Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.868 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(296 reviews) 296
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 296 reviews
5 Stars
273
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
287 out of 295(97%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lot of fun

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Guest avatar
barry21
from West Tn
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it was a lot of fun very relaxing, the people there were super nice and really cared if you were enjoying your time with them. they went all out to make sure you were having a good time, priced a little high, but we enjoyed every minute of it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fun for all

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Guest avatar
Mreiter
from Jeffersonville Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a 16 year old with me and my husband on this excursion. I was very afraid that my son would be board, needless to say he was not. We, as a family really enjoyed our time there. Food drinks and fun. It was well worth it :-)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Beach Excursion

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Lisa18
from Lafayette, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
My husband and I really enjoyed this excursion. The beach is beautiful. I like that there is a limited number of guests that can join this excursion, it allows the staff to give individual attention. You are welcomed with a drink and an introduction to the staff. You choose the place you would like to relax on the beach. Your chairs and umbrella are set up for you. Drinks and snacks are brought to you. And the drinks are very good, made to order. It's not like some inclusive's that bring out premade rum punch. Your food order is taken along with the time you would like to eat. You choose from an awesome menu. When your meal is ready they set up a table for you and serve your food. The food was great so fresh and hot. The beach is very nice. The sand is not rocky but I would recommend water shoes for going into the water. There is some rocky coral out there. The staff offer a guided snorkel and it is included in the price as well as the gear. I really enjoyed this because I have never snorkeled before. After the guided snorkel you are welcome to use the gear and snorkel on your own.
Massages are offered. We did not get a massage so I cannot give and info on this. We so enjoyed this excursion, we may never go anywhere else in Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing experience!

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Guest avatar
MissLeahBelle
from Austin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion is AWESOME. My boyfriend and I did this excursion in February of 2014 and we adored it. The bus ride was short and well air-conditioned. When we arrived, we were handed incredibly fresh drinks, introduced to the staff, then escorted to our beach lounge chairs, which all had umbrellas. We ordered some food (which was amazing!) and had the option of an unlimited amount of incredible drinks.
After eating, we went snorkeling in the beautiful, clear water and took pictures with our underwater camera. One of the staff members was out in the water with us and showed us some marine life. My boyfriend and I found a conch shell that was as big as both hands put together. Since there wasn't any marine life living in the shell, the staff member told us we could keep it. He explained some really interesting information about conch shells that helped us learn more and appreciate the marine life.
When we came out from the water, we went upstairs to see the bartender who poured us some really yummy shots, and took shots with us. It was pretty awesome. The bathrooms are very clean and spacious, and have a shower available, should you need to use it.
We were having such a good time that we were surprised when the time was up to go back to the ship! Everything was wonderful, and we had no problem feeling like they really made sure we experienced Cozumel in the best way possible. This is an amazing excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome place to relax with the perfect atmosphere!

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Guest avatar
Dmeredith
from Clarksdale, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were looking for excursions to just relax on the beach. This one was perfect. Everyone was so friendly and always greeted you with a smile. We had one of the best massages we have ever had (this is extra - not included in the price). The lunch was very tasteful. It is served at your own private table at your time you choose. Drinks were very good and some one was always asking if they could get you something. Some might think it's pricey for just the beach w/ food and drinks but it is well worth the price. It's only a small group of people with lots of room. We would love to go back next time we are in Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a wonderful time!

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Guest avatar
AR305
from Winston Salem, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything about this excursion is wonderful! The staff was so friendly and catering, we never had to ask for anything. Appetizers and drinks were constantly being brought to us. We stayed in the water a lot which was crystal clear and so beautiful. While relaxing on the beach we chose from a lunch menu and a time we wished to dine. We chose to dine at a table under the palm trees and our meals were so delicious! Our host Shon was so wonderful! This excursion will be a regular when we return to Cozumel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best excursion I've experienced.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Guest avatar
firedog
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our host was Schon. He and the entire crew were extremely friendly and made our time there so relaxing and fun. It was exactly what a resort experience should be - good food and beverages, clean beach. We would love to do it again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Guest avatar
DavidDean
from Porter, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This place is fantastic. I really like the fact that there are no more than 40-45 people allowed to go. It’s a nice beach. Food great, drinks great. Music was great. If fact this was our second visit to this excursion in 10 months, we enjoyed it that much. We would come back again. The service is outstanding. One of my favorite places to visit.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Excursion

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
beatx
from Pasadena, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was one of the best I have had in a long time. The Hosts Schon and Adolfo were amazing along with the rest of the staff.
Drinks, snacks were awesome, same as a delicious lunch.
It was a very relaxing day, Yes. We will be back soon !!!!!!!
We will recommend it
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Had a wonderful time

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Guest avatar
JHenkle
from Atlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our first time to Cozumel and I'm glad we chose this excursion. Our host, Louis, was incredible and spent the whole time entertaining us and making sure we were having fun. I have never been snorkeling before so he took me out in the water and guided me the whole time, showing me different fish and sea creatures. The entire staff was extremely friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to spend the day away from crowds while relaxing on the beach.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Husband loved it-Not me

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Guest avatar
MAChoneymooner
from Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
There was another carnival ship already in port,so when arrived it seemed double booked. I booked this excursion for the shade (Me) and for the sun (husband). We had to ask for an umbrella,since they were all taken by the other cruisers. The staff tried to accomodate,the umbrella was cheap and the wind didn't help it. Bring a towel from the ship,we had to ask twice! The weather was beautiful and the water calm. We enjoyed taking our drinks into the water. Yes,the drinks were plentiful and the food delicious. The staff was very friendly,but service was slower than we would have liked. They need more than one drink server for 40 people!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Funtime at the beach!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Guest avatar
DebandSteve
from Dallas, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a short ride from the pier with the staff waiting for us on arrival with drinks in hand. The water was beautiful but it was rocky and we wished we had brought water shoes. There was seaweed washed up on shore but it's a beach! Plenty of shade to relax in and the waiters were non stop in bringing the drinks. Food was great and the chef was very friendly. We each had a massage that was regular priced compared to states but the location was beautiful with the ocean breeze and the sound of the waves made it very relaxing! On the way back we had a flat tire but the next van was along to pick us up in mere minutes. Overall we had a great time and would visit again. As someone else said it was a private beach so no vendors to deal with was a plus!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome day at the beach.

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Guest avatar
Cajuncass
from New Iberia LA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a perfect beach day for us on August 21, 2014. The bus ride was quick & easy. Our guide & all the staff at the house were wonderful. They provided excellent service. The beach, the pool, and house were great. Yes, the water has a rocky access---they tell you that, but once you get past the rocks, it's very nice. I'm 63 with a repaired hip but others helped me over the rocks & no one got hurt. The snacks, the drinks, & the lunch were all delicious. I mean, who could ask for more??? Sand, gorgeous water, a pool, and lunch served on linen tablecloths on a gracious veranda.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Loved This Excursion!!!!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Guest avatar
SandyTx
from Hemphill, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
From beginning to end, the hosts of this excursion are all about their guests. The place is beautiful, the food is wonderful, and they keep the drinks coming. Would absolutely recommend this excursion. We will be going here again ASAP!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very disappointed for the price

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Guest avatar
MoMar
from Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband and I both found this excursion to be a big disappointment. The water was very rough, lots of stuff washing up on the beach and it was very rocky so we weren't able to enjoy any water activities. Maybe if you hit it on the right day it would be enjoyable. On the plus side, the staff was very nice, they kept the drinks coming and the food was awesome.
We certainly weren't the only ones disappointed as a group of 12 of us chose to return to the ship early. I would have rather spend the money elsewhere.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was great.

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Guest avatar
south12
from New Iberia, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I and another couple took this excursion together. We had a blast. The day was full of sand, sun, great food and strong drinks. Our guide, Adolfo and the rest of the staff were amazing. So friendly and accommodating. The drinks were endless and the food was delicious. The only thing that was disappointing was that it had to end. We will definitely do this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXECELLENT STAFF AND PLACE

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Guest avatar
KandKMARRIED
from Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the PERFECT get away for Married Couple and the Wait Staff is EXECELLENT ...Drinks were there before you asked for the next , snacks , and lunch were the same WANTED for NOTHING AT ALL...THE MOST RELAXING and FUN of the whole trip.....
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Honeymooners

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
josh5
from Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was our second carnival excursion and our favorite. The staff went well out of their way to provide for me and my wife. If you are searching for a romantic paradise setting away from crowded beaches, this is for you. It is gorgeous, relaxing, and you'll feel like royalty. We will definitely book this again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best place to go while on a cruise

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Guest avatar
Dharmon
from Water Valley, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was absolutely my favorite place to visit. The staff was extra friendly and helpful. They take care of all of your needs. The chef cooked us an amazing lunch.. Best Mexican food I've had in a long time! Alcohol is included so that's always a plus! The beach was clean and the water was crystal clear. This is a private beach so you don't have to deal with people trying to sell you something constantly.. Major plus! It was worth every penny!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Value

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Guest avatar
Nikster
from Cincinnati,Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's not worth the price. 1) It's a 3 room hut. 2) It's not private. 3) The food was awful. 4) The chef did not speak English, 5) The beach was littered with stones which made walking in the water very difficult. 6) No water was available to wash your feet.
The positives were the view was awesome, the staff was friendly, and the beach equipment was comfortable and in good condition.
I've been on other excursions with the same features for half the price.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>