Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.796 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(515 reviews) 515
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 515 reviews
5 Stars
459
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
8
1 Star
8
489 out of 511(96%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly lived up to it's 5 star reviews!

PostedJuly 31, 2015
BigTex10
from N. East Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All the 5 star reviews are spot on! Nice clean air conditioned van , 15 minute ride from pier and you arrive at private beach house, only 16 guest were there the entire 5 hrs. Drinks flowed non stop, They brought us chips and salsa, fresh guacamole , and other appetizer' s. We opted for the fish baked in banana leaf for lunch. Very good choice. We were offered An opportunity to go snorkeling . There were tables and chairs, beds and hammocks , beach chairs with umbrellas . In the sun or in the shade take your pick. The water was absolutely beautiful. This place was as close to "paradise" as I have ever been. There was not one thing about this excursion that could have been any better. We will definitely pick this excursion any time we are headed to cozumel. Also we were back to the pier in plenty of time to do some shopping before getting back on the ship.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our own little beach house!

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Mishy10104
from Miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We took the kids on this excursion and they enjoyed it just as much as us. They catered to us the entire time and made our birthday celebration one to remember! Food was amazing and plentiful. Drinks were cold and delicious. The service is what makes this tour one of a kind though! I would want to go back to Cozumel just to go back there!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect day of relaxation

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Qwenya
from New Orleans
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My friend and I could not have had a better day at the beach in Cozumel! It was as if this tour was designed with us in mind. Plenty of beach to explore or to just relax upon. Lunch was delicious as were the yummy cocktails. These guys treated us like valued guests, and we enjoyed being pampered. Loved the demonstration by the pool on how to make authentic guacomole.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Time !!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 25, 2015
drb191
from North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From start to finish could not have been any better!!!!
Drinks, food, and the people were great
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a great getaway!

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Emerald83
from Nederland,Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We booked this excursion on the cruise ship it really looked like something we would want to do. Boy were we right. Luis our host was very gracious and his crew made us feel welcome. The beach was beautiful and it was a small group so crowds weren't an issue. The staff was at our every beck & call. It was very relaxing and the atmosphere was wonderful. The food was great. I'm already planning on going back next summer
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a wonderful day

PostedJuly 23, 2015
lulu57
from California
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our day started with a tour guide named Yantar who was wonderful and took care of all our needs. The private villa we went to was beautiful. Right on the beach. If you didn't want to get into the ocean and snorkel or swim, there was a pool to cool off in. They provided us with a wonderful chef, waiter, bartender, great food and all the drinks we could consume during our time there. If you wanted a massage it was extra but reasonable. Great day for the entire family. Would do it again without question.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect getaway!

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Denise78
from Melbourne
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From beginning to end this excursion was perfect, the service was fantastic throughout, the place was immaculately clean, it was tranquil and the food exquisite! The extras of freshly made cocktails available from beginning to end and the fresh food made it worth the money, I particularly enjoyed being able to watch how everything was prepared and cooked . I loved the demonstration on how to make Guacamole and the Tequila tasting session definitely changed my mind on it and made me realise that its worth spending a bit more. I liked the fact that the number of people was limited made it more exclusive and a quieter retreat, I also have to add that the staff were amazing here and nothing was too much trouble, I cant praise them enough!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a Beach Bums excursion.

PostedJuly 20, 2015
RPCruiser
from Mobile, Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Wife and I are Beach Bums. So Naturally we enjoyed this excursion very much. It is pricey but it definitely made for a nice day on the beach. There are rocks in the water so I recommend those sand/water shoes to protect your feet. The setting is very pretty and there is plenty of shade for those who need it. The drinks are unlimited but the food was a bit lacking. We had a choice of chicken, pork or fish. The food was well prepared but the serving was quite small. For the price we paid the food should have been more abundant. Our guide was J C and he was great. He is with you from the time you meet on the cruise pier until he sees to it you are safely back. He was checking on us throughout the day and even delivered drinks to those of us in the water. He also led a snorkeling trip for those who wanted to do so. All the gear was provided and there is no additional charge for snorkeling. I do suggest this be made an Adults only excursion. The day we were there we had only one 11 year old girl in the group. She did fine but for the price an Adults only excursion would probably eliminate having only one child on a beach with a group of adults, some who were intent on enjoying the unlimited drinks. This is a very nice excursion and made for a fun day on the beach. I do, however, suggest to those of you who may not have been to Cozumel to consider going on one of the Passion Island excursions. Passion Island is the most beautiful beach on Cozumel and there are no rocks. Yea!!! There are also many more activities for the kids on passion Island. We have done both and enjoyed both. After all, we were cruising!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing and Relaxing time

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Christi1970
from Denham Springs, Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We absolutely enjoyed this excursion! We were told the staff was waiting on us to pamper us for the day, and this was no joke!
The ride is about 15-20 min in a air condition van, the excursion was not over booked at all! Jc and his staff were completely wonderful, drinks were flowing, plenty of chairs and beds. We loved the bed under the shaded palm trees. The food was okay. They also have ladies waiting to give you a massage so bring cash if you would like one. The lady who takes pictures does an amazing job! We would go back in a heart beat!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
tscckirk
SC
 
Please wait while more information about tscckirk is loaded.
Additional information about tscckirk could not be loaded.
Massage cost
Posted August 4, 2015
Do you recall how much the island massage cost?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Amazing!

PostedJuly 19, 2015
TBurnsRN
from The Colony, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had an amazing time on this excursion and cannot wait to go again. The staff were so gracious and accommodating. The food was delicious and the drinks were top notch!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome 30th birthday!!

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Jessbritt27
from Milan, tn
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was an awesome excursion!
The drinks were flowing all day, very nice beach, a few rocks, but that is nature for ya! I enjoyed almost all day drunk picking shells and coral. We got to snorkel. The mole chicken was excellent, we even got an awesome dessert! Our tour guide was cool, they were extremely attentive! Lots of places to lay around, and only about 12 of us there. Highly recommended!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

7-17-15 A Relaxing Day Being Pampered

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Jus4Golf
from Lafayette, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the moment we got to the beach house and JC introduced us to the staff while we sipped on freshly squeezed lemonade we knew this was going to be something special.
The staff was constantly offering us additional beverages. They brought out delicious appetizers and lunch was better than we could have dreamed. The private beach has a section with a sandy bottom which was clearly marked with a flag. The massages were much less expensive than on the ship and simply amazing.
This is a must see to believe excursion and we cannot wait to return.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome tour

PostedJuly 19, 2015
oceanblu
from Orlando, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
This tour will not disappoint. The house is a private house and it is lovely. About 20 minutes from the pier. My family visited on Monday July 13, 2015. Our host was JC. JC is amazing and a gracious host. We had superb attention from our host, from the staff, Erick, Tony and Fausto. The chef for the day is an amazing chef, Santos. My husband and I had the beef and my daughter the fish. Presentation and taste was the best. The beach is clean. The sand is soft. Not much seaweed, no seaweed in water. The water is clear. Few rocky places but they can be avoided as there are many areas in the water with no rocks. There are shady places if you need it. 3 hammocks in the shady spots. A massage tent that was in the shade with two ladies that give massages. We did not have one so can not comment. You are waited on hand and foot. They ask you when you would like to eat then come and get you when it is close to being done. The house has restrooms, a bar upstairs and out door showers to rinse off. They provide towels so no need to bring from ship. Bring your sunscreen, and cash for tips. All in all this excursion is worth every penny. This was the best excursion we had on our trip.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great time but need to invest in more kayaks

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Keri
from Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We had a good time. We kicked back in our lounge chairs and were waited on hand and foot. The workers here do an excellent job of taking care of their visitors. The food was good, (not great) and the drinks were non stop. Hubby snorkeled a bit (they have snorkeling equipment available and included) and we took pictures with our underwater camera. Yes, it is a bit rocky but if you brink water shoes it won't be an issue. Very quiet and relaxing! Hubby and I had planned to go kayaking (also included) but they only have one kayak and it was being repaired.
It was all adults on our excursion with a group of around 16-18 people.
I would visit here again and recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome relaxation Excellent food

PostedJuly 14, 2015
ShowMeTheBoat
from Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Definately take your water shoes-good sturdy ones! The beach is sandy but to enter the waters is very rocky-great snorkelling with waters only waist high! Kicking over large rocks that were actually huge conch shells brought out more sealife! Starfish, flounders and lobsters not far from shore in waters just waist deep. The food was awesome, fresh and authentic. We don't drink but those that did certainly seemed to get a fair amount of it! The lemonade was great! There is a nice pool but we stayed in the sea the entire time when not eating! It was a very relaxing day. Take bug spray too-they have wicked biting flies by the house where you eat-they didn't seem to bother us down by the sea.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

relax on the beach

PostedJuly 14, 2015
tah1
from Tomball, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were looking for an opportunity to relax on the beach, and enjoy the day, and this was the right spot for that. Our hostess, Flower was amazing! After a quick tour of the facility we made our way to beach where there were lounge chairs, hammocks, and umbrellas waiting for us. It was a sunny day, and the water was cool and clear. Flower showed us how to make guacamole, and then we enjoyed the guacamole she made. We were served a great lunch...we all had the grilled fish. Drinks were available all day long, and even shots of tequila in the bar...this was one of the most relaxing days we had all week!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a excellent excursion .

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Funinsun
from Kerrville, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Charley our tour guide was very accomidatiog, shontos , our chief was excellent, and the water was wonderful.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent excursion!

PostedJuly 12, 2015
TexasJenn
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On 7/9/15 our host, Flower, met us on the ship and walked us to the taxi/van area. After just 15 minutes we arrived at the house, were given a tour and we were in the water snorkeling shortly after. They provide the equipment and it was all very clean. Flower took us out in the water where we saw many, many fish. Later we got a lesson on how to make guacamole (and eat it!). We enjoyed a wonderful freshly made lunch. My husband and I both had the fish. He also paid extra for a massage, which was great. This was our most favorite excursion. The food, drinks, and beach were wonderful! Flower, Faust, Eric, Angel, Many and Chef Santos were incredible hosts and made us feel like their own family. You will not be disappointed!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was ehh.

PostedJuly 11, 2015
ColourMePink
from Rockville, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This excursion is most definitely for people who just want to relax and do nothing. I was expecting more water activities at this place; I missed the snorkeling because we planned to eat lunch earlier. The beach had so many rocks that you couldn't really go deeper into the ocean. No one really went into the water because of that. We all chilled in the pool, which is not big, by the way. They have towels for you to use if you need. Basically, you're there to just chill, socialize, and lay in the sun.
I loved all the staff! The staff was very welcoming and they treated us like royalty. The food was good, but not extraordinary. I had a pork dish, so maybe the other dishes may have been better for my taste. I believe they had chicken and beef dishes too. The freshly made tortilla chips were yummy! They give you lots of guacamole so if you love guac, just keep on asking and they keep on giving! Same with the drinks.
Don't forget to bring bug spray! That was my mistake. The moment I stepped out of the van, I was bitten multiple times just standing there. My right leg looks like it's disease infested now. The ride is provided by the excursion and it's about 15 minutes from the dock to the beach.
So all in all, for me, I really didn't think it was worth the money because there was nothing to do. There's already time to relax on the boat, so I wanted more water activity. I guess I didn't read more into what they provided. Even so, I thought it would be ok since there was the ocean to go in, but the rocks prevented everyone from going in.
I chose to recommend this excursion only for those people who want no activity level and just relax in the sun.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The folks there remembered my face and welcomed me home :)

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Aaron84
from Baton Rouge, Louisiane
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When they say to close your eyes and go to your happy place, I go to Casa en La Playa.
Excellent Service
Beautiful Beach
Great Food
Amazing Mojitos
The only negative thing I have to say about Casa en La Playa is that the time there goes by too fast. I will be back!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>