Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer

Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer

Experience the Tracy Arm Wilderness Area, including exciting close-up views of the majestic Sawyer Glaciers.
Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
17 out of 19(89%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Review 1 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breathtaking!

PostedAugust 21, 2015
from St. AUgustine, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I can say is OMG! Gorgeous views! We had a cool and rainy day and I would not go inside to warm up because I was so excited! This trip is AMAZING! I booked this trip early because it was #1 on my list. The cruise ship can not get you any where near as close to Sawyer glacier as we were! We did not get up to the South Sawyer glacier because the water was too icy but I can see where safety would have been a top priority. The boat backed all the way up to a waterfall and we were told we would get sprayed. How cool is that! They got us as close as possible to the glacier were we got to see it calve 3 times! It was really loud and just amazing to watch! They bought several pieces of ice onboard and we got to hold it! They have a nice warm inside area with drinks and snacks with a nice viewing area. I was out on the deck 95% of the time in awe of the landscape. There was plenty of room for everyone to get pictures. This excursion was so popular they had to add additional boats. People hesitate on this excursion because the cruise ship goes into the Fjord, however it is worth every penny! Love, love, loved it and would do again without any reservation!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great excursion! Up close to the awesome glaciers!

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We loved this excursion! We got very close to the glaciers, much closer than from the ship. Got to see large chunks of ice fall off into the water. Very dramatic and grand! Saw gorgeous waterfalls, ice formations, seals, and sea birds. This was fantastic! Our kids loved it, too! Highly recommend!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unnecessarily overpriced

PostedJune 6, 2015
from York, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Single
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I cannot imagine why the cost of this excursion is as high as it is, in my opinion, it could easily have cost half as much and even then it may have been overpriced. It is a nice way to get closer to the glaciers but the cruise ship does get into the fjord, so it's not necessary to spend the money to go on this tour. That said, it was sold out and Carnival arranged for a second tour that also sold out. Also, the catamaran was very comfortable - seats were comfy, you can stay warm and dry, windows are very spacious (though some could have been cleaner), there's a bathroom and a snackbar aboard (bring money) including the opportunity to buy Alaskan beer. The crew was really, really good - friendly, pleasant, efficient and capable. The trip felt a little long. There are great photo ops but we didn't see much wildlife at all (we were there late May 2015). We saw no whales, a few eagles here and rare sightings of seals/otters that were not particularly close to view. The catamaran does supply binoculars, however. It's a nice feature of the vessel that you can see everything from inside or step outside to take photos and enjoy the fresh air and sunshine on your face. Both my friend and I felt the trip was a little long. The captain moves the catamaran around so wherever you are sitting or standing, you'll have adequate photo ops without traipsing about the vessel. You also have a nice opportunity to photograph the cruise ship in the fjord from the catamaran. Had we seen more wildlife and had the cost been much less, I would likely recommend this tour, but for us, it was too costly and a relatively unnecessary expense.
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Excursion & We Are Doing It Again

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
from Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We took this excursion in 2014 while cruising Alaska on Carnival Miracle and are signing up to do it again in 2015 on Carnival Legend.
You paid a lot of money to do an Alaska cruise, this is maximizing your day in Tracy Arm Fjord. Last year we saw bear, seals and other sights that you simply can't see, or see as well, from the ship, including 20-30 minutes within a few hundred yards of the glacier. I have photos of pieces calving while we were there.
Just do it.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
 
Other recommended shore excursions
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best way to see Tracy Arms Fjord

PostedAugust 22, 2014
from Rochester Hills, Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and myself took this excursion on July 24, 2014 and it was one of the highlights of our cruise. Without a doubt, this excursion is a must and we recommend that you sign up prior to the actual cruise. Unlike other excursions this is done by email. While on the excursion you will get much closer to everything and be able to go where the cruise ship cannot. But be prepared - if it seems cold on the cruise ship, it is much colder standing outside on the boat you will take.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We would take this one again if we ever get back to Alaska

PostedAugust 18, 2014
from Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We did not hear the naturalist on the outer deck, but we wanted the outer deck so our pictures wouldn't be distorted from the windows. In addition, we did not get as close to the glacier as we thought we could have. That being said, we wouldn't think of taking another Alaska cruise without taking this excursion. The snack was a piece of salmon on a cracker and coffee or hot chocolate. They do have other food items for purchase onboard.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 14 year old grandson and I did this excursion in August. We both loved it and were in awe of the sights we saw. Getting that close to glaciers and icebergs was awesome. I'd recommend it to everyone. I'd also recommend that you dress for some cool and windy weather. However, you can be inside the vessel if you want. We just wanted to spend our time outside. Highly recommended for anyone who likes to take pictures. Binoculars are provided on the vessel.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for Tracy Arm Fjord

PostedJuly 12, 2014
from Thousand Oaks, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
If your cruise travels into Tracy Arm Fjord this excursion is a must if you want to see the glacier. The ship is too large to venture to the end of the Fjord where the glaciers are. We booked the 2:30 excursion which departs from the ship at its furthest point in the fjord. It then catches up with the cruise ship after it exits the fjord. Upon boarding the boat the crew was very welcoming and helpful. There were binoculars on the seats so you could view the surrounding scenery. From the boat you get a great view of the how big the cruise ship is but also has tiny it is compared to the beauty and massive size of the surrounding mountains. We immediately headed for the Stewart Glacier and upon arriving we go to see it calve (break off and fall into the ocean). It was awesome, but unfortunately in only happened once. We did hear it cracking at other moments but it didn't fall off again. The boat captain did a great job of keeping us close to the glacier for great viewing and photos. After ample time at the glacier we ventured into the ice berg field to get some up close and great views of sea lions sun bathing, sea lion pups playing and bald eagles. It was so amazing to be in that environment and up so close. As we headed back to the ship the captain took us up close, I mean super close to beautiful water falls and cobalt blue ice bergs. This was a great excursion and if you want to see glaciers in Tracy Arm Fjord you definitely need to do this. I will take it again if I ever venture there again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJuly 3, 2014
from Wichita, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We cruised in late June of 2014. This excursion was a lot of fun! We even got to see the glacier calving three times!! Be advised, they told us that it is not common to see the glacier do this. We went on a sunny, beautiful day! It was cold on the boat though, so bring lots of warm clothes!! We saw bald eagles and seals too!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Do!!!

PostedJune 6, 2014
from Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great tour of the Tracey Arm. The crew is courteous and well informed. The captain takes you close to the glacier and if you are lucky as we were, you will see the glacier "calve" a future iceberg. We actually saw it "calve" twice!! The onboard narration of the surroundings is excellent. We even saw a black bear and stopped to watch it prowl along the shore. Highly recommend this excursion!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great excursion. They can get you a lot closer to the Glacier than on the ship. The staff was fun and informative. They provided everyone with binoculars which was very thoughtful and the hot chocolate and salmon sampling was appreciated also.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MUST DO!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
from Kansas City, Mo
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a must do. You really get to see a lot more when you do this excursion. We got close up views of harbor seals, glaciers, and waterfalls. We also saw a bear! Totally worth every penny we spent.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was amazing!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
from Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were able to get really close to two glaciers - so close it felt like we could reach out and touch it! This was a great tour - very beautiful scenery.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breathtaking

PostedMay 29, 2013
from Spring, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
My wife and I had been counting the days down for our first ever Alaskan cruise, we had looked over all the excursions for each port and planned to do one in each port, This was our first excursion of the cruise and like our other Alaskan excursions, we had booked them way ahead of the cruise , something i would recommend to all. This excursion required a smaller boat ( the Saint Peter) to pull up along side the Miracle and board its passengers, this was easily done and once boarded on the St Peter we were whisked away towards the Tracy Arm Glacier, this boat easily maneuvered through the numerous icebergs and took us to within a mere 100 or so yards from the glacier, The boat had 3 decks a bottom with seats and a middle open deck and a top deck , this gave you a 360 degree view of the breathtaking landscape that nature has to offer. there was not a sound in the air and when you are taking in the pure beauty of the glacier towering in front of you , it is quite a sound to hear as a huge chunk of ice cracks in the silence and you see this huge chunk fall into the icy waters making a big splash, glacial calving is what they call it and to experience it will take your breath away. The crew of the Saint Peter was incredible, Amanda (hope i got that right) kept a good flowing narrative on the excursion pointing out various sights and sounds, we stayed at the glacier a good 1 1/2 hours before it was time to head back to meet up with our ship, we spotted mountain goats perched precariously on the sides of these shear mountains and porpoises bobbing around the boat, As we made our way back moving in and out of the dotted icebergs we were told by our captain that the Miracle was iced in and would be delayed in picking us back up , no argument from anyone as the captain took us further down showing us beautiful waterfalls , we were lucky enough to see a huge brown bear on the banks of the water and even got to see our first humpback whale a mere 50 ft from the boat !! by this tie the Miracle was pulling closer and the captain took us along side and we departed . the crew was amazing and very family oriented , they provided binoculars to everyone and had snacks and hot drinks on board as it does get chilly by the glacier, but do yourself a favor and try this excursion out , it is simply breathtaking.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good excursion

PostedMay 29, 2013
from Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only way we got to get as close to the glacier as we did was by taking this excursion. As an alternate to a day on the ship, if you have the money, this is a great buy. The views were tremendous, the naturalist was great, we got to see sea lions and got much closer than our ship did. HOWEVER, "snacks" are mostly samples of what they're trying to sell you, and 3 times I encountered staff being "redirected"---not so cool in front of customers! Captain made a huge effort to let everyone onboard have opportunities to see sites. We had a great time!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exciting!

PostedJuly 7, 2012
from Long Island, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We actually took this excursion during the "Cruise Tracy Arm Fjord" portion on the cruise (3rd cruise day). We loved it! The boat got real close to both the Sawyer and South Sawyer glaciers. Saw the glacier calve. Numerous seals. The scenery was beautiful - waterfalls, snow capped mountains, the fjords up close and beautiful. Just the variety of the icebergs and ice floes were fascinating. The crew was energetic and knowledgeable. You couldn't ask for more!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GREAT

PostedMay 29, 2012
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE BOAT RIDE WAS GREAT, THE STAFF GREAT AND VERY FULL OF KNOWLEDGE, SAW BEAR, SEALS, AND GOD"S BEAUTY,
THANKS
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedMay 26, 2012
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
They were not able to get us anywhere near the glacier. We would NOT recommend this excursion!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tracy Arm Fjord & Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A beautiful up-close excursion!

PostedAugust 15, 2011
from Reno, NV
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The smaller boat was able to get much closer to the glacier than the cruise ship. We went to the Dawes Glacier in the Endicott Arm due to weather conditions. Not disappointed with the venue change. The scenery is gorgeous. We got to see the glacier calving several times. Well worth the money!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.