Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins

Swim with the Dolphins

See how remarkably intelligent and friendly dolphins can be when you take a swim with them!
Overall rating:
4.851 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
86
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
89 out of 93(96%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins
Review 1 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TOO MUCH FUN!

PostedJune 29, 2015
Tracey15
from Dove Creek, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the Boat ride and staff to the location of swim and staff, EVERYONE was GREAT! I would recommend this shore excursion to anyone who wants to actually swim with the dolphins and have a great time with the hilarious staff.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth EVERY SINGLE penny!!

PostedJune 28, 2015
JustJenn
from Houston, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing I've done throughout the last 43 years of my life compares in any way to the experience my family and I had on this excursion.
First and foremost, every single staff member we encountered was extremely friendly. (Quite a few were beyond fantastic... Conrad "the birdman" taking the cake on this he was so awesome to visit with!)
The boat ride (to and fro the dolphins) was beautiful and very relaxing. Our boat captain was funny & friendly, as we're the dolphin trainers. It's the dolphins themselves though that truly makes the experience shine the brightest... let me just say WOW! Swimming with such beautiful creatures so freely... it kind of puts one at a loss for words it's just so spectacular!
As for me and my family, we can't wait to do it again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An unforgettable excursion!

PostedJune 22, 2015
Mel98
from Altoona, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Something that took me out of my comfort zone, but worth it! The staff was fun, knowledgeable, and made it that much better
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJune 8, 2015
mrsbudz
from Baltimore, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved this excursion! Can't wait to do it again
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looooove this

PostedJune 5, 2015
Helton15
from Kenosha, wi
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the third dolphin swim I've done and this place is by far the best!!!! This exceeded my expectations everyone was so nice n so amazing! The dolphin time was longer than I thought! DEFF doing this again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highlight of our cruise!!!

PostedJune 1, 2015
davenlynne25
from chambersburg pa.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
swimming with the dolphins exceeded our expectations by far!! This was the grand finally of our cruise.The trainer we had was very knowledgeable,friendly and funny!! would definatley do this again!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was the best excursion I have been on.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Tootnme
from Plano, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have cruised 6 times. This is by far the best excursion I have been on. We actually got to swim by ourselves with the Dolphins. Our trainers were in the side of the lagoon and we got to swim with the Dolphins by ourselves. If we would dive underwater the dolphin would dive with us. Well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedMay 11, 2015
traceyandmiranda
from Hamburg, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best money I spent. This exceeded all expectations. Groups are small, only 2 people at a time in the water, with 2 dolphins, we each had our own! Then your group of about 6, get in the water and you each are able to give the dolphins signals to have them do tricks. Then you get photographs taken with a hug, kiss, and swim with a dolphin. The cost was surprisingly affordable. And, You ARE ALLOWED TO HAVE CAMERAS OR PHONES, and others in the group can take pictures while you are in the water, and you do the same for them. This was absolutely amazing and the dolphins are remarkable. If you ever wanted to do a dolphin swim, this is definitely worth the money, the highlight of our vacation!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedApril 29, 2015
StCroixTim
from Tampa, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a once in a lifetime event. We had time to free swim with our own dolphin one on one. We learned how to ask them to do tricks with us and had ample opportunity to take our own photos. The trainers were delightful and personable. I highly recommend this to anyone who ever wanted to interact with amazing dolphins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it, recomended

PostedApril 26, 2015
tangal
from USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We took this excursion because we wanted to swim up close and next to the dolphins. This tour delivered! Dolphins are trained to swim right next to you within touching distance the entire swim time (about 20 min a person) . You are encouraged to pet and stroke them.
Then you swim out and signal dolphins to do tricks in front of you, then do the swim back for a Dolpin hug, kiss and photo shot.
Trainers allow you to also use your camera and take photos as well. Trainers are very nice, knowledgeable and provide good info, and encourage questions.
The best part of our cruise by far!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent excursion!

PostedApril 26, 2015
sammrobb
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We originally signed up for the dolphin encounter, but upgraded to the dolphin swim instead. We sure are glad we did!!
First you take a 20 minute bus ride to the Unexso facility, which was uncomfortable and we were crammed in the bus like sardines, but that was the only downside to the whole excursion. The ride back was better, however, since we hopped in the front of the bus and talked to the bus driver the whole time. He was very knowledgeable, answering questions about Freeport and dolphins and whatever else.
Once at the Unexso facility, you take a 15-20 minute boat ride to the dolphin area. The ride was beautiful and Captain Ross was also great. We asked a ton of questions and he was super about answering them, and was funny and entertaining.
Once at the dolphin area, the trainers give you an overview of what is going to happen before the fun begins. Again, the trainers were awesome!! Very fun, very knowledgeable. We (again!! lol) asked a lot of questions and they were great about explaining all about the dolphins and how they work with them. They take the dolphins out for "walks" and allow them to hunt, trying to keep their instincts intact. You can tell that they really care about these beautiful creatures.
For the actual dolphin swim, you get in the water with flippers on and two people at at time swim around, and the trainers send the two dolphins out to swim with you. They are trained to follow you wherever you go, so you just swim along on your belly petting them while they stay by your side. You can even dive down under the water and they'll dive down with you. It was sooooo cool. After everyone swims, they have you line up out in the water and send the dolphins out to you to do tricks, and will tell you what hand signals to do, to get the dolphin to do whatever trick it is. Then they do more one-on-one things - swim toward the dock with the dolphin, kiss the dolphin, hug the dolphin, while they take pictures. After everyone is out of the water, they have the dolphins do a bunch of cool jumps.
You don't need water shoes.
Bring cash to tip the boat captain and the trainers (if you'd like).
There is a place to leave your stuff while you are in the water.
Bring a camera! Even though they will take pictures that you can purchase, you can also ask other people on the excursion to take pictures for you throughout your time in the water. We have probably 100 pictures and video that another cruiser took on my phone for us.
On the boat ride back to the Unexso facility, we took a different route through the open ocean and saw a pod of dolphins, with two teeny baby dolphins!! The captain stopped and circled around them so we could get a better look.
We definitely recommend this excursion!! It is a time I will never forget!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion on the cruise!

PostedApril 23, 2015
TheDon
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would rate this excursion as one of the best. The Dolphins are very smart and it was fun being in the water with them. The purchased pictures will help me relive this encounter over and over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Excursion is a Must!

PostedApril 19, 2015
mike0710
from South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We looked at a lot of different Dolphin excursions and chose this one. We hit the jackpot! I could not imagine It being any better. This was the highlight of our Vac. This is the real deal. The price is a little high but, WELL worth it. The trainers never got in the water with us. We dove in (Must be able to swim) with flippers only no life jackets which was really good because you cannot swim well with life jackets. We swam with the dolphins individualy for 5-10 min then as a family group. Dolphins were well trained and we actually got to give them hand signals to do tricks. The group was small (8). The Trainers were highly educated on the Dolphins and very entertaining. Would highly reccomend!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Once in a lifetime experience

PostedApril 3, 2015
JB15
from Austin, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This proved to be a once in a lifetime experience! Getting there was a little hectic though. It was about a 45 minute ride with a crazy driver and then a 20 minute boat ride to get to the dolphin lagoon but once we were there it was amazing. We were split into groups of 10-12 and then had two trainers for each group. We went in families and had 3 dolphins. They give you flippers and amazingly I was able to swim with them for about 30-45 minutes. They are trained to swim right next to you and they don't leave you unless the trainer calls them back. Our two trainers were amazing! They had both been there for about 15 years and you could tell the dolphins really loved them. Highly recommend if you ever had an interest in swimming with dolphins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You gotta do it!

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Bemidjifamily
from Bemidji, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the highlight of our entire cruise. All six of us went, ages 13-53, and all thoroughly enjoyed it! Lots of time in the water with the dolphins! Great boat guide and swim guide. Took a nice boat tour there, and a different route back. It is kind of expensive as you can see, but it is worth it! It was definitely the highlight of our cruise for all six of us!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent adventure to remember!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
JJUD
from Kansas City, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the first time for both my Daughter and I to swim with the Dolphins. It was a rather cold February day but we had already booked and figured this was a once in a lifetime experience. The trainers Melissa and Patrick were excellent and very knowledgeable. They introduced us to Cucoon and Coral. We each had about 15-20 mins with the dolphins swimming side by side. There were great opportunities for pics too!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Dolphin Swim

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
TX2AK2TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have done dolphin swim and dolphin encounters three times. This dolphin swim was the best of the the three. Lots of time was spent in the water with the dolphins and with previous dolphin swims we all lined up to pet and kiss the dolphins and then went one at a time out to the center of the pool and grabbed the dolphins fins as they pulled us to the side of the pool. This dolphin swim people went out two at a time and had lots of time to play and actually swim with the dolphins. The more you move around, the more the dolphins swim and dive around with you. Dive underwater and the dolphin will too. Wonderful pictures taken of hugging the dolphin. The best shore excursion we've ever been on.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not what I was expecting but pleasantly surprised

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
jdsmotherof5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did this excursion with my 5 kids ages 12-17 and we all had an experience of a lifetime. Four of us did a dolphin swim before in Cozumel which at the time we though was awesome until we truly did a dolphin swim. On this excursion it is not the dolphin doing what the trainer wanted it to do, it swims freely with you. It reacts to you if you swim out to the left so do they if you dive down under the water they will dive with you. You are allowed to pet them and love on them. We all fell in love; they where beautiful, playful, intelligent, and stole out hearts. The trainers and staff where wonderful as well.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth the money

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
rtrot
from Franklin, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was part of a family vacation with my wife and 2 teenage daughters. The dolphin swim excursion was the high point of our cruise experience. The cruise overall was great, but this excursion was everyone's favorite single event. We all had so much fun! The trainers were friendly and knowledgeable. We debated whether to do the dolphin swim or the encounter, and were so happy we spent a bit more to do the swim. We felt like we got so much more out of it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Swim part was great - down time very bad

PostedDecember 23, 2014
ivmost
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The swimming with the dolphins was great! The dolphins trainers were also very entertaining. The only reason I do not recommend this is that there is too much wasted time. If you are okay with riding in a van, waiting for the boat ferry , riding the ferry, waiting for ferry pickup, riding ferry, waiting (almost an hour) for van ride back to ship, then go ahead. All the waiting was VERY annoying, but the swim itself was really cool. They let other guests take pics of you swimming (and visa versa). They also took some nice professional shots. Even though the time in the water with dolphins was short (5 -10 minutes), it seemed enough to me.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>