Carnival Cruise Lines Ratings and Reviews

Guest reviews for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer

Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer

Experience the Tracy Arm Wilderness Area, including exciting close-up views of the majestic Sawyer Glaciers.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
11 out of 12(92%)guests recommend this excursion.
Guest reviews for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Review 1 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for Tracy Arm Fjord

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Guest avatar
ClintonM
from Thousand Oaks, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
If your cruise travels into Tracy Arm Fjord this excursion is a must if you want to see the glacier. The ship is too large to venture to the end of the Fjord where the glaciers are. We booked the 2:30 excursion which departs from the ship at its furthest point in the fjord. It then catches up with the cruise ship after it exits the fjord. Upon boarding the boat the crew was very welcoming and helpful. There were binoculars on the seats so you could view the surrounding scenery. From the boat you get a great view of the how big the cruise ship is but also has tiny it is compared to the beauty and massive size of the surrounding mountains. We immediately headed for the Stewart Glacier and upon arriving we go to see it calve (break off and fall into the ocean). It was awesome, but unfortunately in only happened once. We did hear it cracking at other moments but it didn't fall off again. The boat captain did a great job of keeping us close to the glacier for great viewing and photos. After ample time at the glacier we ventured into the ice berg field to get some up close and great views of sea lions sun bathing, sea lion pups playing and bald eagles. It was so amazing to be in that environment and up so close. As we headed back to the ship the captain took us up close, I mean super close to beautiful water falls and cobalt blue ice bergs. This was a great excursion and if you want to see glaciers in Tracy Arm Fjord you definitely need to do this. I will take it again if I ever venture there again.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Guest avatar
swelch27
from Wichita, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We cruised in late June of 2014. This excursion was a lot of fun! We even got to see the glacier calving three times!! Be advised, they told us that it is not common to see the glacier do this. We went on a sunny, beautiful day! It was cold on the boat though, so bring lots of warm clothes!! We saw bald eagles and seals too!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Do!!!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Guest avatar
John48
from Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a great tour of the Tracey Arm. The crew is courteous and well informed. The captain takes you close to the glacier and if you are lucky as we were, you will see the glacier "calve" a future iceberg. We actually saw it "calve" twice!! The onboard narration of the surroundings is excellent. We even saw a black bear and stopped to watch it prowl along the shore. Highly recommend this excursion!!!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Guest avatar
bknsf
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great excursion. They can get you a lot closer to the Glacier than on the ship. The staff was fun and informative. They provided everyone with binoculars which was very thoughtful and the hot chocolate and salmon sampling was appreciated also.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MUST DO!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Guest avatar
Alisha0103
from Kansas City, Mo
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a must do. You really get to see a lot more when you do this excursion. We got close up views of harbor seals, glaciers, and waterfalls. We also saw a bear! Totally worth every penny we spent.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This was amazing!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Guest avatar
MB30
from Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Family
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were able to get really close to two glaciers - so close it felt like we could reach out and touch it! This was a great tour - very beautiful scenery.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breathtaking

PostedMay 29, 2013
Guest avatar
psoord
from Spring, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
My wife and I had been counting the days down for our first ever Alaskan cruise, we had looked over all the excursions for each port and planned to do one in each port, This was our first excursion of the cruise and like our other Alaskan excursions, we had booked them way ahead of the cruise , something i would recommend to all. This excursion required a smaller boat ( the Saint Peter) to pull up along side the Miracle and board its passengers, this was easily done and once boarded on the St Peter we were whisked away towards the Tracy Arm Glacier, this boat easily maneuvered through the numerous icebergs and took us to within a mere 100 or so yards from the glacier, The boat had 3 decks a bottom with seats and a middle open deck and a top deck , this gave you a 360 degree view of the breathtaking landscape that nature has to offer. there was not a sound in the air and when you are taking in the pure beauty of the glacier towering in front of you , it is quite a sound to hear as a huge chunk of ice cracks in the silence and you see this huge chunk fall into the icy waters making a big splash, glacial calving is what they call it and to experience it will take your breath away. The crew of the Saint Peter was incredible, Amanda (hope i got that right) kept a good flowing narrative on the excursion pointing out various sights and sounds, we stayed at the glacier a good 1 1/2 hours before it was time to head back to meet up with our ship, we spotted mountain goats perched precariously on the sides of these shear mountains and porpoises bobbing around the boat, As we made our way back moving in and out of the dotted icebergs we were told by our captain that the Miracle was iced in and would be delayed in picking us back up , no argument from anyone as the captain took us further down showing us beautiful waterfalls , we were lucky enough to see a huge brown bear on the banks of the water and even got to see our first humpback whale a mere 50 ft from the boat !! by this tie the Miracle was pulling closer and the captain took us along side and we departed . the crew was amazing and very family oriented , they provided binoculars to everyone and had snacks and hot drinks on board as it does get chilly by the glacier, but do yourself a favor and try this excursion out , it is simply breathtaking.
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good excursion

PostedMay 29, 2013
Guest avatar
Sharon49
from Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Frequency:This was my first cruise (First-time cruiser)
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The only way we got to get as close to the glacier as we did was by taking this excursion. As an alternate to a day on the ship, if you have the money, this is a great buy. The views were tremendous, the naturalist was great, we got to see sea lions and got much closer than our ship did. HOWEVER, "snacks" are mostly samples of what they're trying to sell you, and 3 times I encountered staff being "redirected"---not so cool in front of customers! Captain made a huge effort to let everyone onboard have opportunities to see sites. We had a great time!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exciting!

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Guest avatar
Shelly
from Long Island, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We actually took this excursion during the "Cruise Tracy Arm Fjord" portion on the cruise (3rd cruise day). We loved it! The boat got real close to both the Sawyer and South Sawyer glaciers. Saw the glacier calve. Numerous seals. The scenery was beautiful - waterfalls, snow capped mountains, the fjords up close and beautiful. Just the variety of the icebergs and ice floes were fascinating. The crew was energetic and knowledgeable. You couldn't ask for more!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT GREAT

PostedMay 29, 2012
Guest avatar
wmsan
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Repeat Cruiser (I've cruised before)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE BOAT RIDE WAS GREAT, THE STAFF GREAT AND VERY FULL OF KNOWLEDGE, SAW BEAR, SEALS, AND GOD"S BEAUTY,
THANKS
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedMay 26, 2012
Guest avatar
Annie4444
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reason for Travel:Romantic Getaway
Activity Level:Easy
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
They were not able to get us anywhere near the glacier. We would NOT recommend this excursion!
No, I do not recommend this shore excursion.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tracy Arm Fjord and Glacier Explorer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A beautiful up-close excursion!

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Guest avatar
silentbob
from Reno, NV
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Reason for Travel:Special Occasion
Activity Level:Moderate
Frequency:Frequent Cruiser (I cruise regularly)
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability / Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The smaller boat was able to get much closer to the glacier than the cruise ship. We went to the Dawes Glacier in the Endicott Arm due to weather conditions. Not disappointed with the venue change. The scenery is gorgeous. We got to see the glacier calving several times. Well worth the money!
Yes, I recommend this shore excursion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.