Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins

Swim with the Dolphins

See how remarkably intelligent and friendly dolphins can be when you take a swim with them!
Overall rating:
4.755 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
46 out of 49(94%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins
Review 1 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth the Money!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Guest avatar
ChristyW
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This excursion was well worth the money! It took about a 20 minute drive to the island, and then another 20 minute boat ride to the dolphin area, but the scenery was worth a trip on it's own. Our group only had 8 people, so we got to spend a lot of time with the dolphins. They give you lots of opportunities for photo ops. We were able to bring our cameras, so we got some great pictures on our own. The photographer also took some great ones, too, so we also chose to purchase a few. Definitely a once in a lifetime experience!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Stephanie8242
from Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When we got of the ship in Freeport there were people holding signs and directed you to the excursion waiting area which was very close to the ship. They took us on a (very crowded) shuttle ride about 30 mins to Unexso where they gave us wrist bands. From there we took a 15 min boat ride to the excursion. When we got there, anyone doing the close encounter went one direction and people swimming with the dolphins went another.
There were 11 swimmers (including myself) in our group. The instructors went over details with us beforehand and split us into two groups. We took turns swimming with the dolphins, doing tricks with them and getting hugs and kisses with them. The ones not in the water at the time used our cameras and took pics and videos for us. The worst part to me was one of the two instructors. He just seemed very bland and monotone like he had done it too many times before. After we finished we went to the waiting area where they had some tropical birds you could take pics with until the close encounter people finished (there were a lot more people in that excursion).
The overall experience was amazing in my opinion. I have done the close encounter in Freeport in the past with a different company and highly recommend swimming over the close encounter.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You will walk away with the biggest smile on your face!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Guest avatar
JIWN
from Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I cannot believe I actually had a chance to do this! I was hesitant at first as it's so pricey...but it was absolutely amazing! I'm not going to say it "worth the money" because I do feel that they could lower the price...but I'm glad I spent it - it was a once in a lifetime opportunity!
If you go, bring your camera, you can ask those who are on the dock to take pics of you, and then return the favor when they go in the water...it was a great way to save money on the pics they take.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much fun!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Guest avatar
Bethany1
from Slidell, Louisiana
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The price of this excursion was questionable, but my best friend and I ended up booking it. We looked over many other dolphin excursions, and we were so glad we chose this one. We started off taking a 20 minute bus ride to a gift shop/restaurant/boat launch. At the boat launch, however, we waited a very long time to take another long boat ride to the dolphin place. No drinks were provided and we got thirsty quickly. The boat ride was gorgeous though and our captain was hilarious and very friendly (water was provided once we got on the boat). We were easily guided to where our excursion was and immediately started to take part in it. We had a group of 17 which was split into two groups. The best part about the split is that those who were standing on the side waiting could take pictures of you in the water while you were swimming with the dolphins! We had a good amount of free swim with the dolphins and then we were able to perform behaviors with them and pose for pictures in many ways. No amount of time with the dolphins would've been enough time!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best experience ever

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Guest avatar
14Luv2cruise
from Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow! Without a doubt the best excursion we have ever been on. Lots of time in the water with the dolphins, we never felt rushed. A small group made for a great time. Those that were not in the water with us made sure we had a ton of pictures on our camera. If you are thinking of a swim with the dolphins, this is definately the excursion for you. Don't wait!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Guest avatar
mrignat2
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the BEST part of the EXCURSION if you ever wanted to put something on your to do list this is ONE you will love it and I would do it again..
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best dolphin experience ever!!!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Guest avatar
Wendy2013
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our 2nd dolphin experience and was absolutely amazing. You got to swim one on one with the dolphins, with or without a lifejacket. They were very gentle and stayed right with you! The trainers were very knowledgeable and answered any questions that were asked. Some of the kids even got to feed the dolphins. Bring your cameras along!!! Great photo opportunities and beautiful scenery and boat ride as well.
ASK FOR CAPTAIN BEN!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great experience

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Guest avatar
cruiser101
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We cruised back in Feb 2013 and wanted to make one stop @ swimming with the dolphins. This excursion had great reviews so we booked it ahead of time. The bus ride and boat ride to the dolphins was great with a interesting/informative tour guides. We each had plenty of time with the dolphins and were able to kiss, pet, and swim with them. If you are looking for a once in the lifetime excursion with the dolphins make a stop here.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very cool experience

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Guest avatar
JOLO
from Dallas, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought it was a lot of fun. It was really cool to actually get to swim with and touch the dolphins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than Discovery Cove!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Guest avatar
Juliesmiles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought it was a little pricey but after I saw the smile on my daughter's face feel it was well worth it. We did Discovery Cove a few years back and because my daughter was only 4, couldn't remember it so well, so we tried this one and I will admit IT WAS AWESOME!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Guest avatar
Luvmypuppies
from New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the ultimate dolphin experience. I could have gone back home that night and been satisfied. This was the most memorable part of my trip and I traveled alone!! Absolutely beautiful mammals and so intelligent! If I ever go back to Freeport, would be on my list. Worth every penny!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved It! Loved It! Loved It! A wonderful birthday present

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Guest avatar
Ldy1115
from Laurel, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This excursion was the best experience I've ever had! I had to convince my husband to do it with me. I was nervous but it is something that I always wanted to do. The dolphins and the trainers were EXCELLENT! I got a special kiss from both dolphins for my birthday. I am ready to do the open sea swim with the dolphins now. My husband even said that he is in love with dolphins now. I highly recommend this excursion. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highlight of our honeymoon cruise!

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Guest avatar
WillWork4Shoes
from Raleigh, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was the highlight of our honeymoon cruise! We decided we were only going to spend money on one excursion, and I am glad we picked this one. My husband and I got the opportunity to swim and dive with the dolphins (Exuma and Pearl). Then as a group we got to perform 2 tricks each with them. Then my husband and I together (though we had the option of doing it separately) swam back with the dolphins, and then we had the chance to hug and kiss them for photos. Then the dolphins (along with a 3rd dolphin) performed some tricks (jumping, spins, etc.) for us. It was a bit expensive, but such a wonderful experience. I wish there was a video option to capture the experience. Patrick (our main guide) was very nice and funny. He shared a lot of interesting information about dolphins with us. Unfortunately, I had bought an (overpriced) underwater digital camera from the ship shop for this excursion, but we weren't allowed to use them in the water. We had one of the other guests take photos/video for us...but it would have been nice to have a "professional" video as well in addition to the photos.
We didn't have a long time to spend at the gift shop or in the pool or restaurant because the bus driver had a schedule, but we did spend some time time (doing our own thing) at the Straw Market after we got back before having to re-board the ship.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The "Icing on the cake!!!!"

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Guest avatar
ldduncan1
from Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the BEST way to finish off an already incredible cruise. I highly recommend it. BY all means, if you can swing it, do it! It was my wife and I and ten other people #couples/singles#. It was very well organized from the time we got off the ship to the time we returned. And, the amount of time each pair of two got to swim with the dolphins far exceeded what I thought. They are such gentle creatures. The complex is clean and the dolphins are taken care of very well. It's hard to explain the range of emotions we felt seeing the dolphins, watching them do tricks, and then getting to get in the water and touching one while it swims right next to you. The folks that did the dolphin experience finished before we did and watched us and many commented they wished they would've did the swim. It was an all around AWESOME experience! Oh yeah, and swap cameras with with another couple and take each others' pictures. That's what we did and still bought the pictures taken by the staff.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Check one off the bucket list.... amazing experience

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Guest avatar
plattwear
from Lufkin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This excursion was what I looked forward to the most when planning our cruise and we were not disappointed at all. The trainers and the staff were all friendly. Beautiful scenery on the boat ride to and from Sanctuary Bay. If you can swim I recommend that you not use the life jackets and that you bring a face mask so that you can dive under the water during your free swim. The trainers said that the dolphins enjoy diving. I dove under five times and each time my dolphin followed me and surfaced the same time I did. It was awesome swimming next to her and touching her underwater. I could also hear her making noises. When it came time for the photos 2 dolphins decided to kiss me at once. It was just Wonderful!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally Awesome!

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Guest avatar
ELKirk
from Hinckley, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was definitely the highlight of our cruise. Far exceeded our expectations. Patrick and Shari were great trainers and were very enthusiastic people and answered all our questions. We had plenty of time with the very smart dolphins who stayed right by our side. We were aloud to have people on the dock take pictures with our cameras and also bought professional pictures, which were not that bad cost wise. I would highly recommend this excursion to anyone who has ever wanted to swim with dolphins. Yes it is a little pricey but is a once in a life time chance. You will not regret it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a must do excursion

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Guest avatar
itsrikkig
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
loved every minute of this excursion. if you want to know what it is like to have one on one time just you and a dolphin do this excursion. first they have a free swim with you and the dolphin . it will do what you do . if you dive it will dive if you go left or right it will follow. then they have you line up and you tell the dolphins to due tricks with hand signals .they do allow you to video tape and take pictures while on the excursions plus they take pictures of your dolphin swim you can purchase.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds any expectations you could want.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Guest avatar
Kensley
from Salisbury, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
I took my Granddaughter on this trip as part of her high school graduation. We took this swim as an excursion from the cruise ship, never expecting what we encountered. It was the best swim anyone could ever want. I had been on two other swims with my daughters in past years and thought this would be the same but found this much more than I could wish for. It is expensive but if you really want to swim with a dolphin this is the one for you. There is very little walking required and no waiting time. The boat ride to the site is beautiful and the guides are the best.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
plattwear
Lufkin, TX
 
Please wait while more information about plattwear is loaded.
Additional information about plattwear could not be loaded.
where do they drop you off afterwards?
Posted August 14, 2013
After the swim do they drop you back off at the pier or Port Lucaya?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The experience of a lifetime!

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Guest avatar
Jan99
from Burlington, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I am so glad I chose this dolphin experience over the other ones. IMO, there's just no comparison to being able to actually swim alongside them in deep water. It was lightly raining the day we did it and it was still awesome. From the bus driver to the boat captain to the dolphin trainers, everyone was fantastic and friendly. Once we got there we were given a pair of fins and two at a time got in deep water to swim and each interact with a dolphin. They are trained to mimic whatever you do, dive under or whatever and you can touch them as much as you want. Then you get out in the water and the trainers send the dolphins out to you and you give them commands and they do tricks. After that you get a hug and a kiss. After everyone is done the trainers have the dolphins do a bunch of tricks and high jumps to say goodbye. The people watching take pictures for you while you're in the water and you can get some great shots. There's also a photographer on hand if you want to buy photos. It was pricey but worth every penny. I highly recommend it and I'll definitely do it again if I ever go back. You are not required to tip the trainers but I wished I had taken enough money so I could have.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!

PostedMay 5, 2013
Guest avatar
Heather83
from Danville, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was a little nervous when booking this because it was so expensive. It was worth every penny!!!! It's about a 25min bus ride to the Unexso building, then a 15min boat ride to the actual dolphins. That seems long but the bus driver gave us an excellent tour on the ride and so did the people operating the boat. Everyone we encountered was above and beyond nice and full of information. The dolphins were amazing, you have a free swim time with them where they let you go out 2 at a time, and then they show you tricks to do with them. At the end you get a private show from the dolphins which was a lot of fun to watch. The groups are small, only 12 max., and only 6 in the water at a time so it's really personal. Got great video and pictures. Was our favorite excursion we did on the trip. We had the 2 dolphins Exzuma and Cora!!! Can not say enough good things about the staff at Unexso!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Guest avatar
Heather83
Danville, KY
 
Please wait while more information about Heather83 is loaded.
Additional information about Heather83 could not be loaded.
Posted May 30, 2013
I would say about 30 min. They let 6 people out at a time, on ours their were just 2 dolphins. I've seen video on youtube though where some groups had 4 dolphins. Once your in the water, or at least on our trip 2 people swam at a time for the free swim and you had your own dolphin which followed your every move. I say that lasted somewhere close to 10 min. Then they have all 6 of you get in a line and you take turns calling a dolphin over to you and doing a hand gesture to make it preform a trick, that took about another 10 min. Then last you do the photo's where you swim up with the dolphins, then they kiss and you hug them. I say half the 3 hours for the whole thing was taken up in the trip to and from the area, but in the end I felt it was worth it since theres not a whole lot to do in freeport. It was like a 20min bus ride to the Unexso building then another 10 min boat ride to the actual place they keep the dolphins. Afterwards they let you walk around the place for a bit while waiting for the boat to return to take you back. They had parrots you could touch and hold and turtles. It took me a while to get over the sticker price of the whole thing but in the end I'm so glad we did it. Any other questions feel free to ask, I wish I knew more about some of this stuff before we went!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Guest avatar
Tylermommy
New york
 
Please wait while more information about Tylermommy is loaded.
Additional information about Tylermommy could not be loaded.
information
Posted May 29, 2013
Hi we r going in August to Freeport just wondering how much reaction time u actually get in the water with the dolphins. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
1 2 3 next>>