with flippers on and two people at at time swim around, and the trainers send the two dolphins out to swim with you. They are trained to follow you wherever you go, so you just swim along on your belly petting them while they stay by your side. You can even dive down under the water and they'll dive down with you. It was sooooo cool. After everyone swims, they have you line up out in the water and send the dolphins out to you to do tricks, and will tell you what hand signals to do, to get the dolphin to do whatever trick it is. Then they do more one-on-one things - swim toward the dock with the dolphin, kiss the dolphin, hug the dolphin, while they take pictures. After everyone is out of the water, they have the dolphins do a bunch of cool jumps.
You don't need water shoes.
Bring cash to tip the boat captain and the trainers (if you'd like).
There is a place to leave your stuff while you are in the water.
Bring a camera! Even though they will take pictures that you can purchase, you can also ask other people on the excursion to take pictures for you throughout your time in the water. We have probably 100 pictures and video that another cruiser took on my phone for us.
On the boat ride back to the Unexso facility, we took a different route through the open ocean and saw a pod of dolphins, with two teeny baby dolphins!! The captain stopped and circled around them so we could get a better look.
We definitely recommend this excursion!! It is a time I will never forget!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion on the cruise!

PostedApril 23, 2015
TheDon
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would rate this excursion as one of the best. The Dolphins are very smart and it was fun being in the water with them. The purchased pictures will help me relive this encounter over and over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Excursion is a Must!

PostedApril 19, 2015
mike0710
from South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We looked at a lot of different Dolphin excursions and chose this one. We hit the jackpot! I could not imagine It being any better. This was the highlight of our Vac. This is the real deal. The price is a little high but, WELL worth it. The trainers never got in the water with us. We dove in (Must be able to swim) with flippers only no life jackets which was really good because you cannot swim well with life jackets. We swam with the dolphins individualy for 5-10 min then as a family group. Dolphins were well trained and we actually got to give them hand signals to do tricks. The group was small (8). The Trainers were highly educated on the Dolphins and very entertaining. Would highly reccomend!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>