Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.869 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(291 reviews) 291
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 291 reviews
5 Stars
269
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
282 out of 290(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a wonderful time!

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Guest avatar
AR305
from Winston Salem, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything about this excursion is wonderful! The staff was so friendly and catering, we never had to ask for anything. Appetizers and drinks were constantly being brought to us. We stayed in the water a lot which was crystal clear and so beautiful. While relaxing on the beach we chose from a lunch menu and a time we wished to dine. We chose to dine at a table under the palm trees and our meals were so delicious! Our host Shon was so wonderful! This excursion will be a regular when we return to Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best excursion I've experienced.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Guest avatar
firedog
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our host was Schon. He and the entire crew were extremely friendly and made our time there so relaxing and fun. It was exactly what a resort experience should be - good food and beverages, clean beach. We would love to do it again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Guest avatar
DavidDean
from Porter, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This place is fantastic. I really like the fact that there are no more than 40-45 people allowed to go. It’s a nice beach. Food great, drinks great. Music was great. If fact this was our second visit to this excursion in 10 months, we enjoyed it that much. We would come back again. The service is outstanding. One of my favorite places to visit.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Excursion

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
beatx
from Pasadena, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was one of the best I have had in a long time. The Hosts Schon and Adolfo were amazing along with the rest of the staff.
Drinks, snacks were awesome, same as a delicious lunch.
It was a very relaxing day, Yes. We will be back soon !!!!!!!
We will recommend it
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had a wonderful time

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
JHenkle
from Atlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our first time to Cozumel and I'm glad we chose this excursion. Our host, Louis, was incredible and spent the whole time entertaining us and making sure we were having fun. I have never been snorkeling before so he took me out in the water and guided me the whole time, showing me different fish and sea creatures. The entire staff was extremely friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to spend the day away from crowds while relaxing on the beach.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Husband loved it-Not me

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Guest avatar
MAChoneymooner
from Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
There was another carnival ship already in port,so when arrived it seemed double booked. I booked this excursion for the shade (Me) and for the sun (husband). We had to ask for an umbrella,since they were all taken by the other cruisers. The staff tried to accomodate,the umbrella was cheap and the wind didn't help it. Bring a towel from the ship,we had to ask twice! The weather was beautiful and the water calm. We enjoyed taking our drinks into the water. Yes,the drinks were plentiful and the food delicious. The staff was very friendly,but service was slower than we would have liked. They need more than one drink server for 40 people!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Funtime at the beach!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Guest avatar
DebandSteve
from Dallas, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a short ride from the pier with the staff waiting for us on arrival with drinks in hand. The water was beautiful but it was rocky and we wished we had brought water shoes. There was seaweed washed up on shore but it's a beach! Plenty of shade to relax in and the waiters were non stop in bringing the drinks. Food was great and the chef was very friendly. We each had a massage that was regular priced compared to states but the location was beautiful with the ocean breeze and the sound of the waves made it very relaxing! On the way back we had a flat tire but the next van was along to pick us up in mere minutes. Overall we had a great time and would visit again. As someone else said it was a private beach so no vendors to deal with was a plus!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome day at the beach.

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Cajuncass
from New Iberia LA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a perfect beach day for us on August 21, 2014. The bus ride was quick & easy. Our guide & all the staff at the house were wonderful. They provided excellent service. The beach, the pool, and house were great. Yes, the water has a rocky access---they tell you that, but once you get past the rocks, it's very nice. I'm 63 with a repaired hip but others helped me over the rocks & no one got hurt. The snacks, the drinks, & the lunch were all delicious. I mean, who could ask for more??? Sand, gorgeous water, a pool, and lunch served on linen tablecloths on a gracious veranda.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Loved This Excursion!!!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Guest avatar
SandyTx
from Hemphill, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
From beginning to end, the hosts of this excursion are all about their guests. The place is beautiful, the food is wonderful, and they keep the drinks coming. Would absolutely recommend this excursion. We will be going here again ASAP!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very disappointed for the price

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Guest avatar
MoMar
from Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband and I both found this excursion to be a big disappointment. The water was very rough, lots of stuff washing up on the beach and it was very rocky so we weren't able to enjoy any water activities. Maybe if you hit it on the right day it would be enjoyable. On the plus side, the staff was very nice, they kept the drinks coming and the food was awesome.
We certainly weren't the only ones disappointed as a group of 12 of us chose to return to the ship early. I would have rather spend the money elsewhere.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was great.

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Guest avatar
south12
from New Iberia, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I and another couple took this excursion together. We had a blast. The day was full of sand, sun, great food and strong drinks. Our guide, Adolfo and the rest of the staff were amazing. So friendly and accommodating. The drinks were endless and the food was delicious. The only thing that was disappointing was that it had to end. We will definitely do this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXECELLENT STAFF AND PLACE

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Guest avatar
KandKMARRIED
from Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the PERFECT get away for Married Couple and the Wait Staff is EXECELLENT ...Drinks were there before you asked for the next , snacks , and lunch were the same WANTED for NOTHING AT ALL...THE MOST RELAXING and FUN of the whole trip.....
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Honeymooners

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
josh5
from Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our second carnival excursion and our favorite. The staff went well out of their way to provide for me and my wife. If you are searching for a romantic paradise setting away from crowded beaches, this is for you. It is gorgeous, relaxing, and you'll feel like royalty. We will definitely book this again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best place to go while on a cruise

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
Dharmon
from Water Valley, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was absolutely my favorite place to visit. The staff was extra friendly and helpful. They take care of all of your needs. The chef cooked us an amazing lunch.. Best Mexican food I've had in a long time! Alcohol is included so that's always a plus! The beach was clean and the water was crystal clear. This is a private beach so you don't have to deal with people trying to sell you something constantly.. Major plus! It was worth every penny!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Value

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Guest avatar
Nikster
from Cincinnati,Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's not worth the price. 1) It's a 3 room hut. 2) It's not private. 3) The food was awful. 4) The chef did not speak English, 5) The beach was littered with stones which made walking in the water very difficult. 6) No water was available to wash your feet.
The positives were the view was awesome, the staff was friendly, and the beach equipment was comfortable and in good condition.
I've been on other excursions with the same features for half the price.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for Sunbathing and Drinking...

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Terpening
from MCAS Cherry Point, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The staff is great and they were very accommodating and friendly. The number of people allowed was also small, which was nice. The drinks were excellent...especially the Mojito. The food was very good and served at your digression. I liked that it wasn't buffet style. You can pick when and where you want to be served. They also offered fair priced massages beach side. There were plenty of lounge chairs on the beach and the water/beach was clean and beautiful. As far as activities, they were limited...aside from sunbathing and drinking. The snorkeling, well there was nothing to look at really. So if you desire adventure, this isn't the place for you...but if you want to be spoiled and drink till you can't anymore, this is the place for you!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Relaxation

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Suzie1185
from Illinois
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have done this excursion twice now, and I loved the 2nd time even more than the first. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The second your drink is empty they are there to see if you need anything. The food is wonderful, best fish tacos I have ever had.
The view is amazing whichever way you turn and very peaceful since there are not a lot of people there. It's wonderful to just lie in the beach chair and hear the sound of the ocean, or go for a nice long walk on the beach.
I cannot wait till next year when I will be going again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most relaxing day!!

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
Graciebelle
from Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The staff and host are wonderful. After leaving there, we decided this was the best and most relaxing excursion we have ever done while in port at Cozumel. We have gone on more than 10 cruises and can honestly say if you are a couple looking for a simple yet relaxing day, then you will not be disappointed. The food, drinks (not watered down), and beach were well worth the money. If we ever port in Cozumel again, I will be booking this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Getaway

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Guest avatar
jccarrottop
from San Francisco, CA.
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I very much enjoyed my time in Cozumel at La Casa en La Playa! Everything from the food to drinks to the beach activities were beyond amazing and worth every penny. I would highly recommend this excursion and will most certainly choose this when I visit Cozumel again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
MargeFutureS
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was easily the best part of our trip! I travelled to Cozumel at the end of August 2014 with my boyfriend. The guys from Tripping Cool Group met us at port, greeted us (the entire boatload of folks), and made sure we got hooked up with the right group. They were extremely personable from the get-go.
We boarded vans and headed to La Casa. When we arrived, the hosts met us with drinks and showed us around the property. It was beautiful, and right on the beach. We were able to schedule massages to be had right on the beach (and yes, it was as awesome as it sounds).
We had FAB drinks all day--the fresh mango margarita was my favorite--and lunch was absolutely amazing. I had fish that had cooked in a banana leaf, and it was the best thing I ate the whole trip. Plus appetizers and chips and fresh salsa the whole day too.
After a fun snorkeling trip out into the water, one of the guys asked if my guy and I would like dessert and we said yes. We went up to the balcony (there's a single table up there), and they brought me a pineapple carved to look like a parrot. Awesome enough by itself, but it gets better: they had helped my boyfriend (now FIANCE!) pull off the perfect proposal! The ring box was inside the pineapple, and after I said yes (!) they brought out a delicious coconut whipped dessert with "Congratulations" written in chocolate around the plate. They served us congratulatory wine, took pics of the whole thing, and even sent us a video of it!
When I say this was an AMAZING excursion, it's an understatement. Seriously--this was fantastic for us, and I'm sure it was just as enjoyable for the other lovely guests as well. From what I can tell, anything through Tripping Cool Group is fabulous. I would book this again in a heartbeat and recommend to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>