Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.905 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(252 reviews) 252
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 252 reviews
5 Stars
237
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
246 out of 251(98%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a fun all-in-one excursion

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Guest avatar
JessiJ
from Fort Smith, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We had lot of fun on this excursion. Everyone in the staff was very attentive and friendly. Our waiter, Alex, kept our drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) coming. He also made sure we had enough to eat. He gave us seconds until we were satisfied. Our guide, Shon, made sure we were comfortable at all times. We snorkeled most of the time. My children couldn't get enough of all the fish swimming around us. I recommended wearing water shoes though since there a couple of big rocks and corrals close to the shore, where most of the fish live.
This was worth paying a little more compared to the other excursions. There were only 14 people from our cruise on our tour. There were no worries about crazy noise or losing our valuables. We felt so safe and relaxed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Excursion Ever!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Guest avatar
GeorgiaPeach4
from Hampton, Ga.
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have been cruising for many years and this was by far the best excursion ever. A little pricey, but you get your money's worth. Service was superb from the moment we got in our taxi with our driver, Mario. Alexis, our host, went over and above what we have experienced on other excursions. From our first step on to the sand at The Retreat we were waited on constantly by friendly waiters. The staff catered to our every need. Food for lunch was delicious. My granddaughters ages 21 and 23 had a blast playing volleyball, snorkeling and just hanging out with other guests. Will definitely do this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Tour You Could Ever Spend Your Money....

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Guest avatar
MarKanDaynA
from Spring, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being our first cruise we wanted an awesome excursion but we couldn't imagine we could have such a fun relaxing time on an excursion. If your looking for a slow pace excursion to do what you want and not have to worry about a schedule or a long ride to get the Fun started this is your excursion. From the time you get there to the time you leave it was the most relaxing mind lifting vacation you will remember for a lifetime. Seems expensive for a first time excursion but it is worth every penny and the alcohol you'll consume during the time your there pays for itself alone but to throw in the Food, Swimming, Snorkeling, and other activities it's 5 or 6 excursion in one so believe us you won't be disappointed. Book Now...
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best we've done so far!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Guest avatar
beginnercruiser
from Clermont, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Just a 20 minute ride from the port, this was one of the best excursions we've done to date. Alexis was a fantastic host welcoming all guests with open arms making you feel very comfortable from the get go, and all of the staff were friendly, attentive and fun to be with. When we were there, we felt like family. The drinks were plentiful and the food was delicious. Our son has a severe nut allergy and they were conscious and accommodating. There were plenty of activities or you can do nothing but relax in the sun or shade, there were even beach toys for the kids. It was also nice because of the small group, getting a break from the crowds. Will definitely do this again when our travels bring us back to Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unforgettable!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Tootie
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You simply must try this excursion, that's all there is to it! Out of everything we did on our cruise, this was our favourite. The beach is breathtaking, with beautiful sand, ample sun and shade, fantastic staff, delicious food, and generous drinks! We even had some highly affordable massages and pedicures in a shaded area while the peacocks strutted about. Alex was our waiter and he was fantastic. He kept our drinks coming and was very cheerful and welcoming. We even tried a little snorkeling around a small but vibrant bit of reef very close to the beach. There are no extra costs during this excursion regardless of how much you eat, drink, snorkel, sleep, or swim. The only exception is the massage tent, about which they are not pushy at all (and it is very reasonable). You may tip at the end if you like, but even that is not pushy even though the staff works extremely hard to please.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun while it lasted

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Guest avatar
revo714
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This shore excursion was fun and is recommended. The staff was attentive and nice. The drinks were great as well as the food. The guacamole was the best I have ever tasted. To be honest, the beach is private, but is right next to another private beach. There were many people who were wandering from their private beach to this one. Also, although the time states 5 hours, allow one hour for transportation (half hour each way). We were there for approximately 4 hours. I feel like we were shorted a half hour time. There were 2 other groups there staggered by time which equated to approximately 30+ people. For the money, I believe the stay should have lasted longer. We felt rushed to leave there. Herd 'em in, herd 'em out! This was unappreciated and unfortunately, I didn't have a 5 star experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A day of relaxation and culinary delights

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Guest avatar
hberry
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our host Juan C was the best ... he took my 11 yr old neice snorkeling for her 1st time .. and we couldn't get her out of the water! the service is excellent .. the food prepared by the other J.Cesar delicious ... again the 11 year old (who will only eat mac & Cheese) ate everything!
Very relaxing There is something for every one ...there's water for snorkle or kayak... if you like sun.. there's sun & Beach... or umbrellas or shade with hammoks and beach beds under the trees.
Drinks alchohol or non... food prpared by a chef. What more could you ask for?... Maybe the massuse? (on staff for an extra fee)
I can wait to go back! Thanks to all the Staff
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aleady booked again...

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Guest avatar
Brownjs16
from Seaford, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was amazing! We were in a small group of nine people (four of which were my family). The beach was so secluded that we hardly saw anyone else. Thank you Adolfo, our guide, for your attention to everything. You were so sweet to our youngest daughter when you took the time to build a sandcastle village with her. Adolfo also took both of my daughters out to snorkel. They are still talking about all the colors of fish they saw. The rest of the staff, to include the bartender, cook, and waiters, were just as professional and pleasant. In addition to Adolfo, a special thanks to Santos, Antonio, Armando, Manrique, and Oscar. This excursion made our trip. We have already booked our next cruise and we are coming back to see you all in November. We can't wait!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Tour

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Guest avatar
DamaryMaikel
from Miami, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was fantastic.It is very relaxing. My husband and I are so glad that we chose this excursion. It was a very good experience. We had a very good time. The staff was great, the food was great and the place was just beautiful. Definitely we would go back and I strongly recommend it. Made us feel very special with all the attention given to us.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Excursion

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Guest avatar
jeepm0m
from Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the best excursion of our Carnival Magic cruise. Debarkation was extremely easy. The beach was a quick 15 minute van ride. Only 25 other people were on the excursion so there was plenty of room for everyone on the beach. The beach was very secluded and beautiful. My twelve year old enjoyed reading a book in a shaded hammock. My seven year old snorkeled the entire time and had a fantastic 1:1 tour with one of the staff members. My husband looked for shells, and I snorkeled and relaxed by the beach. We were served fantastic drinks and food. This was a very relaxing excursion and was well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Smithgame
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Extreme
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want to relax with a small group of people rather than the crowds, this is for you! We loved every minute of it. The food was awesome...ask Isla what she recommends and try something different!!! The drinks were small but abundant!! The atmosphere was incredible! The staff was friendly and hardworking. You have to get a massage from one of the ladies on the beach, it was so relaxing and inexpensive. The massage is an additional cost but minimal. Sign up fast because this excursion sells out and is one of the best we have ever done. Well worth the money!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion ever!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Guest avatar
LoriandSteve
from Crystal Lake, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent service! Outstanding food! Beach was beautiful! Drinks were great! All four of said this was one of our top excursions ever!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best beach excursion yet!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Guest avatar
Aggie83
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 8th cruise and probably my favorite beach excursion so far! It was a small group of people at a private house and beach. The staff was 5 star! The staff provided exceptional service with food and drinks. There were plenty of different areas to enjoy the beach in the sun or the shade. The staff helped with snorkeling. I would highly recommend this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was not long enough!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Guest avatar
TeresaMT
from Billings, MT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
We had a great group of people on this excursion with us, the staff is outstanding! We had such a great time it passed by so fast! We are sailing again in 2016 just to come back here! Thank you guys it was great!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommended-Relaxing & well worth the money!!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Guest avatar
curleycozumel2014
from Pullman, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Gorgeous, relaxing, great food, snorkeling was AMAZING!! Adults only was a plus-I love kids and we have 2 boys but it was nice to have ADULT time. There were only 8 people on our tour and it was FANTASTIC!! The staff is extremely gracious and friendly their at your service every minute bringing you drinks and asking you if you need anything or what can they get you... you are treated like Kings & Queens!! Javier our tour guide was the BOMB!! He was knowledgeable, patient, friendly, helpful and did I say nice looking too. :) The only bad thing I can say about this excursion is this- (It wasn't LONG enough) It seemed like we just got there and we had to go. We will definitely be back and we would definitely recommend this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was great and so much fun

PostedJune 24, 2014
Guest avatar
WillMc72
from Madison, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I recently took our first cruise for our 20th anniversary and we chose La Casa en La Playa as our excursion. We are so glad we did and when we get another opportunity, we will go back.
To start, we, and our group, were taken to the beach retreat by cab and, upon arrival, were greeted by the staff with fresh lemonade. The resort guide, CJ, introduced us to his team which consisted of the chef, bartender, 3-4 waiters, and the on-site masseuse. We were given a quick tour of the beach house and were then turned loose to go find our "perfect" spot on the beach. There were spots for everyone depending on sun exposure preference.
The staff was so friendly and awesome! They took care of our every need. The lunch prepared on site by the chef was great and made when you are ready to eat. The experience came equipped with kayaking and snorkeling and CJ helps out if you want him to or if kids are participating.
A quick story about CJ which shows his service and desire for all to have a special time.... There was a family in our group which consisted of a few kids with one being a young girl probably around 4 years old. She was afraid of the water and CJ came over to her chair, got down on one knee, and began to talk to her. He asked her if she remembered the movie "The Little Mermaid" and you could tell she began to relax. He asked her if she remembered Sebastian the crab and if she wanted him to go find him. She said Yes and CJ said hold on and I will go find him and bring him back. He went over and came back in just a couple of minutes with a small sand crab and they both played with it for a little while. Her eyes lit up. I was so impressed with CJ's attention to detail and service to his customers no matter how big or small.
As we departed, the staff made sure we were all on time and said goodbye to each of us prior to leaving. A perfect send off.
If you are looking for a relaxing experience where all your needs are taken care of, you can't go wrong here. Highly recommended!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very relaxing

PostedJune 24, 2014
Guest avatar
JeanAnn56
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was so worth the money and time. This cruise was a sister retreat and we both enjoyed ourselves so much. All the staff were very attentive and you never really had to ask for anything they were right there. The wait staff, the bartender and the chef were excellent. Our guide, Luis was a lot of fun and very informative. The snorkeling was lots of fun also. I would definitely return to this spot. The only drawback was the amount of time we got to spend there. We also got a massage on the beach which was very relaxing. Thank you to all the guys and gals for a great day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome! Most relaxing and tranquil excursion ever.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Guest avatar
Panda48
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion is limited to a few people, I believe we were 6 couples total. All adults , which is what we wanted. Very attentive staff, food was unbelievably great. The view was so beautiful and tranquil, we fell asleep in the hammocks and outdoor bed as soon as lunch was over, best rest I have had in ages. There are activities if you are interested, but we went for peace and quiet and that's what we got, wish I was there right now.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This tour was the ultimate in relaxation.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Guest avatar
NEV56
from Crystal Lake, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even with 4 Carnival ships in Cozumeal, this excursion had only 20 people. There were only 8 from our ship and we were picked up along with our host for the day in a taxi. We were introduced to the staff and shown around the grounds. The beach was beautiful and sandy and the snorkeling good. The bar staff were very attentive and made sure everyone had something to drink at all times. The food was incredible! My husband and I had grouper tacos and our friends had chicken fajitas. They saw we were not sure of what to order so they also brought a grouper grilled on a banana leaf for the table which was also delicious. This tour costs a little more but is well worth it. I highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pampered the whole time

PostedJune 22, 2014
Guest avatar
Flgators32
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
My husband and I had a great time. The most relaxing excursion we have ever been on. The staff were excellent at anticipating all our needs. Food and drinks were awesome. We brought cash for tipping but wish we had brought more cash for a massage. Never been pampered like this before, would definitely do this excursion again :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>