Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.849 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(338 reviews) 338
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 338 reviews
5 Stars
311
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
6
1 Star
3
327 out of 337(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth it!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
Biscuit08
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I thought I would be stepping into luxury and be treated like royalty based on the other reviews... wrong. When we arrived, there were already a bunch of people there and all the good chairs were taken near the beach. We couldn't find anyone to give us towels or a drink. That seemed to be a recurring theme throughout the day. The drinks were watered down, if they even had any alcohol in them at all. The food portion were small, something I would consider a snack (And, I'm only 5 feet tall and a 100 lbs). They only had 3 choices for lunch and one was pasta?! They did end up making me a vegetarian option which was nice.
The ladies bathroom has 2 doors to it, one is directly in front of the chef's station where he cooks. It's also right in front of the toliet. The door had a pretty substantial gap in it so the chef could look inside the restroom, if he wanted to and I praying that none of the fumes from the bathroom reached the food. You can't flush toliet paper in the toliet and I had to call a waiter to fish out toliet paper another person had thrown in there. In summary, the house is run down. With how much each person pays for this excursion, they could easily update the plumbing or enhance the decor a bit. All in all, I didn't feel like I got my money's worth and would have rather taken the rocky shores beach excursion since it was less expensive and the beach was not that great where we were at anyway. Save your money....
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Had a great time!!

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Guest avatar
RhondaP
from Rhonda of KC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Booked this excursion on our last cruise (Nov 30) We had the best time with the staff and they made sure the drinks were flowing. Clemente and his staff were awesome!! We would totally do this excusion again, we met some great people and had a wonderful time.
The ONLY downside was when we booked the excursion it was for 5 hours, we barely got 2 hours because for whatever reason we were running late. Over all though it was a great experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best tour on the cruise

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Guest avatar
Cream
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendly staff, comfortable and beautiful surroundings.We were treated like royalty. Did I mention the food and drinks were plentiful and tasty?
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

our favorite day!!!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
ParadiseFound
from columbus, ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this excursion was amazing!! we visited on December 11. the staff at la casa is incredible - friendly, fun, engaging and completely attentive. excellent food and drinks. we even spent time with our private chef learning authentic Mexican recipes! the location is close to port, which allows for a fun full day on location. the water was crystal clear, warm and perfect for snorkeling. lot of fish and large shells to see! the location is quaint, picturesque and private. we relaxed in the shady hammocks and soaked in the sun on the beautiful beach. we had a perfect day to spend a romantic day together with a very small group of guests. every part of this excursion was top notch, but the staff on site was what really made the day perfect.
we highly recommend this excursion and would for sure go back again ourselves!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Kendra76
from Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a great time! The drinks were good and the food was amazing! We were able to try some great authentic cuisine. The guys make sure that your every need is taken care of. The beach was great. It was windy the day we were there and they told us ahead of time the snokling wouldn't happen due to cloudy water, but we still did it on our own. They had beach toys for my son and even got him a coconut so he could drink out of one. I can't say enough good about our day. We loved it! The only bad thing was that we had to leave. What a great place, I would definately do this one again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A waste of money - not what was described

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Anonymous
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Where to start...a two story shack...couldn't walk in the water for all the rocks...3" thick sticks in the sand right by the water, sticking out of the sand two ft...waiters practically disappeared and bartender would not give you a drink, had to have a waiter get it...chef gives you one saucer of salsa and about 7 chips...Carnival should can this excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Experience

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
AAGrez
from Asheville, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
We booked this excursion for early December 2014--best excursion we have been on. Staff was extremely helpful, friendly and nice. We were able to snorkel and kayak on a clean quiet beach. Food and drinks were included in the excursion, the food was amazing. The staff joined in on a game of volleyball with us and another vacationer. They made our time on Cozumel truly amazing, would do it again and would recommend it to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST tour ever

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Ricquel59
from Roanoke, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an amazing tour we ALL had. Clemente and the entire staff greeted us enthusiastically where we were made to leave our worries at the door.- Don't Worry Be Happy was indeed the motto of this group. Needless to say the food, and drinks, were excellent as was the beach but the staff - Superb!!. We met as strangers and ended up feeling like family and leaving as friends. My husband who does not swim did just that and along with a great game of volley ball, he nor our daughter can't stop talking about what a fantastic time was had. We will Definitely book this excursion again not only for the fun but because of the new friends we have acquired at La Casa en La Playa. I highly recommend this excursion for the intimacy, food, fun and Great company.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It was ok...not for us.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Guest avatar
GLJ2014
from Austin, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We read a great deal of reviews about this excursion and decided this was the one. It was ok. Not great. DEFINITELY bring water shoes!!! There were a lot of rocks and shells getting into and going out pretty far into the water and if you don't have shoes...good luck. The place was nice, the people were nice. They had snorkel equipment and kayaks to use. They kept the drinks and food flowing. Both were really good. The young men who waited on us all worked hard to make sure we had what we needed. After awhile we got kind of bored and wanted to leave. This "private" island area was pretty small. They have a photographer on staff for a fee, massage on the beach looked amazing but was way more than I was expecting so we didn't do it. Then the staff had a box for "tips" and I felt that the excursion was already pretty expensive and that being squeezed for more money was kind of lame. We won't do this one again but if you enjoy just laying around eating and drinking then it just maybe for you. It wasn't horrible but just wasn't for us.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Relaxation and Fun

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Guest avatar
RichLee
from Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
My wife and I spent the day at La Casa en La Playa and it was the best excursion on our cruise. Great hospitality, friendly, and good food. The beach was wonderful and the staff took great care of us. We took notes on the recipes and will try and duplicate them at home. So, get away from the crowds and spent a wonderful day at La Casa en La Playa.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We had blast!!!!!!

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Guest avatar
jbmynes
from West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I would like to thank the guys at La Casa en La Playa for making our first trip to Cozumel memorable. This has been the best excursion I have been on yet from Carnival Cruise Lines. The food was excellent. The beach was excellent. My wife and I had a great time December 10, 2014. I had never really been snorkeling, and went snorkeling just off the coast to a rock formation. There were so many fish. It was unbelievable. This excursion is worth every penny!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Guest avatar
DallasJen
from Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our cruise was the week after Thanksgiving 2014. This is the excursion we selected in Cozumel, and I highly recommend it!! The company, Tripping Cool Excursions, was organized and professional from the moment they greeted us on the ship. The private beach is about a 10-15 minute drive from the port. The transportation they provided to and from port was safe and reliable. Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted with ice cold lemonade. From our own private chef and bartender, to the white sand and crystal blue water, this is not an excursion to miss!! We spent over 4 hours in paradise at La Casa en La Playa, and still had almost 2 hours to shop once arriving back at port. You've never experienced Cozumel like this. Book this excursion now!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Day

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
ThanksgivingCruiser
from Kansas City, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was one of the best excursions we've ever taken. Relaxing, beautiful, peaceful, fun, perfect! The food and drinks were great, the staff was so helpful and really took good care of us. The snorkeling was good, founds lots of shells and saw great fish. Would do it again and would recommend it to anyone!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect excursion!

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Lisa282
from Grand Prairie,TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I booked this excursion for my family including my 2 kids and parents. I was worried about a beach trip because my mother is in a wheelchair but they were extremely helpful and did all they could to accommodate us and set my parents up with a great view. Food and drinks were great. Clemente was a wonderful host and the rest of the staff were great as well. I highly recommend this excursion and will take it on my next trip to cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful & Relaxing with Awesome Service!

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Guest avatar
Algebrat
from Temple, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I chose this excursion after comparing it to several other beach excursions. We were taken by van to the beach, about a 15-20 minute drive. The beach was absolutely beautiful and there were plenty of seats for all. There was a total of about 40 people on this section of the beach, not crowded at all. Clemente was our guide and he was perfect. We enjoyed talking with him, and he was very fun and informative. All wait staff were extremely polite. The 20' of shore on the right was a bit rocky going in, but all the shore to the left was sandy and pleasant. I enjoyed a couple swims, and used the complimentary snorkeling equipment to get a great look at the beautiful fish. I had the fish platter for a meal and it was as good as anything served on the boat! We are already planning on doing this excursion again. Thx!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

serenity

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
goodtime
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Definitely an excursion worth the money. The hospitality, food and drinks were fantastic!! If you like to snorkel you will really enjoy this location. Our time here went by way too fast!!!
The water can be a bit rocky, so I would recommend water shoes, There is loads of seating.... we chose beach chairs, however; these were in need of replacement (1 was held together with a plastic line). Despite, this minor criticism this excursion is a definite do again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tour on the island!

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
LouE
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clemente and his crew were excellent! They took care of you as if you were royalty! The meal was delicious and the drinks were kept flowing. The beach was beautiful and the snorkling was awesome. The amount of time on the beach was perfect.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent - ready to go again!!

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
IndyQuinnFamily
from Speedway, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been on over 17 cruises and this excursion tops them all when it comes to relaxation and being pampered. We were there November 19, 2014 and Clemente and the entire staff went beyond what I ever expected. Next trip to Couzmel we won't even consider anything but this excursion. I already have cruises booked in 2015 and 2016 and immediately looked at the itinery to see if it included Couzmel so I could book this excursion again. Don't let this one pass you by. Book early - you won't regret it!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful excursion!

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Dixieloo
from Fort Worth TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only complaint we have about this excursion is that we had to leave! Alex and the staff were fantastic. The food and drinks were great and we never had to ask for anything. Will definitely do this one again the next cruise.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing! Relaxing! And Amazing!

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Guest avatar
Iluvdodgetrx
from Salem indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Loved this place! It was the highlight of our entire cruise! The bathroom could use upgrades for sure, but the staff is amazing. The massage in the beach was affordable and heavenly! You won't be disappointed with this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>