Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.791 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(488 reviews) 488
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 488 reviews
5 Stars
435
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
8
1 Star
8
463 out of 485(95%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for a family

PostedJune 30, 2015
scf1
from LA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the perfect excursion for our family (4 & 7 yo kids). the beach was beautiful. there are rocks & sticks so just bring shoes. the water was crystal clear & perfect for swimming with almost no waves. the food & drinks were delicious. our host & the staff were friendly & helpful all day. there was enough space that I didn't feel that my kids were a nuisance to anyone especially not the staff. highlights of our day: snorkeling, tequila lesson, guacamole, beach bed & plenty ice cold coronas. it was absolutely perfect for a relaxing day at the beach with no worries.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For pampering and ultimate relaxation, this is the one!

PostedJune 30, 2015
BrandyG2015
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
While all our excursions were great, this was by far my favorite! The staff takes care of you like it is your private home and even though there were over 25 people the day I went, you still have privacy. I will cruise Carnival just to take this excursion!! The food was delicious (they even made food off the menu for me) and the bartender is wonderful at making the never ending drinks. If you just want to chill out on a beach and relax, go for it. Worth every penny!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING AND PERFECT

PostedJune 30, 2015
gop22
from mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shore excursion is perfect if you want to have a relaxing day in a beautiful beach of cozumel! the food is delicious you can go snorkeling with your family and you will see many kinds of fishes is perfect i love it so give them a shot to know you and im sure you won't regret it
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was relaxing and well worth the money.

PostedJune 26, 2015
relaxing2015
from Rockmart, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was just what the doctor ordered. It was extremely relaxing. We enjoyed hearing the waves and the view of the ocean was spectacular. The staff was friendly and helpful. We cooked lunch with the chef. The food and drinks were great. I recommend this to anyone that visits Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money!

PostedJune 25, 2015
RaynaL05
from Galveston, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
To be honest my husband and I were nervous about booking this excursion because of the price, but man were wrong. We were blown away by the staff! They were so accommodating and very friendly. They do treat you like family, and make you drink like one! The food was great! Get the fish if they have it, and make sure you take a tequila shot. Not only for the buzz, but for the history. The only thing I was disappointing about was the beach. I'm not sure why, but it was incredibly rocky. However, they had a marked off path to take to get out into the deeper water. My and husband and I pretty much stayed out in the water and snorkeled. He will take you on a snorkel tour if you like. I highly recommend this excursion if you're looking for something more private and adult only. Not that you can't bring your children, but it just has more of that adult feel to it! Book this excursion! :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedJune 24, 2015
Kim80
from Springfield, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion is great for everybody! The reviews described a beach away from the crowds (10 minutes from port), and that is what we wanted. The day of the excursion, I was worried because my 10 year old son was one of the only children. However, I quickly realized that you can choose the activities to suit your needs and level of participation. There were about 18 people in our group, and my family participated in kayaking, snorkeling, building sand castles, hammocks, and the lounge chairs. My husband and I sampled the drinks and thought they were great, although the staff does refrain from asking if you want drinks about an hour before you leave. If you request from the server or go to the bar, you can certainly still get one until you go. We thought the food was delicious and in good portions (not too large/small.) The guacamole was amazing! There are bathrooms and changing rooms in the house along with the bar and tables to eat on the patio. We had such a wonderful time that we booked this excursion again for our December cruise!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was the BEST shore excursion we have been on! We highly recommend it!

PostedJune 23, 2015
LauraLoveToCruise
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The guides were great, funny, and very very attentive. They always kept your glass full and would make you any cocktail you wanted at the open bar. The snorkeling was a little difficult if you can't swim well, because it is not really reef protected, so there is some wave and surge, but hey... I saw a beautiful 9 foot long nurse shark! She was swimming away from me, and it was so exhilarating, the only time I have seen a shark in all my years of snorkeling, and it wasn't far from the shore! The beach is beautiful, and the nice padded lounge chairs all have umbrellas over them, keeping you in the shade if you want. The lunch was terrific! Our cook was fantastic, and you have several choices of what you want for lunch... the fish wrapped in banana leaves is highly recommended! You won't leave there hungry or thirsty. We saw a wonderful demonstration of making guacamole, and enjoyed that with tortilla chips afterwards. The ride up and back was very comfortable in air conditioned vans. I would highly recommend this as a shore excursion because once you get there, you can just sit back and relax, swim, snorkel, drink... did I mention drink?
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ABSOLUTLY AMAZING AND FUN

PostedJune 19, 2015
SweetKelly23
from Mount Dora
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My friend and I just got back from our cruise. One stop was in Mexico and we booked our excursion to go here. We had so much fun and it was very relaxing. At first my friend and I were not going to do it because of the price but we decided to do it anyway. When we got there we thought it was every penny we spent and so much more. If I take another cruise to Mexico I will spend the money again. If you are trying to decided to go I highly recommend going. What are you waiting for just go. I promise you WILL have a blast.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Experience

PostedJune 17, 2015
hoot124
from Nashville TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the ultimate in relaxation. There were very few of us and we all were treated like family by the staff. It was the most relaxed I've ever been. Food and drinks were great. Would cruise again just to go on this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better quality excursion

PostedJune 16, 2015
advisortothestars
from Dallas, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion is more money, but it is equally more private and more personal. No better host on the planet and the scene is picturesque! I would not hesitate to spend the money again to experience this day again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJune 16, 2015
Kim71
from Memphis Tn
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The staff was very gracious and accommodating. We enjoyed our time on the beach, the food demo and the tequila history. I would definitely recommend this excursion to any one who likes to be pampered.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great excursion!

PostedJune 16, 2015
Kim211
from Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a wonderful excursion and was fun and relaxing. Our guide, Luis was the best! Everyone in our group said they would return again! Well worth the money!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Cruiser062015
from MS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went on this excursion with my friend and we had a fantastic time. I found it to be worth every single penny. If you want to relax this is the spot for you.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
sierrahase
 
Please wait while more information about sierrahase is loaded.
Additional information about sierrahase could not be loaded.
Posted June 16, 2015
Were the drinks/food included in the excursion price or did you pay separate for them?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So glad we chose this one

PostedJune 8, 2015
Lifsavru
from Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I just did this exclusion this past Saturday. We highly recommend it . All the staff were amazing. Great job Javier. And chef.....your fish and guacamole was just out of this world. Beach was beautiful . Plenty of options to relax in from beach chairs, hammocks, and beach beds. Areas of shade and well as sunbathing spots. Plenty of fish to see while snorkeling or just swimming. . Never had to ask for a thing...it's like they could read your mind. No shortage of food or made to order drinks. And because they only allow a small number of people to sign up..they was no bumping into people while swimming or worry about getting a beach chair. Very close to pier as well. Gets you back to the port in time to do a little shopping but not too soon so that you felt like you didn't get your money worth.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great service!

PostedJune 5, 2015
nurset
from conway, ar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would love to go back here. The service was amazing. The view was amazing. Great food! I loves every minute of it! Drinks were delicious and it was like being waited on hand and foot!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great service!

PostedJune 5, 2015
LauraOK55
from Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Our adult children did this excursion last year and raved about it, but our "house" seemed smaller and older than what they described, and we had no pool. (There didn't seem to be an option for the Casa we were assigned.) We also thought it was an adults-only resort, and while there were no children in our group, there were quite a few kids on the beach and in the water right next to us.
But the service and food was great! Best guacamole ever! Our cups were never empty and I loved the lemonade. I snorkeled while my husband got a massage. Even though my husband and I are non-drinkers, the Tequila lesson was informative. The photographer came to the beach and we purchased the cute photo collage she made for us.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peaceful, Relaxing, Fun, Educational & Delicious

PostedJune 3, 2015
Ageless
from Memphis, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great day. It's like if you had a wealthy friend who owned a beautiful home in Mexico on the beach, and he tells you drop by he's having a few friends over for lunch. Clementa, our host had a few of us picked up at the pier, a 15/20 minute drive, beautiful beachside home and the ocean. We had an educational less on Tequila, I mean REAL Tequila Reposado, which in itself was worth the price. Lunch has several choices and was lovely, drinks were great and the ocean was breathtaking. The water is rocky so water shoes are provided if you did not bring any, snorkel equipment is available although we did not partake. They limit the number of guest at one time so you don't have to share it with the masses. All in all one of the best excursions my husband and I have ever been on. So if you're reading this your thinking about booking this, think no longer, you deserve a wonderful day in paradise.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Stay out of the water

PostedJune 2, 2015
fireo492
from Connecticut
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The beach was all rocks. You had to try to walk on sharp rocks to get into the water. The pool was dirty, cloudy and had bugs swimming in it. The filter was not running and no sanitation of the water was being done. The food was good, but portions were small. The service was very good, the one highlight of the trip.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Guest avatar
fireo492
Connecticut
 
Please wait while more information about fireo492 is loaded.
Additional information about fireo492 could not be loaded.
This is correct
Posted June 5, 2015
This is the correct place. It does have a pool. The property is really just a large house on the water. It does have a pool that is the size you would see at someone's home.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Guest avatar
ksd76
Houston, TX
 
Please wait while more information about ksd76 is loaded.
Additional information about ksd76 could not be loaded.
are you sure this is correct?
Posted June 4, 2015
This excursion does not have a pool. We have been there before. The Rocky shores one does have a pool and is for 21 and older. We looked at it but it had "rocky shores" and suggested aqua-socks. Confirm you have the correct one. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Experience

PostedJune 2, 2015
BillMindy2015
from Friendswood, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were celebrating my wife's 50th Birthday and I wanted to do something special and this place was absolutely paradise! The staff was professional and friendly and fun, the drinks were excellent and the food was wonderful and prepared fresh right in front of your eyes! There was a lot to do or you could just relax on the chairs on the beach or get a couples massage which we did and I highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of our favorites

PostedJune 2, 2015
RayBan
from Buffalo, New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
We are repeat customers for this tour. Clemente and his team will pamper you with service. The lunch is outstanding. You will get a snorkel class and guided snorkel for max views. A guacamole making class and unique Mexican cooking lesson are most interesting if you choose.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>