Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins

Swim with the Dolphins

See how remarkably intelligent and friendly dolphins can be when you take a swim with them!
Overall rating:
4.839 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
82 out of 86(95%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins
Review 1 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedMay 11, 2015
traceyandmiranda
from Hamburg, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best money I spent. This exceeded all expectations. Groups are small, only 2 people at a time in the water, with 2 dolphins, we each had our own! Then your group of about 6, get in the water and you each are able to give the dolphins signals to have them do tricks. Then you get photographs taken with a hug, kiss, and swim with a dolphin. The cost was surprisingly affordable. And, You ARE ALLOWED TO HAVE CAMERAS OR PHONES, and others in the group can take pictures while you are in the water, and you do the same for them. This was absolutely amazing and the dolphins are remarkable. If you ever wanted to do a dolphin swim, this is definitely worth the money, the highlight of our vacation!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedApril 29, 2015
StCroixTim
from Tampa, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a once in a lifetime event. We had time to free swim with our own dolphin one on one. We learned how to ask them to do tricks with us and had ample opportunity to take our own photos. The trainers were delightful and personable. I highly recommend this to anyone who ever wanted to interact with amazing dolphins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it, recomended

PostedApril 26, 2015
tangal
from USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We took this excursion because we wanted to swim up close and next to the dolphins. This tour delivered! Dolphins are trained to swim right next to you within touching distance the entire swim time (about 20 min a person) . You are encouraged to pet and stroke them.
Then you swim out and signal dolphins to do tricks in front of you, then do the swim back for a Dolpin hug, kiss and photo shot.
Trainers allow you to also use your camera and take photos as well. Trainers are very nice, knowledgeable and provide good info, and encourage questions.
The best part of our cruise by far!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent excursion!

PostedApril 26, 2015
sammrobb
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We originally signed up for the dolphin encounter, but upgraded to the dolphin swim instead. We sure are glad we did!!
First you take a 20 minute bus ride to the Unexso facility, which was uncomfortable and we were crammed in the bus like sardines, but that was the only downside to the whole excursion. The ride back was better, however, since we hopped in the front of the bus and talked to the bus driver the whole time. He was very knowledgeable, answering questions about Freeport and dolphins and whatever else.
Once at the Unexso facility, you take a 15-20 minute boat ride to the dolphin area. The ride was beautiful and Captain Ross was also great. We asked a ton of questions and he was super about answering them, and was funny and entertaining.
Once at the dolphin area, the trainers give you an overview of what is going to happen before the fun begins. Again, the trainers were awesome!! Very fun, very knowledgeable. We (again!! lol) asked a lot of questions and they were great about explaining all about the dolphins and how they work with them. They take the dolphins out for "walks" and allow them to hunt, trying to keep their instincts intact. You can tell that they really care about these beautiful creatures.
For the actual dolphin swim, you get in the water with flippers on and two people at at time swim around, and the trainers send the two dolphins out to swim with you. They are trained to follow you wherever you go, so you just swim along on your belly petting them while they stay by your side. You can even dive down under the water and they'll dive down with you. It was sooooo cool. After everyone swims, they have you line up out in the water and send the dolphins out to you to do tricks, and will tell you what hand signals to do, to get the dolphin to do whatever trick it is. Then they do more one-on-one things - swim toward the dock with the dolphin, kiss the dolphin, hug the dolphin, while they take pictures. After everyone is out of the water, they have the dolphins do a bunch of cool jumps.
You don't need water shoes.
Bring cash to tip the boat captain and the trainers (if you'd like).
There is a place to leave your stuff while you are in the water.
Bring a camera! Even though they will take pictures that you can purchase, you can also ask other people on the excursion to take pictures for you throughout your time in the water. We have probably 100 pictures and video that another cruiser took on my phone for us.
On the boat ride back to the Unexso facility, we took a different route through the open ocean and saw a pod of dolphins, with two teeny baby dolphins!! The captain stopped and circled around them so we could get a better look.
We definitely recommend this excursion!! It is a time I will never forget!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion on the cruise!

PostedApril 23, 2015
TheDon
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would rate this excursion as one of the best. The Dolphins are very smart and it was fun being in the water with them. The purchased pictures will help me relive this encounter over and over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Excursion is a Must!

PostedApril 19, 2015
mike0710
from South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We looked at a lot of different Dolphin excursions and chose this one. We hit the jackpot! I could not imagine It being any better. This was the highlight of our Vac. This is the real deal. The price is a little high but, WELL worth it. The trainers never got in the water with us. We dove in (Must be able to swim) with flippers only no life jackets which was really good because you cannot swim well with life jackets. We swam with the dolphins individualy for 5-10 min then as a family group. Dolphins were well trained and we actually got to give them hand signals to do tricks. The group was small (8). The Trainers were highly educated on the Dolphins and very entertaining. Would highly reccomend!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Once in a lifetime experience

PostedApril 3, 2015
JB15
from Austin, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This proved to be a once in a lifetime experience! Getting there was a little hectic though. It was about a 45 minute ride with a crazy driver and then a 20 minute boat ride to get to the dolphin lagoon but once we were there it was amazing. We were split into groups of 10-12 and then had two trainers for each group. We went in families and had 3 dolphins. They give you flippers and amazingly I was able to swim with them for about 30-45 minutes. They are trained to swim right next to you and they don't leave you unless the trainer calls them back. Our two trainers were amazing! They had both been there for about 15 years and you could tell the dolphins really loved them. Highly recommend if you ever had an interest in swimming with dolphins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You gotta do it!

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Bemidjifamily
from Bemidji, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the highlight of our entire cruise. All six of us went, ages 13-53, and all thoroughly enjoyed it! Lots of time in the water with the dolphins! Great boat guide and swim guide. Took a nice boat tour there, and a different route back. It is kind of expensive as you can see, but it is worth it! It was definitely the highlight of our cruise for all six of us!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent adventure to remember!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
JJUD
from Kansas City, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the first time for both my Daughter and I to swim with the Dolphins. It was a rather cold February day but we had already booked and figured this was a once in a lifetime experience. The trainers Melissa and Patrick were excellent and very knowledgeable. They introduced us to Cucoon and Coral. We each had about 15-20 mins with the dolphins swimming side by side. There were great opportunities for pics too!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Dolphin Swim

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
TX2AK2TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have done dolphin swim and dolphin encounters three times. This dolphin swim was the best of the the three. Lots of time was spent in the water with the dolphins and with previous dolphin swims we all lined up to pet and kiss the dolphins and then went one at a time out to the center of the pool and grabbed the dolphins fins as they pulled us to the side of the pool. This dolphin swim people went out two at a time and had lots of time to play and actually swim with the dolphins. The more you move around, the more the dolphins swim and dive around with you. Dive underwater and the dolphin will too. Wonderful pictures taken of hugging the dolphin. The best shore excursion we've ever been on.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not what I was expecting but pleasantly surprised

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
jdsmotherof5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did this excursion with my 5 kids ages 12-17 and we all had an experience of a lifetime. Four of us did a dolphin swim before in Cozumel which at the time we though was awesome until we truly did a dolphin swim. On this excursion it is not the dolphin doing what the trainer wanted it to do, it swims freely with you. It reacts to you if you swim out to the left so do they if you dive down under the water they will dive with you. You are allowed to pet them and love on them. We all fell in love; they where beautiful, playful, intelligent, and stole out hearts. The trainers and staff where wonderful as well.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
rtrot
from Franklin, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was part of a family vacation with my wife and 2 teenage daughters. The dolphin swim excursion was the high point of our cruise experience. The cruise overall was great, but this excursion was everyone's favorite single event. We all had so much fun! The trainers were friendly and knowledgeable. We debated whether to do the dolphin swim or the encounter, and were so happy we spent a bit more to do the swim. We felt like we got so much more out of it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Swim part was great - down time very bad

PostedDecember 23, 2014
ivmost
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The swimming with the dolphins was great! The dolphins trainers were also very entertaining. The only reason I do not recommend this is that there is too much wasted time. If you are okay with riding in a van, waiting for the boat ferry , riding the ferry, waiting for ferry pickup, riding ferry, waiting (almost an hour) for van ride back to ship, then go ahead. All the waiting was VERY annoying, but the swim itself was really cool. They let other guests take pics of you swimming (and visa versa). They also took some nice professional shots. Even though the time in the water with dolphins was short (5 -10 minutes), it seemed enough to me.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best part of our cruise

PostedDecember 22, 2014
VacsMedic
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the best part of our cruise. The group that lead the excursion were polite, caring, and all had a great sense of humor. It was an amazing experience to free swim with the Dolphins. I highly recommend it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion!

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Graciebella
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was our favorite. The staff was awesome and the dolphins were amazing. I would recommend this excursion to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience! Glad we did this!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
DizzyD
from Wetumpka, Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I found this last minute and so glad I canceled my other excursion for this one! This one you actually swim with the dolphins one-on-one side-by-side and get to do tricks with them. Our trek getting there was organized and easy; about a 20 min taxi ride that is provided for you. Then about a 20 min boat ride to the dolphin exhibit. Captain Buddy was awesome, fun and laid back free spirit. Our dolphin trainer Lamond was just as awesome as well. We were in a group of 12 split into two groups of 6. The first 6 got their 1-on-1 time with their dolphin for about 15-20 mins; then got to do tricks with them including a kiss and a hug. While this happens the other 6 are allowed to use your cameras and take your pictures for you. Then the two groups swap and then you use their cameras to take their pictures. Professional pictures are also available to buy at a cheap price. This was well worth the price to me and we would do it again in a heart beat!!!! Next time I want to do the Open Water Dolphin Swim they offer only available at 9:00am. We did this swim on Nov 7, 2014 and the water felt chilly to your feet but I promise you I got used to the water temperature full body really quickly and for me I don't usually swim in Alabama until July!!!! So don't be afraid of the water temperature in November. And don't hesitate to do this excursion, I promise you the price and experience is well worth it!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
AprilRuth
from Gaffney, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Everyone involved, from 'Captain Buddy', who took us to the swim site, to the trainers who were so enthusiastic and willing to share their knowledge, were AMAZING! Thrill of a life time!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much fun!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Ashley1014
from Utah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had so much fun in this excursion. We were on our honeymoon and decided to splurge and pay the extra money to do something we have always wanted to do. We weren't disappointed at all. The trainers were so nice and added to the experience. We got to swim with the dolphins, then do tricks with them, get our photos taken with them, then at the end they had them do several flips. It was such an amazing unforgettable experience. One other plus is they allowed us to use our own cameras :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Experience

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Miceli21
from Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My husband and I did this excursion and we're really glad we did. Initially we booked the Dolphin Encounter but so glad we upgraded to the Swim for a little extra money. Definitely worth it. Patrick was our trainer and Indy was the dolphin, they were both amazing. We were in a group of 6 so my husband was the first to kiss and hug Indy and then it was my turn. After we each did that my husband got his time swimming with Indy. He enjoyed swimming underwater with him because he said he could hear him communicating under there. My swim was good as well but all Indy wanted me to do is rub his belly, he was upside down almost our entire swim. Then 2 other people got in the water and we did tricks with them by doing hand signals. Then my husband and I got out and it was 2 other couples turn. After everyone got their turn and everyone was out of the water Patrick had Indy do several other tricks and flips. Very neat experience! Even though the excursion is rather pricey already, I recommend taking a little extra cash to tip the trainer.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome experience!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
VivMcIntire
from Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I went on this excursion early September of 2014 and it was such a wonderful experience. We swam with 3 different dolphins. We had a grandmother, mom, and son. The son, Cocoa was only 10 months old! He was full of life and very playful. We were told important information about the dolphins which was very interesting. We each individually swam with the dolphins for 20 mins I would say then did group tricks and photos. They did allow you to take photos of your own and they took professional ones as well that you could purchase. Once you were done they did have some birds that you could touch as well as turtles. This is a must! The only thing about it was the price is a little high but when you look at the same excursion elsewhere you could pay more so it wasn't too bad.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>