Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat

Find paradise! Get away from the crowds and indulge in a luxurious private getaway at an exclusive Caribbean-style beach house complete with all amenities including a chef, bartender and gracious host
Overall rating:
4.796 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(431 reviews) 431
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 431 reviews
5 Stars
387
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
7
410 out of 430(95%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Review 1 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the BEST Shore Excursion I have ever done!!!

PostedApril 15, 2015
JohnG313
from Grosse Pointe, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This place is a little slice of paradise and the best shore excursion I have done in over 100 shore excursions. The staff is phenomenal, the beach is great, the water is great, the food is delicious and the drinks are plentiful. My wife and I and our 10 and 12 year old children all agreed it was the best shore excursion of our trip by far. Clemente the host was AWESOME and showed us how to make his mom's guacamole which was also the best ever.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like out of a movie

PostedApril 14, 2015
heidi08
from Houston, Tx
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I took this shore excursion and absolutely loved it! It is located next to another place that people do excursions at in the Jeeps, but it is private from that one. Next to the house is many Palm Trees and lots of coconuts to provide shade and even a fresh coconut drink. Under the dense shade are tables in which to eat your lunch, or you can sit at a table on the patio. Waiters ask you for your preferred time to eat and you are seated at that time to a private table. There is plenty of lounge seating in both the shade and on the sunny beach. There are some rocks in the water, but it is not too bad. In fact if you do the snorkeling, you'll find that the majority of the sea life is in the rocky areas. We enjoyed everything about this excursion. Only one lady took her child and she was an older teen and so she really didn't count. There is a little noise from kids playing at the other beach, but the relaxing beach music coming from the house helped drown them out. You truly feel like you are on your very own private island. With the amazing beach spot, included lunch and drinks (liquor too) this is well worth every penny. We plan to come back here every time we visit Cozumel!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish we could be there again today

PostedApril 13, 2015
AnneChrisSherwoodpark
from Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a "Great day " at the beach -- the food the drinks the staff -- everything was superb -- far more beyond our expectations -- we pick this tour because of the great reviews - they were 100% right -- they have a chef that cooks to order -- authentic Mexican food -- the Staff made sure we were happy and relaxed - looked after our every needs -- the beach was beautiful -- a little rocky to get in but then it was paradise in beautiful turquoise water -- learned how to drink tequila - hummmm !!! we were a small group of people that made it so much better and quieter ...
We will go back for sure -- given the chance !!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total Paradise,

PostedApril 13, 2015
Caroline54
from Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I can say is WOW! The day was perfect; the staff was amazing & it was well worth what we paid. A shout out to Flower, our hostess; Antonio, who massaged my cares away (he came up behind me while I was sleeping & massaged my temples @ forehead), & a special "smile" to Fausto! He helped me with my Spanish. You guys ROCK! You made it paradise for my BBFF & me. We will do this excursion again!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelled Well Beyond Expectations!

PostedApril 12, 2015
JAM85
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Friends
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went aboard the Carnival Freedom for a 7 night venture to the Western Caribbean. It was my 3rd overall cruise and the first one I've been on in over 3 years. I was somewhat fresh to planning and followed the reviews and overall ratings to guide my decisions. I booked this excursion because I thought it'd be fun to have some authentic Mexican food and just have a relaxing beach day, as it was our last port on the cruise. It did not disappoint! The site is absolutely beautiful, the staff is more than caring to your every need and the number of activities you can partake in provide more than enough entertainment, if you aren't for just lying around on the beach. The food that was served was amazing, the drinks were endless and everything was made from fresh ingredients. The Chef (Julio, I believe) actually let us stand and watch him cook our meal! He was extremely accommodating to our requests. Clemente was the head man leading the staff. I'm not sure if he was the manager, but he made it very apparent that they were a TEAM and were there to make our vacation memorable. If I cited every detail, I would be here forever. All I can say, though, is that this excursion was our favorite and is well worth the money!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

TOO MUCH MONEY ~ NOT ENOUGH TIME!!!!

PostedApril 9, 2015
1stTimeOnAnExcursion
from League City, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Don't get me wrong, we had a great time but to be honest I was disappointed with a couple things. Unless you're a heavy drinker, you don't get your money's worth from all the alcoholic drinks available in the time you're there. My husband & I each had 5 a piece which is a lot for us and I didn't even have a buzz!! I was drinking long island ice teas too!! Maybe a little watered down?!!! Two usually is all I can handle and 3 puts my LIGHTS OUT!! I had no headache or anything even. The food portions were VERY SMALL and our waiter never came back to check on us when we did want seconds. They had no problems at the end of the excursion asking for TIP money for everyone. For $129 a piece that we paid, I think the tip should be included!! Or at least left up to the guest if they wanted to tip more with out being pressured. The bathrooms were very nasty too. The beach house wasn't as nice as it is stated on line either. If I'm to understand they have 2 beach houses, one with a pool. We didn't get that one. We got the one with all the rocks in the water that made it very scary to walk around in. The people were very nice there but I won't go back!!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This was a great place to go.

PostedApril 8, 2015
JoshnAnjel
from Jefferson City, Mo
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The staff was wonderful, the food was excellent, we wanted to eat more and more, the chef explained what he did. The beach was very nice. We didn't want to leave. Drinks were very good, the staff always kept them coming.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The staff was awesome

PostedApril 8, 2015
Huntsman1230
from Birmingham, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I were with 6 others from Carnival. When we arrived, there were 10 already there from another ship so only 18 total. It was a beautiful day and the water was clear. Charlie especially was a great host and made sure we had everything we needed. Lunch was very good and most importantly, so we're the drinks. I think I had 10 total - some had more, some had Less. And these aren't little drinks, they are rather large. By the end of the day, all of us from Carnival were suddenly best friends and partying by the pool. We ended up hanging out together for the rest of the cruise and even went to Cafe du Monde once we ported back in New Orleans. Awesome people, great staff, beautiful beach (though still not as pretty as the Florida panhandle beaches like Destin). The atmosphere is very chill. No music, relax, do what you want, go to sleep, or get crazy drunk. It's all up to you. Great excursion, definitely worth the money!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly great!

PostedApril 7, 2015
rwmw
from TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There were 11 guests on our excursion, so we had the full use of the property, which comes with 3 waiters, a bartender, and chef and a guy in charge. What a staff: guest ratio!! I know it's not THAT uncrowded every time, but there is plenty of room for the amount of tickets sold.
The food is good (try the fish!) and the beach is lovely. One of the waiters played soccer and Frisbee with my son and they all made sure everyone in my family of four had a great time and had everything we wanted. At one point, the gentleman in charge inquired 'What can I do to make this day even better?' when I had told him we were having a great time.
While the cost may seem higher than other all-inclusive options, I can tell you that the value is much, much higher. We will definitely do this excursion again when in Cozumel. No question. All the drinks you want, all the food you need, a beautiful beach and an excess of places to lounge. It was perfect for us!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 4, 2015
ljmj
from Pensacola FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was nice being with a small group of people, great service by the staff we could not have asked for a better day. We will do this excursion again!!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Do something else...

PostedApril 4, 2015
BaeB
from Houston, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tiny food portions, waiters very slow to return - had to search for them, sand filled with broken shell and rocks... everyone kept hurting their feet, overbooked and ran out of seating, asked for more food and was told there was no more. Bathroom was disgusting, stinky and staff were rude. very disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Bunny87
from Clearwater, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All our hosts were gracious, the area was relaxing, there were plenty of things to do (or you could just nap!), the food was delicious...the peacocks were cute and the snorkeling was fun!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing beach getaway

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Sol75
from Clearwater, FL, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arriving at this casa we were not sure what to expect. Clemente, our host, made everyone feel like family at home. The house is basically just a kitchen with restrooms and a private bar on the second floor. The limit for this excursion is about 25 people, which was perfect for us to relax on the beach in peace and quiet. Basically you lounge in beach chairs or beach beds and they wait on you all day. Drinks, gourmet lunch and a fresh guacamole is provided. They also have snorkeling gear, towels and other amenities at your disposal free of charge. The water was crystal clear and the setting was just breathtaking.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This excursion was wonderful

PostedMarch 30, 2015
MichellenCraig
from Tampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money ! Service excellent , lunch amazing ,
Scenery breath taking
They treat you like royalty consistently waiting on you
! Drinks were awesome not watered down ! Hands down the best excursion
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb experience - warm, welcoming and relaxing

PostedMarch 30, 2015
jnetampa
from Tampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clemente and his entire staff do a fantastic job of seeing that you welcomed and pampered from the moment you arrive until you depart. A 15 minute ride from the debarkation point and you are relaxing on a private beach where drinks are brought to you, your luncheon order is taken and you can sit back in the sun or shaded areas and relax. Clemente's short class on creating Guacamole is not to be missed. Our goal with this excursion was to unplug and relax and our expectations were surpassed. If we cruise to Cozumel again, we'll definitely book this excursion again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the most relaxing excursion ...

PostedMarch 30, 2015
spring73
from Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want to relax this is the place to be. Clemente and staff were wonderful. The beach is beautiful... a bit rocky in spots but definitely swim and snorkel friendly. The food and drinks were phenomenal. There were maybe a total of 25 people in our group. Our group was all adults. It was very peaceful to sit and have drinks and homemade guacamole on the beach. There was a photographer who took photos and massage therapist available for an additional price. Both were very reasonable. I would highly recommend this excursion.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you want to be pampered, this is the beach excursion to go on !

PostedMarch 30, 2015
eric76111
from Fort Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow !! This uncrowded excursion did not disappoint. A short ride to a beautiful beach house. Our host Clemente greeted us upon arrival and introduced his staff of five, including our cook (Santos) and several waiters, who brought drinks to us at our beach chairs, and kept them coming. Santos cooked lunch when we were ready to eat, and gave us several options.....the fish was great ! They really made us feel at home ! The most relaxing excursion I've ever been on ! We will be back !
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you want to relax, and feel pampered, do this excursion.

PostedMarch 28, 2015
AngelaNClark
from Jonesboro, Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I chose this excursion, and it did not dissappoint, from the time we arrived until the time we left, we were treated like royalty. Clemente, and the staff was professional, attentive, interesting, and totally adorable people, it was our pleasure to be in their presence.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A really good time.

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Johnfromflorida
from Boynton Beach, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We cruised on the Glory on February 28, 2015. We booked this excursion online before we left. We had a wonderful time. It is obviously an excursion location. The staff was really good. The beach was great. The food was well prepared. All staff were intent on making the guests welcome! Drinks were served all day. As many as you wanted. Limited Ed to only 36 people it is no crowded. We have less than 36. Worth every penny!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for La Casa en La Playa - A Select Retreat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a highly relaxing excursion

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Drewcrews
from Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is our third trip to La Casa en La Playa and we have enjoyed all three. The first and third were with kids. The second was just my wife and I. The first trip Isis was on hand to interact with the kids and was OUTSTANDING! I have one suggestion for the staff. If you have young kids signed up - schedule Isis to work. We have asked about her both other times and she is always working somewhere else. Regardless, the food is always excellent. My wife LOVES the fish. I get the steak or chicken casadillas. Drinks are excellent and all you can drink. Bring extra money for massages. Also bring extra to tip - the staff is excellent. They put no pressure on but it is tip worthy! We love it and will do it every time we go!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>