Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.768 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(695 reviews) 695
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 695 reviews
5 Stars
615
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
15
1 Star
13
650 out of 687(95%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most AWESOME excursion in Cozumel...99 reasons to love it!!!

PostedJune 21, 2016
from Houston Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best tour in Cozumel yet...I am super impressed. A nice, relaxing, beautiful, and fun tour. It is super awesome in 99 different ways. Just wow. :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

relaxing

PostedJune 21, 2016
from Oklahoma City, Ok
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
If you want to relax and have a few drinks this is for you. Food was delicious. Adolfo and his crew were awesome. However we couldn't snorkel due to the murky water. Lots of big rocks in the water. Definitely bring water shoes!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We did not want to leave.

PostedJune 19, 2016
from Quitman, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great location,wonderful staff, and excellent food. We enjoyed this excursion thoroughly.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best service & scenery, great for multigenerational groups

PostedJune 18, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our family, spanning three generations (ages 15 to nearly 80) and all activity levels from sporty to can barely walk, loved this excursion! The staff was incredibly warm, friendly and helpful; they made us feel at home and anticipated every need. The fish steamed in banana leaf was the best meal I've ever had on a cruise and the drinks were delicious, although could have had more alcohol (and I'm not a heavy drinker). The scenery and water were gorgeous. Relaxing under the coconut palms, in that beautiful place, was an experience I'd like to re-live!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is amazing and such a great deal for the price!

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our tour guide was absolutely amazing. He was extremely knowledgeable, confident, and reassuring. He is definitely one that I would recommend for this fabulous little get away, with lunch, drinks, snorkeling, and a massage therapist on hand. The Chef and staff were very kind, courteous and always willing to get what you asked for! Honestly for everything that is included in this package, you can not go wrong, and they ensure that you are back to the port in a timely manner! We will return on our next visit!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Service, Fun, & Relaxing Excursion

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The excursion was such a nice experience. This was our first cruise and our first excursion. It was definitely worth it. Isis was our excursion manager and she was great! The home was awesome and the service was amazing. Everyone was so concerned about our needs that we felt like royalty. The only drawback was that we did not really get to experience the ocean because of all the coral. My husband even sprained his foot trying to get in; however, this is not the fault of anyone, so it wouldn't be fair to rate the excursion on things no one has control over.. Other than that the excursion was perfect!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Excursion...Highly Recommend

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Dallas, Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My now husband and I picked this excursion because we were on our honeymoon and wanted to enjoy some time in a more quiet paradise, away from the crowded beaches, etc. THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT WE GOT!!! It was and about 20 other people at this wonderful spot. Fair warning, we were a little nervous after riding down the dirt road to get there but it was wonderful.
The wait staff did a fantastic job keeping us refreshed with anything we wanted to drink and the food was amazing. I can not say enough wonderful things about this excursion. Even though it may cost more than some of the others it is definitely worth it in the end.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good with small kids

PostedJune 16, 2016
from Fayetteville, Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good if you have small kids or just want to take it easy. I booked online and they charged me for my 1 year old too. Our guide was great. They had GMC vans for transport. They hold 6 people each. Did not appear handicapped friendly. About 30 min drive non scenic. The beach house was nice. They have a septic tank so they don't want you to flush toilet paper as well. Shower was dirty with few dead flies in them. Food was ok and they cook it there for you. Quantity was small but they can cook more if you desire. Beach is rocky and not the prettiest you expect. Bring your water shoes. Hammocks and sitting areas were nice. Swimming pool was the winner for my 6 & 1 year olds. They do ask for the tips at the end but won't get mad if you don't. If you have small kids who can't do other excursions or if you want to just do nothing kinda mood, this place is for you. Service was exvellent. They keep bringing you drinks as you want. I have it 4 stars (one lost for the beach) but it was a good experience. Go for the setting and not for the beach, and you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic every time

PostedJune 15, 2016
from Katy Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have done this excursion twice now and highly recommend it - great time with a great staff. Incredible value.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing getaway!

PostedJune 12, 2016
from Adamsville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was peaceful and relaxing. It was about a 15 minute taxi ride to the house. There was about 15 people in our group all together. We got a appetizer, lunch, dessert, and unlimited drinks. It was all really good but the drinks aren't strong at all. We also got to watch one of the cooks make guacamole out by the pool. I personally don't like guacamole but this was actually good and I ate some of it. We had excellent service and tour guide(Fernando). The beach is rocky but shoes are provided if you don't have your own. We weren't able to snorkel because the water was too murky that day. However, it was very enjoyable to lay out under the cabana and enjoy the scenery. I would definitely recommend if you want to be away from large crowds and relax for the day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for relaxing/tanning and drinkers

PostedJune 10, 2016
from Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If you want unlimited drinks from someone who pours with a heavy hand - this is your spot. This excursion is good for those who want to drink and tan/lay in the sun.
It is NOT good for snorkeling or getting in the water because the area is too rocky and there were signs warning to be careful of the rocks. Probably not good for kids because of this either. The water was not as clear as other parts of the island where they did snorkeling just fine. Sand was rough and not very pleasant either.
Service was excellent though and they pretty much got whatever you wanted. Sadly there was not enough food for the price so like I said, if you want to get drunk, come here, if you want to eat food, do not come here. We also were promised that the chef would give us recipes or show us how to cook something simple we can do at home but that never even happened as it was advertised. They said no one was there to sell anything but then 20 minutes in there was a lady trying to sell massages. The massages are a great price but again, not as advertised because they said that wouldn't happen.
Overall I'm don't think I'd come back here again.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch

PostedJune 8, 2016
from Lawton, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my 3rd time to do this excursion. If you port in Cozumel.... this is the one to do. Short bus ride to a private beach home. Catered to by a chef, bartender, several staff. For lunch, the chef made me a fish wrapped in a banana leaf. It was amazing. Drinks and assistance are a glance away. We snorkeled in the ocean and then swam in the pool. My kids bought me a massage as a thank you .... I paid for their cruise since it was their honeymoon. The massage made my legs weak! It was heaven. If you can...request Adolfo De La Cruz Alcocer to be your guide. I can't say enough about Adolfo and his co-workers. They made everything top notch.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING! Will go back!

PostedJune 6, 2016
from Savannah, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was amazing! The entire staff was very attentive to our needs. The chef was amazing and the waiters were always there to bring us new drinks! This is more of a relaxing atmosphere, probably not too kid friendly. If you just want to soak in the sun and have an amazing view of the ocean, this is the perfect place! Not to mention the amazing lunch and drinks. I just can't understand how this excursion could could anything but perfect reviews! We will be visiting again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Time

PostedJune 6, 2016
from Middletown, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding day. There were only 7 in our group so it was very private. It was a 15-20 minute ride with our guide to the property, where we were introduced to the chef, bartender and our server.(all of them were great) After a tasty drink of the day we settled into our lounge chairs by the beach. As mentioned in other reviews..the beach is beautiful but the entry into the water was very rocky. Once past the rocks the snorkeling was amazing. Our guide took us way out to the reef. Back on dry land we enjoyed the pool and time in the sun. Lunch was served on the beach. We had a couple of choices and there was plenty to eat. The remainder of the day was spent relaxing and enjoying cold beverages. (my hand was never empty). Well worth the price and will certainly do this again next time we are in Cozumel. Thanks Tripping Cool Group!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and Relaxing

PostedJune 4, 2016
from Orange, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I went here last year. We absolutely loved it. We are hoping to go back again. Only thing we would do differently is bring bug spray.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It was okay

PostedJune 2, 2016
from North Carolina
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Let me start out with the pros...food was good, the people that work here are lovely, and the massage I got was amazing. However, there were some cons. The drinks are not strong (but it is all you can drink), the bathrooms were not that clean, and snorkeling is pretty difficult in the area. Although we had an alright time I do not feel like I got my moneys worth. Also the web page for this excursion is a little misleading. The water is not that clear at the section of the beach which is why snorkeling was next to impossible.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value and terrific all around

PostedJune 1, 2016
from Boston
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
we had a wonderful laid-back day on the beach. The staff was exceptional, the drinks non-stop and delicious and the food authentic, fresh and yummy. The massages on the beach were very reasonably priced and lovely.
Kudos to the fabulous, friendly staff.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!

PostedMay 31, 2016
from Kill Buck, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This excursion was by far the best that I have ever done. Everyone made sure that you were well taken care during your time at La Casa. I would definitely do this one again!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a good value

PostedMay 30, 2016
from Dallas, texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The pictures of this house must be quite old because neither the house nor the grounds resemble the pictures.
The house is run down, outdoor furniture is run down, kitchen was filthy, the beach was too rocky to enjoy, and the staff preached about tipping being their only source of income from the moment we were picked up until we were dropped off at the cruise terminal. Each staff member went from table to table telling their life stories and how poor they were. Cooking demonstration was guacamole, beer was in tiny little bottles, service extremely slow and poor, and the pool was not big enough for the group to enjoy. Lunch was served just before heading back to ship. Do not recommend. Is not good value for the cost
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You won't want to leave!!!

PostedMay 29, 2016
from Illinios
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thai was the best money we spent on the whole trip! Such a smal group of people, the drive wasn't long from port and we even had fun jamming to the misic in the bus. The bus ride was very educational. Once we arrived on the island we were greeted by the friendly staff and mango drinks. The beach was amazing! Snorkeling was fun. Although if your going just for the snorkeling you might want to choose another spot, but we were able to see many different kids of fish. We found a lot of large sea shells. I would recommend wearing some boat shoes in the water some spots were a little rough on the feet. If your looking for a peaceful place to take in the beautiful beach and sun this is your place!! I would recommend this place to my family and friends. Such a nice, quiet beach. Although I didn't travel with my childen I would recommend this for a family with children. The beach isn't crowded and had lots of shade if needed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 35 next>>