Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins

Swim with the Dolphins

See how remarkably intelligent and friendly dolphins can be when you take a swim with them!
Overall rating:
4.797 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
61 out of 64(95%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins
Review 1 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend!!!

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Warlick07
from North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I went on the dolphin swim excursion this past weekend. I would highly recommend this to anyone! Even though our ship was delayed arriving to Freeport because of strong currents, they still allowed everyone to get plenty of time in the water with the dolphins. The trainers were very fun and helped make the experience just that much better! Even the bus ride to Unexso was worth-while, as the driver provided a great deal of interesting information about the islands!
Don't hesitate to do this one!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome excursion, highly recommend!!

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Guest avatar
TexFan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I highly recommend this excursion. Lots of fun. Everyone got to swim with a dolphin individually and then perform some behaviors as a group. Excellent trainers that were funny and well informed. They really made it a great experience. Underwater cameras were not allowed, but the group was divided in two so while one group was swimming, the other was taking pictures. Would definitely do again!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Guest avatar
Peggyj
from Elkton, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Swimming with the dolphins is an awesome experience. The staff are exceptional and the experience is something you will never forget. We took our grandchildren (ages 14 & 17). They were not sure they wanted to do this excursion, but had a blast. The cost is a little high, but so worth the money. I would definitely do this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Missy24
from North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I did this excursion, and it was amazing!! The trainers were a lot of fun and we had lots of time with the dolphins..there was only 6 of us in the group which made it nice.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic fun!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Sherri44
from Charlottesville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The dolphins are SO sweet! The trainers are awesome! It was the best experience of my life! Would totally recommend this for great family fun!
We actually connected with the Dolphins. They have there own individual personalities and are so loving. I didn't want to leave. The staff is great! All very helpful and sweet! I will definitely go back to see them.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If You Can Swim, Swim with Dolphins!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Guest avatar
Scott314
from Upper Arlington, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a mediocre swimmer and a below-average treader, I was apprehensive about what would be required of me on this excursion. We were given flippers and split up into two groups of 4-6 people. I watched half of my family in the first group and it was awesome! As my girls swam (very casually) the dolphins swam next to them. Cool. We also had the enjoyment of listening in as our trainer trained another trainer. The flippers really helped with my apprehension about treading water. The dolphins did tricks with us nearby and we got a great "finale" of being pulled between two swimming dolphins and then getting a hug and a kiss from them. Definitely the highlight of our whole week.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Daughters enjoyed this excursion very much.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Guest avatar
heniki
from RI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
My two Daughters, ages 23 & 18 (it just so happened to be on the 18 year old's birthday) went on this Dolphin excursion. They absolutely loved it. They said it was the highlight of their week. They swam with the dolphins, kissed them, got kissed by them, & hugged them. The excursion was purchased through Carnival Cruise Line and I felt very safe allowing my Daughters to go with their guide without me. From pick up at the ship to drop off back at the ship, they were never on their own. This is one excursion I hope to be able to do with my Daughters in the future.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great experience

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Guest avatar
BBLusch14
from Nanty Glo, Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My Husband and I did this excursion. We had an amazing time. Most Dolphin excursions we saw were in more shallow water and the visitors had to wear life jackets. This excursion was in deep water without life jackets. We were able to, and encouraged to, dive down under the water with the dolphins. It was amazing. Would have liked to have a little more time in the water. Each couple were given about 30 minutes in the water with Zuma and Coral. And we were taught 4 different hand signals to give so the dolphins would perform for us. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. This was the perfect choice for anyone who is able to swim well. would love to do it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would totally do it again!

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Guest avatar
Steph5
from North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an amazing experience and I highly recommend! Once I got home and uploaded all my photos to fb, everyone started messaging me asking specifics so they could book this excursion. It was just my family of 6 in the lagoon (while 6 more people waited on the deck of the lagoon for their turn) and we each got a lot of one on one time with a dolphin. The trainers were wonderful, educated and funny. We all got to swim with the dolphins, do tricks with them, hug and kiss them. They were very cooperative and affectionate. I was pleasantly surprised at how much time we got to spend with them. The trainers also allowed us to take all of our on photos so the 6 people who were on the lagoon deck took our photos and then we took theirs when it was their turn. The company also took great quality photos that were available for purchase. This was our favorite part of our whole vacation.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Tracycruise14
red hill, pa
 
Please wait while more information about Tracycruise14 is loaded.
Additional information about Tracycruise14 could not be loaded.
This dolphin excursion...
Posted July 30, 2014
Can anyone tell me how you enter/exit the dolphin swim area? Is it a platform that drops off or is it a gradual entry like a beach/slope? Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Marshah
from Amarillo, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
We had a wonderful time swimming with the dolphins! This was our favorite excursion of our trip! The guides were very friendly and knowledgable . I highly recommend this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

PostedJune 24, 2014
Guest avatar
GiGi2
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were taken for a beautiful ride through the canal system by gorgeous houses to the lagoon where the dolphins were. We got to get in the water and be with the dolphins for 15 minutes in which time we swam, played by doing different hand signals, were kissed and hugged by these wonderful creatures. We then were taken for another boat ride in the fantastic blue waters of the Bahamas which was Awesome, back to the starting point. The whole experience was wonderful. Would do it again next time I go down. I'm 62 and had no problems with anything.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedMay 22, 2014
Guest avatar
Kathy25
from Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
The dolphins were so inquisitive and attentive. Even before anyone got in the water they would look at you while talking to them. Simply put, this excursion was awesome! It left me speechless!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was a blast!

PostedMay 6, 2014
Guest avatar
taximom2
from Seaford, DE
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour is one of the best we have ever done. The trainers were friendly, kind, and very knowledgeable. The group that signed up for the tour was small which allowed us plenty of 1 to 1 time with the dolphins. Then after that the trainers had the dolphins perform for us. This is one tour we would definitely do again. Majority of the pictures on our camera from the week were of this tour, and the smile on the kids' faces huge.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible experience, worth every penny!

PostedApril 20, 2014
Guest avatar
Brittany0408
from Greenville, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Do not hesitate to go on this excursion! You will have the most amazing time. You are in the water with the dolphins for a good 20-25 minutes, being able to play with them, hug them, kiss them, swim with them... you absolutely get your money's worth. We we're a little concerned that we wouldn't have enough play time with the dolphins for what we paid; definitely not the case. Being so up close and personal with these animals is such an indescribably incredible experience, it's something we will never forget. Our advice is DO this excursion, it's worth every cent, and when you're in the water with the dolphins- DON"T BE SCARED/SHY AWAY/USE ONE FINGER TO TOUCH THEM, you will ruin your chance to connect and bond with a beautiful creature. They love to be loved :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
BrittanyLeigh
New Bern NC
 
Please wait while more information about BrittanyLeigh is loaded.
Additional information about BrittanyLeigh could not be loaded.
Pictures
Posted April 28, 2014
Hi Brittany, thank you for your review. I plan on doing this excursion when I go on my cruise in two weeks. I was curious if you got your pictures taken and how much they cost and if they came out good? Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedApril 18, 2014
Guest avatar
Dgoor
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
My husband was not thrilled with the price of this excursion but when it was all said and done he agreed it was worth every penny. We here able to take our own photos and heard people that did the Atlantic Excursion of the Dolphin swim couldn't take photos. I would highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth the Money!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Guest avatar
ChristyW
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This excursion was well worth the money! It took about a 20 minute drive to the island, and then another 20 minute boat ride to the dolphin area, but the scenery was worth a trip on it's own. Our group only had 8 people, so we got to spend a lot of time with the dolphins. They give you lots of opportunities for photo ops. We were able to bring our cameras, so we got some great pictures on our own. The photographer also took some great ones, too, so we also chose to purchase a few. Definitely a once in a lifetime experience!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Stephanie8242
from Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When we got of the ship in Freeport there were people holding signs and directed you to the excursion waiting area which was very close to the ship. They took us on a (very crowded) shuttle ride about 30 mins to Unexso where they gave us wrist bands. From there we took a 15 min boat ride to the excursion. When we got there, anyone doing the close encounter went one direction and people swimming with the dolphins went another.
There were 11 swimmers (including myself) in our group. The instructors went over details with us beforehand and split us into two groups. We took turns swimming with the dolphins, doing tricks with them and getting hugs and kisses with them. The ones not in the water at the time used our cameras and took pics and videos for us. The worst part to me was one of the two instructors. He just seemed very bland and monotone like he had done it too many times before. After we finished we went to the waiting area where they had some tropical birds you could take pics with until the close encounter people finished (there were a lot more people in that excursion).
The overall experience was amazing in my opinion. I have done the close encounter in Freeport in the past with a different company and highly recommend swimming over the close encounter.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You will walk away with the biggest smile on your face!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Guest avatar
JIWN
from Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I cannot believe I actually had a chance to do this! I was hesitant at first as it's so pricey...but it was absolutely amazing! I'm not going to say it "worth the money" because I do feel that they could lower the price...but I'm glad I spent it - it was a once in a lifetime opportunity!
If you go, bring your camera, you can ask those who are on the dock to take pics of you, and then return the favor when they go in the water...it was a great way to save money on the pics they take.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much fun!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Guest avatar
Bethany1
from Slidell, Louisiana
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The price of this excursion was questionable, but my best friend and I ended up booking it. We looked over many other dolphin excursions, and we were so glad we chose this one. We started off taking a 20 minute bus ride to a gift shop/restaurant/boat launch. At the boat launch, however, we waited a very long time to take another long boat ride to the dolphin place. No drinks were provided and we got thirsty quickly. The boat ride was gorgeous though and our captain was hilarious and very friendly (water was provided once we got on the boat). We were easily guided to where our excursion was and immediately started to take part in it. We had a group of 17 which was split into two groups. The best part about the split is that those who were standing on the side waiting could take pictures of you in the water while you were swimming with the dolphins! We had a good amount of free swim with the dolphins and then we were able to perform behaviors with them and pose for pictures in many ways. No amount of time with the dolphins would've been enough time!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best experience ever

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Guest avatar
14Luv2cruise
from Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow! Without a doubt the best excursion we have ever been on. Lots of time in the water with the dolphins, we never felt rushed. A small group made for a great time. Those that were not in the water with us made sure we had a ton of pictures on our camera. If you are thinking of a swim with the dolphins, this is definately the excursion for you. Don't wait!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>