Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.773 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(671 reviews) 671
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 671 reviews
5 Stars
596
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
14
1 Star
13
630 out of 664(95%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing VIP experience, but not for kids

PostedMay 23, 2016
from Boca Raton, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would recommend this for adults who aren't interested in the "spring break scene" at the bars on the Cozumel pier. We were 4 adults who wanted to get away from the crowds and noise, and just relax. That being said, this was perfect for us. The excursion consisted of a total 19 adults, and everyone was nice, and interested in the same thing; relaxing peace and quiet. A few of us chatted by the pool, others found a quiet spot on the beach to relax and drink the delicious margaritas. We also wanted shade, and there were plenty of spots to find it. Service was great, complete with bartender, server, and chef, and the food and drinks were outstanding; a different level than what you have on the ship! The chef demo in the house was also interesting, as well as the poolside guacamole preparation. Staff was very friendly and accommodating as well; they ran out of the specific rum that my boyfriend drinks, and one of the staff actually left to go out and get it for him! However, I wouldn't recommend this for families with children for 2 reasons; 1) for the price, I don't think it's worth it for kids, as the food that was served is not the Mexican you get at home that's fried and slathered in melted cheese and sauce. This was a fine, fresh authentic Mexican meal, and 2) as other reviewers have said, the beach was rocky, the rocks were slippery, and on the day we went, the water was a bit murky. As a result, even though they had water shoes, nobody in the group swam in the ocean; it just didn't seem like that kind of beach. The pool was nice, but not huge, and there's no slide or room for water toys. There was a small area on the beach for the kids with some sand toys, but nothing too fancy and I could see kids getting bored within 15 minutes, when you're "stuck" there for about 3 1/2 hours. Given the beach, the price, the food, and the people in our group, this didn't strike me as an excursion that would be worth it or enjoyable for a family with young children. We really loved this excursion and I would highly recommend this, but for adults only. If I brought kids, I could imagine hating it and feeling ripped off.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Time

PostedMay 22, 2016
from Dallas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The staff was very friendly and the cocktails - OMG very good. The beach is wonderful and you can walk. They have a pool and the massage was very relaxing.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome excursion!!

PostedMay 20, 2016
from MS
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you are looking for a great time of relaxation...this is it! The guide and attendants made sure that our every need was met! Great time snorkeling with our guide, Yatar! I'm not a great swimmer but he took time to make sure that I was ok and having a great time. We will definitely be going back!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Relaxing

PostedMay 19, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I did this excursion, and we loved it! There were about 25-30 people on the excursion total so it was a fairly small group. Once you get to the house they put a drink in your hand (non-alcoholic) take you on a quick tour of the house and then it is out to the beach!
Outside there are chairs, hammocks, beds, and loungers along with umbrellas for those who want shade! As soon as you sit down they take your drink order, and they keep the drinks coming. The drinks are not strong but strong enough to give you a good buzz and keep it going. The food was good, and if you don't want what is on the menu they will make you something simple like a quesodilla. If you are a constant eater on the cruise (like me) I recommend bringing some snacks because there is a little lull in the food. If you are looking for a nice relaxing day on the beach without hoards of people, this is for you!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME TIME!!

PostedMay 17, 2016
from Austin, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been to Cozumel once before so I was kind of hesitant about this excursion only because the "open bar" on the last excursion turned out to be beer and watered down margaritas... BUST! This went WAY above my expectations! The beach was GORGEOUS and the drinks were DELISH (not watered down AT ALL). Isis was our guide and she was pleasant and polite the entire time. Big kudos to Erick and Fausto, they made sure to keep the drinks coming and BOOOYYYY did we appreciate it!! Everyone there was so attentive and I love that we had a small group. There were no kids in our group but I'm sure they would enjoy it as well.
I read other reviews about the activities you can do on the beach, can't comment on those as I just lounged and took in the scenery. The house was beautiful and the food was great. Overall I loved the excursion and would do it a million times over.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing, can I do this at every port?

PostedMay 13, 2016
from Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was phenomenal. Wish this was an option at every port. Wonderful, friendly staff very conscientious of our wants and needs. Great food and drinks. Beautiful house, pool and beach. Can't say enough good things about this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way over priced!!!

PostedMay 13, 2016
from New Albany, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Difficult
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Boring!!!! The waiter was excellent but the food was terrible,
I wanted to leave he said it would cost too much to get a taxi out in the middle of nowhere, we couldn't get on the taxi until we paid for our tips!!!!! For the price should have been included.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderfully relaxing

PostedMay 11, 2016
from fort smith, arkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great way to unwind! Massages available for an extra fee if you choose, which I thought was well worth it. The food was wonderful, the drinks were readily available. Unfortunately due to the weather and the ocean current we didn't get to snorkel very long but it was very enjoyable in the small amount of time we were able to go. I even took a nap ocean side!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!!!!!!

PostedMay 11, 2016
from Bayou Vista, La
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the guides were super attentive and the location was SPECTACULAR couldnt have asked for anything more. we will back again and again. lunch was awesome, drinks were perfect, the massage on the beach was reasonably priced. time stood still on this section of beach while lounging in the hammocks!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good time to be had

PostedMay 7, 2016
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had a short van ride to the excursion. We were met by a very friendly staff! they kept the drinks flowing. The view was fantastic! Food was tasty! I would defiantly take this excursion again! Luis was our guide and the best, hopefully y'all get to hang out with him!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent service

PostedMay 5, 2016
from Lake Mary, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
We just got back from our cruise and had to write a review ASAP. Have to thank our guide Javier, he's charisma and the way he treated everyone was awesome. Very polite and knowledgeable guy. We had a great time, all of the guys at the Casa en La Playa were very professional and always ready to serve everyone.Food, drinks and service was awesome!!!!!!! We will definitely go back....
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It was very relaxing It was a bit of a drive but worth it

PostedMay 5, 2016
from League City TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought the place very calming and the food was good. The only thing I had an issue on was the beach access. There are ALOT of shells most of them broken conchs and it was really hard to get in the water if you did not have water shoes. My friend ended up losing her balance since she had knee surgery and I scrapped my knees trying to get out of the water. Other than that it was a GREAT time the staff was VERY FRIENDLY and I would definitely do this again. :)
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A relaxing day at the beach

PostedApril 8, 2016
from Fort Myers, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adolfo and Chef Julio were wam and inviting and provided us with a relaxing day with awesome food! Everyone was super friendly and always asking if we needed anything. We went to the house with a pool and the beach was a bit rocky. They had water shoes for us to borrow, but I would suggest bringing your own. Service was excellent and drinks were flowing. Overall a great excursion away from the masses.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it!!

PostedApril 2, 2016
from Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First, my one complaint- this excursion is a bit overpriced. But we are not complaining because everything was fabulous. The ride to the beach house is short (about 15 min), so you get to maximize your time having fun! The staff were all very accommodating. We selected some beach chairs and had a waiter coming by regularly to bring fresh drinks. I see others have said the drinks were watered down, but I did not find this to be the case the day I went (especially compared to the ones we had the previous day on an excursion in Progreso). They weren't overly strong, but weren't water. The beach does have some big rocks just off the shore, but the water was so clear we could easily see them and navigate past to the soft sand. The food was fantastic - best pico and guac EVER! Even my kids ate it, and they are not fans of Mexican food. The staff does not put much on a plate at a time, but if you ask for more, they will bring more! My husband and I both had the stuffed pepper and thought it was delicious. We felt pampered and all had a great time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great day at the beach

PostedMarch 31, 2016
from Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Even though the weather was a little sketchy (all snorkeling excursions were cancelled) we were lucky enough to have planned a peaceful afternoon at La Casa en La Playa where Adolfo, Isis and their staff took great care of us. The food was fine, especially the guacamole Isis made as part of the cooking class and the drinks were plentiful.
It was an easy ride to and from the port, and we're quite happy we chose this particular excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not great for the price

PostedMarch 24, 2016
from Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The service we received was good however for the price the food, location and drinks weren't great. Shore is very rocky and pictures are deceiving so prepare by bringing water shoes. They only have one 1 person kayak which for a romantic retreat wasn't very accomodating. Snorkel gear was included and cleaned after each persons use so bring your own if you are concerned with germs.
Drinks were watered down, at first I thought it was the heat dissolving the ice until I went upstairs to the bar area and got a fresh on.
My husband complained about the food. It was good however exerting a lot of energy swimming you work up an appetite and two tacos rice and beans wasn't very filling for 5 hours.
Tips- yes they do corral everyone before they shuttle you back to the pier and place a large conch shell on a tray and stare at you waiting for tips. If you don't want to be stared down by the staff and other cruise goers for not tipping be sure to bring cash.
Positive: It is very private and secluded with not a lot of people from the cruise ships.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

By far the best beach getaway and all you can eat/drink excursion I have ever been on

PostedMarch 22, 2016
from Lubbock, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My boyfriend and I went on this excursion together and it the was the best and most relaxing beach excursion I have ever been on! Isis was our guide and she was extremely personable and a fabulous host. The house was beautiful, the beach was perfect (there was some seaweed on it, but it did not obstruct the view or our ability to relax on the sand close to the water or higher up on the beach), the service was unbelievable (snacks and drinks delivered super fast and always with a smile), the food was delicious (truly all you can eat, my boyfriend eats allot ;) ). We also got the massages on the beach, it was one of the best massages that I have ever gotten and was so refreshing with the sound of the waves in the background. This was an exclusive and romantic getaway! I would highly recommend it! I will be going on this excursion again. The ride to and from the beach felt safe and was very quick.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion made me feel like royalty.

PostedMarch 20, 2016
from Pikeville, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my favorite excursion of the entire trip. The staff was amazing, Flor, the hostess was such a sweet lady. I enjoyed my time there so much that I have booked this excursion for my next cruise in May. I cannot wait to go back. The drinks were unlimited and delicious. The food was great. The staff waited hand and foot on you. The staff was extremely welcoming to the beach house. I highly recommend this excursion to families and those who are wanting to feel like royalty. I cannot say enough great things about this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing to the 10th power!!!

PostedMarch 13, 2016
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So relaxing to be on a bed on white sand in beautiful weather. The hospitality shown was contagious, if I didn't look around I would've thought they only doted on me since they anticipated my needs with on demand drinks and the massage option was definitely a plus. It was nice eating great food in the company of people I never met, yet conversation flowed like we were old friends. Was celebrating 25th wedding anniversary, definitely set the tone for a romantic time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

PostedMarch 13, 2016
from Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We were disappointed in this shore excursion. The beach was OK but the water was rocky. I ordered chicken mole and it was tasteless and the portions were very small. We had told them we wanted to watch/help them cook but they never came to get us. The drinks were very watered down and there is only 1 choice of beer. I was only asked 3 times if I wanted something to drink. I had a massage but it ended up to be for a shorter time than the advertised board she carried around. They ask for tips at the end which I felt was very tacky for the service received. I left hungry and very unsatisfied. I would not recommend this excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 34 next>>