Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.799 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(414 reviews) 414
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 414 reviews
5 Stars
372
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
7
1 Star
7
395 out of 413(96%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you want to relax, and feel pampered, do this excursion.

PostedMarch 28, 2015
AngelaNClark
from Jonesboro, Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I chose this excursion, and it did not dissappoint, from the time we arrived until the time we left, we were treated like royalty. Clemente, and the staff was professional, attentive, interesting, and totally adorable people, it was our pleasure to be in their presence.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A really good time.

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Johnfromflorida
from Boynton Beach, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We cruised on the Glory on February 28, 2015. We booked this excursion online before we left. We had a wonderful time. It is obviously an excursion location. The staff was really good. The beach was great. The food was well prepared. All staff were intent on making the guests welcome! Drinks were served all day. As many as you wanted. Limited Ed to only 36 people it is no crowded. We have less than 36. Worth every penny!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a highly relaxing excursion

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Drewcrews
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is our third trip to La Casa en La Playa and we have enjoyed all three. The first and third were with kids. The second was just my wife and I. The first trip Isis was on hand to interact with the kids and was OUTSTANDING! I have one suggestion for the staff. If you have young kids signed up - schedule Isis to work. We have asked about her both other times and she is always working somewhere else. Regardless, the food is always excellent. My wife LOVES the fish. I get the steak or chicken casadillas. Drinks are excellent and all you can drink. Bring extra money for massages. Also bring extra to tip - the staff is excellent. They put no pressure on but it is tip worthy! We love it and will do it every time we go!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this excursion was great

PostedMarch 24, 2015
philgins
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food was great, margaritas were great. Staff was very attentive to anything you want. Very nice staff. Beach was not crowded. Would highly recommend
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't be Beat!!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
spaige
from Hays, Ks
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This excursion was a last-minute booking for us, we did it the night before on the ship. We weren't sure what to expect but it definitely exceeded anything we could've thought up. When we arrived at the port the group leader was waiting for us he let a shop around for a bit while waiting for the rest of our group. There was only 10 of us so that was nice. There was a beautiful beach house awaiting us with a complete staff the chef, bartender, masseuse and waiters. You could get a massage on the beach, while enjoying a drink or relax in the Hammock. We even did some snorkeling. There was a menu to choose from for the chef to make fresh for lunch. It was an absolutely amazing experience and I definitely want to go back. The staff was so friendly and helpful I didn't want the day to end. There was a couple who was telling us that they have been on six other cruises and this excursion was the best by far!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm Ready to Move There!

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Paintsmudge
from Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They won't want me, but I didn't want to leave and I wasn't alone! Nearly everyone in our group of about 30 that day agreed that it was the best day they had experienced on vacation.
The little private area of beach had shady areas with beach chairs, dining tables, and hammocks. There were chairs and sun beds in in the sun. The beach had some sandy and some rocky areas but these guys had everything covered. They had beach shoes, snorkels, fixed us lunch, appetizers, brought us drinks, entertained us and kept the day fun and relaxing. It was a perfect day. Did I mention that it was beautiful? I'm telling you, it was a perfect day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing at it's BEST!

PostedMarch 21, 2015
RadioMan
from Earth
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sitting in a beach lounger parked in the shade of the palm trees. The sun streaming in through the gaps in the fronds. Not too much, not too little sun. Servers bringing us drinks and snacks the whole day. Just the perfect amount, of everything, to keep me warm and feeling fuzzy. Actually, I think it was the alcohol helping with the fuzzy part. Of all the excursions and all the activities to do in a port... THIS was THE BEST of them all! It required me to do.... nothing! Just relax and enjoy the view! No massive crowds to deal with as this excursion is limited to 40 people total. NICE!! You won't go thirsty or hungry as the bartender, chef, and service staff are always there and constantly checking on you. The food was top notch! Kudos to the the one-man kitchen! The host, Clemente was charming and very accommodating the whole time. He presented his own skills with a kitchen knife by showing the group how to make authentic guacamole. It's better than what we make here in the USA! Find an intact conch shell and you can write your name on it and where you're from. Clemente will then hang it on the porch with the collection from all the previous guests. The property is maintained to a level of immaculate. The view, the scene, the vibe is one of 5-star relaxation at YOUR pace. In short: If you hate big crowds and want your own slice of paradise.... This is money well spent.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time with wonderful host

PostedMarch 21, 2015
FunInTheSun816
from Kansas City, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was on our first cruise back in Jan of 15. When we showed up on the short ride there we where offered drinks left and right. We all went snorkeling, got to see a lot of beautiful fish and a few crab. Had a area on the beach just for us with plenty of room for the others on the excursion. A good sized menu prepared by a wonderful chef. We had a guacamole class and a private tequila lesson since no one else wanted to join in on it. The building where you use the restroom, meet the chef, and where you can relax out of the sun is an older shack that was well maintained and fit into our beach themed vacation very well. definitely worth the price.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent! A wonderful time! Highly recommend!

PostedMarch 20, 2015
CKC15
from Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We recently chose this excursion based on the previous comments and descriptions. We were not let down. Clemente was awesome as our host, very friendly and informative, as were all of the staff on location. We did not lack for anything all day. The food was fabulous as were the drinks and the beach front massage. All in all it was a little piece of Heaven on earth. It was so relaxing and just beautiful. We will absolutely go back every time we are in Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I will do this again next time in Cozumel!

PostedMarch 20, 2015
ashcam20
from Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW! Everything from the beginning to the end was amazing about this place. We were greeted with fresh lemonade as soon as we got off the car which was refreshing. It was my our anniversary so we wanted to just relax and enjoy the beauty of Cozumel and that is exactly what we got out of this excursion. For an additional price we also got a couples message which was also worth it. The entire staff was just so helpful. THE FOOD was amazing we had fajitas and the fish which I believe was snapper which was also delicious. ALL in ALL if we go back to Cozumel we will definitely be booking this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedMarch 17, 2015
auntshortie
from WV
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the time we arrived at this retreat the staff were friendly, constantly providing food, all the drinks we wanted, and awesome entertainment. I would definitely recommend this excursion it was well worth the money and I would do it again. Kudos to this excursion!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great way to spend your birthday

PostedMarch 15, 2015
jbe28
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I wanted to have a beach day for my birthday on this trip. We looked at all of the beach excursions and we liked the description of this one the best.
We were met at the pier and got to the location in about 20 minutes. It was a beautiful location with beach beds, lounges, and umbrellas. The drinks were included, as was the snorkeling gear and food.
The water was a little turbid due to the wind out of the north, but snorkeling was still fun. Lunch as very good, and the guacamole was fantastic. Clemente showed us how to make it at home.
All in all, it was a great time, and we'd do it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love love love!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
lisa28
from lisa, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best excursion ever! My husband and I book cruises just to go to this place. The staff is amazing as well as the food and drinks. Every time we show up they know us by name and it makes us feel special. We totally recommend this excursion for anyone who wants to sit.on the beach relax and be waited on!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
RedheadRN
from Lakewood, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our first cruise and first time in Cozumel. It was simply amazing! We got off the ship and the tour guides were standing right there. We were in Flower's group, she is an amazing host. At first I was a little disappointed because we were not going to be able to snorkel because of the high winds and waves. Obviously, not there fault. They had a bus waiting to take us to the house. Once we got to the house we got a little tour and then started the relaxing. There was a total of 14 cruisers and about 8 staff members. Flower and the rest of the staff made us feel at home. My husband and I laid in the hammock , drank and ate guacamole until our lunch was ready to eat at the shaded ocean side table. As my husband said "this is what I picture heaven to be like".
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a great excursion.

PostedMarch 9, 2015
wvsandy
from West Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This will be remembered as one of the best times during the cruise. Isis greeted us and saw that everything was perfect. The staff was great and the food was authentic Mexican and attractively served. Appetizers, including fresh salsa and chips, were served in addition to the lunch. You never wanted for a drink from the bar. We were waited on for everything. The beach is nice and there were plenty of lounge chairs and mat beds for collecting the sun. Tables were under a canopy of palm trees and set with white tablecloths and a vase of flowers...really nice. Soft music filled the air. I would definitely choose this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
BigMama
Austin, Texas
 
Please wait while more information about BigMama is loaded.
Additional information about BigMama could not be loaded.
Photos
Posted March 15, 2015
Thanks for the pictures! It looks beautiful!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedMarch 6, 2015
WVGirl35
from West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were present at this establishment on 2-14. It was amazing! The staff was very accommodating and made sure that u never went thirsty. The food was excellent and I highly recommend this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun Getaway

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Denise77
from Wakefield, NE
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This tour was a lot of fun because the island is very quiet and you have plenty of time to relax, swim, snorkel and just have a great time. It's just a short drive from the port in a nice air conditioned van. When you arrive you are greeted with white sand, palm trees, hammocks, beach beds, beach chairs and umbrellas. My husband and I grabbed a couple hammocks right away, they immediately brought us drinks, chips, salsa and guacamole. Which is when they asked what we wanted for lunch and when we wanted it served. They set a beautiful table for two, and I enjoyed the fish cooked in a banana leaf and my husband had the pork which he loved as well. Then we ventured to the beach chairs, my husband snorkeled and because they knew it was our anniversary, they brought us a wonderful dessert. Also, they taught us important facts about tequila and then we each got a shot. It was so much fun we didn't want to leave. Because this is limited to only a few, it made it that much more enjoyable and relaxing. Definitely book this excursion for a great time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, but . . .

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Carin
from Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice and relaxing excursion and the people were friendly, but the meal was a disappointment. The excursion description boasts a "chef", but the meals were primarily predetermined and skimpy. Carnival did not provide contact information regarding dietary requirements and the chef seemed disconcerted when we asked for a vegan meal. We ended up eating veggie fajitas which were good, but adding beans would have been more filling. Black beans were available, but contained lard. We also were not offered an appetizer since it was prepared with the non-veg. beans. Overall, I would recommend this excursion, but those with special dietary needs should beware.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Had a great time

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Bronco1
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall a lot of fun. Staff was very good...courteous, engaging and fun. Great service. Location was beautiful. Only complaint...we thought it was a bit over priced. However, we'd go again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality food and service

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Kris218
from Richmond, Va
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The team at the casa was great, David the team leader ensured that all needs were met and kept seeing if there was anything we wanted. He suggested drinks and made special drinks for the kids. They limited the number of guests so you had plenty of chairs, loungers , hammocks, etc. The price seemed a little high, but it turned out to be worth it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>