Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(452 reviews) 452
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 452 reviews
5 Stars
404
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
8
430 out of 451(95%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Experience!

PostedMay 21, 2015
JP1979
from Cullman Al
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were greeted by Flower and Fernando at the pier and then transferred to the excursion via an air conditioned shuttle. When arriving at the Luxurious beach house we were greeted by the staff and told to leave all worries behind and to let them wait on us, which we did. My wife and I got a bed on the beach, I snorkeled and enjoyed lounging in a hammock and being pampered by the wait staff. The food was excellent and the staff made a floral arrangement for my wife as it was our anniversary. Fernando, Flower, and the entire staff went well beyond what was expected and we do this excursion again in a heartbeat! It was heaven on earth!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing, relaxing beach trip

PostedMay 19, 2015
bsonn2015
from Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The crew at Tripping Cool did an outstanding job. They took us to a private beach. We were served drinks immediately, and had a private chef who prepared incredible meals. The homemade guacamole was amazing. They kept bringing the drinks and took very good care of us. The excursion is worth every penny. I'll be doing it again next time. Spend the extra money, you will not regret it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Excursion

PostedMay 18, 2015
AbbyStep3
from Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and our friends booked this excursion for our cruise last week. It truly was the highlight of our trip! The entire staff of Tripping Cool (the company that runs this particular excursion) was amazing. They were knowledgeable, gracious and humble. The drive to the property was pleasant, and the taxi driver was great. The property is breathtaking - beautiful beaches, great shady spots for lounging and awesome pool. Having done this excursion, I would pay double the price to do it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice

PostedMay 17, 2015
pbz412
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Extreme
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion is a little more expensive but it is worth every penny. Its difficult to describe how relaxing and pampered you feel during the 4 hours. You are taken from the Cozumel port on a shuttle to a secluded beach. And secluded is exactly what it is. At the location, there is a nice house, a pool, indoor, outdoor restrooms, beds and beach chairs with umbrellas on the beach and beds and beach chairs off the beach. There is even a hammock. The men who worked at the location were awesome. Very nice, very hard working, took care of everything. They bring you snacks, drinks and then serve you a full dinner, which was excellent. I can easily say that this excursion was the highlight of our cruise.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This excursion was NOT worth the money!

PostedMay 16, 2015
davidandrose
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We were really disappointed with this excursion because it did not meet the expectations we had after reading the reviews. The beach was so rocky and there was seaweed every where. The guide described the beautiful coral we would see snorkeling but there wasn't much to see. The food was just ok and not very much. We read where we would be met with guacamole and chips and salsa but we had to go ask the one chef for it and he acted like we were bothering him. Overall it was just a big disappointment for what we paid for this excursion. Don't waste your money!!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everything Perfect but the Water

PostedMay 14, 2015
johnnycruisin
from Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is an excellent choice if you just want to relax on the beach and drink all the alcohol you want. The staff are extremely friendly and know how to cater to your every need. The atmosphere is great, and the beach and house set up is as relaxing as possible. This would be a five star rating if not for the condition of the water. I don't know if the water is always that murky on that part of the island but it was no where near as clear as by the pier, or as clear as other beaches I've been to in Cozumel. Don't get me wrong the water is still okay, but it was not the crystal clear water we were hoping for. If snorkeling isn't on your to-do list, and you're more interested in relaxing on the beach, then it is definitely worth every penny.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!!!

PostedMay 12, 2015
Okla1nurse
from USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
A full day of total pampering by a incredible staff. A great way to enjoy the local beach with as much fun or as much peace as you want. Hammocks in the shade or party at the bar. Small group of only 14 guest. Private chef that cooks your choice of a variety of foods. Fun, attentive and wonderful staff waiting on your every need. Highly recommend!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun excursion!

PostedMay 11, 2015
BettyK
from Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
La Casa en La Playa was a very nice excursion. Vans and taxis picked us up and took us on about a 15 minute drive to get there. We were welcomed by the host and staff when we arrived and were soon sitting on the beautiful beach. The waiters were very attentive and took our drink and food orders quickly and kept drinks refilled the whole time we were there. The chef cooked a wonderful lunch with chicken, beef, fish, and vegetarian options. The serving sizes weren't huge, but it was plenty for lunch.
We were advised to walk a little to the left of the house to get in the water in order to avoid the rocks. A lot of our group snorkeled and, even though there's not a reef there, they enjoyed seeing starfish, conchs, and lots of fish. The beach was beautiful and relaxing. We had a couple of hours of sunshine and then it rained for the rest of our visit, so we had to spend a good bit of time on the front porch or up in the bar after lunch.
The hut/house has a kitchen, small sitting area, one women's bathroom downstairs and the bar and men's bathroom upstairs, so there's not a lot of room inside to hang out. However, there's lots of shade under the palm trees and umbrellas if you want to get out of the sun for a while, and some time in the water cools you off nicely. Massages and photos were offered for a price. Being a non-drinker, the excursion was a little pricey for me, but the others in the group got their money's worth! It was a nice, relaxing way to spend our time in Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedMay 11, 2015
jklm525
from Sugar Land, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We booked this excursion expecting to just relax on the beach and spoil ourselves. That's exactly what we got. The staff was excellent. Clemente made the best guacamole ever and we even had a tequila tasting lesson. Food was good, you could order another plate if you wanted more. Drinks were good, they used quality liquor not the cheap stuff! The only thing that was disappointing was there was no pool at our location. I was looking forward to floating in a quiet pool. Beach and water was very pretty, wear shoes when walking out, the first part near the shore is rocky but it gets better the further out you get.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A True Day in Paradise!

PostedMay 11, 2015
Fritzy
from Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This could not have been a better day! The staff was very friendly and attentive, the food was delicious, and the drinks were bottomless! There were several other couples there during our excursion, but the beach is large and spread out enough that it didn't feel crowded at all. Unfortunately the waves were a bit too choppy to use snorkeling equipment the day we were there, but it was still very nice to wade out into the water and let the waves crash over us. There are a lot of rough rocks just under the water in the shallows, but the staff provides water shoes so you'll be fine. Also very accepting of LGBT couples!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Place

PostedMay 10, 2015
Jimmy1970
from Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
was the best part of the cruise. Will be back soon.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

If you want to relax this is it!

PostedMay 7, 2015
NOLABECK
from New Orleans La
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have read some of the reviews and realize that out of the 2 locations it looks like we got the gem. We were at the location with the pool and it was close to perfect. Well kept, clean and had anything we needed. We had a very small group and I wonder if that had anything to do with it. Clemente and his staff were awesome at making sure we enjoyed ourselves. Staff even climbed a coconut tree when one of the guests wanted to experience a drink in a real coconut. The food was delicious and we enjoyed the lessons and demonstrations. No the portions were not huge but it was more than enough and the drinks were free flowing. My husband even got a lesson on picking out the best tequila and how to properly do a tasting when he told Clemente he hadn't touched tequila in 40 years. Our only disappointment was the beach. If you are looking for a pristine, sandy ,beautiful blue water beach this is not the place. The beach is rocky near the water and difficult to navigate. They had beach shoes available to use but those did not inspire much confidence in trying to get past the rocks to the sandy bottom areas. The attentiveness of the staff and the availability of the pool made up for this in our opinion. This would not be a good excursion to bring children.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Artttt
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about Artttt is loaded.
Additional information about Artttt could not be loaded.
Posted May 14, 2015
FYI my kids had a blast and so did we.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Secluded getaway

PostedMay 6, 2015
Ace23
from Point Pleasant, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top notch staff, beautiful setting, great food and drinks, very relaxing lazy beach day, a little bit expensive
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highlight of our cruise

PostedMay 5, 2015
Hcgirls
from Chester County, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. We were a group of 9 women celebrating our big birthday year. Our guide, Isis, greeted us and whisked us away to the beach house. The wonderful staff waited on us constantly bringing drinks and snacks. A delicious meal was prepared and served as we sat on the lovely outside dining area. The views were spectacular, and the swimming pool was very refreshing. We also managed to take a dip in the ocean, even though it was a little murky near the shore that day. We felt very special and pampered! Thank you to Isis and the staff!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What an excellent excursion

PostedMay 3, 2015
RicardoM8988
from Charlotte NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were met at the dock and carried to a private beach house in a comfortable air conditioned van. We were met by Clemente who was our guide and introduced to the staff and given the run down of the facilities. Even though the weather was a little rainy, we had a great time! The staff took very good care of us, the food was excellent and the service was top notch with everyone wanting to make sure that we had everything we needed. Our guide Clemente was absolutely great, top notch! Incredibly friendly and a wonderful person who had time to sit and talk and really make us feel at home. I definitely recommend this to anyone going to Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our newest favorite excursion

PostedApril 28, 2015
aclarkbar
from Oil City, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After meeting at the designated location, we were taken by air conditioned van to the private beach location. It was a short drive to the secluded location. Upon arrival, we were given an introduction to all of the staff and an overview of the area.
The facilities that we used were clean and well maintained. Since the number of tickets sold are limited, there were plenty of beach chairs for everyone. The beach was very nice. Some areas were a bit rocky, but the staff pointed out where the best places to enter the water to avoid the majority of the rocks. I would recommend water shoes if this is an issue for you.
The staff were dedicated and fun. They frequently came by to check for drink refills and make sure everyone is taken care of. The drinks were not watered down and we were given the option of whatever we wanted to drink (as long as the ingredients were available) - not just two or three options. There was a photographer that did an amazing job of taking pictures of us on the beach.
For lunch, we were give our choice of several times to eat and several meal options. Everyone in our group was quite pleased with taste and quality of the food. We were also given the option of learning how the chef prepares the meals, but we opted to relax on the beach instead.
A couple of thing worth mentioning that were not negatives to us, but could impact others. The men's room is on the second floor of the beach house that appeared to only be accessible by several flights of steps. The bar is also on the second floor and one of the rules is that the staff will not serve shots on the beach - you must go to the bar for them.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was definitely the highlight of our cruise.

PostedApril 27, 2015
Tina1959
from Hamilton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been on a fair number of cruises and excursions, but this one was the best by far. Three of us were celebrating almost 40 years of friendship. This retreat was beautiful and relaxing. I can't say enough about the staff. We were truly pampered. The food and drinks were great and I learned the proper way to shoot tequila! Two of us got massages. Nothing beats an ocean breeze and the sound of waves hitting the shore to make a great massage even better. I look forward to taking this excursion on my next trip to Cozumel!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
AnniversaryGuy
Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about AnniversaryGuy is loaded.
Additional information about AnniversaryGuy could not be loaded.
Massages?
Posted May 7, 2015
Did you have to pay extra for the massages, and if so, how much?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very relaxing

PostedApril 25, 2015
daarnold86
from Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Me and the wife had a very relaxing time at the resort. Drinks and food were great. The wife had a message which was a very reasonable price. Only down side was the water was rough the day we went so we couldn't really enjoy swimming but that's not the resorts fault. We would recommend doing this excursiion if your looking to relax and enjoy good drinks and quiet time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing, Picture Perfect Beach Getaway!

PostedApril 24, 2015
Christina918
from Tulsa, Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Where do I start, this excursion was the absolute best of our trip. From the moment we showed up at the retreat we were treated like royalty.. from the prompt drink service to the homemade Guacamole and Pico... I was in heaven. Our private chef and wait staff were all hands down, perfection!! The view from the beach chair was breathtaking! It was a bit windy the day we were in port, but the beach was still port card beautiful. Wear your water shoes if venturing out into the ocean, as it is a little rocky.
Tequila tasting is definitely a must, even if you think you don't like Tequila, just listen to them teach you how to drink it and you will be amazed out how good it is.
I cant say enough amazing things about this place! I will definitely be returning on my next trip down!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a wonderful day!

PostedApril 20, 2015
Southern1
from Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Extreme
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was wonderful.... The staff was so kind and willing to do what ever it took to make you happy and make it your special place. The food and drinks were incredible. The only thing I wish that could change for this excursion is that it was for adults only....
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>