Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.799 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(393 reviews) 393
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 393 reviews
5 Stars
354
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
7
1 Star
7
375 out of 392(96%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Stress--Just FUN!

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Guest avatar
HappyCruiser73
from Tampa, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were pampered all day. All the staff went out of their way to make sure we were relaxed and happy. Fantastic day. We will be back.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Day

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Guest avatar
Terry72
from Brazil, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the host Clemente, the Chef, and the people who served the drinks, my wife and I could not have been treated better. The food was great, the drinks were great, and the service was outstanding.
The wife had a massage that she really enjoyed for a great price. Everyone comes around and asks if you need anything, and to check if you are having a good time.
Don't know how it could have been any better. Well if it had lasted longer would have been the only thing that could have made it better.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun Relaxing and Romantic

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Guest avatar
PopPopDerek22
from Atlantic City, New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We visited on Valentines Day on my very first cruise. I could not have wished for anything more. The staff was extremely accomodating and friendly, and even apologetic for temperatures in the high 70's, while at home in New jersey it was 10 degrees. Drinks (non-alcoholic) and dinner with white table cloths were served right when we wanted. I had a great time snorkeling and taking photos in the clear waters before eating, and a very relaxing, romantic time walking along the beach with my friend afterwards. This was the best Valentines Day ever and the staff, chef, bartender and drivers at La Casa en La Playa made it unforgettable! My friend and I highly recommend this excursion and would take it again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We did this excursion on the transition cruise with the Carnival Freedom (Feb 2-14, 2015)

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Guest avatar
MermaidGirl
from Normangee, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My cruise partner & I have tried to book this excursion a couple of times once on board...It is ALWAYS sold out! Was able to pre-book several months out on our last cruise. SO Glad we were finally able to enjoy this GREAT excursion! Was super surprised, when I booked on the Dream for March 29, 2015 that there were spots available this close to departure! Am going AGAIN!!! I wonder if they will still have my "water shoes" that I forgot, last time?!?!?
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful day!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Guest avatar
vkm3
from Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We visited with friends on January 29, 2015. Our host for the day, Alex, did a fantastic job of getting us from port to the beach house and did a great job explaining the details of the day. The entire staff was friendly and very helpful throughout the day. The beach was very clean and the upkeep of the beach house, tremendous. There were lots of shells in the water that would have made it difficult to get around in the water, but our host's specifically explained where to walk to get around the shells, so we had no trouble. We enjoyed snorkeling in the clear water, and our guide did fabulous explaining everything for us first time snorkelers! The food and drinks were great, and the service excellent. We hope to visit again in the future!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Guest avatar
Laura924
from Coventry, RI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just did this shore excursion last week from the Pride. It was one of the best I have ever done. If you want to relax and be pampered this is the one for you. The food and drinks (which are included) were great. The location is very relaxing. David and the rest of the staff go out of their way to make your day enjoyable. I would do this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
3PsNaPod
Maryland
 
Please wait while more information about 3PsNaPod is loaded.
Additional information about 3PsNaPod could not be loaded.
Food was included?
Posted February 27, 2015
I am glad you had a good time.
Would you please clarify the food that was included. Some posts on here say the food was not included, only drinks. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Returning Visit

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Guest avatar
JFelixMFelix
from Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was our second visit to this excursion. We brought the family this time and had a wonderful time. We helped with the guacamole demonstration and were one of the few that went in the water. The waiters and bartender were very friendly and always willing to serve us.
Our guide Isis was outstanding and very friendly. The weather was not that great but we were still able to get plenty of sun on the windy day. The natural shade near the trees was great towards the end of the excursion. We had a wonderful time and the food was amazing. The chef did an excellent job and their selections were outstanding.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Word - AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Guest avatar
MandiC
from Louisville, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
La Casa en La Playa is BEAUTIFUL and exactly what we expected. The view was breathtaking, the staff was fabulous, the food & drinks were perfect. The resident peacocks were a hit with our 17 month old. Plenty of sandy/shaded areas to play for young ones. If we ever cruise back to Cozumel, this will certainly be the excursion for our family.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it, but don't expect "Luxury" ;-)

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Guest avatar
Tom0369
from Camp Lejeune, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OK, we really enjoyed this excursion but if I were writing the "details" section for it there are a few changes I'd make. The staff was awesome, our host was fun and upon arrival we were met by the chef and rest of the staff with a welcome drink. Service was good, but sometimes you wait for a drink. A group from another ship got there before us, and had all the beachfront chairs. The did leave before us too, but by then we didn't bother moving on up to the front row. LOL Shortly after arrival we got chips and guac and some delicious bruschetta. #probably spelled wrong LOL#. The drinks were good and they were pretty good about keeping them coming. The chairs are plastic and some were broken.....the hammocks are the string type....and the beds were a bit on the worn side. Again, we enjoyed all of it....but "luxury" was a strong way to describe some of the amenities. Also, the "swanky cuisine" was a choice of two dishes. I forget what I ordered other than it was fish and veggies wrapped in a banana leaf and cooked together....you peeled it open to eat it....it was delicious and supposedly a local dish. While it was very good, there would have to be more available choices and perhaps and ap and dessert offered before I'd type "swanky" in the description. The beach is pretty rocky, so water shoes should be on the list of "what to bring" but it did offer some decent snorkeling #free gear# within a short distance from the beach. I will definitely return and do this excursion again the next time we cruise to Cozumel....but I feel that some of the glowing adjectives used in the description might be the reason for some of the negative reviews. It's a great time.....awesome staff....but limitations include the small beach area, rocks, not exactly luxurious furnishings, and limited dining available. That said....I'm quite ready to return!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not As Described

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Guest avatar
MarcoOfAP
from Myrtle Beach, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was described as a "luxurious" private get-away. The overview stated: "Get away from the crowds..." It turned out to be a small beach - about 150' by 150' (with about 150' of beach front). In this small space they packed about 30 to 36 people. Instead of "getting away from the crowd," we wound up in a crowded small space. The chairs along the beach front (cheap white plastic chairs like you might find at Walmart) were so close together (and occupied) that you had to walk around them to get to the water.
The lunch was described as "swanky cuisine." What we wound up with were two small tacos with rice. They were about half the size of a taco you would get in most restaurants. The rice was about two tablespoons. There was also about two tablespoons of mixed vegetables.
The description of the excursion stated that "if you're interested in cooking, join him (the "chef") in the kitchen to learn the recipes and practice culinary techniques." I asked him a simple question and was met with a blank stare. He didn't understand English. But I did learn that he boiled the rice and mixed a sauce out of a can. Pretty swanky, huh!
The men's bathroom was up a long flight of stairs. It was very out-dated and dirty. There was no hot water - not even a hot water faucet. (No "indulging in luxury" here! I've seen better-equipped and cleaner bathrooms in truck stops!)
The beach area wasn't suitable for wading. The bottom was rocky with lots of broken shells. I was afraid I would cut a foot on a broken shell, so I stayed out of the water.
At the back of the beach house was a pile of old, junk beach chairs and other items that had been disposed of. There had been no attempt to keep the junk pile out of view of the beach house.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Guest avatar
AZeyes
from Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The highlight of our cruise. Great accomodations, Fabulous "non stop"
carribean cocktails. The food was average, the staff was amazing, chef, bartender, waiters, amazing. Snorkel lessions with equipment, did I say amazing. We hated to leave. Bring your swim shoes, the beach has some coral. would highly recommend, it is well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recommended

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Guest avatar
HoustonV
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Our tour guide Adolfo was amazing, very fun and accommodating. We were presented with very high expectations when we got there but they didn't deliver. The beach was nice and private but very rocky. They should have recommended to bring water shoes. It is advertised as a private beach house but its basically four walls, two shady bathrooms and the "bar" is basically a guy with a few coolers. It took us forever to get our food and the quality was poor. It was all day and we didn't have time to shop when we got back. I would recommend just going to the beach on your own and saving your money.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a fun and relaxing day!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Guest avatar
rjzog
from Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My group visited on January 29, 2015. This was a very fun day. Alex was a great host and did everything to make the day enjoyable. He and the rest of the staff tried their hardest to make all guests happy. The only part was a little miscommunication with lunch, but with a simple question that was taken care of quickly. The beach was beautiful and we had a great day. Wish it could have lasted longer just because it was so relaxing. I was expecting fewer people, but once we got to the beach you really didn't realize there were that many there with you. I met new people and had fun.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT WHAT WE'D HOPED

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Guest avatar
ALN16
from Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
GOOD POINTS: short distance from pier; staff very attentive, energetic and friendly; if you're a drinker, you will get your monies worth! Be sure to take water shoes. There are large rocks.
DISAPPOINTMENT: when we arrived at the casa we were informed that there was another group already there. This was a surprise. So that meant 40 people there instead of 20. They were supposed to leave in 2 hours and then the last 2 hours would just be us. The problem was the first group had all of the beach front seating. When they left we got settle in the beach loungers and it started pouring rain and continued the rest of our time there. So, my #1 complaint was not enough beach front seating.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Guest avatar
Mandi218
from Alexandria, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a very relaxing excursion. The people were wonderful and accommodating.
There was one shortcoming. However, I didn't want to lower the rating because of it.
The description of this excursion makes it sound like you will have your own chef and that he will be available for cooking lessons. Basically, there's one chef on an apartment size stove serving up to 40 people at a time. While he was gracious, there was really no time for him to share more than a little conversation on the food he was preparing. My husband and I cook, and thought we would have to opportunity to cook with the chef. Instead we watched him for a few minutes then realized we were in the way because he was very busy. He didn't make us feel unwelcome: however, he was super busy catering to everyone's needs.
Drinks were plentiful. Servers were charming. The massage therapist was very good. The food was simple and delicious. Just know that there is only one building, one bathroom for men and one for women, and that there may be up to 30-40 people sharing your "retreat."
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WAY above expectaions

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Guest avatar
BostonSteve
from Boston, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the port, to the beach, to the food. EVERYTHING was so much better than we expected. Our excursion leader was Luis. This man was fantastic! When we got to the port, he was very thorough and made sure he was clear on where to wait, and was very sure he didn't lose anybody on the way to the van. We arrived at the resort and were immediately met with warm hospitality. The entire staff was incredible and extremely friendly. Right off the bat, we were met with cold lemonade while we were in the briefing/introductory meeting. As soon as we chose our seating on the beach, a waiter was there to take our lunch order/time, and our drink order. I don't think I went more than 3 minutes the entire time with an empty glass. The drinks are fantastic! And they are NOT watered down ;-). Snorkeling was a blast! Luis made sure we had some great creatures and objects to see and photograph. The water is crystal clear and beautiful! OH! And the FOOD! Unbelievably delicious!!! I really can't say enough about this place. I have to say I felt bad for one thing. I didn't bring any cash for tips. They all definitely deserved it. I HIGHLY recommend this experience!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Excursion

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Guest avatar
Brenda54
from Humble, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our 4th time to go on this excursion. We absolutely love it! The whole group of workers are all top notch. They all make sure that we are having the best time while we are there. The food and drinks are great and the beauty of the area is lovely. We can't wait to go back!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So RELAXING!

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Guest avatar
industrychains
from Austin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
We spent the day on the beach in hammocks drinking and soaking up the sun. The water is still and blue with a ton of shells. The food prepared by the chef was so juicy and tasty. Alex was fantastic!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent excursion. Staff was very attentive and the location was nice.

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Guest avatar
Sean007
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice to have drinks brought to you while lying by the ocean. Staff was friendly and accommodating.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was the BEST!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Guest avatar
Carol329
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
From the moment we arrived, Clemente and his staff could not do enough for us. If we even tried to move a small table, one of the waiters or Clemente would run over; stop us; and move it. The beach house is private with a wonderful beach area, tables, and chairs in the shade, loungers, tables and vinyl "mattresses" in the sun or under umbrellas. The chef prepares your meal whenever you're ready to eat. The bartender makes your drinks individually. Water is available as well as lemonade and/or limeade. If you like non-alcoholic drinks, you MUST try the Miami Vice! Yummy! This is a perfect way to get away from the crowds, sun bathe, swim, kayak, snorkel, or just relax!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>