Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.879 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(280 reviews) 280
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 280 reviews
5 Stars
260
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
272 out of 279(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXECELLENT STAFF AND PLACE

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Guest avatar
KandKMARRIED
from Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the PERFECT get away for Married Couple and the Wait Staff is EXECELLENT ...Drinks were there before you asked for the next , snacks , and lunch were the same WANTED for NOTHING AT ALL...THE MOST RELAXING and FUN of the whole trip.....
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Honeymooners

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
josh5
from Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our second carnival excursion and our favorite. The staff went well out of their way to provide for me and my wife. If you are searching for a romantic paradise setting away from crowded beaches, this is for you. It is gorgeous, relaxing, and you'll feel like royalty. We will definitely book this again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best place to go while on a cruise

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
Dharmon
from Water Valley, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was absolutely my favorite place to visit. The staff was extra friendly and helpful. They take care of all of your needs. The chef cooked us an amazing lunch.. Best Mexican food I've had in a long time! Alcohol is included so that's always a plus! The beach was clean and the water was crystal clear. This is a private beach so you don't have to deal with people trying to sell you something constantly.. Major plus! It was worth every penny!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Value

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Guest avatar
Nikster
from Cincinnati,Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's not worth the price. 1) It's a 3 room hut. 2) It's not private. 3) The food was awful. 4) The chef did not speak English, 5) The beach was littered with stones which made walking in the water very difficult. 6) No water was available to wash your feet.
The positives were the view was awesome, the staff was friendly, and the beach equipment was comfortable and in good condition.
I've been on other excursions with the same features for half the price.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for Sunbathing and Drinking...

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Guest avatar
Terpening
from MCAS Cherry Point, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The staff is great and they were very accommodating and friendly. The number of people allowed was also small, which was nice. The drinks were excellent...especially the Mojito. The food was very good and served at your digression. I liked that it wasn't buffet style. You can pick when and where you want to be served. They also offered fair priced massages beach side. There were plenty of lounge chairs on the beach and the water/beach was clean and beautiful. As far as activities, they were limited...aside from sunbathing and drinking. The snorkeling, well there was nothing to look at really. So if you desire adventure, this isn't the place for you...but if you want to be spoiled and drink till you can't anymore, this is the place for you!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Relaxation

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Guest avatar
Suzie1185
from Illinois
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have done this excursion twice now, and I loved the 2nd time even more than the first. The staff is very attentive and helpful. The second your drink is empty they are there to see if you need anything. The food is wonderful, best fish tacos I have ever had.
The view is amazing whichever way you turn and very peaceful since there are not a lot of people there. It's wonderful to just lie in the beach chair and hear the sound of the ocean, or go for a nice long walk on the beach.
I cannot wait till next year when I will be going again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most relaxing day!!

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Guest avatar
Graciebelle
from Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The staff and host are wonderful. After leaving there, we decided this was the best and most relaxing excursion we have ever done while in port at Cozumel. We have gone on more than 10 cruises and can honestly say if you are a couple looking for a simple yet relaxing day, then you will not be disappointed. The food, drinks (not watered down), and beach were well worth the money. If we ever port in Cozumel again, I will be booking this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Getaway

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Guest avatar
jccarrottop
from San Francisco, CA.
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I very much enjoyed my time in Cozumel at La Casa en La Playa! Everything from the food to drinks to the beach activities were beyond amazing and worth every penny. I would highly recommend this excursion and will most certainly choose this when I visit Cozumel again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Guest avatar
MargeFutureS
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was easily the best part of our trip! I travelled to Cozumel at the end of August 2014 with my boyfriend. The guys from Tripping Cool Group met us at port, greeted us (the entire boatload of folks), and made sure we got hooked up with the right group. They were extremely personable from the get-go.
We boarded vans and headed to La Casa. When we arrived, the hosts met us with drinks and showed us around the property. It was beautiful, and right on the beach. We were able to schedule massages to be had right on the beach (and yes, it was as awesome as it sounds).
We had FAB drinks all day--the fresh mango margarita was my favorite--and lunch was absolutely amazing. I had fish that had cooked in a banana leaf, and it was the best thing I ate the whole trip. Plus appetizers and chips and fresh salsa the whole day too.
After a fun snorkeling trip out into the water, one of the guys asked if my guy and I would like dessert and we said yes. We went up to the balcony (there's a single table up there), and they brought me a pineapple carved to look like a parrot. Awesome enough by itself, but it gets better: they had helped my boyfriend (now FIANCE!) pull off the perfect proposal! The ring box was inside the pineapple, and after I said yes (!) they brought out a delicious coconut whipped dessert with "Congratulations" written in chocolate around the plate. They served us congratulatory wine, took pics of the whole thing, and even sent us a video of it!
When I say this was an AMAZING excursion, it's an understatement. Seriously--this was fantastic for us, and I'm sure it was just as enjoyable for the other lovely guests as well. From what I can tell, anything through Tripping Cool Group is fabulous. I would book this again in a heartbeat and recommend to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A tropical oasis.

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Guest avatar
CanadaJer
from Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The was one of our best excursions ever - and we have been on ten previous cruises.
It was a quick drive to the retreat and we were greeted with a quick drink. We were shown around and then found a cozy beech bed, hammock and chairs to settle in. Unfortunately the waves were too big to snorkel but we did have fun jumping through the big waves.
Lunch was excellent and the drinks kept coming. We had a couples massage under the palm trees. It was very affordable. It was $35 for a half hour massage.
The day certainly went WAY to fast. Just as we were getting comfortable we were told it was time to go. So we grabbed a to-go cup and took our last drink on the bus.
Be careful of the Margaritas! I went back to the boat and almost missed formal night because the tequila snuck up on me.
A great day and we will certainly do this excursion again when we do our next trip to Cozumel!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Enjoyed the excursion.

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Mimi2014
from Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This excursion came to us highly recommended. We arrived and were greeted by Rafa our host and the staff. The food was great, as was the atmosphere even if it was raining off and on during the afternoon. There were several people in the tour that were over the top and enjoying the unlimited beverages. Would take this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THIS EXCURSION WAS AWSOME

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Guest avatar
LUZS
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE CASA PLAYA WAS A LOT OF FUN THE FOOD WAS AMAZING AND THE PEOPLE WORKING DID A AWSOME JOB WITH THE FOOD AND THE DRINKS AND THEY WERE VERY INVITING.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Time

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Guest avatar
TammyRichard14
from Dallas, Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a Great time. It was very relaxing. When we go back we will visit again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice and efficient, not as glamorous as I expected

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Guest avatar
Bre21
from San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Due to the extremely high reviews, I expected a glamorous setting and therefore booked this excursion for the six of us in my family. The waitstaff was very nice, but they could use some updating. Nice place, I just wouldn't call it over the top. They also didn't allow us to use the kayaks due to "waves" which was slightly annoying. We paid for massages on the beach and they did a very nice job, but for some reason I expected them to be cheaper.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Mandi44641
 
Please wait while more information about Mandi44641 is loaded.
Additional information about Mandi44641 could not be loaded.
Posted September 10, 2014
Can you give me a ballpark figure on the price of massages
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing by the Shore

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Guest avatar
ShirleyT
from Alvin, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary on our cruise and this excursion was one of the best that we've had in a very long time. We are regular cruisers so have taken many excursions and we rate this excursion as one of the best ever taken. They were very organized, met us at the ship, provided transportation to the resort, introduced us to our staff for the day and then asked us to make ourselves at home. We enjoyed nice beds with umbrellas on the beach with the beautiful blue water and waiters waited on us hand and foot to make sure that we did not want for anything. The drinks were awesome! Whatever you asked for alcohol or not they made sure you were happy. The chef came by and asked what we would like to have for lunch and prepared it just for us. We could have eaten at the house or on the beach and we asked to have our lunch on the beach. It was delivered and tasted great. We were also served great special treats that were really yummy. The water was crystal clear, warm and had a nice sandy bottom. We were able to swim in the area without any problems. This is the best and we will be going back. Oh almost forgot but they also will take you snorkeling for free and if you want a massage you can get one of those at an additional cost. Love, Love this trip.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well worth the price

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Guest avatar
multicruiser
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experienced cruisers who have been to Cozumel many times. We have done all that Cozumel has to offer and did not intend on taking an excursion. We did see this one was farely new and "private" and thought we would try it. SO GLAD WE DID! Our host Nacho was an absolute gentleman who worked very hard to make all welcome. The staff saw to your every need. The bar staff does not hold back with the beverage of choice. The food was good and the chef was accommodating if you chose to go in and participate with the preparation of your meal. The beach was clean and well shaded. I must recommend the massage. I have had many and must say they know what they are doing. It is an additional cost of course but very reasonably priced. The Max guest is supposed to be 36. They "squeezed in" 40 as they explained due to overbooking mistake. Even so we never felt crowded or to close to anybody else.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Mandi44641
 
Please wait while more information about Mandi44641 is loaded.
Additional information about Mandi44641 could not be loaded.
Posted August 25, 2014
Can you give me a cost range on the massages
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time. Wonderful service. Nice way to spend the day away from the ship.

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Guest avatar
DB01
from Pawnee, Ok
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't have asked for a better day. Good food, great service. Beautiful setting.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pure Paradise!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Guest avatar
Carrie83
from Nashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I debated booking this at first due to the higher price, but am so glad I did! There are other non-Carnival all-inclusives in the area that are less money, but I booked this for the security of knowing I was with Carnival and all transportation to and from the excursion would be included. We were met right at the port by a friendly host who led us right to the taxis and guided us through the entire day.
The house is situated on a beautiful private beach with lush vegetation and palm trees. There are loungers, beds, and hammocks to relax on and snorkeling equipment is available if you are interested in that. Massages are available for an additional fee. Waiters are constantly bringing you the free drinks and lunch is served at your leisure either on the beach or at the house. Food was traditional Mexican and delicious! You can also join the chef for a cooking lesson while he prepares the food if you choose.
The water is gorgeous and while I don't believe it is the best snorkeling area available, there are tropical fish and coral located near the coast which I found interesting.
If you are on the fence about this excursion, don't hesitate and book it! It is worth every penny and does usually sell out. We had an amazing day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SO MUCH FUN!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Guest avatar
Nonnylena
from Burleson, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
The people are amazing. This was our second year to go and it was just as wonderful, the snorkeling was great, my son and I saw lots of fish the water was warm and clear, the food was yummy, there are plenty of snacks and a main course plus unlimited drinks weather you want alcoholic or sodas. The margaritas were very good but with that salty ocean I had a couple of pina coladas. My husband does not swim but he enjoyed the beach plenty of shade, chairs, hammocks, and even beefs to take a nap. The ride to the house and beach is very short and is a comfortable and air conditioned. And we had plenty of time for some shopping at the port shops. We will go again next year
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Wonderful

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Guest avatar
NikkiC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Easy
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was totally worth the price. After talking to others I wasn't sure that I made the right choice in booking an excursion vs. exploring the port. However, after going to the excursion I'm so glad I booked this one. I had a blast! The entire staff was wonderful and extremely attentive; especially Antonio. After serving me one drink and me critiquing the drink to how I would prefer it, he got it right and kept my drinks coming the entire time. He gladly brought me anything I asked for and continued to check on me and my mom without getting in the way of us enjoying our fun in the sun. The beach was pretty and well kept. The staff kindly moved the beach chairs from the beach to the shore line so that my mom and I could sit, sip, and feel the waves come in over our bodies. I participated in the snorkeling. We were able to see some fish and it was great for a beginner but also left freedom to do some self-exploring for advanced snorkelers. The food was great Mexican food. I wanted to take some with me to eat on the ship. If you book this excursion you won't be disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>