Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.895 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(266 reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 266 reviews
5 Stars
250
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
259 out of 265(98%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing by the Shore

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Guest avatar
ShirleyT
from Alvin, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary on our cruise and this excursion was one of the best that we've had in a very long time. We are regular cruisers so have taken many excursions and we rate this excursion as one of the best ever taken. They were very organized, met us at the ship, provided transportation to the resort, introduced us to our staff for the day and then asked us to make ourselves at home. We enjoyed nice beds with umbrellas on the beach with the beautiful blue water and waiters waited on us hand and foot to make sure that we did not want for anything. The drinks were awesome! Whatever you asked for alcohol or not they made sure you were happy. The chef came by and asked what we would like to have for lunch and prepared it just for us. We could have eaten at the house or on the beach and we asked to have our lunch on the beach. It was delivered and tasted great. We were also served great special treats that were really yummy. The water was crystal clear, warm and had a nice sandy bottom. We were able to swim in the area without any problems. This is the best and we will be going back. Oh almost forgot but they also will take you snorkeling for free and if you want a massage you can get one of those at an additional cost. Love, Love this trip.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well worth the price

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Guest avatar
multicruiser
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experienced cruisers who have been to Cozumel many times. We have done all that Cozumel has to offer and did not intend on taking an excursion. We did see this one was farely new and "private" and thought we would try it. SO GLAD WE DID! Our host Nacho was an absolute gentleman who worked very hard to make all welcome. The staff saw to your every need. The bar staff does not hold back with the beverage of choice. The food was good and the chef was accommodating if you chose to go in and participate with the preparation of your meal. The beach was clean and well shaded. I must recommend the massage. I have had many and must say they know what they are doing. It is an additional cost of course but very reasonably priced. The Max guest is supposed to be 36. They "squeezed in" 40 as they explained due to overbooking mistake. Even so we never felt crowded or to close to anybody else.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Mandi44641
 
Please wait while more information about Mandi44641 is loaded.
Additional information about Mandi44641 could not be loaded.
Posted August 25, 2014
Can you give me a cost range on the massages
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time. Wonderful service. Nice way to spend the day away from the ship.

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Guest avatar
DB01
from Pawnee, Ok
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't have asked for a better day. Good food, great service. Beautiful setting.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pure Paradise!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Guest avatar
Carrie83
from Nashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I debated booking this at first due to the higher price, but am so glad I did! There are other non-Carnival all-inclusives in the area that are less money, but I booked this for the security of knowing I was with Carnival and all transportation to and from the excursion would be included. We were met right at the port by a friendly host who led us right to the taxis and guided us through the entire day.
The house is situated on a beautiful private beach with lush vegetation and palm trees. There are loungers, beds, and hammocks to relax on and snorkeling equipment is available if you are interested in that. Massages are available for an additional fee. Waiters are constantly bringing you the free drinks and lunch is served at your leisure either on the beach or at the house. Food was traditional Mexican and delicious! You can also join the chef for a cooking lesson while he prepares the food if you choose.
The water is gorgeous and while I don't believe it is the best snorkeling area available, there are tropical fish and coral located near the coast which I found interesting.
If you are on the fence about this excursion, don't hesitate and book it! It is worth every penny and does usually sell out. We had an amazing day.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SO MUCH FUN!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Guest avatar
Nonnylena
from Burleson, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
The people are amazing. This was our second year to go and it was just as wonderful, the snorkeling was great, my son and I saw lots of fish the water was warm and clear, the food was yummy, there are plenty of snacks and a main course plus unlimited drinks weather you want alcoholic or sodas. The margaritas were very good but with that salty ocean I had a couple of pina coladas. My husband does not swim but he enjoyed the beach plenty of shade, chairs, hammocks, and even beefs to take a nap. The ride to the house and beach is very short and is a comfortable and air conditioned. And we had plenty of time for some shopping at the port shops. We will go again next year
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Wonderful

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Guest avatar
NikkiC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Easy
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was totally worth the price. After talking to others I wasn't sure that I made the right choice in booking an excursion vs. exploring the port. However, after going to the excursion I'm so glad I booked this one. I had a blast! The entire staff was wonderful and extremely attentive; especially Antonio. After serving me one drink and me critiquing the drink to how I would prefer it, he got it right and kept my drinks coming the entire time. He gladly brought me anything I asked for and continued to check on me and my mom without getting in the way of us enjoying our fun in the sun. The beach was pretty and well kept. The staff kindly moved the beach chairs from the beach to the shore line so that my mom and I could sit, sip, and feel the waves come in over our bodies. I participated in the snorkeling. We were able to see some fish and it was great for a beginner but also left freedom to do some self-exploring for advanced snorkelers. The food was great Mexican food. I wanted to take some with me to eat on the ship. If you book this excursion you won't be disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Guest avatar
CoolCruiser
from Katy,TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply paradise! The beach was some of the clearest water I have seen. This was a day of pampering and would recommend this excursion for sure. The drive from the port was only a short distance, the staff was wonderful, and the snorkeling was AMAZIING!
This is a must due excursion if you want to relax on a beautiful private piece of paradise and be pampered!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well worth it!!!

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Guest avatar
mancusofamily
from austin, tx
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent excursion. .. first class all the way! Highly recommend. Something for everyone. Kids from 2 to 16 had a blast. ..
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny for this Excursion

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Guest avatar
petben1969
from Miami, FL
Age:45-54
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great excursion worth the money. Service and staff amazing lots of things to do and activities. All drinks and food included, they take care of everything. No need to take towels or water they give you everything you need. One tip take cash for tips. FYI- tips at the end.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Experience!

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Guest avatar
SSmith26
from Delray Beach, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I absolutely LOVED this excursion. Our tour guide, nicknamed Nacho, was awesome. We were promptly picked up at the port, After a short drive to a private, lush beachhouse, we were greeted by the welcoming staff, given a tour of the area and then we were able to relax and let the fun begin. The drinks were DELICIOUS, the food was hot and cooked to order and the beach was gorgeous. Our tour guide took us snorkeling, played beach volleyball with a small group of us and was constantly making sure we were comfortable and happy. To add on to the fun time, the bartender did a mini lesson on margaritas and mojitos. Overall, we would highly recommend this excursion if you are looking for a relaxing private getaway. And Nacho is the BEST!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as publicized

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Guest avatar
Rust
from Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The staff was mostly accommodating, but that was about the only positive thing I can say ...except, well the ocean being beautiful as it is in Cozumel! The food was average and only 2 choices. The drinks were average with a limited selection. The beach was not raked or prepared (had shells, debris, etc.) so it made getting to and from the ocean uncomfortable. The bug control was non-existent (ants all over as well as stinging flying bugs). The food and beverage service stopped 30 minutes before leaving so there was no water, etc., to have at the end of a long afternoon in the sun. No announcement for last call either. Caught us all by surprise. We would not return and would not recommend this excursion. The price was too high for the value provided. This was our 5th trip to Cozumel and was by far the most disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The highlight of the trip, relaxing and beautiful.

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Guest avatar
BreSalz
from Kansas City, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I traveled with our sons ages 2 and 5 to La Casa en la Playa. This excursion was the most amazing day for our family. We were promptly greeted by the tour guide and guided to a small van. The drive was quick, and we were taken to a secluded spot on a beautiful beach. We were introduced to the staff of 8 and the relaxing began.
The beach, house, water, and setting were perfect! After being on the cruise ship, having a lunch cooked fresh for you was a welcomed change. We were in a small group, and we always felt that our boys were safe to play and roam without us constantly having to worry. The staff were wonderful with helping keep them entertained.
I honestly can't say enough about this excursion. We didn't want to leave.
** If you are looking to party hard, this is not for you
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Day

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Guest avatar
StoryBell
from Wayne, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had been to Cozumel before, but never actually taken a shore excursion. This time we decided it would be nice to try an excursion. We were really looking for something where we could just relax on the beach and be waited on, so we chose this excursion. We had absolutely no idea how great a choice this was going to be. From the get-go we had a great time. Everyone involved was friendly and fun - from the taxi driver to the host to the bartenders to the chef - we truly felt like they were enjoying this as much as we were. The location was beautiful, and the accommodations were very nice. We enjoyed sitting out in the beach chairs, as well as a nap in the hammock. The staff was unbelievably attentive and always made sure we had drinks and were happy. The meal was phenomenal! It was truly as good as any 5-star restaurant. We had a fish dish wrapped in banana leaves which was as good as any fish preparation I have had. The entire experience was pampering, relaxing, and above and beyond our expectations. We literally cried when we had to leave to go back to the ship. This will be a stop every time we come to Cozumel now. I cannot recommend the experience highly enough!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxation is all I can say!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Guest avatar
Pooh
from Baytown, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Staff was so awesome! They wait on you hand and feet. The food was excellent and drinks kept coming. They do massages for a reasonable price of course and if you have kids there is things for them to do as well. You can play volleyball, go swimming or just stay on the beach and get pampered. The tips we gave all of them were well worth it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a fun all-in-one excursion

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Guest avatar
JessiJ
from Fort Smith, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We had lot of fun on this excursion. Everyone in the staff was very attentive and friendly. Our waiter, Alex, kept our drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) coming. He also made sure we had enough to eat. He gave us seconds until we were satisfied. Our guide, Shon, made sure we were comfortable at all times. We snorkeled most of the time. My children couldn't get enough of all the fish swimming around us. I recommended wearing water shoes though since there a couple of big rocks and corrals close to the shore, where most of the fish live.
This was worth paying a little more compared to the other excursions. There were only 14 people from our cruise on our tour. There were no worries about crazy noise or losing our valuables. We felt so safe and relaxed.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Excursion Ever!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Guest avatar
GeorgiaPeach4
from Hampton, Ga.
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have been cruising for many years and this was by far the best excursion ever. A little pricey, but you get your money's worth. Service was superb from the moment we got in our taxi with our driver, Mario. Alexis, our host, went over and above what we have experienced on other excursions. From our first step on to the sand at The Retreat we were waited on constantly by friendly waiters. The staff catered to our every need. Food for lunch was delicious. My granddaughters ages 21 and 23 had a blast playing volleyball, snorkeling and just hanging out with other guests. Will definitely do this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Tour You Could Ever Spend Your Money....

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Guest avatar
MarKanDaynA
from Spring, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being our first cruise we wanted an awesome excursion but we couldn't imagine we could have such a fun relaxing time on an excursion. If your looking for a slow pace excursion to do what you want and not have to worry about a schedule or a long ride to get the Fun started this is your excursion. From the time you get there to the time you leave it was the most relaxing mind lifting vacation you will remember for a lifetime. Seems expensive for a first time excursion but it is worth every penny and the alcohol you'll consume during the time your there pays for itself alone but to throw in the Food, Swimming, Snorkeling, and other activities it's 5 or 6 excursion in one so believe us you won't be disappointed. Book Now...
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best we've done so far!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Guest avatar
beginnercruiser
from Clermont, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Just a 20 minute ride from the port, this was one of the best excursions we've done to date. Alexis was a fantastic host welcoming all guests with open arms making you feel very comfortable from the get go, and all of the staff were friendly, attentive and fun to be with. When we were there, we felt like family. The drinks were plentiful and the food was delicious. Our son has a severe nut allergy and they were conscious and accommodating. There were plenty of activities or you can do nothing but relax in the sun or shade, there were even beach toys for the kids. It was also nice because of the small group, getting a break from the crowds. Will definitely do this again when our travels bring us back to Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unforgettable!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Guest avatar
Tootie
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You simply must try this excursion, that's all there is to it! Out of everything we did on our cruise, this was our favourite. The beach is breathtaking, with beautiful sand, ample sun and shade, fantastic staff, delicious food, and generous drinks! We even had some highly affordable massages and pedicures in a shaded area while the peacocks strutted about. Alex was our waiter and he was fantastic. He kept our drinks coming and was very cheerful and welcoming. We even tried a little snorkeling around a small but vibrant bit of reef very close to the beach. There are no extra costs during this excursion regardless of how much you eat, drink, snorkel, sleep, or swim. The only exception is the massage tent, about which they are not pushy at all (and it is very reasonable). You may tip at the end if you like, but even that is not pushy even though the staff works extremely hard to please.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun while it lasted

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Guest avatar
revo714
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This shore excursion was fun and is recommended. The staff was attentive and nice. The drinks were great as well as the food. The guacamole was the best I have ever tasted. To be honest, the beach is private, but is right next to another private beach. There were many people who were wandering from their private beach to this one. Also, although the time states 5 hours, allow one hour for transportation (half hour each way). We were there for approximately 4 hours. I feel like we were shorted a half hour time. There were 2 other groups there staggered by time which equated to approximately 30+ people. For the money, I believe the stay should have lasted longer. We felt rushed to leave there. Herd 'em in, herd 'em out! This was unappreciated and unfortunately, I didn't have a 5 star experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>