Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.836 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(360 reviews) 360
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 360 reviews
5 Stars
328
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
7
1 Star
3
347 out of 359(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Guest avatar
Kermy23
from Portland, OR
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was the highlight of my week! The staff were awesome, the food was great, and the beach was gorgeous! The tequila and guacamole tasting were fun and delicious and the free snorkeling was a fun bonus. This excursion was worth the money and the trip!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magnificent

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Guest avatar
Tracy12
from LaPorte, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a perfect place for our group/family of 12 to enjoy our day in Cozumel. Honestly, there was something for everyone to enjoy. Ages ranged from 7 to 71 - actually celebrated dads 71st birthday on the beach with a magnificent lunch. Chef made dessert and the entire La Casa crew sang to him. Snorkeling, kayaking, strolling the beach with drink in hand, massages and even time for a nap in the hammock.....needless to say, we did not want to leave!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour live up to all of its reviews!

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Guest avatar
rtgr
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend this tour, it lived up to all of its reviews.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent! A must do!

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Guest avatar
Lovinit
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
This was our first excursion out of four. It was by far the best!!!!! It was a blast!!!! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the drinks didn't hurt!!! I felt very safe in beautiful surroundings. I was at ease to relax and play. I think the small size and friendliness of our group helped. There was a couple with their daughter and son in law that helped us kayak for the first time! (Thank You). This was the best excursion of the cruise. Big Fun!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was fun

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Guest avatar
Jennruiz12
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Extreme
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The people were extremely friendly and very pleasant just little disappointed because we couldn't snorkel nor kayak due to the weather and the food wasn't all that, drink were horrible. But overall this was a fun experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great description!!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Guest avatar
senior
from tampa
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The description is absolutely correct!!!
Private beach, open bar, good food, fun and or relaxation!!!
I think it is a bit expensive, but really a wonderful experience.
Wish there was more time!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall not worth the money.

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Guest avatar
Magic83
from Columbus, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
The house was very basic and the beach needed to be cleaned. You could not walk in the ocean because the rocks were too large. Although Clemente was a good host the staff catered more to the Spanish speaking guests. I think the chef was below average and there was a set menu. I pictured Cozumel as this place with white sandy beaches and clear water. Well at this location we had neither. Very disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for relaxing

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Guest avatar
beachbum365
from St. Louis Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the last stop on our cruise and I LOVED it. If you are looking for a relaxing day of beach and pampering, this is the excursion to take.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Is as beautiful as the pictures

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Guest avatar
Nan63
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our first cruise and first excursion and it will be hard for others to top this one. It was so beautiful. Food was excellent, drinks were plentiful and someone is constantly asking you if you need something. The guys that ran the excursion were so nice and welcoming and truly did make us feel like familia. We snorkeled, kayaked, and relaxed on the beach. We can't wait to go back again!.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our favorite excursion of the entire cruise!!!

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Guest avatar
sherryj7
from Victoria, TX, United States
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My husband and I had the most fabulous time at this beach retreat!!! The water was crystal clear, weather was perfect, and the staff was wonderful!!! The food too was great! It was the most relaxing place that we have experienced so far on any of our cruises! Thanks especially to Clemente, our host, Santos our chef, and all the others that made that day in Cozumel a fun and memorable one!! Highly recommend this excursion!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect way to spend the day

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Guest avatar
Tamara86
from Jacksonville, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The staff is super friendly and very helpful. Loved the location and the beach beds. Drinks kept coming and were delicious! The only thing that wasn't great was the food. I wanted some salsa verde, but they didn't have the ingredients (only chopped tomatoes and onions). Chips were fresh but not great, and lunch options were minimal. Spent most of my day sipping fruity drinks and snoozing in the sun. I was, however, able to have a fresh coconut cut open and hulled out to eat. Yummy! I would do this again, but probably bring a few snacks with me.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Guest avatar
LadyTexan
from Fort Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
We had a great time at this place. We were there the first week of January. Clemente and the staff were fabulous. They took care of anything we needed. The service was great and we all had a good time. The water was beautiful and the food was good. The drinks were delicious. I highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was definitely worth taking!

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Guest avatar
Denice
from Middletown, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our group was greeted by the friendly staff as soon as we arrived. The host was extremely informative and genuine. He helped find my 82 year old Dad a chair he'd be able to get out of easily. He also showed us how to make a mean guacamole dip! It was delicious! I'm making the same recipe at home now!
The wait staff was perfect, and the food was absolutely delicious! We enjoyed our time at this beautiful Casa!
My only negative would be that I thought it was a little pricey.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as advertised

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Guest avatar
Bee63
from Harrisonburg, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The food was excellent, service excellent and the drinks copious. This excursion was a highlight of my cruise.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time for sure

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Guest avatar
RonB
from The Villages, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a fun and relaxing time with good food and a great staff to take care of you. Little pricey but well worth it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This tour had more people that we expected.... Not so private

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Guest avatar
Heatherttu
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We expected a small number at this excursion, especially for the price but there were about 20 people from 3 different ships. The staff was courteous and made every attempt to make this excursion great but it was more people than we would have liked.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best excursions ever !

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Guest avatar
smrtnz
from Baltimore, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was one of the best excursions we have ever been on ! The staff was excellent & I ever learned how to make Guacamole & the proper way to do a shot of tequila !
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

okay, but not great

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Guest avatar
BillyBob99
from Charleston, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The service was very good. Several servers are constantly asking people what they could bring for you. The food was very good; they serve a fairly simple lunch, and you do have some choice. The drinks are plentiful. However, the tequila they are serving is extremely cheap. This is in Mexico - get some decent tequila. And like another reviewer, I suspect they have tampered with it. It is watered down, to be sure. Skip this excursion. If you want to go to the beach, do it on your own. You can easily find better food and drinks at Cozumel.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every dime!!

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Guest avatar
SherryHayes
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
We went on this excursion last year and had a ball!! Staff was really nice and served us like kings and queens!! Beautiful area but you will need water shoes and watch out for the rocks in the beach!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Could not have been better

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Guest avatar
malona
from Norton, Kansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as advertised - would recommend for cruisers looking to relax and enjoy the beach
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>