Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.777 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(659 reviews) 659
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 659 reviews
5 Stars
586
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
14
1 Star
12
619 out of 652(95%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A relaxing day at the beach

PostedApril 8, 2016
from Fort Myers, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adolfo and Chef Julio were wam and inviting and provided us with a relaxing day with awesome food! Everyone was super friendly and always asking if we needed anything. We went to the house with a pool and the beach was a bit rocky. They had water shoes for us to borrow, but I would suggest bringing your own. Service was excellent and drinks were flowing. Overall a great excursion away from the masses.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it!!

PostedApril 2, 2016
from Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First, my one complaint- this excursion is a bit overpriced. But we are not complaining because everything was fabulous. The ride to the beach house is short (about 15 min), so you get to maximize your time having fun! The staff were all very accommodating. We selected some beach chairs and had a waiter coming by regularly to bring fresh drinks. I see others have said the drinks were watered down, but I did not find this to be the case the day I went (especially compared to the ones we had the previous day on an excursion in Progreso). They weren't overly strong, but weren't water. The beach does have some big rocks just off the shore, but the water was so clear we could easily see them and navigate past to the soft sand. The food was fantastic - best pico and guac EVER! Even my kids ate it, and they are not fans of Mexican food. The staff does not put much on a plate at a time, but if you ask for more, they will bring more! My husband and I both had the stuffed pepper and thought it was delicious. We felt pampered and all had a great time.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great day at the beach

PostedMarch 31, 2016
from Nashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Holiday
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Even though the weather was a little sketchy (all snorkeling excursions were cancelled) we were lucky enough to have planned a peaceful afternoon at La Casa en La Playa where Adolfo, Isis and their staff took great care of us. The food was fine, especially the guacamole Isis made as part of the cooking class and the drinks were plentiful.
It was an easy ride to and from the port, and we're quite happy we chose this particular excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not great for the price

PostedMarch 24, 2016
from Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The service we received was good however for the price the food, location and drinks weren't great. Shore is very rocky and pictures are deceiving so prepare by bringing water shoes. They only have one 1 person kayak which for a romantic retreat wasn't very accomodating. Snorkel gear was included and cleaned after each persons use so bring your own if you are concerned with germs.
Drinks were watered down, at first I thought it was the heat dissolving the ice until I went upstairs to the bar area and got a fresh on.
My husband complained about the food. It was good however exerting a lot of energy swimming you work up an appetite and two tacos rice and beans wasn't very filling for 5 hours.
Tips- yes they do corral everyone before they shuttle you back to the pier and place a large conch shell on a tray and stare at you waiting for tips. If you don't want to be stared down by the staff and other cruise goers for not tipping be sure to bring cash.
Positive: It is very private and secluded with not a lot of people from the cruise ships.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

By far the best beach getaway and all you can eat/drink excursion I have ever been on

PostedMarch 22, 2016
from Lubbock, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My boyfriend and I went on this excursion together and it the was the best and most relaxing beach excursion I have ever been on! Isis was our guide and she was extremely personable and a fabulous host. The house was beautiful, the beach was perfect (there was some seaweed on it, but it did not obstruct the view or our ability to relax on the sand close to the water or higher up on the beach), the service was unbelievable (snacks and drinks delivered super fast and always with a smile), the food was delicious (truly all you can eat, my boyfriend eats allot ;) ). We also got the massages on the beach, it was one of the best massages that I have ever gotten and was so refreshing with the sound of the waves in the background. This was an exclusive and romantic getaway! I would highly recommend it! I will be going on this excursion again. The ride to and from the beach felt safe and was very quick.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion made me feel like royalty.

PostedMarch 20, 2016
from Pikeville, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my favorite excursion of the entire trip. The staff was amazing, Flor, the hostess was such a sweet lady. I enjoyed my time there so much that I have booked this excursion for my next cruise in May. I cannot wait to go back. The drinks were unlimited and delicious. The food was great. The staff waited hand and foot on you. The staff was extremely welcoming to the beach house. I highly recommend this excursion to families and those who are wanting to feel like royalty. I cannot say enough great things about this excursion!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing to the 10th power!!!

PostedMarch 13, 2016
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So relaxing to be on a bed on white sand in beautiful weather. The hospitality shown was contagious, if I didn't look around I would've thought they only doted on me since they anticipated my needs with on demand drinks and the massage option was definitely a plus. It was nice eating great food in the company of people I never met, yet conversation flowed like we were old friends. Was celebrating 25th wedding anniversary, definitely set the tone for a romantic time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

PostedMarch 13, 2016
from Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We were disappointed in this shore excursion. The beach was OK but the water was rocky. I ordered chicken mole and it was tasteless and the portions were very small. We had told them we wanted to watch/help them cook but they never came to get us. The drinks were very watered down and there is only 1 choice of beer. I was only asked 3 times if I wanted something to drink. I had a massage but it ended up to be for a shorter time than the advertised board she carried around. They ask for tips at the end which I felt was very tacky for the service received. I left hungry and very unsatisfied. I would not recommend this excursion.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I want to say it was HORRIBLE!!!!

PostedMarch 12, 2016
from Plano, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
But that is only because I want to keep this little bit of heaven a secret!!! We don't like crowds, and are really picky about service... Well Javier and the amazing team made sure that we were comfortable, well fed and hydrated, and wanted for nothing the whole time we were there! My husband enjoyed a massage, while I went snorkeling for the first time ever! Javier made sure I saw all of the amazing sea life, and truly made it an amazing experience for me! The food was amazing as well (the best guacamole and salsa I have EVER had). We will definitely do it again!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best excursion of the whole trip!

PostedMarch 12, 2016
from Overland Park, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yantar and the crew were AHHHHSOME! This was definitely worth the money and would do it again in a heart beat. If you don't like being pampered while laying on the beach, hammock or cabana bed, then this would not be for you. Ha! They were so courteous and did everything to make sure your stay was enjoyable. Also, get your pictures taken by the lovely senorita who is there to take them for you. She does a cute collage and it is a great memorabilia to take back with you and cheap too. It was a short drive from the ship, so you were able to spend most of your time on the beach instead of traveling to it. HUGE plus! This was my first time to Cozumel and the best stop on the whole trip.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BETTER THAN EXPECTED!

PostedMarch 1, 2016
from Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was absolutely wonderful. Rafael and the guys bend over backwards to make your stay as good as it can be. NEVER heard the words "no" for any request that we made except when we asked if we could stay the night! LOL. Angel even climbed a tree to get a fresh coconut for us! FOOD WAS AWESOME! You will not be disappointed. We'll be back!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Relaxing - lots of pampering

PostedFebruary 17, 2016
from Dallas, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
My husband I went to La Case on February 9, 2016. We were met at the pier by our guide (I am bad on names, but he was great, I think it was Danny). There were 3 large vans to transport all of the days' guest to La Casa. It was about a 10 to 15 minute ride. The house is set off the road and is not visible from the street. Our driver turned down a dirt road and at the end of the road was the house. It is a small house but it is very nice. There are two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The house has a nice wrap around porch. The house is right on the ocean and it is beautiful. There is also a small in-ground swimming pool. All along the beach were beach chairs. Up by the pool were hammocks. We had 3 waiters come to serve us drinks, whatever we wanted. The chef came outdoors to meet us and explain about lunch. We were given about 3 entrée choices. The chef also said whoever wanted cooking lessons were welcome. I did not do the cooking lessons. When lunch was served, I had the fish cooked in plantains - mmmm it was really good. After lunch I had a massage scheduled. The massage lady had herself set up in one of the bedrooms. The cost was $35 for a 30 minute massage. She was wonderful!!! She made me feel so good. After lunch, we went back to the beach for awhile. Then Danny called us all into the house and he gave us a short lecture on tequila. He is very knowledgeable. He explained the process and plants for tequila. We all got to taste about 4 types of tequila.
About 2 or 3 p.m. we got back into the vans and were transported back to the ship.
This was one of my very favorite excursions and I highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it!! Plan on going back. Drinks were awesome, food was great,and staff was exceptional!! Highly recommend!!

PostedFebruary 15, 2016
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved it!! Staff was outstanding, food was great,and drinks were amazing!! Highly recommend this Excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Relaxing

PostedFebruary 11, 2016
from Forest Hill, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was the second time we booked this excursion. On a prior cruise, we enjoyed it so much that we came back again. They picked us up at the pier and had a short ride to the house. They greeted us with lemonade, introduced us to all the staff and provided a tour of the house and property. We made ourselves comfortable on one of the lounge beds under an umbrella. There are plenty of places to choose from in the sun and shade. Water was crystal clear the day we were there. Drinks were promptly brought to us as well as appetizers served on real plates ad not plastic. We felt like royalty being waited on while sitting on a beautiful beach. Our lunch order was given and we dined on the patio outside the house. The food was very good. Group snorkeling was available but we decided to chill on the beach. Equipment was available if we had wanted to do it later. Folks that went really enjoyed it and saw a lot of sea life. All the staff was wonderful. If you want an excursion that is relaxing and pampers you, this is a good one! They only take a small number of people to you feel very special
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend this excursion need.

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
from Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Flo and Fernando made this excursion an exceptional trip they cater to your every need . I highly recommend this excursion
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing day

PostedFebruary 9, 2016
from Sarasota FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This excursion involves being picked up at the port and taken to a secluded beach for lunch, drinks and relaxation. We took the exact same tour in Jamaica for a lower cost, however the service wasn't quite as good there. Louis, our tour guide was fabulous. He was friendly and ensured that we were taken care of. When we arrived to the destination, we were treated with lemonaid he introduced us to the cook and wait staff. We were given a tour of the house and lead to the beach. The water was murky that day and water shoes are needed to swim. The beach was lovely, the meal was good and fresh, the drinks flowed freely (though not very strong which we were glad of due to the hot sun), the length of the tour was perfect (we still had about an hour to do a little shopping at the port when we got back). This is a great tour if you want to relax and be waited on. Not ideal for small children as there is nothing there for them to do. ***For those with disabilities, it's about 3 stairs to get to the ladies room, and the mens room is up a flight of about 15 stairs***
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great way to relax

PostedFebruary 8, 2016
from Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second time we have done this shore excursion. It is a great way to get off the boat and meet people and just kick back. The food was great , great people, and an open bar. Hard to beat. We will do it every time we come to Cozumel
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly What I Wanted

PostedFebruary 8, 2016
from Houston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For our first shore day I wanted peace and quiet and not a hoard of people, this fit the bill and then some. The folks that work there were all excellent and attentive. I got a wonderful massage and enjoyed the cooking demonstration and the guacamole was the best I've ever had. The drinks just kept coming and they were good. The bathroom outside was easier for me than the one inside as I didn't want to track sand in the house...it's a woman thing. My two grown daughters and me would go back again. My only wish was that I could of had time for the massage AND the snorkel lessons as my daughters said the instructor was wonderful and very helpful, I could of used that lesson.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recmmend

PostedFebruary 6, 2016
from Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well organized. Relaxing. Good food. Good drinks. And I'm making the salsa they demonstrated for a super bowl party tomorrow.
If you're looking for adventure, keep looking. But if you want to relax, this is the excursion for you!
My only advice: bring swim shoes. It is rocky in the water.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paradise!

PostedFebruary 6, 2016
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This tour was so relaxing! The staff at the house and our tour guide were awesome! Very helpful and would do anything for you that was asked. The water was murky the day we went but still had a wonderful time. Food was great and the drinks were plentiful! Would absolutely do this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>