Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins

Swim with the Dolphins

See how remarkably intelligent and friendly dolphins can be when you take a swim with them!
Overall rating:
4.822 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
70 out of 73(96%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins
Review 1 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion!

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Guest avatar
Graciebella
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was our favorite. The staff was awesome and the dolphins were amazing. I would recommend this excursion to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience! Glad we did this!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
DizzyD
from Wetumpka, Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I found this last minute and so glad I canceled my other excursion for this one! This one you actually swim with the dolphins one-on-one side-by-side and get to do tricks with them. Our trek getting there was organized and easy; about a 20 min taxi ride that is provided for you. Then about a 20 min boat ride to the dolphin exhibit. Captain Buddy was awesome, fun and laid back free spirit. Our dolphin trainer Lamond was just as awesome as well. We were in a group of 12 split into two groups of 6. The first 6 got their 1-on-1 time with their dolphin for about 15-20 mins; then got to do tricks with them including a kiss and a hug. While this happens the other 6 are allowed to use your cameras and take your pictures for you. Then the two groups swap and then you use their cameras to take their pictures. Professional pictures are also available to buy at a cheap price. This was well worth the price to me and we would do it again in a heart beat!!!! Next time I want to do the Open Water Dolphin Swim they offer only available at 9:00am. We did this swim on Nov 7, 2014 and the water felt chilly to your feet but I promise you I got used to the water temperature full body really quickly and for me I don't usually swim in Alabama until July!!!! So don't be afraid of the water temperature in November. And don't hesitate to do this excursion, I promise you the price and experience is well worth it!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Guest avatar
AprilRuth
from Gaffney, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Everyone involved, from 'Captain Buddy', who took us to the swim site, to the trainers who were so enthusiastic and willing to share their knowledge, were AMAZING! Thrill of a life time!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much fun!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Guest avatar
Ashley1014
from Utah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had so much fun in this excursion. We were on our honeymoon and decided to splurge and pay the extra money to do something we have always wanted to do. We weren't disappointed at all. The trainers were so nice and added to the experience. We got to swim with the dolphins, then do tricks with them, get our photos taken with them, then at the end they had them do several flips. It was such an amazing unforgettable experience. One other plus is they allowed us to use our own cameras :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Experience

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Miceli21
from Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My husband and I did this excursion and we're really glad we did. Initially we booked the Dolphin Encounter but so glad we upgraded to the Swim for a little extra money. Definitely worth it. Patrick was our trainer and Indy was the dolphin, they were both amazing. We were in a group of 6 so my husband was the first to kiss and hug Indy and then it was my turn. After we each did that my husband got his time swimming with Indy. He enjoyed swimming underwater with him because he said he could hear him communicating under there. My swim was good as well but all Indy wanted me to do is rub his belly, he was upside down almost our entire swim. Then 2 other people got in the water and we did tricks with them by doing hand signals. Then my husband and I got out and it was 2 other couples turn. After everyone got their turn and everyone was out of the water Patrick had Indy do several other tricks and flips. Very neat experience! Even though the excursion is rather pricey already, I recommend taking a little extra cash to tip the trainer.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome experience!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Guest avatar
VivMcIntire
from Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I went on this excursion early September of 2014 and it was such a wonderful experience. We swam with 3 different dolphins. We had a grandmother, mom, and son. The son, Cocoa was only 10 months old! He was full of life and very playful. We were told important information about the dolphins which was very interesting. We each individually swam with the dolphins for 20 mins I would say then did group tricks and photos. They did allow you to take photos of your own and they took professional ones as well that you could purchase. Once you were done they did have some birds that you could touch as well as turtles. This is a must! The only thing about it was the price is a little high but when you look at the same excursion elsewhere you could pay more so it wasn't too bad.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most memorable

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Pegtay2002
from Ashland, Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was such a great experience. We started on a bus ride to the dock. From there we had two boats take us up a canal (nice scenic view) to the lagoon. From there we split into swimmers and dolphin experience ( which was a large crowd) it was one of the memorable day of life!! Groups were spilt 5 and 4. While one group is in, the other takes pictures for you! The trainers were great and the dolphins were the best:).
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pricey but fun

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Guest avatar
SMT40
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was smooth and seamless. People were very friendly. We had a great time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We had such a good time.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Yankeesgville
from Gilbertsville, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
the trainers were excellent and made this a memorable adventure. Just don't tell the dolphins they smell like fish, lol. They will splash you. Worth the money!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend!!!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Warlick07
from North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I went on the dolphin swim excursion this past weekend. I would highly recommend this to anyone! Even though our ship was delayed arriving to Freeport because of strong currents, they still allowed everyone to get plenty of time in the water with the dolphins. The trainers were very fun and helped make the experience just that much better! Even the bus ride to Unexso was worth-while, as the driver provided a great deal of interesting information about the islands!
Don't hesitate to do this one!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome excursion, highly recommend!!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Guest avatar
TexFan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I highly recommend this excursion. Lots of fun. Everyone got to swim with a dolphin individually and then perform some behaviors as a group. Excellent trainers that were funny and well informed. They really made it a great experience. Underwater cameras were not allowed, but the group was divided in two so while one group was swimming, the other was taking pictures. Would definitely do again!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Guest avatar
Peggyj
from Elkton, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Swimming with the dolphins is an awesome experience. The staff are exceptional and the experience is something you will never forget. We took our grandchildren (ages 14 & 17). They were not sure they wanted to do this excursion, but had a blast. The cost is a little high, but so worth the money. I would definitely do this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Missy24
from North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I did this excursion, and it was amazing!! The trainers were a lot of fun and we had lots of time with the dolphins..there was only 6 of us in the group which made it nice.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic fun!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Sherri44
from Charlottesville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The dolphins are SO sweet! The trainers are awesome! It was the best experience of my life! Would totally recommend this for great family fun!
We actually connected with the Dolphins. They have there own individual personalities and are so loving. I didn't want to leave. The staff is great! All very helpful and sweet! I will definitely go back to see them.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If You Can Swim, Swim with Dolphins!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Guest avatar
Scott314
from Upper Arlington, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a mediocre swimmer and a below-average treader, I was apprehensive about what would be required of me on this excursion. We were given flippers and split up into two groups of 4-6 people. I watched half of my family in the first group and it was awesome! As my girls swam (very casually) the dolphins swam next to them. Cool. We also had the enjoyment of listening in as our trainer trained another trainer. The flippers really helped with my apprehension about treading water. The dolphins did tricks with us nearby and we got a great "finale" of being pulled between two swimming dolphins and then getting a hug and a kiss from them. Definitely the highlight of our whole week.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Daughters enjoyed this excursion very much.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Guest avatar
heniki
from RI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
My two Daughters, ages 23 & 18 (it just so happened to be on the 18 year old's birthday) went on this Dolphin excursion. They absolutely loved it. They said it was the highlight of their week. They swam with the dolphins, kissed them, got kissed by them, & hugged them. The excursion was purchased through Carnival Cruise Line and I felt very safe allowing my Daughters to go with their guide without me. From pick up at the ship to drop off back at the ship, they were never on their own. This is one excursion I hope to be able to do with my Daughters in the future.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great experience

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Guest avatar
BBLusch14
from Nanty Glo, Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My Husband and I did this excursion. We had an amazing time. Most Dolphin excursions we saw were in more shallow water and the visitors had to wear life jackets. This excursion was in deep water without life jackets. We were able to, and encouraged to, dive down under the water with the dolphins. It was amazing. Would have liked to have a little more time in the water. Each couple were given about 30 minutes in the water with Zuma and Coral. And we were taught 4 different hand signals to give so the dolphins would perform for us. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. This was the perfect choice for anyone who is able to swim well. would love to do it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would totally do it again!

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Guest avatar
Steph5
from North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an amazing experience and I highly recommend! Once I got home and uploaded all my photos to fb, everyone started messaging me asking specifics so they could book this excursion. It was just my family of 6 in the lagoon (while 6 more people waited on the deck of the lagoon for their turn) and we each got a lot of one on one time with a dolphin. The trainers were wonderful, educated and funny. We all got to swim with the dolphins, do tricks with them, hug and kiss them. They were very cooperative and affectionate. I was pleasantly surprised at how much time we got to spend with them. The trainers also allowed us to take all of our on photos so the 6 people who were on the lagoon deck took our photos and then we took theirs when it was their turn. The company also took great quality photos that were available for purchase. This was our favorite part of our whole vacation.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Tracycruise14
red hill, pa
 
Please wait while more information about Tracycruise14 is loaded.
Additional information about Tracycruise14 could not be loaded.
This dolphin excursion...
Posted July 30, 2014
Can anyone tell me how you enter/exit the dolphin swim area? Is it a platform that drops off or is it a gradual entry like a beach/slope? Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Marshah
from Amarillo, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
We had a wonderful time swimming with the dolphins! This was our favorite excursion of our trip! The guides were very friendly and knowledgable . I highly recommend this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

PostedJune 24, 2014
Guest avatar
GiGi2
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were taken for a beautiful ride through the canal system by gorgeous houses to the lagoon where the dolphins were. We got to get in the water and be with the dolphins for 15 minutes in which time we swam, played by doing different hand signals, were kissed and hugged by these wonderful creatures. We then were taken for another boat ride in the fantastic blue waters of the Bahamas which was Awesome, back to the starting point. The whole experience was wonderful. Would do it again next time I go down. I'm 62 and had no problems with anything.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>