Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins

Swim with the Dolphins

See how remarkably intelligent and friendly dolphins can be when you take a swim with them!
Overall rating:
4.865 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 104 reviews
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
99 out of 103(96%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Swim with the Dolphins
Review 1 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely amazing!

PostedAugust 26, 2015
from Gilmer, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the cruise ship pier, we took a 15-20 minute bus ride to their main store where we checked in at a counter (which was quick), then headed outside to wait on benches beside the pool to board boats. We did not have to wait very long for everyone to check-in. The boat ride was maybe 10-15 minutes where the captain provided a lot of local information and history as we made our way down the coast and into an outlet. The Dolphin encounter and swim was located in a lagoon with docks all around the dolphin enclosures, so the water was nice and calm. For the swim, as soon as we got off the boat, they gave us flippers to wear and optionally had life jackets available which were not required. Our group had 12 people. Six people went in the water at one time, allowing those left on the dock to take as many pictures as desired with your own cameras (we took pictures for others in our group and they took pictures for us). You will not be able to touch the bottom when in the water. There is a rail to hold onto when in the water but not actually swimming with the dolphins. We were sent out two at a time to swim with two dolphins. Each person had their own dolphin. The dolphins would go where you went. If you went under, they would go under. If you came up, they would come up. If your dolphin somehow got ahead of you, no worrries, they would come right back around. You could pet them as much as you wanted. One dolphin liked to swim on her back so that you could rub her belly. After everyone had their turn (which did not feel rushed at all), then all six people swam out to the middle where the trainers showed you some hand signals to get the dolphins to do tricks. Each person got to signal two tricks, the second one that you chose yourself. At the end, you swam back with a dolphin on either side of you (which they took a picture of) and got a kiss on the lips from a dolphin (which they also took a picture of). You could purchase their pictures back in their main shop once you returned ($26.82 for two pictures). The experience was absolutely amazing and I was ready to do it again! WATCH FOR A WHITEBOARD IN THE MAIN SHOP. This will have the bus shuttle return times. The wil have the time listed first in ship's time, and then after a comma in local time. There were two groups that went out to the encouter. We were in the first. We missed our shuttle back because we had lunch at their sit-down restaurant. The food was VERY good, but a little pricey ($53 for two people for entrees and sodas). With extra time to kill before the second shuttle back, you could purchase pictures, look around the good size store, or swim in their 17 foot deep swimming pool.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GREAT

PostedAugust 19, 2015
from Tennessee
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best Excursion yet BY FAR! may be a little Pricey but this was FUN the trainers new there stuff the STAFF was Great and even the boat ride to and from was entertaining. Id recomened this for anyone
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You Will LOVE This!!!

PostedAugust 15, 2015
from Martinsburg
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
This excursion will definitely meet your expectations!!! The short boat ride is fun. The trainers are great and entertaining as well. Our trainer David allowed our group to split up into two smaller groups of 5 which allowed longer swim times with the dolphins!!! This was AMAZING!!! The only thing you swim with are flippers no life vests so be a good swimmer. Our trainer allowed each group to hand off our cameras to one another so we all had tons of pictures of each group. This is must do excursion in Freeport!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beat our expectations!!!!

PostedJuly 31, 2015
from SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
The staff was super friendly and only took a short scenic boat ride to get to the location.The Dolphins were incredible. We spent a great amount of time in the water with the Dolphins.It was worth every penny spent and the highlight of our trip!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion ever!

PostedJuly 22, 2015
from Crestwood, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an awesome shore excursion. We got off the ship and met our group. The shuttle bus driver was very nice and informative. They took us to the UNEXSO facility. Everyone there was so nice. We waited just a bit for our boat to take us to the actual swim. The boat ride was amazing and the captain's were funny and talked to us the whole way. It was beautiful!! The actual swim with the dolphins was amazing. My 16 and 14 yr old had a blast. My hubby and I loved it as well. Once in a lifetime experience. The trainers were very knowledagable and gave us plenty of time to swim with the dolphins. They let us take our own pics and they also took pics. There were 12 people total in our group. WE each had plenty of time to swim and meet the dolphins. I highly recommend this excursion
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was a lot of fun!

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always wanted to swim with dolphins ever since my parents took me to see a dolphin show when I was little. This was my first cruise and all of the excursions seemed pricey. At first I wasn't going to do this excursion because of the price but my aunt talked me into it. I am so glad I did it! Both instructors were amazing! They were funny and we all had a great time with the Dolphins. The group before us was small and so were we. There were nine people in our group, two wonderful instructors, and two very well trained Dolphins. We went two at a time so we would have about 15 minutes to free swim with a dolphin by ourself. After everyone took a turn the group was split in half so some could take pics while the Dolphins did tricks with the rest of us. The Dolphins kissed us and hugged us. They also did a number of other tricks for us. The pictures were ready for us when we arrived back at the gift shop. They do allow you to take your own pics but you will have to ask another person in your group to take pics while he or she is not in the water. I would do this excursion again in a heart beat! We didn't have to worry about being late to the ship since we booked through the ship; therefore, they couldn't leave without us. Don't let the price scare you away. It was an amazing experience!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun time

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excursion for all to enjoy wether your a swimmer or not, life jackets are available if you need. The entire staff from the boat captain to the dolphin trainers interacted with everyone making you feel like friends. The time with the dolphins was great.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PUCKER UP AND FEEL THE LOVE

PostedJuly 11, 2015
from Valrico, Florida. USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
O.M.G. what fun !!! If you have never received a kiss or hug from a dolphin you will never experience an encounter like this. Our family was overwhelmed by the unforgettable memory of this excursion. Our 12 year old daughter had the unforgettable time of her life. This excursion is well worth the time and money. We not only spent time one on one with he amazingly well trained dolphins but the trainers were very knowledgeable and gave us so much information on the mammal's. We got to dance, swim, spit fight and so much more with our new found friends. Truly amazing and memorable experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fun

PostedJuly 11, 2015
from Clemmons, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st time cruising. Well organized. Picked up at ship and taken to boat. Very scenic boat ride to dolphin sanctuary. Met by trainers as soon as we got off the boat to start our swim. Small group of twelve allowed each person to have individual time with the dolphins. The trainers were excellent and gave commands to the dolphins to interact with us. It was a fabulous experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely worth it

PostedJuly 11, 2015
from Anderson, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Swim is worth the money. Everyone was fantastic from the bus ride, to the boat ride, to the trainers and of course the dolphins. This Swim exceeded all expectations. We got to spend a lot of one on one time with the dolphins.
This was a dream come true. Next time I go back to Freeport, I'm doing this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TOO MUCH FUN!

PostedJune 29, 2015
from Dove Creek, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the Boat ride and staff to the location of swim and staff, EVERYONE was GREAT! I would recommend this shore excursion to anyone who wants to actually swim with the dolphins and have a great time with the hilarious staff.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth EVERY SINGLE penny!!

PostedJune 28, 2015
from Houston, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing I've done throughout the last 43 years of my life compares in any way to the experience my family and I had on this excursion.
First and foremost, every single staff member we encountered was extremely friendly. (Quite a few were beyond fantastic... Conrad "the birdman" taking the cake on this he was so awesome to visit with!)
The boat ride (to and fro the dolphins) was beautiful and very relaxing. Our boat captain was funny & friendly, as we're the dolphin trainers. It's the dolphins themselves though that truly makes the experience shine the brightest... let me just say WOW! Swimming with such beautiful creatures so freely... it kind of puts one at a loss for words it's just so spectacular!
As for me and my family, we can't wait to do it again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An unforgettable excursion!

PostedJune 22, 2015
from Altoona, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Something that took me out of my comfort zone, but worth it! The staff was fun, knowledgeable, and made it that much better
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJune 8, 2015
from Baltimore, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved this excursion! Can't wait to do it again
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looooove this

PostedJune 5, 2015
from Kenosha, wi
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the third dolphin swim I've done and this place is by far the best!!!! This exceeded my expectations everyone was so nice n so amazing! The dolphin time was longer than I thought! DEFF doing this again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highlight of our cruise!!!

PostedJune 1, 2015
from chambersburg pa.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
swimming with the dolphins exceeded our expectations by far!! This was the grand finally of our cruise.The trainer we had was very knowledgeable,friendly and funny!! would definatley do this again!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was the best excursion I have been on.

PostedMay 26, 2015
from Plano, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have cruised 6 times. This is by far the best excursion I have been on. We actually got to swim by ourselves with the Dolphins. Our trainers were in the side of the lagoon and we got to swim with the Dolphins by ourselves. If we would dive underwater the dolphin would dive with us. Well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedMay 11, 2015
from Hamburg, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best money I spent. This exceeded all expectations. Groups are small, only 2 people at a time in the water, with 2 dolphins, we each had our own! Then your group of about 6, get in the water and you each are able to give the dolphins signals to have them do tricks. Then you get photographs taken with a hug, kiss, and swim with a dolphin. The cost was surprisingly affordable. And, You ARE ALLOWED TO HAVE CAMERAS OR PHONES, and others in the group can take pictures while you are in the water, and you do the same for them. This was absolutely amazing and the dolphins are remarkable. If you ever wanted to do a dolphin swim, this is definitely worth the money, the highlight of our vacation!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedApril 29, 2015
from Tampa, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a once in a lifetime event. We had time to free swim with our own dolphin one on one. We learned how to ask them to do tricks with us and had ample opportunity to take our own photos. The trainers were delightful and personable. I highly recommend this to anyone who ever wanted to interact with amazing dolphins.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Swim with the Dolphins
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it, recomended

PostedApril 26, 2015
from USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We took this excursion because we wanted to swim up close and next to the dolphins. This tour delivered! Dolphins are trained to swim right next to you within touching distance the entire swim time (about 20 min a person) . You are encouraged to pet and stroke them.
Then you swim out and signal dolphins to do tricks in front of you, then do the swim back for a Dolpin hug, kiss and photo shot.
Trainers allow you to also use your camera and take photos as well. Trainers are very nice, knowledgeable and provide good info, and encourage questions.
The best part of our cruise by far!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>