Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(312 reviews) 312
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 312 reviews
5 Stars
289
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
303 out of 311(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny! Simply Amazing!

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Pete59
from New York, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion is paradise. Our guide was Rafiki, I think his name was. (it was about 6 months ago) and he was the nicest most accommodating guide I've ever had in any excursion. Whatever you asked for, he would go out of his way to get. After a quick ride in an air conditioned van, we arrived to the premises of the beach house and beach area. My oh my, what a beautiful area it was. The sand was golden, the water was fifty shades of clear blue, and the sun was shining. We decided to lay out on one of the many provided beach lounge beds that are set up on the beach along with lounge chairs. We took some sun and was brought our choice of (alcoholic) drinks and snacks. After splashing around in the water a bit, Rafiki asked our group if he wanted to snorkel. Of course we wanted to! They provided us with inflatable life vests and snorkel gear along with flippers and Rafiki took us out into the ocean and around the coral reefs. We got to see some pretty exotic fish. The cool water was so refreshing because it had to be about 95 degrees out that day. After a long while in the water we came back and placed our food order, which was served to us at a table under the palm trees in the sand facing the water. You had a choice of a chicken and taco dish or a fish and taco dish, along with chips and guacamole. The food was very good and the drinks were plenty. The beach "house" itself was small but very charming. The second level balcony and bar was cool, it had a great view of the whole beach. We even had time to take a stroll down the beach and look for shells. Then they served us dessert and took us back to our cruise terminal. It was an amazing day!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience!

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
ksd76
from Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had an amazing day at the beach. We were there on November 11, 2014. The staff greeted us and made us feel welcome right away. We are a family of 5. We had 3 kids ages 17, 7, and 3. We all had a great time. My oldest and I snorkeled with the staff. They took us out and showed the fish and other things. They even made sure that we got some pictures. The food was really good. We had the beef fajitas and fish tacos. The drinks came often, but we did hit the bar up since it had an amazing view. I would highly suggest this excursion. It was an amazing view, great water, and staff. If you want relaxation, this is the place!
I would suggest water shoes as there were a few rocks that you had to contend with to get into the water. I wish I had known that in advance.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truely a beautiful retreat!!!

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Wilma54
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly from the very start, Ansel our host was cordial & informative. The staff is very attentive to your every wants or needs without being overbearing. They keep the drinks flowing & the food was delish!! I spent some time in the kitchen with the chef as he cooked and explained his techniques. The retreat area is beautiful. There are a lot of trees for shade and I recommend water shoes to walk in the water since it is a bit rocky. I would do this excursion again without question!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very relaxing day. Enjoyed every minute.

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
JohnandKathyfromLongview
from Longview, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our very first cruise and our very first shore excursion. We were worried we would be bored but turned out it was just a very relaxing day. They took very good care of us and treated us like we were family. The food was great and they never let us run out of something to drink. I highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice and will repeat again

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
PAGE1106
from Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This private resort is an excellent getaway from the ship while Charles and his staff take excellent care of you, paying attention to every detail: great explanation of plans pre-travel, taxi ride to resort, fresh squeezed lemonade on arrival, towels and loungers of all sorts waiting either in the shade or sun on the beach, staff lined up for introductions, and the list goes on from there. The meal was delicious. Each of us had a choice of four meals. My drink glass was never empty weather bottled water, virgin alcoholic beverages, or soda. Lots of activities or none at all - guests choice: kayaking, snorkeling, swimming, or volleyball. Anything we needed for these activities were provided in the cost of the excursion. Professional photographers and massage therapists were on site if you wanted to purchase their services. They only asked once - no pressure. This excursion was so relaxing that none do us wanted to leave.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something quiet and away from tourists

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
GloryAddict
from Norfolk,Va
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did not expect all the attention we received. And something special that was offered was snorkeling at our time we were there. So what the heck! First time snorkeling with 2 hip replacements and rod in lumbar.Our Guide was Excellent. Would do it again and again. Very,Very Secluded:)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't ask for a better excursion!!!

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
Kellie84
from Charlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the time you meet your group until the time you say goodbye and head back to the boat you are treated like kings and queens. Javier was our guide and whatever you wanted, he made happen. The entire staff was beyond friendly and fun. All the drinks you could drink was amazing also. The margaritas were delicious! The food was fantastic and a wide variety for any taste. I highly recommend this if you are looking for a fun and semi private get away! Our group had around 12 people in it. Plenty of chairs, hammocks, and comfy beach beds to lay on. Two thumbs up for this crew/excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
GE71
from Toccoa, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Only 15 of us at this excursion with a number of servants to spoil us with food and drink. Beautiful beach without having to fight to get a lounge chair with a view. The lunch was outstanding. Our guide offered snorkeling and kayaking or just soaking up the sun and view.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful time

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
Linzzzzzzz
from Colo Spgs, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was well worth the money. The beach was not crowded and the staff was very attentive bringing us drinks and food all day long. Their goal was to make sure we had a good time and they kept us laughing the the whole day. The beach and the property was beautiful. We've been on a lot of shore excursions over the years and this was by far the best.......
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was the best for both of us

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Guest avatar
JulesofLA
from Frierson, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great place. Guide Alex was great about making sure we had everything we needed. The staff was as great, also. Drinks came regular and you just had to let them know if you wanted them stronger. I had a non-alcohol pineapple smoothie with lunch and it was very good. Lunch was wonderful. I was able to read and relax while my husband snorkeled. We both had a massage that was at a great price. Not to crowded or loud. Gave me the relax time I wanted and my husband the beach/water time he wanted. We will be going back to this place for sure.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what we hoped for and more

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Guest avatar
Knicknack
from Dallas, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our choice. The staff was top-notch and very friendly. We especially liked having our lunch prepared especially for us; no large group buffet type food. There were enough choices of activities to satisfy everyone who was there when we were. And for us to just relax, have a massage (extra charge: very reasonable), swim a little, and have whatever drinks we requested brought to us. We would definitely choose this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly a SELECT RETREAT......

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Guest avatar
texascowboy
from Cisco,Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an amazing day. We wanted to book a relaxing all inclusive beach day, and that is exactly what this was. The mojitos,margaritas, and coronas were flowing non stop. I recommend the fajitas for lunch....We were there on Oct.3,2014. Louis made the experience awesome all day. I especially liked the tequila tasting class.....The price is not cheap, But, The limited number of people allowed is what made the difference. I would definitely book this one again. VIVA PALOMAS....
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

completely as advertised.

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Guest avatar
luvcru131ng
from paducah ky
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Relaxing on beach. Service was exceptional and food wonderful. This was well worth doing and I plan on returning when in this port again. Absolutely perfect day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bliss on the beach

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Guest avatar
sherryr
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just returned from our sailing on the Triumph and the excursion we chose was this one.
I cannot tell you how happy we were with it. It was pure bliss. From the open bar (Banana-Mamas!!) to the hammocks in the palm trees to the crystal clear waters to the massage on the beach. It was heaven. No one wanted to go back to the ship when it was over. Ansel and Charly were the BEST hosts! The entire staff made sure we relaxed and had a great time. If you get a chance, GO ON THIS EXCURSION!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Amazing

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Lrself05
from Little Rock, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's so worth it!! We just got back this past Friday from there and we did not want to leave. The staff was the best ever, the chef made the best food we have ever put into our mouth. The water and beach were beautiful and so much more. I could go on and on. It is worth the money, I promise you will not be sorry!!! It's a great place for any age. I wish they had a resort!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Beach Excursion Of Our Vacation!

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Ladams614
from Brownstown, Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My wife and I really enjoyed this excursion! The limited availability was perfect for a relaxing yet enjoyable getaway. We enjoyed the snorkeling, the wonderful lunch, good tequila and a great hostess and staff. I would definitely recommend this to everyone if you are lucky enough to get a ticket before they are sold out.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lot of fun

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Guest avatar
barry21
from West Tn
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it was a lot of fun very relaxing, the people there were super nice and really cared if you were enjoying your time with them. they went all out to make sure you were having a good time, priced a little high, but we enjoyed every minute of it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fun for all

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Guest avatar
Mreiter
from Jeffersonville Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a 16 year old with me and my husband on this excursion. I was very afraid that my son would be board, needless to say he was not. We, as a family really enjoyed our time there. Food drinks and fun. It was well worth it :-)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Beach Excursion

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Lisa18
from Lafayette, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
My husband and I really enjoyed this excursion. The beach is beautiful. I like that there is a limited number of guests that can join this excursion, it allows the staff to give individual attention. You are welcomed with a drink and an introduction to the staff. You choose the place you would like to relax on the beach. Your chairs and umbrella are set up for you. Drinks and snacks are brought to you. And the drinks are very good, made to order. It's not like some inclusive's that bring out premade rum punch. Your food order is taken along with the time you would like to eat. You choose from an awesome menu. When your meal is ready they set up a table for you and serve your food. The food was great so fresh and hot. The beach is very nice. The sand is not rocky but I would recommend water shoes for going into the water. There is some rocky coral out there. The staff offer a guided snorkel and it is included in the price as well as the gear. I really enjoyed this because I have never snorkeled before. After the guided snorkel you are welcome to use the gear and snorkel on your own.
Massages are offered. We did not get a massage so I cannot give and info on this. We so enjoyed this excursion, we may never go anywhere else in Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience!

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Guest avatar
MissLeahBelle
from Austin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion is AWESOME. My boyfriend and I did this excursion in February of 2014 and we adored it. The bus ride was short and well air-conditioned. When we arrived, we were handed incredibly fresh drinks, introduced to the staff, then escorted to our beach lounge chairs, which all had umbrellas. We ordered some food (which was amazing!) and had the option of an unlimited amount of incredible drinks.
After eating, we went snorkeling in the beautiful, clear water and took pictures with our underwater camera. One of the staff members was out in the water with us and showed us some marine life. My boyfriend and I found a conch shell that was as big as both hands put together. Since there wasn't any marine life living in the shell, the staff member told us we could keep it. He explained some really interesting information about conch shells that helped us learn more and appreciate the marine life.
When we came out from the water, we went upstairs to see the bartender who poured us some really yummy shots, and took shots with us. It was pretty awesome. The bathrooms are very clean and spacious, and have a shower available, should you need to use it.
We were having such a good time that we were surprised when the time was up to go back to the ship! Everything was wonderful, and we had no problem feeling like they really made sure we experienced Cozumel in the best way possible. This is an amazing excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>