Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.877 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(318 reviews) 318
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 318 reviews
5 Stars
295
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
309 out of 317(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Amyandbobbybobb
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved this excursion! It was fabulous. The beach was beautiful and the staff was incredible! I highly recommend it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful excursion & relaxing day!

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Guest avatar
DaniJo24
from Springfield, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was awesome! Clemente and the staff at the beach house were excellent and ready to wait on you hand & foot! I don't think my husband and I got out of our beach chairs much except for to eat lunch and enjoy the ocean. The staff was phenomenal! The chef made an excellent Mexican lunch and the bartender had drinks coming all day. The only thing I will say (that wasn't a problem for us, but could be to some), was that there is a little bit of a walk to get to the shuttle that takes you to the beach. This was our favorite excursion of our trip and we would definitely go back!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So relaxing and indulgent

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Guest avatar
Vrady
from Toronto, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We loved this excursion. It was not too far away from the ship so we didn't waste much time getting there. The drinks were fantastic. Best piña colada I've ever had. Lots of shade which was great for us. We would have loved to stay longer. The water was too choppy to do the water activities so if you don't drink alcohol and the water is rough then it will seem overpriced. The staff were great, food excellent too. It would be nice to know the massage rates up front to come prepared with cash.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So heavenly!

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Guest avatar
dstand22
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you to want to relax, hang out on a hammock and sip coctails while scanning clear blue ocean, this is the escape for you!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant way to spend a day!

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Kiliki
from Tennessee
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I enjoyed absolutely everything about this shore excursion from the exquisite views from the beach to the delicious cuisine to the lovely people! The host, servers, chef, and bartender were so personable, and helped to shape the relaxing vibe of this excursion; the bartender even made a "Christi" drink to help me celebrate! I would most definitely return.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful and relaxing.

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Guest avatar
Duo60
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Definitely worth it. Transportation was easy and didn't take up too much of excursion time. The staff was wonderful and attentive. You have your choice of hammocks,chairs or beds in either shade or sun. The food was super fresh and delicious, even the tortilla chips were homemade to snack on. The bartender did a great job and lime daiquiris were amazing. The beach house was adorable and convenient. Beach was perfect but need to be careful of the rocks as you enter the water.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny! Simply Amazing!

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Pete59
from New York, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion is paradise. Our guide was Rafiki, I think his name was. (it was about 6 months ago) and he was the nicest most accommodating guide I've ever had in any excursion. Whatever you asked for, he would go out of his way to get. After a quick ride in an air conditioned van, we arrived to the premises of the beach house and beach area. My oh my, what a beautiful area it was. The sand was golden, the water was fifty shades of clear blue, and the sun was shining. We decided to lay out on one of the many provided beach lounge beds that are set up on the beach along with lounge chairs. We took some sun and was brought our choice of (alcoholic) drinks and snacks. After splashing around in the water a bit, Rafiki asked our group if he wanted to snorkel. Of course we wanted to! They provided us with inflatable life vests and snorkel gear along with flippers and Rafiki took us out into the ocean and around the coral reefs. We got to see some pretty exotic fish. The cool water was so refreshing because it had to be about 95 degrees out that day. After a long while in the water we came back and placed our food order, which was served to us at a table under the palm trees in the sand facing the water. You had a choice of a chicken and taco dish or a fish and taco dish, along with chips and guacamole. The food was very good and the drinks were plenty. The beach "house" itself was small but very charming. The second level balcony and bar was cool, it had a great view of the whole beach. We even had time to take a stroll down the beach and look for shells. Then they served us dessert and took us back to our cruise terminal. It was an amazing day!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Djpopdod
Ellenton, Fl.
 
Please wait while more information about Djpopdod is loaded.
Additional information about Djpopdod could not be loaded.
Snorkeling?
Posted November 24, 2014
Thanks for your review. My wife and I are thinking of booking this excursion. We are avid snorkelers and love viewing the reefs. While everything seems amazing I can't find a lot of info on how good the snorkeling is off the beach. Any comments? Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience!

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
ksd76
from Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had an amazing day at the beach. We were there on November 11, 2014. The staff greeted us and made us feel welcome right away. We are a family of 5. We had 3 kids ages 17, 7, and 3. We all had a great time. My oldest and I snorkeled with the staff. They took us out and showed the fish and other things. They even made sure that we got some pictures. The food was really good. We had the beef fajitas and fish tacos. The drinks came often, but we did hit the bar up since it had an amazing view. I would highly suggest this excursion. It was an amazing view, great water, and staff. If you want relaxation, this is the place!
I would suggest water shoes as there were a few rocks that you had to contend with to get into the water. I wish I had known that in advance.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truely a beautiful retreat!!!

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Wilma54
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly from the very start, Ansel our host was cordial & informative. The staff is very attentive to your every wants or needs without being overbearing. They keep the drinks flowing & the food was delish!! I spent some time in the kitchen with the chef as he cooked and explained his techniques. The retreat area is beautiful. There are a lot of trees for shade and I recommend water shoes to walk in the water since it is a bit rocky. I would do this excursion again without question!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very relaxing day. Enjoyed every minute.

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
JohnandKathyfromLongview
from Longview, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our very first cruise and our very first shore excursion. We were worried we would be bored but turned out it was just a very relaxing day. They took very good care of us and treated us like we were family. The food was great and they never let us run out of something to drink. I highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice and will repeat again

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
PAGE1106
from Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This private resort is an excellent getaway from the ship while Charles and his staff take excellent care of you, paying attention to every detail: great explanation of plans pre-travel, taxi ride to resort, fresh squeezed lemonade on arrival, towels and loungers of all sorts waiting either in the shade or sun on the beach, staff lined up for introductions, and the list goes on from there. The meal was delicious. Each of us had a choice of four meals. My drink glass was never empty weather bottled water, virgin alcoholic beverages, or soda. Lots of activities or none at all - guests choice: kayaking, snorkeling, swimming, or volleyball. Anything we needed for these activities were provided in the cost of the excursion. Professional photographers and massage therapists were on site if you wanted to purchase their services. They only asked once - no pressure. This excursion was so relaxing that none do us wanted to leave.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something quiet and away from tourists

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
GloryAddict
from Norfolk,Va
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did not expect all the attention we received. And something special that was offered was snorkeling at our time we were there. So what the heck! First time snorkeling with 2 hip replacements and rod in lumbar.Our Guide was Excellent. Would do it again and again. Very,Very Secluded:)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't ask for a better excursion!!!

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
Kellie84
from Charlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the time you meet your group until the time you say goodbye and head back to the boat you are treated like kings and queens. Javier was our guide and whatever you wanted, he made happen. The entire staff was beyond friendly and fun. All the drinks you could drink was amazing also. The margaritas were delicious! The food was fantastic and a wide variety for any taste. I highly recommend this if you are looking for a fun and semi private get away! Our group had around 12 people in it. Plenty of chairs, hammocks, and comfy beach beds to lay on. Two thumbs up for this crew/excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
GE71
from Toccoa, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Only 15 of us at this excursion with a number of servants to spoil us with food and drink. Beautiful beach without having to fight to get a lounge chair with a view. The lunch was outstanding. Our guide offered snorkeling and kayaking or just soaking up the sun and view.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful time

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Linzzzzzzz
from Colo Spgs, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was well worth the money. The beach was not crowded and the staff was very attentive bringing us drinks and food all day long. Their goal was to make sure we had a good time and they kept us laughing the the whole day. The beach and the property was beautiful. We've been on a lot of shore excursions over the years and this was by far the best.......
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was the best for both of us

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Guest avatar
JulesofLA
from Frierson, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great place. Guide Alex was great about making sure we had everything we needed. The staff was as great, also. Drinks came regular and you just had to let them know if you wanted them stronger. I had a non-alcohol pineapple smoothie with lunch and it was very good. Lunch was wonderful. I was able to read and relax while my husband snorkeled. We both had a massage that was at a great price. Not to crowded or loud. Gave me the relax time I wanted and my husband the beach/water time he wanted. We will be going back to this place for sure.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what we hoped for and more

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Guest avatar
Knicknack
from Dallas, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our choice. The staff was top-notch and very friendly. We especially liked having our lunch prepared especially for us; no large group buffet type food. There were enough choices of activities to satisfy everyone who was there when we were. And for us to just relax, have a massage (extra charge: very reasonable), swim a little, and have whatever drinks we requested brought to us. We would definitely choose this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly a SELECT RETREAT......

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Guest avatar
texascowboy
from Cisco,Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an amazing day. We wanted to book a relaxing all inclusive beach day, and that is exactly what this was. The mojitos,margaritas, and coronas were flowing non stop. I recommend the fajitas for lunch....We were there on Oct.3,2014. Louis made the experience awesome all day. I especially liked the tequila tasting class.....The price is not cheap, But, The limited number of people allowed is what made the difference. I would definitely book this one again. VIVA PALOMAS....
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

completely as advertised.

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Guest avatar
luvcru131ng
from paducah ky
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Relaxing on beach. Service was exceptional and food wonderful. This was well worth doing and I plan on returning when in this port again. Absolutely perfect day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bliss on the beach

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Guest avatar
sherryr
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just returned from our sailing on the Triumph and the excursion we chose was this one.
I cannot tell you how happy we were with it. It was pure bliss. From the open bar (Banana-Mamas!!) to the hammocks in the palm trees to the crystal clear waters to the massage on the beach. It was heaven. No one wanted to go back to the ship when it was over. Ansel and Charly were the BEST hosts! The entire staff made sure we relaxed and had a great time. If you get a chance, GO ON THIS EXCURSION!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>