Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.796 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(529 reviews) 529
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 529 reviews
5 Stars
472
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
9
1 Star
8
502 out of 525(96%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedAugust 29, 2015
from Manassas, VA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was definitely our favorite excursion for our Western Caribbean Cruise late August 2015. Our excursion host was Isis, and she was absolutely wonderful! She kept us well informed and took excellent care of us. The crew waits on you hand and foot and are wonderful!
The trip starts with a short van ride to the cabana (probably about 15min), once we got to the cabana, it was just relaxation. They bring you fresh squeezed lemonade and tell you to pick your spot on the beach. Once you sat down, the bartender would come around and get drink orders. My drink was never empty. The beach is beautiful and there is no one in either direction. The water is a bit rocky when you’re entering, but once you get 10 feet out, you are on sand. The water is warm, and clear and we were able to snorkel around. There are not too many fish, but you'll find a few schools swimming around. The staff will offer you water shoes, and snorkel masks if you ask.
As for the food, it was wonderful. The chef taught us how to make the most delicious guacamole and then brought us our own bowls for an appetizer. They let us pick the time we wanted to eat and got us when our food was ready. The food is very Mexican, but absolutely delicious. My mother got the mahi-mahi (two times) and I got the traditional fish and the chicken. Both dishes were wonderful.
Other than the beach, there is a fresh water pool, tons of shaded areas to lay out, a rope swing, and shower stations to rinse off. The cabana is beautiful, but we did not spend any time in there other than to use the restroom.
Altogether, this is a wonderful excursion and the crew was absolutely fantastic!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Excursion in Cozumel!

PostedAugust 28, 2015
from Alexandria, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
My husband and I took this excursion on 8/25/15. I booked the excursion based on the great reviews and they were right on! We were broke up into groups of 8 and were transported in vans to the beach house which was a short drive from the pier. There were probable less than 30 people which was great! The staff was there to greet us with appetizers and drinks and they catered to us the whole time. The Chef prepared a great meal. I chose the seasoned fish (grouper) and it was delicious. We had a lesson on how to prepare guacamole and it was also great. The beach and ocean were beautiful, clean, and there was snorkel equipment available. I had a wonderful massage under a cabana on the beach and a lot less expensive than on the ship. The only drawback was there was only 1 restroom for the ladies and only 1 for the men. It was a little difficult for my husband because the men's restroom was upstairs and he has difficulty climbing stairs but since we aren't drinkers it wasn't too much of a problem. The alcohol did flow freely but we got virgin drinks and they were quite tasty. It started raining that day and we gathered under the porch and got to know some of the other cruisers. We have been to Cozumel several times and this is probably the best excursion we have taken. Thanks to our guide Adolfo and all the staff for making our day in Cozumel perfect!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
Danyel
Raleigh, North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about Danyel is loaded.
Additional information about Danyel could not be loaded.
Thank you for the review!
Posted August 30, 2015
My BFF and I will be traveling on the Carnival Paradise departing on Halloween and so far this is the only excursion we are planning (will keep looking around). I have read nothing but great things about it. My question is do I need to bring cash to pay for this massage? That was my plan.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I hoped it would be.

PostedAugust 25, 2015
from Lakewood, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the fantastic elements of this excursion was the on site chef and the meals he prepared. The staff that waited on us was attentive and professional. They made some amazing drinks as well! lol.
I wanted something upscale, with a smaller group, that would give me that "tropical beach experience". I wanted this excursion to really count and blow my wifes socks off - it did. I would not hesitate to do this excursion again. The beach was a little rocky, but for me that made the snorkeling more interesting. The water was amazing
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive but worth it!!

PostedAugust 23, 2015
from Amarillo, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My mom and I booked this excursion because we wanted an easy day on the beach! It was expensive but we went with a cheap excursion on our other port day so we figured we could splurge. This tour was so worth it!! It's only 15 minutes from the dock. The guides were so fun and immediately when we got to the beach had drinks for us and they kept our drinks filled all day! The beach was the most beautiful beach I have ever been to. Clear blue water allowing you to see everything! They had equipment for us to snorkel and then had a guacamole making/tasting for us to enjoy! The food was delicious! Definitely book this excursion! You will not regret it!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth it!

PostedAugust 23, 2015
from Galveston, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At first I was upset as the excursion was listed as exclusive and over 25 people were there. I was very worried that our little family (3 of us) would not get the attention I had noticed other reviewers with small tour groups received and was worried that the service would be subpar.
The service was great to my relief. There was a large staff on hand and we did not want for anything, they stayed busy and anticipated all of our needs.
We had a 9yo with us that was the only child out of all the people on the excursion; however, it didn't seem to effect the other parties and everyone did their own thing. We (the 9yo and I) snorkeled alone most of the day or floated in the pool. There was one group who focused on drinking as many unlimited premium drinks as they could, another group that seem fixated on the DELICIOUS food and then couples scattered about being romantic and everyone was as chill and happy as can be.
The water was gorgeous and while water shoes are a must it was not too rocky to get in and the snorkeling was gorgeous. So many fish and if you pay attention to the green flag on the beach the best fish are seen in that spot.
Also, even my 9yo thought the guacamole class (which was done poolside) was great ..and you get to eat the guacamole!
Also there are women doing massages and though we didn't get one, we did hear rave reviews from the people who did though the ones that drank a bit said that they felt incredibly woozy when their massage was over.
Oh and lunch was gorgeous - we highly recommend the chicken mole'. There are bathrooms inside and outside the house. Isis was a gracious hostess and it was a great day for everyone it seemed from the "party" drinker people to the hanging out in the ocean just floating people to us - the lone family.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was excellent for the money

PostedAugust 22, 2015
from robinson, texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it was a short taxi ride to the home . We met the staff they were all friendly and helpful the food was excellent and drinks nonstop. Rafa showed us how to make Guacamole was excellent. The water so blue and clear. We would definitely do this again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect excursion

PostedAugust 22, 2015
from Valdosta Ga
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
It's impossible to describe our experience because it was out of this world! First, Luis was a a wonderful host. He went out of his way to make us feel at home, but without ANY of the work. He was kind and knowledgeable. He showed us around our little house and told us what to expect. He was on the mark about the quality of service we would receive from the gracious staff. The food ( we had the fish) was fabulous. They actually set up a dining table under an umbrella right next to the most beautiful crystal clear water I've ever seen. The beach and house was very clean and comfortable. This was a very rare find in a hustle and bustle world. This excursion was so relaxing and we were made to feel as if we truly " Queens " for a day. Thank you La Casa En La Playa for an excecptional experience.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paradise

PostedAugust 19, 2015
from East Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want to know what it's like to be treated like royalty for an afternoon, book this excursion. You will not be disappointed. Best experience ever. The beach was stunning. you can even snorkel at no extra charge. Alfondo was an amazing host and the entire staff was 5 star. The chef even made my husband and me vegan fajitas. Do yourself a favor and book this excursion. Be sure to bring a few bucks along to tip the guys on the way out.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

this tour was okay

PostedAugust 18, 2015
from New York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The description of this excursion looks good on paper, but beware! My husband and I are in our mid-thirties. We chose this excursion to have a relaxing day on the beach. However, in our group were a bunch of college students who spent the first part of the excursion getting drunk and then the last part of the excursion being loud and obnoxious. An all-together disappointing experience.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding service and so much fun !!

PostedAugust 18, 2015
from Birmingham, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was a pleasure to spend what little time we had in Cozumel, with Rafa and staff at La Casa En La Playa. From the time we ported and met up with Rafa, they were kind, respectful, and fun! Once we were at the beach house we were greeted by all of the staff including the chef. They were all smiles. We lounged around at the beach, and drank margarita's like water. They were SOOOO Good!! Our glass was never empty. The massage on the beach was fantasitc and a quarter the price as the cruise ship (or less). Snorkeling was a lot of fun too! What topped it off... My girlfriend left her cell phone in the bathroom at the beach house in Cozumel. Once I found Rafa on Facebook and contacted him, he let me know that he found the phone, and would turn it in to Carnival. I went to the Lido deck to smoke, left straight from there and went to the room. He had turned it in and My girlfriend was notified by Carnival in the room by the time I walked from the Lido deck, to the room (10 minutes). Nice to know some people are still honest. Now we still haven't received the phone from Carnival !!!!! But our new friends in Cozumel did their part, and for that we're extremely appreciative !!! Definitely choose this expedition, you won't regret it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was absolutely amazing. The staff was incredible and we had the time of our lives. Great value for everything you are given. Well worth it. Best excursion ever!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Guest avatar
bevc
Charleston, sc
 
Please wait while more information about bevc is loaded.
Additional information about bevc could not be loaded.
question
Posted August 19, 2015
How many people per house? Is it crowded?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing day on the beach

PostedAugust 15, 2015
from Lawrenceville, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was absolutely perfect in every way. The beach was beautiful, the water was clear, and Clemente and his staff were incredible. He taught us about tequila, and his staff ensured that our drinks were never empty. I brought water shoes for the beach as per other reviewer's recommendations, but ended up not needing them. It was rocky in some places, but was mostly fine.
I can't say enough good things about this day - it was one of our favorite days in port. If you want a nice, relaxing all-inclusive day, this is absolutely the excursion for you.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful & Relaxing

PostedAugust 14, 2015
from Austin, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This private beach area is absolutely breathtaking, and we got the best pictures of our entire vacation here. The water was unbelievably clear. Yes, there are some very rocky areas that you will have to avoid, but I didn't think it was that bad overall. The hammocks were a great place to relax too. I do think this was a bit over priced because we're not really big drinkers, and I think the real appeal here is that all drinks are included. If you like to drink A LOT this is the excursion for you, and you will easily get your money's worth. That being said, no one seemed to be overly intoxicated, and everything was very relaxed. I wish this excursion lasted longer, as we only had about 3 hours at the beach.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Excursion yet!

PostedAugust 9, 2015
from Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion was the best one I've been on yet. Isis was out tour guide and spent the whole time with our group. The ride to the house is about 15 min. We were in taxi vans that were air conditioned and clean. The house is very nice. The staff is wonderful. The food was great. The guacamole lesson was interesting and it tasted wonderful. The drinks were great; they didn't hold back on the alcohol. The beach itself is nice and clean. The water was beautiful and clear. However, shoes are in my opinion required to get in to the water. The bottom is very rocky. Wear shoes and take your time getting out into the water and you will be fine. They provide shoes if you don't have your own. Snorkeling gear is also provided for your use if you want to do that. Overall, we loved this excursion. It was the best day of the cruise.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly lived up to it's 5 star reviews!

PostedJuly 31, 2015
from N. East Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All the 5 star reviews are spot on! Nice clean air conditioned van , 15 minute ride from pier and you arrive at private beach house, only 16 guest were there the entire 5 hrs. Drinks flowed non stop, They brought us chips and salsa, fresh guacamole , and other appetizer' s. We opted for the fish baked in banana leaf for lunch. Very good choice. We were offered An opportunity to go snorkeling . There were tables and chairs, beds and hammocks , beach chairs with umbrellas . In the sun or in the shade take your pick. The water was absolutely beautiful. This place was as close to "paradise" as I have ever been. There was not one thing about this excursion that could have been any better. We will definitely pick this excursion any time we are headed to cozumel. Also we were back to the pier in plenty of time to do some shopping before getting back on the ship.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our own little beach house!

PostedJuly 28, 2015
from Miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We took the kids on this excursion and they enjoyed it just as much as us. They catered to us the entire time and made our birthday celebration one to remember! Food was amazing and plentiful. Drinks were cold and delicious. The service is what makes this tour one of a kind though! I would want to go back to Cozumel just to go back there!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect day of relaxation

PostedJuly 28, 2015
from New Orleans
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My friend and I could not have had a better day at the beach in Cozumel! It was as if this tour was designed with us in mind. Plenty of beach to explore or to just relax upon. Lunch was delicious as were the yummy cocktails. These guys treated us like valued guests, and we enjoyed being pampered. Loved the demonstration by the pool on how to make authentic guacomole.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Time !!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 25, 2015
from North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From start to finish could not have been any better!!!!
Drinks, food, and the people were great
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a great getaway!

PostedJuly 24, 2015
from Nederland,Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We booked this excursion on the cruise ship it really looked like something we would want to do. Boy were we right. Luis our host was very gracious and his crew made us feel welcome. The beach was beautiful and it was a small group so crowds weren't an issue. The staff was at our every beck & call. It was very relaxing and the atmosphere was wonderful. The food was great. I'm already planning on going back next summer
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a wonderful day

PostedJuly 23, 2015
from California
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our day started with a tour guide named Yantar who was wonderful and took care of all our needs. The private villa we went to was beautiful. Right on the beach. If you didn't want to get into the ocean and snorkel or swim, there was a pool to cool off in. They provided us with a wonderful chef, waiter, bartender, great food and all the drinks we could consume during our time there. If you wanted a massage it was extra but reasonable. Great day for the entire family. Would do it again without question.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>