Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins

Swim with the Dolphins

See how remarkably intelligent and friendly dolphins can be when you take a swim with them!
Overall rating:
4.868 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 114 reviews
5 Stars
105
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
107 out of 111(96%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins
Review 1 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedFebruary 5, 2016
from Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There were only 6 on this excursion, we had expected there to be more people to be with us so we were very happy to have more one on one time with the Dolphins. They gave us ample instructions on what to do and what not to do. It was an amazing adventure that I would recommend to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highlight of our vacation!

PostedJanuary 17, 2016
from Greensboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the best excursion. The bus ride to the marina was comfortable and our driver gave us lots of information about the Island. We then walked into a shop where we signed a waiver to go on the excursion. After a short wait, we boarded a boat that took us out to sea to get to the dolphin site (about 15-20 min). This was a great chance for pictures and see the clear water.
When arriving at the dolphin site, we were met by Omar (funny, laid back guy) for some simple do's and don'ts when in the water and to get our flippers. The water was a little chilly, but once swimming we didn't realize it. We got one-on-one time with the dolphins in a free swim for about 10 minutes. Then we got to perform tricks with the dolphins. Lastly, we got a hug and a kiss from a dolphin. We were in the water for about 20 minutes total. Remember to bring a towel!
There is a fresh water shower to get the salt off and a restroom to change out of your swimsuit. After meeting with the "birdie man" and seeing the cockatoo and the scarlet macaw, it was time to board the boat again. We were taken back to the marina a different route with calmer waters. We were given some time to buy pictures that were professionally taken and to shop a little before the bus took us back to the ship. This experience was worth every penny.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was an Amazing Adventure!

PostedJanuary 3, 2016
from Poquoson VA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
This excursion was one that we did on our Christmas (family) Carnival Cruise vacation this year (25 Dec 2015). Swimming with the Dolphins has been a 'bucket' list item for me for as long as I can remember. I think dolphins are amazing mammals! The excursion met and exceeded all our expectations. We have 4 children, ages ranging from 13 yrs to 30 years. They ALL loved it, as well as my husband and I did! It was really cool, having the freedom to swim, dive, and play with them! Swimming with the dolphins was a great workout as well! I can't say enough about the trip…I highly recommend it! The bus ride and boat ride were enjoyable as well. The staff at the Dolphin facility really made the adventure an A+! The trainers @ Unexso were awesome...so entertaining, personable, and all around great ladies! They really made us laugh! Thanks so much for making our Christmas so memorable!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This dolphin swim was amazing

PostedNovember 25, 2015
from Greensboro, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've never done a dolphins swim before this, and I have to say I hope they are all as great as this one is. On the drive over our bus driver treated us to some interesting facts about everyday life in the Bahamas. Once we were there we were immediately taken to the dolphin enclosures where we saw plenty of happy and healthy looking dolphins, there were ever two babies. The trainer's took plenty of time to make sure we all knew how to safely interact with our dolphin. From there we were allowed to free swim with them, dive down under the water and even feed them a fish or two. After the free swim we did dolphin comands and got a very fishy kiss for our pictures. They also allowed us to take as many pictures as we wanted on our personal devices too which a lot of places won't let you do. I found myself much more inclined to buy their pictures after that. I would definitely recommend it. I'd love to try this again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Amazing time with Dolphins

PostedNovember 6, 2015
from Charleston, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not knowing exactly what to expect and figuring this would be a chance to have minimal contact with the dolphins, we where blown away by these beautiful creators of the ocean. The staff was awesome, taking time to talk to everyone about the animals and the environment. They were patient and fun to hang out with. We were all able to swim at least 15 to 20 minutes with the dolphins. Touching them and learning just how gentle they are. Were you went in the water they came with you and just wanted to be with you. It was also a lot of fun to give the dolphins commands and have them preform which they love to do. We were about to get a lot of get shots and videos of our time with our own cameras for the memories to last a life time. The few professional shots were get and not too expensive either. Bottom line is that this was the best excursion we have been on anywhere and look forward to doing it again at Freeport in the future.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely amazing!

PostedNovember 2, 2015
from El Reno, OK
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I were on our honeymoon and I have always wanted to swim with the Dolphins. My husband was griping about the price until we actually did this excursion, he said the Dolphins alone were worth our entire trip. We had to take a short bus ride to Unexso to get on a boat that would take us to the Dolphins. The trainers were very cool. Each trainer took a small group. Half of the group would get in the water while the other half waited. One half of the group would take pictures and video for the group that was in the water and then the other group would return the favor. We actually swam with the Dolphins for about 15 minutes, which was amazing! 2 people at a time would swim, so that you get your own dolphin. After swimming, each person got to use any of the signals taught by the trainers and the Dolphins would come right to you and do their trick. After the tricks, we swam in with a dolphin and got pictures hugging and kissing them. It was worth every penny and we plan on going again to take our son.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best excursion

PostedOctober 11, 2015
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a fantastic excursion from the time that we (my husband and I) loaded the bus. The driver that transported us to the dock was entertaining and knowledgeable of the island. The captain of the boat to take us to the dolphin facility was personable and witty. Once we arrived at the facility the trainer was engaging and friendly. We obtained our flippers, and then jumped in the water. Each person got to swim with the dolphins for 15-20 minutes. the dolphin stayed with you, talked to you, and would mimic what ever you did. We were able to give commands to the dolphins and received a hug and kiss from the dolphin. All the staff here were just right down friendly. I would highly recommend this tour. We will be doing it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth the Money!

PostedOctober 6, 2015
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age:55-65
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still can't get the smile off my face from the Swim with the Dolphins in Freeport on 9/25/15. UNEXSO does such a wonderful job with their dolphins and this excursion is sooo much better than at Atlantis because they allow you to take your own photographs as well as purchase their professional prints (which are outstanding)!. Lemond is such an excellent trainer and their conservation efforts with the dolphins is impressive. Loved every minute of it and well worth the price! Do it--you won't regret it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My wife loved it

PostedSeptember 27, 2015
from Toccoa Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were on our honeymoon and it has been my wifes dream to swim with the dolphins. I believe this was the happiest I ever saw her maybe even happier than the I do's. Only bad thing is we did not carry much cash or credit cards and could not get but one picture. We went online to purchase and our pictures are not their to purchase.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it!

PostedSeptember 21, 2015
from New York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We left the cruise ship, took a 10-15 minute ride to the facility. We checked in at the desk, went out back to the dock, waited 10-15 minutes and boarded. Our captain was nice, did not talk or educate us on the area, this was about a 10 minute ride. When we arrived at the dolphin facility, we got out, we had planned on doing the open ocean dolphin swim, however after we had already been transported to the dolphin area, the trainer told us that the dolphin did not want to go out. While I understand that, I wish they had told me when we checked at the beginning.
With that being said, our entire group was bummed, but understood the situation. Our trainer had 2 dolphins for us to swim with. There was 6 of us, we all got in the water at the same time, and a different trainer took pictures on our phones and cameras. We each had ample time with the dolphins in the water.
While they did refund us the difference between the 2 excursions, it was very expensive. I would say that the prices of the pictures that the professionals take at the end, was worth it. They were very reasonably priced.
Overal a great experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely amazing!

PostedAugust 26, 2015
from Gilmer, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the cruise ship pier, we took a 15-20 minute bus ride to their main store where we checked in at a counter (which was quick), then headed outside to wait on benches beside the pool to board boats. We did not have to wait very long for everyone to check-in. The boat ride was maybe 10-15 minutes where the captain provided a lot of local information and history as we made our way down the coast and into an outlet. The Dolphin encounter and swim was located in a lagoon with docks all around the dolphin enclosures, so the water was nice and calm. For the swim, as soon as we got off the boat, they gave us flippers to wear and optionally had life jackets available which were not required. Our group had 12 people. Six people went in the water at one time, allowing those left on the dock to take as many pictures as desired with your own cameras (we took pictures for others in our group and they took pictures for us). You will not be able to touch the bottom when in the water. There is a rail to hold onto when in the water but not actually swimming with the dolphins. We were sent out two at a time to swim with two dolphins. Each person had their own dolphin. The dolphins would go where you went. If you went under, they would go under. If you came up, they would come up. If your dolphin somehow got ahead of you, no worrries, they would come right back around. You could pet them as much as you wanted. One dolphin liked to swim on her back so that you could rub her belly. After everyone had their turn (which did not feel rushed at all), then all six people swam out to the middle where the trainers showed you some hand signals to get the dolphins to do tricks. Each person got to signal two tricks, the second one that you chose yourself. At the end, you swam back with a dolphin on either side of you (which they took a picture of) and got a kiss on the lips from a dolphin (which they also took a picture of). You could purchase their pictures back in their main shop once you returned ($26.82 for two pictures). The experience was absolutely amazing and I was ready to do it again! WATCH FOR A WHITEBOARD IN THE MAIN SHOP. This will have the bus shuttle return times. The wil have the time listed first in ship's time, and then after a comma in local time. There were two groups that went out to the encouter. We were in the first. We missed our shuttle back because we had lunch at their sit-down restaurant. The food was VERY good, but a little pricey ($53 for two people for entrees and sodas). With extra time to kill before the second shuttle back, you could purchase pictures, look around the good size store, or swim in their 17 foot deep swimming pool.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GREAT

PostedAugust 19, 2015
from Tennessee
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best Excursion yet BY FAR! may be a little Pricey but this was FUN the trainers new there stuff the STAFF was Great and even the boat ride to and from was entertaining. Id recomened this for anyone
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You Will LOVE This!!!

PostedAugust 15, 2015
from Martinsburg
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
This excursion will definitely meet your expectations!!! The short boat ride is fun. The trainers are great and entertaining as well. Our trainer David allowed our group to split up into two smaller groups of 5 which allowed longer swim times with the dolphins!!! This was AMAZING!!! The only thing you swim with are flippers no life vests so be a good swimmer. Our trainer allowed each group to hand off our cameras to one another so we all had tons of pictures of each group. This is must do excursion in Freeport!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beat our expectations!!!!

PostedJuly 31, 2015
from SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
The staff was super friendly and only took a short scenic boat ride to get to the location.The Dolphins were incredible. We spent a great amount of time in the water with the Dolphins.It was worth every penny spent and the highlight of our trip!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion ever!

PostedJuly 22, 2015
from Crestwood, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an awesome shore excursion. We got off the ship and met our group. The shuttle bus driver was very nice and informative. They took us to the UNEXSO facility. Everyone there was so nice. We waited just a bit for our boat to take us to the actual swim. The boat ride was amazing and the captain's were funny and talked to us the whole way. It was beautiful!! The actual swim with the dolphins was amazing. My 16 and 14 yr old had a blast. My hubby and I loved it as well. Once in a lifetime experience. The trainers were very knowledagable and gave us plenty of time to swim with the dolphins. They let us take our own pics and they also took pics. There were 12 people total in our group. WE each had plenty of time to swim and meet the dolphins. I highly recommend this excursion
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was a lot of fun!

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always wanted to swim with dolphins ever since my parents took me to see a dolphin show when I was little. This was my first cruise and all of the excursions seemed pricey. At first I wasn't going to do this excursion because of the price but my aunt talked me into it. I am so glad I did it! Both instructors were amazing! They were funny and we all had a great time with the Dolphins. The group before us was small and so were we. There were nine people in our group, two wonderful instructors, and two very well trained Dolphins. We went two at a time so we would have about 15 minutes to free swim with a dolphin by ourself. After everyone took a turn the group was split in half so some could take pics while the Dolphins did tricks with the rest of us. The Dolphins kissed us and hugged us. They also did a number of other tricks for us. The pictures were ready for us when we arrived back at the gift shop. They do allow you to take your own pics but you will have to ask another person in your group to take pics while he or she is not in the water. I would do this excursion again in a heart beat! We didn't have to worry about being late to the ship since we booked through the ship; therefore, they couldn't leave without us. Don't let the price scare you away. It was an amazing experience!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun time

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excursion for all to enjoy wether your a swimmer or not, life jackets are available if you need. The entire staff from the boat captain to the dolphin trainers interacted with everyone making you feel like friends. The time with the dolphins was great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUCKER UP AND FEEL THE LOVE

PostedJuly 11, 2015
from Valrico, Florida. USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
O.M.G. what fun !!! If you have never received a kiss or hug from a dolphin you will never experience an encounter like this. Our family was overwhelmed by the unforgettable memory of this excursion. Our 12 year old daughter had the unforgettable time of her life. This excursion is well worth the time and money. We not only spent time one on one with he amazingly well trained dolphins but the trainers were very knowledgeable and gave us so much information on the mammal's. We got to dance, swim, spit fight and so much more with our new found friends. Truly amazing and memorable experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fun

PostedJuly 11, 2015
from Clemmons, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time cruising. Well organized. Picked up at ship and taken to boat. Very scenic boat ride to dolphin sanctuary. Met by trainers as soon as we got off the boat to start our swim. Small group of twelve allowed each person to have individual time with the dolphins. The trainers were excellent and gave commands to the dolphins to interact with us. It was a fabulous experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely worth it

PostedJuly 11, 2015
from Anderson, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Swim is worth the money. Everyone was fantastic from the bus ride, to the boat ride, to the trainers and of course the dolphins. This Swim exceeded all expectations. We got to spend a lot of one on one time with the dolphins.
This was a dream come true. Next time I go back to Freeport, I'm doing this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>