Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(715 reviews) 715
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 715 reviews
5 Stars
630
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
15
1 Star
14
668 out of 707(94%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Was awsome

PostedJuly 25, 2016
from Orlando
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely wonderful was trying to b alone this was perfect
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible!!!

PostedJuly 25, 2016
from Mobile, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is possibly one of the best excursions we have ever taken. Our guides Jorge and Arturo were amazing and such an ease to talk to about the surrounding areas. The wait staff and Chef were so attentive and friendly. We especially loved the small numbers of those able to attend this excursion. The food and drinks were on point and the beach was awesome, especially with the included snorkeling. This is a great excursion for those not wanting a big group of people and a lot of privacy. I will do this one again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Honeymoon

PostedJuly 22, 2016
from Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We went on this past September for our Honeymoon. Beautiful, very quiet , not a lot of people, all couples with us. We were served drinks on platters while lying on the beach. The ocean was beautiful, peaceful and easy to walk through. We learned how to make guacamole. Not too long before departure, each couple sat at a small table for two under the palm trees and enjoyed a sort of romantic dinner in the nice shade. One guy proposed at that time. We will never forget this excursion. The only down side or part that I personally did not like was when they held out hats and large sea shells asking for tips before departing and getting back in the vans. My husband had been drinking A LOT and gave them a very large tip which in tern made me angry. This left a wonderful experience to a bad after taste. And just the whole thing with asking for tips... what a damper. Worker folks should NOT be allowed through Carnival excursion's to request tips.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!! You will not be dissapointed!

PostedJuly 22, 2016
from Mckinney, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion my favorite! We were treated like royalty, Rafa was our tour guide and made sure we were catered to the whole time! The drinks and food were truly amazing, and the water was perfect. I want to go back to spend 7 whole long days here! No pressure to buy anything like Jamaica, and there is a massage therapist waiting to give you more relaxation while you sip margaritas. I was so very sad to leave
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too much smoke and no snorkling

PostedJuly 21, 2016
from Lake Charles, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When we arrived and given the orientation, we were told that there would be no guided snorkeling because the water did not have enough visibility that day.
There was not enough space for the dozens of people there to lounge in the shade and all of the smokers huddled there, so our choice was to burn up in the direct sunlight or go inside the house, where the other nonsmokers went to get away from all of the tobacco smoke. The food was not great and they all lined up for a tip, as we were leaving. The only good thing is that alcohol was served throughout the day. Carnival has has so many good excursions in Cozumel, but this was the worst ever. We have been to Cozumel 3x and this was the only excursion that we did not enjoy.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultimate all-inclusive excursion!

PostedJuly 21, 2016
from Charlotte, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful throughout the entire day, the beach and house both were beautiful, and there were plenty of drinks and food for everyone. We were so impressed that everything was included!
We enjoyed the personal attention, the snorkel tour, and plenty of shade and sun relaxation areas. A volleyball net and area with children's toys was also available.
Our only complaint is that we weren't able to stay longer!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJuly 19, 2016
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my boyfriend and I first time on our cruise and I wanted a secluded, relaxing excursion. This was it! We first loaded on to two small vans and enjoyed the drive to the casa. about 25 people and no children. When we first arrived we were handed a drink. I couldnt have orange because of a migraine trigger for me. They made me a different one no problem. They showed us the chefs , kitchen, House, beach area , and small bar on top. It rained the first 30 mins but they kept us entertained and brought out drinks and guacamole. Again they made me one with no onions since I didnt like onions. The place was clean and the people were super friendly and called us by our names. The beach was beautiful with the clearest water I have ever seen. I loved this place and will do this same excursion with my boyfriend again. The food was amazing, the drinks were delicious I had pina coladas and my boyfriend had Corona. My boyfriend said it felt like a real vacation and it definately did!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We had a great time!

PostedJuly 15, 2016
from Huntsville AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want to lay on a beach and relax with. Drink in your hand this is the place! Staff is extremely helpful and nice! Snorkeling was great, food was awesome, and the beer was cold! Highly suggest this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is our second time visiting this spot. Staff was amazing, drinks were great and even the massage was was priced reasonably!!

PostedJuly 14, 2016
from Louisburg, Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Great place to get away from all the people on the boat. Gives you a chance to relax and pamper yourself! Well worth the money!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent beach excursion!

PostedJuly 14, 2016
from Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this relaxing beach getaway. It was maybe a 15 minute comfortable ride from the port. We picked out a couple of hammocks in the shade and were set! A server came by a few times and brought us whatever drinks we wanted. We each scheduled 30 minute massages which were fantastic! Our only regret was that we didn't schedule longer sessions. When it was time to eat, we went up to the house and enjoyed some chicken mole and another chicken dish with a fruit salsa, both wonderful! The homemade chips, guacamole and pico de gallo were also both excellent too. We met a group of people that were so much fun, we ended up hanging out with them later on the cruise!
I did attempt to snorkel but it was pretty rocky. However I should have brought water shoes. Next time!
I highly recommend this excursion. It was beautiful and well worth the money spent!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was amazing!

PostedJuly 13, 2016
from Miami, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I truly enjoyed La Casa en la Playa excursion. It was so relaxing and we were taken care of like VIPs. I highly recommend this excursion to anyone who is looking to be pampered! The staff is WONDERFUL!!! We had a GREAT time!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a WONDERFUL day!!

PostedJuly 13, 2016
from Indian Rocks Beach, Fl
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't say enough about this excursion!! We were looking for a quiet, somewhat secluded day in Cozumel and this excursion delivered just that! The beach was great, the water beautiful, the snorkeling good, and the drinks were flowing!! Flor, our hostess, was such a sweet woman always making sure our needs were met. Diego, our chef, was a delight...he served fresh delicious food. I would HIGHLY recommend this excursion for folks looking for an uncrowded beach, fabulous food, and top notch service!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every Penny

PostedJuly 13, 2016
from San Antonio Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the best excursion we have done on any cruise we have been on. It cost a little but if you do not like big crowds and enjoy excellent service this is for you. Our Guide was excellent the whole way there. The staff there was on it, the whole time you are there, there was not a minute that if you wanted a drink or some Chips and guacamole they did not have it right to you. If you are a drinker it was unlimited. The 5 hours flew buy you felt like you were in a Corona Commercial. We had a picky 11 year old that did not like the menu and the chef made sure to come up with something else just for him. The only small small ding I would give them is for the non drinkers they only had Diet Coke and Orange soda. It would have been nice to have some regular coke.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ahhhhhh!

PostedJuly 11, 2016
from Tampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The beach was beautiful and quiet, the food delicious and artistically served, the drinks cold and plentiful and the service impeccable! The photographer had a mini-session with every couple and created a delightful collage for a minimal fee. We live on the Florida Gulf coast and LOVE a great beach day - it doesn't get much better than this!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Great For Honeymooners

PostedJuly 1, 2016
from Decatur, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The staff was phenomenal and the location was gorgeous. The service was excellent overall but hopefully if you choose this excursion the 20ish people in the house with you will be quiet non-smokers. For us, we were looking for a romantic semi-private beach getaway and were accompanied by extremely misbehaved children and loud smokers taking over all of the shaded space. For how much it is a person, I expected to be able to relax on a quiet beach with a fresh margarita and my husband. This excursion just didn't play out like it was advertised. Lots of loud kids and rude smoking adults. If you're looking for a quiet romantic getaway, this is not it. I heard from other cruisers there are some 18+ excursions that have adults that are better for honeymooners.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relaxing

PostedJune 28, 2016
from florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Everyone worked very hard to make the trip enjoyable. Good food and lots of drinks. The time went too fast. The house was not as I expected. Very small and run down but nice and quaint. Everything is more of a natural state rather than the perfection of a resort. I liked the intimate feel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion ever!!!!

PostedJune 26, 2016
from New Orleans, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'll admit that I was nervous that this excursion was going to be boring for my kids (ages 9 and 7). I had booked it early on, then read more recent reviews before leaving, and I was nervous since so many people didn't recommend doing this one with kids. I'm so glad I didn't listen! My kids had a blast!! The staff here was just phenomenal! They wait on you hand and foot and will NOT accept a tip. They want you to feel at home and relaxed the entire time. Snorkel gear was available (we had our own) along with some inner tubes for relaxing in the water. One guide took us out for snorkeling. He found some pretty cool things for us to see without having to go out too far. The drinks were amazing, the food was amazing---it was all amazing! The chef cooks up an amazing chicken mole! I also LOVED the homemade pico de gallo, and my husband really enjoyed the guacamole. He had the stuffed pepper for lunch, and it was also delicious! There is also a lady there who will take pics for you. The price was very reasonable. There were 3 massage therapists on the grounds, but they worked separate from the guides. My daughter and I both got a massage and we were both VERY happy with the experience! The price was MUCH more reasonable than on the ship, so save your pennies and do it here! When it was time to go, we had the opportunity to tip, but no one was pushy about it. Not one person left without leaving a tip. It was THAT awesome! In all there were 32 of us there. My 2 kids and my friend's 2 kids (ages 9 and 4) were the only kids there, but I assure you, they had fun! The guys made virgin drinks for them so they felt special, they cooked up "kid friendly" foods for them to eat---and they even fed them seconds when they asked (and for these kids to ask for more, that should tell you this food was good)! I liked the pico so much, that they even brought me a giant bowl with more! I read in previous reviews that they felt there wasn't enough food, but we were given all we wanted! Just ask! We had a great time, and we will DEFINITELY do this one again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Getting your moneys worth

PostedJune 25, 2016
from texarkana
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband and I were first time cruisers and we wasn't sure at first if an excursion was worth it but, we are glad we gave in. all I have to say was the drinks were endless and so was the fun. oh and snorkeling was a big plus.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tour was relaxing and most enjoyable experience

PostedJune 25, 2016
from Conroe, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jorge and staff were wonderful. We were pampered from the moment we arrived til the moment we left. I got a massage while listening to the waves....heavenly. The chef was outstanding and the drinks kept coming. The only flaw in the excursion was the beach. It needs to be raked and it is too far out to get to the blue water. Loved, loved, loved the staff!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome experience

PostedJune 24, 2016
from Memphis, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great excursion!!! We had a group of about 30. Fernando and his staff were awesome!! We took about a 15 minute bus ride to the beach house. There was a pool at the house and there were beach chairs and a few hammocks for everyone to use. The food was great and they kept the drinks coming. They even cut some coconuts out of the tree and made us an alcoholic beverage inside of the coconut. The snorkeling was not great because the water was murky and the beach area is very rocky so I recommend bringing water shoes if you have them if not they provide them as well as the snorkeling gear. If you want to have a relaxing time on the beach this is definitely the way to go. Worth every penny!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 36 next>>