Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.781 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(640 reviews) 640
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 640 reviews
5 Stars
569
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
13
1 Star
11
603 out of 634(95%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paradise!

PostedFebruary 6, 2016
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was so relaxing! The staff at the house and our tour guide were awesome! Very helpful and would do anything for you that was asked. The water was murky the day we went but still had a wonderful time. Food was great and the drinks were plentiful! Would absolutely do this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXACTLY WHAT WE NEEDED

PostedFebruary 3, 2016
from Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion is exactly what we wanted and needed! The host, Luis, was AMAZING. The staff at the house were super accommodating. Our waiter, Cesar, was funny and got us anything we needed. The food was great. The drinks were delicious. We went snorkeling and got to see some pretty cool fish. :) After being on the cruise ship for 2 days and dealing with lines and lots of people and the loud music it was so wonderful to get away from the hubbub of the boat and just go where it was so beautiful and so relaxing. We were a little hesitant of the cost but after the experience I would do it again in a heartbeat. Well worth the money. I would recommend this excursion to anyone!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORTH IT!

PostedFebruary 3, 2016
from Rockwall, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We decided on this excursion since it was limited to a small group and we had done a few of the other options. We had about 29 people in our group. The weather was cloudy and windy, but it was still a great day! The weather in Cozumel was windy and partly cloudy. We chose to relax in the cabana beds on the beach. The waiters and staff were super friendly. They brought everything to us and we could just relax and enjoy the beach. The food and the drinks were awesome. I would recommend this for adults and older children as it was peaceful and quite with no children. If you looking for an excursion to relax, enjoy drinks, and eat, then this one is for you. The hosts were awesome. They gave us a demo on how to make guacamole (best ever) and salsa (wonderful). They also had an area for massages. I get regular massages and these were great! They also had someone come around to take pictures. She did a great job editing them too! They only accept cash for those, so if that is something you are thinking you may want to do, then make sure to bring extra cash. I would definately do this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was the best

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
from Houston, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had such an amazing time. The food was great, beach was beautiful, drinks were out of this world, the service was perfect, and the massage was just the best! We would and will go back to visit. I highly recommend doing this.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Class!

PostedFebruary 1, 2016
from Gainesville, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an awesome day!! After going to the beaches of the Grand Caymans and dealing with expensive foods and crowds, what a genuine relief to be met at the pier, taken to a taxi and escorted to this quiet, beautiful getaway! Of course the food and drinks were fantastic, but even better were the servers who waited on us hand and food. With only a small group of guests, they were able to understand who wanted attention and who wanted peace and quiet! Even those who wanted quiet were treated with the utmost care. Even when the weather wasn't perfect, there was the beauty of the welcoming house, with a fantastic view of the beach and sky, as well as classy comfort for any season! I had a massage while I was there that was excellent and removed all the kinks and tight muscles with beautiful ease. I will return and look upon this excursion as one of the best ever!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Proposal

PostedJanuary 31, 2016
from Cheyenne
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was absolutely excellent. The staff and tour guide (Luis) were fun, engaging and made sure we were completely happy with every single activity we did. They also made one of the happiest moments of my life possible, they handled my request to host my proposal to my now fiancé. They placed us in the VIP area with some drinks so she wouldn't expect anything, then after we headed up to the balcony, which has an incredible view, they helped me show my beautiful girlfriend the surprise. They had placed flower petals in the sand to spell out her name and "Will you marry me?" It was absolutely fantastic and made for something we'll remember for the rest of our lives.
If you have to choose only one excursion, for any reason, time, money, etc. please, choose this one. They'll take care of you and make sure you feel at home. And if you see Luis, you'll have a blast, just thank him in advance!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour was everything we had hoped for!

PostedJanuary 31, 2016
from Dahinda, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Bernie picked us up at the designated spot for Carnival, at the port. We had approx. a 15 min ride to the resort. During the ride to the beach it literally poured down rain but just a short time after arrival it ended for the day. We were introduced to the staff, given a tour of the resort and then we picked the most picturesque spot to relax. Our drink orders were promptly attended to, for the entire excursion. We had a made to order lunch and sat with another couple.There were 22 guests total that day. There were no children on this excursion. There were activities offered but we just wanted to enjoy the beach and water.
A lady took our picture on the beach. We were later offered the photo at a nominal fee, to which we did purchase. There was no pressure to buy.
This was the prettiest place to sit and look out at the ocean or just turn around from your beach chair and indulge in the scenery of palm trees and the resort. They take special care to your needs. You had many choices of where to sit and relax. Before we knew it, time had flew by and was time to go. We would not hesitate to go back, the next time we are in Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2016
from ohio usa
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AWESOMEEEEEEE !!!
This tour was a lot of fun !!!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

would not recomend

PostedJanuary 27, 2016
from nashville,tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
First I want to say the staff was wonderful as was our tour guide. The food was just ok and the mixed drinks were watered down. By the reviews I had previously read we were prepared for a rocky shore. Did not realize that "rocks" meant extremely rocky and that even with water shoes you could not enjoy the water. For the price I expected something a little better.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Treat Yourself to the Best

PostedJanuary 27, 2016
from Greensboro, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a wonderful time from start to finish! My favorite excursion of eight cruises. Staff and facilities were incredible. Food and drinks: the best. I will take it again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tour was very relaxing

PostedJanuary 27, 2016
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This place made it easy to just relax and enjoy then scenery .
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We enjoyed this VERY much!

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
from Highlands, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We decided on this excursion since it was limited to a small group. In our group we had about 25 people. Even though the weather did not cooperate with us on our trip, we still enjoyed this excursion very much. The weather in Cozumel was windy and partly cloudy. Every once in a while, the sun would peek out. But, that didn't make this excursion disappointing at all. We chose to relax in the cabana beds under the palm trees (that helped block the wind). Everything that we asked for was delivered. This group that was "catering" to us, did not disappoint. The food and the drinks were awesome. I know that this excursion gives the rates for children, however, I think this is more for adults and older kids so that you have that feeling to be able to relax. If you looking for an excursion to relax, enjoy drinks, and eat, then this one is for you. They also had and area for massages, and had someone come around to take pictures. They only accept cash for those, so if that is something you are thinking you may want to do, then make sure to bring extra cash. I would definately do this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth it!!

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
from Loveland, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We ended up on this excursion because our original shore excursion was cancelled. We hadn't even considered this one because of the cost, but I am so glad we did!
Everything and everyone was awesome! You get a private beach complete with lounge chairs, beds, hammocks, and umbrellas. You get a private chef and the food was amazing(I would have taken him home with me if I could) and the bar is unlimited and delicious. You have private waiters and a hostess who are all so accommodating!
If you have the money and are looking for a relaxing day away from crowds, this is it. I would totally do it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what we thought

PostedJanuary 20, 2016
from new york
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If you're looking for nice white sand beaches and clear blue water, look elsewhere. This is not a swimming beach as it's far too rocky. We had only 19 people in our group and I cant see how they couple possibly have 50 people. The beach, "house", seating, pool etc would be crowded with much more.
Food was just OK, the people were very nice and drinks were aplenty. Wouldn't do it again.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

PostedJanuary 17, 2016
from Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From beginning to end, the staff did everything they could to make this day enjoyable and relaxing. The service was great, the house was small, but adequate, the beach was pristine and not crowded, and the snorkeling was pretty good for being right off the beach. Tons of fish, and I even caught a stingray on film.
Special shout out to Tony (Antonio) the bartender. After my first couple drinks, he learned of my appreciation of tequila (this is Mexico after all), and they were not lacking.
Over all great day. I just wish we had more time there.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My brother and law and I ......

PostedJanuary 17, 2016
from Leander, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drank this place out of Corona this past Thursday. Great time. Our family enjoyed this excursion and defeinatly recommend. The snorkeling is fun and our guide did a really good job with everyone. The food was good as well. The best on any of the excursions (chile reyno real good). It was a blast and we will do it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time to Relax

PostedJanuary 16, 2016
from Loxley, Al
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We went on this excursion on January 12th. Javier was our guide and he was very helpful and energetic. There were about 25 of us going and we went in two taxi vans to the house. The road down to the house is bumpy and leads to a public area. However, the area where our part of the beach was a little piece of heaven. We were handed delicious lemonade when we arrived and were introduced to the staff. There is a lady taking photos if you wish to purchase them. The Chef Santos is friendly and makes really good food. There were three servers and they made sure you always had a drink. We received a appetizer of chicken taquitos when we got settled in. They were good. Javier then took a group of folks out scuba diving. We decided to sit on the beach chairs and relax. They provided us with a beach towel, which was nice.There is a massage therapist available if you want to purchase bring cash for photos and massage they do not take credit cards. The house itself is a bungalow and really made for basic needs. The chef prepares lunch in the quaint kitchen and the bartender makes drinks upstairs. The ladies bathroom is downstairs and mens upstairs. There are several steps leading to the mens bathroom so if you have trouble climbing stairs this excursion may not be the best for you. Please note that both here and at our other excursion you are required to put toilet paper in a trash dispenser and not flush it. If this is gross to you or uncomfortable do not book this excursion. We didnt mind it. I love that there is ample seating room in the shade. They have umbrellas, hammocks and beds to use as well. The came round and got our order for lunch. When it was ready we went to the table and they had it set for each party. We had our own private table. They had hand wipes for use which was a nice touch. We ate some delicious homemade guacamole and pica de gallo with fresh made tortilla chips. I watched him make them :). For lunch there was four choices fish with a salsa topping, fish grilled in a banana leaf, stuffed pepper and I forget what the other option was. We both had the fish grilled with the banana leaf. The fish is marinated in a red spice and wrapped in tin foil with banana leaf, onion, green peppers, and sliced tomato and cooked on the grill for about 5 minutes. There was veggie rice, mashed potato, carrot, and some sort of zucchini on the side the presentation was beautiful. After we were done eating they offered us some extra chips and guacamole, which we happily accepted it is delicious. We had plenty of time relaxing and they gave us ample notice when it was time to get ready to leave. They have a shell that you put tips in for the house staff and Javier gets his own separately. So no tipping until the end of the excursion is required. Overall this was a lovely excursion. If you are looking forward to a deserted beach getaway then maybe this is not for you. You will be treated with VIP treatment, but unless you have rented a private beach house you are going to have to share the beach and amenities with people. We loved it and would be happy to visit it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So nice, did it twice

PostedJanuary 12, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We went to Cozumel in July and did this excursion, we loved it so much we did it again on the New Year's Cruise. The people who run this cruise are awesome! They are super nice and take excellent care of you! There are actually two beach houses. You won't be disappointed at either one. The chef on site does an excellent job on cooking. The service the staff proves is beyond exceptional. We love this excursion so much, we will do it overtime we go to Cozumel. You won't be disappointed. Trust me!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the Money

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really enjoyed this excursion, the staff were all friendly and accommodating. The view from the beach was beautiful. Im sad because I wish I could have authentic DELICIOUS Mexican food like the chef provided whenever. Going to a restaurant doesn't do it justice in comparison to how good the food was on this excursion. I also felt like it was quiet and quaint , the waiting staff made you feel so comfortable often coming up to you and asking if you would like another drink. I would highly recommend this excursion, you won't be let down.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow! What an awesome day!

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
from North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
La Casa in La Playa was absolutely amazing. From the time we were greeted at the pier by our host Aldolfo until the time we left that afternoon we were treated like royalty. We were welcomed and taken comfortably in a small group by van to the private house were we were welcome with fresh homemade lemonade. We were then given a tour and shown where all of the ammenities were and introduced to the entire staff. We were given free range of the beach, house, and everything around. We Spent the day relaxing on the beach being totally catered to. We were brought drinks and homemade local snacks. They never let or glasses get empty. We were then given an amazing cooking lesson and were able to try the fresh made guacamole. We had a choice of 4 items for lunch, all of which were delicious. All of the employees greated us by name and by the end of the day we felt like family. We will for sure do this again if we go back to Cozumel and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>